USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal
 
     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

Alerts:

The Alert section also deals with food, non food items and any relevant news items. These alerts aware Muslim consumer’s about Halal & Not-Halal status of both food and non food items.

TITLE: Reckitt Benckiser's Veet Hair Removing creams are not Halal

A sister has provided this information in which the company is giving wrong information that their Veet Hair Removing cream products are free of animal derived ingredients but they are not giving the source of Stearyl Alcohol which is a fat based ingredient. If they claim no animal derived ingredients used then Stearyl Alcohol should be from vegetable fat and they can not write no information on it. The following we-mail wrote our sister:

Thank you for your email regarding Veet® brand products.

 

In response to your inquiry, Veet® brand products do not contain any animal by-products. However, some of our Veet® products contain Cetearyl Alcohol.  For more information regarding ingredients, please visit our website at www.rbnainfo.com.

 

We appreciate your interest in our products and we thank you for the opportunity to answer your questions.


Sincerely,
Nora Flynn
Consumer Relations

From our FAQ:

What are Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol, Lauryl and Oleyl Alcohol used in Personal Care Products. Are they Halal:

All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. If any personal care company says that no animal derived ingredients are used in their products containing above alcohols it means they are obtained from vegetable fat.

Posted on: 11-19-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Watson Company's Lido Caine Patch 5% is Haram Patch

Watson Compnay makes Lido Caine Patch 5% for pain reliever and it requires doctor prescription. The company told MCG that gelatin in the patch is made from pig skin so it is a Haram patch.

Posted on: 11-17-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: The 365 brand cheeses at Whole Food Market supermarkets with kosher symbol are not Halal

Mozarrella and other cheeses at Whole Foood Market supermarkets under 365 brand without kosher symbol are not Halal.

Posted on: 11-17-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All One A Day Vitamins and Spring Valley Calcium Tablets are not Halal

Br. Sajid has provided this e-mail:
 

Dear Brothers,
Assalam Alaikum WRB,

I called and was confirmed today by the respective consumer contact departments that their products are NOT halal since they contain ingredients sourced from beef or pork.

1. Calcium Tablets from Spring Valley - Distributed by Walmart - NOT HALAL

2. All One a Day Vitamins from Bayer - Consist of Gelatin sourced from Beef or Pork. -  NOT HALAL







Regards

Sajid



 

Posted on: 11-17-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Jets Cheese Pizza is Masbooh

MCG tried for 2-3 weeks to get the ingredients of pizza crust, pizza sauce and cheese but company is refused to supply so MCG decided it to assign Mashbooh status. According to a Hadith we should stay away consuming any mashbooh foods and food ingredients.

Posted on: 11-08-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Iso Propyl Alcohol is a intoxicant according to a Islamic scholar who is also a doctor and from New England Journal of Medicine

This is from http://www.drhatemalhaj.com/qa/index.php/2011/03/25/isopropyl-alcohol/

Here is the article:

Date: Mar 25, 2011 | Type:     | Views: 712    | Share:     
Filed Under:
Food and Drinks

we are a group of Muslims, who work for company, that processes a chemical product, and we always clean some of the products with ’ISOPROPYL ALCOHOL’ and the alcohol contacts directly to our body or clothes, so is that considered as anijaasa which we can’t pray with or not, jazakum allahu khayran.

Alhamdulillah,

The question here is twofold:

Is isopropyl Alcohol an intoxicant (khamr)

Is khamr physically najis (impure)

The answer to the first question is yes, for it is a CNS depressant like ethyl alcohol, albeit with the differences of being synthetic (which would make a difference only in the hanafi madhhab), and being very toxic.

The answer to the second question is controversial, and I believe that alcohol is not physically impure, and may be used for topical applications to the body, particularly when one’s job requires contact with it.

Avoiding it when there is no need is an act of cautious piety. Muslims, when capable, should work on finding alternatives to it.

Allah knows best.

- See more at: http://www.drhatemalhaj.com/qa/index.php/2011/03/25/isopropyl-alcohol/#sthash.56rTKCPS.dpuf

From New England Journal of Medicine:

Intoxication of a Hospitalized Patient with an Isopropanol-Based Hand Sanitizer

N Engl J Med 2007; 356:530-531February 1, 2007DOI: 10.1056/NEJMc063237

Share:

Article

Citing Articles (17)

To the Editor:

A 43-year-old man with alcoholism was admitted to the hospital with chest pain, for which the workup was unremarkable. At discharge, the patient became acutely hypotensive and delirious. He was afebrile, oxygenating well, and had a nonfocal neurologic examination. Intravenous fluids and vasopressors were administered. The results of routine laboratory tests were normal, as were the results of arterial blood gas and serum ethanol measurements, toxicology screening, blood and urine cultures, and computed tomography of the head. Urinalysis showed a trace of acetone. The following day, the patient was hemodynamically stable, but his mental status did not improve. Because of a sweet, ketotic odor in the room, tests of serum isopropyl alcohol (isopropanol) and acetone levels were ordered. Before those results were obtained, the patient was seen in the bathroom drinking the alcohol-based hand wash from its dispenser.

The patient's isopropanol level was 13.6 mg per deciliter, and his acetone level was 269.4 mg per deciliter (normal range, 0 to 1.9 for both). When asked why he ingested the hand cleaner, he pointed to the label, which read, “Active ingredient 63% v/v isopropyl alcohol.” He explained that this percentage is higher than that in vodka.

Ingestion of approximately 200 ml of isopropanol can be lethal owing to depression of both the central nervous system and myocardial function.1 A plasma concentration above 400 mg per deciliter is considered to be life-threatening.2 Unlike methanol and ethylene glycol, isopropanol is more toxic than its metabolites; hence, alcohol dehydrogenase inhibitors should not be given.3 Hemodialysis removes both isopropanol and acetone.1 Since in our patient, most of the isopropanol had already been converted to acetone (probably owing to the first-order kinetic metabolism),4 we decided not to pursue dialysis and instead continued with supportive therapy. He recovered fully.

Ingestion of methanol, ingestion of ethylene glycol, and ingestion of isopropanol all lead to an elevated plasma osmolal gap. However, isopropanol does not cause metabolic acidosis with an elevated anion gap.1 Primary alcohols are metabolized to aldehydes, followed by oxidation to carboxylic acids; deprotonation then causes acidosis with conjugate bases that elevate the anion gap. Secondary alcohols, such as isopropanol, oxidize to ketones, such as acetone, which under physiologic conditions cannot be further oxidized to acid.

Isopropanol-containing hand sanitizers are ubiquitous. Physicians should be aware of the potential for isopropanol intoxication, especially among alcoholics, in the hospital setting. Perhaps changing the description on the container from isopropyl alcohol to isopropanol or propane-2-ol would decrease the attraction of these hand sanitizers for potentially dangerous abuse.

Ashkan Emadi, M.D., Ph.D.
LeAnn Coberly, M.D.
University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH 45267-0557
emadia@email.uc.edu

Posted on: 10-21-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG don not recommend Little Caesar cheese pizza because now they are serving Non Halal Four cheeses at their stores and there is cross contamination with pizza cheese

Brother Abid has provided this information to MCG and we thanks br. Abid for his efforts:

"This is the email rec'd by one of my relatives -------- Original message -------- From: csc.donotreply@lcecorp.com Date:10/07/2014 7:46 AM (GMT-06:00) To: Subject: Thank you for contacting Little Caesars October 07, 2014 Dear Shifa Our mozzarella cheese, pizza sauce, and dough do not contain any animal by products or alcohol. The four cheese blend used on the Soft Pretzel Crust pizza does contain animal rennet. If you have any additional questions please contact us at 1-800-722-3727. Thank you for contacting the Little Caesar Customer Service Center. Sincerely, Rebecca Berro Consumer Response Representative"

When you have non Halal cheeses in the store so there is great chance of cross contamination of non Halal cheese with mashbooh pizza cheese.

Please avoid Little Caesar cheese pizza.

Posted on: 10-09-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Flavored and Colored Toostsie Roll Candies are not Halal

A sister has provided this information to MCG:

Thank you for contacting us. Most food dyes and flavorings have an alcohol base. However, as candy is cooked at high temperatures, any alcohol present is "flashed out", and therefore not present in the finished products. There are no animal products or by-products in our products.) So according to this canwe eat toostie roll candy

Posted on: 09-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Ferrara Candy Company's gelatin containing products of Brach's® Tree Top® Fruit Snacks are HARAM

Brother Mohamed Salem has provided in e-mail from Ferrara Candy Company to MCG and we thank him:

 From: customer.service@ferrarausa.com <customer.service@ferrarausa.com>
  Subject: Ferrara Candy Company response to your comment
  To: mak1a@
  Received: Wednesday, September 24, 2014, 11:00 AM
  Tree Top # 165305
  Mohamed
  
  Dear Mohamed:
  
  Thank you for contacting Ferrara Candy Company regarding
  Brach's® Tree Top® Fruit Snacks. Hearing from our
  consumers better enables us to continue to provide quality
  products and services.  Consumer feedback is very
  important to us, and we appreciate the opportunity to
  respond.
  
  All products containing gelatin manufactured by Ferrara
  Candy Company contain pork gelatin.  Each ingredient is
  tested regularly to determine which raw materials work best
  to maintain the quality of Ferrara confections.  We
  established that the pork gelatin currently used in our
  confections holds the product better than other gelatin
  types.
  
  Thank you for taking the time to contact us with your
  inquiry.  Please visit our website at
  www.ferrarausa.com for additional information about our
  products and services.
  
  Sincerely,
  
  Mindy Ray
  Consumer Relations
  000171310A

Posted on: 09-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: The Halal Cerified Pork Bones in South Africa

Courtesy of The U.U.C. S.A:

The U. U. C. S. A View in your browser THE TRAVESTY OF “HALAAL” PORK BONES ICSA – a so-called “Islamic Council of South Africa” – is squarely responsible for the ludicrous debacle of “HALAAL” Pork Bones

To

Foodscientist1@yahoo.com

Today at 4:07 AM

THE TRAVESTY OF “HALAAL” PORK BONES

                        

 

http://zaimages.gmimage3.com/za_members/68711/ftp/EditorImages/pork_bones.jpg                        

ICSA – a so-called “Islamic Council of South Africa” – is squarely responsible for the ludicrous debacle of “HALAAL” Pork Bones sold by North Beach SPAR in Durban.

The explanation given by SPAR may satisfy ICSA who is responsible for this debacle. But it does not satisfy the Muslim community. It is not the fault of SPAR. SPAR is a non-Muslim business concern that sells PORK whether it be fresh or frozen, it matters not. PORK is PORK. PORK and everything related to the PIG is HARAAM. But the accursed ‘halaal’ certificates issued by the accursed money-coining ‘halaal’ certificate entrepreneurs are the true criminals who should take the blame for “HALAAL” PORK BONES. There is no need for SPAR to apologise to the accursed ICSA porker. SPAR is a pork-seller. There is no secret conundrum in this fact.

The shaitaani ICSA is fully aware that SPAR sells PORK. That the PORK is frozen and supposedly not cut and packed on the premises does not justify a Muslim organisation issuing a “halaal” certificate to a non-Muslim business, especially when the same business deals in PORK as well.

The “mistake” mentioned by SPAR is now a common excuse for a common malpractice – “halaal” pork. This type of “mistake” has happened too many times, and all establishments are complicit ub the repeated PORK debacles.

Muslims have by “mistake” or deception been fed with PORK that was the the “halaal” product of SANHA, MJC, etc., and it will not be surprising if Muslims are still consuming PORK deceptively or “mistakenly” labelled mutton/beef.

As long as the business houses of non-Muslims are certified “halaal”, consuming PORK is a real, living danger. Granting ‘halaal’ certificates to non-Muslims who stock PORK on the same premises, does boggle the mind.

 

for more info visit the U.U.C.S A website @ www.uucsa.org 

Posted on: 09-08-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dum Dum Pops are not Halal

A sister has provided the following information to us:

From: DaWanda VanBuskirk
Date:02/27/2012 10:14 AM (GMT-06:00)
To: t@yahoo.com
Subject: FW: Dum Dum Pops Website Contact

We do not add any alcohol to our Dum Dums. Some of the flavors are processed with alcohol but do not contain alcohol when made into a sucker. These flavor include blueberry, blu raspberry, cotton candy, and mango.

 Sincerely,

 DaWanda Van Buskirk

SPANGLER CANDY

Laboratory/QC Manager

Posted on: 08-20-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nature's Bounty Vitamins are Not Halal

A brother has provided this information. These vitamins are made with non zabiha beef gelatin.

Date: Tue, 29 Jul 2014 15:50:45 +0000
> From: info@naturesbounty.com
> To: mohsin
> Subject: Thank you for your interest in Nature's Bounty!
>
> Case No. 623539
>
> Dear Mohsin,
>
> Thank you for contacting Nature’s Bounty. The source of gelatin in the Fish Oil 1200mg (Prod No. 13102, B35857) is bovine (cow). This product is free of pork.
>
> If you have any further questions, our Consumer Affairs Representatives can be reached toll-free at 1-800-433-2990, Monday through Saturday, 9am-7pm EST. We look forward to serving you in the future.
>
> Kindest regards,
>
> Natalie
> Customer Care Department
> http://www.naturesbounty.com
> www.facebook.com/NaturesBountyVitamins
>

Posted on: 08-20-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Subway's Fat Free Honey Mustard Sauce is Haram because it is made with White Wine

According to Subway website, Subway's Fat Free Honey Mustard Sauce is Haram because it is made with White Wine.

Posted on: 08-19-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Krispy Kreme products are Mashbooh

Krispy Kreme do not have ingredients statements on their website and they refused to provide to MCG by e-mail. Since MCG do not have the ingredients statement of their donuts and other product we have no choice but to assign all their products as MASHBOO. We recommend Muslim consumers in USA and Canada not to consume Krispy Kreme products.

From:

 krispy.kreme@casupport.com

Sent:

Wed 8/06/14 6:28 AM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com

Dear Mr. Ahmed,

Thank you for your email regarding the use of alcohol in Krispy Kreme products. Please contact us at 1-800-4KRISPY (1-800-457-4779). We are able to assist you Monday - Friday from 7am to 7pm EST.

Due to the fact that written information can be manipulated, we have chosen not to email out information regarding these specific ingredients. Because of the sensitivity of these questions, we would like to verbally communicate with each of our customers that are interested in finding out more information. With this, we also reduce the risk of modified versions of our information becoming available on social media websites.

We look forward to hearing from you.


Best regards,
Lyndon Palmer
Krispy Kreme Customer Experience
www.krispykreme.com

Posted on: 08-06-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Flavors of Purity Ice Cream are not Halal

A Muslim consumer has provided this e-mail:

From: Date: Tue, Jun 24, 2014 at 10:34 AM Subject: Re: purity ice cream

I have your answers finally, They came to me in two parts. Here they are as follows: " The vanilla is Cat I, so yes it does contain alcohol. " " The answer is yes it does contain the animal enzymes." I hope this helps.

Sorry it took a little while. Have a good day!

Peg @ Purity Peggy Gaw Purity Dairy, LLC 360 Murfreesboro Road Nashville, TN 37210

Posted on: 07-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Downy Liquid Fabric Softeners are made with Pork and non zabiha Beef fat

Proctor & Gamble has informed MCG that all Downy liquid fabric softeners are made with pork and non zabiha beef fat. They are not free of animal by products.

Reference number 20260973 dated July 21, 2014

Posted on: 07-21-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol containing flavor is used all Aim, Close Up, Pepsodent and Sensodyne toothpastes

According Church & Dwight company alcohol is used in flavor of all Aim, Close Up and Pepsodent toothpaste. The reference number for this information from Church & Dwight is 005648411A of dated July 2, 2014.

GlaxoSmithKline the maker of Sensydyne toothpaste has informed MCG that all Sensodyne toothpastes are made with alcohol containing flavors with reference number 4278370 dated July 2, 2014.

Posted on: 07-02-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Carrageenan in Toothpaste

Recently many toothpaste companies is started to use Carrageenan in some of their toothpaste. Carrageenan is a mashbuh ingredient and it is Halal only if Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageen but if they use ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol then Carrageenan will not be Halal.

Most toothpaste companies do not have this information they have to get it from their Carrageenan suppliers and it will takes times.

MCG advises Muslims to avoid toothpaste containing Carrageenan unless the toothpaste companies informed that alcohol or isopropyl alcohol was not used during processing of Carrageenan.

Posted on: 07-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Crest Scope toothpaste are Haram because it is made with alcohol

Ethyl Alcohol was used as an ingredient in:

Crest Complete Whitening Scope toothpaste

Crest Minty Fresh Toothpaste

Crest Strengthens Enamel Whtening Scope Toothpaste

Crest Complete Whitening + Scope Toothpaste – Minty Fresh

Crest Extra White + Scope Outlast Toothpaste 75mL

CREST Complete Extra White Plus Scope Outlast Toothpaste

Crest Whitening Plus Scope Striped Toothpaste

CREST Whitening + Scope Toothpaste 20 ml

Crest 125ml Complete Multi-Benefit Extra White +Scope Outlast

Crest 130ml Complete Multi-Benefit Whitening + Scope Striped

Crest plus Scope Cool Peppermint Toothpaste, 6.2-Ounce

Crest Complete Multi-Benefit Extra White Plus Scope Outlast

Crest Complete Multi-Benefit Extra White + Scope Dual-Blast

Crest Extra Whitening + Scope Mint Splash Toothpaste 6.0 oz

Crest With Scope Toothpaste - Cool Peppermint, 6.2 oz

Crest Extra Whitening Plus Scope Toothpaste

Crest Complete Whitening + Scope – Cool Peppermint Toothpaste

Crest Complete Whitening + Scope – Cool Peppermint Toothpaste

Crest Complete Multi-Benefit Whitening + Scope Cool Peppermint

Please avoid all Crest toothpaste with scope.

Posted on: 07-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dairy Queen Products are not Halal

MCG has reconfirmed with Dairy Queen with reference number 668077 dated June 11, 2014 that they do not use kosher certified ingredients. Each franchise buy their own raw material from different suppliers.

MCG considered all Dairy Queen products as not Halal.

Dear Rasheed,

Thank you for contacting International Dairy Queen, Inc. (IDQ) with your
request for information regarding Dairy Queen® products that are certified
Kosher.

The products, including Dairy Queen soft serve, sold in Dairy Queen
restaurants come from a variety vendors. For this reason IDQ is unable to
guarantee that any product sold within the Dairy Queen system is Kosher
certified.

As you may already know, most Dairy Queen restaurants are independently
owned and operated franchises. As such, any decision to obtain Kosher
certification is made by the independent franchise owner/operator of each
Dairy Queen restaurant. IDQ recommends that you contact the Dairy Queen
restaurants you frequently patronize and inquire whether their facility
has been certified Kosher or if their products are Kosher certified.

Thank you again for contacting Dairy Queen. We appreciate your interest in
our products, and I hope this information is helpful to you.

Best Regards,

Abby P
Consumer Relations Specialist
American Dairy Queen Corporation

Posted on: 06-11-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Indian Made Product AppFiz is Mushbooh

This is a Indian product. AppFiz is a carbonated apple juice product manufactured by Parle Agro. These are ingredients of AppFiz in India:

Water
Reconstituted Apple Juice
CO2
Sugar
Malic Acid
Citric Acid
Permitted (Class II) Preservatives (E211 Sodium Sulphite, E224 Potassium Metabisulphite)
Ascorbic Acid

Excluding Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients.

If no pork or beef gelatin was used during processing of reconstitute apple juice and no Haram hidden ingredients are used and if it has a green dot on the package then it can be consider as Halal.

Posted on: 06-11-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork DNA found in Cadbury Chocolates sold in Malaysia is now a big concern for Muslims Worldwide

Muslims are outraged in Malaysia after the discovery of pork DNA in Cadbury Dairy Milk Hazel Nut and Cadbury Dairy Milk Roast Almond.

Saudi's FDA is now testing Cadbury chocolate products available in Saudi Arabia for pork DNA.

Muslim retail and consumer groups in Malaysia on Thursday called for a boycott of products made by Britain-based confectioner Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc, after two chocolate varieties were found to have infringed Islamic rules by containing pork DNA.

Cadbury Malaysia on Monday recalled the Dairy Milk chocolates after the finding by Malaysian authorities in a random test. (Reuters).

Malaysian Muslims want to know how this happened when JAKIM assured them for their Halal status. Brother Amir wrote MCG in USA about Halal status of

Cadbury chocolate:

QUESTION: assalamualaikum, i want to ask you, is cadbury chocolate halal or haram because there an issue in my country,malaysia that cadbury chocolate is haram. - 06-01-14 08:27:31

Muslims in Malaysia are asking JAKIM of Malaysia why they do not have a good HACCP system and TQM (Total Quality Management) system to prevent pork goes into their Halal certified Cadbury Chocolates.

Muslim Consumer Group for Food Products USA/Canada is getting a request from sister Hafsa in Pakistan to test Cadbury sold in Pakistan:

" Assalam o Alaikum
I am reading reports which claims that Cadbury in Malaysia is haram as it has some ingredients of pig.

I want you to please test in your labs and tell if Cadbury here in Pakistan is halal or haram.

Also the Mondeleze Singapore or Mondeleze Pakistan are halal or haram

Jazakallah khair"

A Muslim consumer in USA is also asking MCG about pork DNA in Cadbury sold in USA.

Unfortunately MCG do not have expensive DNA testing equipment to test Cadbury products from different part of the world.

Posted on: 06-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Lacotse (a milk sugar) may be the source of Pork DNA in Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate in Malaysia

Lactose a milk sugar is part of ingredients of Cadbury Dairy Milk Hazelnut Chocolate and Cadbury Dairy Milk Roast Almond Chocolate.

Lactose is made from whey, whey is a by-product of cheese making. Whey from which the lactose obtained has to be sweet whey not acid whey where rennet enzyme is not used. Milk is curd by adding rennet enzyme to milk. Rennet enzyme can be made from pork or beef or microbial source. Some times Lipase (fat breaking) enzyme is also added to milk. Again Lipase enzyme can be obttained from pork or beef or microbial source.

Only microbial rennet enzyme and microbial lipase enzyme are Halal.

It is possible that the lactose is obtained from a dairy plant where cheese is made with pork rennet, pork lipase and also microbial rennet and microbial lipase. Probably the line was not properly cleaned so cross contamination happened or finished microbial enzyme used whey may be contaminated with pork rennet whey.

The other source of Pork DNA in Cadbury Dairy milk chocolate may br from emulsifiers or fat based ingredients. Same above sitauation may have happened.

Halal certification is not easy, you have to consider every possiblity, some Halal certifying organizations do not pay attention to details and possiblity of cross contamination. You have to be trained or have experience in working in cheese plants and other food plants. The manufacturer must have a very good HACCP, its implemintation and management. Similarly have very good Total Quality Management of cheese plant or other food plant.

Posted on: 06-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG is not who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc . in Malaysia

MCG is not who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc. in Malaysia because we do not research food products in Malaysia and Indonesia.

Majority of Cadbury products in USA and Canada are kosher certified and no pig derived ingredients are used. If Cadbury do not use alcohol as a solvent or carrier in the flavors then they are Halal. But if alcohol is used as solvent or carrier in the flavors then all Cadbury products are considered as Not Halal. Beside flavor all other ingredients are Halal because it is under Orthodox Kosher certification which meets Halal requirements.

No pig by product are used in US or Canadian made Cadbury products because they are kosher certified by orthodox Kosher organization.

Mondelez (A old Nabisco Snack company) is not telling Muslim consumers in USA and Canada whether their products are made with alcohol containing flavors or not while other food companies provide information about presence or absence of alcohol in flavors. This news was brought to us by Br. Hasan Raza a Muslim consumer before the following news was published on www.yahoo.com today:

Indonesia testing Cadbury products after Malaysia halal uproar

Reuters

By By Fransiska Nangoy and Al-Zaquan Amer Hamzah May 30, 2014 5:12 AM

0 shares

Content preferences

Done

An employee shows a box containing Cadbury Dairy Milk Hazelnut and Cadbury Dairy Milk Roast Almond, to be return tomorrow in a shop in Shah Alam

.

View photo

An employee shows a box containing Cadbury Dairy Milk Hazelnut and Cadbury Dairy Milk Roast Almond, to …

By Fransiska Nangoy and Al-Zaquan Amer Hamzah

JAKARTA/KUALA LUMPUR (Reuters) - Indonesian authorities said on Friday they were testing products made by British confectioner Cadbury to check they complied with Islamic standards after two chocolate varieties in neighboring Malaysia were found to be contaminated with pork DNA.

The scandal over the ingredient banned under Islamic dietary laws has sparked outrage among some Muslim groups in Malaysia, who have called for a boycott on all products made by Cadbury and its parent Mondelez International Inc .

Concerns over halal food standards could jeopardize Mondelez's sales in Muslim markets that are larger than Malaysia, such as Indonesia, home to the world's largest Muslim population, and the Middle East.

"After such an incident, it is prudent to do a test on the other variants to see if they also have traces of the pig DNA. We may have the result in a few days," Roy Alexander Sparingga, head of Indonesia's Food and Drug Monitoring Agency, told Reuters.

Sparingga said the tests would be done on the 10 varieties of Cadbury products that are certified in Indonesia as halal - or permissible according to Islamic law. Those products did not include the two types of Dairy Milk chocolate that Cadbury Malaysia recalled this week after finding pork traces.

Malaysian Islamic authorities tried to cool anger against Cadbury by saying it remained unclear if the contamination was the company's fault.

"People need to understand that we can't immediately take action against Cadbury when there's no solid evidence yet or if contamination occurred in the factory itself or if it was external factors," said Othman Mustapha, the director general of Malaysia's Department of Islamic Development, or JAKIM.

"What's happening to Cadbury now is akin to a person who's remanded and placed in lockup. They have not been found guilty so this is just a suspension," he added.

JAKIM, which is responsible for awarding halal certification in Malaysia, is conducting further tests on the suspect Cadbury products to confirm the initial findings by the health ministry.

MALAYSIA AUTHORITIES DAMPEN CONCERNS

Cadbury Malaysia said in a statement that it had withdrawn the two products as a precaution and that it had no reason to believe there was pork-related content in its other foods.

"We stand by our halal certification and we have the highest levels of product labeling standards," it said.

Products in Muslim nations are regularly checked to ensure they are halal. Besides pork, items considered non-halal by Muslims include alcohol and the meat of animals and birds that have not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites.

Non-halal food scandals have erupted in Southeast Asia before. In 2001, Japanese food giant Ajinomoto Co Inc <2802.T> became embroiled in a similar case after the Indonesian Council of Ulemas, the highest Islamic authority, accused the company of using pig enzymes in the production process of the widely used seasoning monosodium glutamate.

The then Indonesian president stepped in to try to defuse the row which had hit the company's share price. Ajinomoto's local company subsequently publicly apologized and withdrew some products from the Indonesian market.

On Thursday, a Malaysian Muslim retail group said it would ask the 800 stores it represents to stop selling all products made by Cadbury, Mondelez and U.S. food giant Kraft, which acquired Cadbury in 2010 in a $19-billion deal. Together with a Muslim consumer group, it called on Malaysians to boycott all those companies' products.

Mondelez is the name of what remains of Kraft Foods Inc after it spun off its North American grocery business as Kraft Foods Group . Its brands include Oreo cookies and Ritz crackers.

Malaysia's National Fatwa Council, which issues official guidance on Islamic issues, said on Friday it supported the withholding of halal status on the two Cadbury products but that the company should not be punished unless the breach was proven to be intentional.

"The authorities need to do their investigation to see if the accusations are valid, and to see where the pollution happened, whether it was deliberate or accidental," Abdul Shukor Husin, the council's committee chairman, told Reuters.

"Muslim people who had consumed the product that had been certified halal but contained pig DNA should not worry about the purity of their bodies. Islam is not a rigid religion."

(Additional reporting by Trinna Leong in KUALA LUMPUR and Jonathan Thatcher in JAKARTA; Writing by Stuart Grudgings,; Editing by Miral Fahmy

Posted on: 05-31-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Icy Hot Patch and Bengay Pain Reliever Medicated Patch are not Halal

Chattam Inc and Johnson & Johnson told MCG that they can not gurantee that their medicated patches are free of pork fat because they buy Glycerin and Polysorabte 80 the fat based ingredients from different suppliers some of them use porkfat to make Glycerin and Polysorbate 80.

May 2014

Posted on: 05-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: New Information about Isopropyl Alcohol being as Haram

Isopropyl Alcohol is not used in the processed food products but used in very few ingredients during its processing for crystallization. Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol help in attracting water molecule from food ingredients during its processing. Then Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol is completely taken out from the ingredients.

MCG received a question from a Washington D.C doctor and a professor from Istanbul Turkey providing medical research from text book and medical literature that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication. The Washington D.C .doctor who works at ER department states that he received many poor and homeless patients who drunk by using isopropyl alcohol.

MCG checked couple of medical literature to find out that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication among people.

Based on these medical literature MCG now considers Isopropyl Alcohol as intoxicant and Haram. MCG is also apologize for publishing Isopropyl Alcohol as Halal.

All the information about Isopropyl alcohol has been corrected on MCG 's www.muslimconsumergroup.com and www.canadianhalalfoods.com websites except questions and answers section because it is too large data.

Posted on: 04-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dunkin Donut Tuna Salad Sandwich is Haram

Brother Hasan Raza and his friend (another brother ) who works at Dunkin Donut Store has provided the ingredients statement from Tuna Salad Box at Dunkin Donut store to MCG indicating the presence of WHITE WINE.

In European restaurants wine is used in tuna Sandwich and tuna salad.

There is no wine in tuna at Subway stores.

Ingredients of Tuna Salad obtained from the tuna salad box from Dunkin Donut stores by two brothers:

INGREDIENTS: Bagel: Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Sugar, Malt Extract, Degermed Yellow Corn Meal, Yeast, Salt, Natural Ferment Flavor (Cultured Wheat and Wheat Malt Flours, Vinegar, Salt), Molasses, Dough Conditioner (Malted Barley Flour, Enzymes, Dextrose), Soy (Trace); Tuna Salad: Tuna (Skipjack and Yellowfin Tuna, Water, Salt); Mayonnaise (Soybean Oil, Egg Yolks, Distilled Vinegar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Water, Salt, Spice, Calcium Disodium EDTA added to protect flavor, Paprika); Celery; Bread Crumbs (Bleached Wheat Flour, Yeast, Sugar, and Salt); Dijon Mustard (Water, Mustard Seed, Salt, White Wine, Citric Acid, Turmeric, Tartaric Acid, Spice); Seasoning (Maltodextrin, Cultured Dextrose, Sodium Diacetate, Salt, Egg White Lysozyme, Nisin Preparation); Salt; Soybean Oil, White Vinegar; Citric Acid (Antioxidant); Tabasco Sauce (Vinegar, Red Pepper, Salt); Glucono Delta Lactone; Xanthan and Guar Gum; Celery Salt (Celery Seed, Salt); Lemon Juice [Concentrated Lemon Juice (Filtered Water, Lemon Juice Concentrate), Sodium Bisulfite and Sodium Benzoate (Preservatives), Natural Lemon Oil]; Potassium Sorbate and Sodium Benzoate (Preservatives); Spices.

Please avoid eating Tuna Salad Sandwich at Dunkin Donut and Panera Bread.

Please ask for ingredients and specially wine when you order Tuna Sandwich at any restaurant or any fast food chain.

MCG is thankful to Br. Hasan Raza and his friend for providing above information which benefit to Muslims.

Posted on: 04-22-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Little Caesar Mozzarella Cheese is Mushbooh

MCG has tried to get the technical answers from Little Caesar Pizza regarding the Mozzarella cheese and they said to us and Muslims consumers that their cheese pizza is not Halal or Kosher certified. So based on this statement MCG has decided to give Mushbooh status to Little Caesar Pizza.

Posted on: 03-30-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pizza Hut Cheese Pizza is Mushbooh now.

Muslim consumers sent the following questions to MCG regarding the Halal status of Pizza Hut's cheese pizza:

1. "Pizza Hut in an ad that they put on pizza was that are picked up claims that their new hand tossed pizza has a lighter a airier crust, 1 of a kind cheese blended with 5 Italian inspired flavors, brushed with garlic buttery flavor. so I am wondering whether or not the crust is halal, and what about the cheese that is blended with 5 Italian-inspired flavors, and what about the brushed garlic butter flavor -[Anonymous user]"

2. Assalamu Alaikum, Pizza Hut recently changed their cheese blend. Do you know if it is still halal Also, they use Romano and other cheeses in their new "hand tossed" pizza as well as the "cheese lovers," "stuffed crust" and "cheese lover's" lines. I do not believe that their Romano or parmesan has been inspected, can you please note this for others Jazakallah Khairn for all of your efforts. May Allah make it easy for you. -[Anonymous user]"

MCG went to a local Pizza Hut store and asked a store manager about cheese pizzas, as well as any additional sprays used on top of them. He gave the following responses:

They use the following crusts on screens:

A. Hand Tossed Crust

B. Thin Crust

C. Crust stuffed with cheese

D. Three cheese Crust

Personal pan pizza crust is made in pan and they use only vegetable oil to lubricate it.

All screens are sprayed with a food released spray named Gold N Sweet. This is made by Ventura Foods. He showed me the can and its ingredients: Soybean Oil, Soy Lecithin, non-chlorofluorocarbon Propellant with Kosher symbol U inside a circle.

For hand tossed crust after baking the cheese pizza, they spray Ventura Foods Gold N Sweet Garlic Butter Flavor spray the can has a UD kosher symbol on it. He mentioned also using Garlic Seasoning on hand tossed crust but did not give its ingredients.

He said all the vegetables used are fresh vegetables. He said that only Mozzarella cheese is applied on all crust. Additional Parmesan, Romano cheese and Alfredo Sauce are applied to only cheese lover's pizza.

MCG then asked the Pizza Hut customer service department to provide the ingredient statements of the following:


 1. Personal Pan Pizza Crust
 2. Pizza Sauce used on personal pan pizza crust
 3. Cheese used on personal pan pizza crust
 4. Anything spray or applied on personal pan pizza.

The Pizza Hut customer service department has replied with the following:

"Pizza Hut ingredients are proprietary specifications. If you have a question on a specific ingredient for a specific dietary concern, we will be glad to help you with that question" .

MCG has decided to give a "MUSHBOOH" status to Pizza Hut Hand Tossed, Personal Pan and Thin Crust cheese based on the above statement.

It is possible for them to change their mind and provide ingredient statements. Until then, their cheese pizza is musbooh.

 

 

 

Posted on: 03-30-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

Posted on: 03-22-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Why Cheetos and Doritos (except Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips) are not Halal

There is no kosher symbol on the package of Cheetos and Doritos. This makes them Non Halal because they can add any Haram Hidden or Processing aid ingredients without mentioning under the ingredients statement. Cheese used in Cheetos and Doritos are not Kosher certified and not Halal. Sine these products are not under Halal or Kosher certification then Frito Lay can use non kosher certified flavors or colors. There is no restriction for Frito Lay to make Cheetos or Doritos on their own lines or on co-packers line where pork containing products are made. This exposes a great possibility of cross contamination of pork containing ingredients. All these snacks are very attractive to adults and children but there is a Hadith which says that Allah will not accept your dua for 40 days if a Muslim eats intentionally a bit of Haram food. So MCG recommend Muslims not consume above snacks.

Posted on: 03-22-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Advill Junior Chewable Tablets are Haram

According to Pfizer pork fat was used in all Advill Junior Chewable Tablets ( Haram,  All Advil Junior Chewable Tablets are made with pork fat. Reference No.: Lauren 215522A dated March 05, 2014).

Posted on: 03-12-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

The following article was from: http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspxnewsid=170

In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.


Allah Most High says:


“O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper”. (al-An’am, 90)


Sayyiduna Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes”. (Sahih Muslim, No. 1985).


However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both)

from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.


They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication”. (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306).


However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types o f beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their

argument on the following two Hadiths:


Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him  give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others).


Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden”. (Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others).


Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.


The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna. Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:


“Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position”.

Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:


“Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the

Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether”.

(Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455).


The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).


However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him)    himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them" (end of the published article).

 

MCG comments:

 

Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims. Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema. But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic. The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn. Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. According above ulema  the corn alcohol should be consider as synthetic alcohol because it is not obtained from grape, date and barley.

 

There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast. The source of sugar are many such from fruits (grape, dates or nay fruits) or from grain such as corn, wheat.

You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source.

Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time. Many ulema miss the ibadah point.

Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah.

 

Here MCG's ulema fatwa on alcohol:

 

FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but

according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small

quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

MCG considers alcohol from any source as Haram.

The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol:

Gasification produces a synthesis gas, sometimes called syngas (from synthesis gas), which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide. The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process.

Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

2. CPG Sec. 555.100 Alcohol; Use of Synthetic Alcohol in Foods

BACKGROUND:

Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l948. By Administration Information Letter No. 90, dated January 28, l949, the districts were advised that we seriously doubted that a product made from synthetic alcohol could be appropriately regarded as a type of vinegar.

"Ethyl alcohol is recognized in the U.S. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia. Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

alcohol in food products to have been produced from fermented food substances, such as grains, fruit, etc., and that they do not expect their foods to contain 'alcohol' produced from petroleum gas.

alcohol as a suitable food ingredient. This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review.

Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. In order to secure more information, we wrote to the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Division, Internal Revenue Service. Their reply included the following paragraphs:

alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum derivatives. It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.g., 40-grains.

alcohol is used in the production of beverage products, our regulations require that the source of the alcohol be shown on the label except for cordials and liqueurs. Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic."

POLICY:

Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading.

Bottom line is that some ulema  are confusing Muslims to consume alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley. They even never used word getting

Posted on: 03-05-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Physician Formula's Cosmetic are not Halal

MCG contacted the Physician Formula company and found that Alcohol is listed as an ingredient in Physician Formula's Youth-Boosting Spotless Foundation SPF 15. There is no claim on their website that they do not use animal derived ingredients and alcohol.

Posted on: 02-21-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Difference in terminology regarding natural flavor and identical natural flavor used in Europe and Australia

Food companies in USA and Canada donot use the word "Natural Identical Flavor" instead Natural flavor is used. But in Europe and Australia following termeinology is used for flavors:

Type

Description

Natural flavoring substances

Flavoring substances obtained from plant or animal raw materials, by physical, microbiological or enzymatic processes. They can be either used in their natural state or processed for human consumption, but cannot contain any nature-identical or artificial flavoring substances.

They are only Halal if they obtained from Halal sources and alcohol was not used as a solvent.

Nature-identical flavoring substances

Flavoring substances that are obtained by synthesis or isolated through chemical processes, which are chemically and organoleptically identical to flavoring substances naturally present in products intended for human consumption. They cannot contain any artificial flavoring substances.

They are only Halal if no alcohol is used as a solvent.

Artificial flavoring substances

Flavoring substances not identified in a natural product intended for human consumption, whether or not the product is processed. These are typically produced by fractional distillation and additional chemical manipulation of naturally sourced chemicals, crude oil or coal tar. Although they are chemically different, in sensory characteristics are the same as natural ones. They are only Halal if no alcohol is used as a solvent in the flavor. (From Australian Food Standards Guidelines and The Flavourings in Food Regulations, Amended 1994 of UK)

Posted on: 02-10-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: New Information about Johnson & Johnson Baby Products

MCG has contacted Johnson & Johnson about presence or absence of animal derived ingredients and ethanol (Reference Number 016081305 A dated January 30, 2014) They provided the following information:

Product Name                     Prsence of animal derived ingredients                   Ethanol or Alcohol is used

Baby Oil                                            None                                                                              No

Baby Lotion                                      None                                                                              No

Baby Powder                                   None                                                                              Not Sure

Baby Shampoo                               None                                                                              Ethanol or alcohol based preservative is used    

Head - To - Toe Baby Wash           None                                                                               Ethanol or alcohol based preservative is used                            

                       

Posted on: 01-30-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: England: Lansoprazole30 is a Haram Medicine

Br. Amal from England has sent the following e-mail to inform our brothers and sisters in UK. Lansoprazole30 inhibits the production of gastric acid in stomach.

From: Uklon Medinfo <medinfo@tevauk.com>
Date: 27 January 2014 09:38:14 GMT
To: Zainabeya@
Subject: RE: MEA 130124 Lansoprazole 24-01-2014
 
 

Dear Amal,

 

Thank you for confirming this information. This is a product licensed by another company called Krka. I have contacted Krka and they have confirmed the gelatine is sourced from a mixture of bovine and porcine.

 

Kind regards

 

Susannah

 

Medical Information

 

Email: medinfo@tevauk.com

Office: +44 (0) 207 540 7117

 

Teva UK Limited

Field House

Station Approach

Harlow, Essex

CM20 2FB

www.tevauk.com

 

 

 

Posted on: 01-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nivea products are Mushbooh

New information is provided by a sister from Nivea company:

I have the following information for you sent to me by Nivea in regards to animal derived ingredients.

Ingredients used in the NIVEA range are, wherever possible, from non-animal sources such as vegetable based Glycerin.

However there are specific materials where an effective alternative is not readily available.

Please find these ingredients listed below:

1. Lanolin, Lanolin Oil, Lanolin Alcohol, Glyceryl Lanolate, Cholesterol, Cholesteryl Oleyl Carbonate, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride - derived from Woolwax (from sheep wool).

2. Sodium Tallowate - derived from Tallow (from cattle).

3. PEG-8 Beeswax, Cera Alba (Wax), Mel (Honey) - derived from Wax or honey (from bees).

4. Carboxymethyl Chitin, Ostrea/Oyster shell extract (from crustaceans).

5. Hydrolyzed Silk, Silk Powder - derived from Silk (from silk worms).

6. Hydrolyzed Milk Protein, Sine Adipe Lac, Casein, Yoghurt Powder, Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl, Lactoglobulin Sulfonate - derived from Milk (from cattle).

7. Carmine/CI 75470 (colour) - derived from Cochineal (from beetles).

8. Hydrolyzed Keratin - derived from Keratin (from cashmere goat or sheep wool).

9. Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein (fresh water pearls). We do not use any egg based ingredients in our products. As formulations do change from time to time, we would recommend that you check the ingredients listing on the product that you wish to use for the ingredients listed above, prior to use. -

Sent to MCG by a sister on 01-06-14 05:59:59

MCG response:

Ingredients from Beewax, Sheep Wool, from silk are Halal.

Red color from Cochineal or Carmine is Haram because all insects are Haram in Islam excpet locust.

Ingredients from non zabiha beef are not Halal.

All dairy based ingredients are Halal only if they are Halal or kosher certified.

Please avoid all those Nivea products if they are made from above ingredients.

Posted on: 01-07-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Please do not buy any Great Value food product without kosher symbol or any Equate personal care product and medicine at Wal-Mart

Wal-Mart buy food and non food products from many differ rent suppliers throughout the country. They do not specify the source of ingredients so the same Great Value food product without Kosher symbol on the package (although all ingredients look Halal) and Equate non food products are made with ingredients having different sources like some from animal source and other with plant source. So there is no guarantee that they are Halal.

Only those Great Value food product with kosher symbol (if they meet Halal requirements) are Halal. All Equate personal care products and on the counter medicine are not Halal for Muslims.

A list of Halal Great Value food products is available on our website.

Posted on: 12-30-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: ACCORDING TO HALAL TRIBUNE HFA (A BRITISH HALAL CERTIFYING ORGANIZATION) CEASES TO ACCEPT MECHANICAL SLAUGHTERING OF HALAL POULTRY

2nd December 2013

Press Release

"HFA CEASES TO ACCEPT MECHANICAL SLAUGHTERING OF HALAL POULTRY

As a result of various consultations and procedural review by the Board of HFA Scholars
and Trustees, Halal Food Authority (HFA) has decided to amend its certification policy and
consequently, mechanical slaughtering of poultry would no longer be covered by the HFA
Halal Standard.
Poultry slaughterhouses that employ a mechanical fixed blade (mechanised killing) to
slaughter birds would no longer be accredited by the HFA for halal status with effect from 3RD MARCH 2014".

US and Canadian Halal meat certification organizations should follow the same so that US and Canadian Muslims consumers will not have to be worry about the Halal status of chicken.

MCG thinks this is due to a declaration by 40 British Islamic Scholars who declared in 2012 that machine slaughtering of chicken is not consider as Zabiha.

MCG is not in Halal meat certification business.

Posted on: 12-11-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dilemma For Indian Muslim Consumers

The Government of India has notified the food manufacturers through P 15019/14/2004 PH (Food) dated June 29, 2006 regarding compulsory display of Green and Red dots to differentiate between vegetarian and non vegetarian foods respectively.

Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green color on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

All state food authorities in India have been instructed to take necessary action to ensure compliance of above (wwe.greendotter.com).

The following symbols are mandatory:

Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely:

Every package of Non-Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in red colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

But there is problem for Muslim consumers in India a Green dot vegetarian food products although they do not contain animal derived ingredients but it can be made with ethyl alcohol or alcohol containing flavors or alcohol was used during the processing of a vegetarian food ingredient or if made with non Halal vegetarian food ingredient. If this occur then green dotted food product became non Halal for Muslims.

So the green dot containing products are Halal only if no alcohol is used during processing or no alcohol was used in flavor as a solvent or no alcohol was used  during processing of vegetarian ingredients or if they made with only Halal ingredients.

For example if a green dotted food product was made with Carrageenan, a Mushbooh ingredient and also it is a vegetarian food gum but ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol or Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageenan during its processing.

If ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used then carrageenan became non Halal. If Potassium Chloride was used then it will become a Halal ingredient. 

There is also problem with Red Dot containing food products for Muslim consumers in India they can be made only with eggs, with no animal derived ingredients were mentioned under ingredients statement. The manufacturer of that product has informed the Muslim consumers that no animal derived ingredients were used as hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product.

So this red dotted food product with eggs, without  animal derived ingredients under ingredients statement and no animal derived hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product became Halal for Muslims because egg is a Halal food ingredient.

MCG advises Indian Muslim consumers to read the ingredients carefully and contact the manufacturer whether they use any animal derived ingredients as hidden or processing aid ingredients in the product. Always write to them whether alcohol was used in any flavor for both Green or Red Dot containing food Products or alcohol was used in food product or in food ingredients.

 



 

 

 

Posted on: 11-17-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: In some dry food products alcohol is used in natural or artificial flavor before spray drying or processing

MCG has found during its investigation of Halal certification of dry beverage mixes that one of the dry ingredients mix was made by another company by using alcohol in flavor before spray drying the ingredients mix. The company also sent a Halal certificate to MCG issued by a prominent US Halal food certifying organization, but MCG refused to Halal certify those beverage mixes. There are some food products at supermarkets with Halal symbols but they're made with alcohol containing flavors or alcohol was used during processing. Please investigate with Halal certifying organizations whether they Halal certify food products made with alcohol containing flavor or alcohol was used during processing.

MCG Ulema said that when Halal ingredients touch the alcohol before manufacturing then those Halal ingredients will lose their Halal status. Evaporating or drying of alcohol during processing does not make the food products Halal.

There is no hadith which says that a certain amount or percentage of intoxicants is allowed in Halal foods. A very minute amount of alcohol produced during a natural process such as the ripening of fruits, in 100% fruit juices, during the fermentation process of bread baking. This very minute amount of naturally produced alcohol is acceptable in Islam. Man added alcohol in flavors or foods is not acceptable.

It is a fact that some flavor or food companies use alcohol as a solvent in liquid natural or artificial flavors before they spray dry the flavors or food products, or dry mixes. Many cake mix companies such as Betty Crocker use dry flavor where alcohol was used before drying. Some food or flavor companies claim that there is no alcohol in the finished product because alcohol is dried out or evaporated during spray drying or processing.

There are some exceptions. A food company who supplies the dry non dairy coffee creamer to the majority of supermarkets such as Supper Value, Wal-Mart (Great Value  brand) and Stop & Shop informed MCG that they do not use alcohol in artificial flavor of non dairy coffee creamer before spray drying or processing the non dairy coffee creamer.

MCG advised Muslim consumers to find out from food companies whether alcohol was present in flavor before spray drying or processing the dry foods. This includes non dairy coffee creamer, dry seasoning mixes, cake mixes, other spray dried food products, or ingredients mixes.

Posted on: 11-10-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Carrageenan

Carrageenan is a mushbooh gum obtained from seaweeds but during its production it is crystallized either by Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl Alcohol or Potassium Chloride (KCl) or none of all. If Potassium Chloride (KCL) or none of any thing was used during the processing of Carrageenan then it will be Halal. But if Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl Alcohol was use to crystallized the Carrageenan then this Carrageenan will become NOT HALAL ingredient. Only the manufacturer of Carrageenan know what they use to crystallized Carrageenan during its processing.

So ask manufacturer of food product who used Carrageenan to find out from their Carrageenan supplier whether Ethyl Alcohol or Isoprpyl Alcohol was used during the processing of Carrageenan.

Posted on: 11-09-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Muslims can not consume Sudafed Medicine both for adult and children according to latest information

According to recent e-mail from Johnson & Johnson, there is no guarantee that any Sudafed is made with vegetable fat.

consumerrelations2@mccus.jnj.com (consumerrelations2@mccus.jnj.com)

11/02/13
To: halalfoods@hotmail.com
From: consumerrelations2@mccus.jnj.com
Sent: Sat 11/02/13 10:09 PM
To: halalfoods@hotmail.com
Rasheed Ahmed
10685 Rushmore Ln
Huntley, IL 60142-6745

Dear Rasheed:

Thank you for contacting the Johnson & Johnson Consumer Companies, Inc. Consumer Care Center. It is always important to hear from our consumers, and we appreciate the time you have taken to contact us.

Rasheed, we hope the following information helps:

1. All of our Sudafed® OM was discontinued in 2010 and we do not recommend its usage because it will be expired.

2. For SUDAFED® Congestion Maximum Strength (or Sudafed® 30mg), there are animal/animal by-products within the glycerin source (specifically, it may be animal or vegetable depending on where it was manufactured). Additionally, for our SUDAFED® 24-Hour Tablets, this also contains animal/animal by-products through the Magnesium Stearate ( which may be derived from a animal source based on manufacturing location, again). For both of these, there is not intentional adding of alcohol, but we have not done any cross-contamination testing.

3. For our Children's SUDAFED PE® Cold & Cough, this product has been confirmed to contain some amounts of alcohol, and uses a milk derived material is a minor component of the flavor, therefore also containing an animal ingredient.

4. The same goes for our Children's SUDAFED® Nasal Decongestant, only while it does contain alcohol and animal by-products, the by-product in this is glycerin (which may be animal or vegetable source depending on manufacturing location).

5. In regards to your Sudafed PE® products for adults, we do have several of these and would prefer you contact us with which ones you specifically want us to check for you. 

We hope this information helped. Again Rasheed, thank you for your interest in our company. Should you have any comments or questions in the future, please contact us via our website www.sudafed.com or by calling our toll-free number, 1-800-223-0182. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. EST and will be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,

Andrea C.
Consumer Care Center

015895380A

For Sudafed 24 Hour

From: <consumerrelations@mccus.jnj.com>
Date: Mon, Oct 21, 2013 at 11:04 PM
Subject: McNEIL-PPC, Inc. Reference - 015870649A
To: rehman.jamil@
Dear Mr. Rehman:
Thank you for contacting the Johnson & Johnson Consumer Companies, Inc. Consumer Care Center. It is always important to hear from our consumers, and we appreciate the time you have taken to contact us.
These are excellent questions Jamil. Firstly, we do in fact have an animal ingredient within the Stearate of Magnesium Stearate. In regards to alcohol content, while we do not specifically have ingredients that contain alcohol within the product, we also did not do cross-contamination testing to see if this product is 100% free. We hope this information helps.

Again Jamil, thank you for your interest in our company. Should you have any comments or questions in the future, please contact us via our website www.sudafed.com or by calling our toll-free number, 1-800-223-0182. Our specialists are available Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. EST and will be happy to assist you.
Sincerely,
Andrea C.
Consumer Care Center
015870649A

Posted on: 11-03-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Entenmann's flavors are made with alcohol, so Entenmann bakery products made with flavors are not Halal

A Muslim consumer has provided the following e-mail to MCG indicating alcohol is used in all flavor so all Entenmann Bakery Products made with flavors are not Halal.

Assalamualaikum, I have contacted entenmanns company bimbo bakeries usa consumer inquiry line and asked them if alcohol is used in there products in general and he said if flavors are used then yes alcohol is used but it gets evaporated after cooking the product so there is almost none left. As to animal related ingrediant they only use milk eggs, butter & any glycerides used are vegetable related.per carl birdlez w/ref#00075994A.@7:10pm est on 10/11/3. Thanks!

Posted on: 10-12-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Taco Bell's All Food Items are not Halal

Taco Bell is not Muslim consumers because their Tacos, Burritos, Gorditas, even Salad, Cheesy Nachos, Chalupa, Smooth Burrito Chicken Griller, Beefy nacho Griller, Laded Potato Griller (with pork bacon) are non Halal to Haram. Please visit Taco Bell under Chain Restaurants of Food Products for detail information.

Posted on: 10-02-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pinto Beans, Barbacoa, Carnitas are Haram because they are made with pork at Chipotle Restaurants and all cheeses, Vinegar are not Halal

Pinto Beans, Barbocoa and Carnitas are made from PORK and they are Haram. Monterey Jack Cheese and Cheddar Cheese are not Halal because lack of Halal or Kosher certification. Chipotle Honey Vinaigrette is not Halal because it is made with RED WINE VINEGAR.

There are lot of items which are Halal only if no hidden ingredients are used. All ingredients used in the menu at Chipotle Restaurant are listed under Chain Restaurants subsection under Food Products section.

We remind Muslim consumers that they should be aware that Haram items are served at Chipotle Restaurants. So it is their responsibility to avoid cross contamination with Haram items.

The above information is obtained from Chipotle Restaurant website.

Posted on: 09-18-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: No reply from Little Caesar Pizza Company regarding the Halal Status of their Pizza Cheese

MCG has send the following e-mail in July 2013 so far there is no response from them.

Hello Hiba,
 
It was nice to talk to you on the phone. Attached are the technical questions for Halal status of Little Caesar Cheese.

Please forward these requirements to the person who is a technical in charge of your cheese.
 
S. Rasheed U Ahmed
Founder & President
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada
www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com

CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:

The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal:

1.    Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast). 

2.    Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast).

3.    Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk.

4.    Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves

5.    Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases

6.    Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk added

7.    Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese

8.    Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese

9.    Harmless plant based enzyme is added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese

10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food, gelatin(if it is used then it is not Halal) is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums instead of gelatin.

11. Cheese must be Halal or Kosher certified(if kosher certification meets Halal requirements) or the starter culture bacteria, rennet, media upon which the culture bacteria grows has to be kosher certified or use of microbial rennet or Lipase or whey is made from using culture bacteria obtained from milk source, microbial rennet or milk is used as a media. 

Posted on: 09-08-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG requests our sisters not use The Body Shop Cosmetic products

MCG has contacted the Body Shop Company on August 30, 2013 and asked about reference number 63461 a e-mail received from The Body Shop by our sister Mrs. Ajmal and send to MCG (the e-mail is listed below). Beside her, other sisters also requested to inquire about the Halal status of The Body Shop cosmetic.

Recently MCG received a request from The Body Shop to change the status of The Body Shop cosmetic from Non Halal to Halal.

MCG did further investigation and asked The Body Shop whey their employee Milan Zivkovic wrote in reference number 63461 that they use gelatin. The company told MCG on August 30, 2013 that she wrote it wrong and she no longer with the company and said their company is supplying some vegetarian products since 2008. They use some non vegetarian ingredients such as beeswax, Honey, Silk and Cholesterol (which could be from milk or animal fat). The customer service is based in Slovenia in Europe.

There is written contradiction of their claim that some of their products are made with gelatin which could be from pork or beef.

So MCG requests our sisters not use The Body Shop Cosmetic products.

 

From: Web Order <Order@thebodyshop.com>
Date: Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 4:26 PM
Subject: The Body Shop; Ref: 63461
To: A. Ajmal <a.ajm@>

Dear Ms. Ajmal,

 Thank you for contacting The Body Shop online team.

 The Body Shop® is not a vegetarian or vegan company; however the vast majority of our products contain no animal derived ingredients.  We aim to avoid the use of animal-derived ingredients wherever possible and specify non-animal ingredients whenever there is a choice.  All our soaps, for example, use a vegetable base rather than the commonly used animal-fat base.  Gelatin, beeswax, honey, milk, shellac and lanolin are the only product ingredients knowingly used by The Body Shop® which do not comply with the most current definition of Vegan.  Where synthetic forms or derivatives of these materials are available, such as lactic acid, these are always specified for our formulations.  We do not use the ingredient "carmine" in our product formulations.  

With utmost certainty we can tell you that the Raspberry Born Lippy balm is 100% vegan product.

 Should you need further assistance with this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us.  Thank you once again for contacting The Body Shop.  I hope you find the level of service provided to you via this correspondence satisfactory.  If you are not satisfied or need immediate assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Care Center at:  1-800-263-9746.

 Kindest regards,

 Milan Zivkovic

Customer Support Representative - The Body Shop Customer Support | Americas

weborder@thebodyshop.com

 

Posted on: 08-31-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

Posted on: 08-15-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG\' s analysis of Alcohol in US made soft drinks will be same in other countries if the ingredients statement are same

There has been question whether  MCG 's reporting of alcohol content in  Coca Cola, 7 UP and no alcohol detection in Pepsi by a Chicago area independent lab is good for other countries such as Australia, England and India.

MCG did research based on the ingredients statement of US made Coca Cola, Pepsi  and seven up and compared ingredients statement in other countries.

It was concluded that if same ingredients statement found on these soft drinks in any part of the world then results of alcohol presence or absence in soft drinks reported by MCG on its website will be same in any part of the world.

Ingredients of Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP

Coca Cola:

USA:

Carbonated Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Caramel Color, Phosphoric Acid, Natural Flavors, Caffeine +/- processing aid ingredients or hidden ingredients up to a maximum of 2% of formula according US FDA, it is possible they may not add any processing aid ingredients only company knows.

Australia:

Ingredients: Carbonated Purified Water, Cane Sugar, Colour (Caramel 150d), Food Acid (338), Flavour, Caffeine +/- processing aid ingredients

UK:

Carbonated water, sugar, color (caramel E150d), phosphoric acid, natural flavorings (including caffeine) +/-

India:

Carbonated water, sugar, color (caramel E150d), phosphoric acid, natural flavorings (including caffeine).

Pepsi:

USA:

Carbonated Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Caramel Color, Sugar, Phosphoric Acid, Caffeine, Citric Acid, Natural Flavor.

Australia:

Pepsi Next, Pepsi Light are different products but Under license, Schweppes Australia manufactures and distributes Pepsi, Pepsi Max.

Pepsi Next's ingredients in Australia are Carbonated Water, Sugar, Color (150D), Food Acid (338), Flavors, Caffeine, Natural Sweetener (Steviol Glycosides).

During the processing of Steviol Glycosides ethyl alcohol is used to crystallized the Steviol Glycosides. Based on MCG Halal standard, this soft drink is not considered as Halal.arbonated Waterontains:
Carbonated water,
sugar, colour (150D),
UK:

No Ingredients are available on internet.

India:

Carbonated Water, Acidity Regulators (338, 331, 330), Sweeteners (951, 950), Natural Color (150d) and added Flavor (Natural Flavoring Substances)

 

7 UP:

USA:

Filtered Carbonated Water, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Potassium Citrate, Natural Flavors, Calcium Disodium EDTA.

Australia: No ingredients Information on internet.

UK: No ingredients information on internet.

India: No Ingredients information on internet.

(MCG requests Muslim consumers in Australia, France, England and India to write the ingredients list from Pepsi and 7Up containers and send to us through e-mail at halalfoods.com)

                        Technical Analysis

Every soft drink company sells their product in the form of concentrates and bottlers add specific amount of carbonated water and sweetener to make final soft drink product.

Coca Cola company used six declared ingredients on each container of Coca Cola in USA, Australia, England and India.

They do not use a single natural flavor but multiple natural flavors. Since most natural flavors are made with ethyl alcohol as a solvent, so amount of alcohol in natural flavors is more than a single natural flavor.

Second the natural flavors is the second last ingredient of formula and caffeine is last one. It means the natural flavors is more than Caffeine.

This is the reason the lab analysis of Cocoa Cola, Pepsi and 7 UP at a independent lab in Chicago area shows that Coca Cola has more alcohol compare to Pepsi which do not show any alcohol at all.

Pepsi contains a single Natural Flavor and it is the last ingredient of the ingredients statement compared to Coca Cola and 7 UP. It means the amount of natural flavor added to formula is less in Pepsi compared to Coca Cola and 7 UP.

It means the amount of natural flavor is less in Pepsi because the citric acid is 2nd last ingredient and caffeine is third last ingredient. Natural Flavor in Pepsi is last ingredient in ingredients statement.

The highest the amount of a ingredient in a formula will be placed first under the ingredients statement of any product. The lowest amount of  ingredient in the formula of a product is listed last in the ingredients statement.

Conclusion:

In conclusion Coca Cola in any part of world will have alcohol in it. It was proved by a independent lab in Chicago area USA and also a lab in France by Le Monde Le Progres reported that 10 out of 19 sodas tested by the magazine contained alcohol, including Coke and Pepsi. The difference in MCG results and La Monde Le Progres of France is due to use of different instrument to detect ethyl alcohol and procedure itself.

Here is statement from Dr. Pepper company who make Dr. Pepper, Canada Dry and 7 UP:

From:

consumer.relations@dpsg.com You moved this message to its current location.

Sent:

Tue 3/23/10 6:00 PM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com

   

March 23, 2010
Dear Ahmed:

Thank you for contacting us about 7Up Regular.  Your comments and inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands.

Most of the flavors in our products are designed with a carrier that is usually ethanol.  The amounts are very slight, but still present.

Our Company has been making great brands that make a splash for more than 100 years. We are proud of our family of products and are committed to providing a wide range of choices for all individuals.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. We hope that you will continue to purchase and enjoy our products.

Sincerely,

Consumer Relations


010736289A


The independent outside lab in Chicago area has found the following amount of alcohol in Coca Cola and 7 UP but nothing in Pepsi:

 

The alcohol level in Coke was 0.0059 or 59 PPM 

7 UP has shown higher level of alcohol of 0.048% or 480 PPM.

The Pepsi has showed less than 0.001% or less than 10 PPM (Instrument cannot detect less than 0.001% it means zero results.

The source of alcohol in soft drinks comes only from natural flavor, all other ingredients do not posses any alcohol.

If the ingredients statement of US made Coca Cola, Pepsi and 7 UP is same in any country of the world then alcohol will be detected in Coca Cola and 7 UP but alcohol will not be detectable in Pepsi.

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 07-28-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gatorade is mushbooh

Gatorade is kosher certified but company is refusing to provide the information about presence or absence of alcohol in natural flavor.

Posted on: 07-02-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Vitamins: What make them Haram or Non Halal

The following factors make Vitamins as Haram or Non Halal:

1. Gelatin:

Gelatin listed under ingredients statement or part of the capsule makes vitamins

as Haram if gelatin was obtained from pork or Non Halal if it was obtained from non zabiha beef.

Only Fish gelatin is Halal and it should be mentioned under ingredients statement.

The capsules must be made with cellulose to be consider Halal.

2. Magnesium Stearate:

Magnesium Stearate is helps in flowing the other ingredients and is a fat based emulsifier and it could be obtained either from pork fat or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat Magnesium Stearate is consider Halal.

3. Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients:

Every vitamin is made with Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients because FDA allows manufacturer to add a maximum of 2% of formula as Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients. FDA also allows manufacturer not to mentioned under the ingredients statement. The hidden or processing aid ingredients must be from Halal sources.

Halal or Kosher symbol on the vitamins package protects Muslims from added Haram Hidden Ingredients or Processing Aid Ingredients.

4. Coating on Vitamins:

Pharmaceutical glaze, vegetable beet glaze, Shellac, Lac Resin are used to coat the vitamin tablets to protect them from breaking. All glazes are made by dissolving insect secretion Shellac in alcohol and applying the glaze on the tablets. So please do not buy the vitamins with coating.

5. Extracts:

Many source of vitamins are also obtained from plant extracts such as Bioperine (black pepper fruit extract), Tomato Extract (lycopene), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract and Panax Ginseng Root Extract. They become Non Halal if alcohol was used as a solvent. It is better to avoid those vitamins with extract otherwise you have to call the manufacturer to find out whether alcohol was used as a solvent or not. Most of the time alcohol is used for extraction from plants.

6. Natural Flavor:

Alcohol might be used as a solvent in natural flavor so it is better to avoid consuming vitamins with natural flavors. Majority of natural flavors are made with vanilla. If vanilla is used as a natural flavor then the natural flavor will not be Halal.

7. Chewable Vitamins:

All chewable vitamins specially for kids are made with natural flavor. You have to contact the manufacturer whether alcohol was used as a solvent or not.

8. Ingredients where alcohol was used during its processing and they are added to vitamins:

Alcohol is used during the manufacturing of some ingredients such as Stevia which is a natural sweetener called Steviol Glycol. It is extracted from Stevia plant by water but crystallized it by use of ethyl alcohol.

Posted on: 06-08-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dart Foam Cups are still not Halal

Dart corporation is still using the animal by product based Zinc Stearte to molds for making foam cups. Here are the correspondence with them:

Sales@dart.biz (Sales@dart.biz)

Add to contacts

5/23/12

https://bay173.mail.live.com/mail/clear.gifhttps://bay173.mail.live.com/mail/clear.gif

https://bay173.mail.live.com/mail/clear.gif

To: S. Rasheed Ahmed

Dear Mr. Ahmed: We understand that you would like to have additional information regarding the specific Dart products where zinc stearate is involved in the manufacturing process. Those products are a

Picture of Sales@dart.biz

 

From:

Sales@dart.biz You moved this message to its current location.

Sent:

Wed 5/23/12 6:45 AM

To:

S. Rasheed Ahmed (halalfoods@hotmail.com)

Dear Mr. Ahmed:
We understand that you would like to have additional information regarding
the specific Dart products where zinc stearate is involved in the
manufacturing process. Those products are as follows:

Foam Cups, Containers, and Bowls
Foam Dinnerware (Quiet Classic, Concord, Black, and Honey)
Foam Hinged Lid Containers
OPS (Oriented Polystyrene) Containers:
  - Showtime
   - StayLock
    - ClearSeal
    - ClearPac
     - Clear Dinnerware Lids and Covers

If you are interested in relating the above Dart product lines to specific
product numbers, you can do so via the following link:

http://www.dart.biz/web/products.nsf/pages/US.html

Please let us know if you have additional questions.

DART CONTAINER CORPORATION

Dear Mr. Ahmed:
Thank you for your inquiry.

Zinc stearate is used in the manufacturing process for Dart foam cups, foam dinnerware, foam hinged containers, and clear OPS containers. Zinc stearate is not used to manufacture Dart impact plastic dinnerware, cutlery, translucent cups, clear PET cups, or clear Polypropylene cups.

Zinc stearate is derived from a number of sources, including animal by-products.

For additional information, please refer to the following Position Statement on Zinc Stearate.
       
       

DART CONTAINER CORPORATION
/jc

Posted on: 05-18-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Please do not consumed fried fish or fried potatoes if the company or sea food restaurants makes the Beer Battered fried products

Many food companies and restaurants manufacture or serve beer battered fried fish or potatoes products in USA, Canada and Europe.

They use same fryers and same vegetable oil to fry both beer battered fish or potatoes and non beer battered fish or potatoes products.

In seafood restaurants if you see beer battered under menu then please do not order any fried fish such as Red Lobster and other sea food restaurants.

Similarly frozen fried fish and frozen fried potato brands such as Gorton, Van De Kemps, McCain, Or-Ida make frozen beer battered fried fish and fried potato. So non beer battered frozen are contaminated with beer because beer cannot be removed from frying vegetable oil. The oil is recycled to remove only large and small particles of  products left over in the oil. So all their non beer battered fried are contaminated with beer in the batter.

The grilled or broiled frozen fish or potato products are not contaminated with beer. But make sure those products are Halal. A list of Halal frozen broiled or grilled frozen fish and potatoes are listed on our website.

Posted on: 04-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Stoneyfield flavored yogurts are not Halal

Thanks to brother Abdulrahaman who send the following e-mail to MCG:

Hello Abdulrahman,

Thanks for reaching out to us about our products, and whether or not
alcohol is used in our flavoring. All of our products that contain flavor
also contain alcohol because it is one of only a few solvents approved by
National Organic Standards. Other solvents are often chemical based and not
allowed in organic ingredients.

Thanks again for getting in touch. If you ever have another question please
give us a shout.

Sincerely,

The folks at Stonyfield

 

Posted on: 04-14-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nestle's Indian made Maggi Noodle Soups are not Halal

There are used to be few Maggi Noodle Soups with Vegetarian Green Dot under Square Symbol but that symbol is not any more on any Maggi Noodle Soups.

The ingredients listed on Maggi Noodle Soups look to be Halal but they do not report Hidden Haram Ingredients on the ingredients statement. Then how a Muslim consumers know for sure that there is no pork by product or ethyl alcohol based ingredients are used as a processing aid or Hidden Ingredients.

So MCG decided to assign all Magi Noodles Soups without Halal or Kosher or Vegetarian symbol on the package as NOT HALAL status.

Posted on: 04-14-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Ingredients of Confectionary Glaze

Uses of Dewaxed Bleached Shellac in Confectionery

The main uses of Dewaxed Bleached Shellac in the confectionery industry are for the coating chocolate goods, such as extruded chocolates, chocolate covered nuts and resins, and similar products.

The bleached shellac coating performs one or more of the following functions:

  • enhances and protects the gloss
  • serves as a barrier to moisture either entering or leaving the confection
  • prevents blocking together
  • extends shelf-life

Solvents

Pure ethyl alcohol is the usual solvent for shellac for confectionery glazes. But each country has its own special regulations for the denaturing of alcohol, and isopropyl alcohol is also widely used. In the USA alcohol containing 35 percent of shellac is deemed to be denatured.
 

Formula for Chocolate Varnish
 

Shellac

50 grams

Sumatra benzoin

150 grams

Vanillin

1 gram

Alcohol

800 grams

   

 

Courtesy of http://indianshellac.com/confectionery.html

Posted on: 03-26-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: The Body Shop Cosmetic products are not recommended for Muslims

A sist has provided a e-mail to MCG from The Body Shop Company (reference Number 63461) where company claimed to use gelatin either from pork or non zabiha beef, Shellac which might be dissolved in alcohol. The Body Shop products are not recommended to be use by Muslims.

Posted on: 03-17-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Oil of Olay products are made with pork

The Procter Gamble Company can not give guarantee that it will be pork free, they will use pork by product if other source are not available. The reference number is 15231785 of March 4, 2013.

Posted on: 03-04-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hershey's E-Mail regarding alcohol used as a processing aid confusing Muslim consumers

MCG wrote this e-mail to clarify their statement regarding alcohol and the consumer department told MCG that they will look and get back to MCG:

Hi Mr. MCguire,
 
Nice to talk to on the phone. The e-mail below is causing lot of confusion among our 8-10 million Muslim consumers who do not consume any food product made with ethyl alcohol. To me the e-mail is missing the "in flavors" after processing agent. Because ethyl alcohol alone never used as a processing aid or hidden ingredient in chocolate and it has no technical effect during processing.
 
If you correct the e-mail this way then our consumer will not have any confusion:
 
" Thank you for contacting Hershey

All the products you mentioned contain vanillin. Our vanillin does not contain alcohol. Alcohol is used as a processing agent in flavors and is removed.

Have a sweet day,

Susan Harris
Consumer Representative"
 
Please forward this suggestion to your QA or Technical or legal department.
 
Rasheed Ahmed
Certified senior Food Scientist
Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada (a non profit educational organization)

www.muslimconsumergroup.com
www.canadianhalalfoods.com


 

Posted on: 02-12-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Giordano Cheese Pizza is Mushbooh

MCG tried very hard to get the technical information from Giordano Pizza Company without any success because there is no technical person works for this pizza company and they always refer to store manager who have no knowledge. He only says the their ingredients are natural and will not allow inside to look at ingredients cases.

So MCG advises Chicago area Muslims not to consume Giordano Cheese Pizza.

Posted on: 02-12-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Some Probiotics Bacteria produce alcohol and all Probiotic Yeasts perform Alcoholic Fermentation

 PROBIOTICS

The Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and World Health Organization (WHO) in 2002 define probotics live microorganisms which when administered in adequate amounts confer a benefit on the host.

Probotics are friendly bacteria and yeast to our digestive system by improving imbalances in our digestive system and provide health benefit not nutrition. Certain species of Bifidobacterium or Lactobacillus bacteria are probiotic. Starter culture bacteria for cheese and yogurt are Lactobacillus bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. In addition Lactobacillus acidophilus and Streptococcus lactose are added to yogurts. These bacteria active until yogurt is consume but in cheese the cheese curd is cooked from 90 to 176 F depend upon the type of cheese so they may or may not be active when cheese is consumed.

Saccharomyces cerevisiae var. boulardii is the only known probiotic yeast.

Acetate, l(+)-lactate, ethyl alcohol, and formate are end products of fermentation of probiotics Bifidobacterium on glucose, lactose, galactose, mannitol, and xylose.

Whereas during fermentation of yogurt lactic acid, acetic acid, diacetyl and acetaldehyde are formed and they are all Halal.

Yakult is dairy fermented drink containing probiotics bacteria in USA manufactured by a Japanese Yakult Honsha Co., Ltd company based in California.

Although probiotic bacteria and yeast are good bacteria and yeast providing health benefit but they perform alcoholic fermentation where as no alcoholic fermentation happened during yogurt processing. So MCG recommend Halal yogurts over fermented dairy drinks using probiotic bacteria.

The organisms are bacteria such as Lactobacillus, Bifidobacterium, Lactococcus, Leuconstoc, Pediococcus, Propionibacterium, Streptococcus, Bacillus and yeast such as Saccharomyces, Schizosaccharomyces, Xantothophyllomyces. From Halal point of view, only probiotic bacteria which perform lactic acid fermentation by producing lactic acid are consider Halal. The probiotic yeasts which perform alcoholic fermentation by producing alcohol are consider not Halal.

Only manufacturers know what type of probiotic microorganism were used in probiotic foods. Then we have to contact them to verify the Halal status of probiotic microorganism used in the probiotic foods.

 


 

Posted on: 02-07-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Clear Shampoos and Conditioners are not Halal

Unilever has informed MCG that Clear Shampoos and Conditioners are made with animal protein which could be pork or non zabiha beef.

Posted on: 02-06-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Traces of pork" found in UK prison food served as Halal

Traces of pork" found in UK prison food served as halal
http://www.guardian.co.uk/business/2013/feb/01/traces-pork-prison-food-halal/print

Posted on: 02-03-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alpha Bits and Honey Comb Cereal are not Halal anymore

The ownership of Post brand of cereals has changes hand for many times. Originally it was belong to General Foods then to Kraft General Foods then it sold to Ralston Holding Philiph Morris bought both Kraft and General Foods became Keratook over and sold to Ralcorp Holding. Then Ralcorp sold it to  Campbell's Labels for Education program in 2013.

Two very popular Post brand of cereals Alphabit and Honey Comb was reformulated and firs time in 30 years a natural flavor was added to them.Natural Flavor cereal is mostly natural vanilla base, then they are not considered Halal.

Br. Musfar Ahmed has provide this e-mail: September 28, 2012 Dear Musfar Ahmed, Thank you for contacting Post Foods. The majority of artificial flavors do contain carriers which are chemically known as alcohols, however this information is also proprietary. But in the case of dry finished food (ie. cereal), the alcohol evaporates during the drying/baking process. Thank you again for contacting Post Foods.We hope this information is beneficial to you. Ashley Lambert Consumer Response Representative.

Posted on: 01-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: McDonald's settles Mich. suit over Islamic diet

By JEFF KAROUB | Associated Press – 2 hrs 27 mins ago 01/21/13

DEARBORN, Mich. (AP) — McDonald's and one of its franchise owners agreed to pay $700,000 to members of the Muslim community to settle allegations a Detroit-area restaurant falsely advertised its food as being prepared according to Islamic dietary law.

McDonald's and Finley's Management Co. agreed Friday to the tentative settlement, with that money to be shared by Dearborn Heights resident Ahmed Ahmed, a Detroit health clinic, the Arab American National Museum in Dearborn and lawyers.

Posted on: 01-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: US probe targets halal food supplier in Iowa

RYAN J. FOLEY | November 26, 2012 03:20 PM EST | Associated Press

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The maker of a popular brand of food for observant Muslims says it is facing a potentially crippling investigation into whether it falsely labeled meat products as processed in compliance with Islamic law.

The Midamar Corp. said in federal court documents that investigators seized its main bank account and business records under search warrants executed last month. A judge last week upheld the government's seizure of $454,000 in bank funds and rejected the company's request to return the money.

No criminal or civil charges have been filed, and U.S. District Judge Linda Reade ruled that the government's affidavit supporting its search warrant can remain secret so as not to "compromise an ongoing investigation." The U.S. attorney's office declined comment Monday on the investigation, which involves the U.S. Department of Agriculture and Internal Revenue Service.

Miramar said in court filings that the seizures relate to vague allegations that it improperly branded and sold meat products as meeting Muslim dietary requirements, called halal, when they did not. The privately held business, which has been in Cedar Rapids for 40 years, dismissed the allegations. And it claims federal investigators are trying to regulate something that must be left to religions under the U.S. Constitution's separation of church and state.

"Whether Midamar's meat is in fact halal is a religious question that may not be answered by the U.S. government," company lawyers wrote last month.

Midamar says it was the first major U.S. supplier of halal products after its 1974 founding by Bill Aossey, who declined comment Monday. The company calls itself the leading U.S. halal brand and markets more than 200 products for U.S. and international customers, including beef, turkey and chicken. It largely relies on third-party suppliers for meat that it packages.

Reade ruled that she did not believe the company's constitutional argument was "an appropriate basis to quash a warrant" and is premature because no charges have been filed.

Midamar, which has 70 employees, says it has been unable to access credit needed to maintain its operation and that some business partners have kept a distance since last month's raid became public. It warned in one filing that it could soon have to close its doors.

Reade ruled that Midamar failed to show that the money seizure amounted to shutting down the business. Midamar failed to prove it could not obtain funding from other sources, such as by liquidating assets or taking out personal loans from its executives, she said. The agents' seizure of documents and files also did not prevent the business from operating, Reade ruled, noting investigators returned seized computers within a week.

Rasheed Ahmed, president of the Muslim Consumer Group for Food Products, a watchdog group in Huntley, Ill., said cheating is common in the marketing of halal meat, which is supposed to be killed in ritual slaughter. Some companies label routinely processed "supermarket meat" as halal, he said.

Ahmed said he was not aware of the investigation or Midamar's practices but that he would be interested in the case's outcome. "A lot of consumers buy from them," he said.

Midamar says the matter does not involve food safety. Still, its lawyers made public a letter from USDA that noted the agency stopped voluntary inspections at the firm in 2010, after seizing what it called misbranded meat products, before resuming them last year. Such inspections are done at Midamar's request to ensure their products meet requirements for export.

Investigators seized thousands of pounds of beef products that came from an establishment not approved for export to a foreign country and found falsified export documents for shipments to Indonesia and Malaysia, among other problems, according to the letter.

USDA's Food Safety and Inspection Service resumed inspections after approving Midamar's "corrective and preventive measures," the letter says.

 

Posted on: 11-26-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Artificial Vanilla Flavor

Flavor companies at Chicago IFT Suppliers Night on November 15, 2012 told MCG that Artificial Vanilla Flavor are not made with Vanillin all the time but most of the time. If the artificial vanilla flavor is made in dry form then no alcohol is used but if it is made in liquid for then there is possibility of using ethyl alcohol as a solvent. So if you see Artificial Vanilla Flavor under ingredients then it needs to be further investigated for alcohol as a solvent. Only Vanillin is consider as Halal.

Posted on: 11-18-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nestle recalls Nesquik due to salmonella risk

 

November 8, 2012 4:32 PM ET

GLENDALE, Calif. (AP) - Nestle USA is recalling some of its Nesquik chocolate powder because of a possible salmonella risk.

The food maker said Thursday that the Nesquik involved was in 10.9-, 21.8- and 40.7-ounce canisters produced in early October and sold at retailers across the country.

Nestle says it is issuing the recall after its ingredient supplier, Omaya Inc., decided to recall some of the calcium carbonate used in the product due to possible Salmonella contamination. The company says there are no reported illnesses associated with the product.

Salmonella can cause diarrhea, abdominal cramps and fever. It can be life-threatening in infants, the elderly, pregnant women and those with weakened immune systems.

The affected products have a "Best if sold by" date of October 2014.The recall includes the following products and unit production codes, which are located on the bottom of the canister.

-40.7 ounce powder with UPC 0 28000 68230 9 2282574810 2282574820

Posted on: 11-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: FDA: 5 reported deaths with Monster drink link

FDA today reported 5 deaths with Monster Energy Drink link. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration says it's investigating reports of five deaths and a non-fatal heart attack linked to highly caffeinated Monster Energy Drinks.

Monster Drink is not considered as Halal because it has no Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. MCG has contacted the manufacturer and they told MCG that ingredients they used are not Halal. MCG recommend Muslims to stay away from Monster Energy Drink.

Posted on: 10-22-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol is used as a solvent in artificial flavors of Post Cereals according to the Company

Br. Musfar Ahmed a Muslim consumer has provide the information below for MCG.

From: Musfar Ahmed
Email Address: musfarahmed@
Phone:
Comments: September 28, 2012 Dear Musfar Ahmed, Thank you for contacting Post Foods. The majority of artificial flavors do contain carriers which are chemically known as alcohols, however this information is also proprietary. But in the case of dry finished food (ie. cereal), the alcohol evaporates during the drying/baking process. Thank you again for contacting Post Foods.We hope this information is beneficial to you. Ashley Lambert Consumer Response Representative

 

Posted on: 10-05-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Kuwait company's license revoked over imported sausages laced with pig fat

 

Kuwait company's license revoked over imported sausages laced with pig fat

According to Gulf News, a Kuwaiti company that sold imported chicken sausages containing pig fat in Ramadan had its mandatory health license revoked, a municipality official has said.

Mohammad Gazzai Al Utaibi, deputy director general of municipality services affairs, said that the company’s sale point in the Shwaikh area was also closed down for breaking the rules.

“We have a zero-tolerance policy towards those who break the rules and harm public interest,” he said, quoted by local Arabic daily Al Watan on Wednesday. “The municipality is closely monitoring the sale of food stuff to ensure it passes the laboratory tests and fully complies with the required safety standards.”

However, Al Utaibi did not wish to name the company that came under fire from people for selling the pig fat-laced sausages. A Kuwaiti company that sold imported chicken sausages containing pig fat in Ramadan had its mandatory health license revoked, a municipality official has said.

 “We have a zero-tolerance policy towards those who break the rules and harm public interest,” he said, quoted by local Arabic daily Al Watan on Wednesday. “The municipality is closely monitoring the sale of food stuff to ensure it passes the laboratory tests and fully complies with the required safety standards.”

However, Al Utaibi did not wish to name the company that came under fire from people for selling the pig fat-laced sausages.

By Habib Toumi Bureau Chief

Published: 11:47 September 5, 2012

Gulf News

 

 

Posted on: 09-05-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Jelly Belly Candies are not Halal

Sister Sana a Muslim consumer has send us the following e-mail from Jelly Belly. All candies from Jell Belly ate not because use of alcohol in Confectionary Glaze and alcohol in flavor.

From: "Jelly Belly" <webqa@jellybelly.com>
Date: August 28, 2012 5:35:08 PM CDT
To: Sister Sana
Subject: Jelly Belly Question Response :: W048877-082112

 
 
Thank you for visiting our site. We hope the following information answers your question.

Hello Sana,

All of our Jelly Belly flavors have confectioner's glaze on them and alcohol is present as a carrier when the beans are glazed. We heat the beans at a very high temperature, so the alcohol is cooked off. We have tested them for alcohol residue in the past and there is no alcohol residue remaining. This is also true of any beans with flavoring that may contain alcohol.

We hope that this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Kit McCoy
Consumer Affairs Manager



 

Posted on: 08-28-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol was detected in Coke and 7 UP

 

                                     Alcohol was detected in Coke and 7 UP

 

Muslim Consumer Group was getting a lot of inquiries about the French study of finding the presence of alcohol in European Coke and Pepsi. MCG sent the samples to Northland Lab in Northfield, IL to use a more sophisticated  method of Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method than French's Headspace Gas Chromatography-Flame Ionization Detection (HS-GC-FID) method which cannot quantify the amount of Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol.

MCG sent unopened Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP bottles to Northland lab to perform alcohol test by using Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method. This method can detect amount of alcohol at least 0.001% or 10 Part Per Million or 10 milligram per liter or more. But this method can't detect less than 0.001% of alcohol.

MCG has paid over $1200 to perform these analysis for Muslim consumers in USA.

The alcohol level in Coke was 0.0059 or 59 PPM as reported by Northland Lab.

The 7 UP has shown higher level of alcohol of 0.048% or 480 PPM.

Northland Lab, Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

Date Received: 07/09/2012

Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

Start Date: 07/09/2012

Due Date: 07/30/2012

 

Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

AD62895 COKE

CODE: SEP 1712MDA, NET

WEIGHT: 20 FL. OZ

SD SOFT DRINK

Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

Provided

DL Method Reference

 

Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol = 59 PPM USP 35

 

Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 33.5 deg C

AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

IDPH #17501

Northland Lab, Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

Date Received: 07/09/2012

Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

Start Date: 07/09/2012

Due Date: 07/30/2012

 

Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

AD62896 7 UP

CODE: E2137HB1408, NET

WEIGHT: 20 FL. OZ

SD SOFT DRINK

Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

Provided

DL Method Reference

 

Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol = 480 PPM USP 35

 

Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 34.0 deg C

AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

IDPH #17501

 

For any question about these tests, please contact Muslim Consumer Group at 1-877-515-1008. Please do not call the Northland Lab.

 

 

Posted on: 08-25-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: UK: Muslim scholars reject machine slaughtered meat as Halal

Courtesy of www.halalfocus.com Date June 27, 2012

Filed in Europe, Halal Integrity, Meat & Poultry, Retail, UK on 27/06/2012 with no comments

By Naumaan Farooq, Asian Express

After scholars unanimously rejected machine slaughtered meat as being halal, calls have been made for a top fast food outlet to stop mislabelling its chicken ‘halal.’

Around 40 of the country’s leading Islamic Scholars have called on fast food giant KFC to stop selling their meat as halal which they say is slaughtered using machines.

At a conference at the Hijaz Centre, Nuneaton some of the countries most respected Imams passed a vote saying machine slaughtered chickens were not halal because the prescribed holy words needed to be said on each individual bird.

July last year, KFC had 92 ‘halal’ outlets in the UK and many Muslims now feel their food is not killed in accordance with the proper Islamic method. The issue is whether meat can be halal if it has been slaughtered using mechanical methods which scholars said was not allowed.

Traditionally, halal meat is killed by hand and must be blessed by the person doing the job. But some Muslims say a mechanised form is also now acceptable.

Speaking at the conference one of the scholars said: “Machine slaughter of animals is totally not allowed in Islam. The prescribed holy words should be said on every animal and not just one.

“Here we have a scenario when one person just flicks a switch and hundreds of chickens die, that’s not Islamic.”

Halal is the description of food and drink Muslims are allowed to consume under Islamic dietary laws defined in the Quran and in the sayings of the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh).

Classifying of halal food can only be carried out by a Muslim expert in the laws.

The meat is traditionally prepared by slaughtering the animal with a quick cut to the throat with a sharp knife to allow all blood to drain out, the idea being that the meat is cleaner. The slaughterman is required to say the traditional proclamation of faith in one god as the animal is killed.

At present two separate organisations regulate the halal food industry in the UK. The Halal Food Authority (HFA) says using machines is OK, as long as the meat is still blessed. It argues that advances in technology mean methods have to change and though a machine does the killing, the meat is still blessed by a Muslim slaughterman.

But the Halal Monitoring Committee (HMC) says animals should be slaughtered by hand and using a machine is not halal and not permissible. It argues mechanisation contradicts a fundamental principle of halal – that the person who slaughters the animal is the same person who recites the words over it.

KFC says it is following the guidance offered by what it considers a reputable adviser.

At a meeting with the fast food outlet’s representatives two years ago it was confirmed to the Lancashire Council for Mosques that KFC’s chickens were stunned and mechanically slaughtered

The sub group expressed concerns about the mechanical slaughtering of animals and told KFC that the Muslim Council of Britain supported their position.

The meeting concluded that KFC’s Halal Supply Chain did not fulfil the LCM Halal criteria and therefore cannot be termed as halal.

Naved Syed, Member of Eblex Halal Steering Group and responsible for organising the conference in Nuneaton said: “We need to resolve this matter as quickly as possible.

“The problem with machine slaughter is you cannot perform Tasmiah (Holy prayer) on each animal when you machine killing 20,000 chickens an hour.

“All of these issues need to be addressed especially on the subject of machine slaughter by the religious authorities.

“With over 40 Muftis and Imams having made the decision it will enable us to lay the foundation for halal here in the UK.

“With Ramadan just around the corner this problem needs to be resolved as quickly as possible.”

Speaking in a recent interview Yunus Dudhwala, chairman of HMC, said: “Halal is a very sacred part of a Muslim’s diet and many Muslims do not even know what they are eating when it’s certified as halal in this way.”

Make sure you follow this story on www.asianexpress.co.uk <http://www.asianexpress.co.uk/>

Naumaan Farooq
Senior Reporter, Asian Express Newspapers

www.asianexpress.co.uk <http://www.asianexpress.co.uk/>

Posted on: 07-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: French Study about presence of Alcohol in Coke and Pepsi

Muslim Consumer Group has asked Northland Lab Northbrook, IL in April 2011 to perform alcohol test on Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP by using Gas Chromatography a official AOAC method. The limit on that method is 0.05% or 500 PPM.  The Northland Lab detected no alcohol above 0.05% so they reported less than 0.05% and in layman term it is consider zero.

MCG is trying to find out what method of analysis used by National Institute of Consumption (INC). When we found out that method than we will ask a US lab to perform the alcohol test on same instrument.

This a scientific fact that if a flavor obtained from natural source such as fruits or vegetables, alcohol is naturally developed during ripening process of fruits and vegetables. This minute of alcohol in ripe fruits and vegetables is consider Halal.

There is a published in a book that birds get daisy when they consumed ripe grapes. Since coke and Pepsi are made with Natural Flavor, so it is possible that alcohol detection may be due to presence of alcohol in natural products.

Cola Sold in US/Canada are different from sold in Europe

The presence of other “controversial” ingredients such as phosphoric acid or ammonia-sulfite caramel E150D food coloring were present, the latter of which is listed as carcinogenic in California. The cola companies changed their recipes after the discovery in California but have no plans of doing so for Europe(http://english.alarabiya.net/articles/2012/06/28/223293.html).

Coke and Pepsi companies sale only concentrates to bottling companies then those bottling companies add sweeteners and water. These concentrates are slightly different from country to country compare to concentrates in USA.

Since Northland Lab did not find out the minute amount of alcohol, MCG will consider Coke and Pepsi as Halal until we analyze Coke and Pepsi on same instrument used by Paris, France based Institute of Consumption (INC).

Posted on: 07-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: CoffeeMate products are not Halal both dry and liquid

 

Muslim Consumer Group is educating Muslim consumers that whenever the word "Natural Flavor" attached to Vanilla food products, it means vanilla natural flavor is extracted with alcohol and water from vanilla beans. One of our sister questioned Nestle regarding their claims "No Alcohol is used in Coffee Mate's flavor" including the Coffee Mate's  Liquid Vanilla Latte which is made with Natural and Artificial Flavor. Here is their response:

Dear Ms------,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Coffee-mate® Non-Dairy Creamer regarding the alcohol content of our product. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you.

You are correct that natural vanilla is obtained by alcohol extraction. In fact, there are FDA standards of identity for vanilla extract. However, all of the flavors used in Coffee-mate are dry flavors so any alcohol will be removed during the drying process.

At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services.

We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.

Sincerely,
Beverly Watson
Consumer Response Representative
Ref #:19997486

If they say no alcohol in flavor, we recommend Muslim consumers to ask to clarify whether it is originally made from liquid flavors then dried to make dry flavors.  I myself exposed to this experience when I was working for Best Eaton Donut chain in Rhode Island when we are using dry flavor for vanilla donuts. The flavor supplier told me it contained dried natural vanilla flavor. This means the alcohol is evaporated during spray drying processing.

So please do not consume any Natural Vanilla flavor containing food products or where Vanilla is product name with Natural & Artificial flavor. If vanillin or artificial vanilla flavor mentioned then there is no alcohol in it.

This is the reason we assign "Not Halal" status to all Coffee Mate dry powder or liquid products.

Posted on: 06-14-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Takis Tortilla Chips are not Halal because they are not certified and made in Mexico

Taki Tortilla Chips are not Halal because they do not have kosher symbol on the package . They are made in Mexico. We do not know whether the flavors and extracts are obtained from Halal source or not. There is no information about presence or absence of alcohol in flavor and no information about hidden ingredients because they are not kosher certified.

Posted on: 06-13-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Several Skinny Cow Ice cream bar products are made with alcohol containing Flavors

Thanks to sister Saba Ahmad who sent this e-mail to MCG:

Dear Saba Ahmad,

Thank you for your email regarding Skinny Cow®. We appreciate the time you have taken to pass your comments on to us.

Several of our ice cream products contain alcohol. The alcohol is used as an agent to carry the flavor. Vendors are not required to disclose the type of alcohol they use, they are only required to ensure that the alcohol is GRAS and food-grade. Also, we do not maintain a list of products and flavors that do not contain alcohol.

Thank you again for contacting us.

Sincerely,

Nicole Salvatore
Consumer Response Representative

Ref # N2559657

Posted on: 05-25-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dart Foam Products still use animal fat (Pork or Beef) based Zinc Stearate on moulds to make the various foam products

From:

Janene.Cooke@dart.biz

Sent:

Mon 5/21/12 12:16 PM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com

Dear Mr. Ahmed:
Thank you for your inquiry.

Zinc stearate is used in the manufacturing process for Dart foam cups, foam dinnerware, foam hinged containers, and clear OPS containers. Zinc stearate is not used to manufacture Dart impact plastic dinnerware, cutlery, translucent cups, clear PET cups, or clear Polypropylene cups.

Zinc stearate is derived from a number of sources, including animal by-products.

For additional information, please refer to the following Position Statement on Zinc Stearate.
       
       
DART CONTAINER CORPORATION

Dear Mr. Ahmed:
We understand that you would like to have additional information regarding
the specific Dart products where zinc stearate is involved in the
manufacturing process. Those products are as follows:

Foam Cups, Containers, and Bowls
Foam Dinnerware (Quiet Classic, Concord, Black, and Honey)
Foam Hinged Lid Containers
OPS (Oriented Polystyrene) Containers:
- Showtime
- StayLock
- ClearSeal
- ClearPac
- Clear Dinnerware Lids and Covers

If you are interested in relating the above Dart product lines to specific
product numbers, you can do so via the following link:

http://www.dart.biz/web/products.nsf/pages/US.html

Please let us know if you have additional questions.

DART CONTAINER CORPORATION
 
 

Posted on: 05-23-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halls Cough Drops are not free of Animal Derived Ingredients

Kraft can not guarantee that all Halls Cough Drops free of animal derived ingredients. They are are not consider vegetarian. They no information about alcohol in flavor. This information was obtained from consumer department of Kraft who bought Cadbury brand.

Posted on: 05-09-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Beware of Halal certified Food Ingredients and Food Products where alcohol was used during Processing or Food Products are made with Alcohol containg flavors

April 9, 2012

Dear Mr. Ahmed,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Nesquik® regarding whether alcohol is used in the processing of carrageenan. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you.

The information we’ve received from our ingredient supplier indicates that although the carrageenan is halal certified, alcohol is used in its manufacture. We hope you found this information helpful.

At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services.

We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.

Sincerely,
Beverly Watson
Consumer Response Representative
Ref #:19883882

 

Posted on: 05-09-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Fruit Roll UPs and Fruit By The Foot contains Alcohol in Flavors

From General Mills, Ref. No. 2012/04/16-1653 ZDS‏

Hello Mr. Ahmed:

 

Thank you for contacting General Mills with your inquiry. All of our Fruit Roll Ups and Fruit by the Foot products contain alcohol as an ingredient.

 

We hope you find this information helpful. Please let us know if we can help you again.

 

Thank you,

 

 

Darcy Smart

Customer Care Specialist

Posted on: 04-26-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gatarode is made with Alcohol containing flavor

Submitted by Aneel Khan to MCG:

From: ConsumerRelations@cr.gatorade.com
To: sa@hotmail.com
Subject: RE: Gatorade Thirst Quencher , REF.# 027242673B
Date: Wed, 11 Aug 2010 16:15:14 -0400

Gatorade Consumer:

Gatorade may contain traces amount of alcohol as a formulation aid for the flavorings. But in the processing, these trace amounts are evaporated off in the heating process.

We hope this information is helpful.

Michael
Gatorade Consumer Relations
Ref# 027242673B

Posted on: 04-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Malaysia JAKIM is violating US Fair Business Practices Act of 1975 by approving only two Halal certifying organizations out of many so that they can monopolize Halal certification business in USA

JAKIM is violating US “Fair Business Practices Act of 1975,” O.C.G.A. Section 10-1-390 by approving only two US Halal certification organizations out of many US Halal certifying originations which are as capable as those two approved Halal certifying organizations.

By approving only two US Halal certification organizations, JAKIM has provided an avenue to those two US Halal certifying organizations to do:

1. Conspiring to Fix Market Prices

2. Price Discrimination

3. Conspiring to Allocate Markets for US food companies

4. Monopolization

So that those two Halal certifying organizations can charge huge amount to food companies for Halal certified food products designed to go to Malaysia.

The food companies has no choice but to do the business with those two Halal certification organizations to get the Halal certificate for Malaysia at a very high fee.

This is not fair business practice while JAKIM approved 10 Halal certifying organizations in Australia so they have healthy competition in Australia but not in USA.

The Halal certifying organizations who are rejected by JAKIM are not different from those who were approved.

They are sending unprofessional auditors who has no experience in food industry, one them has degree in art to audit Halal certifying organizations in USA. It looks like they never been to a food plant in USA and they do not know what to look for Halal certification. Even they do not allow MCG to take them to a multimillion dollar US company Seneca Food's plant in Wisconsin which is under MCG Halal certification.

They are rejecting the Halal certifying organizations because they operate from home. Even there is no mention that a US Halal certifying organization must not operate from home under their rules for approving a Halal certifying organization published on their website.

JAKIM does not know that in USA a good number of companies operate from home.

Here is the statistic of businesses which operating from private homes according http://finance.mapsofworld.com/business/home-based/statistics.html website. It says according to the home based business statistics of USA, there are about 36.6 million home based businesses in the country. Newsweek magazine predicts that in the near future, almost half of the households of America will be involved in one form of home based business or other. The Home Based Business Institute is of the opinion that 70% of the home based businesses in the U.S. Last for at least a period of three years or more. This form of business generates an annual revenue of $427 billion.

The second reason was the MCG body does not have sharia and technical expertise on Halal auditing and monitoring:

These reasons have no truth to it because we have provided the names of Islamic scholars who oversea MCG, listed on our website www.muslimconsumergroup.com under Food products sub section criteria.

Our Sharia expertise are:          

·         Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan of Chicago Muslim Sunni Society Chicago, IL (773-275-7130)

·         Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri of Islamic Academy of Dallas, TX (972-423-2626)

·         Mufti Khalil Ahmed of Jamia Nizamia, Hyderabad, India(Phone 01191-9849071327, jamianizamia@yahoo.com)

·         Mufti Mohsin Muki of Chicago Muslim Sunni Society Chicago IL 773-801-9101

·         But, the auditors failed to find them from our website nor they requested the names

Those auditors wrote MCG do not have Technical Experts in Halal certification.

our answer to JAKIM is that why our website www.muslimconsumergroup.com is logged in 137 countries and Malaysia is the 4th top country where 1358 visitors logged to our website at 15 different region each month, they are as follow:

Federal Territory of Kuala Lampur, Selangor, Johor, Pulai Pinang, Terengganu,Sarawak, Perak, Kedah, Melaka, Pahany, Sabah, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Negcry, Semhila, Kelantan and Perlis.

MCG has no choice but to approach the US Justice Department to file a complaint against JAKIM for violating US Fair Business Practice Act.

 

 

 

Posted on: 03-18-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Little Brown Baker's Girls Scout Cookies are made with alcohol containing flavors so they are not Halal

According to a Muslim consumer who contacted little brownie baker who made girls scout cookies with UD sign.I asked which solvent they used in their natural and artificial flavor of all cookies.He confirmed from the manufacturer and told me that it is alcohol.

Posted on: 03-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gelatin in Wonk's Candies is from Pork

One of our Muslim consumer Charmaine Shah has sent this e-mail to MCG to publish on our website:

Thank you for contacting Wonk®.

I would like to assure you that the only animal-derived ingredients used in our candy products are milk, eggs, and gelatin. The gelatin is used in our Gummy SweeTARTS, Kazoozles, Puckerooms, Sluggles, and Nerds® Rope items. We simply state \\\"gelatin\\\" if the gelatin comes from pork.
If the gelatin comes from a different source, such as beef, we would state \\\"beef gelatin\\\". All of our other ingredients are either from a vegetable-derived source or are created synthetically.
 

Posted on: 12-17-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nucleotides are not Halal in Infant Baby Formulas

 

NUCLEOTIDES IN INFANT BABY FORMULAS ARE NOT HALAL ACCORDING TO MCG'S CRITERIA

Nucleotides are composed of nucleobase (nitrogenous base), a five-carbon sugar (either ribose or 2'- deoxyribose), and one to three phosphate groups. Nucleotide is made of three functional groups: a nucleic acid base, a sugar, and a phosphate. It is a structural building block of RNA and DNA.

Nucleotide which is also known as Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate. These nucleotides are obtained from Turula yeast cell's RNA. Ethyl Alcohol is provided as nutrients to Turula yeast cells to multiply in millions.

MCG has asked this question to Nucleotides manufacturer company:

" Use of ethyl alcohol during the manufacturing of Nucleotide"

Here is their answer we received today:

 " The answer to your question is we do use alcohol for a nutrient source for the yeast. As for in the actual powder there is very little residual. If you have any other questions please let me know."

Use of alcohol to feed the Torula yeast make the Torula yeast as not Halal based MCG's criteria for Halal. Alcohol goes inside the cells of Torula yeast for its growth.

MCG 's ulema said if any Halal thing get in contact with alcohol that Halal thing became not Halal. The manufacturer of Nucleotide also has the opportunity to use Halal sugar can to grow the Torula yeast but they preferred to use alcohol.

Based on MCG's criteria any infant baby formula containing nucleotides or Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate is not consider Halal.

Nucleotides were not used in infant baby formulas 5 years back but due to a publication of a Harvard medical research indicating nucleotide in infant baby formulas is to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea, increase the immune system of babies and prevent babies from diarrhea.

There are 21 infant baby formulas in USA which are Halal because they do not use nucleotides or Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' -  Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate.

They are available at supermarkets and Wal-Mart:

1. Parent's Choice(Wal-Mart brand) Infant Formula Added Rice Starch for 0-12 months babies

2. Meijer Baby Milk based Nutrition for baby first year Added Rice Starch Infant Formula with Iron Lipids

3. Meijer Baby Milk based Nutrition for baby first year Gentle Protein Infant Formula with iron Lipids

4. Baby Basic Milk based Formula with Iron for older infant 9-24 months Lipids DHA & ARA

5. Enfamil Pros bee Soy Infant Formula with Iron for 0-12 months babies

6. Enfamil A. R. Lipil For Spit up Infant Milk based Formula with Iron

7. Enfamil Gentlease Milk based Infant Formula with Iron

8. Similac Isomil DF Soy formula for Diarrhea

9. Similac Sensitive Isomil Soy Formula for Fussiness and Gas

9. Walgreen Soy based Infant Formula with Iron

10. Walgreen Infant Formula Gentle with Iron for Fussiness & Gas 0-12 months babies

11. Enfagrow Premium Toddler

12. Enfamil Premium Next Step Lipil for 10-36 months babies

13. Enfamil A. R. for Spit up for new born 0-12 months babies

14. Enfamil A. R. Lipil Milk based with Iron for Spit up

15. Enfamil Rest Full 0-12 months babies

16. Enfamil For Bedtime Feeds milk based Formula with Iron 0-12 months babies

17. Mom To Mom Toddler Formula

18. Mom To Mom Soy Infant Formula with Iron

19. Meijer Toddler Formula with Iron

20. Parent Choice(Wal-Mart brand) Gentle for Fussiness & Gas for 0-12 months babies

21. Parent Choice(Wal-Mart brand) Soy based Infant Formula for 0-12 months babies

 

The following 8 Halal baby formulas are available in Canadian supermarkets:

 

 

A + Infant Formula

Baby Foods

Enfapro

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Advance Infant Formula with Omega 3-6

Baby Foods

Isomil

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Follow Up Transition Infant Formula

Baby Foods

Nestle

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Gentlease Infant Formula A +

Baby Foods

Enfamil

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Organic Infant Soy Formula

Baby Foods

President's Choice

 

Loblaw's Supermarket

Soy Based Infant Formula

Baby Foods

Isomil

 

Food Basic Supermarket

Soy Infant Formula

Baby Foods

President's Choice

 

Real Canadian Superstore

Soy Infant Formula 0-12 months

Baby Foods

President's Choice

 

Real Canadian Superstore

Posted on: 12-17-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wonka Candies are not Halal because it is made with alcohol containing flavors.

Brother Sayed Murad has sent this information:

This isn't a question, but i wanted to say that Wonka candies are not halal. I recently called them and asked if they have alcohol in their candy. They said they do add alcohol but its not detectable in the final product. She didn't have a list of candies that did and didn'

Posted on: 12-01-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Columbia Sportswear 's Leather Shoes are made with pork skin

One of our Muslim consumer brother Zayd has provided this e-mail so that Muslims in USA and Canada should aware odf use of pork skin in leather shoes.

Hi Zayd,

Thank you for your interest in our footwear.

All of our shoes contain pig-leather unless it states otherwise.

Thanks for your inquiry.

Rosemarie
Columbia Sportswear
Customer Care

Posted on: 11-30-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: FluMist contains Pork Gelatin

One of our Muslim consumer has supplied this information for benefit of Muslims in USA and Canada.

Each dose of flumist contains 10 6.5-7.5 particles of live, attenuated influenza virus. That means that between 10 million and 100 million viral particles will be forcefully injected into the nostrils when administered. The viral strain was developed by serial passage through "specific pathogen-free primary chick kidney cells" and then grown in "specific pathogen-free eggs." That means that the culture media was free of pathogens that were specifically tested for, but not a culture that was necessarily "pathogen-free."  Each dose of flumist contains

0.188 mg monosodium glutamate, (http://www.msgtruth.org/ ) 2.00 mg hydrolyzed porcine gelatin,( Porcine gelatin, or pork gelatin, is made from the leftover parts of a pig after slaughter, and is used in many products as a stabilizer.)  2.42 mg arginine, 13.68 mg sucrose, 2.26 mg dibasic potassium phosphate, 0.96 mg monobasic potassium phosphate (a buffering agent) that can cause "CAUSE IRRITATION TO SKIN, EYES, AND RESPIRATORY TRACT. MAY BE HARMFUL IF SWALLOWED OR INHALED." (from MSDS) , and <0.015 mcg/mL gentamicin sulfate which is an antibiotic."

Source: Internet
 

Posted on: 10-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Jamba Juices are not Halal

Jamba juices are not Halal
 

All Jamba Juice products are not Halal. Strawberry whirl all fruit smoothies is not Halal because due to presence of Non Halal or Kosher certified apple juice. All other products are made with non Halal or Kosher certified ingredients according to the company

 

Posted on: 09-07-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Meat Glue

MEAT GLUE

Meat glue is any meat such as beef or pork or chicken or fish where scrap meat is glued to gather with Transglutaminase (TG) enzyme. Trasglutaminase is enzyme made of amino acids which form cross linkage to form insoluble polymer of protein. This insoluble polymer of protein works as a glue to bind scrap meat or form a high price meat by gluing to gather low quality meat with little high quality meat but sell as a high quality meat.

The transglutaminase enzyme is obtain through alcoholic fermentation by bacteria and it is also obtained from blood plasma of pig, cow, chicken. FDA consider this enzyme as generally recognized as safe but it is banned in Europe.

It is used in beef, pork, ham. chicken. fish ball, imitation crab meat and process meat such as hot dog, sausage, bologna without casing.

The scrap meat and other meat mix to gather then enzyme is sprinkle over the meat then after thoroughly mixing it is put in a plastic roll then refrigerated. After refrigeration you cannot distinguish it with real high quality meat.

This is a food engineering but it is a immoral and unethical questions for meat suppliers by selling a not top quality meat but blending scrap meat with little high quality meat. It may cause food poisoning.

Muslims consumers who buy fresh Zabiha meat do not have to be worry about it because we can see the big portion of beef, whole lamb & goat in Halal meat shop's refrigerator. They cannot use this enzyme in chicken legs and whole chicken. Zabiha hot dog, sausage Muslim suppliers take zabiha meat to co-packer for making zabiha hot dog, bologna and sausage. The non Muslim co packer cannot touch the zabiha meat to use food engineering to use the enzyme Transglutaminase .

But those Muslim who consume non zabiha meat from supermarkets (as meat slaughtered by Ahlekitab) may expose to this problem. Meat glue is not illegal according to FDA but it is a immoral.

Posted on: 08-27-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Natural Vanilla Flavor is not consider Halal

Natural Vanilla Flavor is obtained by using alcohol and water to extract natural vanillin from vanilla beans. MCG Islamic scholars do not consider any food ingredient or food product Halal if it contaminated with alcohol by adding alcohol containing flavor to Halal ingredients in a food product or alcohol is used to extract any extracted product either use as natural vanilla flavor or any extract from any source.

Posted on: 08-27-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Problem with FD&C Yellow Number 5, FD&C Red number 40

 

Problem with FD&C Yellow Number 5, FD&C Red number 40 and other FD&C colors in Non Food Products

 

Red 40 & Yellow 5 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if used as powder or granular forms but if they have to use in liquid form then vegetable oil or glycerin is added as a solvent. Glycerin can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based glycerin is Halal.

A Halal or kosher symbol such as U or K  on any food package containing red 40 or yellow 5 indicates that either Red 40 or Yellow 5 is used either as a dry powder or if it is used as in liquid form in the product then vegetable oil or vegetable fat based glycerin was used as a solvent.

FD&C artificial colors are used in many on the counter medicine and skin care products but these products do not have Halal or kosher symbol on the package. The problems comes when consumer department of these products do not state that they are not made with animal derived ingredients.

As mentioned above that if non food products are made with dry ingredients such as tablets or caplets then the FD&C colors has to be used in dry powder or granular form then FD&C colors are Halal in tablets or caplets but if they use with liquid ingredients such as water, High Fructose Corn Syrup such as in cough  drops or liquid cough medicine then they have to make the FD&C colors in liquid forms otherwise they will form lump. If vegetable oil is used as a solvent or hidden ingredient for FD&C colors then it is Halal but if glycerin is used then it could be from pork fat or beef fat or soy fat. Vegetable oil or glycerin is the hidden ingredient of the FD&C liquid colors. Since there is no Halal or kosher symbol on the package, everything depend upon the answers from consumer department of the company. Many 800 numbers operators do not know that the liquid FD&C colors contain hidden ingredient. Some time without checking they give wrong answer such as there is no vegetable oil or glycerin in the products. So Muslim consumers has to educate these 800 number operators or consumer affairs department.

Kraft Foods USA recently bought the Cadbury Adam company both in USA and  Canada which sells Halls cough drops. The old Cadbury Adam was telling the consumers with reference number 001238038A dated 01/2010 that there is no animal derived ingredients used in Halls cough drops. Now Kraft Foods in USA is not claiming that Halls drops are free from animal derived ingredients. Either they do not have the knowledge or may change the source of FD&C colors in Halls cough drops. MCG has written a request to find out the answer but so far they did not answer. So Halls Cough Drops in USA are now Mushbooh. Vicks' Menthol Cough Drops do not use any animal derived ingredients and do not contain alcohol. This cough drops can be used instead of Halls Cough Drops.

In Canada Kraft Foods told MCG that if Halls Cough Drops are made with FD&C Yellow Number 5 and FD&C Yellow Number 6 colors then there is no animal derived ingredients are used that means either they use vegetable oil or Soy fat based glycerin as hidden ingredients in liquid FD&C Yellow Numbers 5 and liquid FD&C Yellow Number 6 colors.

But if Halls Cough Drops in Canada are made with FD&C Blue Number 2 and FD&C Red Number 40 colors then they used animal derived hidden ingredient in liquid FD&C Blue Number 2 and liquid FD&C Red Number 40 colors which has to be either from pork fat based glycerin or beef fat based glycerin as a hidden ingredients in FD&C colors.

MCG request Muslim consumers to be careful about hidden ingredients in liquid FD&C colors in Non Food Products.

                                            


 

Posted on: 06-20-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Great Value's liquid juices are made with alcohol containing flavors

 

GREAT VALUE LIQUID JUICES ARE MADE WITH ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVORS

Wal-Mart has informed MCG that those Great Value liquid juices which are made with natural flavors or artificial flavors do contain alcohol as a solvent in flavors. Alcohol in natural or artificial flavors is a hidden ingredient and will not appears on the ingredients list.


 

Posted on: 03-17-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Is alcohol free beer or wine Halal to consume, the answer is no

 

IS ALCOHOL FREE BEER OR WINE HALAL TO CONSUME, THE ANSWER IS NO

All alcohol free beer, wine, champion are not made from scratch but they are all made from real beer, wine and champion. In Islamic fiqah such as tabdeele Mahiya does not applied to alcohol free beer and wine because Tabdeele Mahiya has specific requirements to apply to Haram product to become Halal  such as converting alcohol a Haram ingredient to vinegar a Halal ingredient.

 In the case of alcohol free beer or wine no such thing happened, there is no chemical reaction, there is no name change which are few requirements of Tabdeele Mahiya. Production of alcohol free beer or wine is 100% based on physical action i.e. removing only alcohol from beer or wine without touching any other components of beer or wine. In USA, FDA requirements of alcohol free beer or wine must contains not more than 0.5% alcohol by volume or Dealcoholised: over 0.05% but less than 0.5% ABV(Alcohol By Volume). So all alcohol free beer from USA in Muslim countries contains a maximum of 0.5% Alcohol by ABV. This 0.5% is the result of alcoholic fermentation of sugars by yeast the principle used in making alcoholic beverages. This alcohol is the part of alcohol present in real beer and wine. Intoxicants were defined by our Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum when he said in the authentic hadith that was reported by Abu Da’wwod and Al Tirmithi: whatever a lot of it intoxicates a person, little of it is forbidden. In the above hadith there is no mention of amount or number of serving of getting intoxicated by consuming little amount of intoxicant in a product which contains little amount of intoxicant. So consuming number of cans of alcohol free beer is irreverent. The basic point is the large or little amount of intoxicant is Haram and alcohol is a intoxicant. 

 Alcohol content in Alcohol free beer or wine disqualify to consume based on the above hadith. There is no way any company in USA or anywhere can eliminate completely 100% alcohol from a beer or wine used by vacuum processing or using micro filter system to remove alcohol from beer or wine as they currently used in alcohol free beer or wine industry. What about rest of component of beer or wine. It remains as is, nothing happened to them. Alcohol free beer has the same volatile compounds as in original beer or wine. The purpose of alcohol free beer or wine is to maintain similar characteristic including taste, smell as in real beer or wine. All components of intoxicant are Haram because they are not present in original grape for grape wine or original cereals for beer made from cereals. All the components of beer or wine are the by-product of alcoholic fermentation of sugar content of grape or cereal by yeast.

So it is in the opinion of MCG that alcohol free beer or wine is not Halal to consume by Muslim.

 

 

Posted on: 02-21-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Great Value bread products are not Halal

 

WAL-MART'S GREAT VALUE BREAD PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL

The following Wal-Mart's Great Value bread products are not Halal because the dough conditioners are made with animal fat including pork fat or vegetable fat. Wal-Mart cannot guarantee that it is pork fat free. This information is good for all Wal-Mart stores throughout USA. Wal-Mart do not specify their suppliers not to use pork fat based dough conditioners.

1. Great Value White Split Top Bread

2. Great Value White Round Top Bread

3. Great Value Wheat Sandwich Bread

4. Great Value 100% Whole Wheat Bread

5. Great Value 8 Hamburger Buns

6. Great Value 8 Hot Dog Buns


 

Posted on: 02-08-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Soft Gel Gas-X and Gas-X Thin Strip are not Halal

 

SOFT GEL GAS-X AND GAS-X THIN STRIP ARE NOT HALAL

Soft Gel Gas-X Ultra Strength is not Halal because it contains gelatin. Gas-X Thin Strip Extra Strength is not Halal because ethyl alcohol is listed as an ingredient.


 

Posted on: 02-08-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tim Horton Donuts and Bagels are not Halal

 

TIM HORTON DONUTS, BAGELS AND OTHER BAKERY PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL BECAUSE OF CROSS CONTAMINATION

We have research extensively with Tim Horton consumer department, Nutrition/ Regulatory department and thoroughly researched the ingredients of Donuts, Bagels and other bakery products and found many products are kosher certified and meet Halal requirements. But Tim Horton Company cannot guarantee about the Halal and kosher status of their products. They said that the products with kosher status loosed its status when they prepared at store which uses pork and other meat. Donuts and all bakery products came to stores as frozen then they baked on the sheet in the oven.


 

Posted on: 01-22-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Crest Toothpastes with Scope are not Halal

 

CREST TOOTHPASTES WITH SCOPE ARE NOT HALAL

Although there is no animal derived ingredients are used in all Crest toothpastes(this change was happened January 2009, now all old toothpastes are out from shelf) but Scope with 4% alcohol is added to those toothpastes with Scope names.

The following toothpastes containing Scope are not Halal:

1. Crest Extra White Plus Scope Outlast

2. Crest Plus Scope & Extra Whitening Toothpaste - Mint Splash

3. Crest Plus Scope Liquid Gel Toothpaste - Minty Fresh

4. Crest Plus Scope Liquid Gel Toothpaste - Peppermint

5. Crest Whitening Plus Scope Striped Toothpaste - Cool Peppermint

6. Crest Whitening Plus Scope Striped Toothpaste - Minty Fresh Striped

 

 

Posted on: 01-15-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Vanilla Beans Specks

 

  Vanilla Bean Specks

Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted Vanilla bean specks in food industry. Vanilla beans specks without alcohol extraction are very expensive so many ice cream manufacturer do not use this type of vanilla bean specks. Our ulema consider vanilla bean specks as not Halal if it is obtain after alcohol extraction because alcohol is used on seeds to get vanilla flavor and it is contaminated the Halal vanilla bean seeds.

 


 

Posted on: 01-14-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Bakery products at Corner Bakery Cafe are not Halal

 

 BAKERY PRODUCTS AT CORNER BAKERY CAFE ARE NOT HALAL

Bakery products at Corner Bakery Cafe are not Halal because the ingredients are not kosher certified according to the company.


 

Posted on: 01-06-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Equate Athlete Foot Spray contains Pork Fat

 

  EQUATE ATHLETE FOOT SPRAY CLOTIMAZOL IS MADE WITH PORK FAT

Equate a Wal-Mart brand Athlete Foot Spray Clotimazol is made with pork fat according to the company.


 

Posted on: 01-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Why Yoplait Yogurts are not Halal

 

WHY YOPLAIT YOGURTS ARE NOT HALAL


Yoplait yogurts are manufactured by General Mills. Following classes of yogurts are made under Yoplait brand:

Original, Light, Whips, Delights, YoPlus, Fiber One, Greek, Large Size

Smoothies, Spiltz, Go-Gurt, Simply GoGurt, Trix, Kids

Some yogurts are made with Kosher gelatin. Kosher gelatin is not consider Halal because it is made from pork or non zabiha beef.

Although there is KD Kosher symbol on the package, KD symbol do not belong to one kosher certifying organization but any kosher organization can use the kosher symbol KD. By their religious requirements, Orthodox kosher certified food product cannot be made with meat and dairy ingredients. Since KD is a general kosher symbol, it is also used by some liberal kosher organizations. They can use kosher symbol KD on any product in which meat and dairy ingredients are used. This position is not accepted by orthodox kosher organizations who certification is used by many Muslims including MCG if they meet the Halal requirements. Even not every orthodox kosher certified food products are considered Halal unless they meet the Halal requirements and should not contain the following 16 ingredients:

1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list such in McDonald's buns in Canada(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce with wheat & soy as ingredients(11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract or Brewer's Autolyzed Yeast or yeast extract made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making used only in cheese and  cheese crackers (12) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated. 

Some Yoplait yogurts do not contain kosher gelatin but they are made on the same line where yogurts with kosher gelatin are made, using same equipments. So there is possibility of cross contamination with yogurt containing kosher gelatin. The left over or rejected good yogurt containing kosher gelatin are added in a very small amount as a processing aid or hidden ingredients in yogurts which are not made with kosher gelatin.

This is the reason all Yoplait Yogurts are not consider Halal.

Please buy only plain low fat or non fat yogurts which carry orthodox kosher symbol such as OUD, Circle K, Kuf K, V, CRC.

The natural flavor in majority of yogurts are made with alcohol as a solvent. So fruit flavored Halal yogurts can be made at home by adding Halal jams or Halal jellies to low fat or non fat plain yogurts with orthodox kosher symbol.

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 01-02-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Fat in Olay and Oil of Olay Skin Care Products

 

PORK AND BEEF FAT DERIVED INGREDIENTS ARE USED IN OLAY AND OIL OF OLAY SKIN CARE PRODUCTS

Proctor & Gamble has informed MCG that pork fat and beef fat derived ingredients are used in Olay and Oil of Olay skin care products. MCG advices Muslim sisters not to use these two brands.


 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Fat in some AVON makeup Products

 

 PORK FAT IS USED IN SOME AVON MAKEUP PRODUCTS

According to AVON Company(1-800-445-2866/1-800-265-2866) pork fat is used in some AVON makeup products. Please contact the AVON company for detail. Please avoid all AVON makeup products as a precaution.


 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Fat is used in some Neutragena Makeup Products

 

PORK FAT IS USED IN SOME NEUTRAGENA MAKEUP PRODUCTS

Pork Fat is used in some Netragena makeup products and there are some kosher certified makeup products are available. Please contact Ms. Alura at 1-800-582-4048 for detail. Please avoid Nutragena makeup products as precaution.


 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cover Girl MakeUp are not Halal because they are made with pork fat or beef fat or vegetable fat

 

 COVER GIRL MAKEUP ARE NOT HALAL BECAUSE THEY ARE MADE WITH PORK FAT OR BEEF FAT OR VEGETABLE FAT

Procter & Gamble has informed MCG that they cannot guarantee that their makeup products are free from pork fat because they buy raw material whatever available at the time of year. So Cover Girl makeup products are made with pork fat or beef fat or vegetable fat.


 

Posted on: 12-23-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gold Bond Hand Sanitizer is Mushbooh

 

GOLD BOND HAND SANITIZER IS MUSHBOOH

Dear Mr. Ahmed,

 Thank you for contacting Chattem, Inc. regarding our product Gold Bond Hand Sanitizer. I’m sorry for the delay in getting you your answer regarding animal by products in the product. However, we cannot confirm one way or the other, if there are animal by products in the Gold Bond Hand Sanitizer. I do apologize for the inconvenience.  There are several raw materials that can be vegetable, animal or synthetically derived, so, we can't be sure at this time. Again, I do apologize.

 Sincerely,

Susan Shell

Consumer Affairs Representative


 

Posted on: 12-21-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Monster Energy Drinks are not Halal

 

    MONSTER ENERGY DRINKS ARE NOT HALAL

Monster Energy Beverage Company's products are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified. The knowledge hidden ingredients are also not known. The source of nutritional ingredients are also not known.


 

Posted on: 12-11-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in Murray Sugar Free Cookies Flavors

 

ALCOHOL IS USED IN ALL MURRAY'S SUGAR FREE COOKIES EXCEPT SUGAR FREE PECAN SHORTBREAD COOKIES

Kellogg's has informed MCG that they use alcohol as a solvent in flavors of all Murray's sugar free cookies except sugar free pecan shortbread which is not made with any flavor.


 

Posted on: 12-10-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: WHIPPED LIGHTNING IS HARAM

 

  WHIPPED LIGHTNING IS HARAM

Maple Grove Products Atlanta, Georgia is selling Alcohol infused Whipped Cream under Whipped Lightning as a product name. They said the Whipahol is a specialty distilled spirits made with grain neutral spirits, cream, natural & artificial flavors and natural and artificial colored. It has more alcohol than a beer according to MSNBC.

Muslims should not be confused with regular whipped Cream, it is selling for $10 per canister.


 

Posted on: 12-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Turmeric Extract

 

The Halal status of Turmeric Extract is Mushbooh because if Acetone a Halal chemical solvent is used for extracting the Turmeric Extarct then it is Halal but if alcohol is used in then the Turmeric Extract is Not Halal. MCG has contacted a major spice extract company for the information. They said they use only Acetone as a solvent for extraction but there are many suppliers over here in USA and in India. Many food manufacturer used different suppliers for Turmeric Extract for different plants in USA based on geographical location, so in one plant they use a supplier which use Acetone but other may use Alcohol.

MCG has received the following e-mail from a very big food company:

"We source turmeric extract from a variety of suppliers. Although we have strict food safety policies in place for ingredient sourcing, specific requirements for chemical and physical characteristics of the extraction of turmeric from the plant are not specified. Therefore, it is possible that an alcohol solvent is used during the processing of this ingredient."

 


 

Posted on: 11-14-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Johnson & Johnson Regular Baby Lotion is made from pork

 

Johnson & Johnson Baby Company has informed MCG that the Johnson & Johnson Regular Baby Lotion with fragrance contains pork according to Reference Number 010112330B.

1. Regular Johnson & Johnson Baby Lotion contains pork.


 

Posted on: 11-08-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: SYNTHETIC ALCOHOL

 

Few  Islamic Scholars without scientific knowledge are promoting synthetic  alcohol as Halal. They use synthetic  alcohol terminology to describe alcohol obtained from other than grape, dates and barley such as soybean.

But in scientific world it has a different meaning, synthetic alcohol is obtained through gasification of heavy hydrocarbon in USA where as  few Islamic Scholars gave name synthetic alcohol to the alcohol  obtained from a bio source such as soybean.

Synthetic alcohol or synthetic ethanol is not different in  intoxication quality, chemical formula, physiochemical characteristics. Synthetic alcohol is chemically, physically same and identical to ethanol obtained through bio sources such  as grape, barley, corn, soybean. Bio ethanol is made through fermentation of sugars from their carbohydrates and distillation. Synthetic alcohol is made through thermo-chemical process.

It is not right to provide Halal status to a synthetic alcohol because alcohol from any source has the same intoxication quality.

There are other alcohol such as Cetyl alcohol used in skin care product. Cetyl  alcohol is not a ethyl alcohol or ethanol but it is a fatty wax obtained from either animal fat or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based cetyl alcohol is Halal. Cetyl alcohol does not cause intoxication.

According to famous Hadith "Anything which intoxicate is Khamr and Khamr is Haram.

Synthetic alcohol or according few Islamic scholar's synthetic alcohol which is obtained other than grape or date is Haram and should be avoided. Muslim should be careful of those few  Islamic Scholars who promote use of synthetic alcohol as Halal without scientific knowledge. Majority of Islamic scholars do not agree with those few Islamic scholars from few countries. MCG has published a fatwa on our ALERT section from Jamia Nizamia of Hyderabad Deccan in India that alcohol from any source is Haram.


 

Posted on: 10-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: QUESTION TO ASK OR WRITE ABOUT ALCOHOL IN FLAVOR OF A FOOD PRODUCT

 

HOW TO PHRASE YOUR QUESTION ABOUT ALCOHOL IN FLAVOR OF A FOOD PRODUCT


The question about alcohol in flavor is a tricky one because it is a hidden ingredient of the flavor. If you ask alcohol question to non technical consumer department person of a food company, first they look at the ingredients list of the food product and will find no alcohol is mentioned. Then they will say we do not use alcohol in our products because they do not know the alcohol is a hidden ingredient of the flavor.


We request Muslim consumers to use the following phrase when asking or writing the question to consumer department of any food company regarding the presence or absence of alcohol in the flavor of a food product.

" is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department can not answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".


 

Posted on: 10-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: DAIRY QUEEN PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL

 

International Dairy Queen Inc. has informed MCG that all their products sold at every Dairy Queen location are not Halal or kosher certified. Without Halal or Kosher certification Muslims are not protected against adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid ingredients and also source of ingredients will not remain same or it will be from Haram sources.


 

Posted on: 10-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: THE FOLLOWING TOOTHPASTES ARE MADE WITH ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS

 

According to Colgate company the following toothpaste are made with animal derived ingredients and they are not Halal:

1. COLGATE WISP

2. COLGATE MAX FRESH WITH MOUTHWASH BEADS


 

Posted on: 10-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL

 

Not all Kosher Certified food products are Halal because they do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain the following ingredients:

(1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list such in McDonald's buns in Canada(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract or Brewer's Autolyzed Yeast or yeast extract made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making used only in cheese and  cheese crackers[ but  in all other products  Yeast Extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker’s yeast a Halal source] (12) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol.

 


 

Posted on: 09-01-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Machine Slaughtered Koch Food

 

MACHINE SLAUGHTERED KOCH FOOD'S HALAL CERTIFIED CHICKEN PRODUCTS AT RESTAUARNT DEPOT

Koch Foods has informed MCG that their Halal certified chicken products available in Restauarant Depot are machine slaughtered
 

Posted on: 08-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Grape Skin, Grape Seed Extract

 

GRAPE SKIN EXTRACT, GARPE SEED EXTRACT, JAPANESE KNOTWEED EXTRACT ARE NOT HALAL IF ALCOHOL IS USED AS EXTRACTING SOLVENT

Resveratrol from red wine is used in grape skin extract and grape seed extract, Resveratrol is not Halal because it comes from red wine. Ethanol and water is also used in grape skin extract which is not Halal. Resveratol and ethanol based solvents are used in Japanese knotwood extarct.

 

 

Posted on: 08-28-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVOR IS USED IN GATORADE

 

ALCOHOL CONTAINING FLAVOR IS USED IN GATORADE
Gatorade Company has send this e-mail to one of our Muslim consumer.

Gatorade Consumer:

Gatorade may contain traces amount of alcohol as a formulation aid for the flavorings. But in the processing, these trace amounts are evaporated off in the heating process.

We hope this information is helpful.

Michael
Gatorade Consumer Relations
Ref# 027242673B

Posted on: 08-27-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Red wine in cattle Feed

 

Canadian cattle enjoy red wine with their feed

By JEREMY HAINSWORTH

Associate Press

updated 8/27/2010 9:45:48 AM ET


VANCOUVER, British Columbia — Western Canadian beef producers have found a novel way of putting the "bar" in barbecue.

Angus cattle in British Columbia's Okanagan wine and cattle region are being fed red wine with their grain. Chefs in this Canadian Pacific Coast province said it makes for a unique beef taste, but Canadian food inspectors appear to have doubts.

 

 

 

Posted on: 08-27-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Torula Yeast is Mushbooh

 

TORULA YEAST IS MUSHBOOH

Torula yeast can be grown on alcohol and sugar cane. Last year we provided Halal status to it based on information from Torula yeast industry that Torula yeast is now grown on sugar cane but this information found not be correct because the e-mail today from a Nucleotide manufacturer indicate they still use alcohol as a media to grow Torula Yeast.

Now we have to contact the manufacturer of food products containing Torula Yeast whether Torula Yeast was grown on alcohol or sugar cane. If it was grown on sugar cane then we can consume that food product make sure other ingredients are Halal.

 


 

Posted on: 08-19-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol is used in Nucleotide

 

ALCOHOL IS USED IN NUCLEOTIDE PRODUCTION AND NUCLEOTIDE IS USED IN INFANT FORMULAS

MCG has contacted same company after few years about use of alcohol in manufacturing of Nucleotide.

MCG has asked this question to company:

" Use of ethyl alcohol during the manufacturing of Nucleotide"

Here is their answer we received today:

 " The answer to your question is we do use alcohol for a nutrient source for the yeast. As for in the actual powder there is very little residual. If you have any other questions please let me know."

MCG cannot published the whole e-mail because they requested us not do so legally.

But they changed the source of yeast from Brower yeast to Torula yeast.

Only Brewer and Torula yeast can grow on alcohol not Baker yeast. The company used alcohol as media to grow Torula yeast. Then from millions of Torula yeast cells, they obtained Nucleotide.

Torula yeast also grown on sugar cane.

The nucleotide from this company is used in Similac, Enfamil, Nestle and Gerber infant formula.

The nucleotide from this company is Halal certified by a USA based Halal certifying organization even with alcohol is used in its production.

MCG will not recommend Muslim to feed their new born babies infant formulas containing Nucleotide in which alcohol is used in its production. Beside there are 7 different milk based brands (not soy based) Halal infant formulas are available in supermarkets coast to coast without Nucleotide. Why not feed the Muslim babies with Halal milk based infant formula without Nucleotide.

Based on our ulema’s recommendation MCG never Halal certify any food product or ingredient if alcohol is used in their production.


 

Posted on: 08-19-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Other Name of Nucleotide

 

  ADENOSINE 5' MONO PHOSPHATE IS NUCLEOTIDE

Adenosine 5' Mono Phosphate is the chemical name of Nucleotide. It is used in Enfamil's Premium Infant baby formula. There is no mention of Nucleotide. Please be aware of it. This formula is not Halal.


 

Posted on: 08-18-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Facts about Non Alcoholic Wine

 

FACTS ABOUT NON ALCOHOLIC WINE OR BEER
                                                 
This information is provided for Muslims all over the world so that they understand how a non alcoholic wine or beer is made and available throughout the world including in Muslim countries. The following are the facts about alcohol free wine, beer, its manufacture methods and its possible impact on Islamic Sharia(I am not a Alim but I will provide information so that the Muftiyans can  make their own fatwas).
1. Fact number one, Alcohol free wine or beer is made from real wine or beer. Wines from grape, date, honey, wheat is Khamr and Khamr is Haram according to several ahadith.
2. Questions for Muftiyans, do they think that every component of wine also Haram including water in wine even wine made from grape.
The composition of wine is:
Water 80-85%, Alcohol 10-20%, Acids 0.4 - 1%, Sugar 0.1%(because all sugar in grape is used to produce alcohol), Mineral Salts 0.2 to 0.4%, Coloring substances 0.01 to 0.5%,
Aromatic substances 0.01 to 0.1%, Sulphites 10 to 200 Part Millions
 3. Manufacturing processes used in manufacture of alcohol free wine or beer:
 
a. Alcohol free wine beverages is produced by using  US patented process(4775538) where table wine is combined with demineralized water and poured into a centrifugal evaporator where alcohol is spin off to produce a alcohol free wine base. Then grape juice concentrate is added to alcohol free wine base to make alcohol free wine.

b. Vacuum  Distillation where real wine or real beer is exposed to vacuum. Where due to change in atmospheric pressure with low heat or no heat the alcohol is distilled off.
c. Reverse Osmosis, a procedure used to clean impurities from drinking water. Most American homes has this unit under their kitchen sinks. The reverse Osmosis has filters with very minutes pores Through these pores filters only alcohol and water with volatile acids in wine or in beer is filtered out of wine or beer without heat. Then those volatile acid and water is put back to a mixture of syrupy mixture of sugar, flavor  compounds on the other side of filter after distilling out the alcohol from alcohol and water acid mixture. This is also called dealcoholized wine or beer.
 
d. Non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer is made with a secondary fermentation to produce a non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer with less than 0.5% alcohol. Then carbon dioxide  is forced to make a carbonated non alcoholic beer.

4. Another fact is that all the experts in this industry said that it is very difficult and very expensive to eliminate all alcohol from wine or beer. This is the reason Non Alcoholic beverages still contain some original alcohol from wine or beer. This leads to a US Federal Law about Non Alcoholic wine or beer which states that Non Alcoholic wine or beer can contain up to 0.5% "original alcohol of wine or beer by volume."
If you consider above breakdown of grape wine, the non alcoholic grape wine contains  5%  to 10% original amount of wine in the Non Alcoholic grape wine based on 10% to 20% alcohol content in grape wine and if the Non Alcoholic grape wine contains maximum 0.5% original alcohol of wine or beer by volume according to US federal law.

So based on this calculation a Muslim who decides to consume Non Alcoholic grape wine  is consuming 5% to 10% of original grape wine in Non Alcoholic grape wine.
5. Another fact is that many producers of Non Alcoholic wine and beer want to keep the same original flavors compounds in Non Alcoholic wine or beer because to match original flavor and taste of wine or beer. Sometimes they add 2-2.5% residual sugar content to match a completely dry alcoholic wine. Some companies advertized that their Non Alcoholic wine or beer contains same original abundant flavors of original wine and beer.
 
It was reported in research that It takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager.

MCG thinks every component of prohibited wine or Khamr is also Haram same as every part of pig is Haram. But some Muftiyans may have different opinion.
The purpose of this scientific information is to provide facts about Non Alcoholic wine or beer to every Muslims so that they can make decision to consume or not to consume Non Alcoholic wine or beer. But Muslim
 
Consumer Group consider Non Alcoholic wine or beer as Haram beverage and recommend Muslims not to consume them.
 
This article is based on some available scientific literature and Allah knows better.


 

 

Posted on: 08-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork Gelatin in Nature Made Fish Oil

 

PORK GELATIN IN NATURE MADE FISH OIL 1200 MG LIQUID SOFT GEL

Our brother has sent an e-mail to MCG from Genesis McClendon which states that the Nature Made Fish Oil 1200 mg Liquid Soft gel is made with pork gelatin and free of beef gelatin.(reference number #353315).

It is not necessary that Nature Made products are Halal but the above fish oil is a Haram fish oil. Fish Oil are not Halal unless they Halal or kosher certified.


 

Posted on: 06-27-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: DEEP FOOD’S FROZEN INDIAN PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL

 

   DEEP FOOD’S FROZEN INDIAN PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL

Ms Savita, Manager Customer Service has informed MCG on the phone that their frozen Indian food products are not Halal because there is no indication on the package that they are Halal. Any Muslim consumer can confirm her statement by calling her at 908-810-7500.


 

Posted on: 06-17-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Similac Go & Grow is not Halal

 

SIMILAC GO AND GROW MILK BASED FORMULA IS NOT HALAL ANYMORE

Nucleotide was not present in Similac Go & Grow milk based formula for infant in December 2009 when it was reported in Halal in Halal food book 2009 but sometime in 2010 they added Nucleotide to Go & Grow milk based infant formula. Presence of nucleotide in Similac's Go & Grow infant formula was brought to us by a Muslim consumer.

Nucleotide is made of three functional groups: a nucleic acid base, a sugar, and a phosphate. It is a structural building block of RNA and DNA.

In foods, it is obtained from brewer yeast cells which grow on alcohol. Anything which grows on ethyl alcohol a intoxicant("every intoxicant is khamer and every khamer is Haram whether consume in small or large quantity" according ahadith) is not consider Halal according to MCG criteria.


 

Posted on: 06-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Donot bring Laxmi products to

 

PLEASE DO NOT BRING LAXMI BRAND PRODUCTS TO YOUR HOMES

All Laxmi brand products has Hindu belief deity Laxmi picture and they are available in all Muslim owned Indo/Pak Desi grocery stores in USA and Canada. We should avoid bringing homes these products because we perform Namaz(Salat), read Quran, read Zikar and Darood, fast during Ramadan in our homes. The company has to change its logo. The Muslim owners of grocery stores has buying power and they can demand to change it. There are other Hindu owned brands which do not have any their religious symbol on their products.

So MCG is requesting Muslims to stop buying Laxmi brand products until they remove the picture of deity Laxmi’s picture from their products.


 

Posted on: 04-16-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in 7UP is confirmed

 

ALCOHOL IN THE FLAVOR OF 7 UP & OTHER PRODUCTS IS  CONFIRMED

Dr. Pepper Snapple Group company has confirmed the use of ethyl alcohol as a solvent or carrier in the flavor of 7UP, Dr. Pepper and other product to MCG by e-mail.

"Thank you for contacting us about 7Up Regular. Your comments and inquiries are appreciated because they provide valuable feedback about our brands.

Most of the flavors in our products are designed with a carrier that is usually ethanol. The amounts are very slight, but still present".

They made the following products:

All 7 UP, Dr. Pepper, A & W, Canada Dry, Clamato, Country Time, Crush,  Diet Rite, Hawaiian Punch, Schweppes, Snapple, Squirt.


 

Posted on: 03-23-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wrigley''s Haram Products

 

Wrigley's following gums are Not Halal Products

The following products are made with animal derived ingredients:
Extra Polar Ice Stick
Juicy Fruit Pellet
Extra Polar Ice
Orbit Crystal Mint
Juicy Fruit Grapemelon
Juicy Fruit Strappleberry
Altoid Mints
All Life Savers Gummies
CreamSaver
LifeSaver Fusions
LifeSaver
 

Posted on: 03-15-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork in major vitamins brands

 

PORK IN ALL MAJOR BRANDS OF MULTIVITAMINS TABLETS

MCG has found out that the following major brands of Multivitamins tablets or caplets on counter are made with pork derived gelatin or other ingredients:

1. CENTRUM:  ALL MULTIVITAMINS TABLETS CONTAIN GELATIN MADE FROM PORK AND POULTRY.

2. ONE A DAY: ALL MULTIVITAMINS TABLETS CONTAIN GELATIN MADE FROM PORK AND BEEF.

3. NATURE’S MADE: ALL MULTIVITAMINS TABLETS CONTAIN GELATIN MADE FROM PORK AND FISH.

4. VITA FUSION: ALL MULTIVITAMINS TABLETS CONTAIN GELATIN MADE FROM PORK.

5. CITRACAL: CALCIUM TABLETS CONTAIN MINUTE AMOUT OF PORK GELATIN AND IT IS NOT SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIN.

6. FISH OIL: NATURE MADE AND ALL BRANDS CONTAIN CONTAIN PORK GELATIN.


 

Posted on: 03-11-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dart Cups at Walmart are not Halal

 

 DART CUPS AT WAL- MART STORES ALL OVER USA ARE NOT HALAL

Dart Company of Michigan makes styrofoam cups by using animal fat at the molding. These Dart Strofoam cups are sold by Wal-Mart in every state. It is not a Halal styrofaom cup according MCG criteria. Please avoid buying Dart cups.


 

Posted on: 03-07-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Some DANA Yogurts are not Halal

 

In Chicago area ethnic stores some DANA brand Labna Yogurts from Ziyad Brothers contain Kosher Gelatin and they are not Halal based on MCG Halal Criteria

The following yogurts donot have OUD Kosher symbol and contain Kosher Gelatin:

1. Mint 16 oz Dana Labna A0082A Plastic Cups

2. Hot & Spicy Dana Labna A0082C Plastic Cups

The above two has liberal kosher symbol but they are not Halal based on MCG Halal criteria because they contain kosher Gelatin which is made from pork or non zabiha beef.

The only New Improved Taste All Natural 16 oz Dana Labna  A0082 plastic cup has OUD Kosher symbol and it is a Halal Labna yogurt.


 

Posted on: 02-05-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Chuck E Cheese's cheese is not Halal

 

 CHUCK E. CHEESE'S CHEESE IS NOT HALAL

MS Haley Beaty ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ''> hbeaty@cecentertainment.comThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ) of Chuck E. Cheese has provided the following information to MCG about Cheese and Dough used in their cheese pizza through a E-Mail::

1.Is starter cultuer bacteria is from milk source or animal source.  That information is not currently available.

2. Is media upon these bacteria grow kosher certified or conatins whey and lactose, brewer yeast extract.  No, it’s not kosher certified. 

3.Is whey protein concentrate is kosher certified. Is whey protein concentrate is made with animal rennet? or whey proetin concentrate is made by your cheese supplier from Mozarella cheese making?  No, the whey protein concentrate is not kosher certified. 

4. Is Flavors used in cheese kosher certified or does it obtained from animal based sources.  No, it’s not kosher certified.

5. Is alcohol is used as solvent or carrier in flavors.  Our flavors do contain alcohol.

PIZZA Dough:

Is inactive yeast in pizza dough means yeast extract or autolyzed yeast?.  That information is not currently available.

From above Chuck E. Cheese's Cheese do not meet the MCG's Halal requirements for cheese, so it is not consider as Halal according to MCG criteria.

Dough is considered as MUSHBOOH because of lack of information about INACTIVE YEAST.

The Chuck E. Cheese's pizza sauce is considered as Halal because it is made with all Halal ingredients.

 

 

 

Posted on: 01-15-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork in Flintstone Vitamins

 

 FLINTSTONE CHEWABLE VITAMINS WITH IRON CONTAIN PORK FAT

Bayers has informed MCG that pork fat along with beef fat was used in gelatin a ingredient of Flintstone Chewable vitamins with iron. Muslims should not used all Flintstone Chewable Vitamins.


 

Posted on: 01-14-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dart's Foam Products are Not Halal

 

DART’S FOAM PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL ACCORDING MCG’S CRITERIA

Dart’s foam products  are not Halal according to following reasons:

1. Dart Container Corporation is refused to provide guarantee that Zink Stearate applied at the molding is free from pork fat.

2. Dart Container Corporation has provided an e-mail indicating cross contamination of beef tallow with pork fat at their supplier plant.

3. Dart Container Corporation has provided a letter title " Position statement on Zinc Stearate on their Polystyrene Products" which clearly indicate that they use of animal fat or tallow and do not provide any guarantee from cross contamination of pork fat.

Here are the letter and e-mails:

Position of Zink Stearate‏ 

Dear Mr Ahmed:

We have been in communication with our

supplier of zinc stearate, and he assures us

that in their manufacture of this additive they

specify that their source of stearic acid, from

which they make zinc stearate, must have

a ’tallow’ basis and not a ’lard’ basis, which

means that it is obtained from cattle and

sheep, and not from pigs. They did give us the

caveat that the original company who renders

the fat may not have used meticulous

procedures in place for cleaning a vessel or

process piping when converting from lard raw

material to tallow, so that there exists a slight

possibility of some minor contamination of the

product in changing from one source to

another. We hope this helps.

Again, thank you for your support of our

products.

Sincerely,

Don Anderson

Analsis:

Dart Container Corporation suppliers has a

problem of sepearting the pork fat based

Stearic acid VS beef fat based stearic acid

because both are made on same line. There is

cross contamination of pork fat in beef fat.

It means the supplier of Dart and Dart

corporation both can not give guarantee in

writing that Stearic acid and Zink Stearate

which is made from non zabiha beef fat is pork

fat free because both are made on same line.

There is always possibility of mixing pork fat

with beef fat.

Win Cups company wrote us that their foam

products free from animal fat. So It is preferred

to buy Win Cups against Dart’s foam products.

Dear Mr Ahmed:
Thank you for your request for clarification of the Dart Position Statement on Zinc Stearate. Dart purchases Zinc Stearate in the marketplace and, unfortunately, we are unable to be more specific than what we have stated in our position statement. Zinc stearate is, ultimately, a chemical but if there are questions regarding it’s use as a releasing agent, we suggest you seek guidance from your own religious leader. For your information, we have attached another copy of the Dart position statement.
Sincerely,
Don Anderson


Position Statement on Zinc Stearate and the Composition of Dart Polystyrene Products

Dart Container Corporation has a keen interest in providing safe and sanitary polystyrene products (e.g., foam cups and containers) for food and beverage service. With this in mind, we have the following comments relating to the composition of our products:

1. Dart products conform to the rigorous standards of the Federal Food and Drug Administration as found in Title 21 of the Code of Federal Regulations. This conformity applies not only to major components, but also to additives and processing aids.

2. Dart’s manufacturing practices are directed toward strict preservation of the sanitary nature of our products.

3. Dart does not currently use post-consumer recycled materials in our products.

4. With specific respect to the retention of “Kosher” or “Halal” status of foods and beverages served in our polystyrene products, please consider the following:

Dart utilizes processing aids known as “release agents” in the manufacture of our polystyrene products. Release agents are present in minuscule amounts, to allow the product to be “released” from the molds used to form the container. Almost all zinc stearate the release agent used by Dart, and other fatty acid products are ultimately derived from animal fat or “tallow”. We know of no reports indicating detection of these materials in contained food and we cannot test either for their presence nor for the level of that presence. However, our calculations indicate that if all the release agent on the contacting surface of a cup were to migrate to the contained food, the resulting concentration of migrated chemical material within the food would be approximately one part per million. It is important to keep in mind that the use of these additives is not intended as a food, but simply as a processing aid. In adhering to the guidelines in the Code of Federal Regulations, we do not exceed the amount “required to accomplish the intended technical effect.” And, we do not use these materials to enhance such appearance factors as the gloss of the cup or the container surface. Dart participated in a study committee sponsored by the Society of the Plastics Industry (SPI) charged with reviewing the issue of “Kosher” or “Halal” status of food and beverage packaging, and publishing a report. The major conclusion reached in the SPI report is that there is considerable controversy in theological circles as to the effect on Kosher status of foods and beverages contained in polystyrene foodservice products. One school of thought holds that the process of obtaining these products, because of its high temperature and purification steps, in effect “denatures” them and removes them from the class of  being “food”; therefore, they should be considered as just another chemical. The other school of thought does not accept this argument of denaturing and further takes the position that the presence of even small amounts of tallow-derived processing aids causes contained foods to lose Kosher status. Given the current difference in theological opinion, we suggest you seek guidance on this issue from your own religious leader. The full SPI report, “An Introduction to the Role of Packaging in the World of Kashrus” can be obtained from SPI at (202) 974-5200.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 12-19-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Publix brand breads are not Halal

 

PUBLIX BRAND BREADS ARE NOT HALAL

Sara Lee now supplying all the bread under PUBLIX brand name. We do not when this switch has made but as we all know that Sara Lee will never guarantee that the fast based dough conditioner could be made either with animal fat including pork or vegetable fat unless if the bread carries a kosher symbol such as in east coast supermarkets.

Now PUBLIX Inc. is not guarantee that PUBLIX brand of breads are free from animal fat based dough conditioners.

We request Muslim consumers in Florida and south not to avoid buy PUBLIX brand of breads, hamburger buns and hot dog buns.

Pleas also call your local supermarket whether their store brand breads are made by Sara Lee, if they say yes, then do not buy their bread because Sara Lee is only baking company who refused to use vegetable fat based dough conditioners in their bread products.


 

Posted on: 12-17-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Breyer Ice Cream without Flavor

 

Breyer's Ice Cream without Flavors

MCG recommend to consume Breyer's Ice Cream without flavor. All Natural Coffee Ice Cream, All Natural Strawberry Ice Cream and All Natural Dulce Leche are only three ice cream flavors made without any flavor.


 

Posted on: 11-20-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cheetos & Doritos are not Halal

 

CHEETOS AND DORITOS (EXCEPT TOASTED CORN TORTILLA CHIPS) ARE STILL NOT HALAL

MCG has received an inquiry about Halal status of Cheetos from a Muslim consumer who saw Muslims at Islamic Community Center of Des Plaines, IL(Masjid on Porter Road in Des Plaines, IL) consuming Cheetos. They said that Frito Lay has changed the ingredients and it is Halal now . This is not true, Frito Lay did not change the ingredients nor the source of their ingredients is  Halal or kosher certified. There is no protection for Muslim consumers in USA for Frito Lay’s non kosher certified products against the use of non Halal ingredients, non Halal hidden ingredients, use of non Halal rework products added during processing of non kosher certified products.

http://halalcentral.wordpress.com website has published the following Alert on their website :

ALERT: PLEASE AVOID ALL CHEETOS, DORITOS, AND OTHER PRODUCTS CONTAINING CHEESE

 


 

Posted on: 10-08-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gelatin in Baby Foods

GERBER'S DHA BABY FOODS ARE MADE WITH GELATIN

Gerber the number one baby foods manufacturer are now selling baby foods containing gelatin. Gerber's DHA Oatmeal Cereal and all their DHA baby food products contain gelatin as an ingredient. Muslims parents are adviced to read the ingredients before purchase any baby foods.


 

Posted on: 10-06-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dentyne Blast gum is not Halal

 

DENTYNE BLAST GUM IS MADE WITH NON ZABIHA BEEF

Cadbury Adam has informed MCG that Dentyne Blast Gum is made from non zabiha beef so according to MCG criteria they are not consider as Halal.


 

Posted on: 09-30-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Trident Splash & Layers Not Halal

 

PORK IN TRIDENT LAYERS GUMS & NON ZABIHA BEEF IN SPLASH TRIDENT GUMS

Cadbury Adam has informed MCG that Pork is used in Trident Layers Gums and Non zabiha beef is used in Trident Splash Gums.

The rest of varieties of Trident gums do not contain any animal derived ingredients and alcohol in flavors.



 

Posted on: 09-30-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Prilosec- OTC is not Halal

 

 PRILOSEC-OTC IS MADE EITHER VEGETABLE OR ANIMAL DERIVED MAGNESIUM STEARATE

Procter & Gamble has informed MCG that the Magnesium Stearate in Prilosec-OTC is either made with vegetable fat or pork or beef fat. They will not guarantee free from pork. So it is not a Halal medicine for heart burns.


 

Posted on: 09-24-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Fatwa on Alcohol

 

FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

 

Posted on: 09-24-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork in Prenate brand of Prenatal Vitamins

 

PORK DERVIED VITAMIN B6 IN PRENATE BRAND OF PRENATAL VITAMINS

One of our Muslim consumer has informed MCG about Vitamin B6 is obtained from pork source in Prenate brand of prenatal vitamins.

 

Posted on: 09-12-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pork In ACT Fluoride Bubble Gum

 

PORK IN ACT FLUORIDE BUBBLE GUM

Chattem Inc of Chattanooga, TN has informed one of our Muslim consumer by email that the Polysorbate 80 a fat based emulsifier is derived from the pork fat. So ACT Fluoride Bubble Gum is a Haram product.

 

Posted on: 09-02-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Diacetyl in Starter Distillate

 

Diacetyl in Starter Distillate used as Natural Flavoring in Unsalted Butter

According to a internet report: " Popcorn lung, or bronchiolitis obliterans, results from exposure to Diacetyl, the chemical used in butter flavoring in microwave popcorn and other food products. People affected by the toxicity of this chemical have developed shortness of breath, hardening of the lung tissue, and other serious respiratory symptoms.

Butter manufacturer such as Land O Lakes is already replacing the starter distillate with Lactic Acid which is a Halal ingredient. But Land O Lakes Company is still using the word "Natural Flvoring to represent Lactic Acid and this was told by the company to MCG. Other butter manufactur such as Wild Harvest who makes Organic Unsalted butter reports Cream and Lactic Acid under ingredients statement. Many butter producer will follow.

Our advice is to use Salted Butter and Unslated Butter if the ingredients are Cream and Lactic Acid or Cream and Natural Flavoring. If it says Natural flavoring then contact the company to ask whether they are using Starter Distillate or Lactic Acid as Natural Flavoring.

Natural flavoring is still Starter Distillate in many unsalted butter brands and it contains Diacetyl. As we reported in our Ingredients section about Starter Distillate as "Besides diacetyl, starter distillate contains minor amounts of acetaldehyde, ethyl formate, ethyl acetate, acetone, ethyl alcohol, 2-butanone, acetic acid and acetoin.

 

 

Posted on: 09-01-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wine Gel on BR Ice Cream Cake

 

BURGUNDY WINE LIQUID GEL AS A DECORATING COLOR ON BASKIN ROBINS Ice CREAM CAKES

Baskin Robins is using a Kosher certified Burgundy Wine Liquid Gel product number 9533 on ice cream cakes as a decorating color at their franchise stores. Ice cream cake is composed of five different components.

1. Cake Base white or chocolate made with vanilla flavor(Baskin Robins refused to provide the information of alcohol used as a solvent)

2. Baskin Robins Ice cream(only Kosher certified Classic Chocolate, Classic Chocolate Fudge, Classic Chocolate with Almond, Classic Peanut Butter N Chocolate and Classic Jamoca ice cream are Halal)

3. Kosher certified White Frosting from Wal-Mart/Sam Club # 00860503(No information about alcohol as a solvent in artificial falvor)

4. Kosher certified different color gels(including Burgundy Wine Liquid Gel 9533) for various colors as a decoration

5. Sprinkle which may be made with confectionary glaze  where Shellac is dissolved in alcohol then evaporated.


 

Posted on: 08-09-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Why majority of Dannon' Yogurts except Plain are Not Halal

 

WHY DANNON’S DANACTIVA, DANIMALS CRUSH CUPS, FUSIONS, DANO-NINO, LIGHT & FIT SMOOTHIES YOGURTS ARE NOT HALAL

One of our Muslim consumer who regularly follows our website asked why Dannon’s Yogurts which do not contain any Haram ingredients are Not Halal even it has a K kosher symbol on the package?.

This is very a good question. The above Dannon yogurts do not contain Kosher Gelatin which is a Haram ingredient because it is obtained from pork or non zabiha beef but they have a kosher symbol K not OUD or other orthodox kosher symbols.

The main reason is that there is no protection for Muslims consumers against using the rework yogurts containing kosher gelatin in small quantity as hidden ingredients. It is a practice in food industry to use rework food products if it was rejected due to not adding one ingredient by mistake. They will not throughout the whole batch but they use in very little amount in same type of products or other similar type of products which will not alter the taste, texture, flavor of the current products. Since both type of yogurts has similar type of K kosher symbol.

In case of orthodox kosher certified Dannon products such as low fat or fat free plain or vanilla yogurts or natural flavor low fat vanilla, coffee, lemon yogurts, these yogurts either made on separate line or other orthodox kosher certified plants. So there is no chance of cross contamination with kosher gelatin containing rework yogurts.


 

Posted on: 08-07-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Gelatin in apple juice processing

GELATIN IN APPLE JUICE PROCESSING
4-Hydroxyproline is a rare and uncommon amino acid, a derivative of amino acid proline which is found in abundance in the fibrous protein collagen and some plant protein. The collagen is the raw material to manufacture gelatin. One medium apple of 5.5 oz. contains zero gram of protein that means apple do not contain hydroxyproline amino acid. Since some apple juice processors in USA and Europe  use pork or beef gelatin in apple juice processing.  In USA, Halal or Kosher certification protect Muslims in USA/Canada not to consume apple juice where gelatin is used in processing by having a Halal or Kosher symbol on the apple juice containers. But this is not the case with Europe and in Muslim countries. No efforts to protect their Muslim consumers in Muslim countries from gelatin used apple juice has been reported. MCG has brought this fact in a Halal Food conference conducted by KUIM at Futrajaya Marriott in Futrajaya, Malaysia on September 29, 2004. Many Muslim scientist at the meeting do not know about it. So there is need to do analysis on imported apple juice to Muslim countries. Since Hydroxyproline do not possess the genetic code word then DNA test for pork cannot be used. Although the analytical analysis do not distinguish the gelatin in apple juice whether it is from pork or beef but it will detect the gelatin in apple juice if gelatin is used in apple juice processing. The use of Gelatin - Tannin precipitation is still used in USA according to apple juice industry personnel for clarification of apple juice. Some part of gelatin is leached into apple juice and it can be detected by analytical method.
So there is need of monetary support from Muslim countries to provide funding for a MS or PhD thesis at universities such as Halal science center at Chulalongkorn university in Thailand or any US university such as Cornell University, University of California at Davis, CA or Washington State University at Pullman, WA, MSU at East Lansing, MI, University of Illinois at Urbana, IL.
Here is the analystical method for determination of Hydroxyproline in a tissue hydrolyzate at the University of Illinois Urbana, IL.
Clinica Chimica Acta, 104 (1980) 161-167
0 Elsevier/North-Holland Biomedical Press
CCA 1375
" MODIFIED ASSAY FOR DETERMINATION OF
HYDROXYPROLINE IN A TISSUE HYDROLYZATE"
C.A. EDWARDS * and W.D. O’BRIEN, JR.
Bioacoustics Research Laboratory, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL 61801 (U.S.A.)
(Received September 24th, 1979)
Summary:
A modified assay for the determination of hydroxyproline in tissue is presented. The modifications greatly reduce the time required for analysis of excised tissue as first introduced by Stegemann and Stalder [ 11. These modifications include a change in the technique for tissue hydrolysis and a change in
the preparation of the hydroxyproline oxidizing agent. The analysis utilizes the standard addition technique, eliminating the need for correction of matrix effects between the specimen and standard. This paper attempts to give a complete detailed description of the assay such that the procedure may be repeated without requiring additional reference material.
 

 

Posted on: 08-03-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Animal by products in Puff

 

  Possible Animal By-products in Puffs Products

A Muslim consumer has provided a email to MCG which says"There is no alcohol that is used in the manufacturing of any of our Puffs products. It is possible however for animal by products to be used in the manufacturing and processing of all paper products. Please be assured that Procter & Gamble (the parent company of Puffs) uses vegetable resources whenever possible."

There is no gurantee that Puffs products are free from animal by products
 

Posted on: 08-03-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in Ensure Products

Dr. Ali Raza has provided the information from the manufacturer of Ensure that it contains a small amount of Alcohol. So according MCG criteria it is not consider as Halal

Posted on: 07-27-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wine in Kikkoman's Teriyaki Sauce

 

WINE IN KIKKOMAN'S TERIYAKI MARINADE & SAUCE AND ALCOHOL IN SOY SAUCE

According to a Kikkoman's E-Mail provided by one of our Muslim consumer that Wine is present in Kikkoman's teriyaki marinade & sauce. Alcohol is also present in their Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce. They also mentioned that their Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce is just like wine and beer. MCG is educating Muslims since 1993 that Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce is just made like wine and beer. Even Chinese Muslims who owned the Chinese restaurants do not know that alcohol is present in Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce.


 

Posted on: 07-02-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dreyer Sheets with Animal Ingredients

 

PLEASE DONOT USE BOUNCE, SNUGLE, GAIN, FRESH N SOFT, DOWNY DRYER SHEETS BECAUSE THEY ARE MADE WITH ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS

The above brands of dryer sheets are made with animal derived ingredients including beef or pork according to manufacturer of above brands of dryer sheets.

 

Posted on: 06-26-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Home Run Inn Pizza is not Halal

One of our brother from Chicago has provided an e-mail from Home Runn Inn Pizza chain in Chicago that they do not use kosher certified ingredients and also they did not answer his question about any pork or alcohol used in making the pizzas.
 

Posted on: 06-23-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pink Snowballs contain Pork

 

MRS. FRESHLEY'S PINK SNOWBALL CREME FILLED CAKES CONTAIN PORK GELATIN

One of our brother has provided an e-mail from Flower Baking Company regarding the presence of pork gelatin in Pink Snowball creme filled cakes.


 

Posted on: 06-20-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hansen's beverages not Halal

Hansen Beverage Sodas are not Halal because the flavor extracts contain ethyl alcohol according to company.
 

Posted on: 06-02-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Garden Burger & Veggie Max not Halal

 

Graden Burger and VeggieMax at Subways are not Halal

According to Subways the Garden Burger or Veggie pattie is made with  Part Skim Mozzarella cheese, Cottage cheese and Cheddar cheese. Except Cottage cheese other cheeses are not kosher certified generally. So Garden Burger or Veggie pattie is not Halal.

The VeggieMax contains Naturally brewed soy sauce with 2-3% alcohol, non Halal Calcium Caesinate,  may or may not contain alcohol in natural flavor and in Celery Extract. So VeggieMax is not consider as a Halal food product.


 

Posted on: 05-02-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in natural flavor of Ritz Crackers

 

ALCOHOL IN NATURAL FLAVOR OF RITZ CRACKERS

Nabisco has just added a natural flavor to its Ritz Crackers recently. We have contacted Nabisco about the presence or absence of alcohol in natural flavor in their Ritz crackers. They informed us that alcohol is used as a solvent in natural flavor used in Ritz crackers. So all those Ritz crackers which contain natural flavors are not Halal.

 

Posted on: 02-24-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Why Goldfish Cracker is not Halal

 

Why Gold Fish crackers are not Halal because most Pepperidge Farms cookies products are kosher certified but Gold fish crackers are not Kosher certified. The cheese used in it is not kosher certified. The starter culture bacteria, the media upon which these bacteria multiply in millions, the rennet used in cheese makeing has to be Halal or kosher certified. The starter culture bacteria can be obtained from meat source rather milk source, the media may be made of non Halal whey, lactose and non Halal yeast extract which is obtained from beer making or by product of beer. The natural flavor, color, yeast extract present in the Gold Fish formula are not Halal or kosher certified. In addition the natural flavor may contain alcohol as a solvent. Please learn about the Halal requirements of cheese and dairy products at Ingredients section of our website www.muslimconsumergroup.com .

 

 

Posted on: 02-15-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Why Confectionary Glaze is not Halal

 

TECHNICAL INFORMATION ON CONFECTIONARY GLAZE

Confectionary Glazes are available to food companies in variouse concntration. The are the alcohol solutions of different  types of food grade Shellac. The amount of Shellac dissolved in one gallon of ethyl alcohol. The benefit of use of  confectionary glazes on certain food products is to have good appearance, increase shelf life, moisture protection and avoid coated products sticking to gather in package. Confectionary glazes are also available in different colors and these colored confectionary glazes are used in decorating cakes and ice cream. They use in MALTED MILK BALL, CHOCOLATE COVERED SUGAR COATED PEANUTS AND RAISIN, USE AS COLORED SUGAR ON COOKIES(such as Pepperidge Farm's Sugar Cookies), JELLY BEANS AND LICORICE, GUM BALLS, SOFT CENTRES AND HARD SHELL CANDIES. Alcohol is evaporated during panning procedure so that no alcohol is reamin in the coating. MCG ulema do not consider them Halal.


 

Posted on: 01-28-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cinnabon Products

All Cinnabon products except Danish Stick are not Halal in USA because due to the  presence of vanilla extract in frosting. Vanilla extract contains 35% alcohol. The only item which do not contain frosting is Danish Sticks according Cinnabon. Danish Stick is made with natural and artificial flavor but the information about alcohol use as a solvent is not known. So Danish Stick is Mushbooh product. Although all ingredients used in Cinnabon products are kosher certified.
 

Posted on: 12-29-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dairy Queen Products are not Halal

DAIRY QUEEN PRODUCTS ARE STILL NOT HALAL

Dairy Queen International informed MCG on December 17, 2008 that they will not guarantee about Kosher/Halal status of their products because different stores in USA buy the food products from different suppliers. Some suppliers provide kosher certified food products and some do not.


 

Posted on: 12-22-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol in Butterfinger

 

A sister got this e-mail from Nestle about alcohol in Butterfingers. According to the sister It doesnt clearly state it has alcohol.

Dear Nestl�© Consumer,

Thank you for contacting Nestl�©�® Butterfinger�® .

Many natural and/or artificial flavors do contain some alcohol as flavor carriers. The amount transferred to final food products is so small that it is not detectable and considered incidental. So it is not declared in the ingredients statement.

It can be surmised that if a product contains natural and/or artificial flavor, there is a good chance that alcohol was used in the development of the product and that any potential residual alcohol in the product is insignificant.

We appreciate your use of our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions.

 

Posted on: 10-14-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Alcohol inCold Stone Ice Cream

 

The Following Ice Cream products from Cold Stone Creamery contain ethyl alcohol in the ingredients statement(not in flavor):

Irish Ice Cream

Mango Ice Cream

Pecan Praline Ice Cream

 

Posted on: 10-13-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Game Juice

The Game Juice's apple and Ginger flavors both have a small amount of residual ethyl alcohol.  The anticipated amount in the finished beverage would be less than 0.25%v/v. Ther is no animal derived ingredients in the juices. These juices are not consider Halal. A muslim consumer has sent this information to MCG 

Posted on: 09-08-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Minute Maid Ruby Red Grapefruit

 

Minute Maid  Juices to Go Ruby Red Grapefruit Drink is Haram because it contains cochineal. Cochineal is a red color obtained from female beetles in South America. All insect except locust are Haram in Islam. The Coca Cola has mailed the above information to one of our Muslim Consumer.

 

Posted on: 09-08-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Long John Silver Fish are not Halal

According to Long John Siver stores the fish and non zabiha chicken are fried in the same fryer and same vegetable oil. This is the reason the Long John Siver fish is not consider Halal although the Battered Fish has Halal coating. You can buy the unfried battered fish if they sell and fried it in your house.
 

Posted on: 08-01-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Natural Flavor in Cream of Wheat contains vanilla bean extract obtained through alcohol

The natural flavor in Instant Cream of Wheat Original flavor hot cereal is not Halal according to MCG Criteria. The Natural flavor is from vanilla bean extracts, sugar, cornstarch and tricalcium phosphate  according to B & G Foods Company. According to company the vanilla is extracted with alcohol and water from vanilla beans then it is concentrated with sugar to make powder, during this concentration process the alcohol is evaporated.


 

Posted on: 07-20-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: KEFIR IS NOT HALAL

kefir is one of the fermented milk product. It is an alcoholic and acid permented product. Both alcohol and acid are produced at the end of fermentation, so as Koumiss.

kefir contains 1-2% alcohol in final product at supermarket. You can smell alcohol in the Kefir. It is not recommended for Muslims.


 

Posted on: 10-20-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN US & CANADA

 

WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN US & CANADA

Lot of Muslims calls Frito Lay Company to find out the Halal status of Doritos and Cheetos products. The 800 personnel are trained by the company to tell consumers that their cheeses are made with microbial rennet enzyme. But many Muslims are not aware that the rennet is not only thing, which decide the Halal status of a cheese. There are other things which has to be Halal if used during manufacture of a cheese such as Mother Culture Media, Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures), other Enzymes such as Lipase and finally dairy flavors containing Enzymes, if the rennet is from microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer’s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.  There was a international uproar from Muslims around the world when Ajinomoto of Indonesia used a pork derived culture media to grow bacteria for the production of Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) in Indonesia in 2000 (Muslim Consumer Group’s News/Alert update Jan. 05, 2001).  We explained to Frito Lay Nutritionist supervisor Ms. Nina Ferguson about the requirements for Halal cheese and other ingredients. She is not aware of what are Halal and its requirements for Doritos and Cheetos products. We offered our help to educate them about Halal status of their products.


 

Posted on: 09-18-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: Vanilla

Natural Vanillin is the major component of the vanilla beans. It is present as a white crystalline material on the vanilla beans. Natural Vanillin is the main source of vanilla flavoring. Vanilla beans also contain other flavoring compounds in minor amounts which are lost during extraction.

The Halal vanilla powder can be obtained by crushing the vanilla beans without alcohol extraction. If a company claims that it has alcohol free vanilla powder then it has to be crushed vanilla beans without alcohol extraction.Sometimes the claimed is based on evaporation of alcohol.

Vanilla is subjected to alcohol/water extraction of natural vanillin from the vanilla beans for various vanilla products such as vanilla extract, pure vanilla, vanilla flavor or vanilla flavoring, pure vanilla powder, vanilla paste and vanilla bean specks or seeds. Vanilla extraction of vanilla beans with a solution of alcohol and water yields four folds strength. Then with heat and pressure, the liquid is driven out to make concentrated vanilla which is also called vanilla oleoresin. Vanilla can be sold into one to several folds; one fold being the lowest in vanilla flavor.

Vanilla, Pure Vanilla, Natural Vanilla, Vanilla Flavor, Vanilla Flavoring, Vanilla Powder, Vanilla Specks and Vanilla Extract, all these products are made after vanilla extraction with alcohol and water. They all contaminated with alcohol, even if the alcohol is evaporated in case of vanilla powder, Natural vanillin from vanilla beans is not subjected to washing with water so that alcohol is washed away. Vanilla flavor after alcohol/water extraction is subjected to spray drying to make vanilla powder.

The vanilla standards are available at the “Ingredient section” of our web site. According to FDA regulation for vanilla extract, it must contain a minimum of 35% ethyl alcohol by volume and any thing less than 35% alcohol; it should be labeled as vanilla flavor. So all the vanilla flavors conatins less than 35% alcohol.

Alcohol is used to hold the natural vanillin as a flavoring matter of vanilla beans in suspension.

Pure Vanilla powder is obtained by spray drying the vanilla extract with a carrier such as dextrose or maltodextrin where alcohol is evaporated. This pure vanilla powder is not considered Halal because it is obtained from vanilla extract containing alcohol. Our ulema said that the vanilla extract containing alcohol has to be chemically changed to a new thing, here it is not the case, only alcohol is evaporated and natural vanillin from vanilla beans is contaminated with najus alcohol.

Vanilla bean specks or seeds are obtained from previously alcohol extracted beans through drying, chopping and sifting method. Here again, previously extracted bean is contaminated with alcohol.

Pure vanilla paste is made of pure vanilla extract and vanilla bean specks or seeds in the form of syrup with a thickener.

According MCG’s ulema all of the above vanilla products except crushed vanilla bean powder without alcohol extraction are considered not Halal. Other ulema may have different views, so please contact your Islamic scholar on this issue.


 

Posted on: 01-31-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: Some important information about eating in restaurants in USA and Canada

The following important things should be considered while eating in a regular restaurant in USA and Canada. This is for those Muslims who only eat the Zabiha meat. Most of us go to seafood restaurants to eat fish because it is Halal. But we do not have information on how it is cooked or made. Here are the following things we have to keep in our mind about eating fish dish in a restaurant. Not all fish items in fast foods or restaurants are Halal. Not because of fish itself but due to the following reasons: 1. Coating and batter on the fish: Fried fish items are made with coating or batter. The coating or batter of the fish may contain whey, colors and flavors which may not be Halal. Some fish are dipped in beer batter before frying and it is known as beer battered fish. This is type of fish is Haram. The McDonald and Burger King coating is Halal in USA and Canada. 2. Frying media and fryer: Coated and battered fish items are fried in shortening at 360F. If the coating or batter for fried fish is Halal and if it is fried in vegetable shortening with or without vegetable fat based Mono & Diglycerides then the fried fish is Halal. But if same fryer and vegetable shortening was used to fry non zabiha chicken nuggets OR beer battered fish then fried fish items will not be Halal because of left over batter and fat from the chicken. Burger King's Big Fish and Long John Silver are fried their fish items in the same fryer and vegetable shortening use for frying the non-zabiha chicken nuggets in USA and Canada. This is the reason their fish items are not considered Halal. Same thing may happens in restaurants.Beside Burger King also fried pork patties in the same vegetable oil. So it is necessary to avoid eating fried fish in a restaurants because you do not know the Halal status of the coating and batter and use of vegetable shortening and where they fried. 3.Broiled or Grilled Fish: If the fish is broiled or grilled with cooking wine then it will not be Halal. If the fish is broiled or grilled with AA butter then it will be Halal. Sometimes spices are also added to it, we have to make sure that they used 100% spices not the seasoning because seasoning may contain whey, color and flavors which may not be Halal. 4. Sauce with Broiled or Grilled fish: Most of the time broiled fish or grilled fish comes to the table with different sauces on the top of the fish. Dill Sauce with broiled or grilled Salmon is an example. Dill sauce, Tartar sauce and other sauces contain dairy ingredients which may not be Halal. So you have to avoid it and use salt, pepper, lemon or A1 sauce which is a Halal sauce. 5. Broiled Vegetable: Sometimes bacon or ham is added to vegetables, so ask about them. 6. Rolls/Bread: Rolls/bread and cheese rolls are provided at tables, these rolls and bread are mostly made from frozen dough or mixes. These frozen dough or mixes are made with dough conditioners which may not be Halal. Cheese may be made with animal enzymes. 7. Garden Salad, Salad Dressing and coleslaw: Garden Salad in most of the restaurants comes with croutons, cheese, Chinese noodles, and bacon bits. They all should be avoided because croutons may be made with Romano cheese and other ingredients which may not be Halal. Cheese may not be Halal as well as Chinese noodles. Bacon bits are Haram. Salad dressing is made with cheese, emulsifiers which may not be Halal. You request a garden salad without cheese, croutons, Chinese noodles and bacon bits. Lemon juice or olive oil and distilled white vinegar can be used. Coleslaw is made with cabbage and dressing containing dairy ingredients which may not be Halal. 8. Soups: Soups are made with soup bases and concentrates. These bases and concentrates are made with dairy ingredients which may not be Halal and they also contain non zabiha chicken fat. Left over gravy from cooked meats are used to make a soup. You do not know what kind of meat gray was used. This gravy is provide extra flavor to the soup. Clam Chowder is made with dairy ingredients which may not be Halal and bacon is also added to the clam chowder. Soup has to be avoided. 8. Rice Pilaf: Rice pilaf is always made with non zabiha chicken broth, so it has to be avoided. Steam rice is Halal. 9. Vegetables: Vegetable are sometimes cooked with bacon and ham, so it is necessary to ask ahead of time. 10. Baked Potato/French Fries: The ingredients of French fries in restaurants and the way they fried are not known to public. They may be made with Haram ingredients. They may be fried in animal fat shortening. So they have to be avoided unless you are sure that they are Halal. Baked Potato is Halal but the margarine and sour cream may not be Halal. Sometimes they bring with margarine and sour cream and with bacon on the top of the potato. So either you eat with salt & pepper or with butter if it is AA. If they provide you the sour cream and butter in the small packed container with ingredients statements and kosher symbol and if the kosher certification meet the Halal requirements then you can use it. Eggs for the breakfast: Scramble eggs at restaurants are not 100% eggs but other ingredients such as emulsifires are present. Restauarnts get the eggs in batters from food service company such as Sysco Company, they also supplies egg beaters which is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. It is possible thye fried on the same hot plate as bacon. 12. Dessert: Pies, Cheesecake, Cakes may contain gelatin, liquor, dairy ingredients, flavors and other ingredients which may not be Halal and should be avoided. Ice Cream may contains emulsifiers which may not be Halal and flavor may contain alcohol. NOTE; THIS INFORMATION WAS PUBLISHED ON MARCH 13, 2002 AND WAS AVAILABLE ON OUR OLD WEBSITE FOR MANY YEARS UNTIL OCTOBER 1, 2005. IT WAS LAST DURING CHANGE OVER FROM OLD TO NEW WEBSITE. WE ARE SORRY ABOUT IT.
 

Posted on: 06-15-06 00:00 AM


TITLE: RED BULL ENERGY DRINKS ARE NOT HALAL

Although the Red Bull energy drinks are Kosher certified and Halal certified by a South African Muslim organization but the company refuses to provide information on solvent use in artificial flavors. The company did provide the ethyl alcohol content less than 0.05% rather than zero. It means the solvent used in artificial flavor is ethyl alcohol because the rest of the ingredients in the Red Bull soft drinks do not provide any source for alcohol, so where this minute alcohol comes from, it is definitely contributed by artificial flavor in the energy drinks.
 

Posted on: 07-01-05 00:00 AM