Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
facebook 
Have a Question  
Search  
                              * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information

E-Numbers List

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status E-Number Name Description Date
unknownE- 319Tert-Butylhydroquinone (TBHQ)TBHQ is not available in 100% form and it has to have a carrier for mixing purpose. If it has vegetable oil as a carrier then it is Halal. If it has animal based fat then it is not Halal may be Haram if pork fat is used. TBHQ is a chemical, in its 100% form without carrier it is Halal.08/15/13
unknownE100Curcumin/TurmericColor Halal only if they are 100% but in food industry they are not available 100% but made with fat based emulsifiers such as Polysorbate 8009/28/05
unknownE101Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)Color Halal if it is made from synthetic source otherwise need investigation for it source09/28/05
unknownE102TartazineTartazine if obtained from natural source then it is soluble in water then it is Halal. If obtained from synthetic dye then it is Halal only if it mix with vegetable oil.05/25/12
unknownE103Chrysoine ResocinolThis is coloring E-Number but Halal only if the solvents are Halal. It is obtained from a plant.09/28/05
unknownE104Quinoline YellowColor It is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used09/28/05
unknownE105Fast Yellow ABIt is a chemical dye and Halal if used as dry powder. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvent was used. It is forbidden in USA & Europe.09/28/05
halalE107Yellow 2GA color, it is a synthetic chemical dye obtained from coal tar and yellow Azo dye and it is soluble in water.01/07/13
halalE110Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow SColor It is a chemical dye and it is Halal as dry powder. Only 2% of it is not soluble in water.09/28/05
halalE1103Invertase EnzymeInvertase is obtained from yeast and also synthesized by honey bees. Invertase breaks sucrose(table sugar) into glucose and frustose the simple sugar.06/14/11
halalE1105Lysozyme Enzyme It is an enzyme found in egg white.01/07/13
haramE120Cochineal / Carminic AcidColor Obtained from insects. All insects except Locust are Haram in Islam.09/28/05
halalE1200PolydextroseA starch based thickener, stabilizer, humectant.06/14/11
halalE1201PolyvinylpyrrolidoneWater soluble polymer06/14/11
unknownE122Carmoisine / AzorubineColor It is chemical dye and Halal if use as a powder. Liquid Color is Halal only if Halal solvents are used. It is used in fermented heated food products which may not be Halal.09/28/05
unknownE123Amaranth DyeColor It is Dry form petroleum base. It is Halal if use as a powder dye. Liquid dye is Halal only if only Halal solvents are used.09/28/05
haramE124Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red AColor Cochineal Red A is a Haram Color. Ponceau 4R is a synthetic color. It is Halal if used in dry form from Halal sources but liquid form is Halal if Halal solvents are used09/28/05
unknownE127Erythrosine BSColor It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used.09/28/05
unknownE128Red 2GColors It is a chemical dye, Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used.09/28/05
halalE129Allura Red ACIt is a red azo dye used for color in foods. Since it is soluble in water, both dry or liquid forms are Halal.06/14/11
unknownE131Patent Blue VColor It is a chemical dye Halal only in its dry form. Liquid form is Halal only if Halal solvents are used.09/28/05
unknownE132Indigo Carmine / IdigotineColor It is used to be extracted from plant but now it is synthetically produced and It is Halal if synthetically produced from Halal sources. Liquid for requires solvent, liquid for is Halal only if Halal solvent are used.09/28/05
halalE133Brilliant Blue FCFColors It is a chemical dye made from aromatic hydrocarbon from petroleum source. It is soluble in water so do not need any solvent. It is a Halal dye.09/28/05
unknownE140ChlorophyllColor It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol.09/28/05
halalE1400DextrinIt is a low molecular carbohysrate obtained through starch hydroloysis or through action of Amylase enzyme(Halal). It is used as a carrier in dry flavors, use in dry beverage mixes and soups.06/14/11
halalE1401Acid Treated StarchStarch is modified with an acid.06/14/11
halalE1404Oxidized StarchStarch oxidized with chemical06/14/11
unknownE141Copper Complex of ChlorophyllColor It is a plant pigment and Halal only if extracting solvents are Halal not alcohol.09/28/05
unknownE1410Mono starch PhosphatePhosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.06/14/11
unknownE1412Distarch phosphatePhosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.06/14/11
unknownE1413Phosphated sistarch phosphatePhosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.06/14/11
halalE142Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BSColor This is a synthetic color soluble in water09/28/05
halalE1420Acetylated StarchChemically modified starch06/14/11
unknownE1422Acetylated distarch phosphatePhosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.06/14/11
unknownE1442Hydroxy propyl distarch phosphatePhosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.06/14/11
halalE1450Starch Sodium Octenyl SuccinateChemically modified starch with octenylsuccinate.06/14/11
halalE1451Acetylated Oxidized StarchChemically modified starch06/14/11
halalE150(a-d)Caramel Color/with chemicalsColor09/28/05
halalE1505Trietyhl CitrateA ester of citric acid06/14/11
halalE151Black PN / Brilliant Black BNColor This is a synthetic color soluble in water09/28/05
halalE1518Glyceryl Triacetate, TriacetinA artficial chemical compond used as a solvent in flavors and also as humectant.06/14/11
halalE1520Propylene GlycolA petroleum based Halal humectant used as a solvent in food flavors.06/14/11
halalE153Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal)Color Obtained from Coal Tar09/28/05
halalE154Brown FKColors It is synthetic Azo dye and soluble in water09/28/05
unknownE155Brown HTColors It is a synthetic coal tar diazo dye. It is Halal if used as powder. Liquid Brown HT is Halal only if the solvents are Halal.09/28/05
unknownE160aAlpha, Beta, Gamma CaroteneColor - Carotene Carotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef.09/28/05
halalE160bAnnatto, Bixin, NorbixinColor - Annatto is a Halal color and it is used with water in liquid products.09/28/05
halalE160cCapsanthin / CapsorbinColor- It has plant origin and available in oil or water soluble form.09/28/05
unknownE160dLycopeneColor - Carotene Lycopne is a bright red carotene and carotenoid obtained from tomato and other red fruit and vegetables. It is not soluble in water but dissolve in oil and organic solvents. It is Halal if dissolve in oil and mushbooh when dissolve in organic solvents.09/28/05
unknownE160eBeta-apo-8-carotenalColor - Carotene arotene color is obtained from plant source but it is not available in 100% form because it is not soluble in water. Gelatin is added to help mix in liquid products. In USA fish gelatin is used so it is Halal in USA but in UK they may not use fish gelatin but may use gelatin from pork or beef.09/28/05