Phone: 1 (847) 802-6917 BismiAllah!
facebook 
Have a Question  
Search  
                              * Be sure to select the correct option from the right
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
 Show Only Halal 
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]
Muslim Consumer Group Muslim Consumer Group: Your Source for Halal Foods Information

E-Numbers List

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status E-Number Name Description Date
halalE251Sodium NitrateChemical Preservative09/28/05
halalE252Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre)Chemical Preservative09/28/05
halalE260Acetic AcidMiscellaneous - Acids09/28/05
halalE261Potassium AcetateMiscellaneous - Acids09/28/05
halalE262Sodium AcetatesPrservative or acid regulator09/28/05
halalE263Calcium AcetateMiscellaneous - Acids09/28/05
halalE270Lactic AcidMiscellaneous - Acids09/28/05
halalE280Propionic AcidPreservative - Acids09/28/05
halalE281Sodium PropionatePreservative- Acids09/28/05
halalE282Calcium PropionatePreservative- Acids09/28/05
halalE283Potassium PropionatePreservative- Acids09/28/05
halalE284Boric acidPreservative.09/28/05
halalE285Sodium tetraborate; BoraxChemical06/14/11
halalE290Carbon DioxideMiscellaneous09/28/05
halalE296Malic AcidMiscellaneous - Acids and their Salts09/28/05
halalE297Fumaric AcidMiscellaneous - Acids and their Salts09/28/05
halalE300L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)Antioxidants- Vitamin C09/28/05
halalE301Sodium-L-AscorbateAntioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives09/28/05
halalE302Calcium-L-AscorbateAntioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives09/28/05
unknownE304Ascorbyl PalmitateAntioxidants- Vitamin C and derivatives. It is a ester formed by reacting palmitic acid(fat source)and ascorbic acid(vitamin C). It is Halal only if the palmitic acid is obtained from plant fat such as soy fat. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label indicates that palmitic acid is from vegetable fat.09/28/05
unknownE306Antioxidants- Vitamin EIf the Tocopherols(vitamin E) is from plant fat then it is Halal. It is a antioxidant. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that it is obtained from vegetable fat or oil.09/28/05
halalE307Synthetic Alpha-TocopherolAntioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic antioxidant.09/28/05
halalE308Synthetic Gamma-TocopherolAntioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic antioxidant.09/28/05
halalE309Synthetic Delta-TocopherolAntioxidants- Vitamin E It is synthetic antioxidant.09/28/05
halalE310Propyl GallateAntioxidants and synthetic preservative.09/28/05
halalE311Octyl GallateAntioxidants09/28/05
halalE312Dodecyl GallateAntioxidants09/28/05
halalE315Erythorbic acidErythorbic Acid is Isomeric molecule of Ascorbic Acid obtained from vegetable based sucrose.01/25/14
halalE316Sodium erythorbateChemical06/14/11
halalE316Sodium erythorbateChemical06/14/11
halalE316Sodium erythorbateChemical06/14/11
unknownE320Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA)Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only if vegetable oil is used as a carrier because it is not available in 100% form. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil is used as a carrier.09/28/05
unknownE321Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)Antioxidants- Preservative It is Halal only if vegetable oil is used as a carrier because it is not available in 100% form. Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only vegetable oil is used as a carrier.09/28/05
halalE322LecithinEmulsifiers and Stabilizers It now days made from soy fat or Suitable for vegetarian label indicates that only soy fat is used as a source.09/28/05
halalE325Sodium LactateMiscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid09/28/05
halalE326Potassium LactateMiscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid09/28/05
halalE327Calcium LactateMiscellaneous - Salts of Lactic Acid09/28/05
halalE330Citric AcidMiscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts09/28/05
halalE331Sodium CitratesMiscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts09/28/05
halalE332Potassium CitratesMiscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts09/28/05
halalE333Calcium CitratesMiscellaneous - Citric Acid and its Salts09/28/05
unknownE334Tartaric AcidMiscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.09/28/05
unknownE335Sodium TartratesMiscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.09/28/05
unknownE336Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar)Miscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.09/28/05
unknownE337Potassium Sodium TartratesMiscellaneous - Tartaric Acid and its Salts It is Halal only if made from unfermented grapes such as in USA and Canada. But in some countries it is made from the deposit on the wine wooden barrel then it will not be Halal.09/28/05
halalE338Orthophosphoric AcidMiscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts09/28/05
unknownE339Sodium PhosphatesMiscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.09/28/05
unknownE340Potassium PhosphatesMiscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts. Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.09/28/05
unknownE341Calcium PhosphatesMiscellaneous - Phosphoric Acid and its Salts Phosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.09/28/05
unknownE343Magnesium phosphatePhosphate in Europe is also obtained from animal bones. So please the check the source of phosphate. "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on food package indicates that it is obtained from from mineral." In USA it is obtained from minerals and it is Halal.06/14/11