USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal
 
     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

Halal-Haram-Mushbooh Ingredients

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Halal Status Ingredient Category Description
halalAcetic acidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical
halalAcetic AcidChemicalUsed as a preservative in food
halalAcetoneChemicalUsed as solvent in spice extracts
unknownAcid CaseinDairy IngredientsIt is a milk protein obatined commercially from skim milk by precipitation with lactic acid or hydrochloric or sulphuric acid.. It is Halal if it is Halal or kosher certified because addition of starter culture bacteria. It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
haramAdenosine 5' - MonophosphateGrain and Plant based ingredientsAdenosine 5' - Monophosphate is a nucleotide. Nucleotides are nucleosides in combination phosphate group are building block of RNA and DNA of cells. These are molecules. Nucleotides are commercially produced from Torula yeast cells by providing alcohol as nutrients for growing torula yeast cells in millions. Then Nucleotides are obtained RNA of torula yeast cells. Nucleotides are used in baby infant formula to provide immunity against diarrhea and other diseases in new born babies and 0-12 months old babies.
halalAgarGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a gum obtained from plant source
halalAlbuminIngredients from Egg and FishIt is made from egge white.
haramAlcohol as solvent in flavorHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationAlcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors
haramAlcohol in dry form is used as an ingredientHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationAlcohol made in dry form.
halalAlgin Grain and Plant based IngredientsIt is a gum obtained from seaweeds.
halalAll Purpose Wheat Flour, Self Raising Flour, All Wheat Flours, All Corn Flours, Soy Flour, Rice FlouGrain & Plant based ingredients
halalAllspiceGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a spice of plant origin
halalAlumMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical preservative.
halalAluminum Ammonium SulfateMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical.
halalAmmonium (Bicarbonate, Carbonate, Chloride, Sulfate)Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical
halalAmylase (alpha)Grain & Plant based IngredientsIt is an enzyme obtained from plant and bacterial sources
halalAniseGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a spice of plant origin
halalAnnattoGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a natural color extracted from plant pigment without alcohol
halalArrowrootGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a starch obtained from plant rhizomes
unknownArtificial Colors or FD&C Yellow No. 5 and othersMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsArtificial colors or FD&C colors are chemical dyes and they are Halal if use as is in powder or granular form. If theyse as liquid colors a slovent such as vegetable oil or glycerin has to be added. If glycerin is used as a solvent in liquid colors the they are Halal if plant fat glycerin is used, Haram if pork fat glycerin is used.
unknownArtificial FlavorsMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsArtificial Flavors are usually made from chemical and synthetic raw material. For Halal artificial flavor the synthetic raw material has to be Halal and solvent should not be alcohol. Not Halal artificial are made from non Halal raw material and alcohol is used as a solvent.
halalAscorbic AcidChemicalUsed as a preservative in foods
halalAscorbic acid or Vitamin CMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical
halalAspartameMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA synthetic sweetener.
halalAzodicarbonamideMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical enrichment for flours.
haramBaconHaram Ingredients from PigIt is part of pig stomach.
haramBacon bits.Haram Ingredients from PigBacon bits is obtained from pork stomach.
halalBaker's YeastGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a single celled plant which ferment sugar into carbon dioxide. It is used in bread baking.
halalBaker's Yeast ExtractGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a flavoring agent obtained as solubles of mechanically rupturing the baker yeast cells.
halalBaking PowderMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical levener.
halalBaking SodaMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical levener.
haramBalsamic VinegarGrain & plant based ingredientsTrue balsamic vinegar comes from Modena, Italy. Balsamic Vinegar is made from Trebbiano grape which is a sweet white grape which contains high sugar. Some products named balsamic vinegar are really dilutions containing ordinary red-wine vinegar. The grape cooked at about 185 F to obtain concentrated grape juice then cooled in wooden barrels, inoculated with fermentation culture which include transferring the grape juice to alcohol then to acetic acid and water then they aged for years. Other vinegars are not aged. Since it has higher sugar content the it will produce more alcohol which may not be converted to acetic acid and water. It is also possible they may use wine barrel to provide flavor. It is not made from wine but it is consider as a wine vinegar. Some company may add wine vinegar to get the right flavor. So we do not what happen during the production of Balsamic vinegar. MCG do not consider wine vinegar and Balsamic vinegar as Halal.
halalBasilGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a spice obatined from plant source.
halalBay LeavesGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a spice.
haramBeerHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationIt is a fermented alcoholic drink.
haramBeer BattersHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationThese are coating on meat and fish products containing beer as an ingredient.
haramBeer FlavorHaram Ingredients from Alcoholic FermentationActual beer is added as an ingredient.
halalBeeswaxGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is pure wax obtained from the honeycomb of the bee.
halalBenzaldehydeMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical flavorant.
halalBenzoic acidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical preservatives.
halalBenzoic AcidChemicalUsed as a preservative in foods
unknownBeta-CaroteneGrain & Plant based IngredientsBeta Caroten is natural color obtained from plant but it is not sold as is but with carrier must be added for mixing purpose for dy products or liquid products. If vegetable oil I or fish gelatin is added as carrier the it is considred as Halal beta carotene. A Halal or Kosher symbol on food product conatining beta carotene indicate eithjer vegetable oil or fish gelatin is added as a carrier. OR Pork gelatin may be used as a carrier for proper dispersion of Beta-Carotene.
unknownBHA or BHTMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients A chemical preservative but always avaialble with fat based carrier. Halal if vegetable oil is used as a carrier. Not Halal if animal fat is used as a carrier. A Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package containing BHA or BHT indicate only vegetableoil is used as a carrier.
halalBranGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is out part of a cereal seeds
haramBrewer's Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast from beer makingIngredients from plantBrewer yeast is a single celled bacteria. In food products especially for meaty flavors or strong flavors, only brewer&&&&s yeast extract from beer making is used. According to ulema it is Haram ingredients because alcohol, beer flavor compounds are leached inside the yeast cell and is not subjected to any change.
haramBrewer's YeastGrain & Plant based IngredientsMost Brewer's Yeast is obtained from by-product of beer making. During beer making alcohol of beer penetrate inside the yeat. It is also obtained after growning on alcohol.
halalBulgur wheatGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a type of wheat
unknownButter fat LipolyzedDairy IngredientsIt is Halal if it is Halal or Kosher certified because of source of enzyme. It is not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
unknownButtermilk SolidsDairy IngredientsButtermilk solds are obtained from buttermilk. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
halalCaffeineGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is odorless powder occur in tea leaves and coffee beans.
halalCalcium (Carbonate, Chloride, Citrate, Sorbate, Sulfate)Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical
halalCalcium PropionateChemicalUsed as a preservative
unknownCalcium StearateIngredients made from plant or animal fatCalcium Stearate is the calcium salt of stearic acid. It is Halal only if stearic acid is obtained from vegetable fat or if it is Halal or Kosher certified
unknownCalcium Stearoyl LactylateIngredients made from plant or animal fatIt is obtained from fat. It is Halal only if it is made from vegetable fat or Halal or Kosher certified.
halalCanola OilGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is fully refined, bleached, and deodorized oil obtained from certain varieties of rapseeds.
halalCaramelGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a colorant obtained from the controll heat treatment of plant crabohydrates such as dextrose.
halalCarawayGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt a plant spice.
halalCarboxymethylcellulose (CMC)Grain & Plant based IngredientsA cellulose gum.
halalCardamomGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalCarnauba WaxGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is plant wax obtained from leaf buds and leaves of Brazilian wax palm.
halalCarobGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a cocoa substitute obatined from pods of carob tree.
halalCarob GumGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a gum obtained from the pods of carob tree.
unknownCarrageenanGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a seaweed gum. Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl Alcohol or Potassium Chloride or nothing is used during it processing.
halalCarrot Oil or Carrot OleoresinGrain and plant based ingredientsHexane(a Halal chemical solvent) is used to extract oil from carrot then by vacuum the hexane was removed according Code Of Federal Regulation Title 21 Part 73 Sec 73.300.
unknownCaseinatesDairy IngredientsCaesinates are milk protein obtained from curding the milk. It is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
unknownCetyl Alcohol, Butyl AlcoholAnimal or Vegetable Fat basedCetyl alcohol, Butyl alcohol are not ethyl alcohol but fat waxes. They are Halal if they obtained from vegetable fat. They are Haram if they obtained from pork fat.
unknownCheese & Dairy CultureGrain & Plant based IngredientsThese are starter culture bacteria added to milk to provide flavor and texture to cheese and other dairy products
unknownCheese PowderDairy Ingredients :Cheese powder is made by drying the cheese. t is Halal if Halal or Kosher certified. Not Halal if it is not Halal or Kosher certified.
halalChicory RootGrain and Plant based ingredientsThe root of Chicory plant baked and ground
halalChivesGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalChlorineMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical gas.
halalChocolateGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is obtained from coacoa nibs of cocoa beans.
halalChocolate LiquorGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is fluide(liquor) obtained by grinding of cocoa nibs from the cocoa beans. No alcohol or liquor is added, it is just the name.
halalCinnamonGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalCitric AcidMineral, Chemical, Synthetic based IngredientsA chemical
halalCitrus OilGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is oil obtained from rinds of citrus fruits.
halalCloveGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is plant based spice.
haramCochineal/Carmine colorIngredients from insectsIt is a red color obtained from insects. All insects except locust are Haram in Hanafi Mazhab.
halalCocoa ButterGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is fat obtained from nibs of cocoa beans.
halalCocoa PowderGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is powder obtained by grinding coacoa presscakes which is obtained from nibs of cocoa beans.
halalCoconutGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a nut obtained from coconut palm.
haramConfectionary GlazeInsect secretionConfectionary Glaze is made by dissolving Shellac in ethyl alcohol then evaporating alcohol. Then It is applied to the surface of the food product. Shellac without alcohol is Halal. It is a insect secrtion.
halalCorianderGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
halalCornGrain & Plant based Ingredients
halalCorn BranGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a out part of corn seeds.
halalCorn FlourGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a flour obtained by grinding corn.
halalCorn GlutenGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a corn protein.
halalCorn MealGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a ground corn.
halalCorn OilGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a oil obtained from corn seeds
halalCorn StarchGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a starch obtained from endosperm of corn seeds.
halalCorn SyrupGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is sweetener obtained from corn.
halalCorn Syrup SolidsGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a dry form of corn syrup.
halalCranberryGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a fruit.
halalCreamDairy Ingredients :Cream is a milk fat obtained by seperating it from milk.
halalCream of TarterGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a acid potassium salt of tartaric acid occuring as a powder or crystal. In USA & Canada it is made from crushed grapes but in other countries it is made from wine deposits on the wine barrel.
halalCultured Corn Syrup SolidGrain and plant based ingredientCultured Corn Syrup solid is made by adding bacteria to corn syrup solid for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured corn syrup solid is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured Corn Syrup Solid is a Halal flour.
unknownCultured Cream LipolyzedDairy IngredientsThe enzyme use has to be Halal.
unknownCultured MilkDairy IngredientsThe cultures added to milk has to be from milk sources not from meat. The media use to grow these cultures has to be Halal.
halalCultured Wheat FlourGrain and plant based ingredientsCultured wheat Flour is made by adding bacteria to wheat flour for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured wheat flour is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products. Cultured wheat flour is a Halal flour.
halalCuminGrain & Plant based IngredientsIt is a plant based spice.
lashes($r['category']).''; echo ''.stripslashes($r['descrip']).''; echo ''; } echo ''; ?>