USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal

Have a Question? Please visit our new and improved Ask Questions Section.

     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

MCG's Halal Standard:
Criteria for assigning Halal Status to a food product or
ingredient:

Food product or ingredient must have a conservative Halal or
Kosher symbol on the package which must meet MCG's Halal
criteria.

MCG Halal criteria:

The Halal food product or ingredient should not be made
of the following ingredients:

(1) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers,

(2) Wine, (3) Liquor, (4) Beer batter, (5) Rum flavor,

(6) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol or Alcohol as a main ingredient,

(7) Cochineal or Carmine, (8) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce
(containing Wheat & Soy as ingredients),

(9) Brewer’s Yeast or
Brewer Yeast Extract obtained from byproduct of beer making,

(10) Nucleotides ( Torula yeast is the source of Nucleotides
but it is grown on Alcohol)),

(11) Pectin ( A Mashbooh ingredient, Alcohol may be used
during processing for crystization so it needs investigation),

(12) Vanilla Extract (containing 35% alcohol minimum),

(13) Wine Vinegar, (14) Balsamic Vinegar,

(15) Natural or Artificial Flavor (If ethyl alcohol is used as a
hidden or processing aid ingredient or as a solvent
then it is not Halal),

(16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous
Glaze (Alcohol is used in both),

(17) Torula Yeast grown on
alcohol,

(18) Carrageenan ( A Mashbooh ingredient, if
ethyl alcohol or Ethanol or Alcohol is used during its
processing then it is not Halal),

(19) Natural Vanilla or
Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its
extraction),

(20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin
powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract,

(21) Gelatin

(22) Kosher Gelatin, (23) Torula Yeast grown on Alcohol.

All Halal ingredients assigned by MCG are listed under Ingredients section of our website.

 Consultation with Islamic Scholars:

We are grateful to following Ulema or Islamic Scholars who help us in deciding the Halal status of certain food ingredients and food products based on their knowledge of Islamic dietary requirements.

Our main religious advisors:

Halal

The Halal status is given to a food product on the following basis:

1.    The food product is made from only pure Halal ingredients with Halal processing aid or hidden ingredients and no natural or artificial flavors (except those in which alcohol was not used as solvent)).

2.    The Halal food product is NOT Made with pork, pork-by-products, bacon, ham, lard, pig enzymes, any other meat-by-products, any other ingredients  such as:

o    Gelatin from pork and non zabiha cow

o    Kosher Gelatin except fish gelatin

o    L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers

o    Wine

o    Liquor

o    Beer batter

o    Rum flavor

o    Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list

o    Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects

o    Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce ( A alcoholic fermented product containing 1-2% alcohol)

o   Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewerï yeast, a byproduct of beer making

o    Torula Yeast grown on alcohol

o    Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea

o    Vanilla Extract which must contain minimum of 35% Alcohol by US FDA regulation

o    Wine Vinegar because there will leftover wine which is not converted to vinegar

o    If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavors.

  1. Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made with Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated
  2. Carrageenan, if ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used during processing for crystallization
  3. Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction).  

6.    Genuine or orthodox Halal or  Kosher certification was also used  for assigning the Halal status for a food product, which meets the MCG Halal requirements. Because no Halal certified food products are available throughout USA except few such MCG Halal certified Seneca Foods Apple Chips and few from other organizations. The use of orthodox genuine Kosher certified food products as Halal is for temporary period only until the Halal symbol carrying food products are available in supermarkets throughout USA. Not all Kosher certified food products are Halal. The only one is Halal, which meets the MCG Halal requirements. It is based on Quran and ahadiths which allows good & pure Tayab foods of Ahlekitab and they are  good for Muslims.

7.   Only hand slaughter Zabiha meat from Halal animals by a Muslim is used as a criteria for MCG definition of Zabiha meat. Machine slaughtering for zabiha meat is not acceptable according to our ulema.

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVORS:

The criteria for food products under this category is the same as the Halal category except the food products here are made natural or artificial flavors. The natural and artificial flavors used in these food products may or may not contain alcohol as a solvent but these flavors are not made with animal derived ingredients and they are genuine kosher certified. It is beyond our scope to find each food product in this category, which may or may not be made with alcohol containing flavors. We request our brothers and sisters to call food manufacturers to find out about alcohol in flavors. Ask them whether alcohol was used as a solvent in flavors. The alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavor.

Please use this statement for question of alcohol in flavors:

" is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor;
ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing
aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the
ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence
of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your
QA or Technical service department because they have access
to the specification of flavors. In the specification of
flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of
solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor.
So please request your QA or Technical service department to
find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in
the flavor as a solvent".

Not Halal

The following food products are included in this category:

·         The Haram food products that are made with pork-by-product ingredients and wine.

·         The food products that are made with kosher gelatin and bear the kosher symbol K but did not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

·         The Haram food products that are made with pork gelatin and bear the kosher symbol K.

·         The products made with ingredients derived from non-zabiha meat by- products.

·         The products made from fat based ingredients without Halal or kosher certification and with no guarantee they meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

·         The products that are made from natural and artificial flavors which are not Halal or Kosher certified with or without alcohol as a solvent.

·           The products that are made with alcoholic fermentation and may contain 2-3 % alcohol such as naturally brewed soy sauce.

·         The products that are made with human hair L- Cysteine with or without kosher certification.

·         The products that are made with questionable ingredients and whose source are not verified as Halal.

·         The products, which are kosher certified and bear kosher symbol but do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

·         All machine slaughtered animals are considered as NOT HALAL by MCG , MCG's Ulema and 40 Islamic scholars from England.

                                               


Halal Selection

Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

Product Name Questionable Ingredients Halal Criteria Haram Criteria
ButtermilkAlcohol is used in flavorHalal or Kosher symbol on the package, no flavor or no alcohol is used in flavor.No Kosher symbol, alcohol is used in flavor.
Unsalted ButterStarter Distillate is used as natural Flavoring or natural flavor.Halal or Kosher symbol on the package and lactic acid is used as a natural flavor or natural flavoring.Starter Distillate used as natural flavor ing.
Barbacue SauceWine or liquor is used as an ingredient, alcohol is used in natural flavor.Halal or Kosher symbol on the package, no wine or liquor used as an ingredient, Oleoresin of Black Pepper is used as natural flavor or natural flavoring.Wine or liquor is used as an ingredient, alcohol is used as solvent in natural flavor other than oleoresin black pepper.
Baking ChocolateAlcohol is used in flavor as a solvent.Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. No flavor or no alcohol in flavor as a solvent.Alcohol is used as a solvent in flavor. No natural flavor.
BagelL-Cysteine from human hair or chicken or duck feathers, Mono & diglycerides, natural or artificial flavor with alcohol as a solventHalal or Kosher symbol, no flavor or no alcohol is used as a solvent in flavors. L-Cysteine from fermentation source or synthetic.L-Cysteine from human hair or chicken feathers, pork fat based mono &diglycerides, alcohol is used as a solvent in flavor.
Apple JuicePork or beef gelatin used as hidden or processing aid ingredient to clarify apple juice from fine apple pulp particles.Kosher symbol on the package.Presence of hidden pork gelatin. No natural flavor.
Spaghetti SauceMay contain animal enzyme based Romano cheese and other cheese, Flavors, alcohol in flavor as a solvent and Wine.Presence of Halal or kosher symbols U or K or in the absence of kosher symbol made with all Halal ingredientsPresence of animal enzyme based cheese, non Halal or kosher ingredients, wine, alcohol in flavor as a solvent
Snacks such as Potato chips, Mayonnaise, Salad dressing, Cake Mixes, Seasoning & CoatingsMono and Diglycerides, Polysorbate 60 or 80, Dairy products such as whey, lactose , Caseinates, Cheese solids, Lard (in Cake Mixes only), WineVinegar, Wine in Dijon Mustard, colors, Flavors from non Halal source and alcohol in flavor as a solventPresence of Halal or kosher symbols such as UD or KD. No flavor or no alcohol in flavor.Use of animal based or non Halal or kosher ingredients or flavors with alochol as a solvent, alcoholic fermentation by-products such as beer batter
Peanut ButterPresence of non Halal Mono and Diglycerides.Presence of Halal or kosher symbols U or KPresence of Mono and Dglycerides from animal source or non Halal or Kosher
Margarine, Macaroni and Cheese DinnerDairy products from animal based enzymes such as Whey, whey protein concentrate, Sodium Caseinate, Lactose, cheese solids, Mono and Diglycerides, Flavors, colors from non Halal source, alcohol in flavors as a solvent.Presence of Halal or kosher symbols such as UD or KD. No flavor or no alcohol is used in flavor.Use of animal based or non Halal or kosher ingredients, flavor with alcohol as a solvent
Ice CreamMono and diglycerides, Polysorbate 60 or 80, Sorbitan Monstearate, Gelatin, Dairy ingredients, Liquor, Rum flavor, Flavors with alcohol as a solvent, colors from non Halal source and vanilla extract with alcohol. If Alcohol is used during processing of Carrageenan.Presence of Halal or kosher symbols such as UD or KD. No flavor at all.Use of animal based or non Halal or kosher ingredients or flavors with alcohol as a solvent or alcoholic fermentation by-products or vanilla extract with alcohol
Fruit Juices and Fruit drinksBeta carontene with gelatin, vitamins, flavors with alcohol as a solvent, flavors, colors & emulsifiers from non-Halal source.Presence of Halal or kosher symbols such as U or K. 100% Juices with natural flavor.Use of animal based or non Halal or kosher based ingredients or flavor with alcohol as a solvent or alcoholic fermentation by-products
Fish Sticks and related productsDairy ingredients such as Lactose and whey, Mono and diglycerides, Flavors from non-Halal source and flavor with alcohol as a solvent.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol such as UD or KDUse of animal based or non Halal or kosher ingredients, flavor with alcohol as solvent
Evaporated Milk/ Non dairy creamerVitamins, flavors, emulsifiers, stabilizers, flavors with alcohol as a solvent for evaporated milk and Sodium Caseinate, Lactose and whey solids, Mono and Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Carrageenan where alcohol is used during processing, Artificial Flavors & colors for Non Dairy Creamers from non Halal source.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol such as UD or KUse of animal based or non Halal or kosher ingredients, flavor with alcohol as a solvent
Dairy productsEnzymes such as rennet, lipase, animal enzyme in dairy flavors, mother starter culture media, bulk starter culture media, dairy flavors, animal enzyme derived dairy ingredients such as Caseinates, Lactose, whey, whey protein concentrate, gelatin from pork, kosher gelatin from pork or non zabiha beef, gelatin from koshered animals, flavors and flavors with alcohol as solvent and Vitamins from non Halal source. If alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan.Presence of Halal or orthodox kosher symbol such as U, Kuf K. No Carrageenan.Use of animal based / non Halal or kosher ingredients or flavor with alcohol as a solvent. K or Ko symbols with kosher gelatin in dairy products does not meet Halal requirements.
Cookies, Crackers, Cakes and other Bakery ProductsMono and Diglycerides, Polysorbate 60 or 80, Sorbitan Monostearate, Beta Carotene with gelatin, Glycerin, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Enzyme modified Lecithin, Gelatin, Tocopherol, Whey, Lactose, Caseinates, Cheese, Enzyme modified milk, Flavors, Rum flavor in cakes and BHT(with non Halal carrier) from non Halal sources.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol U or KUse of non Halal or kosher or animal based ingredients, flavor with alcohol as a solvent
Hot and Cold CerealMarshmallow, Glycerin, Gelatin, Flavors, Flavors with alcohol as a solvent, Whey, Lactose, Caseinate and other dairy products, Vitamins and BHT(with non Halal carrier) from non Halal source.If alcohol is used during processing of Carrageenan.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol U or K. No Carrageenan, no flavor or no alcohol is used in flavor, no Carrageenan.Use of non Halal or kosher or animal based ingredients, flavor with alcohol as a solvent
Candies, Chewing Gums, Chocolate and Granola BarsMono and Diglycerides, Polysorbate 80, Sorbitan Monostearate, Beta Carotene with gelatin (may be from pork), Glycerin, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Enzyme modified Lecithin, Gelatin (may be from pork), Tocopherol, Whey, Lactose, Caseinates, Gum base, Softener, Stearate, Flavors, flavors with alcohol as a solvent and BHT (with non Halal carrier) from non Halal source.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol U or K, no flavor or no alcohol is used in flavor.Use of non Halal or kosher or animal based
Breads, Buns and Hard Rolls(a) Dough conditioners such as Mono and Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Ethoxylated Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrated Monoglycerides, DATEM, Poly- sorbate 60 which may be from animal source including pork. (b) L-Cysteine from human hair. (c) Dairy ingredients such as unsalted butter, buttermilk solids, Sodium Caseinate and whey which may not be Halal or kosher. (d) Additive such as flavors, sour dough, kosher flavor with alcohol as a solvent, enzymes grown on non Halal medium, BHT (with non Halal carrier) and color which may not be Halal or kosher. Vitamin D.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol U or K or in the absence of kosher symbol, made with All Halal ingredients. No flavor or no alcohol is used in flavor. Vitamin D from Halal source.(1)Use of non Halal or kosher ingredients or (2) Made with animal based dough conditioners (3) L-Cysteine from human hair (4) flavor with alcohol as a solvent
Apple SauceFood flavor which may not be Halal, or kosher or kosher flavor with alcohol as a solvent.Presence of Halal or kosher symbol U or K or made with Halal ingredients. No flavor or no alcohol is used in flavor.Presence of non Halal or kosher flavor or flavor with alcohol as a solvent b