USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal
 
     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

Ingredient Types

Halal

The word Halal is a Arabic word. It means lawful or legal. The source of Halal ingredients are vegetable, plant, fish, Halal animal's meat when animal was slaughtered according to Sharia rules and chemical origin without alcohol.

  1. The word " Vegetable" is mentioned before or in parenthesis for fat based ingredients statement of a food product; for example vegetable Mono and Diglyceride.
  2. If a Halal symbol such as "H" in triangle or kosher symbol such as U, UD, V, CRC, KMH, COR, K or KD appear on the package (without wine, alcohol, all types of gelatin, L-Cysteine from human hair), it means that the fat based ingredient is obtained from vegetable fat.
  3. Inquiry with the food manufacturer is another way of identifying them. The purpose is to verify that the ingredients are Halal or kosher certified and also to inquire about any haram processing aid ingredients which are not mentioned in the ingredients list. Sometimes manufacturer uses Halal or kosher certified ingredients without finished product being Halal or kosher certified, breads and buns are the best example. Some manufacturer have Halal or kosher certified products but prefer not to have Halal or kosher symbol on their products.

Haram

Haram is opposite of Halal, means unlawful, again it is an Arabic word. Muslims are prohibited to consume Haram food products made from Haram ingredients. They also based according to Quranic teachings and Sunnah as mentioned in sharia.

Mushbooh

Mushbooh is an Arabic word for doubtful things. Muslims are required to stay away from doubtful things. Food products and food ingredients whose sources are not known whether they are made from Halal or Haram source fall under this category.

Identification

How can the ingredients be identified as Halal in a food product?

There are three ways of identifying Halal ingredients: