USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS

Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal
 
     
 News
 Alerts
 Ingredient
 E-Number
 Food Chain
 Non Food Products
 Food Product by Product Name
 Food Product by Category
 Food Product by Brand Name
Click here to search any food product under food category [A - Z] or [Apple Juice - Yogurt]

News:

The information in News section could be either for Food or Non Food items and other news items which are important for Muslim consumers.

TITLE: Halal Tums Products

The following Tums products are Halal. They are kosher certified and has no alcohol in flavor (Reference number 03353271 dated December 17, 2014):

1. Extra Assorted Fruits

2. Extra Berries

3. Extra Tropical Fruits

4. Extra Wintergreen

5. Extra Cherries

6. Extra Sugar Free Orange

7. Regular Assortment Fruits

8. Regular Peppermint

9. Ultra Assorted Fruits

10.Ultra Assorted Berries

11.Ulta Tropical Fruits

12. Ultra Peppermint

Posted on: 12-17-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Requirements of Halal cosmetic products

The following are requirements for Halal cosmetic products::

1. No animal derived ingredients are used.

2. No alcohol is used as hidden solvent or carrier in fragrance or perfume.

3. No Carmine red color is used.

4. No marine derived ingredients are used except fish for Hanafi Muslims.

5. The manufacturer of cosmetic is one who knows the source of ingredients in cosmetic products.

6. No alcohol is used as a extracting solvent in any extract.

Posted on: 12-08-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken it out completely is Halal

What is Isopropyl Alcohol

Isopropyl alcohol (isopropanol, 2-propanol, propan-2-ol) is commonly used as a disinfectant, antifreeze, and solvent, and typically comprises 70 percent of "rubbing alcohol." People ingest isopropyl alcohol to become intoxicated (ie, ethanol substitute) or to harm themselves. When ingested, isopropyl alcohol functions primarily as a central nervous system (CNS) inebriant and depressant, and its toxicity and treatment resemble that of ethanol.

Isopropyl Alcohol Manufacturing

Isopropyl alcohol is made from fossil fuels that are processed through a hydration process where the propene derived from the fossil fuel is combined with water causing a chemical reaction. Distillation then occurs to process out any byproducts to form pure isopropyl alcohol. This can then be mixed back with a percent of distilled water or sold in pure form. It can also be used as ingredient in healthcare or cleaning products at this point.

What is the Difference Between Ethyl Alcohol and Isopropyl Alcohol

Although both are forms of alcohol, ethyl alcohol and Isopropyl alcohol have more differences than similarities. The differences begin at the sources they are made from. Ethel alcohol is most commonly derived from corn and isopropyl alcohol is derived from propene which can come from fossil fuels such as coal, petroleum or natural gas. Ethyl alcohol is subject to an excise tax by the federal government according to its percent proof. Isopropyl alcohol is only subject to sales tax.

MCG 's ulema Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan consider Isopropyl alcohol as intoxicant and Haram if use in food product or any non food product.

( http://www.ehow.com/info_8032957_difference-ethyl-alcohol-isopropyl-alcohol.html)

Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal

Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal.

Following are the responses from different food companies about use of use of Isopropyl alcohol:

Ceamsa:

I am pleased to tell you that we do not use ethanol, but only  isopropanol in the process of our refined carrageenan and pectin products. This is a processing aid, that is completely removed at the end

of the process and therefore their will be NO traces in the final product.

Best regards

 

Karen Laustsen

Director R&D and Technical Customer Service

 Phone: +34986344089

Fax: +34986336621

Email: klaustsen@ceamsa.com

www.ceamsa.com

Hydrocolloids:

Hi

Isopropyl alcohol is used for pectin. The carrageenan is produced using isopropyl as well as KCL depending on the type of carrageenan or neither.

 

Thanks,

 

John

Andros Foods USA, Inc.

Dear Mr. Ahmed,

Sorry for the delay in my response but I was waiting to received confirmation from our headquarters in France.  This is what I received:

We confirm that no alcohol is used in the manufacturing of the Pectin used in Bonne Maman.  

I hope you can feel confident in purchasing and enjoying Bonne Maman.

 

Sharon

Andros Foods USA, Inc.

www.bonnemaman.us

Prinova USA

 

Hello,

 

Thank you for your question, the Pectin we distribute uses Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing. If you have any other questions please let me know.

 

Thank you,

 

Zach Savino, Marketing Assistant

Prinova USA
315 E. Fullerton Avenue, Carol Stream, IL 60188

 

HERBSTREITH & FOX, INC.

Dear Mr. Ahmed

 In the production of our pectin products we use iso-propnaol. Please find attached our Halal Certificate for our products.

 Best regards,

 HERBSTREITH & FOX, INC.
Frank Mattes
President 
f.mattes@herbstreith-fox.de

CP Kelco:

The technical person of CP Kelco Company has informed on the phone they use Isopropyl Alcohol to crystallized during the processing of Xanthan Gum and Isopropyl is completely taken out.

 

PS: Please allow time for MCG to make changes on our website.

 

 

Posted on: 12-07-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tabasco Sauces are Halal

MCG investigated the Tabasco brand sauce processing method with  Mc Ilhenny company. The company told MCG that there is no cross contamination of their sauces with oak barrel previously used for whisky production and there is no alcohol production during three years of aging of Tabasco brand Sauces.

The aging of Tabasco barnd Sauce is similar to production of pickles, Achar (Indian or Pakistani pickles)  and Sauerkraut where there is no alcohol produced.

Here is how Mc Ilhenny company treat the oak barrel used for aging of their sauces from Wikipedia:

Peppers are ground into a mash on the day of harvest and placed along with salt in white oak barrels (aging barrels) previously used for Jack Daniel's Tennessee Whisky.

To prepare the barrel, the inside of the barrel is de-charred (top layer of wood is removed), torched and cleaned, to minimize the presence of any residual whiskey. The barrels are then used in warehouses on Avery Island for aging the mash.

After aging for up to three years, the mash is strained to remove skins and seeds. The resulting liquid is mixed with vinegar, stirred occasionally for a month, and then bottled as finished sauce.

Tabasco brand Sauces are Halal certified by Malaysia Government's JAKIM a Halal certifying organization after thorough inspection of their plants and process according to the Company.

MCG consider Tabasco Sauces are Halal

Posted on: 12-04-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Softsoap Liquid Hand Soap and Body Wash

The following Halal Liquid Hand Soap and Body wash are made without animal derived ingredients and no alcohol in fragrance according Colgate Palmolive with reference number 047077408 dated December 1, 2014:

Liquid Hand Soap
Aquarium Series®
Crisp Cucumber & Melon
Coconut & Warm Ginger
SpongeBob SquarePants™
Dora the Explorer™
Seasonal Collection

Body Wash
Cherry Blossom & Wild Bamboo
Black Orchid & Velvet Hibiscus
Strawberry Smoother
Coconut Scrub

Posted on: 12-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal cheeses in Dallas, TX

Milk & Honey Kosher Foods at 420 N. Coit Road, Ste 2023 Richardson, TX 75080 phone number (972) 404-0704 carry Kosher cheeses which meet the Halal requirements.

 

Posted on: 10-23-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All products at Subway are updated

All products available at Subway are updated. Please see Subway under Chain Restaurants under Food Products section.

Posted on: 10-17-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Colgate Toothpastes in India are Halal.

Brother Muteeb from India has provided this information:

October 3, 2014 Ref: 045339650A Dear Mr. Muteeb, Thank you for contacting Colgate-Palmolive (India) Limited. We welcome this opportunity to clarify your concerns. To respond to your query, all Colgate toothpastes in India are 100% vegetarian and are free from alcohol. Colgate toothpastes have always been 100% vegetarian. Although not mandatory since 2002, Colgate has taken the proactive step of labelling its toothpastes to reflect their 100% vegetarian status with 'Always 100% vegetarian' on the carton/packaging. This initiative serves as a seal of assurance to consumers that Colgate toothpastes have always been vegetarian. Also we take this opportunity to assure you that Colgate toothbrush bristles do not contain hairs of swine or pig. Colgate toothbrush bristles are made from superior grade nylon bristles. We do hope this puts to rest any concerns that you may have with regard to the use of our products. We greatly value your patronage of Colgate-Palmolive products. Regards, Manish Pillay Consumer Affairs COLGATE PALMOLIVE (INDIA) LIMITED I have posted this just to help you. You all help us a lot regarding Halal or Haraam. Just a small help from me

Posted on: 10-04-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Equate (Wal-Mart brand) Gas Relief Cherry Creme is Halal with lot number 29156 only

Wal-Mart has informed MCG that Equate Gas Relief Cherry Creme with lot number 29156 is not made with animal derived ingredients and there is no alcohol in flavor. The bottle also has a Star K kosher symbol on the bottle. The lot number 29156 is supplied only one company. If you find different lot number then you have to contact Wal-Mart. Wal-Mart never buy products from one company, there are several other manufacturer who manufactured same product.

Reference number 460469.

Posted on: 09-03-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Zyrtec Tablets for allergy are not made with animal derived ingredients

McNEIL-PPC, Inc has informed MCG through reference number 016463283 dated July 30, 2014 that no animal derived ingredients are used in Zyrtec Allergy Tables for adult and children.

Posted on: 07-30-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG has Halal certified a nutritional dietary supplement Oxipro manufactured by Cyto Power

Muslim Consumer Group has recently Halal certified a nutritional dietary supplement Oxipro manufactured by Cyto Power Inc. of Pearland, Texas. This nutritional supplement is made with all Halal ingredients. No alcohol was used as an ingredient or used during processing at their Pearland, Texas plant.

This nutritional dietary supplement Oxipro can be  consumed by Muslim consumers throughout USA, Canada and in any part of the  world when bearing Muslim Consumer Group's Halal "H" symbol on the packages.

Posted on: 07-29-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Parle Biscuits in India are Halal because no alcohol is used in the flavors

MCG has received following e-mail from Parle Biscuits in India that they do not use alcohol in flavor. It means all Parle biscuits are Halal.

Date July 28, 2014

Cs@parle.biz (cs@parle.biz)

To: halalfoods@hotmail.com

Dear Mr. Rasheed,

 

We are not using Ethyl Alcohol/Ethanol as a solvent in any of our flavour including artificial butter flavour.

 

Thank you…

Posted on: 07-29-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: French Cruller is the only donut product Halal at Dunkin Donut

According Dunkin Donut website French Cruller is the only product Halal at Dunkin Donut. There is no Carrageenan, no Turmeric & Annatto Extract, no natural or artificial flavor. This French Cruller is made with Halal Vanillin a artificial vanilla flavor.

Posted on: 07-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: What are the Halal requirements of different Food Products

What are the requirements of a Halal................

 1. Apple Juice:

a. A kosher symbol on the bottle must be on the bottle otherwise pork gelatin can be used as processing aid ingredient during apple juice processing.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor.

2. Apple Sauce:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor.

3. Bagels:

a. A kosher symbol required.

b. Flavor should not be under ingredients list because alcohol may be used as solvent in natural flavor. c. No L-Cysteine a mushbooh ingredient should be part of ingredients statement.

4. Bread:

a. A kosher is desired but not necessary.

b. The dough conditioners such as Mono & Diglycerides, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Ethoxylated Mono and Diglycerides, Hydrated Monoglycerides, DATEM should be from vegetable fat, confirmed by calling the bakery.

c. Dairy ingredients such as unsalted butter, buttermilk solids, Sodium Caseinate and whey should not be part of ingredients list if there is no kosher symbol on the package. Dry milk solids and Non Fat dry milk solid be OK with kosher symbol or call bakery to find every above ingredients are kosher certified or not. If they say yes then except unsalted butter every above ingredients will be Halal.

d. There should be no natural flavor or artificial flavor under the ingredients list with or without kosher symbol.

e. Bakeries are now adding vitamins or enrichment to the bread. If there is no kosher or vitamins are not  kosher certified then bread will not be Halal.

f. REB A the natural Stevia leaf non calorie sweetener is a not Halal ingredient and should not be part of the ingredients statement of the bread.

g. Turmeric Color should not be part of ingredients if there is no kosher symbol on the bread because polysorbate 80 an emulsifier is used as a hidden ingredient.

h. Dry yeast if from brewer yeast makes a bread not Halal.

5. Cereal:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor should be part of the ingredients list.

c. Presence of Vanilla Extract or gelatin or natural vanilla or vanilla flavor or confectionary glaze makes a cereal not Halal.

6. Cheese:

a. Cheese is only Halal if it carries a kosher symbol or a Halal symbol if Halal certifying organization's Halal criteria meets MCG's Halal criteria.

b. Cheese should not be made with natural or artificial flavor. c. Carrageenan a mushbooh ingredient should be not part of the ingredients list.

7. Chocolate:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or confectionary glaze or natural vanilla flavor or vanilla extract or Resinous Glaze should be part of the ingredients list.

8. Cookies and Crackers:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or confectionary glaze or natural vanilla flavor or vanilla extract or gelatin should be part of the ingredients list.

9. Evaporated Milk:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b.Carrgeenan should not be used because ethyl alcohol may be use in the processing of Carrageenan.

10. Fruit Juices:

a. A kosher is desired but not necessary if the fruit juice is 100% fruit juice except apple juice.

b. No natural or artificial flavor or vanilla extract or Stevia is a part of ingredients list.

11. Granola Bars:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor or vanilla extract or soy protein isolate or carrageenan or vanilla flavor or vanilla used under ingredients statement.

12. Infant Formula:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor, no nucleotide, no Adenosine 5' - Monophosphate, Cytidene 5' - Monophosphate, Disodium Guanosine 5' - Monophosphate, Disodium Uridine 5' - Monophosphate, Inosito5' - Monophosphate should be part of ingredients list.

13. Macaroni & Cheese dinner:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No alcohol is used in natural or artificial flavor in cheese mix.

14. Margarine or Spread:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No alcohol is used in flavor.

15. Mayonnaise:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. Natural or artificial flavor should be free of alcohol. No wine, no L-Cysteine should be used.

16. Multivitamins and fish oil:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. The ingredients should contain natural or artificial flavor or no extracts should be used because alcohol may be used as a extracting solvent.

c. No gelatin in the capsule, veggie capsules are Halal. No soft gel containing gelatin, no pharmaceutical glaze and no aqueous coating should be part of ingredients list.

17. Potato Chips:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor or no alcohol in flavor, no yeast extract or no torula yeast should not be used.

18. Sour Cream:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor no carrageenan no gelatin should be used.

19. Yogurt:

a. A kosher symbol is required on the package.

b. No flavor, no vanilla flavor, no kosher gelatin should be part of ingredients.

Posted on: 06-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Fruit Punch, Lemonade, Limeade and Drinks from Sunny D For Ramadan

The following Drinks, Lemonade, Limeade and Fruit Punch from Sunny Delight brand are Halal to be use at Iftar time.

They as follow:

Sunny D Fruit Punch

Sunny D Chillers Lemonade

Sunny D Raspberry Lemonade

Sunny D Cherry Limeade

Sunny D Sunny D's Tangy Original,

Sunny D Smooth

Sunny D Orange Strawberry

Sunny D Orange Mango

Sunny D Peach

Sunny D Grape

Sunny D Watermelon

A sister has provided following information: Salaam alaikum, I contacted SunnyD again per your asking 3 days ago... here is what I wrote to find out if they use alcohol or ethyl alcohol: Hi. I know I have recently contacted you last week, but I wanted to make my question clear: " Is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor in any of your SunnyD fruit juices Is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used or not in the flavor as a solvent". Can I please request the QA or the Technical service department to provide this information for me Thank you for your time and assistance. Their response: Good Morning, Thank you for contacting SunnyD. Ethanol is not used as a solvent in the production of SunnyD. As previously stated, SunnyD does contain approximately 40 ppm of ethanol alcohol from naturally occurring fermentation in the fruit juices. Thank you for taking the time to contact us. Have a Great Evening! Sincerely, Sunny Delight Beverages Co Consumer Relations Department ~Contact Center hours are M-F 8am-7pm - Muslimah

Posted on: 06-25-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hershey's Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Bars are Halal in USA

Hershey said they do not use alcohol in natural and artificial flavor in Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Bars in US.

From:

 consumerinfo@hersheysconsumerrelations.com

Sent:

Fri 6/06/14 11:01 AM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com

Dear Mr. Ahmed:

As a follow-up to your request for information regarding the flavors used as ingredients in our CADBURY DAIRY MILK Chocolate Bar, we want to assure you that our Quality & Regulatory Compliance Specialist has confirmed that none of the flavors used contains ethanol or ethyl alcohol.

Kathy
Consumer Representative

008953816B

Posted on: 06-06-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: There is no pork in Kosher Certified Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolates in USA

Hershey Foods in USA has license to manufacture Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Products from Mondelez International Inc .

Hershey also has license to produce Kit Kat from Nestle in USA.

The Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolates are as follow:

1. Cadbury Dairy Milk's Milk Chocolate Velvety Smooth

2. Cadbury Dairy Milk Fruit & Nut Milk Chocolate with Raisin & Almond

3. Cadbury Dairy Milk Carmelo Milk Chocolate & Creme Coconut

4. Cadbury Dairy Milk Roasted Almond Milk Chocolate with Almond

They are Kosher certified by Orthodox OU Kosher organization. It means no pork in the ingredients listed on the ingredients statement and also no pork derived processing aid or hidden ingredients.

All of them contain Natural and Artificial Flavor, MCG do not know whether alcohol is used as a solvent or carrier in Natural & Artificial Flavor or not.

All the ingredients meets the Halal requirements except Natural & Artificial Flavor.

So all above Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate Products are Halal only if no alcohol is used in Natural & Artificial Flavor.

MCG requests US Muslim consumers to contact Hershey at https://www.thehersheycompany.com/contact-us/contact-us-form.aspx and ask question about alcohol in flavor this way:

" is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of natural & artificial flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of natural & artificial flavor. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not used in the flavor as a solvent".

 

 

Posted on: 06-01-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hadith About Eating HALAL FOOD

English Translation of Hadith  

Hazrat Abu Hurairah (May Allah be pleased with him) reported: The Messenger of Allahimage001.jpg [SAWW](PBUH) said, "O people! Allah is Pure and, therefore, accepts only that which is pure. Allah has commanded the believers as He has commanded His Messengers by saying: `O Messengers! Eat of the good things, and do good deeds.' (23:51) And He said: `O you who believe (in the Oneness of Allah - Islamic Monotheism)! Eat of the lawful things that We have provided you...''' (2:172). Then he image001.jpg [SAWW](PBUH) made a mention of the person who travels for a long period of time, his hair are disheveled and covered with dust. He lifts his hand towards the sky and thus makes the supplication: `My Rubb! My Rubb!' But his food is unlawful, his drink is unlawful, his clothes are unlawful and his nourishment is unlawful, how can, then his supplication be accepted''

[Muslim Hadith # 2214].  

Posted on: 05-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG has given lecture on Hidden Ingredients at Baytul-Iman Academy in Hazlet, New Jersey and at Islamic Information Institute Inc. of Parlin, New Jersey

Brother Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG  has given a lecture on Hidden ingredients in food products at Baytul-Iman Academy at Hazlet, New Jersey on May 11, 2014 at the request of Dr. Salman Shaikh the president of Baytul-Iman Academy of Hazlet, New Jersey. There was a questions and answers session after the lecture.

He also gave the lecture on the above topic at Islamic Information Institute Inc. in Parlin, New Jersey on May 12, 2014 at the request of Br. Yusuf Dadani and Br. Nazeer Syed of Islamic Information Institute.

Posted on: 05-14-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG is at Turkish American Society of Chicago

Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed gave a lecture at Turkish American Society of Chicago in Mount Prospect, IL on Hidden Ingredients and kosher Symbols to the students at the society.

Posted on: 04-29-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sunny Delight products are still Halal since 2010

A Muslim consumer has provided the following information to MCG:

Salaam alaikum, I contacted SunnyD again per your asking 3 days ago... here is what I wrote to find out if they use alcohol or ethyl alcohol: Hi. I know I have recently contacted you last week, but I wanted to make my question clear: " Is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor in any of your SunnyD fruit juices Is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used or not in the flavor as a solvent". Can I please request the QA or the Technical service department to provide this information for me Thank you for your time and assistance. Their response: Good Morning, Thank you for contacting SunnyD. Ethanol is not used as a solvent in the production of SunnyD. As previously stated, SunnyD does contain approximately 40 ppm of ethanol alcohol from naturally occurring fermentation in the fruit juices. Thank you for taking the time to contact us. Have a Great Evening! Sincerely, Sunny Delight Beverages Co Consumer Relations Department ~Contact Center hours are M-F 8am-7pm - Muslimah

Posted on: 04-29-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: NOT ALL ALCOHOL ARE HARAM

Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate(plant source). All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

2. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.

3. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints

4. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

5. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

 

Posted on: 04-26-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Papa John's Cheese Pizza and Cheese Pizza with Vegetable are Halal with Pizza Dough and Thin Crust

Papa John's nutrition department has informed MCG that Natural and Artificial Flavor in Thin Crust meets the Halal requirements.

MCG has contacted Papa John's Nutrition department and they answered all our technical questions. MCG now renew the Halal status of Papa John's cheese pizza with pizza dough  and thin crust as Halal. Papa John's pizza dough, thin crust, pizza sauce and pizza cheese are Halal based the technical answers provided by Papa John's Nutrition Department in March 2014.

It is the responsibility of Muslim consumers to make sure the cheese pizza with pizza dough is not cross contaminated with Haram ingredients at stores.

Posted on: 03-28-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Liquid antibiotic named Cefdinir 250MG/5ML Suspension 60ML, NDC: 68180-0723-20 is Halal

The follwing e-mail was provide by Br. Abdurrahman Akman:

Salam Alakom,
 
I would like to share information with you about an antibiotic I recently obtained information about.  From what I have found so far, I believe it is a halal antibiotic.  It is quite a lengthy process to verify the contents of prescription medications, so I am hoping to help others by providing them with this information if needed.
 
This is about a liquid antibiotic named Cefdinir 250MG/5ML Suspension 60ML, NDC: 68180-0723-20, manufactured by Lupin.  (Not to be confused with the tablet version)
 
I contacted the manufacturer directly and asked if animal or alcohol is used as an ingredient or in the manufacturing process.  They needed to research the information, and contacted me several days later with the following information:
 
1.  Not derived from any animal source
2.  The only alcohols used are isopropyl and methanol  (I believe these are halal alcohols, according to your website.)
 
Thank you.  I appreciate all the efforts you put into the website.  Please let me know if you have any further questions.
 
Abdurrahman Akman
 

Posted on: 03-27-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Advil Pain Reliever/Fever, Allergy tablets and Children Syrups are Halal now.

According to Pfizer the following Advil products are Halal:

1. Advil Fast Acting Ibuprofen Tablets 200 mg film coated ( Halal, No animal derived ingredients are used. Coating is made of lac resin, polyethylene glycol and propylene glycol (Halal). Reference Number: Lauren 215522A dated March 5, 2014).

2. Advil Ibuprofin Tablets 200mg Pain Reliever/Fever Reducer ( Halal,  No animal derived ingredients are used. Coating is made of lac resin and polyvinyl alcohol (Halal alcohol). Reference Number: Lauren 215522A dated March 5, 2014).

3. Advil Adult Allergy & Sinus Tablets ( Halal,  Advil Sinus Category: No animal derived ingredients, coating is made of lac resin and polyvinyl alcohol (Halal alcohol). Reference number 214905A Dated March 03, 2014).

4. Advil Adult Allergy Congestion Tablets ( Halal,  Advil Sinus Category: No animal derived ingredients, coating is made of lac resin and polyvinyl alcohol (Halal alcohol). Reference number 214905A Dated March 03, 2014).

5. Advil Children Suspension Bubble Gum, White Grape, Blue Raspberry, Fruits and Grape for Fever, Aches ( Halal,  Advil Sinus Category: No animal derived ingredients, no insect coating no ethanol (alcohol). Reference number 214905A Dated March 03, 2014).

6. Advil Infant Drops White Grape Flavor ( Halal,  Advil Sinus Category: No animal derived ingredients, no insect coating no ethanol (alcohol). Reference number 214905A Dated March 03, 2014).

Posted on: 03-12-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Requirements of a Halal Croissant

The Halal requirements of a croissant are:

1. There should be a kosher symbol on the package.

2. There should be no L-Cysteine under the ingredients statement.

3. There should be no alcohol used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavor. Alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavors.

4. Enzyme if used in croissant is a Halal enzyme. Enzymes used in any bakery product are Halal because they are obtained from cereal or fungal or bacterial sources.

Posted on: 03-04-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Animal derived Free, Insect Free and Ethanol (Alcohol) Free Advil Products

Pfizer has informaed MCG (Reference number 214905A dated March 3, 2014) that the following products are free of animal derived ingredients, insect derived ingredients and alcohol free:

Adult:

1. Advil Allergy Congestion Tablets

2. Advil Allergy & Sinus Tablets

Children for Fever, Aches & Pains:

1. Adil Children Suspensions

a. Bubblegum

b. White Grape

c. Blue Raspberry

d. Fruits

e. Grape

2. Infabt Advil White Grape Drops

Posted on: 03-03-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Alcohol Free Hand Sanitizer

BabyGanics Alchohol Free Foaming Hand Sanitizer, Fragrance Free, 250ml (8.45-Ounce) Bottles (Pack of 2) is made from vegetable or plant based ingredients and it is alcohol free. This Halal Hand Sanitizer is available at Babies or US, Target store or obtained from www.amazon.com

Founding Fathers (foundingfathers@babyganics.com)
Add to contacts
5:55 PM
To: Rasheed Ahmed
 
Hi Rasheed,

Thank you for contacting us and for your interest in BabyGanics! Our Foaming Hand Sanitizer does not contain any animal derived ingredients. We hope you find this information helpful and please let me know if there's anything else we can help with.

Thank you,
Cora


 

Posted on: 02-24-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Sports Nutrition Products

MCG has completed the initial research on Halal Sports Nutrition products for our young Muslim consumers so that they can build their bodies by consuming Halal Sports Nutrition Products. So for MCG has provide Halal Whey Protein items, High Protein and Healthy Bars which are available at various Nutrition Food Stores.

The above products are not made with any flavor so that you do not have to worry about alcohol in flavor. These products are Kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements.

Inshallah MCG will continue to add more Halal Sports Nutrition products.

Posted on: 02-18-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: What are the requirements of a Halal ice cream

The following are the requirements of a Halal Ice Cream

1. It must a have a Kosher symbol which meets the Halal requirements (why not Halal symbol because many  ice cream products with Halal symbol are made with alcohol containing natural or artificial flavor and Halal certifying organizations say that 0.1% or 0.5% alcohol is Halal and it does not make you intoxicated. But there is no Hadith which says 0.1% or 0.5% intoxicant (Alcohol) as Halal.

2. There should be no natural or artificial listed as ingredient under the ingredients statement. Most liquid natural or artificial flavor are made with alcohol as a solvent. These  alcohol containing liquid natural or artificial flavors  are added to ice cream after pasteurization and cooling process so alcohol in flavors is not subject to heat treatment. Alcohol in ice cream remained as is.

3. It should not have Vanilla or vanilla flavor or vanilla extract as part of ingredient statement because vanilla or vanilla flavor is obtained by extracting with alcohol from vanilla beans. According to FDA vanilla extract must contain minimum of 35% alcohol otherwise it will not be call as vanilla extract.

4. It should not ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean speck because it is not real vanilla beans which are very expensive. Ground vanilla bean or Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks in the food industry.

5. Ice cream should not have Carrageenan as an ingredient because ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol or potassium chloride (KCL) is used during processing of carrageenan and it takes time to investigate what was used during processing.

6. Ice cream should be free from rum flavor and other liquor because kosher certified product may contain liquor or rum flavor.

7. Ice cream bars should not have confectionary glaze or resinous glaze as coating on ice cream bars because these glazes are made with shellac dissolve in alcohol.

8. Ice Cream should not contain any Extract such as Mint Extract in Haagen Daazs Mint Five Ice cream. Alcohol is used in some extract as a extracting solvent.

There are 46 Halal ice cream and ice cream topping listed on MCG website and they do not have flavor in them.

There is only one Halal soft vanilla ice cream available in USA which is made by Pacific Valley Dairy (Phone number 636-334-4700 www.pvdairy.com, please find out whether it is available in your city). This Halal soft vanilla ice was sold at ISNA convention in 2007 at Chicago. It is Halal because it is kosher certified and made with artificial vanilla flavor with propylene glycol (a Halal solvent) as a solvent according to the company. This soft vanilla ice cream is not available in supermarkets only at food service places.

 

 

.

Posted on: 02-03-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG APP OR HALAL FOOD APP IS NOW WORKING ON APPLE' S IPHONES

MCG APP or Halal Food App is now working on Apple's Iphones. You can search under " Product List" the Halal status of food products in any supermarket. You can also search Chain Restaurants, Non Food Products , Halal-Haram Mushbooh Ingredients and Ask question on Apple Iphones. The cost for MCG App is $1.99.

Posted on: 01-15-14 00:00 AM


TITLE: Chap Sticks are Halal in USA

Pfizer company has informed MCG that following ChapStick are free from pork or beef fat. According to Pfizer(USA reference number 000198605A dated December 30, 2013) no ethanol or alcohol was used in flavor or fragrance or as extracting solvent for leaf extract.

1. Classic ChapStick

2. Moisturizer ChapStick

3. Medicated ChapStick

4. Active ChapStick

5. Flava-Craze ChapStick

6. Hydration Lock ChapStick

7. Peppermint ChapStick

8. Seasonal Flavor ChapStick

9. Mixstix ChapStick

Posted on: 12-30-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: How Orthodox Kosher Symbols helps Muslims

Although NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

But Orthodox Kosher symbols if they meet Halal requirements protect Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or processing aid ingredients by the food manufacturer. This way Muslims do not have to worry about hidden ingredients in food products or ingredients.

Posted on: 12-26-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: ChapStick is free from pork or beef fat

Pfizer company has informed MCG that following ChapStick are free from pork or beef fat. Pfizer is investigating whether ethanol or alcohol was used in flavor or fragrance or as extracting solvent for leaf extract.

1. Classic ChapStick

2. Moisturizer ChapStick

3. Medicated ChapStick

4. Active ChapStick

5. Flava-Craze ChapStick

6. Hydration Lock ChapStick

7. Peppermint ChapStick

8. Seasonal Flavor ChapStick

9. Mixstix ChapStick

Posted on: 12-19-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Garcinia Cambogia Extract in Weight Loss Medicines

Garcinia Cambogia Extract is obtained through water extraction of fruits of Garcinia Cambogia which is grown in India. This extract has hydroxycitric acid (HCA) which prohibits the activities of enzyme Citrate lyase.

Citrate lyase enzyme in our body convert extra carbohydrates into fat. Even if you do not eat fat  in the diet and consumed lot carbohydrates then Citrate lyase enzyme converts extra carbohydrates into fat so your lipid level in the blood will go up.

This is the reason this Hydroxycitric acid from Garcinia Cambogia Extract is used in weight loss medicines.

100% Garcinia Cambogia Extract is a Halal extract because water is used to extract it from fruits of the tree but in capsule or in tablet form it may be not available as 100%.

Garcinia Cambogia Extract is reported as toxic in the medical literature. Garcinia cambogia extract is available in capsules too which may be made from pork gelatin.

The active ingredient in Garcinia cambogia extract is Hydroxycitric acid but the capsules or tablets may also contain inactive ingredients which may not be Halal.

Posted on: 12-16-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Glen Mark's Gabapentin prescription tablets are Halal for diabetic patient for pain

Many diabetic patients are exposed to nerve damage and suffer pain and numbness. Most doctors prescribed Gabapentin capsules but those capsules are made with pig gelatin.

MCG has investigated with two pharmaceutical companies namely Camber and Glen Mark. Although Camber's tablets are not made with pork but they used a coating which is made of cool vanilla.

On the other hand Glen Mark's Gabapentin tables are not made with any animal derived ingredients including pig and the coating is made with polymers without any alcohol. They are Halal tablets.

This information is also for Muslims doctors who are treating diabetic patients for pain to prescribe Glen Mark's Halal Gabapentin tables for their Muslim patients.

MCG recommends to Muslim consumers who are using Gabapentin capsules to ask their doctors to prescribe Glen Mark's Halal Gabapentin tablets.

Posted on: 12-15-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Three Mucinex Tablets are free from any animal derived ingredients

Reckitt Benckiser pharmeceutical company has informed MCG that the following three tablets are made without any animal derived ingredients and tablets are not coated. They are as follows:

1. Mucinex DM Maximum Strength 12 Hour Tablets for Expectorant and Cough Suppressant

2. Mucinex 12 Hour Maximum Strength Tablets for Expectorant

3. Mucinex 12 Hour Expectorant Tablets

Posted on: 12-05-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Advil Children Suspensions can be given to Muslim children

There is no animal derived ingredients and no alcohol in flavor in all Advil Children Suspensions according to Pfizer Company reference number 188656A dated November 04, 2013.

 

Posted on: 11-04-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG at Long Island New York Masajids

Brother Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG has given first Khutbah about Halal Foods at Masjid Darul Qur'an located in Bay Shore, NY on Friday October 25, 2013. He also gave a lecture on "Hidden Ingredients in Food Products and Food Ingredients after Isha prayer at Masjid Noor in Burlington, NY on Friday October 25, 2013.   

Posted on: 10-26-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Advertise with Muslim Consumer Group Website

Muslim Consumer Group has decided to accept advertisement based on Islamic values.

This MCG website is logged in 160 countries and visited by about 2400 visitors daily.

MCG website's global rank is 497, 701 compared to other Halal food website. It ranked 262, 000 in USA and 135, 267 in India according to www.alexa.com a website which monitors world websites traffic. The Alexa rank is calculated using a combination of average daily visitors to the site and page views on the site over the past 3 months. The site with the highest combination of visitors and page views is ranked #1.

Please contact MCG at 1-877-515-1008 or send a e-mail to Halalfoods@hotmail.com for your advertisement.  MCG will be publishing rates for advertisement pretty soon.

Posted on: 10-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Betty Crocker's Walnut Premium Brownie Mix with Hershey's is a Halal Brownie Mix

One of our Muslim consumer has send this e-mail from General Mills indicating that ther is no alcohol in Betty Crocker's Walnut Premium Brownie Mix with Hershey's.

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: <Corporate.Response@genmills.com>
Date: Wed, Oct 2, 2013 at 3:21 PM
Subject: Your Response From "General Mills" - 2013/09/30-2670 XAP
To: @gmail.com

Dear Miss Butt:

Thank you for contacting us concerning Betty Crocker walnut brownie mix. We appreciate the opportunity to address this matter.

The brownie mix does not contain alcohol.

 If you have any further questions or concerns, please let us know.

 Sincerely,

Amanda Peach
Consumer Services


Posted on: 10-08-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Only Pink Color La Yogurt Probiotic Yogurts Flavors do not contain any alcohol according to the company and they are Halal yogurts

Muslim consumers are advised to use only pink color La Yogurt Probiotic  Strawberry, Mixed Berry, Peach, Raspberry, Cherry, Granapple, Strawberry Banana, Blueberry yogurts because they carry orthodox Kosher symbol OUD (U under the circle. La Yogurt other Probiotic yogurts carry liberal Kd Kosher symbol which are made with kosher gelatin or made on the same line where kosher gelatin containing products are made.

From:

Guerra, Monica (MGuerra@johannafoods.com)

Sent:

Mon 8/19/13 7:13 AM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com (halalfoods@hotmail.com); Guerra, Monica (MGuerra@johannafoods.com)

Dear Mr. Ahmed,
 
Thank you for contacting Johanna Foods, Inc. Our Research & Development department confirmed that our La Yogurt Probiotic flavors do not contain any alcohol.
 
Thank you for your support of La Yogurt Probiotic.
 
Best regards,
 
JOHANNA FOODS, INC.
 
Monica Guerra
Johanna Foods Inc.
Consumer Affairs - Yogurt Division
20 Johanna Farms Rd
Flemington, NJ 08822
E-mail: mguerra@johannafoods.com
www.layogurt.com

 

-----Original Message-----

From: Rasheed Ahmed [mailto:halalfoods@hotmail.com]

Sent: Friday, August 16, 2013 5:02 PM

To: Guerra, Monica

Subject: New Contact Form Submission!

 

From: Rasheed Ahmed

Email: halalfoods@hotmail.com

Phone: 847-659-9512

Location: Huntley, IL

 

Comments/Questions: Hi,

Due to my religious dietary requirements I have this for Probiotic Yogurts with different flavors:

" is alcohol used as a solvent in natural flavor of Probiotic Raspberry, Original Lemon Merangue Pie Yogurt;

Original Pinacolda Yogurt, Original Strawberry Banana Yogurt, Cherry, Peach, Mixed berries, Blueberry.

Alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the

ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to

your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors.

In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used

in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out

whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department cannot answer

this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".

 

Br. Iftekhar Ahmad has provided the information about no alcohol in

flavor. Mr. Pickard of La Yogurt has e-mailed MCG that After checking

with both our Research department and supplier, we can confirm that no

alcoholic fermentation occurs during the production of the prebiotic.

bacteria.

 

 

Posted on: 08-19-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: First Halal Certified Potato Chips in USA

Alhumdulillah MCG has Halal certified first Halal certified Seneca Farms Potato Chips. They are available at Safeway on west coast. The company is working on to have Halal symbol on the package. They are as follow:

Seneca Farms Blue Potato Chips 5 OZ

Seneca Farm Blue and Orange Potato Chips 5 OZ

Seneca Farms Gold Potato Chips 5 OZ

Seneca Farm Red Potato Chips 5 OZ

Seneca Farms Blue Potato Chips 2 OZ

These potato chips are made with potato,canola oil and sea salt. No alcohol, no seasoning containing alcohol are added to above potato chips.

Posted on: 06-28-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: HALAL GLUCOSAMINE SULFATE VEGICAPS FOR DIETARY SUPPORT FOR HEALTHY JOINTS AND MOBILITY

Shellfish Free Halal Solgar Kosher Glucosamine Hydrochloride 1000 Mg. 60 Tablets with UPC code 033984013117 is available at www.koshervitamins.com or you may call 1-800-645-1899 to receive Glucosamine by mail.

Posted on: 04-20-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sara Lee All Butter Pound Cake is Halal now with Vanillin

According Sara Lee representative (March 27, 2013) Sara Lee old formula for Family Size All Butter Pound Cake (Frozen) was changed in October 2012 with removal of Vanillin a Halal artificial vanilla flavor in the formula and it was replaced replaced with Natural & Artificial Flavor. Due to complaints from consumers the original formula was brought back in December 2012. Some stores may still carry new formula of All Butter Pound Cake containing Natural & Artificial flavor. 

So please read the ingredients before buying the Sara Lee All Butter Pound Cake (Frozen) and buy only if it contains Vanillin as a flavor.

Posted on: 03-27-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Minute Amount of Alcohol in Vinegars

Vinegar has been known for centuries. It is simply a dilute solution of water and acetic acid that contains coloring and flavoring agents in very small quantities from source of raw material. A typical distilled vinegar contains 95% of water and rest is acetic acid , minor constituents.

It is made by two successive microbial processes:

·         First is being an alcoholic fermentation effected by yeasts and the

·         Second is an oxidation of alcohol by Acetobacter, a genus of aerobic bacteria.

U.S. Food and Drug Administration regulation states that the unmodified name vinegar apply only to the product derived from apples and that this product contain not less than 4 g of acetic acid in 100 ml of vinegar.

Vinegar also contains small quantities of ash, sugars, phosphoric acid, alcohol, and glycerol.

Latest Information on Vinegar:

MCG talk to a famous vinegar manufacturer regarding amount of alcohol left in any vinegar except wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar and the manufacturer told MCG that  the alcohol content of 0.5% or less always present in any vinegar. MCG also got information of 0.5% amount of alcohol left in apple cider vinegar obtained by a Muslim consumer from a vinegar company. There will be always 0.5% or less of alcohol will not convert in to acetic acid and water.

So MCG talk to our Islamic Scholar who is very knowledgeable in Hanafi fiqah. He told MCG that vinegar use at the time of Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum or made in villages or in western countries always contains other ingredients in minute amount including alcohol. But he said the presence of this minute amount ( 0.5%) of alcohol will not make vinegar Haram. It is a scientific fact that all ripe fruits contains minute amount of alcohol and juices produced from those fruits also contain minute amount of alcohol naturally produced in fruits.

So even 0.5% alcohol in apple cider vinegar or white distilled vinegar does not make it Haram and we can consume it.

 

 

Posted on: 03-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Baskin Robbins Company's response

MCG wrote about hidden alcohol in flavor and use of ethyl alcohol during the processing of Carrageenan. But they did not answer the questions. So MCG called Baskin Robbins toll free number again. An agent the return the call and provided the following on phone on March 13, 2013.

1. Alcohol is used in flavors of Baskin Robbins Waffle Cones and Base Ball Nut Ice Cream.

2. No alcohol is used in the flavors of Blueberry Cheesecake Ice Cream so it is a Halal ice cream.

3. No alcohol is used in Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice cream but it has Mushbooh Carrageenan. This ice cream is Mushbooh.

Baskin Robbins agent during a telephone call on March 13, 2013 will try provide a list of alcohol free ice cream and use of Isopropyl alcohol or KCL during the processing of Carrageenan. I do not know when they will provide the list but I request all those Muslim consumers who are interested in consuming Baskin Robbins ice cream please contact Baskin Robbins at 1-800-859-5339. You have to mention this paragraph " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department cannot answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".

 

Posted on: 03-13-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Honey Lemon Cough Drops from Best Sweet Corporation

Best Sweet Corporation makes a Halal Honey Lemon Cough Drops which are Kosher certified and the flavoring is made of honey and lemon oil. No alcohol is used in flavoring and also in cough drops according the company. They sell this coough drops under the following brands with Kosher symbol U under Circle:

1. Walgreen Honey Lemon Cough Drops

2. CVS Honey Lemon Cough Drops

3. Target Honey Lemon Cough Drops

4. HEB Honey Lemon Cough Drops

5. Best Health Honey Lemon Cough Drops

6. Familly Dollar Honey Lemon Cough Drops

7. Good Sense Honey Lemon Cough Drops

8. Our Family Honey Lemon Cough Drops

9. Assured Honey Lemon Cough Drops

Posted on: 02-27-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Update information on Non Food Products, Paper Plates, Bowls and Paper Cups

MCG has updated the information on Deodorants, Shampoos, Conditioners, Body washes, Moisturizers, Bar Soaps, Liquid Soaps, Toothpaste, Mouthwash, Paper Products in February 2013 for the benefit of Muslim consumers.

 

Posted on: 02-23-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG's new Halal food ingredients book is available in February 2013

MCG's new book " Food Ingredients and Their Halal Status" Inshallah will be available in the first week of February, 2013. This book will be available as a soft copy and also in E-Book form. This book is written by Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed for any part of the world including USA, Canada, England, Australia, European, Muslim, African and Asian countries.

There are a total of 948 food ingredients and E-Numbers researched and assigned Halal, Haram, Not Halal and Mushbooh status. Due to expensive shipping charges, this book will be available as an E-Book for countries other than the USA. The cost of the book will be $9.00 and shipping is free.

Posted on: 01-27-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Bounty Paper Towel is Halal now

We have received this e-mail from one of our sister regarding the Halal status of Bounty Paper Towel and we thank her for the information.

Thanks for contacting Bounty, we appreciate your interest in the ingredient of our Bounty Paper Towel. There are no animal derived ingredients in our products. Here is a list of the ingredients and their functions: -- Processed Wood Pulp: Used to make paper from softwood trees (Pine & Spruce) and hardwood trees (Oak/Maple) -- Wet Strength Polymer: Added to increase strength during wet use. -- Printing Ink: Water based printing inks are used for decorative patterns only (no ink in white versions. -- Ceteareth-10: Surfactant – emulsifier Hope this is helpful. Thanks again for writing. Kerisha S. Bounty Team

 

Posted on: 01-21-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG Toll Free Number 877-515-1008 is working now

MCG Toll Free Number 877-515-1008 is working now for USA and Canada.

Posted on: 01-18-13 00:00 AM


TITLE: Doritos Halal Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips named has changed to Toasted Corn

Frito Lay has the change of Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips to Toasted Corn and also changed the packaging but it is still has kosher symbol and it is still a Halal product.

Posted on: 12-22-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG'S HALAL CERTIFIED FRUIT COCKTAIL

Posted on: 11-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG's Ahmed became Certified Food Scientist (CFS)

Institute of Food Technologists organization of Chicago, IL USA has certified br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed as a Certified Food Scientist. They wrote to Br. Ahmed the following message:

" You have demonstrated your practical knowledge and commitment to lifelong learning. Certified Food Scientists will undoubtedly help raise the visibility and recognition of the food science profession. Your lifetime professional accomplishments and attainment of the CFS will serve as excellent example for your peers and the future generations of food scientists. "

Br. Ahmed has meet their requirements for Certified Food Scientist. Br. Ahmed has many years of work experience in US food industry, he developed 18 new food products for different food companies for supermarkets. His work experience at Kraft Food USA resulted in saving of 6 million dollar per year for the cost of ingredients of Kraft's BBQ Sauces during in 2011.

Posted on: 11-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Tilapia gelatin is Halal because it is obtained from Tilapia fish

Tilapia gelatin is Halal because it is obtained from Tilapia fish and used as a source for Omega 3 in JIF's Omega 3 Extra Crunchy and Omega3 Creamy Peanut Butter.

Posted on: 10-04-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Zabiha Halal Hand Slaughtered Chicken in New Jersey

One of the Muslim consmer from New Jersey has provide the phone number for American Halal Live Poultry in Perth Amboy, NJ

I talk to manager Mohammed and he said there is no stunning done at his place. He said it is all hand slaughtered and Zabiha Halal. He does not speak Urdu because he is a Bengali Muslim from Bangladesh. The address of American Halal Live Poultry is 950 Amboy Perth Amboy, NJ 08861, phone 732-826-5656.

Posted on: 09-21-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG participated at 5th International Conference on Halal and Healthy Products in Istanbul, Turkey August 31 - Septmeber 02, 2012

 

Brother Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG have given a presentation on Halal certification in Non Muslim Countries and problems regarding its practice. He explained it is impossible to Halal certified frozen fish and potato fried products when manufacturer used dried beer in beer battered coating on fish and potato. He also explained problem associated with Nucleotides used in infant baby formula which was obtained from Torula yeast grown on alcohol. Use of pork gelatin during the processing of apple juice which do not appear on ingredients list because it is a hidden ingredient. Use of pork gelatin in medicine capsule a problem for US Muslim consumers and mentioned how to avoid it. The problem of use of alcohol on the coating on pain relievers such as Extra Strength Tylenol. Use of pork fat based Magnesium Stearate for lubricating molds to make foam cups such as Dart foam cups. Although Muslim countries do not have above problems but if they import above products from USA whether they have information about this or not. But at least they obtained above information from his presentation.

Posted on: 09-07-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG's "A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in US Supermarkets" 8th Edition was sold out

Alhumdulillah MCG's "A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in US Supermarkets" 8th Edition was sold out. Islamic Bookstores in USA may carry some copies above Halal Food Book. But MCG do not have any copy.

MCG Inshallah will start soon the new E-Halal Food Book which be available on our website www.muslimconsumergroup.com and this E- Halal Food Book will only cover the Halal food products in 31 - 33 regional supermarkets from coast to coast.

Posted on: 09-06-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Alcohol was detected in Pepsi according to Latest Lab. Results

No Alcohol was detected in Pepsi according to Latest Lab. Results

Muslim Consumer Group was getting a lot of inquiries about the French study of finding the presence of alcohol in European Coke and Pepsi. MCG sent the samples to Northland Lab in Northfield, IL to use a more sophisticated  method of Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method than French's Headspace Gas Chromatography-Flame Ionization Detection (HS-GC-FID) method which cannot quantify the amount of Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol.

MCG sent unopened Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP bottles to Northland lab to perform alcohol test by using Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method. This method can detect amount of alcohol at least 0.001% or 10 Part Per Million or 10 milligram per liter or more. But this method can't detect less than 0.001% of alcohol.

The alcohol level in Pepsi was less than 0.001% or 10 PPM as reported by Northland Lab. It means they cannot detect alcohol in Pepsi.

MCG has paid over $1200 to perform these analysis for Muslim consumers in USA.

Northland Lab, Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

 

Date Received: 07/13/2012

Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

Start Date: 07/13/2012

Due Date: 08/03/2012

 

Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

AD64882 PEPSI - MAR 25 13 090

58G061823A

SD SOFT DRINK

Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

Provided

DL Method Reference

 

Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol < 10 PPM USP 35

 

Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 22.3 deg C

 

AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

IDPH #17501

Reviewed By: Accreditation Number:

 

For any question about these test, please contact Muslim Consumer Group at 1-877-515-1008. Please do not call the Northland Lab.

 

Posted on: 08-25-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal status of Dunkin Donut's Bagels, Donuts, Muffins, Beverages and other Products are updated

Halal status of Dunkin Donut's Bagels, Donuts, Muffins, Beverages and other Products are updated. They are listed under Food product section and subsection Chain Restauarnts. They are as of August 2012.

Posted on: 08-06-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: The Mushbooh status of those food products made with Carrageenan is changing to Halal status

The Mushbooh status of those food products made with Carrageenan is changing to Halal status because the food companies are sending e-mails to indicate that Carrageenan used in their food products is not made with alcohol. So far the following food companies are not using alcohol treated Carrageenan in their food products:

1. Dean Foods

2. Kemps Foods

3. Dreyer Ice cream company

4. Saputo Cheese Company who makes Ricotta Cheese under Frigo brand name

5. Well's Dairy who makes Weight watchers Ice Cream Bars and Blue Bunny Ice cream products has informed MCG that the Carrageenan used in these two brand is not made with any alcohol. It was informed by Consumer department's Christ on the phone and gave a reference number 500400 about the phone conversation.

 

Posted on: 07-14-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Carrageenan

Due to new information about use of ethyl alcohol during the processing of Carrageenan, food products made with Carrageenan are assigned Mushbooh status except few. But this mushbooh status will change to Halal if the food manufacturer provides information that they do not use ethyl alcohol precipitated Carrageenan in thier food products. Please help MCG by contacting by e-mail to those food companies whose food products are under Mushbooh status due to presence of Carrageenan. 

Posted on: 07-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG at Institute of Food Technologists annual Food Expo Meeting

MCG's president went to Food Expo 2012 conducted by Institute of Food Technologists at Las Vegas Conventional Center, Las Vegas, NV. It was useful Food Expo visit with respect for investigating what type alcohol used during the processing of Carrageenan which benefit Muslim consumers.

 

For Carrrageenan Halal status investigation, the booths of the following food companies were visited:

 

1. Cargill Corporation

2. Ingredients Solution (ISI)

3. Shemberg Corporation of Philippines a major producer of Carrageenan

4. Gumix International

5. PL Thomas

6. H & A Canada

 

Besides above all other important booths of different companies were also visited.

 

Synthite  a Indian supplier of Spice Extract company based in Buffalo, NY which supplies a Halal vanilla flavor told MCG that the price for Carbon Dioxide supercritical method Vanilla flavor is $ 800-1000 a pound compare to $ 90 per pound for Vanilla Extract. This is the reason US food manufacturer do not use Halal Vanilla Flavor.

Posted on: 06-29-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Johanna Food Company is the first yogurt company who makes some Fruit Yogurts (only 9 Original Yogurts are Halal) without alcohol in flavors under La Yogurt Brand

Only following yogurts from La Yogurts are Halal because they have Orthodox OUD kosher symbol, no alcohol in flavor and rest of La Yogurt with K symbol or Kosher Gelatin are not Halal. Please be careful and look for OUD Orthodox Kosher symbol on the package.

HALAL YOGURTS

1. La Yogurt 32 Oz. Whole Milk Plain Yogurt

2. La Yogurt 32 Oz. Low Fat Plain Yogurt

3. La Yogurt 32 Oz. Nonfat Plain Yogurt

4. La Yogurt Original Blueberry Yogurt

5. La Yogurt Original Cherry Cheesecake Yogurt

6. La Yogurt Original Cranapple Yogurt

7. La Yogurt Original Guava Mango Yogurt

8. La Yogurt Original Lemon Merangue Pie Yogurt

9. La Yogurt Original Mixed Berry Yogurt

10. La Yogurt Original Peach Yogurt

11. La Yogurt Original Pancolada Yogurt

12. La Yogurt Original Strawberry Banana Yogurt

 

NOT HALAL YOGURTS

 

Rich & Creamy Yogurts:

 

1. Banana

2. Coffee

3. Key Lime

4. Mango

5. Maraschino Cherry

6. Peach

7. Pomegranate Blackberry

8. Strawberry

9. Triple Berry

10. Vanilla

 

 

Light Yogurts:

 

1. Apple Pie

2. Banana Creme

3. Blueberry

4. Cherry

5. Lemon Raspberry

6. Peach

7. Pineapple Coconut

8. Pomegranate Berry Medley

9. Strawberry

10. Strawberry Banana

11.Vanilla

 

Vanilla Yogurts 32 Oz:

 

1. Low Fat Vanilla Yogurt

2. Nonfat Vanilla Yogurt

 

Thanks to Br. Iftekhar Ahmad a Muslim consumer who has provided the information to MCG from Johanna Foods about absence of alcohol in flavors of some Johanna Food's La Yogurt's fruit yogurts brand. Sine La Yogurt's yogurt are made with Prebiotic Bacteria, MCG further investigated with Johanna Foods  whether alcohol was produced during the manufacturing of Prebiotic Bacteria before used in their yogurts. Here is the answer from the Johanna Foods:

From:

Pickard, Regan (rpickard@johannafoods.com)

Sent:

Tue 5/08/12 10:51 AM

To:

S. Rasheed Ahmed (halalfoods@hotmail.com)

Good Morning Mr. Ahmed,

After checking with both our Research department and supplier, we can confirm that no alcoholic fermentation occurs during the production of the prebiotic bacteria.

Sincerely,

Johanna Foods, Inc.

 

Posted on: 05-14-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Correspondance from Food companies regarding presence or absence of alcohol in the flavors for Butter and Spreads

From:

consumeraffairs@landolakes.com

Sent:

Fri 5/04/12 3:37 PM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com

There is not any alcohol in LAND O LAKES® Unsalted Butter. The natural flavoring in LAND O LAKES® Unsalted Butter is lactic acid, which is produced by fermentation of sugar, and gives unsalted butter a more cultured flavor. It is not monosodium glutamate (MSG), nor is it derived from MSG, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, yeast autolysate or yeast extracts. This flavoring has always been an ingredient in our unsalted butter.

We hope you will continue to use and enjoy LAND O LAKES® products. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future. If you need to respond to this email, please use the "Reply" button.

Sincerely,

Lisa
Land O'Lakes Consumer Affairs
1-800-328-4155

Case: 836438

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There is no alcohol in our natural flavors. There is no alcohol in any of our products with the exception of our Smart Balance Cooking Spray, and the alcohol in that product comes from corn.

Thank you for supporting Smart Balance® products. We hope you continue to enjoy our products for many years to come! There’s a lot of buzz that Omega-3s are part of a heart healthy diet, but do you know why? Visit Smartbalance.com to learn the Omega-3 essentials.


Sincerely,

Your Friends at Smart Balance

From:

consumeraffairs@landolakes.com

Sent:

Mon 4/30/12 9:41 AM

To:

halalfoods@hotmail.com

Hello Rasheed,

Thank you for visiting the Land O'Lakes Web Site and taking the time to contact us.

The raw material for the artificial flavor in LAND O LAKES® Margarine contains less than 0.01% of ethyl alcohol.  There is no alcohol in LAND O LAKES® Light Butter with Canola Oil, LAND O LAKES® Fresh Buttery Taste® Spread or LAND O LAKES® Light Butter.

We hope you will continue to use and enjoy LAND O LAKES® products. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future. If you need to respond to this email, please use the "Reply" button.

Sincerely,

Carol
Land O'Lakes Consumer Affairs
1-800-328-4155

Case: 836438

Posted on: 05-04-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: No alcohol is used as a solvent in Flavors of Frito Lay Products

Hi Rasheed,

Thank you for writing to us. We apologize for the delay in responding to your inquiry.

However, we have verified that none of the flavors we apply use alcohol as a solvent.

We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay.

Best regards,

Belinda
Frito-Lay Consumer Relations
011936176A

Posted on: 04-26-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wonder Classic White Bread is made with Baker Yeast's Yeast Extract and it is still Halal

Interstate Bakeries has informed MCG that the yeast extact added to Wonder Classic White Bread is obtained from Halal Baker Yeast.

Posted on: 04-14-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cups, Bowls, Plates, Hinged Containers,Bakery Containers, Foam Food Service Trays and Cutlery are Halal

Brother Javed has provide this e-mail:

The company says they do not use any animal product please answer my question thank you this is the letter from company web site January 1, 2012 To Whom It May Concern: Genpak L.L.C. has not sought or received kosher certification for any of our products, including PET or PS products. However, we do hereby certify that no animal derived raw materials or additives are used in the production of the above stated products. Genpak appreciates your decision to use our products and your continued support. Best Regards, Jeff Cole Marketing Manager - javed

Posted on: 04-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wrigley Gums in USA and Canada

Recently one of our Muslim consumer sister has forwarded the following  information from a e-mails from Wrigley Company:

"None of the Five Gums sold in Canada and the U.S. are kosher.  They do not, however, contain any alcohol or ingredients derived from animals.

At present, the only exceptions are Extra® Polar IceTM, Altoids® mints, Juicy Fruit Twisted Green, Lifesavers Gummies, Excel Cool Blast mints, Excel Mist and 5 React and Creme Savers. Extra® Polar Ice gum contains tiny flavour beads encased in a microscopic layer of gelatin, which is animal based.  This brand is not to be confused with Excel ® Polar Ice, which does not contain gelatin.  Juicy Fruit Twisted Green gum uses shellac (also known as Confectioner's Glaze) as a coating agent.

In answer to your question, the vast majority of Wrigley products sold in Canada are free from ingredients of animal origin, including egg and dairy products.  Glycerin is the most common ingredient in our gum products.  Glycerin can come from animal, vegetable or synthetic sources.  The glycerin we use comes from vegetable sources only.

In addition, the different varieties of our ALTOIDS® mints, Lifesavers Gummies and Excel Cool Blast (liquid-filled) mints do contain very small quantities of gelatin which is derived from pork.  Gelatin does not impart any flavor to Altoids, but it's a necessary ingredient for the texture of the mints.  When we use gelatin it is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process.  Creme Savers use dairy products.

All our products are Alcohol Free. We do not use Alcohol as a solvent in the flavor It is not a hidden ingredient or used as a  processing aid ingredient of a flavor".

Mr. Ahmed,

Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to request information.  We are always happy to hear from our consumers and will be happy to answer your question.

In response to your request, we follow strict guidelines when it comes to that. But because they are both manufactured in the same facility, there is always a chance for cross contamination.

We thank you once again for taking time to contact us. 

Sincerely,

Ashley Hern
Consumer Care Representative

8000261139

 

Although Wrigley gums are not Kosher certified but based on the above information from Wrigley Company, MCG has provided Not Halal status to those Wrigley Gums made without animal derived ingredients and no alcohol in flavor because of  cross contamination with pork gelatin.

 

Posted on: 03-29-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: EUROHALAL MARKET FROM 29 NOVEMBER TO 1ST DECEMBER 2012 AT BRUSSELS, BELGIUM

The EuroHalal Market will be held from 29 Novemeber to 1st December 2012 at Brussels, Blegium, please attend the EuroHalal Market for:

1. For reaching consumer all over the world

2. Extend activities in new country

3. Contribute to facilitating trade exchanges at world level

4. Push Halal requirements forward in support of consumers

5. Enhance ethic and quality gurantees

Posted on: 03-27-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: There is no alcohol in natural flavor of Egg Beater Original

Conagra Foods has informed MCG that there is no alcohol used in the natural flavor of Egg Beater Original . Egg Beater Original is a Halal product.

Posted on: 03-17-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Birthday and Wedding Cakes in Chicago Area

Many birthday and wedding cakes are made with non Halal ingredients such as pork gelatin even kosher certified birthday and wedding cakes are made with alcohol containing flavor in cake mixes and icing.

MCG has extensively researched these cakes and identified kosher certified cake mix and filling/icing with no alcohol is used in flavor of cake mix and filling/icing.

Where they available:

In Chicago they are available at:

1. Hot Bread Hoffman Estates, IL

1065 W Golf Rd, Hoffman Estates, IL 60169

(847) 882-8883

2. Hot Bread Naperville, IL

1603 N. Aurora Road Ste 113

Naperville, IL 60563

           (630) 369-7482

"What is the Catch"

 Should request to make birthday and wedding cakes from:

1. Yellow Cake Mix number 00499865 from Dawn Foods only

2.  Heavy Whipping Cream 36% from Byrne Dairy only

3. Strawberry Filling Number 01063057 from Dawn Foods only for icing/filling

4. Fresh Strawberry

5. Sugar and water solution

Another choice is Pineapple from pineapple can and sugar water solution as icing

PS: Cherry filling and Mango Filling icing/filling are not Halal because they are made with alcohol containing flavors.

Note: Hot bread are in other part of USA but may or may not use Dawn Food mix and icing/filling

Posted on: 03-06-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: USA: Muslim Consumer Group Presentation at Riyadh’s Halal conference

Courtesy of www.halalfocus.com

 Filed in Canada, Ingredients, Media & Events, Middle East & Africa, Saudi Arabia, The Americas, USA on 27/02/2012 with 1 comment

 

Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed, founder & President of Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada presented a paper on Processing Aid or Hidden Ingredients in Food Products & ingredients and their Halal status from US food industry point of view at First International Conference on Halal Food Control at Riyadh, Saudi Arabia.

In his presentation he explained which processing aid or Hidden ingredients are used in fresh apple, apple juice, fortified milk in USA & Canada, Bakery products, Pasta, Potato Products, Mayonnaise, Tartar Sauce, seasoning, dry mixes, Beta Carotene, Soft Drinks, Fruit Drinks, Cheese, Whey, Infant Baby Formulas, Cereals, Turmeric Powder, Butter, Margarine, Vanilla Extract in Cookies, Malt Flavoring and Malt Extract in Cereals based on his 30 years of US food industry experience, and his recent experience with Kraft Foods USA until December 2011, which led him to also include the Hidden ingredients used in Kraft BBQ Sauce.

He also mentioned that not all Kosher certified food products are consider Halal unless they meet the Halal requirements. He provided a list of 17 ingredients, if any single ingredient of those 17 ingredients present in a Kosher certified food product then that kosher certified is not consider Halal based on MCG criteria for Halal status.

He provided a solution to Muslim consumers of USA/Canada for not consuming Haram Hidden ingredients in a food product if the food product has a Halal or Kosher symbol(if kosher certification meets the Halal requirements)on the food package because many Muslim consumers in USA and Canada have little knowledge of hidden ingredients in food products and their Halal status.

MCG also had a booth at the exhibition to show how they are serving the Muslim Ummah through the Halal Food Book “A Comprehensive List of Halal Food Products in USA”,  and through their website www.muslimconsumergroup.com which is logged in 135 countries with 1100 visits per day and their www.canadianhalalfoods.com website for Canadian Muslims.

Muslim Consumer Group do not Halal certify any food product or ingredients if alcohol is used in food flavors or during processing.

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 03-01-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Saudi Food & Drug Authority's First International Conference on Halal Food Control in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, was a huge success

MCG would like to congratulate the SFDA for conducting a successful First International Conference on Halal Food Control in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia,  February 12 to February 15, 2012.

There was an excellent paper on Food and Drinks of Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum by Dr. Abdulrahman Omar Ahmed Jurdy Madakhaly of Saudi Arabia.

Another good paper was the criteria for Halal Food in the four Schools of Thoughts, a comparison study by Ahmad Mubarak Salim of Advisory Board in the Ministry of Shura Council and House of Representatives, Kingdom of Bahrain.

 There were diverse professionals from 20 countries including the religious, scientific professionals who spoke on various topic related to Halal Food. There were exhibits from 20 countries including MCG of USA and Canada.

The attendees were very interested what MCG is doing for Muslim Ummah in 135 countries, they have taken all Halal Food books from different editions at booth which were for only display purpose. All the copies of November 2011 MCG Halal Food Guide Magazine were also taken..

Alhumdulillah MCG had a very good exposure in Saudi Arabia and Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG presented a very detailed paper about use of Hidden Ingredients in food products, in various food ingredients and their Halal status available in US and Canadian supermarkets which many Muslim consumers have very little knowledge about their Halal status and showed ways to avoid consuming Haram hidden ingredients in food products. The presentation was very informative according to the audiance from various countries.

The main session was divided into Lawfulness of Food Additives, Analysis Methods of Halal Food, Control of Halal Food, Halal Food Standards, Halal Certification, Countries Experience in Halal Food Control, Development of Halal industry. Panel discussion on Lawfulness of Food produced by Biotechnology, Nanotechnology, Stunning and Automated Mechanical slaughter.

MCG congratulates Dr. Hamad A. Alkanhal Chairman, of the scientific committee & Executive Director of Monitoring centers and crises management of Saudi Food & Drug Authority, Dr. Ahmed Bin Yousef Al-Diruesh Vice Rector of Imam Muhammad Bin Saud Islamic University for Scientific Institutes, Dr. Fouad Suleman Alghnaim Department of Islamic Jurisprudence Imam Muhammad Bin Saud Islamic University, Dr. Mansuour Faris Houssen Department of Animal Production King Saud University, Dr. Abdulrahman S. Al-Khalifa Department of Food Science and Nutrition King Saud University, Dr. Ibraheem Al-Sheddy Executive Director of Risk Assessment Saudi Food & Drug Authority, Dr. Abdulllah Ibrahim Alnasar Department of Islamic Culture King Saud University for conducting a very professional conference of diverse experts in the field of Halal foods both religious and professionals involved in promoting Halal foods globally.

 

MCG thanks the great Saudi hospitality provided to the speakers and their spouses for housing, meals, transportation from their home countries; and speakers who performed Umrah thank  SFDA for covering the expenses of Umrah.

 

Posted on: 02-26-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG apologized for not answering questions and telephone calls due to First International Conference on Halal Food Control in Saudi Arabia

Brother Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed was unable to answers questions and telephone calls because he was busy with his speaking assignment  at First International Conference on Halal Food Control , maintaining MCG's booth at the conference, performing Umrah at Mecca and Ibadah at Medina. He apologized for inconvenience for Muslim consumers.

Posted on: 02-25-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Takeda's Dexilant Capsule a Prescription Medicine for Heartburn is free from animal derived ingredients

According to Takeda Pharmaceuticals North America, Inc (Reference number 1-5NBER dated Feb 9, 2012) Dexilant Capsule a Prescription Medicine for Heartburn is free from animal derived ingredients even the capsule is not made with pork gelatin. Any one can verify this statement by calling Takeda at (877)-825-3327.

Posted on: 02-09-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Coleslaw Maker and Halal Tartar Sauce are available to Muslim Consumers in USA

Alhumdulillah Muslim Consumers in USA now enjoy consuming Halal frozen fish (reported on our website) with Heinz Halal Tatar Sauce. They can make Halal coleslaw by mixing Kraft Halal 1-Step Coleslaw Maker with fresh shredded Halal cabbage. The Natural Flavor in both products is Oleoresin Black Pepper which does not contain alcohol. Heinz Halal Tartar Sauce and Kraft Halal 1-Step Coleslaw Maker are available in all Wal-Mart Superstores and other supermarkets all over USA.

Posted on: 02-08-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Oleoresin of Spices

Oleoresin of Spices

 Oleoresin of spices  are concentrated liquid form of spices and they are used for flavoring in food products.

There are three solvents commonly used in the extraction of spices and they are all Halal chemicals:

Hexane

Acetone

Methanol

After extraction all Oleoresins or spice extracts are standardized to achieve proper concentration and consistency by adding the following ingredients which are considered as the processing aid or hidden ingredients:

Mono and Diglycerides

Vegetable Oil

Silicon Dioxide

Since Mono & Diglycerides are fat based emulsifiers so it requires protection from pork fat for Muslim consumers. Halal or Kosher symbol on the food packages containing spice extract indicates that Mono & Diglycerides are from soy fat if Mono & Diglycerides is used as a processing aid or hidden ingredient in spice extract to standardized it.

Muslim Consumers could not find oleoresin of spices under ingredients statement of a food  product if it was used in it. For example oleoresin of black pepper if used in a food product then it will be labeled as "Natural Flavor" or Spice Extract. No alcohol is used in the manufacture of Oleoresin of Black Pepper.

Majority of food companies never tell the Muslim consumers if Oleoresin of Black Pepper is used since they labeled it as "Natural Flavor" but Muslim consumer do not need to know about Oleoresin of spices. They should concentrate on finding if alcohol is used in natural flavor and if the food product has a Halal or Kosher symbol on it.

Posted on: 02-05-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Pork Byproduct in Softsoap Liquid soaps and Bar soaps but some made with Non Zabiha Beef Tallow

According to Colgate Palmolive Company no pork byproducts are used in Softsoap Liquid Soaps and also in Softsoap Bars Soaps. But some Softsoap products are made with Non Zabiha Beef Tallow.

No animal derived ingredients are used in the following Softsoap Products:

Liquid Hand Soap
Aquarium Series®
Black Raspberry & Vanilla
Crisp Cucumber & Melon
Coconut & Warm Ginger
SpongeBob SquarePants™
Dora the Explorer™
Seasonal Collection

 

Posted on: 01-24-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Smithfield Cream Cheese is a Halal Product

One of our Muslim consumer has provide the picture of Smithfield's Cream Cheese with kosher OUD symbol. This is a food service cream cheese and not available every where but only in Pennsylvania.

Posted on: 01-18-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Some NutriScience Innovation's Nutritional products are Halal certified by Muslim Consumer Group

The following nutritional products are Halal certified by Muslim Consumer Group in January 2012.

 

Brand Name                        Product Name              Net Weight      UPC Code

 

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Alpha Lipoic Acid                            5,  10, 25 Kg          ALAC005, ALAC010, ALAD025     

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Natural Betaine Anhydrous              10 Kg                    NBAC010         

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Calcium Glycerophosphate            25, 50 Kg               CGPD025, CGPD050               

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Choline Bitartrate                            25 Kg                   CBC025 or CBD025       

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      D-Glucuronolactone                         20 Kg                  DGC020

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      L-Glutathione, reduced                     5, 25 Kg                 LGRD005, LGRD025   

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Magnesium Glycerophosphate        25 Kg                     MGPD025       

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      OptiLut® Lutein (Marigold Extract)   1, 5, 10 Kg             OLLC001, OLLC005, OLLC010

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Potassium Glycerophosphate         50 Kg                      PGPD050       

NutriScience Innovations, LLC      Sodium Copper Chlorophyllin         1, 5, 10, 20 Kg        SCCC001, SCCC005, SCC010, SCC020

Posted on: 01-17-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG at Saudi Arabia's First International Conference on Halal Food Control and Exhibition

Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada is participating at First International Conference on Halal Food Control and Exhibition on February 12-15 2012 at Intercontinental Hotel Riyadh -  Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG will be speaker at the conference. He is going to present a research paper on "Processing Aid or Hidden Ingredients in Food Products and their Halal Status" .

Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada is also having a booth at the exhibition to show about our efforts in educating Muslim Ummah about Food Products and Food Ingredients and their Halal status. MCG is also explaining about our strict Halal certification without alcohol. For more information about the conference, please go to www.halalfood.sa

Posted on: 01-11-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: MAJOR TYPE OF FERMENTED MILK PRODUCTS

 

MAJOR TYPE OF FERMENTED MILK PRODUCTS:

Type                                           Nature of Fermentation     

Kefir                                               Acid and Alcohol            Not Halal 
Koumiss                                       Acid and Alcohol            Not Halal

Yogurt                                           Medium Acid                    If Halal or Kosher Certified with OUD only No KD, No alcohol in flavor, No Kosher Gelatin
Cultured Buttermilk                   Low Acid                          If Halal or Kosher Certified
Cultured Cream                          Low Acid                          If Halal or Kosher Certified
Leben & Dahi                              Medium Acid                   Halal
Cheese                                         Acid, Diacetyle, Propionic Acid & CO2            If Halal or Kosher Certified


Pickles from cucumber and sauerkraut from cabbage are made by salting (brining). No alcohol is produced during the processing of these products. However, when flavors are added, those flavors may or may not contain alcohol as a carrier.

Posted on: 01-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: Schick Quattro Titanium Shaving Blade Lubricant is not from animal fat

Schick Quattro Titanium Shaving Blade Lubricant which is consist of Fat based Vitamin E and Vitamin B-5 are not from animal dervied ingredients.

UPC  is 8 41058 08200 2.

Posted on: 01-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: The List of Halal Food Products at Target Stores is added to this MCG website

The list of Halal Food Products is added to our website for the benefit of those Muslim consumers who shopped grocery at Super Target stores. This research was done at Super Target Store in Algonquin, IL. 

Posted on: 01-02-12 00:00 AM


TITLE: 13 FAVORITE FOODS OF PROPHET SAYYIDINA MOHAMMED SALLALLAHU ALAIHI WASALLUM

13 FAVORITE FOODS OF PROPHET SAYYIDINA MOHAMMED SALLALLAHU ALAIHI WASALLUM
 

1. BARLEY
2. DATES
3. FIGS
4. GRAPES
5. HONEY
6. ALL TYPES OF MELON
7. MILK
8. MUSHROOMS
9. OLIVE OIL
10. POMEGRANATE
11. VINEGAR
12. WATER

13. Pumpkin
COURTESY OF WWW.NIDOKIDOS.ORG
 

Posted on: 12-13-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Rose Water

Rose Water

Rose water is obtained from rose sepals and petals. It is the by- product of rose oil which is used in perfumes.

The rose oil is obtained through steam distillation. Attar is a rose perfume made from rose oil.  Rose oil is a mixture of volatile essential oil. Rose water is used in Iranian, Indian and Pakistani sweet desserts. Many Muslims think alcohol may be used but it is not. Rose water is available in Indian and Pakistani food stores in USA and Canada.

By using Gas chromatography, the following compounds are obtained from rose water: citronellol, nonadecane, geraniol, phenyl ethyl alcohol, henicosane, 9-nonadecen, eicosane, linalool, citronellyl acetate, methyleugenol, heptadecane, pentadecane, docosane, nerol, disiloxane, octadecane, and pentacosane.

The chemical formula for phenylethyl alcohol is C6H5CH2CH2OH with a phenol group attached to OH group where as the chemical formula for ethyl alcohol is C2H5OH without any phenol group. So the phenylethyl alcohol is not the same alcohol and do not cause any intoxication.

Phenylethyl alcohol is provide a good floral odor. This is the reason the rose water is used in many Indian Pakistani sweets such as Gulab Jamun.

Rose water is a Halal ingredient.

 

Posted on: 12-10-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: EID MUBARAK

 

Assalam O Alaikum

Muslim Consumer Group wishes you a happy Eid.

Posted on: 11-06-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Kraft's Brand Simply is supplying Halal Sour Cream and Halal Cottage Cheese

Kraft Foods Global Inc. Northfield, IL has recently intoduced three new version of Halal Sour Craem, regular, Light and Fat Free and 4 new version of 2% Milk Fat, 4% Milk Fat, Low Fat and Fat Free Cottage cheese with Orthodox Circle K kosher symbol which meet the Halal requirements for Sour Cream and Cottage Cheese.

Posted on: 09-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Natural Smoke Flavor is a Halal flavor

Natural Smoke Flavor

Natural  Smoke Flavor is produced in liquid form by burning hardwoods such as hickory or maple. The smoke created by controlled burning of wood is condensed and dissolved in water to make natural liquid flavor. It is also made by synthetic method.  Natural Hickory smoke flavor is mad by burning the hickory woods and then the smoke is condensed into liquid form with addition of water. There is no alcohol added to smoke flavors as a solvent.

So Natural Hickory smoke flavor and others smoke flavors made with different woods are Halal.

Posted on: 08-07-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG Website can be viewed on any Cell phone which has internet

MCG Website can be viewed on any Cell phone which has internet

MCG tech person has made this website to be viewed on any cell phone which has internet. So you can have access of MCG website at any supermarket.

Posted on: 08-07-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Seneca Apple Chips are Halal certified by MCG

Seneca Foods Corporation of Geneva, NY's

Brand Name Seneca's Apple Chips Original UPC Code 18195-70000 weight 2.5 oz 

Brand Name Seneca's Apple Chips Cinnamon UPC Code 18195-70100 weight 2.5 oz

Brand Name Seneca's Apple Chips Caramel UPC Code 18195-70200 weight 2.5 oz

are the only three Apple Chips under Halal certification of Muslim Consumer Group.

 

Posted on: 07-15-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG's New Website

Alhumdulillah MCG has new website just published on July 1, 2011. MCG is very thankful to Brother Zahid Presswala of LJ Web Management Company who worked very hard to bring many new features to MCG website for the convenience of our Muslim consumers. He also added Arabic, French, Hindi, Malay and Persian version for those Muslims who speak those languages through Google language system. MCG cannot answer any question in those languages if we receive any question. MCG is also not responsible for any mistake if Google made in transferring the English version to those languages.

Posted on: 07-10-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Styrofoam Cups

 

Winn Cups Company of Georgia not only manufactured their own styrofoam cups brand "WIN-CUP" by using only vegetable fat on molds but also make for the following brands:

1. Safeway Brand Insulated Beverage Cups 8 oz, 12 oz and 16 oz in Safeway, VON, Dominick and  Randall Supermarkets.

2. Everyday Brand Insulated Beverage 16 oz cup in Dominick Supermarkets in Chicago area.

3. Homelife Brand of Supervalue Company 8 oz, 16 oz cups at Jewel Supermarkets in Chicago area, Cups Foods supermarkets in IL and MN.

They all have "W" symbol at bottom of the cups. 

 

Posted on: 06-30-11 13:32 PM


TITLE: Solgar's Halal Vitamins at Vitamin Shoppe stores

 

 The following Amino Acids, Mineral and Vitamins from Solgar brand are Halal at Vitamin Shoppe stores in USA and Canada. There are many vitamins products from solgar with or without kosher symbol Kuf K available at Vitamin Shoppe stores but they do not meet the Halal requirements so they are not Halal. Only following vitamins/minerals products from Solgar brand are Halal with kosher symbol Kuf K which meet the Halal requirements:

Formula V VM 2000 Multinutrient(Multivitamins & Minerals)

Vitamins Only

Multivitamins  & Chelated Minerals Multi 11 Vegetable Capsules

Formula V VM 75 Multivitamins with chelated mineral Veg Cap

Vitamin B Folic acid 800 mg

Non Flush Niacin 5000 mg

Pentothenic Acid 550 mg

B-Complex 100

Vitamin B6 25 mg

Vitamin B 12 500 mg

Vitamin B 6 250 mg

Vitamin B1 500 mg

Vitamin B2 100 mg

Biotin 1000 mg

Choline/Inosit 500 mg

Inositol 500 mg

Folic Acid 400 MCG

Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3

Calcium Magnesium Citrate

Calcium Magnesium Citrate with Vitamin D

Calcium Magnesium Plus Boron

Chelated Calcium Magnesium 1 : 1

Calcium Magnesium

Calcium Magnesium Plus Zinc

Vitamin K 100 MCG

Chelated Iron

Gentle Iron 25 mg

Chelated Zinc

Zinc Citrate 30 mg

Zinc 50 mg

Chelated Magnesium Calcium 2 : 1

Magnesium with Vitamin B6

Chelated Manganese

Magnesium Citrate

L-Lysine 500 mg

L-Methionine 500 mg

Taurine 500 mg

NAC (Antioxidant) 600 mg

Vitamin C Crystals

Liquid Vitamin E

Dry E 400 IU

Vitamin E 400 IU(International Unit)

Beta Carotene 10, 000 IU

Vitamin A 5000 IU

Natural Vitamin D 3 1000 IU

 

 

Posted on: 06-24-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Important Things To Know About Halal Foods

Apple Juice is not always Halal:

Some apple juice manufacturer are still using gelatin either from pork or beef to remove colloidal particle from apple used to make apple juice. But gelatin will not appear under the ingredients statement because it is considered as processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient.

A kosher symbol OU or circle K or triangle K on the container of apple juice indicates that no gelatin is used during processing of apple juice.

Fruit juice blends contain apple juice if there is no kosher symbol on it then the Halal status of apple juice will be questionable.

100% Juice Claims on the containers:

Many Muslim consumers think that if 100% juice claim mentioned on bottle of juices it means 100% juice but that is not the case, they add natural flavor to fruit juices and in majority cases the solvent use in natural flavor is alcohol. So Muslim consumer has to read the ingredients statement make sure it is 100% juice or with vitamin c. !00% juices with calcium and other vitamins require Kosher symbol on the packages.

Grape Juice:

Most grape juice do not carry kosher symbol but they do not use gelatin to clarified the grape juice, sometime times they use Halal enzymes to clarify juice. So 100% grape juice or white grape juice or with vitamin C is a Halal grape juice.

Carmine:

Carmine is a natural red color obtained from female beetles in South America and it is not a Halal color because in Hanafi fiqah all insects except locust are Haram.

Many red colored juices or red color soft drinks or red color punch contain carmine. So these products are not consider Halal.

Posted on: 05-27-11 11:56 AM


TITLE: Halal Chocolate Milk brand in IL, Michigan, Ohio, Indiana and Wisconsin

 

Halal Bareman Dairy's Halal Chocolate Milk in IL, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin

Bareman Dairy of Holland, Michigan is distributing Halal Chocolate Milk at Food Mart in Chicago, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin. This chocolate milk is kosher certified and has no natural or artificial flavor at all. Plant number 26-784 must be on the bottle of chocolate milk.


 

Posted on: 05-15-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Smart Balance Spread has mentioned no alcohol under flavor

SMART BALANCE SPREAD HAS MENTIONED NO ALCOHOL UNDER NATURAL FLAVOR

On the advice of MCG, when Muslim consumers in USA started asking question about the presence or absence of alcohol in flavors  in USA to consumer department of food companies for last 11 years thanks to Allah GFA Brands has respond to alcohol question by adding word NO ALCOHOL under Natural Flavor. GFA Brand Inc is a New Jersey based food company, a major manufacturer of Spreads under the famous brand name Smart Balance has  recently assure Muslim consumers that no alcohol was used as a solvent in Natural Flavor of Smart Balance's Organic Whipped Buttery Spread 79% Natural Vegetable Oils 100% Vegan 13 oz size with UPC code 3377601162 and has OU Kosher symbol.

The  ingredients statement of above product is listed as:

" Expeller pressed natural oil blend (palm fruit, soybean, canola and olive), filtered water, pure salt, natural flavor (derived from corn, no MSG, no alcohol, no gluten), crushed soy beans, soy lecithin, lactic acid (non dairy), colored with annatto extract from natural sources. "

(Please note that water is used as a extracting solvent in annatto extract).


 

Posted on: 04-27-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cultured Wheat Flour is a Halal product

 

CULTURED WHEAT FLOUR IS A HALAL PRODUCT

Cultured wheat Flour is made by adding bacteria to wheat flour for non alcoholic fermentation to produce organic acids such as lactic acid, acetic acid, butyric acid and propionic acid to lower the ph of the wheat flour. This cultured wheat flour is used as a natural mold inhibitor otherwise chemicals such as calcium propionate or sorbic acid or potassium sorbate has to use to retard the growth of molds on fresh bread and other fresh bakery products.

Cultured wheat flour is a Halal flour.

Posted on: 03-11-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: How to enjoy eating Halal yogurt with fruits

 

HOW TO ENJOY EATING HALAL YOGURT WITH FRUITS

As you know most yogurts with fruits are not Halal due to presence of kosher gelatin which is made from pork or non zabiha beef or natural or artificial flavor containing alcohol as a solvent. But there is a way to enjoy Halal yogurt with fruits by mixing Halal plain yogurt with Halal Jams or Halal Jellies or canned or fresh fruits. This is the only way because there is no Halal yogurts with fruits in supermarkets.

 

 

Posted on: 03-09-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Kit Kat are Halal only in USA

 

ALL KIT KAT ARE HALAL ONLY IN USA

Hershey has informed MCG that King size 3 oz and all other sizes of Kit Kat Crisp Wafers in Milk Chocolate are made with Halal Vanillin only and there is no other flavor is used in them. Kit Kats are Halal only in USA but not in Canada because they are not kosher certified. Nestle owns the Kit Kat formula and it gives license to Hershey to make Kit Kat only in USA.


 

Posted on: 03-09-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG Halal Certified Healthy Choice Bakery Products

 

MCG has Halal certified Chicago's Healthy Choice Bakery's Naan and Pita Bread products

Healthy Choice Bakery of Chicago, IL is under MCG's Halal certification program. The following products are Halal certified by MCG and Inshallah MCG Halal symbol will appear on the packages:

Brand Name: Healthy Choice Bakery

 

1. White Flour Kulcha Naan 2lbs

2. Whole Wheat Kulcha Naan 2lbs

3. White Flour Tandoori Naan 2 lbs

4. Whole Wheat Tandoori Naan 2lbs

5. White Flour Roghni 2 lbs

6. Whole Wheat Roghni 2 lbs

7. Pita Bread 2 lbs

8. Tabboni 2 lbs

9. Organic Pita Bread 2 lbs

 

Posted on: 02-23-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: PrairiePackaging and Pactive foam cup products are Halal

 

PRAIRIE PACKAGING, PACTIVE FOAM CUPS AND CARRY OUT DINNER CONTAINERS ARE HALAL

Prairie Packaging brands such as Pactive and Hefty foam products are made with soy fat Zink Stearate used  as lubricants on the mold to make foam and poly styrene products. These products are available in bulk quantity at Sam Club and Restaurant Depot.


 

Posted on: 02-08-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Ivory Snow Detergent is a Halal detergent

 

IVORY SNOW IS A HALAL DETERGENT

It is a Halal detergent because it is kosher certified and no alcohol is used in fragrance according to P & G company.

 

Posted on: 01-31-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Listerine Zero is a Halal Mouthwash

 

LISTERINE ZERO IS A HALAL MOUTHWAS

It is a Halal mouthwash because no animal derived ingredients are used. No pork gelycerin is used as a solvent in FD&C Green No. 3. Water is used as solvent in flavor.

 

Posted on: 01-31-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG at Saudi Arabia's First International Conference on Halal Food Control and Exhibition

Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada is participating at First International Conference on Halal Food Control and Exhibition on February 12-15 2012 at Intercontinental Hotel Riyadh -  Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. Br. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed of MCG will be speaker at the conference. He is going to present a research paper on "Processing Aid or Hidden Ingredients in Food Products and their Halal Status" .

Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada is also having a booth at the exhibition to show about our efforts in educating Muslim Ummah about Food Products and Food Ingredients and their Halal status. MCG is also explaining about our strict Halal certification without alcohol. For more information about the conference, please go to www.halalfood.sa

Posted on: 01-11-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Guestware paper plates are Halal

 

GESTWARE 8 7/8 INCH PAPER PALTES ARE HALAL

Pactive's Guestware 8 7/8 inch paper plates are Halal without any animal fat coating.
 

Posted on: 01-09-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Pork Fat in Tinactin Athlete Foot Spray

 

NO PORK FAT IN TINACTIN ATHLETE FOOT SPRAY & IT IS HALAL

Schering-Plough(Merck) Company has informed MCG that Tinactin Athlete Foot Spray available at Wal-Mart is not made with any pork fat or any animal derived ingredients and it is Halal because it does not contain any fragrance.

 


 

Posted on: 01-04-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: List of Halal Candies, Chocolate Bars & Ice Cream Bars from Mars Company

 

  LIST OF HALAL CANDIES, CHOCOLATE BARS & ICE CREAM BARS FROM MARS COMPANY

The following is the list of Halal Snacks and Ice Cream Bars from Mars Company made with Halal Vanillin with no alcohol but reported as artificial flavor under ingredients statement:

 

SNICKERS

1. Snickers 2. Snickers to Go 3. Snickers Peanut Butter Squared 4. Snickers Dark Brand 5. Snickers Almond 6. Snickers Minis

SNICKERS ICE CREAM BARS

1. Snickers Ice Cream Bars 2. Snickers Mini Ice Cream Bars

 

MILKY WAY

1. Milky Way 2. Milky Way Simply Caramel 3. Milky Way Minis

TWIX

1. Twix Single Pack 2. Twix Minis

M & M

1. M & M Milk Chocolate 2. M & M Peanut 3. M & M Coconut 4. M & M Dark Chocolate Peanut 5. M & M Pretzel  6. M & M Almond

DOVE

1. Dove Peanut Butter 2. Promises Silky Smooth Milk Chocolate Peanut Butter 3. Silky Smooth Milk Chocolate Extra Creamy

4. Silky Smooth Milk Chocolate Peanut Toffee

 


 

Posted on: 01-03-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Vanillin is used as Artificial Flavor in Mars Products

 

 HALAL VANILLIN IS USED AS A ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR IN ALL MARS SNACK PRODUCTS

Halal vanillin without Alcohol is used as artificial flavor in all Mars snack products. This information was provided by a Muslim Consumer from New Jersey. Then MCG called the Mars to verify the statement. Mars told MCG that only vanillin is used as artificial flavor in their product. MCG asked about the natural flavor then Mars informed us that natural vanilla flavor is used as natural flavor. The reference number for MCG call was 011388761A.

Natural vanilla flavor is obtained from vanilla beans by using alcohol and water as extracting solvents, so MCG do not consider this natural vanilla flavor as Halal.


 

Posted on: 01-03-11 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Food Products at Dunkin Donuts

 

 HALAL FOOD PRODUCTS AT DUNKIN DONUTS

Following Halal food products are made without any flavor. They are Kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements:

1. English Muffins

2. Corn Muffins

3. Honey Bran Raisin Muffins


 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Animal derived ingredients in Body Shop Makeup Products

 

NO ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS ARE USE IN BODY SHOP MAKEUP PRODUCTS

According to Body Shop Cosmetic Company no animal derived ingredients are used in their makeup products(As of December 29, 2010/1-800-263-9746).
 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: MAC Cosmetic Products are free from Pork Fat

 

MAC COSMETIC PRODUCTS ARE FREE FROM PORK FAT

MAC cosmetic has informed MCG through reference number 526005 that they do not use pork fat in their cosmetic products however they used Halal L anolin from sheep's wool.

 


 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Etude Makeup products do not use animal fat derived ingredients

 

ETUDE MAKEUP PRODUCTS DO NOT USE ANIMAL FAT DERIVED INGREDIENTS

According to an e-mail dated December 29, 2010 sent MCG by Etude Cosmetic Company indicating that they do not use any animal fat derived ingredients in their makeup products
 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Nivea Makeup Products are free from pork fat

 

NIVEA MAKEUP PRODUCTS ARE FREE FROM PORK FAT

According to Nivea Company they do not use pork fat in their makeup products(1-800-227-4703) as of December 29, 2010.
 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: American Beauty Makeup products are free from Pork Fat

AMERICAN BEAUTY MAKEUP PRODUCTS ARE FREE FROM PORK AND BEEF FAT

American Beauty Cosmetic Company has informed MCG that they do not use pork fat or beef fat in their makeup products. Only marine fish(Halla) and beeswax(Halal) are used intheir makeup product according to reference number 525853 dated December 29, 2010.


 

Posted on: 12-30-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Almay and Revlon Makeup products are not made with Pork ingredients

 

ALMAY AND REVLON MAKEUP PRODUCTS DONOT CONTAIN PORK INGREDIENTS

According to the company(1-800-992-5629) Almay and Revlon makeup products are not made with pork ingredients and there is no information about presence or absence of alcohol in fragrance. The followings are the source of ingredients:

1. Collagen from marine animals(Halal)

2. Elastin(not from pork)

3. Hydrolyzed Silk(Halal)

4. Beeswax(Halal)

5. Lanolin(from sheep's wool, Halal)

6. Milk Ingredients(no use of pork enzyme)


 

Posted on: 12-23-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Victoria Secret's makeup products are free from pork or beef based ingredients

 

VICTORIA SECRET MAKEUP PRODUCTS ARE FREE FROM ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS

According the company(1-800-411-5116)Victoria Secret brand of makeup are not made with pork or beef or any animal derived ingredients. There is no information about presence or absence of alcohol in fragrance.

Posted on: 12-23-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: All Crest Floss are Halal

 

ALL CREST BRAND FLOSS ARE HALAL

P & G has informed MCG that all Crest brand floss are made with teflon and coated with beeswax a Halal ingredient.

 

 

Posted on: 12-23-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: In UK Pringles Original and Original 40 g are only Halal Snacks

 

PRINGLES ORIGINAL and 40 GRAMS ORIGINAL SNACKS ARE HALAL IN UK

Pringle Original and Original 40 grams are only Halal snacks in UK because E-471 is made from vegetable fat and there is no flavor in the products so there is no alcohol in flavor. "Suitable For Vegetarian" label has mentioned on the package according a UK Muslim consumer.

 

Posted on: 12-13-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Rogain free from animal derived ingredients

 

Rogain Hair Regrowth is free from animal derived ingredients

According to McNeil-PPC no animal derived ingredients are used in both men/women Rogain in foam and topical solution form.


 

Posted on: 12-11-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Wal-Mart's Great Value Dry Coffee Creamer is Halal now

 

  Wal-Mart's Great Value Dry Coffee Creamer is Halal now

According to Wal-Mart the dry coffee creamer suppliers has notified Wal-Mart consumer department that they do not use alcohol as a carrier or solvent in artificial flavor of Great Value Dry Coffee Creamer. MCG has requested Wal-Mart consumer department to inquire about it.

MCG has already know that there is no alcohol in artificial flavor based on plant code 9429 which appears on the lid of coffee Creamer of Wal-Mart's Great Value brand and the same plant code appeared on Jewel Food and other Super Value supermarkets dry coffee creamer. MCG has received information on Jewel and other Super Value dry coffee creamer that no alcohol is used in artificial flavor in 2009. It means the same supplier is supplying same dry coffee Creamer to both Super Value supermarkets and Wal-Mart superstores.

If you see the plant code 9424 on any supermarket's dry coffee creamer with kosher symbol it means no alcohol is used in artificial flavor. This is the way people in food industry can find out how is the supplier.

 

 

 

Posted on: 12-02-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Only Halal Garvy Mix

 

Tony Chachere's Creole Instant Roux Mix

There is no Halal gravy mix in any supermarket because gravy mix is either made with pork or non zabiha beef fat or Not Halal dairy ingredients or Not Halal flavors.

Tony Chacheres Creole Instant Roux Mix (Please call 800-551-9066 to find which supermarket carries their Roux mix) is the only Halal alternate for Halal gravy mix. MCG has contacted the company and find out that they do not use any hidden ingredients beside what is declared under the ingredients statement. You can adjust it to make the Halal gravy.


 

Posted on: 11-25-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Johnson & Johnson Bedtime & Head to Toe lotions are free from pork

 

Johnson & Johnson consumer department are giving untrue information to their 800 callers. The supervisor of the consumer department has updated the information and informed MCG with Reference Number 010112330B that the following baby lotions are free from any animal derived ingredients including pork:

1.Johnson & Johnson Bedtime Lotion with fragrance

2. Johnson & Johnson Head to Toe Lotion fragrance free


 

Posted on: 11-08-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: INFORMATION ABOUT COLGATE TOOTHPASTES IN USA

 

MCG requested the list from Colgate Company about Colgate Toothpastes in USA which are free from animal derived ingredients.

Here is their answer:

All Colgate Toothpastes and Toothbrushes that are marketed in the U.S., with the exception of Colgate Wisp and Colgate Max Fresh with Mouthwash Beads, are free of any animal-derived ingredients.  All glycerin used in our Toothpastes comes from only synthetic or vegetable sources


 

Posted on: 10-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: SUNNY D BEVERAGES ARE NOW HALAL BECAUSE NO ALCOHOL IS ADDED TO FLAVORS

 

A Muslim consumer has provided this e-mail from Sunny Delight Beverages Company (It is a fact all natural 100% fruit juices contain a very little amount of alcohol naturally produced in fruit during ripening of fruits and this alcohol in fruits is consider OK to consume):


Good Afternoon,

Thank you for contacting Sunny Delight Beverages

Company. Our suppliers do not add alcohol as a solvent in any of our

products.

Sincerely,                           

Sunny Delight Beverages Co

Consumer Relations Department

 


 

 

 

Posted on: 10-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG Halal certified Seneca Farm's Crisp Onion Chips for retail market

 

Alhumdulillah MCG has Halal certified first snack chip product.

Seneca Farm's Crisp Onion Chips is now a MCG Halal certified product. This product do not contain any alcohol containing flavor.

Seneca Farms Authentic Crisp Onion Chips with UPC Code 0 18195 50000 7 is available in 3.5 oz. size package.

Seneca Farms Crisp Onion Chips are available at Kroger, Target, AWC, C & S Wholesale Grocers, Hyde Grocers.

Inshallah our Halal symbol H/MCG will be on the Onion Chip package after the current inventory of packaging material are used.


 

Posted on: 10-06-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Cake Mixes and Frosting

 

Alhumdulillah Muslim consumers now enjoy baking Halal Carrot Cake, Chocolate Cake, Yellow Cake with Halal Whipped Vanilla Frosting WITHOUT ALCOHOL IN FLAVORS at their homes for any occation.

Duncan Hines Classic Carrot Cake Mix Decadent Cake Mix, Chocolate Mixes such as Red Velvet Cake Mix, German Chocolate Cake Mix, Dark Chocolate Fudge Mix, Whipped Vanilla Frosting.

Betty Crockers Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix, Gluten Free Devil Food Cake Mix.

 

Posted on: 09-22-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Indian made Horlicks is Halal

 

HORLICKS MADE IN INDIA IS A HALAL PRODUCT

According to an e-mail from Smithkline Consumer Healthcare Ltd with Reference No.: 54021853208 sent to a Muslim consumer that there is no animal derived ingredients except milk solids and no alcohol used as a solvent in  flavor in Horlicks made in India.

Horlicks also has a vegetarin green dot symbol on the bottle. Horlics is sold in Indian Pakistani stores throughout USA and Canada
 

Posted on: 08-14-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Master Foam Cups are Halal

 

 MASTER FOAM CUPS IN FLORIDA ARE HALAL

In a e-mail to one of Muslim consumer, the Master Container of Mulberry, FL wrote that they used vegetable fat based Stearic Acid as a lubricant on the molds of foam cups.


 

Posted on: 08-14-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Vitamins at Vitamin Shop

 

HALAL VITAMINS & CHELATING MINERALS AT VITAMIN SHOPPE STORES

Solgar’s Halal vitamins Formula VM-75 and Calcium Citrate with kosher symbol are available at 400 VITAMIN SHOPPE stores nationwide from coast to coast. Please visit www.vitaminshoppe.com for store near your home.
 

Posted on: 08-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Milk without Artificial Hormon

 

MANY MILK BRANDS NOW HAS A PLEDGE STATEMENT OF WITHOUT ARTIFICIAL HORMONES

Milk brands such as Dean, Jewel, Lactaid, Great Value and others now has a pledge statement from their farmers on their milk containers:

"Our Farmers pledge Not to use Artificial Growth Hormones"

"No Artificial Growth Hormone, No significant difference has been shown between milk derived from rBST-treated and non-rBST treated cows."

This is a very good news for Muslim consumers. MCG requests Muslim consumers to bring those brands of milk with pledge statement to their homes.

 

Posted on: 07-29-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: First Halal Cake Mixes w/o flavor

 

FIRST HALAL CAKE MIXES WITHOUT FLAVOR

Betty Crocker has introduced new Gluten Free Devil’s Food Cake Mix and Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix for both USA and Canada. These are the first Halal cake mixes without any flavor. These products are kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. These cake mixes are made in Canada
 

Posted on: 06-08-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Children Halal Multivitamins

 

MAXI HEALTH'S KIDDIEVITE LIQUID MULTIVITAMINS IS A HALAL MULTIVITAMINS FOR CHILDREN

One of our Muslim consumer has provided MCG an e-mail from Maxi Health which states that no alcohol is used in the flavor of Kiddievite children liquid multivitamins. This multivitamins can be purchesed from www.maxihealth.com(1-800-895-9555) or www.koshervitamins.com or from Vitamin Shoppe stores or any vitamin store which carry Maxi Health vitamins. Kiddievite is a kosher certified liquid multivitamins for children and meets the Halal requirements.


 

Posted on: 05-17-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: 12 FAVORITE FOODS OF PROPHET SAYYIDINA MOHAMMED SALLALLAHU ALAIHI WASALLUM

1. BARLEY
2. DATES
3. FIGS
4. GRAPES
5. HONEY
6. ALL TYPES OF MELON
7. MILK
8. MUSHROOMS
9. OLIVE OIL
10. POMEGRANATE
11. VINEGAR
12. WATER
COURTESY OF WWW.NIDOKIDOS.ORG
 

Posted on: 05-08-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sugar Alcohols

 

Sugar Alcohols

Sugar alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrates. Many Muslim consumers has asked us about Halal status of sugar alcohols in Questions and Answers section of our website. We answered them in the above section. So we decided to explain about them in News section of our website. The sugar alcohols are made from plant carbohydrates except Lactitol which can be made from sucrose or whey's lactose or milk sugar  and all the sugar alcohols are Halal  except Erythritol and if Lactittol  is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal. There is no ethyl alcohol present in them. Alcohol is just the name because of chemical formulas. FDA recognized sugar alcohols as GRAS(Generally Recognized As Safe). Sugar alcohols are not artificial sweeteners technically and slightly lower in calories compare to sugar. The most important use of them is in chewing gums, sugar free candiaes and cookies because they do not cause tooth decay and good for diabetes because on consuming them the blood sugar will not increase. The most important sugar alcohols are Sorbitol or Glucitol, Xylitol, Lactitol, Mannitol, Maltitol, Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates, Isomalt, . No bone char is used in sugar alcohols as compare to sugar. Sugar alcohols are slow fermented carbohydrate than sugar. Sugar alcohols are not fermented by oral bacteria in mouth, this is determind by FDA through McNail company’s research. Sorbitol, Mannitol, Maltitol and Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates are manufactured from cornstarch. Xylitol is manufactured from corn cobs, sugar cane bagasse, birch wood waste.

Lactitol is made from sucrose and whey. When Lactitol is manufactured from sweet whey then we have to be very careful about it. Whey has to be Halal or kosher certified otherwise Lactitol will not be Halal if it is manufactured from sweet whey which is obtained from animal rennet whey. Even if it is obtained from acid whey the starter culture bacteria and starter culture media upon the bacteria grow has to be Halal. If a Halal or kosher symbol appears on a food product package containing Lactitol, it means lactitol is either made from sucrose or Halal or kosher certified whey.

Erythritol is obtined either cornstarch or fruits through alcoholic fermentation because there is no lactic acid ferementation to be Halal. Sugar alcohol Erythritol is not consider Halal.

Lactitol is considered as Mushbooh and depond upon the Halal or kosher status of rennet whey and acid whey.

 

 

 

Posted on: 04-25-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Information about Wrigley Gums

 

INFORMATION ABOUT WRIGLEY GUMS

The following information is provided by Wrigley USA. But MCG will not assign Halal status to products below because according to MCG criteria they are not under Halal or Kosher certification. Wrigley will not provide list of Haram hidden ingredients used in the products below nor they provide the cross contamination with gelatin containing products during the production of products below. Specially we cannot accept Skittle candies although Wrigley claimed they are free from animal derived ingredients. Master Foods Company (Mars) is used to own the brand Skittle and they use to make them with gelatin. But flavors, colors has to be Halal or Kosher certified. Since they are not under Halal Kosher certification. There is no protection for Muslims in USA against change in ingredients from Halal to Haram and use of Haram hidden ingredients. There is also no guarantee against use of rework products containing gelatin. Wrigley warned the Muslim consumers that at any time the ingredients and its source may change. This is the reason they wrote at the end that they will not responsible for any change in the ingredients.
We just published their list of product because any Muslim consumer can obtained the list and follow their claim. It is up to individual Muslim whether to consume or not to consume their products. We just provided information.
The following products are made without animal derived ingredients. 
Wrigley consumer department has informed MCG that they have information obtained from their own QA department who has the access of specification of flavors used in the products mentioned below that alcohol was not used as solvent in the flavor by their flavor suppliers. Now we can trust the Wrigley's consumer department when they said no alcohol in flavors.
Wrigley 5 Gum
Wrigley’s Spearmint® gum
Doublemint® gum and mints
Big Red® gum
Juicy Fruit® stick gum
Winterfresh® gum
Five® Cobalt, Rain, Flare and Lush gums

Extra® Cinnamon, Bubble Gum, Peppermint, Spearmint, Winterfresh, Cool Green Apple, Cool Watermelon, Supermint, Berry Pearadise and Fruit Sensations flavors

Eclipse® gum and mints
Hubba Bubba® chunk and tape gums
Big League Chew® shredded gum
Freedent® gum

Orbit® Bubblemint, Wintermint, Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamint, Sweetmint,

Citrusmint, Fabulous Fruitini, Lemon Lime, Maui Melon Mint, Mint Mojito,

Raspberry Mint and Sangria Fresca
Orbit® WhiteTM pellet gums


 

Posted on: 03-18-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: HALALA VITAMINS AND VITAMINS WITHOUT ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS

 

1. LANDAU CENTRALAN MULTIVITAMINS & MINERAL WHICH EQULA TO CENTRUM  LN-735-1  UPC: 078328973511AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

2. MAXI HEALTH SUPREME MULTI VITAMINS MXM-110 UPC 753406001064 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

3. Solgar Formula VM-2000 Multi Vitamin & Mineral 1180 TAB SL-1189 UPC 033984011892 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

4. Solgar Formula VM-75 90 TAB SL-1182 UPC 033984011823 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

5. Zahlers MultiVite Complete One-A-Day Multi Vitamin & Mineral 90 Tablets ZA-110462 UPC 779663110462 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

6. Maxi Health Maxi One Prenatal 60 TAB MXM-14306 UPC 753406143061 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

7. Landau Prenatal 100 TAB ln-725-1 UPC 078328972514 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

8. Solgar Calcium Citrate With Vitamin D3 60 TAB SL-432 UPC 03398004320 AVIALBALE AT VITAMINS STORES SUCH AS VITAMIN SHOPPEE.

9. Maxi Health Maxi Health Maxi Omega-3 Fish Oil Mood Formula EPA/DHA 60 Maxicaps Product # MXF-21706 UPC: 753406217069 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

VITAMINS AND MINERALS WITHOUT ANIMAL DERVIED INGREDIENTS


1. ONE A DAY VITAMINS 20 POWDER(ALCOHOL MAY OR MAY NOT BE USED IN FLAVOR, VITAMIN D OBTAINED FROM SHEEP’S WOOL, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT KOSHER CERTIFIED).

2. ONE A DAY ENERGY ADVOCATE 20 POWDER(ALCOHOL MAY OR MAY NOT BE USED IN FLAVOR, VITAMIN D OBTAINED FROM SHEEP’S WOOL, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT KOSHER CERTIFIED).

THESE POWDERS NEED TO BE DISSOLVED IN WATER.

3. VITA FUSION CALCIUM WITH VITAMIN D(MADE WITH PECTIN NOT GELATIN, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT KOSHER CERTIFIED).

 

 

Posted on: 03-11-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Styrofoam Cups

 

HALAL STYROFOAM CUPS AT DIFFERENT US SUPERMARKETS

Winn Cups Company of Georgia not only manufactured their own styrofoam cups brand "WIN-CUP" by using only vegetable fat on molds but also make for the following brands:

1. Safeway Brand Insulated Beverage Cups 8 oz, 12 oz and 16 oz in Safeway, VON, Dominick and  Randall Supermarkets.

2. Everyday Brand Insulated Beverage 16 oz cup in Dominick Supermarkets in Chicago area.

3. Homelife Brand of Supervalue Company 8 oz, 16 oz cups at Jewel Supermarkets in Chicago area, Cups Foods supermarkets in IL and MN.

They all have "W" symbol at bottom of the cups. 

 

 

Posted on: 03-07-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: NO PORK DERIVED INGREDIENTS IN JOHNSON BABY PRODUCTS

 

NO PORK DERIVED INGREDIENTS IN JOHNSON BABY PRODUCTS

Johnson Company has informed MCG that they do not use pork derived ingredients in their baby products but use non zabiha beef or beef tallow derived ingredients in their baby products.

Reference number 008830169 can be varified by any one by calling 1-866-565-2229.


 

Posted on: 03-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Johnson Baby Oil Baby Skin Car

 

JOHNSON BABY OIL BABY SKIN CARE IS A HALAL PRODUCT

Johnson Company has informed MCG that The Fragrance used in Johnson Baby Oil contains Cinnammyl Alcohol not Ethyl Alcohol as a Hidden Solvent and other major ingredient is Minerol Oil.

Cinnamyl Alcohol is found in cinnamon leaves with Molecular formula of C9 H10 O while ethyl alcohol or ethanol molecular formula is CH3 CH2 OH.

Reference number 008830169 can be varified by any one by calling 1-866-565-2229.

Posted on: 03-04-10 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pure & Natural Bar Soap/Body Wash

 

DIAL’S PURE AND NATURAL BAR SOAP AND BODY WASH ARE HALAL FOR  MUSLIM CONSUMERS IN USA & CANADA

According Dial company there is no animal fat or animal derived ingrediets or alcohol in fragrance used in Pure & Natural Bar Soaps and Pure & Natural Body Washes.

They are available at Wal-Mart, K-Mart, Target, Rite Aid, Harris Teeter, Kroger, Meijer, Publix, HEB,  Safeway supermarkets, Jewel & Osco supermarkets in Chicago area. They are also available in Canada only at Wal-Mart.


 

Posted on: 12-29-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG HALAL CERTIFIED OILS

 

MCG HALAL CERTIFIED EDIBLE OILS IN CANADA & USA

The following edible oil products distributed by Y & Y Distribution Company of Montreal, QC Canada are Halal certified by MCG with HMCG Halal symbol on the containers are available in Canada and New York City USA.

BRAND                    PRODUCT                    NET WEIGHT    UPC CODES  

SAVOURY               CANOLA OIL                 3 LITER          80998 00100

SAVOURY               CANOLA OIL                 16 LITER        80998 00101

SAVOURY               CANOLA OIL                 946 ML           80998 00102

SAVOURY               CANOLA OIL                 473 ML           80998 00103

SAVOURY               SUNFLOWER OIL         946 ML           80998 00104

SAVOURY               SUNFLOWER OIL         16 LITER         80998 00105

SAVOURY               CORN OIL                       946 ML           80998 00106

SAVOURY               SOY OIL                          16 LITER         80998 00107
 

Posted on: 12-05-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sara Lee's Halal Bagels

 

LIST OF HALAL SARA LEE BAGELS
A Muslim consumer sent a feedback to us indicating that the Mono & Di Glycerides in Cinnamon Raisin bagels is from animal fat. This information is not true because all Sara Lee Bagels are kosher certified. It means Mono & Diglycerides is obtained from soy fat not animal fat. A Kosher symbol OU is also present on all Sara Lee Bagels. Sara Lee has stopped using L-Cysteine in their bagel products. Following is the list of Halal Sara Lee Bagels:
Cinnamon Raisin Bagels
Plain Bagels
Deluxe Whole Wheat Plain Bagels
Deluxe Every Thing Bagels
Deluxe Cinnamon Raisin Bagels
Deluxe Plain Bagels
The above list is already present on our website. The person who wrote the feedback did not provide his e-mail address and this is the way to clear his doubts.

 

 

 

Posted on: 11-22-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: MCG' s Recommendation

 

MCG's RECOMMENDATION
MCG recommend Muslims in US to buy only those kosher certified food products which meet the Halal requirements without natural or artificial flavor except Vanillin because some food companies are not providing information about presence or absence of alcohol in flavors.

 

Posted on: 10-29-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Extract Annatto & Turmeric Halal

EXTRACT ANNATTO AND TURMERIC IS HALAL IN BIMBO BAKERY PRODUCTS AND PEPPERIDGE FARM 'S FROZEN PASTRY SHEETS OR SHELLS
MCG has investigated the extracting solvents for Extract Annatto and Turmeric which is used in Bimbo bakery products and Pepperidge Farm's Frozen Pastry Sheets and Shells for colors. The Annatto is extracted with Methyl Alcohol which is a Halal solvent and Turmeric is extracted with Acetone which is a Halal chemical solvent. It is kosher certified extract for a major supplier.
 

Posted on: 10-22-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Pasta Sauce

 

 PASTA SAUCE

MCG has launched a extensive investigation about the cross contamination issue of those pasta sauces which are made with Halal ingredients because they are not under any certification. Campbell Soup Company maker of Prego brand of pasta sauces brand,  Heinz maker of Classico brand of pasta sauces, Unilever maker of Ragu and Bertolli brand of pasta sauces.

They all told mcg that after manufacture of each type of pasta sauce the whole line IS washed thoroughly so that there is no cross contamination. Many company has assigned certain pasta sauces as suitable for vegetarian and they make sure no cheese or dairy, meat ingredient containing pasta sauces get contaminated with pasta sauces suitable for vegetarian. Based on their information, MCG has assigned Halal status to the following pasta sauces:
CLASSICO BRAND
Tomato Basil Pasta Sauce
Mushroom & Ripolive Pasta Sauce
Roasted Garlic Pasta Sauce
Spicy Red Pepper Pasta Sauce
Sundried Tomato Pasta Sauce
Fire Roasted Tomato & Garlic Pasta Sauce
RAGU BRAND
Robusto 7 Herb Tomato Pasta Sauce
Robusto Sautéed Onion & Garlic Pasta Sauce
BERTOLLI BRAND
Tomato & Basil Pasta Sauce
Olive Oil & Garlic Pasta Sauce
Mushroom & Garlic Pasta Sauce
Prego brand's only one Mushroom Organic Pasta Sauce is still under investigation for presence of alcohol in natural flavoring.
 


          
 

Posted on: 10-19-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Stride & Bubblicious gums

 

NO ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS AND NO ALCOHOL IN STRIDE AND BUBBLICIOUS GUMS

According to Cadbury Adam all Stride and Bubblicious gums are made without animal derived ingredients and no alcohol is used in flavors.

The above information is provided by Cadbury Adam USA. But MCG will not assign Halal status to their products because according to MCG criteria they are not under Halal or Kosher certification. The company will not provide list of Haram hidden ingredients used in the above products nor they provide the cross contamination with gelatin containing products during the production of products above. It is up to individual Muslim whether to consume or not to consume above products. We just provided information.


 

Posted on: 09-30-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Bean Combo at Taco Bell

 

Please order this Halal combination at Taco Bell if you interested:

Main Item: Beans
Shell: Taco Shell or Toastada Shell
Sauce: Salsa or Fiesta Salsa or Pizza Sauce or Guacamole

Taco Bell will not have any problem for preparing above combination

Posted on: 08-31-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Mascarpone cheeses

BelGioioso's Mascarpone, Crema di Mascarpone, Tiramisu Mascarpone cheeses are Halal available at Deli department at A & P supermarkets in northeast only. A Muslim consumer from New Jersey has provided this information to us.

Posted on: 08-30-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: What is Isinglass ingredient

 

 Isinglass

When fish bladders are dried, this forms a substance known as ‘isinglass.’ The bladders can come from either wild-caught or farmed fish. Sturgeon (Ockerman, 1991), channel catfish (Eun, Chung, and Hearnsberger, 1994), and tilapia, megrim, cod, and tuna (Gilsenan and Ross-Murphy, 2000) have all been used at various times. Commentators differ as to whether isinglass is a gelatin or a raw collagen. One food science reference defines isinglass as “[a] refined


gelatin obtained from the collagen of the outer layer of the dried swim bladder of a fish (e.g., sturgeon) and used as an edible jelly, to preserve eggs, and for clarifying wine and beer” (Ockerman, 1991, emphasis added; see also Light, 1989). Other sources consider it to be raw collagen, but indicate that the collagen can be turned into gelatin simply by heating, without a synthetic chemical reaction (Hickman, et al., 2000). Adding fruit juice and various spices, heating, cooling, and filtering can also reduce isinglass to a stable, consistent gelatin (Cooper, 1845). Isinglass is unique among collagens in that it possesses many of the chemical and functional properties of gelatin without being denatured by processing with synthetics. Many common tests are unable to distinguish whether isinglass is a collagen or a gelatin. One study prepared a denatured gelatin from isinglass by treatment in a waterbath at 60°C. (140°F.) (Leather, et al., 1994).
 

Posted on: 08-03-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Prescription Cream

FOUGERA CLOBETASOL CREAM A GENERIC PRESCRIPTION CREAM IS HALAL

If you have itching problem and rash on your body, please ask your Dermatologist to prescribed Fougera Clobetasol a generic cream to be used on itching and rash area of your body. Fougera’s Quality Assurance has told MCG the source of fat based ingredients in the cream are from plant fat and there is no alcohol int. Each gram of Clobetasol cream contains: Clobetasol Propionate 0.5 mg in cream base of Propylene Glycol, Glycerol Monostearate, Cetostearyl Alcohol(no ethyl alcohol, this is a fat wax), Glycerol Stearate, PEG 100 Stearate, White Wax, Citric Acid Anhydrous, and purified Water.

MCG has provide this information for the purpose of avoiding pork fat based creams to be applied to body. It is Haram to use pork fat based cream on the body because through porous cells of our skin, pork fat goes inside our body.


 

Posted on: 07-10-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Aveeno's Body Washes Fit For Muslims

ONLY TWO AVEENO BODY WASHES ARE FIT FOR MUSLIMS

New Improved Aveeno Active Natural Skin Relief Body Wash and Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Body Wash are free from animal derived ingredients and free from alcohol.


 

Posted on: 07-10-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Cling Free, Essential Dryer sheets

 

ANIMALFAT FREE CLING FREE AND ESSENTIAL DRYER SHEETS

Cling Free and Essential brands of dryer sheets are not made with animal derived ingredients according to the manufacturers.

 

Posted on: 06-26-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Ovaltine Products are Halal

 

 ALL OVALTINE PRODUCTS ARE HALAL

Nestle has informed MCG that three flavors of ovaltine Rich Chocolate Mix, Chocolate Malt and Classic Malt are not made with alcohol containing flavors. All these flavors are kosher certified

 

Posted on: 06-24-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Alcohol in Veg-All Vegetables

 

 VEG-ALL ORIGINAL CANNED MIXED VEGETABLE IS HALAL
Allen Canning Company wrote that the Onion Flavoring used as an ingredient in Veg All Original Canned Mixed Vegetable do not contain alcohol as a solvent. It is a onion extract without alcohol not as flavor. It is similar termed used for Natural Flavoring which is a Oleoresin of black pepper or extract of black pepper with acetone.

SUPER VALUE CANNED STEWED TOMATOES ITALIAN STYLE IS ALSO HALAL

Red Gold Canning Company a co packer for Super Value canned vegetables has informed MCG that the natural flavor do not contain alcohol as a solvent in Super Value Canned Stewed Tomatoes Italian Style.

CONAGRA FOODS REFUSED TO PROVIDE INFORMATION ABOUT ALCOHOL IN THE NATURAL FLAVOR OF HUNT'S CANNED STEWED TOMATOES

Conagra Foods has refused to provide information about presence or absence of alcohol as a solvent in natural flavor of Hunt's Canned Stewed Tomatoes.


 

Posted on: 06-24-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: No alcohol in flavor of Gorton

 

NO ALCOHOL IN FLAVORS OF GORTON FISH PRODUCTS IN US & CANADA

Gorton food Inc. has informed MCG on phone that all the flavors used in coating seasonings of Gorton and Blue water(in Canada) brnad of frozen fish products with kosher symbol on them are not made with alcohol. It tooks two months to investigate our question. They are trying to get this information in writing. Inshallah we will change the status of frozen fish products of Gorton and Blue water brands with kosher symbol researched in 2008 and 2009.


 

Posted on: 06-18-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Aveeno Shampoo can be used

 

ne of our sister has provide the e-mail from Aveeno that All of the Aveeno hair products, shampoos and conditioners, are alcohol free and animal byproduct free.  You may confirm by calling their toll-free number, 1-888-638-5242.

 

Posted on: 06-15-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: No pork enzyme in UK breads

 

It is reported on
http://www.metro.co.uk/news/article.html?Most_bread_not_fit_for_vegetarians&in_article_id=636820&in_page_id=34
"ThatMost bread sold in shops is not fit for vegetarians because it is baked using animal products, food campaigners say. At least 90 per cent of loaves are made with additives which could include enzymes from the pancreas of pigs. These are used to speed up the baking process"
MCG’s  professional opinion is that UK Muslims should not be worried about pork enzymes used in bread when bread has "Suitable for Vegetarian" label on the package.
We  have published under our NEWS section about enzymes used in bakery products, they are amylase enzyme obtained from Halal  cereal, fungi, bacteria sources. They also some time use Protease enzyme obtained from bacteria. These Amylase enzymes in bread and other bakery products are Halal. The reason they use that the wheat flour which also contains these amylase enzymes are not enough in quantity to provide some quality of bread.
Lipase enzyme is used to break the fat, some time it is  obtained from pig pancreas but it is not used in  breads because the fat content of bread is very small. One slice of any bread (26 grams serving size) contains only one gram of fat. But Lipase is used in cheese making and there is also Halal Microbial Lipase obtained from microbial Halal source.
The article in Metro UK mentioned one truth that enzyme used in bakery products is destroyed during baking so the manufacturer should not report it in the ingredients statement. Most of them are non bacterial enzymes such as Alpha amylase from Halal cereal or fungal source and the companies do not have to report on the ingredients statement because the non bacterial enzymes are died during baking.  Some companies use bacterial amylase and do not report under ingredients statement because it is considered as a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient and FDA allows it.
Bacterial Amylase enzyme is stilled used in USA in fresh bagels but this Halal amylase enzyme from bacteria is surveyed during baking to work to delay staling and make it soft, so that bagels remained fresh un till 15 days without staling. Halal bacterial amylase enzyme from Novozyme company and Halal bacterial amylase enzyme G4 Amylase from Danisco are used in fresh bagels. Some bakery mentioned this Amylase enzyme on the ingredients statement such as Natural Oven Bakery’s Bagel products and some do not such as Thomas’s Bagel in USA.
The UK bread companies such as Hovis, Allied Bakers, Warburtons, ASDA has already provided statements as published on one UK website that their breads are not made with pork enzyme when label "Suitable for Vegetarian" mentioned on the bread package.

 

Posted on: 06-02-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Triaminic Children Syrups

 

The following Triaminic Syrups for children are kosher certified and have no alcohol in flavor. They are not made with animal derived ingredients according to Novartis(1-800-452-0051).


Triaminic® Day Time Cold & Cough

Triaminic® Night Time Cold & Cough

Triaminic® Cold & Allergy

Triaminic® Chest & Nasal Congestion

Not Kosher certified but contains no animal fat based ingredients & no information on alcohol:

Triaminic® Cough & Sore Throat 

No information on animal fat based ingredients

Triaminic® Long Acting Cough Triaminic® Long Acting Cough

 

 


 

Posted on: 06-01-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Afterglow, Rose, Gabriel Cosmetic Companies and their products

 

 The following cosmetic products from the following companies do not use animal derived ingredients:

Afterglow Cosmetic Company:


The following products are made without alcohol and without animal derived ingredients except Organic Beeswax. They are:

Pencil liners, Lipstick, Mascara, Cosmetic Brushes.

Rose Cosmetic Company:

The Gourmet Rose Cosmetic company is located at Sedro Woolley, WA. Cosmetic products are sold on EBay. According to their e-mails, they are a vegan company. The cosmetic products are not made from animal derived ingredients and they do not use any alcohol or alcohol extract in their products. They use fruit juices, mineral pigment for natural color, made with 100% pure essential oils, herbs and botanicals (E-mail address: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ''> thegourmetrose@wavecable.comThis e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ). PINK ROSE LIPSTICK Matte Mineral Makeup Natural VEGAN is a Halal lipstick.

MCG website is a Halal foods website for Muslim. But our sister insists us to provide information on the Halal status of cosmetic products because they do not want to use pork based lipsticks or other cosmetic products. So we are doing this service to help our sisters to use Halal cosmetic products. We are helped by our sisters who provide us e-mails from cosmetic companies.

Gabriel Cosmetic Company

Gabriel Cosmetic Company is based in Bellevue WA (1-800-497-6419). According to the company e-mails their product are vegan and they do not use any alcohol based or animal derived ingredients in their products. They sell color (Eye, Lips and face colors), skincare, body & bath, specialty products, shop ZuZu Luxe(Eye, Lip, Face) and Clean Kid products(www.gabrielcosmeticsinc.com)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 05-31-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Aluminium Foil & Saran Wrap

 

he following Aluminium foil and Saran wrap are Halal:

 Aluminium Foils: Value Time and Ultra Foil brands

Saran Premium Wrap: Johnson brand


 

Posted on: 05-23-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Imodium caplet contains Non-Zabiha beef

 

Non Zabiha beef fat in Imodium Caplets

According to MCNeil company the stearic Acid is obtained from non zabiha beef fat and it is used in Imodium Multi Symptom Relief caplets and Imodium A-D-EZ chews caplets. There is no pork derived ingredients used in above products.  There is no information about use of alcohol in flavor. Please consult with your Mufti about their use.

 

Posted on: 05-14-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Vanilla Flavors in Ice cream and other food products

 

Vanilla Flavors in Ice cream and other food products

There are 5 different vanilla flavors are used in Ice Cream and other food products.

Natural Vanilla Flavor, Vanilla Extract, Artificial Vanilla Flavor, Vanillin, Dried Vanilla Beans

1. Natural Vanilla flavor is always made with alcohol as a solvent because natural vanill flavor is extracted from vanilla beans with alcohol and water. The vanilla beans left over after alcohol extraction can be used as Vanilla or Vanilla Specks, but some ulema still think it is not Halal because they were treated with alcohol, although there is no alcohol left over in the beans after extraction.

2. Vanilla Extract by defination must contain minimum 35% alcohol. Vanilla extract is used in ice cream, cookies and other products. Vanilla Extract is not consider as a Halal ingredient.

3. Artificial Vanilla Flavor is made with or without alcohol as a solvent. Pacific Valley Dairy's soft vanilla ice cream sold in 2007 at ISNA convention is made with artificial vanilla flavor where Propylene Glycol is used as a solvent not alcohol. Propylene Glycol is a Halal solvent. Similrly Baskins Robbins some cones are made with alcohol free artificial flavors according the company.

4. Vanillin is a Halal ingredient, no alcohol is used during its production. It is a  artificial flavor made from Halal raw materials.

5. Dried Vanilla Beans is provided by McCormic spice company and it is available in every US supermarket in spice section for home made ice cream or home made cookies. Dried Vanilla beans is different from vanilla beans left over after alcohol extraction. Dried Vanilla bean is a natural dried beans from vanilla plants and it is 1a 00% Halal ingredient. It is possible that it may be used in food products. If you see vanilla or vanilla specks as an ingredient in a any food product, please ask the manufacturer how it is made.

 

 

Posted on: 05-05-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Pork or Beef in Nivea Products

There is no pork or beef derived ingredients in Nivea skin care products according to the company. They may contain Lanolin which is obtained from sheep's wool fat and it is consider as Halal. Similrly they contain waxes obtained from bees. Some product are made from fish derived ingredients. They will not answer  the information about presence or absence of alcohol in in fragrance.
 

Posted on: 04-28-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Some Tums Tablets are Halal

All Tums tablets are Halal except Tums Ex Sugar Free and Tums Smoothy are not Halal because they are made with animal derived ingredients. Other Tums tablet are not made with animal derived ingrediets and there is no alcohol in flavor according to Smith Klien Company.

Posted on: 04-10-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Hansen's Fruit Juices

 

The following fruit juices from Hansen company are Halal:

Apple Juice, Organic apple juice, Junior Mixed fruit juice, Junior apple juice, Junior White Grape juice, Apple grape juice, Junior organic apple juice are Halal because they do not contain flavors and extracts but they are kosher certified.

Posted on: 04-09-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: ALEVE TABLET & CAPLET PRODUCT

Only Aleve’s Tablet and Caplet pain reliever products are free from any animal derived ingredients.

Posted on: 03-28-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal L-Cysteine

 

There are two companies who makes the Halal L-Cysteine and they are:

1. Wacker Chemie of Germany who make the L-Cysteiene by bacterial fermentation in which no alcohol is produced. It is also term as L-Cysteine from fermentation.

2. Ajinomonto Company makes L-Cysteine by synthetic method. This L-Cysteine is Halal certified by Council of Indonesia Ulema.

The L-Cysteine made from human hair is a Haram ingredient. The L-Cystiene made from chicken/duck feathers is not consider as Halal by ulema.

 

 

 


 


 

Posted on: 03-19-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Mama Maria cheese pizza Halal in Desplaines, IL

 

MAMA MARIA'S CHEESE PIZZA IN DES PLAINES, IL IS HALAL

Mama Maria Pizzaria in Des Plaine, IL is owned by a Muslim. He makes his own crust with flour, water, salt, yeast and vegetable oil. Whole Milk Mozzarella Cheese from Sorrento Cheese Company of Buffalo, NY is used which is Halal.  Bella Rose pizza sauce from Escalon Company, CA is used on crust and it is kosher certified and Halal. Kosher certified Food Service Pam High Yield Canola oil without any alcohol in propellet from ConAgra Foods is used on pans which are cleaned after baking. No pork products are sold at this pizzaria. MCG investigated Mama Maria Pizzaria on the request of a Muslim consumer from Des Plaine, IL.


 

Posted on: 03-19-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: YEAST EXTRACT AND TORULA YEAST

 

YEAST EXTRACT AND TORULA YEAST
MCG recently investegated the Yeast Extract, Torula Yeast products from some manufacturer and distributor in USA and findout the current source of Yeast Extract and Torula Yeast. According to yeast manufacturer:

1. Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast Extract from by product of beer making:

The only two categories of food products which use the yeast extract or autolyzed yeast extract are Cheese Crackers and Cheese products because of its harsh and bitter taste. The type of yeast is Brewer Yeast.

2. Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast Extract from Baker's Yeast:

Saccharomyces cerevisiae yeast or Baker's Yeast(Halal) is used in manufacture of yeast extract or autolyzed yeast or extract in food products other than cheese crackers or cheeses such as soups, fruits, and other foods etc. So if you see Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast or extract in food products other than cheese crackers and chees, it means the Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast or Extract is from Baker's yeast and it is Halal.

3. Torula Yeast: According to manufacturer currently the Torula Yeast is grown on alcohol or from sugar source such as sugar cane, Molasses or corn.Torula yeast is Halal if grown on sugar cane, Molasses or corn.

4. Inactive Yeast: Yeast cells are pasteurized to inactive them. Mostly from Baker's yeast which is a Halal yeast.

 

Posted on: 03-19-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Macaroni & Cheese Dinner

 

Halal Wacky Mac Macaroni and Cheese Dinner

Strom Products Limited of Bannockburn, IL has informed MCG that there is no alcohol in Natural Flavor of cheese Sauce. Wacky Mac Macaroni and Cheese Dinner's cheese sauce is Kosher certified and Halal. Macaroni is always Halal. Wacky Mac Macaroni & Cheese Dinner is available in Jewel and Dominick supermarkets in Chicagoland area. If your supermarket do not carry Wacky Mac Macaroni & Cheese Dinner then call Strom products at 847-236-9676 ask them to supply to your supermarket or call your supermarket to have in their stores.

Posted on: 03-11-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dough Conditioners and Whey are Halal in Wonder breads

 

DOUGH CONDITIONERS AND WHEY ARE HALAL IN WONDER BREADS

Interstate Bakeries of Kansas City, MO has informed MCG in Feb. 2009 that all Wonder breads in USA are made with Kosher certified emulsifiers, dough conditioners including Mono & Di glycerides and Whey even if the Wonder breads do not carry a kosher symbol on the package. So the emulsifiers, dough conditioners including Mono & Diglycerides and whey used in Wonder breads are Halal.

 

 

 

Posted on: 02-23-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: No Pork Or beef fat in Garnier

 

NO PORK OR BEEF FAT OR ANY ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS IN GARNIER FRUCTIS PERSONAL CARE PRODUCTS

Garnier Fructis has informed MCG that they do not use any pork or beef fat or any animal derived ingredients in their personal care products. However Muslims has to call their toll free number 800-442-7643 to find out whether  alcohol was used as a solvent in fragrance of the product they wanted to use.


 

Posted on: 02-17-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Heinz's Organic Ketchup Halal

Heinz's Organic Ketchup is a Halal food product. The natural flavoring is Halal and has no alcohol in it.
 

Posted on: 02-11-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Kirkland bath and body bars

Costco has informed MCG that Kirkland Signature brand bath and body bars 100 percent tallow free is made with vegetable fat. The fragrance do not contain any fragrance extract or alcohol but they do not know how these individual ingredients of fragrance are made. It is psooble alcohol might be used as a solvent of those fragrance ingredients.
 

Posted on: 02-04-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal

HONEY NUT CHEERIOS CEREAL IS STILL HALAL

Recently General Mills has added Natural Almond Flavor to Heney Nut Cheerios cereal. MCG has contacted the General Mills regarding the solvent in Natural Almond Flavor. Alcohol is not used as a solvent in Natural Almond Flavor according to the company. So Honey Nut Cheerios cereal is still a Halal cereal.


 

Posted on: 01-16-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Kraft Snackable Mozzarella String Cheese is a Halal cheese

 

 KRAFT SNACKABLE MOZZARELLA STRING CHEESE IS HALAL

MCG has invested the Halal status of Kraft Snackable Mozzarella String Cheese and found out that it meets the Halal requirements. It is Halal only if it carries a kosher symbol KD on the package


 

Posted on: 01-15-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Mama Mary Pizza Crusts

Spartan Foods of America's Mama Mary gourmet pizza crusts are Halal. These gourmet pizza crusts contain Halal L-Cysteine from fermentation process and do not contain any animal derived ingredients. It is kosher certified. These pizza crusts are available in every supermarkets.
 

Posted on: 01-05-09 00:00 AM


TITLE: Enzymes in Bakery Products

 

Enzymes used in bakery products are Amylases and Proteases. Since beta amylase found in wheat itself. A supplementation of alpha Amylase enzyme and barley malt are added to wheat flour at the mills. Some bakeries add additinal alpha amylase and protease during dough mixing. There are two kind of amylases, alpha amylase and beta amylase. The amylases act on polysaccharides such as amylose and amylopectin components of starch of the flour. Alpha amylases produce a rather complex effect upon the starch molecule of flour, they dextrinize and liquefy starch. Beta amylases produce dextrin. The sources of amylases are cereal, fungi and bacteria. So the enzyme amylase is a Halal enzyme. The protease enzymes degrade the protein of the wheat flour to break it up into ploypeptides, peptides. The source of protease enzymes used in bakery products are from plant proteinases such as Papin, Ficin, Bromelin, wheat and barley proteinases. It is also obtain from bacteria. So the plant proteinase enzymes are Halal. If you see the word enzyme or enzymes under the ingredients list of wheat flour or in a bakery product, it means they are Halal.


 

Posted on: 12-27-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: FOOD PRODUCTS AT COSTCO

 

FOOD PRODUCTS AT COSTCO STORES


A limited research on the Halal/Not Halal status of private label food products(Not National Brands) was done at Costco in Lake In The Hills, IL in November 2008. The bakery products at Costco are different in different states so it is excluded.

 

CANDY

NOT HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Jelly Belly(No Certfication)

Brand: True North

Product: Pistachio Crisp(no certification)

Brand: Locker

Product: Dark Chocolate Mini(no certification)

Cereal

HALAL

Brand: Chex

Product: Rice Wheat Corn Cereal

Brand: Nature Path

Product: Organic Flax Plus Multibran

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Organic Instant Oatmeal Original

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Oat & Flax

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Cranberry Macadamia Nut Cereal with natural flavor

Brand: Nature Path

Product: Organic Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Crunch

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Organic Instant Oatmeal Maple Syrup

Product: Organic Instant Oatmeal Apple Cinnamon

Product: Organic Instant Oatmeal Mixed Berry

NOT HALAL

Brand: Abundance

Product: Original Cereal(No certification)

COFFEE CREAMER

HALAL

Brand: N Joey

Product: Coffee Creamer

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: International Delight

Product: French Vanilla Coffee creamer

CRACKER

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: Miltons

Product: Multigrain Crackers

NOT HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Animal Cracker(vanilla Extract)

Brand: Mary Gone

Product: Organic Cracker Original(Alcohol)

Brand: Docter

Product: Cracker(no certification)

Brand: Sensible Portion

Product: Pita Bites(Torula yeast may be grown on alcohol)

FLAT BREAD

HALAL

Brand: Suze’s

Product: Flat Bread

FROZEN PRODUCTS

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: David’s

Product: Tart Saps

Product: Triple Chocolate Chips Cake

Brand: The Skinny Cow

Product: Low Fat Ice Cram Sandwich

NOT HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Vanilla Ice Cream(no certification)

Brand: Island

Product: Sorbet

Brand: El Montery

Product: Cheesecake Bits

NUTRITION BAR

NOT HALAL

Brand:Zone Perfect

Product: Gudge Granola Chocolate Bar(Vanilla Extract)

OIL & SHORTENING

HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Creamy Liquid Shortening

Product: Active De Soyl

Product: Peanut Oil

Product: Canola Oil

Brand: Columbus

Product: Natural Secret 100% Canola Oil

Brand: Master Chef

Product: Vegetable Oil

Brand: Kinkler

Product: Pure Olive oil

Product: Extra Virgin Oil

PUDDING

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: Snack Pudding

Product: Chocolate Vanilla Chocolate

REFRIGERATED PRODUCTS

HALAL

Brand: Raskas

Product: Cream Cheese

Product: Cream Cheese Spread

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Salted Butter

Brand: Land O Lake

Product: Heavy Whipped Cream

Brand: Organic

Product: Organic Butter Blast

Brand: Daisy: Sour Cream

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: Land O Lake

Product: 2% Low Fat Cottage Cheese

Product: Fresh Buttery Taste Spread

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Egg Starter

Product: Unsalted Butter

NOT HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Low Fat 1% Swiss Style Yogurts All flavors(gelatin)

Products: All cheeses

Brand: Land O Lake

Products: All Cheeses

SALSA

HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Organic Salsa Medium

SNACK

HALAL

Brand: Kirk Land

Product: Organic Tortilla Chips

Product: Tortilla Strips

Product: Kettle Krinkle Cut Chips Light Salted

Brand: Garden Fresh Gourmet

Product: Blue Corn Tortilla

Brand: Shearer’s

Product: Reduced Fat Kettle Cook Extra Crunch Potato Chips

HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR

Brand: Kingraro

Product: Pita Chips

Brand: Ciabatta

Product: Crisp Garlic Rosemary

NOT HALAL

Brand: Boulder Canyan

Product: Rice & Adzuki bean Snack(No certification)

Brand: Stacy

Product: Pita Chips(due to presence inactive yeast)

Brand: Rice Works Gourmet

Product: Brown Rice Crisp Salsa Fresh Flavor(Auto Yeast from beer)

Brand: Pirate’s

Product: Booty With Aged Cheddar(Cheddar cheese is not Halal)

 

 

 

 

 

Posted on: 11-28-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Halal Ice Cream at Oberweis

 

We have reported in 2002 that Oberweis Dairy's products are not kosher certified but recently Chicago Rabbinal Council started Kosher certification on their products. All Ice Cream except Brandy Ice Cream are kosher certified. The following kosher certified ice cream meet the Halal requirements(no Alcohol in the Ice Cream):

HALAL

EVERY DAY FLAVORS

Chocolate Almond Ice Cream

Chocolate Ice Cream

Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream

NO SUGAR ADDED ICE CREAM

No Sugar Added Chocolate Ice Cream

LOW FAT ICE CREAM

Low Fat Chocolate Ice Cream

 

Posted on: 11-27-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Dorito Toasted Corn are Halal

 

Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips are Halal. This is the only Halal product under Doritos brand.


 

Posted on: 10-31-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Maxi Health Halal Fish Oil capsule

 

Maxi Health Maxi Omega-3 Fish Oil Mood Formula EPA/DHA 60 Maxicaps product # MXF-21706. is a Halal fish oil capsule. All the ingredients are Halal and it is Kosher certified by OU organization.. But there other Maxi Health fish oils which contains alcohol and flavor(alcohol may or may not used as a solvent). You can buy it on line at www.koshervitamins.com.

 

Posted on: 09-14-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Bengay Arthritis Gel and Bengay Pain Relieving Gel

 

Bengay Arthritis gel and Bengay Pain Relieving gel are free from animal derived ingredients.

Posted on: 09-12-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: XO Gourmet Energy Drinks

There is no alcohol and animal derived ingredients in all XO Gourmet 7 flavors Still Energy Drinks according to the company. A muslim consumer has supplied this information

Posted on: 09-08-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Panera Bread Products

 

Following Breads do not contain any Haram ingredients at Panera Bread restaurants:


Artisan Bread:


1. Country Bread   2. French Bread  3. Sesame Semolina Bread


4. Three Seeds Bread   5. Stoned Milled Rye Bread   6. Ciabatta Bread


7. Whole Grain Bread   


Specialty Bread


1. Sour Dough Baguette   2. White Whole Grain Wheat Loaf Bread


All the bagels contain L-cysteine and there is no information on the source of L-Cysteine.
Panera Bread Company does not use all Kosher certified ingredients, they use some ingredients but kosher certified ingredients are mixed with non Kosher certified ingredients in a product.

 

 

Posted on: 09-06-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Sobe Products

According to an e-mail from Sobe to a Muslim Consumer that Sobe Energy beverage products do not contain alcohol and animal derived ingredients.

Posted on: 09-06-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Jane Cosmatic products

All cosmetic products from Jane Cosmetic do not contain animal derived ingredients except OIL FREE MAKEUP. Jane Cosmetic’s Lipstick made with Lanolin which is a Halal ingredient. Jane Cosmetic products are sold at Walgreens. This information was provided by a Muslim consumer.
 

Posted on: 08-21-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: E. L. F Cosmetic Products

A Muslim consumer has recieved an e-mail from E.L.F company indicating that they do not use any animal derived ingredients in their makeup products, they also use synthetic ingredients. All their brushes are made from natural horse hair and genuine wood handles.
 

Posted on: 08-01-08 00:00 AM


TITLE: Kleenex & Scott are pork free

 

Kleenex facial tissue, Scott paper towels, bathroom tissue are free from pork

Kimberly -Clark Company has notified MCG in an e-mail # 012469272A that  there is no animal derived ingredients are used in lubricant for Kleenex facial tissue, Scott paper towels, bathroom tissue.  Only hydrocarbon are used in the lubricant on molds.

 

 

Posted on: 12-10-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: Most Mayonnaise is Halal

 

Since Mayonnaise is a high fat food product, The natural and artificial has to be use vegetable oil as a solvent, if they use alcohol as a solvent then the alcohol will leach out. This was confirmed by major flavor companies at IFT.

Kraft/Miracle whip Mayonnaise except Miracle Whip Fat free which contains L-cysteine and Hellman's Real Mayonnaise are Halal.


 

Posted on: 11-27-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: Damel FoamPaper Products Halal

 

DARNEL GROUP FOAM PAPER PRODUCTS UNDER DAMEL BRAND ARE HALAL

Darnel Group has informed MCG that they use vegetable fat based Kosher certified Stearates on the molds to make foam paper plates and cups.


 

Posted on: 09-09-07 00:00 AM


TITLE: JAYS'S CHEEZLETS POTATO CHIP

 

Jays Foods Inc. a Chicago based potato chip company has introduced Cheezlets a Doritos type potato chips containing cheese blend. Cheezlets are Kosher certified and all the ingredients are Halal except no information about use of alcohol as a solvent in natural flavor in cheese blend and in the formula. MCG has sent an e-mail to Jays Food Company requesting the information about presence or absence of alcohol in natural flavor. This product is only available at small convenience stores not in supermarkets.


 

Posted on: 06-22-07 00:00 AM