USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,047 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,786 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,894 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,246 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,377 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 67 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,598 ]

Recent Questions:

  • is parmesan peppercorn dressing halal or haram - salahuddin Khan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because paremesan cheese with kosher certification is not Halal because they use animal or pork rennet in making cheese.


    Category: Food Products
    10-01-14 11:22:21
  • Being a muslim, which food can I eat in Barham Cafe without fear? - Damir
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    10-01-14 10:29:10
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br can we use napthelene balls which are used as washroom freshner. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 09:47:53
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa Barakatahu br I wrote to himalaya personal care products about their anti dandruff shampoo as follows Is there any ingredient derived from animal fat or animal source??  " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in fragrance of Himalaya ANTI DANDRUFF SHAMPOO; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a fragrance, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in fragrance is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of fragrance. In the specification of fragrance, your fragrance supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular fragrance. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the fragrance as a solvent".  And their reply is as follows Dear Mr. Farooqui   Thank you for your email.   Our experts one again clarify that we do not any animal sourced ingredients and alcohol in our product, Anti-Dandruff Shampoo.   Regards   Ms. Tara Sharad Charan Manager - Customer Service The Himalaya Drug Company Makali, Bangalore 562 162, India T +91 80 2371 4444 · F +91 80 2371 4474 Toll Free No: 1800-425-1930 (9.00 am - 5.00 pm Monday - Friday) - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    You can use it.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 09:27:45
  • Assalamo ALyakum, I want to buy one sofa and the material is 'Faux Leather'. Is it good to use? Here is the link: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Camilla-Futon-Black/37850118 Allah Hafiz, Rabi - Rabi Islam
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 08:31:58
  • Is cider vinegar halal to take as medication? - mohammed anwar khan
  • AOA

    Cider Vinegar is Halal in USA but not in UK.


    Category: Food Products
    10-01-14 08:21:37
  • aoa, is bubblicious strawberry salash haram? - bushra
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    10-01-14 08:03:54
  • is all alcohol is prohibited in Islam? as much I understand Qur'an only those alcohol are prohibited which causes addiction or disease. as I am a science student, I know that the product containing -OH group are called alcohol. please verify - ayesha qamar
  • AOA

    NOT ALL ALCOHOL OR ETHYL ALCOHOL OR HARAM

    Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

    1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate(plant source). All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

    2. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.

    3. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints

    4. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

    5. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

     

    04/26/14

    TITLE: New Information about Isopropyl Alcohol being as Haram

    Isopropyl Alcohol is not used in the processed food products but used in very few ingredients during its processing for crystallization. Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol help in attracting water molecule from food ingredients during its processing. Then Ethyl Alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol is completely taken out from the ingredients.

    MCG received a question from a Washington D.C doctor and a professor from Istanbul Turkey providing medical research from text book and medical literature that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication. The Washington D.C .doctor who works at ER department states that he received many poor and homeless patients who drunk by using isopropyl alcohol.

    MCG checked couple of medical literature to find out that Isopropyl alcohol causes intoxication among people.

    Based on these medical literature MCG now considers Isopropyl Alcohol as intoxicant and Haram. MCG is also apologize for publishing Isopropyl Alcohol as Halal.

    All the information about Isopropyl alcohol has been corrected on MCG 's www.muslimconsumergroup.com and www.canadianhalalfoods.com websites except questions and answers section because it is too large data.

    Posted on: 04-26-14 00:00 AM


    Category: E-Numbers
    10-01-14 07:18:01
  • assalam-o-alaikum,what is the rulling over alcohol in fragrance in cosmetic product..?plz suggest halal cosmetic product available in india. - sanower alam
  • AOA

    Fragrance containing alcohol is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    10-01-14 07:00:32
  • is maggi noodles in pakistan are haram or halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    10-01-14 06:26:22
  • Hi, I bought chocolate truffles from brand "kirkland" and my question is does this chocolate contain any percentage of alcohol in it because I throw the box away and I did not read the ingredients before? Please let me know - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I can not say any thing without knowing the ingredients and kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-01-14 02:39:10
  • Can we eat sara lee cake from heb ????? - talha omair
  • AOA

    The only Halal cake from Sara Lee is Frozen All Butter pound Cake and rest are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    10-01-14 00:27:10
  • Bought a hair product which has ingredient made of Aligo Peptide 2 & 3? Are this alcohol, can muslim consume? Shampoo/Conditioner product of Korea. - Nor
  • AOA

    Peptide is a protein and it could obtained from pork protein. I will advise not to use any product from Korea.


    Category: Ingredients
    10-01-14 00:05:51
  • What does 'This finding is good for every store in USA & Canada.' means for a haram product? Does the product in USA & Canada halal? - Muhammad Hisyam Saiful Hakimi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 23:04:32
  • Assalamualikum i have a Question is the Owner of Mama Maria located on Ballard and Dempster in desplaines IL is Muslim and the workers are also Mostly Muslims according to them the Meat there providing specially Beef and Chicken are 100% Zabiha Halal meat in this case what are we supposed to do,do we eat it or not please guide us in this matter Jazakumullah khair waiting for you reply - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    The owner is Muslim but he buy meat from Midamar who supplies machine slaughtered chicken and turkey. I do not know the Halal status of beef lamb. So i recommend only cheese pizza with 100% vegetables with out flavor or other ingredients.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 21:18:00
  • Are Ramipril capsules halal? I take them with several medications (capsules for my heart). - Fatimah Muhammad
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

    Most capsule are made with pork gelatin so avoid it or use fish gelatin capsule or vegetable based capsule.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-30-14 19:23:20
  • Is Nestlé drumstick Halal? - Mohammad Hamza
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because they made with alcohol containing flavor.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-30-14 18:56:30
  • is super crackers ( pizza n stuff) from funleys are halal? - asma
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-30-14 18:33:27
  • Assalamulikum wr wb i have a question about butter almond thins boter amandelbrood.bicuits pur beurre aux amanees butter mandelbiatter brand belgian is it halal or not i didn't find on ur wabsite. jazakallah khair - Binte Suleman
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 18:14:14
  • Alsalamu alaikum I bought the choclate product :CHIRARDELLI (evening dream) and it was contained kosher sign , when I looked to the integrant I found it contain soy lecithin -an emulsifier , and Vanilla, are these considers as Halal since the vanilla clearly mentioned not as flavor extract and even we don't know the source of licithin and emulsifier ? - MHS
  • AOA

    They are not Halal due to Vanilla or Vanilla Extract.

    haram Premium Baking Bars 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate, Premium Baking Bars 70% Cacao Baking Chocolate Ghirardelli Due to presence of Vanilla. 03-18-14
    haram Milk Choclate Premium Baking Chips Baking Chocolate Ghirardelli Due to presence of Vanilla. 03-18-14
    haram Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips Baking Chocolate Ghirardelli Due to presence of Vanilla. 03-18-14
    haram Creamy Devotia Chocolate Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 09-28-13
    haram Intense Dark Chocolate All Flavors Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram Gourmet Mlik Coconut Rendez Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram Sea Salt Escape Chocolate Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram Dark and Orange Chocolate Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram Milk Cocolate Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram Dark and Mint Chocolate Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram Dark and Raspberry Chocolate Chocolate Ghirardelli Vanilla present 08-30-13
    haram All Ghirardelli Chocolate Products Chocolate Bars Ghirardelli They use natural vanilla which is extracted with alcohol. 04-01-13


    Category: Food Products
    09-30-14 16:24:19
  • Assalamu 'Alaykum, Is Klondike Kandy Bars (Caramel and Peanuts) Halal? Jazkaum Allah Khairan! - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    Search results for the term: Klondike

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    haram New Blasts Klondike Krunch Frozen Dessert Frozen Desserts Breyer Due to presence of Vanilla Extract 06-09-13

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 15:19:14
  • is maybelline lipstick #190(ATOMIC PINK)ingredients are halal?? are they using carmine red and cochineal?? - fathima shiraza
  • AOA

    It is a HARAM product because Carmine or Cochineal is Haram. It is a insect extraction. All insects are Haram in Islam except locust.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-30-14 15:09:00
  • The Dunkin Dounts Chocolate Frosted Donuts is it Halal or not? Does it have L-cycstine? Juzakallahu khairah - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-30-14 11:53:14
  • Salam. I wanted to know if we can eat icebreakers duo raspberry and the other icebreakers flavors, like mint and the others. - Icebreakers
  • AOA

    No, they are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 11:05:47
  • Alsalam alaikom , I have Stripsils for sore throat, its ingredients: 2,4-dichlorobenzyl alcohol, amylmetacresol B.P., sodium ascorbate, ascorbic acid B.P., sucrose, glucose syrup, tartaric acid, orange flavor, propylene glycol, menthol. Made in UK. Is it halal? - ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Ingredients
    09-30-14 10:54:30
  • salaam is Dr oetker natural extract american peppermint suitable for muslim - ruqayya
  • AOA

    No because alcohol may be used as extracting solvent.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 10:31:43
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br i want to ask u that if a product have a green dot and if it written contains artificial flavouring substances or nature identical artificial flavouring substances is it halaal?? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavors.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 10:29:27
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br there is a product and it has the following ingredients is it halaal?? WHEAT FLOUR,EDIBLE VEGETABLE OILS,SUGAR,RAISING AGENTS(503(ii),baking powder),INVERT SUGAR SYRUP,SALT(2.3%),YEAST,ACIDITY REGULATORS(270,296),EMULSIFIERS(MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES OF FATTY ACIDS AND SODIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE OF EDIBLE VEGETABLE OILS ),DOUGH CONDITIONER(223),IMPROVER(AMYLASE& OTHER ENZYMES(PAPAIN-1101(ii)] CONTAINS ADDED FLAVOUR(ARTIFICIAL FLAVOURING SUBSTANCES-BUTTER) & IT HAS A GREEN DOT - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. Only manufacturer knows about use of alcohol in flavor so contact them.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 10:26:46
  • Which school of thought do you follow because I have seen what some schools say about alcohol in foods (for example that if the percentage cannot possibly intoxicate you then it could be permissible to eat along with other conditions) but this website absolutely does not tolerate any alcohol. Also there are many other questionable statements you make. - Shaniz
  • AOA

    None of the School has limit in allowing alcohol. If they are saying that then they are going against the following ahadith:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 ).

    I follow personally the Hanafi Fiqa. If I have any other questionalbel statement please let me know then I will provide the explaination.

    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    The following article was from: http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspxnewsid=170

    In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.


    Allah Most High says:


    “O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper”. (al-An’am, 90)


    Sayyiduna Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes”. (Sahih Muslim, No. 1985).


    However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both)

    from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.


    They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication”. (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306).


    However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types o f beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their

    argument on the following two Hadiths:


    Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him  give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others).


    Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden”. (Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others).


    Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.


    The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna. Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:


    “Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position”.

    Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:


    “Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the

    Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether”.

    (Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455).


    The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).


    However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him)    himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them" (end of the published article).

     

    MCG comments:

     

    Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims. Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema. But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic. The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn. Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. According above ulema  the corn alcohol should be consider as synthetic alcohol because it is not obtained from grape, date and barley.

     

    There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast. The source of sugar are many such from fruits (grape, dates or nay fruits) or from grain such as corn, wheat.

    You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source.

    Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time. Many ulema miss the ibadah point.

    Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah.

     

    Here MCG's ulema fatwa on alcohol:

     

    FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

    Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

    Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but

    according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small

    quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

    MCG considers alcohol from any source as Haram.

    The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol:

    Gasification produces a synthesis gas, sometimes called syngas (from synthesis gas), which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide. The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process.

    Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

    2. CPG Sec. 555.100 Alcohol; Use of Synthetic Alcohol in Foods

    BACKGROUND:

    Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l948. By Administration Information Letter No. 90, dated January 28, l949, the districts were advised that we seriously doubted that a product made from synthetic alcohol could be appropriately regarded as a type of vinegar.

    "Ethyl alcohol is recognized in the U.S. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia. Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

    alcohol in food products to have been produced from fermented food substances, such as grains, fruit, etc., and that they do not expect their foods to contain 'alcohol' produced from petroleum gas.

    alcohol as a suitable food ingredient. This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review.

    Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. In order to secure more information, we wrote to the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Division, Internal Revenue Service. Their reply included the following paragraphs:

    alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum derivatives. It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.g., 40-grains.

    alcohol is used in the production of beverage products, our regulations require that the source of the alcohol be shown on the label except for cordials and liqueurs. Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic."

    POLICY:

    Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading.

    Bottom line is that some ulema  are confusing Muslims to consume alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley. They even never used word getting

     


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 07:09:08
  • Are muslims allowed to eat chowmein or maggi noodles ?are these foods halal for muslims? - rana ali
  • AOA

    Maggi noodles with green dot or with vegetarian label on the package of products without any flavor are consider Halal. Maggi noodles are consider Not Halal if there is no Green Dot on the package of noodles.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 05:02:40
  • Assalaamu alaikum, There is some difference of opinion amongst the scholars as to whether gelatin is halal due to a confusion as to whether it has undergone transformation, however whatever the case, my question is, do you know of any similar difference of opinion as to whether mono and di-glycerides are halal? Wa assalaamu alaikum - Moneeb Bajwa
  • AOA

    These ulema do not understand the biochemistry of gelatin. This is the reason I wrote this article on our Fiqah & Science section. MCG do not consider gelatin from pork or non zabiha as Halal because nothing change during processing of gelatin. Mono & Diglycerides are only Halal if they obtained from vegetavle fat. From FAQ:

    What is Mono and Diglycerides:

    Mono and Diglycerides are fat based emulsifier and are made by reacting glycerol (fat based) with fats and oils. Mono and diglycerides can be made from beef, pork, or soybean fat. Only soybean or zabiha slaughtered cow fat based Mono and Diglyceries are Halal. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) on a food package containing Mono and Diglycerides indicates that it is obtained from soybean fat. In the absence of Halal or Kosher symbol on the package Muslim consumers should contact the manufacturer to find out the source of Mono & Diglycerides.

    Gelatin

    Gelatin is not the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.

    There is lot of literature available about how gelatin is made, which can be found on the internet. But we have to understand the basic biochemistry of gelatin raw material and gelatin itself. The basic components of collagen (raw material for gelatin) and gelatin itself are the protein and amino acids. If the components of the raw material and finished product is the same, that means the chemical reaction and processing does not cause any changes to the original component. Then it does not become the case for Tabdeele Mahiya.

    • If you run a DNA analysis (nowadays it is used to detect pig by-products in a food product developed by a Florida company as mentioned on our web site) of Type A gelatin (pig) and Pig, you will find no difference. According to Tabdeele Mahiya, it should not match because the new product has to be different.
    • Gelatin is a derived water-soluble protein made by controlled hydrolytic conversion of collagen, the protein constituent of white fibrous connective tissue from animals. The manufacturing process will take out the extraneous material from bones, skin, and hide trimming. Neutralizing, washing and converting the collagen to gelatin occurs but the basic components remain the same.
    • Extensive study has shown that the amino acid (basic component) content of white connective tissue whether from bone, skin or tendon is very uniform and yields gelatins also having uniform amino acid composition. This confirms that no change has occurred in the basic components.
    • The gelatin is subject to hydrolytic breakdown by which it is converted from insoluble macromolecular collagen to water soluble protein.
    • The whole manufacturing process is based on purification and conversion of water insoluble collagen protein to water soluble gelatin. There is no new product, and the originality of gelatin raw material remains the same during manufacturing process.

    Gelatin is not an example of Tabdeele Mahiya. Type A gelatin (pig) is Haram because it still contains the original pig protein and amino acids.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-30-14 04:49:47
  • cac-1000 is halal or not halal calcium lactategluconate -calcium carbonat u.s.p -vitamin c ph.eur-vitamin d3 100 i.u.ph .eur-vitamin b6 bp - hassan
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

    The following are only Halal Calcium available in the market:

    Search results for the term: calcium

    Total results generated: 7
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Cal Max (Calcium Magnesium Complex) with D3 180 Tablets Calcium Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Solgar Kosher Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3 240 Tablets Calcium Solgar Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Landau Kosher Calcium Carbonate With Vitamin D 600 mg 250 TAB Calcium Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Freeda Kosher Calcium Citrate 250 Mg. 500 TAB Calcium Freeda Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Freeda Kosher Parvacal 500 Calcium and Vitamin D 250 TAB Calcium Freeda Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Landau Kosher Calcium & Magnesium 500/250 250 TAB Calcium Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Freeda Kosher Advanced Calcium Formula 250 Tablets Calcium Freeda Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 04:41:02
  • cac-1000 plus - hassan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-30-14 04:21:40
  • Aoa..i wanted to ask that lays chilli made in saudia arabia are halal or not??.. - irfan sheikh
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 03:16:44
  • Asslamualaikum I don't know what the ingredients of clindamycin, would you tell me what the ingredients? And is that drug halal? I used CLD 300 - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-30-14 02:29:17
  • Is Marine Collagen Halal suitable? - Fay Simjee
  • AOA

    If marine collagen obtianed from fish is Halal for hanafi Muslims.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-30-14 02:25:45
  • Alsalam alaikom, i have a question about the natural vanilla extract. What if the ethanol completely evaporates during the process of extracting the and is not present either in the raw material or final products. (i think that time it will be in a poweder shape) is it halal then? - ahmed
  • AOA

    It will be still not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-30-14 02:10:10
  • Any alcoholic or non-zahiba beef or pork is present in any of its products?Can we have it confidently without the fear of consuming Haram?Are the Cadbury products sold in India are Halal? - Aiema Tauheed
  • AOA

    Pork is HARAM, non zabiha beef is not Halal. Alcohol is HARAM. I have no information about Cadbury in India.


    Category: Food Products
    09-30-14 01:34:20
  • assalamoalikum yesterday I had asked about indomie noodles in saudia there is also a flavor of e621 my kids like them plz help me get the proper information about it otherwise I will stop my kids same as chicken is there any halal chicken in saudia please let me know as it is most likely food for majority people also on box of sadia chicken the company has written as per islamic rules of slaughtring by hand JazakAllah - mrs ahmed ansari
  • AOA

    Liking of kids is not criteria for Halal. Indomie noodles has to be Halal. If E-621 is Halal in Saudi Arabia then noodle Halal otherwise not. I do not know the Halal status of E-621 in Saudi Arabia.


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 23:16:56
  • Salam. Please tell me about a halal perfume spray for men. I am unable to find on ur website. I've seen some online but nobody is sure about the ingredients. Jazakallah - aiman
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-29-14 17:50:46
  • Salam brother . I went to panera bread resturant to look for ingredients of "Cabiatta bread and French baguette". I saw that they had them in list of vegan breads. I also saw the ingredients but I couldn't understand all of them as some were new to me. About yeast the emailed me later.. " Hi Aiman, Thank you for your visit yeterday. Our conversation has given me deeper understanding of how complex the bread making process is. I have asked around for the answers that you were in search of yesterday. If I am remembering correctly, you wanted to know what was the source of our yeast and if it was alcohol derived. Please find the answers below. Thank you, Latonya Dent Redmond Panera 425-497-0727 From: Seattle Commissary Sent: Monday, September 08, 2014 3:41 PM To: Cafe0973 Subject: Questions about our bread yeast Hi Latonya; The yeast is Saccharomyces cerevisiae, which is Bakers’ yeast. It is not derived from alcohol, but yeast does produce alcohol in the process of metabolizing sugars. The same process as brewers use to make alcohol. It also produces carbon dioxide gas which is what allows bread to rise. I hope that helps! Best regards Ciro Royster Production Manager" is this fermentation of sugars they r talking is producing halal alcohol or haram? Can u please check their website for Cabiatta bread and french bread 's ingredients which I missed please in bakery section. Thank u - aiman
  • AOA

    Baker yeast used in bakery products is Halal but I do not know the Halal status of bakery product at Panera Bread.


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 17:48:13
  • what is the natural flavor? - Ali
  • AOA

    Natural Flavor is the flavor obtained from natural sources. In order it to be Halal. The natural source has to be obtained from Halal source. The second part is the solvent or carrier which has to be Halal like Propylne Glycol. If the solvent is a alcohol then the natural flavor will not be Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-29-14 16:57:47
  • salam can you check if this halal hot chili peppers brand--- Giuliano hot chili peppers 16oz it has kosher---KSA ingredients are-------peppers ,water , distilled vinegar , salt , turmeric , yellow 5 , sodium bisulfite (preservative ) thanks - javed
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-29-14 14:13:11
  • Assalaamu Alaikum, If a product has a soy lecithin as an emulsifier, does that mean that the glycerides in that product are also of soy origin? Wa Alaikum Assalaam - Moneeb Bajwa
  • AOA

    Not necessary. It has to have a kosher symbol on the package to have Mono & Diglycerides from soy fat. From our FAQ:

    What is Mono and Diglycerides:

    Mono and Diglycerides are fat based emulsifier and are made by reacting glycerol (fat based) with fats and oils. Mono and diglycerides can be made from beef, pork, or soybean fat. Only soybean or zabiha slaughtered cow fat based Mono and Diglyceries are Halal. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) on a food package containing Mono and Diglycerides indicates that it is obtained from soybean fat. In the absence of Halal or Kosher symbol on the package Muslim consumers should contact the manufacturer to find out the source of Mono & Diglycerides.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-29-14 06:16:58
  • Is horsetail extract halal? Bought from holland and barrett - Alia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 05:09:57
  • Nature's Way Alive! Men's 50+ Multivitamin & Multimineral is halal or not - kamal ahmed
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

     


    Category: General Question
    09-29-14 03:14:36
  • Is carrs table water cracker is halal - Noel E. Capati
  • AOA

    halal Table Water Crackers Crackers Carr's   11-25-12
    halal Table Water Crackers With Cracked Peppers Crackers Carr's   11-20-12

    HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS


    Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 01:27:32
  • alpenliebe juzt jelly is it haram or halal - imran
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-29-14 01:23:28
  • assalamoalikum iam living in jeddah I want to know is there any halal brand of chicken available which we can use also sadia frozen chicken from brasil is halal or not also plz tell me about vanilla flavor in my products how can we check it is halal or haram JazakAllah - mrs ahmed ansari
  • AOA

    Chicken from Sadia is not Halal because it is machine slaughetered. Natural Vanilla is not Halal because it is obtain through alcohol and contain alcohol.


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 00:20:53
  • assalamoalikum i wana ask either msg mono sodium glucomate chainese salt can be halal in any way as i had read that while processing it is necessary to add pigs meet for figmentation and most of the company's clames that it is halal plz answer me also are indomie noodles halal - mrs ahmed ansari
  • AOA

    I do not know about it in Saudi Arabia but is Halal in USA, Canada and Indonesia.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 23:53:43
  • Baby Looney Tunes Marshmallows (origin from Philippines) imported by Radha Exports Pte Ltd (Singapore).What type of Gelatin used in the ingredients? - Zass
  • AOA

    It may be from pork or non zabiha beef. I do not know.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 20:59:36
  • I was at Being me -muslimah empowered conference at vancouver convention center yesterday, for my kids I inquired few muslim women about the halal food outlet nearby,3-4 of them recommended pita express serving shawarma at food court nearby, I inquired at the restaurent and they said its a lebonese restaurant and the meat served here is halal, still Im doubtful as there was nothing mentioning halal product and many people exploit term halal..kindly reply me. jazakAllah bilkher - Humera Aslam
  • AOA

    Please avoid those food court if you do not 100% sure they are Halal. Some Muslims consider meat from supermarket as Halal but it is not true. I do not know where they got the meat from.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 20:55:29
  • Are all shipley donats halal or only some? - Fatima Najam
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 20:39:38
  • I bought a teriyaki sauce and got the sign u in circle on the bottle but in the ingredients they mentioned wine. Is it haram to cook with it ?? - Randa Jijawi
  • AOA

    It is a Haram Teriyaki Sauce please do not consume it either return or through in the garbage. I wish you the read the ingredients before you buy any thing like lot of Muslims does.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 18:09:43
  • Hi. I am looking to see if someone can point me in the right direction for information regarding medications that contain gelatin or gelatin derivatives (i.e. bovine, povine, hydrogenated collagen, etc.). I do not a practicing Muslim, just a women who is at a complete loss with a new allergy to gelatin. Any information you can provide me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much. - Melissa Dumont
  • Hi

    AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Ingredients
    09-28-14 16:33:36
  • Is their any alcohol used in chupa chums lollipop cola flavor? - Sara
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-28-14 15:02:28
  • Assalamulikum wr wb i have a quesion is that u gusy have mufti or allam who check the ingridents and give the fatwa..some of things i check ur website then call the compny they said it's halal all vegetable ingredient in it..so that's why m asking u...tell me about ur wabsite.plz jazakallah khair - Binte suleman
  • AOA

    Are you sure those food companies knows the criteria of Halal. Many of them do not know what is Halal means. Vegetarian does not mean it is Halal because vegetarian drink alcohol. What happemed if you follow their vegetarian rule and find out it contains wine or alcohol do you think it is Halal.

    We have 3 Islamic scholar and I consult them providing them and explaining what is involved scientifically with technical details. I only consult on some sharia rules about foods. Many mufti does not know how food products are made and they even do not know that many food products are made with hidden ingredients which may be Haram. Do you know pork gelatin can be used during processing of apple juice. It says 100% apple juice but some companies used pork gelatin to take out fine particles of apple pulp I follow our MCG Halal criteria up on which I assigned Halal status:

    CRITERIA USED IN IDENTIFYING HALAL FOOD PRODUCTS IN US Supermarkets

    Method of data collection:

    1.    Visiting the major supermarkets in the region, examining each product for ingredients declaration on the package.

    2.    Checking for different kosher symbols on the package which meet with the Islamic dietary requirements.

    3.    Inquiring (limited) with the food manufacturers for the source of questionable ingredients, incidental or hidden ingredients or processing aid ingredients by phone or letter.

    4.    In the absence of a Halal or kosher symbol, selecting a food product which is made with Halal ingredients only determined by President of MCG 35 years of diversified food manufacturing, R & D, Quality Assurance experience in US food industry and knowledge of food ingredients.

    Not all Kosher certified food products are consider Halal because they are made with             Haram ingredients according to MCG criteria such as listed below. If one of them present in kosher certified product then MCG will not consider it Halal:

    ·         Gelatin from pork and non zabiha cow

    ·         Kosher Gelatin except fish gelatin

    ·         L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers

    ·         Wine

    ·         Liquor

    ·         Beer batter

    ·         Rum flavor

         Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list

    ·         Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects

    ·         Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce

    ·         Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer's yeast, a byproduct of beer making

    ·         Torula Yeast grown on alcohol

    ·         Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea

    ·         Vanilla Extract which contains minimum of 35% Alcohol

    ·         Wine Vinegar

    ·         If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavors.

    ·         Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made with Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated

    ·         Carrageenan, if ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used during processing for crystallization

    ·         Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction).  

    Consultation with Islamic Scholars:

    We are grateful to following Ulema or Islamic Scholars who help us in deciding the Halal status of certain food ingredients and food products based on their knowledge of Islamic dietary requirements.

    Our main religious advisor:

    ·         Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan of Mecca Masjid Garland, TX 773-936-5463

    Our secondary religious advisors:

    ·         Mufti Khalil Ahmed of Jamia Nizamia, Hyderabad, India(Phone 01191-9849071327, jamianizamia@yahoo.com)

    ·         Mufti Mohsin Muki of Chicago Muslim Sunni Society Chicago, IL 773-801-9101

    Halal

    The Halal status is given to a food product on the following basis:

    1.    The food product is made from only pure Halal ingredients with Halal processing aid or hidden ingredients and no natural or artificial flavors (except those in which alcohol was not used as solvent)).

    2.    The Halal food product is NOT Made with pork, pork-by-products, bacon, ham, lard, pig enzymes, any other meat-by-products, any other ingredients  such as:

    o    Gelatin from pork and non zabiha cow

    o    Kosher Gelatin except fish gelatin

    o    L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers

    o    Wine

    o    Liquor

    o    Beer batter

    o    Rum flavor

    o    Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list

    o    Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects

    o    Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce ( A alcoholic fermented product containing 1-2% alcohol)

    o   Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewerï yeast, a byproduct of beer making

    o    Torula Yeast grown on alcohol

    o    Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea

    o    Vanilla Extract which must contain minimum of 35% Alcohol by US FDA regulation

    o    Wine Vinegar because there will leftover wine which is not converted to vinegar

    o    If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavors.

    1. Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made with Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated
    2. Carrageenan, if ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used during processing for crystallization
    3. Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction).  

    6.    Halal or Genuine Kosher certification was also used as criteria for assigning the Halal status for a food product, which meets the Islamic dietary requirements. Because no Halal certified food products are available throughout USA except few such MCG Halal certified Seneca Foods Apple Chips and few from other organizations. The use of genuine Kosher certified food products as Halal is for temporary period only until the Halal symbol carrying food products are available in supermarkets throughout USA. Not all Kosher certified food products are Halal. The only one is Halal, which meets the Islamic dietary requirements. According to Quran our good & pure foods are Halal for Ahlekitab and their good and pure foods are Halal for us.

    7.   Only hand slaughter Zabiha meat from Halal animals by a Muslim is used as a criteria for MCG definition of Zabiha meat. Machine slaughtering for zabiha meat is not acceptable according to our ulema.

    HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVORS:

    The criteria for food products under this category is the same as the Halal category except the food products here are made natural or artificial flavors. The natural and artificial flavors used in these food products may or may not contain alcohol as a solvent but these flavors are not made with animal derived ingredients and they are genuine kosher certified. It is beyond our scope to find each food product in this category, which may or may not be made with alcohol containing flavors. We request our brothers and sisters to call food manufacturers to find out about alcohol in flavors. Ask them whether alcohol was used as a solvent in flavors. The alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavor.

    The food companies do not have to mention alcohol in ingredients statement according to FDA food regulations. We may even find the industry to respond to our Islamic dietary needs by using alternate solvents such as Propylene Glycol. Some Islamic scholars would not consider a food product Halal if alcohol or if flavor in which alcohol was used as a solvent even if it was completely evaporated during processing. If alcohol is converted to another chemical then it would be Halal but chemically it will not happen.

    Not Halal

    The following food products are included in this category:

    ·         The Haram food products that are made with pork-by-product ingredients and wine.

    ·         The food products that are made with kosher gelatin and bear the kosher symbol K but did not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

    ·         The Haram food products that are made with pork gelatin and bear the kosher symbol K.

    ·         The products made with ingredients derived from non-zabiha meat by- products.

    ·         The products made from fat based ingredients without Halal or kosher certification and with no guarantee they meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

    ·         The products that are made from natural and artificial flavors which are not Halal or Kosher certified with or without alcohol as a solvent.

    ·           The products that are made with alcoholic fermentation and may contain 2-3 % alcohol such as naturally brewed soy sauce.

    ·         The products that are made with human hair L- Cysteine with or without kosher certification.

    ·         The products that are made with questionable ingredients and whose source are not verified as Halal.

    ·         The products, which are kosher certified and bear kosher symbol but do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

    ·         All machine slaughtered animals are considered as NOT HALAL by MCG , MCG's Ulema and 40 Islamic scholars from England.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 14:57:03
  • Assalaamualaikum, I need to know is pizza from 7/11 is halal A.S.A.P. Thank you - Maimoonah Lakhani
  • AOA

    I suggest not to eat cheese pizza at 7 Eleven because I do not think they use Halal cheese and Halal ingredients. You can buy Halal cheese pizza from Papa John or buy Halal Amy's Kitchen frozen cheese pizza from supermarkets.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-28-14 14:53:31
  • Assalamulikum wr wb i have a question about popcorn movie theater popcorn trader joe's are hala or not.. jazakallah khair for ur reply - Binte Suleman
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 14:48:10
  • Assalamu alikum I want to know which cool whip is halal. - Ayesha Fatima
  • AOA

    Kraft Cool Whip is made with alcohol containg flavor so it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 13:42:21
  • Is Ferrous Fumarate from Life Brands halal or not. - Muhammad Umair Ahsan
  • AOA

    If it is 100% Ferrous Fumarete without any ingredient then it is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-28-14 13:30:00
  • Assalamualaikum, I have asked the IN N OUT QA or Technical department about the presence of Alcohol or ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor of CHOCOLATE, VANILLA and STRAWBERRY SHAKE , they have called me and said no ALCOHOL or ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor of CHOCOLATE and VANILLA SHAKE, however a scant amount of alcohol is used in STRAWBERRY SHAKE. JAZAKAALLAHU KHAIRAN for sending me the link on how to ask technical department about the use of alcohol in flavors. http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/#&panel1-5 - SYED
  • AOA

    They do not know what they are talking about. If vanilla shake is made with natural then it is not Halal because it contains alcohol and it is obtained from vanilla beans by extracting with alcohol. Strawberry shakes at In & Out is not Halal because of scant alcohol:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 )

     

    Shakes are made with with various diary products those have to be kosher certified. I do not think any fast food restaurant buy kosher certified milk shakes concentrate or powder.  First of all you should know the ingredients of shakes they may use alcohol containing Carrageenan. The first question is all shakes ingredients are kosher certified and second question about alcohol you should ask this way:

    " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent".

    I advise to avoid the shakes from In & Out.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 13:07:25
  • Salamu Calaikum. Would someone please advised me if it is permissable to use a Designer Whey. I have checked their website to see if it was halal certified but unfortunately it was not but they have published on their site that all their protein products are kosher certified. Would that make it a permissable for me to use it? Jaza-akallah khair. - Farhan Omar
  • AOA

    Whey is kosher certified but does not mean they are Halal because they do not carry unflavored whey so all whey specially vanilla are made with alcohol containing vanilla which are dried to eliminate alcohol.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

    The following are Halal whey protein:

     

    Search results for the term: whey

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Natural CFM Whey Protein Isolate Powder Natural Unflavored Dairy 2 LB Whey Protein Integrated Supplements Available only at various Vitamins stores. Please go to www.integratedsupplements.com to find out nearest store in your town. 02-17-14
    halal ProCel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Dairy 10 OZ Whey Protein Global Health Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-17-14
    halal Tara’s Whey Kosher Goat Protein Powder Dairy - Plain Unsweetened 12 Packets Whey Protein Tara's Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-17-14
    halal Tara’s Whey Kosher Organic Grass Fed Protein Dairy - Powder Plain 12 Packets Whey Protein Tara's Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-17-14
    halal Tara’s Whey Kosher Organic Grass Fed Protein Dairy - Powder Plain 12 OZ Whey Protein Tara's Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-14-14
    halal Procel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Whey Protein Global Health Products The Halal whey protein is available from Global Health Products Inc. company. The product name is Global Health ProCel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Dairy 10 Oz. Product # GH - 80. It can be obtained from www.globalhp.com. This product is kosher certified and use for body building and nutritional needs. 07-30-13


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 11:55:50
  • email addresses of importers of halal frozen meat What items your good self is importing. What food items We export Halal Frozen Chicken Cow Buffalo Got sheep meat, animal natural casing and other general goods consumer goods payment LC highclassnews6 atgmaildot com Buraq Corporation rawalpindi Pakistan payment LC Can u please send us product name, specifications or details, quantity, packing, name of consignee, address, port of destination to calculate and prepare Proforma invoices - buraq corp
  • AOA

    We do not sell or buy any food product. We are educating Muslims about Halal foods and food ingredients.


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 11:17:17
  • Gerber all baby food is halal?Please let me know which brand is halal for baby. - chamely
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 10:02:22
  • Is stearyl alcohol halal? - Hanan
  • AOA

    From our FAQ:

    What are Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol, Lauryl and Oleyl Alcohol used in Personal Care Products. Are they Halal:

    All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. If any personal care company says that no animal derived ingredients are used in their products containing above alcohols it means they are obtained from vegetable fat.


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 09:56:23
  • How to make halal yeast at home - Fathima
  • AOA

    You can not make cheese at home. You can buy Halal baker's yeast from supermarkets.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 09:38:55
  • Are all cooking oils(vegetable/corn/canola) with kosher symbol halal in Usa? - aaaaabc
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 09:05:05
  • Asalamualaikum There this other dark cooking chocolate made in Malaysia and it has a halal stamp. Hydrogenated veg fat, coco powder,emulsifier sorbitan testiarate, emulsifier soy lecithin, emulsifier polyglycerol polyreseanate vanillin.... please from the ingredients let me know as they have a halal stamp on it also Jazakallah - asiya
  • AOA

    I have no information because I do not know whether they check the hodden ingredients too or not.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 07:57:39
  • al-salaamu alaykum waraHmatullahi wabarakaatuhu, Mr. Ahmed, What brand of spices do you use personally? I am having trouble with contacting manufacturers to ensure that their spices are 100% pure. Does a label that reads: "pure", "100%", or any other tagline make this a halal spice? Sometimes no ingredient label is present. Am I required to contact the manufactures of spices to ensure no alcohol was used in its processing? Thank you for your time. Jazakallahu khayr Jacob Carroll - Jacob Carroll
  • AOA

    Most I used 100% pure spices with kosher symbol but I do not use the one with flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 07:41:44
  • chings noodles? - md quadeer quadri
  • AOA

    I have no information. I need to know the ingredients. The brand Chings is not a US brand. I do want have knowledge about them if they manufactured in order countries. I advise Muslims not to buy foreign food products unless it has a Halal or kosher or suitable for vegetarian or Green dot without flavors.

     

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-28-14 06:57:15
  • i would like to know if the cadbury oreo chocolate is halaal. - Aaminah
  • AOA

    Nabisco do not make Cadbury Oreo in USA. Cadbury is made in USA by Hershey with licens from Kraft Foods.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 05:45:25
  • crest cavity protection cool mint gel - SYED
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-28-14 05:02:33
  • Is Axe talc made in india is halal or not - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-28-14 03:47:21
  • Asalamualaikum there's a cooking chocolate with these ingredients is it halal? Sugar, hydrogenated vegetable fat, skimmed milk powder, whole milk powder, coco powder, emulsifier(e322) soya lecithin, favouring vanillin. Its made in turkey istanbul .... And vanilla essence is halal which has vanilla flavour and monoproplyn glycol - asiya
  • AOA

    If the Baking Chocolate has Halal symbol on then it is Halal. I have no information on Vanilla essence from Turkey but here it is not Halal if it is made with natural vanilla and alcohol.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 03:12:11
  • Assalamualaikum I wanna ask about clindamycin, is that halal ? Because I think it made from gelatin - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it make from gelatin then it is not Halal.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: Ingredients
    09-28-14 03:11:41
  • alslam alaikom, i bought two 0% alcohol free deodarents . but in the ingredients there are 2 strange components which i cannot identify is it halal or haram even after internet searching as I am not familier with chemical definintions so please help me: (1) phenoxyethanol : also known as Ethylene Glycol Monophenyl Ether, is a glycol ether and bactericide. It is also seen as a fragrance additive, a fixative for perfumes, an insect repellent ingredient in sunscreens, a topical antiseptic ingredient, and solvent. (2) Alpha-isomethyl ionone : A synthetic compound in the form of a colorless liquid.Used as a perfume. Adds fragrance to a variety of products including aftershave lotion, bubble baths, hair care products and moisturizers. - ahmedq
  • AOA

    Both are Halal chemicals.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-28-14 03:06:41
  • Which bubble gum is halal in USA and my other quacion which chese is halal...jazakalha - Shaheen
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: News & Alerts
    09-27-14 22:51:45
  • is Motrin halal medicine? - Syeda zaidi
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-27-14 21:40:02
  • Is crescent chicken halal - Nazia
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 20:44:44
  • Is pure and 100% natural Wesson canola oil with kosher symbol halal in Usa? - aaaaabc
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 20:18:16
  • Are all fragrances in Johnson's baby lotion halal?? For instance is d oats n lavender baby lotion halal or is it only the regular one??? - Safiya
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-27-14 18:47:35
  • selam u aleyku, i have contacted the "Excelerol company" about the product whther it's halal or not, they replied: Excelerol is 100% vegan (strict vegetarian) and does not contain any animal products whatsoever. It is also 100% free of alcohol. We ship Excelerol to several countries in the middle east including UAE, Saudi Arabia, and Pakistan. We use vegetarian capsules for our products. The Vegetarian capsules are made from Hypromelose (vegetarian), and vegetable Glycerin. But im still in doubt, should i buy the product in such a case? - omar younis
  • AOA

    You can use it.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-27-14 15:17:47
  • Assalamu alaikum, Are the following Ingredienzien halal: Citronellol, Garaniol, Linalool, alpha-Iso-methyl Ionen, d,l-Limonene, Eugenol, Citral, Coumarin? Jazakallahu Khair! - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    The source of above ingredients are known to manufacturer only so please contact them.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-27-14 14:50:39
  • is coke zero is halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-27-14 14:32:45
  • On the website it says that "no info about alcohol fragrance in garnier shampoos and conditioners" So can we use them or no? Can we use Tide powdered detergent? Yes, I've checked the website but wanted to be sure by asking if there was any Or using Sunlight dishwashing detergent ok to use? Please clarify this for me.. Yes I've done the research but I'm unable to decide whether I should use them or not? Jazaka'Allahu khair. - Anonymous
  • AOA

    You have to call them ask about the presence or absence of alcohol by yourself. You can use Tide powder detergent and Sunlight Dishwashing liquid make sure you wash with several time with after you use the Sunlight.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-27-14 14:10:55
  • can we eat things with U or UD symbol if they contain vanilla. please can u tell me that is any vanilla is halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Vanillin a artificial vanilla flavor is Halal.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 13:56:50
  • Salaam. is Saudi Watani meat/chicken halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I advise you not eat any chicken in Saudi Arabia because they are machine slaughtered.

     

     


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 13:30:58
  • Salaam. i wanted to find out if there are any halal breads in Saudi? Someone told me that there are no halal breads there. when u go saudi do u eat any specific brand which is halal? JazakAllah. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    You can eat only pita bread or any bread made with wheat flour, water, yeast, vegetable oil, sugar and salt. I do not know about white western bread. You can also eat Baladi bread if there is no flavor.

     

     


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 13:29:25
  • AOA. Is whey powder Halal? I have smarties and I want to know if I can eat them. - Anonymous
  • AOA

    Is Whey a Halal ingredient:

    Muslims think that if whey is a milk based ingredient then it has to be Halal, but this is not true. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and the other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type cheese such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese  such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese. Whey is a portion of milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture bacteria are grown (Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they are obtained from milk source not meat source, and media on which these starter culture bacteria are grown. These requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements). A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing whey indicating that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher supervision. MCG considers Lactose Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-27-14 13:13:41
  • Are the sunny d grape juice is halal? b/c they don't have kosher symbol on it ?.and snicker ice cream bar caragenan is from KCL b/c your site is showing that they does not contain alcohol in flavor but what about caragenean in their product? - mehnaz
  • AOA

    If the grape juice is 100% then it is Halal, does not need kosher symbol on the package.

    unknown Snickers Ice Cream Bars Ice Cream Bars Snickers Ethyl Alcohol may or may not use in Carrageenan. 01-03-11
    unknown Snickers Mini Ice Cream Bars Ice Cream Bars Snickers Ethyl Alcohol may or may not use in Carrageenan. 01-03-11

    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 13:08:06
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br this is a product called HALDIRAMS NAGPUR BHUJIA and it has the following ingredients Tapary Beans Flour (Moth), Edible Vegetable Oil, Chick peas Flour, Salt, Red Chilli Powder, Clove Powder, Black Pepper, Dried Ginger Powder, Cardamom, Bay Leaves. AND IT HAS A GREEN DOT is this halaal??? Br i am preparing a list of halaal indian items Jazakallah khayr. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal. Thanks for information and it is added to Indian Food on our website.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 12:17:29
  • I wrote an email to toostie roll so they replied that (Samya, thank you for contacting us. Most food dyes and flavorings have an alcohol base. However, as candy is cooked at high temperatures, any alcohol present is "flashed out", and therefore not present in the finished products. There are no animal products or by-products in our products.) So according to this canwe eat toostie roll candy Pls reply JAZAKALLAH - samya
  • AOA

    It is still not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 08:31:40
  • Salam, is this product halal, Mrs. Paul's 100% whole fillets crunchy fish sticks golden,breaded,cut from whole fillets? There's a shape of a bread that has a K inside of it. The ingredients are: Alaskan Pollock (fish,sodium tripolyphosphate to retain fish moisture), bread crumbs (wheat flour, sugar, salt, yeast), water, vegetable oil, (cottonseed and/or canola, and/or sunflower, and/or soybean with TBHQ and citric acid as preservatives), wheat flour. Contains 2% or less of: wheat flour (enriched with niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamine monoitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), salt, soybean oil, modified food starch, salt, sugar, wheat flour, extractives of paprika (color), dextrose, leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate), garlic powder, onion powder, spice. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Although ingredients are Halal and has kosher symbol but it is not Halal because they also make Beer Battered Fish Fillets. They used same vegetable oil and fryers so it got contaminated with real BEER.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-27-14 07:51:39
  • Are birthday cakes in walmart halal? - Amina Hashim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-27-14 07:48:16
  • Salam, is this product halal, Philips Seafood Restaurants Tartar Sauce? The ingredients are: soybean oil,dill pickle relish [pickle,high fructose corn syrup,vinegar,salt,spices and spice flavorings,xanthan gum,sodium benzoate,and potassium sorbate (preservatives)],water,high fructose corn syrup,distilled vinegar,salted egg yolks (egg yolks,salt),food starch-modified,salt,dehydrated onion,spice,potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (preservatives),propylene glycol alginate,disodium edta (added to protect flavor),paprika. There's a circle inside with a U. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is a Halal Tartar Sauce.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 07:39:09
  • Assalam o Alaikum, plz mention which himalaya herbel products contain gelatin? Is pantene fusion ksa halal? I heard uses of alcohol and animal ingredients are banned in KSA? - Bella Ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    09-27-14 06:08:34
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br there is a product which has the following ingredients POTATO,EDIBLE VEGETABLE OIL,TOMATO POWDER,ONION POWDER,SALT,SUGAR,RED CHILLI,DRY MANGO POWDER,GARLIC POWDER,CUMIN,ACIDITY REGULATOR & ANTIOXIDANT (E 330) AND A GREEN DOT. IS THIS PRODUCT HALAAL?? JAZAKALLAH KHAYR. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    What is the name product who manufactured it but is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 05:08:03
  • the apple cider vinegar which can be purchased from Sainsbury has the vegetarian sign, is this halal, and suitable for muslims. - mrs manzoor
  • AOA

    Apple Cider Vinegar is not Halal in UK because it is made with fermenmted apple juice.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-27-14 04:09:16
  • Does blueband contain pig fats - Ssentongo Abduljawad
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-27-14 02:56:20