USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 3,669 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,332 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,705 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,132 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,204 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 58 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,482 ]

Recent Questions:

  • is it Redken hair product (HAIRWAX) halal - redken rough clay texture 20 - Ibnu Qayam
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-03-11 03:54:52
  • salam, halal vanilla ice cream in usa? pls if u can e-mail us some names. thx - samir
  • AOA

    There is only one Halal vanill ice cream supplied by Pacific Valley Dairy(www.pvdairy.com (636) 334-4700 20 Midwest Dr Pacific, MO)'s soft vanilla ice cream sold in 2007 at ISNA convention is made with artificial vanilla flavor where Propylene Glycol is used as a solvent not alcohol. Propylene Glycol is a Halal solvent. This ice cream is not available in supermarkets.


    Category: Food Products
    09-02-11 21:01:38
  • LITTLE DEBBIE ARE HALAL IN NY - JAMEEL
  • AOA

    Some Granola bars from Little Debbie;s sister brand are Halal and rest with triangle k kosher are Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    09-02-11 19:25:53
  • is domino's plain cheese pizza halal? - D.R
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-02-11 14:01:32
  • Please inform me on the halal/haram status of Bimbo brand white bread. I got it this morning at my local 7-eleven. Jaza Khair. - Farha Shafiuddin
  • AOA

    Bimbo white bread and wheat bread are Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-02-11 10:57:08
  • is pepsi halal - syed
  • AOA

    Regular and Diet Pepsi are Halal but not the vanilla Pepsi.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-02-11 09:19:09
  • is protein powders from GNC halal? - Abdul
  • AOA

    No, they are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-02-11 06:49:24
  • can you please certify kirkland's bakery products sold by costco as halal or not. Thank you - khalda
  • AOA

    No, I can not because in each states Costco buy from local bakeries.


    Category: Food Products
    09-01-11 22:37:30
  • SOUR APPLE: CORN SYRUP, CITRIC ACID, WATER, POTASSIUM SORBATE (PRESERVATIVE), SODIUM BENZOATE (PERSERVATIVE), NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLORS(YELLOW 5 LAKE, BLUE 1 LAKE). SOUR WATERMELON: CORN SYRUP, CITRIC ACID, WATER, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, SODIUM BENZOATE(PRESERVATIVE), POTASSIUM SORBATE (PRESERVATIVE), COLOR (RED 40). SOUR BLUE RASPBERRY: CORN SYRUP, CITRIC ACID, WATER, SODIUM BENZOATE (PRESERVATIVE), POTASSIUM SORBATE (PRESERVATIVE), NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, COLOR (BLUE 1). all these are halal ingredients . these are the hubba bubba squeeze pop ingredients.... - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    No, some contains alcohol, some Halal only if there is a kosher symbol on it. Colors are Halal only if there is kosher symbol. Flavors are Halal only if there is kosher symbol and also there is no alcohol is used in flavor. The other ingredients are Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-01-11 20:36:31
  • is betty crockers mashed potatoes halal according to the canadian halal food? - asad
  • AOA

    If there is COR kosher symbol on it and no flavor then it is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-01-11 20:01:39
  • So you've mentioned that Panera breads and bagels are haram. Basically everything there besides some breads are haram. Now how about the drinks? Are drinks from Panera halal? Like Mango Smoothie or Frozen Mango drink? I've seen them make the smoothie right in front of my eyes. They wash everything like blenders and stuff thoroughly. - Anonymous
  • AOA

    I have no information on their drinks.


    Category: Food Products
    09-01-11 18:17:36
  • i got a chocolate gift box of merci chocolates...but iam not sure its halal or not..just wanted to confrom it...is merci chocolate halal - princess
  • AOA

    Merci Chocolate are made in Europe and I have no information on them.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    09-01-11 10:29:51
  • A gift pack is received of Chocolate . The product name is Julia from company Fazer . Wanted to check if this used halal ingredients and is this a Halal product - mujahid Kamal
  • AOA

    They made in Finland and I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    09-01-11 07:25:35
  • I have bought gelatin of 100%veg, having ISI brown symbol, and written as halal, Bakers brand. Is it halal, is it safe to use? - farha
  • AOA

    First of gelatin is not made from vegetable, they can be made from beef or pork or fish. Only Fish gelatin or zabiha beef gelatin are Halal. It may be made from gum. Boozing Baker is a recipe made from Knox brand of gelatin which is made from pork or beef. If this is a US product if not then I do not have information. If it is written as Halal means it has to come from other country and I do not know about it. I do not know the ISI symbol.


    Category: Food Products
    09-01-11 04:13:18
  • My question is: Is the Nestea Raspberry or Nestea Lemon Iced Tea halal or haram? I see the Kosher sign which is the U in a circle. But I still wanted to ask anyway, just to be on the safe side. Thanks. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If there is no alcohol used in flavor then they are Halal otherwise not. Please contact the company for alcohol informatio.

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to QA or Technical service department that  has access to the specification of flavors, not the customer service. In the specification of flavor, the flavor supplier supposed to write the name of solvent or carrier used in a flavor by law. So please request them to find out from QA or Technical service department whether alcohol a hidden ingredient in flavor is used as a solvent in the flavor".

     


    Category: Food Products
    08-31-11 22:21:57
  • plz let me know lactose monohydrate or magnesium stearate are halal - jameel
  • AOA

    They are only Halal if ther are Halal or kosher certified or a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-31-11 18:05:37
  • Salam, is wonder white bread halal in NJ? also are the wonder white hamburger buns and hotdog buns also halal? Thank you. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are all Halal in New Jersey.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-31-11 17:24:37
  • Salam and Eid Mubarak! We went for Eid namaz to Mcc (Chicago) and they served chocolate chip cookies and peanut butter cookies. Are their cookies halal (I don't know where they got them from) because some Muslims think vanilla extract is ok but we want to avoid it. Jazakallah khair. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Thanks for Eid greetings, ISNA, MCC and other organization do not care about Halal status of any food products they supplied on any occation. Only regular Oreo cookies are Halal even not the Chips Ahoy because they use alcohol in flavor. Muslims thinking that vanilla extract is Halal are kidding themself because lack of knowledge about how much alcohol legally present in vanilla extract.I went to MEC for early Eid prayer because I have to go back to work and did not went down to see what they are offering. Unless I know their brand name I can not say they were Halal or not. Some are made by supermarket's instore bakery and some are from supermarkets retail section.

    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
               
    halal Oreo Fudge Cremes Chocolate Cookies Cookies Nabisco   01-19-11
    halal Oreo Mint Fudge Creme Chocolate Cookies

    There so many Halal cookies mentioned on our website you have to search as Cookies.


    Category: Food Products
    08-31-11 15:23:21
  • Is Great Value ice cream halal? - HACER
  • AOA

    Please search it under Ice Cream on our search engine.


    Category: Food Products
    08-31-11 13:34:03
  • is walmart coconut milk bar soap halal - Timothy Muhammad
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    08-31-11 03:06:46
  • max take out restaurant halal http://www.maxschicago.com/ - zakatak96
  • AOA

    Yhey serve hot dogs, Polish sausage, gyros, Italian beef, and burgers.Hot dog, Polish sausage are made with pork. Italian Beef and hamburger are non zabiha and there is no fish. This restaurant is not recmmended for Muslims.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-31-11 01:29:18
  • Is ghirardelli choclates are halal ? - mosin
  • AOA

    They are Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. Please contact them about alcohol.

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to QA or Technical service department that  has access to the specification of flavors, not the customer service. In the specification of flavor, the flavor supplier supposed to write the name of solvent or carrier used in a flavor by law. So please request them to find out from QA or Technical service department whether alcohol a hidden ingredient in flavor is used as a solvent in the flavor".

     

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-30-11 21:03:19
  • I'd resturent depot chicken machine slaughtered - Atif fattah
  • AOA

    All the chicken at Restuarant Depot are machine slaughtered and many ulema do not consider them as Zabiha so does the MCG.


    Category: General Question
    08-30-11 20:35:44
  • Papa John's pizza garlic sauce is halal or not because it has mono and diglycride and they also send dry(powder) parmesan chess is it halal or not - Atif
  • AOA

    Papa John only regualr crust, regular pizza sauce and pizza cheese are Halal not other cheeses. Mono & Diglycerides is Halal only if it is from soy fat.


    Category: Food Products
    08-30-11 20:29:44
  • Is Bath and body works pleasures (night blooming jasmine ) body lotion is haram orhalak - Mrs Atif
  • AOA

    Please check them personal care subsection og Non Food Product section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-30-11 13:36:35
  • Is great value brand chocolate chip(chocolate flakes in vanilla flavored ice cream) is halal or not - Mrs Atif
  • AOA

    Only Great Value Chocolate Ice cream is Halal rest either Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor or not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-30-11 13:28:18
  • in india is all types of food priducts are halal - Mohd Abdul Rahman
  • AOA

    Not necessarily, only with Green Dot symbol on package without flavor are Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-30-11 13:00:21
  • Are any of oberweis's ice-cream pies or cakes halal? Thank-you. - Nawaz
  • AOA

    I do not know, only few their ice cream are Halal which are reported on our website.


    Category: Food Products
    08-30-11 09:46:00
  • vi-john style set hair cream - muzzammil
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-30-11 07:43:23
  • Assalammualaikum... What are soluble collagen and atelocollagen made from? Are they halal? Thank you... - dewi ratih
  •  

    AOA

    Collagen and Atelocollagen are structural and fibrous protein  only found in animal or mammals in their skin, bones, flesh and connective tissue. Collagen is not found in plant kingdom. They are not soluble in water as raw material because of their disulfide bonding and other bonds between the peptides chain of protein.

    They are Halal only if they obtained from fish or zabiha slaughtered beef. Soluble Atelocollagen is used in cosmetic, filtering membrane.

    When collagen or Atelocollagen is treated with an acid or alkali then they became soluble in water in the form of gelatin because the acid or alkali break or rearrange the bonds in collagen or Atelocollagen. so both became soluble in water.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-30-11 01:11:38
  • Assalammualaikum.... Are the ingredients of etude house korea cosmetic halal to use? Is there halal certificate for etude korea cosmetic? Thank you for reply :) - dewi ratih
  • AOA

    No animal derived ingredients are used(December 2010) in Etude House USA. Look for Cochineal, if it is there then it will not be Halal because Insects are Haram in Islam.

    I have no inforamtion on Etude House Korea.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-30-11 01:04:21
  • Assalamu Alaykum, I have a question about a lip butter, of the brand "essence of beauty". It it from CVS store. I have tried to contact CVS to find out if the product has any animal ingredients, but I have not been successful. I would greatly appreciate your help. Jazakallah Khair. - bilqis
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-29-11 22:14:32
  • please let me know if you know about arcor sweets are they halal? - ASIYA
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-29-11 14:10:48
  • Sbarros told me in an email that \"none of their enrichments contain animal derived ingredients\" when I asked if their cheese or vegetable pizza contained any. Is that good enough answer to consume it? Plus I just want to let you know that cvs brand cough drops are OUD kosher certified. - Rubina
  • AOA

    Thanks for the information. Yes, enrichment added to the flour to make bread, pizza crust etc is always kosher certified and Halal. This is mostly done the flour mill.


    Category: Food Products
    08-29-11 14:00:53
  • e476 in dairy milk and dream chocolate, top deck, or the rest cad bury,s chocolate. is it halal? - ASIYA
  • AOA

    Polyglycerol Esters of Polycondensed Esters of Caster Oil is Halal only if the source is only the Caster oil otherwise not or a claim suitable for Vegetarian on the package.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-29-11 13:56:13
  • Is kosher meat is hand cut or machine cut - Mrs Atif
  • AOA

    Kosher meat is never use machine to slaughter, they always hand slaughtered because there is a special Rabbi named Sachet, only Rabbi who slaughetr kosher animals nobody else. Kosher meat is not Halal because they do not pronounce Allah's name on each animal only first and last.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-29-11 13:01:40
  • Is channel make up products are halal or not - Mrs Atif
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-29-11 12:52:53
  • Is Tim Horton Canada halal? Cappuccino,donuts and croissants can u plz comment? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Bakery products at Tim Horton Canada are not kosher certified so they are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-29-11 07:17:54
  • Asalamualaikum wr wb, I would like to know if the following products are halal. -Baskin Robbins Grade A Whipped cream (ingredients- artificial vanilla flavor, mono/do glycerides) -Hershey's chocolate chips JazakAllahu Khairun Farheen - Farheen
  • AOA

    If the artificial vanilla flavor is made from Vanillin the it is Halal. If the Whipped Cream is kosher certified or made with plant fat then Mono & Diglycerides are Halal. If Hershey chocolate chips are made with vanillin then they are Halal if they made with natural & artificial flavor then they are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-29-11 03:23:06
  • Ther is a company named GREAT VALUE Is this brand's ice cream hala? - Ali
  • AOA

    Great Value is  the brand of Wal-Mart, only Chocolate Ice Cream,  Chocolate Fudge Stic and Sherbet Tubes are Halal. 


    Category: Ingredients
    08-28-11 18:32:40
  • plz I want to konw plz give answer generic cialis or viagra is good for muslim - saleem
  • AOA

    Sorry, I did not research both products.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-28-11 15:54:13
  • Is it true COR signe it means halal? - Mahabub Zaman
  • AOA

    No, Not all food products carring COR Kosher symbol are consider Halal. But if they do not contain one of the following ingredients the they are Halal:

     

    Not all Kosher Certified food products are Halal because they do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain the following ingredients:

    (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list such in McDonald's buns in Canada(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract or Brewer's Autolyzed Yeast or yeast extract made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making used only in cheese and  cheese crackers[ but  in all other products  Yeast Extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker’s yeast a Halal source] (12) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-28-11 10:27:02
  • is spirit vinegar halal or haram? - hana
  • AOA

    Spirit Vinegar is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-28-11 07:30:58
  • salam alikom;is colgate max fresh with breath strips halal - mohammed hurani
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    08-28-11 01:48:34
  • children,s claritin allergy grape chewables is halal - jameel
  • AOA

    I have this information:

    Category

    Name

    Brand

    Description

    Allergy

    Red Tab

    Claritin

    01/2010 Gelatin from pork and beef is used. Reference Number: 1584033

    Allergy

    Peach Syrup, Grape Syrup for Adult & Children

    Claritin

    01/2010 No animal derived ingredients and no alcohol are used


    Category: Food Products
    08-27-11 20:18:06
  • Where can I get a a full list of ingredients that make cosmetics haram. Also can cosmetics be worn during salah or would it invalidate ones wudu. And what about circumstances where the individual is unsure about the ingredients due to lack of information available. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I do not have the list of cosmetic products but we have listed cosmetic products under Non Food Product as they are not amde with pork or beef fat. Please use those products. Look I am a food scientist not a cosmetic scientist. Whatever we have provided this is good for our sisters.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-27-11 05:52:45
  • sunsilk shampoo halal or haram? - nash
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-26-11 20:54:38
  • brylcreem hair cream halal or haram - muzzammil
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-26-11 08:37:21
  • osteo bi-flex is halal? it has hydrolyzed Gelatin & source is unknown. - aziz
  • AOA

    If it is not mentioned fish gelatin then gelatin is not Halal even from beef because of zabiha slaughter.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-26-11 01:35:42
  • Is fruit punch flavor of Gatorade G2 powder halal? - Dallas Muslim
  • AOA

    According to Gatorade Company they use alcohol in flavor so they are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-25-11 22:11:35
  • I purchased marshmallows with halal certification. It is made with halal beef gelatine. The brand of marshmallows is called "wellmade". Vanilla is mentioned in the ingredient list, and I feel doubtful whether it contains alcohol or not. Please help thank you. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Whereever Vanilla mentioned it is always obtained by extracting with alcohol and it is not Halal. Only Crushed Vanilla Beans are Halal because vanilla beans are crushed to make crushed vanilla beans.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-25-11 21:38:40
  • assalam o allikum are burger king cheesy fries halal or haram? - areej zainab
  • AOA

    Burger Kning Cheesy Fries are not Halal because cheese is not kosher certified.


    Category: General Question
    08-25-11 12:59:35
  • i am newly married and not good in bed with my wife but i dnt want to do any thing which is not allowed in islam so please answer me that ' medicine for good time in bed is halal or not' please answer me be sending email i will be very thankful to you - umer
  • AOA

    Please contact a Islamic scholar about it because I am not a Islamic  scholar.


    Category: General Question
    08-25-11 07:17:07
  • is monosodium glutamate hala or haram? in food. kindly reply me. - abdul qadir
  • AOA

    Monosodium Glutamate is Halal only in USA and Canada.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-24-11 23:14:25
  • Is nan infant formula halal? - Zeitun
  • AOA

    Please the list of Halalinfant formula on our website.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-24-11 21:26:23
  • johnsons&johnsons products are halal or not? - noor
  • AOA

    Please check their products under Non Food Product section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-24-11 18:20:51
  • Salamu Alaikum. I saw some snickers products that were halal in your website(snickers to go,almond,peanut butter). I wonder how do you know that they don't use alcohol in flavors? JazakaLlohu khayr.. - Shamshod Khusainov
  • AOA

    The company told me that they use Vanillin as artificial flavor in those products. So whereever it says Artificial Flavor that means no alcohol.


    Category: General Question
    08-24-11 17:15:21
  • Almost every product has natural and artificial flavor. How can we understand if alcohol is used as a solvent in flavors? - Shamshod Khusainov
  • AOA By calling or writing company this way:

     

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to QA or Technical service department that  has access to the specification of flavors, not the customer service. In the specification of flavor, the flavor supplier supposed to write the name of solvent or carrier used in a flavor by law. So please request them to find out from QA or Technical service department whether alcohol a hidden ingredient in flavor is used as a solvent in the flavor".

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-24-11 16:48:16
  • Assalamualaikum Can you please tell me if Sara Lee Pumpkin Pie (frozen) is halaal? Also, could you tell me if Baker Square pies are halaal, like the pumpkin pie? Jazakullahu Khairan - hibah
  • AOA

    I have no current information on Baker Square product. Sara Lee Oven Fresh Pumpkin Pie and Signature Selection Tradinational Pumpkin Pies are Halal if there is a kosher symbol on the package because they are not amde with flavors.


    Category: Food Products
    08-24-11 11:52:03
  • Aslamalikum are jelly belly 30 flavors halal? - AVESTA
  • AOA

    Jelly Belly 30 flavor is Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor and have a kosher symbol on them.


    Category: Food Products
    08-24-11 09:38:13
  • is aveeno products halal - i khan
  • AOA

    Not all Aveeno products are made without animal derived ingredients, please check it at Non Food Products.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-24-11 01:53:07
  • Is Chef's Cupboard Italian Style Bread Crumbs halal or haram? - solo
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    08-23-11 18:21:40
  • Is Phenyalanine in Oasis drink hala or haram? - Doaa
  • AOA

    If there is a kosher symbol on the Oasis drink then it is Halal otherwise not.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-23-11 17:20:58
  • Are calvin klein products(moisturizers, cosmetics) , Escada products(moisturizers, cosmetics) , Burberry products(moisturizers, cosmetics) halal ?? - Subuhi Khan
  • AOA

    I can not reserach all cosmetic products so I do not know their Halal status but use the product listed at our cosmetic section because some of them are made without animal derived ingredients.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-23-11 13:24:50
  • Can flavour contain something from animals? Like milk, meat etc. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Some flavor can be made from animal source if it says natural flavor in meat products but if there is a kosher symbol on a food product containing natural flavor that means no animal derived flavoring material is used in the natural flavor. Al,artificial flavors are free of animal derived ingredients because they made with chemical. The problem is use of alcohol as a solvent.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-23-11 06:48:16
  • Is natural orange flavouring and Vitamin C halal ingredients in Erope? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-23-11 05:30:17
  • Is glycerine in liquid food color halal? - Hazeena
  • AOA

    If it is obtained from vegetable fat then it is Halal if it is obtained from animal fat then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-22-11 20:35:01
  • I would like to what 'no certification' means when it states why most products are haram. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Halal or Kosher Certification protect Muslims from adding Haram hidden ingredients in the food products. No certification means the product is not Halal. If apple juice has a kosher symbol then there is no gelatin a Haram ingredient(except fish gelatin) used as a hidden ingredients in apple juice processing to take out apple solids otherwise apple juice can be made with gelatin but it will not in the ingredients statement.


    Category: General Question
    08-22-11 14:18:21
  • Is distiller grain (by-product from corn ethanol fermentation) Halal when used as feed for Halal poultry, specifically chicken? - Dan Hernandez
  • AOA

    Any by-product of alcohol fermentation is not consider as Halal even if it is used in animal feed.


    Category: General Question
    08-22-11 14:14:38
  • Is Edy's cookies n' cream ice cream halal? is has a UD symbol-jhazzakalakhair. - Saba Ali
  • AOA

    It is Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor, so ask the company.

     

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to QA or Technical service department that  has access to the specification of flavors, not the customer service. In the specification of flavor, the flavor supplier supposed to write the name of solvent or carrier used in a flavor by law. So please request them to find out from QA or Technical service department whether alcohol a hidden ingredient in flavor is used as a solvent in the flavor".

     


    Category: Ingredients
    08-22-11 14:12:38
  • Are geniticaly modified (GMO) animal feed products Halal? For example Roundup Ready soybeans or European Corn Borer resistant corn? - Dan Hernandez
  • AOA

    They are Halal if genes obtained from Halal sources.


    Category: General Question
    08-22-11 13:39:15
  • is kfc in pune hallal in pune - adeeb
  • AOA

    I do not know the Halal status of chicken and coating on chicken in KFC India, I wrote a inquiry e-mail but nobody replied.


    Category: General Question
    08-22-11 13:30:33
  • A-0-A I want to know about the L'oreal cosmetics, Is it halal or not? Ad also want to know about the halal cosmetics company. plz help me ALLAH HAFIZ - Qurat
  • AOA

    If you go to Cosmetic subsection of Non Food product you will know its status.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-22-11 12:20:22
  • is oregano extract halal,dose it contain alchol its an igredient in tostitos scoop multi grain chips. jazakum allah - lena kazziha
  • AOA

    Not all extarct are obtained through a;cohol extraction. only the manufacturer knows about it and nobody else knows it.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-22-11 12:12:36
  • is Famous Amos cookies is Halal? - Amelia Anggereni
  • AOA

    Famous Amos cookies is Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor. Ask the company please.


    Category: Food Products
    08-22-11 03:58:05
  • is tocopherol hala? - ali
  • AOA

    Tocolpheral Vitamin E is Halal only if it obtained from vegetable fat or if a kosher symbol on the food package containing Tocopherol that mean it is obtained from soy fat.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-22-11 02:38:52
  • Salam alaikum Are Burt's Bees products halal? - ali
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-22-11 02:37:29
  • Is Glucosamine Halal as per Hanafi Fiqh (irrespective whether glucosamine supplements are kosher certified or not)because glucosamine itself is derived from the shells of any shell fish (like crabs, lobsters etc) and shell fish is not halal as per Hanafi Ruling? Kindly clarify, i would be really grateful. Jazak Allah - Muhammad Faisal
  • AOA

    Somebody ask me to Halal certify it, so investigated it. It is Halal only if it is obtained from outer shells of shrmps which a Indian comapny made in Hyderabad, India. Your statement is not correct because crab under hanafi fiqah is Haram not shrimp and lobsters which are mushbooh. Any part of Haram animal or shell fish is Haram othewise we are allowed to use pork fat on the doors or make shoes out of pork skin. Ask any Hanafi Moulana about crab shell is Halal or not. I did ask a Hanafi Moulana about shrimp shells. Even the ksoher Glucosamine is made with crab shels and for them it is ok because they do not use the meat but not for Hanfi Muslims. It is very important to know the source of shells. Not all shell fish got a Haram status under Hanafi Fiqah. It said in fiqah hanafi book which I have it that if shrimp is consider fish then it is Halal. But it is not given Halal status. But one important point, if you use Glucosamine for curing disease and there is no Halal alternative, many ulema recommended to use it to get cure. So they give this leverage. Please ask a qulaified Hanafi Moulana or Mufti Saheb.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-22-11 01:47:43
  • lanxess lewatit ion resin type s100&M500, THAT,S IS PRODUCT HALAL OR NOT ? HOW PROCESSING POLYMERITATION?WITH GELATINE OR NOT? - SUGENG
  • AOA

    I answerd this question before that Lanxess Lewatit Ion resin is Halal because they use resin a polymer.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-22-11 01:05:25
  • Betty Crocker authentic cornbread and muffin mix contain thiamin mononitrate but has an U circled and D on the front of the package. Are we able to eat this product? - La Shawn Patton
  • AOA

    They are Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor and if they have a kosher symbol on it. All enrichment for flour is Halal including the Thiamine Mononitrate.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-21-11 18:08:26
  • is sun chips halal or haram if yes please tell me the flavors that are thank you - zainib fnu
  • AOA

    Sun Chips only Original was Halal but they started added flavor to it. It is Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor.


    Category: General Question
    08-21-11 15:54:53
  • Is it Halal to eat the vegetarian friendly lunch menu at Marquardt middle school, District 15 in Glendale Heights, Illinois 60139? - Hasnain Khundmiri
  • AOA

    You ned to provide the detail menu. Vegetarian does not mean Halal because they can add alcohol or wine.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-21-11 10:36:49
  • IS PEACHES,APPLES,AND BANANAS HALAL FROM GERBER - MOHAMMED
  • AOA

    If the say only fruit names plus vitamin C then they bare Halal but if they contain flavor then they are not Halal. Please check our baby food for Gerber, you can search as baby food or Gerber.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-21-11 08:36:30
  • kon se skincare products halal hain - tasneem
  • AOA

    Non Food Product me sunsection Cosmetic k jayai. Serf made without animal ingredients estemaal kursukte hain.


    Category: General Question
    08-21-11 06:58:03
  • i would like to know if the cheese pizza is halal or is the pizza halal? - kaleem
  • AOA

    There is few Halal frozen cheese pizza from Emy's Kitchen availabe in Wal-Mart frozen section. But if search Cheese pizza on our search engine on top of home page you will get 19 cheese pizza some are Halal and some are not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-20-11 21:57:00
  • Salam, I was told that the croissants in Dunkin donuts are premade and therefore may contain haram ingredients? Andso, I ask is dunkin donut croissant halal? - Widad
  • AOA

    I do not know but if you call their 800 and ask whether Croissants are kosher certified if they yes, theinly issue will be the presence or absence of alcohol in flavor.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-20-11 21:03:55
  • I wanted to know if Breyers oreo ice cream blasts were halal. i would also like to know what other oreo /cookies n' cream ice creams are halal. jhazzakalakhair. - Saba Ali
  • AOA

    If it Kuf K kosher symbol and no flavor, no vanilla extarct then it is Halal otherwise not. If they have flavor in ice cream then they use alcohol as a solvent. There few Halal ice cream from Breyer's such as Naural Strawberry ice cream. Few Oreo cookies are Halal. Please search Oreo under our serach engine and you know which Oreos are Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-20-11 11:02:56
  • lewatit ion exchange halal or not halal? tq - SUGENG
  • AOA

    Lewatit Ion Exchange is made with resins so it is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    08-20-11 04:37:24
  • Assalamulaikum, is it possible for you to advise if Olay products globally include the same (pork fat) in them as mentioned on your site? I live in new zealand and get New zealand / australia products here. Please help. jazakAllah - Mohsin
  • AOA

    I can not because each Olay products are made to the country regualation. I assume they made with pork in New Zealand and Australia. 


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-20-11 03:27:09
  • is anchor mozeralla cheese steak halal by Mccain company - haris
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol UD or KD then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-20-11 01:29:31
  • what products are halal in dennys - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I did not research Denny's.


    Category: Food Products
    08-20-11 00:03:54
  • are hot funyuns halal in the us?? and can u send me a list of halal and haram snacks from the frito-lay company..jazakalla hu khairun... - muslim
  • AOA

    Please go to our serach engine on the top of the home page and write Potato Chips or snack you will see all Frito Lya products with their Halal sttaus or serach Frito Lay. 


    Category: Food Products
    08-19-11 22:09:20
  • nature bounty vatimin skin hair and nail with collagan gelatin is halal or not - rahat
  • AOA

    All Collagen gelatin are not Halal except fish gelatin.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-19-11 20:59:10
  • is jameson cheese halaal - zakatak96
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol UD or KD then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    08-19-11 15:18:24
  • are those paper cups halal the one that have dart on the bottom - zakatak96
  • AOA

    All Dart paper cups are not Halal because they use animal fat based coating. There Halal paper cups such as Winn brand, Safeway brand. Please search paper cups onsearch machine.


    Category: E-Numbers
    08-19-11 14:41:08
  • Are soft drinks like 7 up , mirinda and fanta halal? Do they contain alcohol or any animal derived ingredients? - Uzma
  • AOA

    7 UP is not Halal because it is made with alcohol containing flavor. Please search soft drink on search engine for other brands.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-19-11 13:24:26
  • if something has k, kd, or ud does that mean its halal ? - jane
  • AOA

    From our ALERT section:

     

    Not all Kosher Certified food products are Halal because they do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements.

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain the following ingredients:

    (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list such in McDonald's buns in Canada(9) Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract or Brewer's Autolyzed Yeast or yeast extract made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making used only in cheese and  cheese crackers[ but  in all other products  Yeast Extract or autolyzed yeast is made from baker’s yeast a Halal source] (12) Nucleotides (building block of nucleic acid) are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant baby formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) Ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol.

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    08-19-11 13:13:49
  • Eggs from Hens which are fed non-vegetarian food. Do we need to make sure that the eggs we are buying are always vegetarian fed. - Abubaker Kaldi
  • AOA

    According to a Islamic scholar there is no sharia rules for animal feed except JALALA. But it is prefer to buy vegetarian feed eggs. But in other countries chicken eat whatever available to them when they freely rooming in open air.


    Category: Food Products
    08-19-11 13:13:11
  • Assalamu Alaykum, I bought multivitamin called One Daily men's health which my clinic pharmacy didn't have over the counter so they had to special order for me because I happened to be the first person to ever ask them for a specific no gelatin vitamin. However, I have no proof of other ingredients it contains. Is this product Halal or Haram. JazakumullAhu Khair! Supplement Facts Serving Size 1 Tablet Amount Per Serving % Daily Value Vitamin A (as Acetate & (14% as Beta Carotene) 3,500 IU 70% Vitamin C (as Ascorbic Acid) 90 mg 150% Vitamin D (as Cholecalciferol) 400 IU 100% Vitamin E (dl-alpha Tocopheryl Acetate) 45 IU 150% Vitamin K (as Phytonadione) 20 mcg 25% Thiamin (as Thiamin Mononitrate) 1.2 mg 80% Riboflavin 1.7 mg 100% Niacin (as Niacinamide) 16 mg 80% Vitamin B-6 (as Pyridoxine HCl) 3 mg 150% Folic Acid 400 mcg 100% Vitamin B-12 (as Cyanocobalamin) 18 mcg 300% Biotin 30 mcg 10% Pantothenic Acid (as d-Calcium Pantothenate) 5 mg 50% Calcium (as Calcium Carbonate) 210 mg 21% Magnesium (as Magnesium Oxide) 120 mg 30% Zinc (as Zinc Oxide) 15 mg 100% Selenium (as Sodium Selenate) 105 mcg 150% Copper (as Copper Oxide) 2 mg 100% Manganese (as Manganese Sulfate) 2 mg 100% Chromium (as Chromium Chloride) 120 mcg 100% Potassium (as Potassium Chloride) 100 mg 3% Lycopene 600 mcg * *Daily Value not established. Other Ingredients: Starch, Cellulose, Stearic Acid, Croscarmellose Sodium, Silicon Dioxide, Magnesium Stearate. Directions: As a dietary supplement, adults take one (1) tablet daily with any meal, or as directed by your healthcare provider. Do not exceed recommended dosage. Keep out of reach of children. Do not use if product appears to be tampered with or seal is broken. Store at room temperature. Unconditionally guaranteed for purity, freshness and label potency. No added sugar, yeast, preservatives or artificial flavors. - Ibrahim
  • AOA

    All Vitamins on counter including One Daily Men's heath are not Halal because they are not kosher certified so even if they do not have gelatin we do not know the sources of vitamin. It could be from Haram sources and they might add Haram hidden ingredients. So buy these Halal vitamins from Vitamin Shoppe store:

    The following Amino Acids, Mineral and Vitamins from Solgar brand are Halal at Vitamin Shoppe stores in USA and Canada. There are many vitamins products from solgar with or without kosher symbol Kuf K available at Vitamin Shoppe stores but they do not meet the Halal requirements so they are not Halal. Only following vitamins/minerals products from Solgar brand are Halal with kosher symbol Kuf K which meet the Halal requirements:

    Formula V VM 2000 Multinutrient(Multivitamins & Minerals)

    Vitamins Only

    Multivitamins  & Chelated Minerals Multi 11 Vegetable Capsules

    Formula V VM 75 Multivitamins with chelated mineral Veg Cap

    Vitamin B Folic acid 800 mg

    Non Flush Niacin 5000 mg

    Pentothenic Acid 550 mg

    B-Complex 100

    Vitamin B6 25 mg

    Vitamin B 12 500 mg

    Vitamin B 6 250 mg

    Vitamin B1 500 mg

    Vitamin B2 100 mg

    Biotin 1000 mg

    Choline/Inosit 500 mg

    Inositol 500 mg

    Folic Acid 400 MCG

    Calcium Citrate with Vitamin D3

    Calcium Magnesium Citrate

    Calcium Magnesium Citrate with Vitamin D

    Calcium Magnesium Plus Boron

    Chelated Calcium Magnesium 1 : 1

    Calcium Magnesium

    Calcium Magnesium Plus Zinc

    Vitamin K 100 MCG

    Chelated Iron

    Gentle Iron 25 mg

    Chelated Zinc

    Zinc Citrate 30 mg

    Zinc 50 mg

    Chelated Magnesium Calcium 2 : 1

    Magnesium with Vitamin B6

    Chelated Manganese

    Magnesium Citrate

    L-Lysine 500 mg

    L-Methionine 500 mg

    Taurine 500 mg

    NAC (Antioxidant) 600 mg

    Vitamin C Crystals

    Liquid Vitamin E

    Dry E 400 IU

    Vitamin E 400 IU(International Unit)

    Beta Carotene 10, 000 IU

    Vitamin A 5000 IU

    Natural Vitamin D 3 1000 IU

    . LANDAU CENTRALAN MULTIVITAMINS & MINERAL WHICH EQULA TO CENTRUM  LN-735-1  UPC: 078328973511AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    2. MAXI HEALTH SUPREME MULTI VITAMINS MXM-110 UPC 753406001064 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    3. Solgar Formula VM-2000 Multi Vitamin & Mineral 1180 TAB SL-1189 UPC 033984011892 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    4. Solgar Formula VM-75 90 TAB SL-1182 UPC 033984011823 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    5. Zahlers MultiVite Complete One-A-Day Multi Vitamin & Mineral 90 Tablets ZA-110462 UPC 779663110462 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    6. Maxi Health Maxi One Prenatal 60 TAB MXM-14306 UPC 753406143061 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    7. Landau Prenatal 100 TAB ln-725-1 UPC 078328972514 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    8. Solgar Calcium Citrate With Vitamin D3 60 TAB SL-432 UPC 03398004320 AVIALBALE AT VITAMINS STORES SUCH AS VITAMIN SHOPPEE.

    9. Maxi Health Maxi Health Maxi Omega-3 Fish Oil Mood Formula EPA/DHA 60 Maxicaps Product # MXF-21706 UPC: 753406217069 AVAILABLE AT 1-800-645-1899.

    VITAMINS AND MINERALS WITHOUT ANIMAL DERVIED INGREDIENTS


    1. ONE A DAY VITAMINS 20 POWDER(ALCOHOL MAY OR MAY NOT BE USED IN FLAVOR, VITAMIN D OBTAINED FROM SHEEP’S WOOL, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT KOSHER CERTIFIED).

    2. ONE A DAY ENERGY ADVOCATE 20 POWDER(ALCOHOL MAY OR MAY NOT BE USED IN FLAVOR, VITAMIN D OBTAINED FROM SHEEP’S WOOL, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT KOSHER CERTIFIED).

    THESE POWDERS NEED TO BE DISSOLVED IN WATER.

    3. VITA FUSION CALCIUM WITH VITAMIN D(MADE WITH PECTIN NOT GELATIN, THIS PRODUCT IS NOT KOSHER CERTIFIED).

     

     


    Category: General Question
    08-19-11 08:55:53
  • Aoa..Is Pizza hut's TUSCANI PASTA eatable?? Because on your website,it says all Pizza Hut's cheese is halal?? - Sheikha
  • AOA

    Sorry, I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    08-18-11 21:23:07