USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 3,996 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,705 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,846 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,222 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,342 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 66 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,578 ]

Recent Questions:

  • e471 is halal or haram - imran
  • AOA

    From our FAQ:

    Fat based E-Numbers such as E-Number 471, 472, 472e:

    E-numbers 471-472 are mushbooh because they can be made with pork fat or soybean fat. They are Halal only if made from soybean fat. Only manufacturer knows the source those E-Numbers. But if a claim " Suitable For Vegetarian" appears on a food product package in Europe then it means these E-Numbers are obtained from soybean or vegetable fat.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-04-13 08:29:16
  • Assalamualaykum, I live in sweden and here there are sweidsh honey from different flowers. I don't know what I must look into ingredients of honey or what I must ask the producer of honey about ingredients. What kind of ingredients might be haram in honey? (Honung Svensk is honey which belongs to Sweden.) Thank you. Kind Regards. - Ezgi Topcu
  • AOA

    If it is not 100% honey then it is not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-04-13 07:03:40
  • are sweet potatoes halal? and is kosher gelatin halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Sweet potato is a vegetable and all vegetables are Halal.

    From our FAQ:

    Is Kosher Gelatin Halal:

    No, Kosher gelatin is not Halal because it is made either from pork or non zabiha beef and therefore kosher gelatin from pork is Haram. A liberal kosher symbol K appears on yogurts containing kosher gelatin because some Rabbis consider kosher gelatin from pork as kosher.


    Category: Food Products
    12-04-13 04:59:47
  • alferedo pasta sauce is halal or not... - kausar
  • AOA

    It is not Halal becauce not Halal dairy ingredients.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-03-13 22:53:43
  • salam, is milka yogurt chocolate halal or haram? please answer my question it is really important for me. it is from germany. all ingredients in the back is german i cant understand it. also if it is haram why? like from what ingredients made it haram. iA there is nothing from pork in it. - cigdem
  • AOA

    I have no information on German products.


    Category: Food Products
    12-03-13 21:03:53
  • GNC Wellbeing be balanced bone strengthing calcium is HALAL OR NOT? - Shah mohammed
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because it is not Kosher certified.

    From our Home Page:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-03-13 18:54:08
  • Can Muslim eat whey product? - syed kaleem
  • AOA

    Only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-03-13 16:28:27
  • is combos baked snacks is halal? - asad
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    12-03-13 12:42:09
  • Is Capri sun juice halal - Ahmed
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    12-03-13 11:48:37
  • do have halal certificate for fair and lovely & fairness creams - mohamed ilham
  • AOA

    They are not Halal certified

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-03-13 08:15:58
  • Is it red wine concentrated that refer to grape skin etract is halal? - muhammad hamizan
  • AOA

    It is Haram.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-03-13 08:01:24
  • Is Heinz's worcestershire sauce halal or haram? - nesma
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    12-03-13 07:43:07
  • Suzi Wan soy sauce, is it halal or haram? - nesma
  • AOA

    FRom our FAQ:

    What are the ingredients of Haram Soy Sauce:

    The Naturally Brewed Soy is the Haram soy sauce. It is made just like wine containing 2-3% alcohol. The ingredients list contains Wheat, Soy and other ingredients. Food companies do not mention Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce under the ingredients statement. They just mention soy sauce but within parenthesis they write Wheat and Soy. This is the only way to find a Haram Soy Sauce.

    What are the ingredients of Halal Soy Sauce:

    All purpose soy sauce or non naturally brewed soy sauce is a Halal soy sauce made from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate. La Choy All Purpose Soy sauce is a Halal Soy Sauce.


    Category: Food Products
    12-03-13 07:41:19
  • Asalaam aleikum. I am referring to the question about Floradix halal status. In Sweden I have not found a lot of supplements with a kosher or halal symbol on it. So I want to know if Floradix iron and vitamin formula is halal or not. Are any of these ingredients not halal? Aqueous herbal extract (54%) from: carrot root (Daucus carota), nettle leaf (Urtica dioica), spinach leaf(Spinacia oleracea),couch grass root, (Agropyron repens), fennel fruit, (Foeniculum vulgare),kelp thallus, (Macrocystis pyrifera),roselle flower(Hibiscus sabdariffa) Mixture of fruit juice concentrates (29.4%) of: pear, grape, blackcurrant juice, water, blackberry, cherry, orange, red beet, lemon, carob extract, apple Aqueous yeast extract, honey, aqueous rosehip soft extract (Rosa canina), containing 4 % vitamin C, iron (as ferrous gluconate), wheat germ extract, vitamin C (ascorbic acid), natural flavours, thiamine, (as thiamin hydrochloride), riboflavin, (as riboflavin sodium phosphate), vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine hydrochloride),vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamine). Is this product halal with or without a kosher symbol? Answer as soon as possible barakallahu feek. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Most extracts are extracted with alcohol. Please verify with manufacturer. Use only vitamins which says suitable for vegetaraian without extract and flavor. If there  is no claim suitable for vegetable then they are not Halal.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-03-13 06:17:51
  • is rossmoor gelatin halal? - Mohsin
  • AOA

    Only fish gelatin is Halal. If the gelatin is not from fish then it could be from pork which is a Haram gelatin.


    Category: Food Products
    12-03-13 03:38:27
  • Red bull energy drink r halal ? - ismail surti
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because they are made with alcohol containing flavor.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-03-13 02:57:27
  • in india there are many food products say,biscuits,ice creams breads with E codes 471 but they also have the green square mentioning 100%veg.Are they halal? many Muslims do not agree to this.They eat them - sharmila
  • AOA

    E=Number 471 is fat based mono & diglycerides and if it has green dot square it means it is obtained from vegetable fat and Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-03-13 01:36:42
  • Wilhelmina pepermunt (mint candies from Holand (fortuin) the anti caking agent (Magnesium Stearate) used in this mint candy is Halal - Mayoli
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    12-03-13 00:27:30
  • is lakme scrub cream haram or halal.plz let me know - nazir
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    12-02-13 23:01:05
  • If private selection brand of kroger ice cream is halal. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol and containing vanilla extract, flavor, carrageenan then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-02-13 22:42:29
  • Is there any haram ingredients used in Estée Lauder cosmetics products or not? - Hafsa Khatoon
  • AOA

    All make up products including lipstick if they are fragrance free, alcohol free, Carmine color free then they can be use by Muslims. Make Up, Skincare Products of ESTEE LAUDER do not contain any pork or pork byproduct or beef byproduct. All Fragrance are made with ethyl alcohol. The reference number for this information is 1197179 of May 9, 2013. They will not Halal if Carmine Red Color is used.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-02-13 22:31:26
  • I would like to know if Colgate Toothpaste is halal. Are there any animal products that make it haram to use. I have heard that it is haram so is Colgate toothpaste haram or halal???? - Humairaa
  • AOA

    Toothpaste All Colgate Toothpaste Except Max Fresh Beat Colgate No animal by-product and no alcohol in flavor. Reference number 031122784 dated Feb 22, 2013.
    Toothpaste Max Fresh Beat Toothpaste Colgate Made with pork/beef. Not Halal. Reference number: 031122784 dated Feb 22, 2013.

    Category: General Question
    12-02-13 21:39:52
  • I could not see any information about sebamed products. Are they halal? http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0015XGOYW/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=AE59HI5ON2G1H - seval
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    12-02-13 21:16:26
  • Es salamu aleykum. What are the halal status of flu shots? Is there any thing that I have to be careful with? Also, I am pregnant and expecting in February. I would like to learn about the shots that my baby will get, can you please provide some information on that. Thanks - Amine
  • AOA

    Sorry, I did not research it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-02-13 20:05:09
  • Is the medicine mucinex halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information. But Inshallah I will research it.


    Category: General Question
    12-02-13 19:56:02
  • Asalaam aleykum. Is Floradix iron and vitamin formula halal? On the package it says suitable for vegetarians and alcoholfree. The ingredints are: Aqueous herbal extract (54%) from: carrot root (Daucus carota), nettle leaf (Urtica dioica), spinach leaf(Spinacia oleracea),couch grass root, (Agropyron repens), fennel fruit, (Foeniculum vulgare),kelp thallus, (Macrocystis pyrifera),roselle flower(Hibiscus sabdariffa) Mixture of fruit juice concentrates (29.4%) of: pear, grape, blackcurrant juice, water, blackberry, cherry, orange, red beet, lemon, carob extract, apple Aqueous yeast extract, honey, aqueous rosehip soft extract (Rosa canina), containing 4 % vitamin C, iron (as ferrous gluconate), wheat germ extract, vitamin C (ascorbic acid), natural flavours, thiamine, (as thiamin hydrochloride), riboflavin, (as riboflavin sodium phosphate), vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine hydrochloride),vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamine). In some packages there is a kosher symbol on them, but i dont know if there is a kosher symbol on the package of the floradix in my country. 1.) If there is a kosher symbol on the package or it is certified kosher, is this product halal then? 2.) If there is no kosher symbol on the package in my country, is this product halal then? (It says suitable for vegetarians and alcoholfree on the package) Answer as soon as possible barakallahu feek - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-02-13 19:43:58
  • Asalamualaikum I have recently checked McDonald's website for tartar sauce ingredients and there is no whey or natural flavor in the sauce. Please check they're website so we can confirm the halal or haram status on it if you don't mind. Did you say patty is halal? - Fariha
  • AOA

    I is mushbooh because of fat based polysobate 80, if it is made from vegetable fat then Halal otherwise not. Only McDonald knows about it so call and find out.

    TARTAR SAUCE:
    Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Pickle Relish (Diced Pickles, Vinegar, Salt, Capers, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate [Preservative], Calcium Chloride, Spice Extractives,
    Polysorbate 80), Egg Yolks, Water, Onions, Distilled Vinegar, Sugar, Spice, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Parsley.
    CONTAINS: EGG.
     


    Category: News & Alerts
    12-02-13 19:13:17
  • Granny,s Oven.Premium bite -size cookies by Biscomerica Corp. - Suleman Amla
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    12-02-13 19:10:42
  • is Great Value Mozzarella Cheese halal.. Pls let me know soon.. Jazakallahu khaira - Haneef
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on it.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-02-13 11:14:45
  • Salam aleykum, Is Tipton Grove™ Grape Juice, 64oz halal? - mustafa
  • AOA

    If it is 100% grape juice without flavor then it is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    12-02-13 11:08:46
  • What are the guidelines for halal seafood - bill
  • AOA

    Only fish except cat fish is Halal for Hanafi Muslims.


    Category: Food Products
    12-02-13 10:48:49
  • There is no symbol of (ouD) on the package of apple pie,and brand name is Artisan Fresh.Is it halal. Thank you. - zainab aftab
  • AOA

    I need to know complete ingredients list.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-02-13 07:30:24
  • ASSALAMO_ALAIKUM, I WANT TO KNOW THAT A MUSLIM CAN USE fair and handsome (emami brand) fairness cream - adeel jawed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-02-13 07:30:10
  • is the barley malt in bakery halal or haram for shia people please answer me ASAP - soha
  • AOA

    It is a Halal ingredient for all Muslims.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-02-13 06:59:57
  • is pizza hut product in india halal - Mohammad Imran
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    12-02-13 06:06:51
  • I live in Saudi Arabia. I read on your website that mcdonald's some ingredients are not halal, so is it applied to all franchies of mcdonald's ? because mcdonald's of saudi arabia is saying that everything is halal in KSA. - arshia
  • AOA

    I have no recent information about Halal status of McDonald in Saudi Arabia but I do not recommend to eat chicken because it is machine slaughter and many ulema do not consider machine slaughter as zabiha.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-02-13 05:21:44
  • Is Loreal paris cruelty free?Is it derived from animal?There is parfum in it,is it halal? - Nur Syahirah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-02-13 05:18:37
  • If the product is vegan.Is it halal? - Nur Syahirah
  • AOA

    No, it should meet Halal requirements such as no alcohol in flavor.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-02-13 05:02:37
  • Janet cream - mumammal
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    12-02-13 02:35:11
  • Bin bin rice cracers halal ke??? Sebelum ni sy pernah terbaca yg kropok ni mengandungi lemak babi. Sy cuma nak kepastian je... - ku muhammad shahrizan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    12-02-13 01:39:35
  • Are any of the cold stone cakes halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-02-13 00:37:04
  • Is Aveeno dandruff shampoo and conditioner halal? - SYEDA FATIMA NAILA
  • AOA

    If it is not made with animal derived ingredients and no alcohol in fragrance then you can use jt. Find out by calling their 800 number.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-01-13 22:56:18
  • I just bought Mastro balsamic vinegar of MODENA that is the whole brand name. It is 500 ml. I wonder if there is any trace of alcohol in this product? Asalam Alikum - rosa
  • AOA

    Balsamic vinegar is not Halal according to MCG Halal criteria.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-01-13 21:50:53
  • Dear sir Benzyl alcohol 》in toothpaste ingredients IS HALAL?? And cetyl alcohol ( composition for skin lotions) IS HALAL ?? - abbas
  • AOA

    From our NEWS section:

    Not all alcohol are Haram

     

    NOT ALL ALCOHOL ARE HARAM (ETHYL ALCOHOL)

     Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

    1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate. All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

    2. isopropyl alcohol is also used in many processes as well as in home cleaning products and skin lotions and it is also known as "Rubbing alcohol". This is a Halal alcohol because it does not cause intoxication.

     

    3. Methyl alcohol or methanol or wood alcohol is also a Halal alcohol but it is a toxic alcohol . It is used in denatured ethanol or alcohol to denatured ethyl alcohol.

     

    4. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.

     

    5. Specially Denatured Alcohol and Completely Denatured alcohol are ethyl alcohols to which denaturing materials are added to denature ethyl alcohol for purpose of not intended for consumption. They are used in cosmetic, pharmaceuticals products. They are allowed for skin application by many ulema.

     

    6. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints

     

    7. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

     

    8. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-01-13 21:14:01
  • How to find out if Carvel ice cream cake's flavor has alcohol in it or not? - Ahmad Raza
  • AOA

    Please send this to them:

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department can not answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 20:50:46
  • Asalaam aleykum. Do companys that manufacture iron supplements usually use alcohol in the process? (I do not mean alcohol in flavors, i mean if they use alcohol in general in the manufacturing process). For example supplements that contain, ferrous gluconate, ferrous glycinate and ferrous citrate. Wa salaam - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    All those Iron are not made with alcohol.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-01-13 20:09:23
  • Nickles Split Top Wheat bread contains monoglycerides. Is it halal/haram? - Mamdud
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol on then only manufacturer knows the source of Monoglycerides.


    Category: Ingredients
    12-01-13 19:39:08
  • Asalaam aleikum. There is a skin cream that contains vegetable oils. The ingredients are: Aqua, Canola Oil, Aspartic Acid, Glycerin, Oleyl Erucate, Glyceryl Stearate, Decyl Oleate, Butyrospermum Parkii, Gelatin (Fish Collagen), Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Ceteareth-20, Stearic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydroxyethyl Acrylates, Sodium Phytate, Caprylyl Glycol, Glyceryl Caprylate, Triethanolamine, Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate, Phenylpropanol, Ceteareth-12, Cetyl Palmitate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Carrageenan, Squalane, Polysorbate 60, Retinyl Palmitate, Zonase. Is there any of these ingredients that i should ask the company about? Or is this product halal? wa salaam - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    There are many fat based ingredients whose source is known to the manufacturer plus there is mushbooh carrageenan ingredients if ethanol used during its processing then it is not Halal. Only manufacturer can answers the above questions.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-01-13 18:22:34
  • Trident layers gum with straberry and tangy citrus is halal or haram? - Jehan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    12-01-13 17:28:54
  • Assalamu Alaykum brother, I live in Canada and would like to know if Forrero Rocher and Kitkat is halal here? - Omar
  • AOA

    You have to go to our Canadian site www.canadianhalalfoods.com to find out.


    Category: Food Products
    12-01-13 15:04:37
  • What are the halal frozen pizzas - mohammedshamshuddin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: Food Products
    12-01-13 12:09:06
  • i want to know that can i make it done wine facial..is it permissable ? - fouzia
  • AOA

    It is Haram to add wine to your face.


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 08:10:54
  • Is max factor pan stick halal? - ilham
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 03:13:41
  • suavecito pomade is halal or not? it is hair gel and i wanna ask if these product have non halal sources - mohd hazim
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 02:02:31
  • is dabur vatika dandruff guard styling hair cream halal? - Mohsin
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    12-01-13 01:43:52
  • Is shamrock company meat halal? Is Saj restaurant in Denver halal? - Atifa
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 23:39:02
  • L'oven fresh pecan pie. I checked the ingredients and surpisingly, the mono and dyglerides, lecithin and shortening are vegetable but the problem is idk if their whey and niacin is halal. I mean it says so in bold that "Contains: Soy, Milk and Nuts" Should I eat it? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on it.


    Category: Food Products
    11-30-13 19:12:51
  • are twix by mars halal cause they have skim milk in them? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 19:10:53
  • if a product has a kosher symbol on it what else do you have to check to make sure the product is halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    From our HomePage:

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 19:07:06
  • little debbie creme cookies their kosher certified ....but they have carrageenan in it so are they halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    It is a mushbooh product.


    Category: Ingredients
    11-30-13 19:03:35
  • AOA! Is dominos pizzas halal? If not, can you please tell us which all pizza restaurants are halal? JazakAllah - Manal
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 18:27:31
  • Where can I find pure lemon extract that does not contain alcohol? - Barbara Yamini
  • AOA

    Realemon 100% Lemon juice can be used as lemon extract because it is not avilable in supermarkets.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-30-13 17:21:46
  • asalam alaikum..i will like to ask a question.is there any halal or haram gelatin.i bought a product from nature's bounty omega -3 fish oil which has gelatin.dont know if it is halal or haram taking the fish oil.find enclose the ingredients below:-Gelatin,glycerin,mixed tocopherols,.the products contains soy,tree nuts,seafood and sulfites. - abdul-lateef anbali
  • AOA

    TITLE: Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-30-13 16:39:17
  • is kosher certified soy sauce halal? - Rola Chehade
  • AOA

    No unless it is a multipurpose soy sauce.

    From our FAQ:

    What are the ingredients of Haram Soy Sauce:

    The Naturally Brewed Soy is the Haram soy sauce. It is made just like wine containing 2-3% alcohol. The ingredients list contains Wheat, Soy and other ingredients. Food companies do not mention Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce under the ingredients statement. They just mention soy sauce but within parenthesis they write Wheat and Soy. This is the only way to find a Haram Soy Sauce.

    What are the ingredients of Halal Soy Sauce:

    All purpose soy sauce or non naturally brewed soy sauce is a Halal soy sauce made from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, corn syrup and sodium benzoate. La Choy All Purpose Soy sauce is a Halal Soy Sauce.


    Category: Food Products
    11-30-13 15:53:30
  • I would like to know what is the marja3/ ta2leed that you consider when you specify the food as halal or haram. For example, some kinds of fish such as crab are considered halal in one marja3 but haram in another. Thank you. - Rola Chehade
  • AOA

    Crab is Haram for Hanafi Muslims. I have no information on marja3/ ta2leed.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 15:23:25
  • Assalmulikum I want to ask u plain bread crumbs great value brand is halal or not, Jzk - Saima
  • AOA

    It is not Halal. Please search Halal bread crumbs on our website.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-30-13 11:53:59
  • brother can you please help me? my baby has hydrocele or hernia ,,i am not sure but he has....dr. said to do operation but we do not want to do that .he had constipation from that he felt that situation. i search in online some herbal remedies and homeopathy medicine ,they said that medicine prevent the hernia,,,but my question is that is homeopathy halal or can you tell me the name of halal homeopathy medicine? i live in usa, my baby is one years old. please help me brother any kind of either those medicine or islamic healing....please ,please.... - nilu
  • AOA

    This is medical situation and I am not a doctor. I suggest you to consulet with a Muslim doctor. Homepathy is not always Halal and I have to know the ingredients.

    On medicine section we have listed:

    Category Name Brand Description
    Laxative & Fiber Metamucil Original Coarse only Metamucil You can use powder Metamucil because Metamucil products are not certified kosher so they do not carry the \'U\' or other kosher labeling. It may be helpful to know, though, Metamucil Powders and Wafers do not contain animal derivatives. The gelatin used to make the shell of the Metamucil Capsules comes from beef. November 2013

    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 11:39:42
  • Is there any ice cream cake we can eat? I need to know about Carvel ice cream cake if we can eat it or not? - Ahmad Raza
  • AOA

    Carvel ice cream cake is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 10:55:56
  • is dyeing hair haram..not permanent. - Rumi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 10:49:28
  • I wanted to know if the cheese that is used to make giordanos pizza is halal and permissible to eat? - humayoon
  • AOA

    Please search Giordanos under Alert section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-30-13 10:24:10
  • I cannot find any information about the tomtits salsa in your website. I saw information before. did you remove them? Also, all godiva chocolate bars have halal and kosher symbol on the package but on your website it says it is not halal. Please update the information. Thank you. - Zeynep
  • AOA

    In June 2012 there were no Kosher or Halal symbol on their chocolate packages. Kosher symbol carrying products must meet Halal requirements if one of the following is present in kosher certified product then it is not Halal:

    1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

    You have to call or write the Halal certifying organization who Halal certified the Godiva few chocolate products whether Halal certify the products made with alcohol containing flavor and ethanol uesed Carrageenan because they are known to Halal certified food product containing 0.5% alcohol in the product (From their website) and ask where we could find in the ahadith which says 0.5% alcohol in food products are consider Halal.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 08:25:04
  • If Allah said chicken is halal then is it important for you to slaughter it in a specific way Or You can eat it because Allah said its halal - syed muqarrab
  • AOA

    Upon slaughtering an animal, it is fard upon a Muslim to recite the name of Allah. If he did not recite the name of Allah intentionally, the meat of the animal will not be Halal. (Surah al-In'aam Aayat121) 

    Cicknes are under Halal category of animals. But it does not mean that it is Halal to eat chicken if the chicken are not slaughter according Islamic Sharia rules.

    Many ulema do not consider machine slaughtered chicken as Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-30-13 02:33:46
  • I would like to know if Chipotle is halal. I am aware that on the cheese that they are still debating but is there any cross contamination with meat products at Chipotle. I am aware that when getting served that there are both items but they are separated, but I am not sure so please tell me if Chipotle is halal. - humairaa
  • AOA

    Please see the Chipotle Halal sttaus under Chain Restaurants under Food Products.

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-29-13 20:57:55
  • I would like to know which of the Ice creams at Culvers is halal. I would also like to know if Dairy Queen ice cream is halal. If so which ones? - Humairaa
  • AOA

    Dairy Queen Ice Cream products are not Halal because they are not kosher certified and I do not hav eany information on Culvers.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-29-13 20:54:07
  • Assalamou alikum Is ariba cioccolato fondente halal? Plz answer Jzk! - Fatima.C
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    11-29-13 20:14:59
  • isopropyl alcohol halal or haram - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is a Halal alcohol because it does not intoxicate.


    Category: Ingredients
    11-29-13 18:06:08
  • is the gelatin in the vitamin e sold by valupak halal certified? - hibo
  • AOA

    From our Alert section:

    TITLE: Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    Posted on: 08-15-13 00:00 AM

    :

     


    Category: Ingredients
    11-29-13 14:40:10
  • are smarties candy rolls found in america halaal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    11-29-13 13:08:30
  • Is Frangelicoor any other hazelnut liqueur halal? If there are any other hazelnut liqueurs what are they? -Jizakallah - Zoha
  • AOA

    Frangelicoor Hazelnut liquor is a Haram drink because it is made with alcohol where alcohol is infused with nuts, natural flavoring extracts, vanilla and coacoa.and all other Hazelnut liquor are Haram because they are made with alcohol. Frangelicoor is an Italain products.

     


    Category: Food Products
    11-29-13 12:19:51
  • Sea food is halal especially forzans is sea food because i heard that forzans are not halal is this correct. - Nasir
  • AOA

    I have no information on particular restaurant but Crabs are Haram for Hanafi Muslims and all oth seafoods except fish are mushbooh.


    Category: General Question
    11-29-13 12:11:50
  • Assalamualaikum! M & M Peanut is having "E-120" in Kuwait. But as per you your website it is halal. How is that? - Mohammed Ibrahim
  • AOA

    I have no information about it in Kuwait.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-29-13 11:59:22
  • I live in Canada and want to know if Elizabeth Arden cosmetics contain any gelatin ?? - Aliya Hussain
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    11-29-13 10:59:57
  • What type of alcohol is in red bull. I've heard from a mawlana that unless it's grape or apple alcohol, less than a certain percentage of alcohol is okay. - Zakir
  • AOA

    Red Bull will not tell what is source of alcohol. It could be grape or corn but MCG consider alcohol from any source is Haram.

    From our Alert section:

    TITLE: Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    The following article was from: http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspxnewsid=170

    In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.


    Allah Most High says:


    “O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper”. (al-An’am, 90)


    Sayyiduna Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes”. (Sahih Muslim, No. 1985).


    However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both) from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.


    They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication”. (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306).


    However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types of beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their argument on the following two Hadiths:


    Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others).


    Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden”. (Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others).


    Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.


    The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna. Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:


    “Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position”.


    Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:


    “Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether”. (Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455).


    The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).


    However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him) himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them" (end of the published article).

     

    MCG comments:

     

    Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims.

     

    Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema.

    But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic. The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn. Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. According above ulema  the corn alcohol should be consider as synthetic alcohol because it is not obtained from grape, date and barley.

     

    There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast. The source of sugar are many such from fruits (grape, dates or nay fruits) or from grain such as corn, wheat.

    You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source.

    Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time. Many ulema miss the ibadah point. Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah.

     

    Here MCG's ulema fatwa on alcohol:

     

    FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

    Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

    Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

    MCG considers alcohol from any source as Haram.

    The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol:

    Gasification produces a synthesis gas, sometimes called syngas (from synthesis gas), which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide. The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process.

    Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

    2. CPG Sec. 555.100 Alcohol; Use of Synthetic Alcohol in Foods

    BACKGROUND:

    Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l948. By Administration Information Letter No. 90, dated January 28, l949, the districts were advised that we seriously doubted that a product made from synthetic alcohol could be appropriately regarded as a type of vinegar.

    "Ethyl alcohol is recognized in the U.S. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia. Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

    alcohol in food products to have been produced from fermented food substances, such as grains, fruit, etc., and that they do not expect their foods to contain 'alcohol' produced from petroleum gas.

    alcohol as a suitable food ingredient. This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review.

    Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. In order to secure more information, we wrote to the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Division, Internal Revenue Service. Their reply included the following paragraphs:

    alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum derivatives. It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.g., 40-grains.

    alcohol is used in the production of beverage products, our regulations require that the source of the alcohol be shown on the label except for cordials and liqueurs. Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic."

    POLICY:

    Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading.

    Bottom line is that some ulema  are confusing Muslims to consume alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley. They even never used word getting

     

     

     

    Posted on: 11-23-13 00:00 AM



    Category: Ingredients
    11-29-13 07:52:16
  • How can I subscribe for news posts and other informative material on this site through email? I have also posted on q&a regarding boots products etc. JazakAllah - Zara
  • AOA

    This is our future project.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-29-13 05:28:58
  • maggi magic sarap halal or not? - mahad jamil
  • AOA

    The ones with green dot or with vegetarian label without flavor are Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    11-29-13 01:51:29
  • are any of the cold stone cakes or shakes halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-28-13 21:48:35
  • Are Pharmaton with Ginseng tablets halal? - Nurbaya
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 18:50:32
  • Assalamou alikum Is sheer infusion body lotion from the Vaseline company halal Plz reply JZK!!! - Fatima.C
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 16:53:05
  • Disney Fairies Multivitamin Gummies Halal or not - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Gummies vitamins are made with gelatin so it is not Halal.

    From our Home Page:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: E-Numbers
    11-28-13 15:05:34
  • green bean casserole - rabia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    11-28-13 14:14:01
  • Are vitamin supplement tablets or capsules made from vegetable extracts okay if they are dry and vegetarian? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    From our Home Page:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

     


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 09:37:48
  • If we use product which has alcohol in it,will our salah be accepted?Like shampoo/conditioner - Nur Syahirah
  • AOA

    There is ethanol or ethyl alcohol inshampoo but they are fat waxes which are term as Cetyl or Butyl Alcohol in shampoos but there are not ethyl alcohol.

    From our FAQ:

    What are Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol, Lauryl and Oleyl Alcohol used in Personal Care Products. Are they Halal:

    All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. If any personal care company says that no animal derived ingredients are used in their products containing above alcohols it means they are obtained from vegetable fat.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    11-28-13 08:46:36
  • Is hexyl cinnamal halal? - Nur Syahirah
  • AOA

     It is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    11-28-13 07:52:35
  • is Isopropyl alcohol halal?If there is parfum in the product is it halal?This is a Loreal Paris Product - Nur Syahirah
  • AOA

    New Title Description Date
    Not all alcohol are Haram

     

    NOT ALL ALCOHOL ARE HARAM (ETHYL ALCOHOL)

     Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

    1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate. All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

    2. isopropyl alcohol is also used in many processes as well as in home cleaning products and skin lotions and it is also known as "Rubbing alcohol". This is a Halal alcohol because it does not cause intoxication.

     

    3. Methyl alcohol or methanol or wood alcohol is also a Halal alcohol but it is a toxic alcohol . It is used in denatured ethanol or alcohol to denatured ethyl alcohol.

     

    4. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.

     

    5. Specially Denatured Alcohol and Completely Denatured alcohol are ethyl alcohols to which denaturing materials are added to denature ethyl alcohol for purpose of not intended for consumption. They are used in cosmetic, pharmaceuticals products. They are allowed for skin application by many ulema.

     

    6. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints

     

    7. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

     

    8. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

     

    03/23/11

    Category: Non-Food Products
    11-28-13 07:51:17
  • Swiss chocolate halal atau haram? - nur
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Ingredients
    11-28-13 06:31:06
  • Salam o alikum my question is this that a few days before one of my friend gift me a breath fresh spray which is made of England the ingredients of this spray contain alcohol can i use this spray - Sayed ajan
  • AOA

    It is not a Halal spray.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    11-28-13 02:29:26
  • In british centrum there is a mixture of gelatine as well as vegetable oïl my question is that if it is halal or not - M SULTAN NASIR
  • AOA

    Gelatin from pork is Haram, gelatin from non zabiha beef is not Halal. Gelatin from fish is Halal.

     

    From our Home page:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Mus