USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,166 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,928 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,950 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,287 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,432 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 69 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,641 ]

Recent Questions:

  • I already bought a Chanel lipstick, but still not using it. I want to know if there is any info about this product. Are Chanel using substance from pig for their lipstick? - Anonymous user
  • AOA Sorry, I did not investigated any Chanel cosmetic products so I do not know they are Halal or not. But we have cosmetic listed under Non Food Products which are not made with any animal derived ingredients.
    Category: Archive
    06-29-11 13:54:29
  • i have read your list of ingredients we should be aware of in kosher certified products and did not see natural or artificial flavoring. does this mean that if a product is kosher certified and does not contain any of the 17 ingredients listed on your site, then it is halal? or do we still have to find out about alcohol in flavoring? jazakAllah - Anonymous user
  • AOA Alcohol containg flavor is one of 17 ingredients so if you fiind out from the company that they used alcohol as a solvent in flavor then it is not Halal although it is kosher certified. If you could not find any ingredient listed under 17 ingredients in a kosher certified food product then that food product will be consider Halal.
    Category: Archive
    06-27-11 20:03:08
  • If I buy a product which is produced in India or Pakistan and it has flavour then should I worry about them using alcohol as a solvent? Specifically I have a toothpaste which has "flavour" in it as well as "neem extract." Should I go on using it? - Anonymous user
  • AOA It is my obervernce that in India vegetarian food products are with alcohol containing flavors. All alcohol containing flavored food products from USA is available in most Muslim countries such as Saudi Arabia, Indonesia and Malaysia. I do not know about Pakistan.
    Category: Archive
    06-21-11 06:32:09
  • Assalaam Alaikum My question is about soaps. When a typical soap is made by adding a hydroxide to fat and boiling; a chemical reaction takes place making soap and a by-product. The question here is about the chemical composition of soap. Does soap have a new chemical formula? Or is it simply a mixture of fat & hydroxide. If it has a new chemical formula; can we get the fat back to its original state? Jazakallah Khairan - Anonymous user
  • AOA Please our article on Halal status of bar soap under services section subsection Fiqah & Science which explained that there is nothing happens to pork fat fatty acids in saop manufacturing. Pork fatty acids still remained in the saop.
    Category: Archive
    06-13-11 20:24:10
  • I did not see any information about amway products. Can you inform me about shampoo and body wash? Additionally, you are doing a wonderful job. Insallah, Allah help you in your work. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Amway products are not available in supermarkets so it is not on our website. But I do not have no information on Amway shampoo and body wash.
    Category: Archive
    06-10-11 22:11:34
  • AOA, brother is any of these ingredients of soap mushbooh or haram? Jazzak Allah khair. - sodium tallowate, sodium palmate, sodium oleate, aqua, parfum, stearic acid, glycerin, sodium chloride, PEG-12, pentaerithrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, triclocarban, aloe barbadensis extract, pentasodium pentetate, pentetic acid, benzyl benzoate, butylphenyl methylpropional, citronellol, hexyl cinnamal, limonene, Cl 77891, Cl 74260, Cl 11680 - Anonymous user
  • AOA Sodium tallowate, sodium palmate, sodium oleate, aqua, parfum, stearic acid, glycerin are fat based ingredients then you have to findout whether they are from soy fat or animal fat. For Aloe barbadensis extract, you have to find out what extarcting solvent they use alcohol or others. So the Halal status this soap depends upon answer from the manufacturer because the manufacturer is the only one who know the answers to above questions nobody else know the answer.
    Category: Archive
    05-30-11 14:09:02
  • Assalamu alaykum wr wb brother, I have a question regarding riboflavin. It is one of the the ingredients of mustard which I bought. I have asked the company for its source and this is the answer: "It is a biological fermentation done by a microorganism called Ashbya Gossipy. This microorganism grows on a media which is based on a carbon source (usually some kind of sugar and starch), a nitrogen source (f.e. Ammonium or Ammoniak) and some salts (f.e. NaCl or yeast extract). You can inshaAllah give me answer with Your knowledge whether this is considered as halal or not. This company claims it as suitable for vegetarians.   Jazzak Allah khair brother, may You have a blessed day.   - Anonymous user
  • AOA It looks like you from Europe, because Riboflavin in flour enrichment in USA is Halal because it is obtained by synthetic way or Halal source. Riboflavin as vitamin supplement has to be kosher certified to be Halal in USA. But if they claim Suitable for Vegetarian then it is considered as Halal.
    Category: Archive
    05-20-11 16:29:19
  • plz ,let me know wheather we women can used lipstick boz many people say there cantont animal fat or pork fat plz help me. can we dye our hair like golden or brown. plz let me the brand which does not have animal fat in u.s.a. jzk - Anonymous user
  • AOA It is not necessar that all Lipstick and Hair colors are made with pork. On our website under Non Food Products under Cosmetic and Hair color categories it is mentioned that Afterglow and Jane Lipsticks are not made with pork or beef fat. Revolon hair color do not use pork fat or beef fat in their color products but use marine collagen from sea.
    Category: Archive
    05-16-11 08:10:37
  • Assalamualaikum There are many food and drink products which use extract as one of the ingredients. For example: soy extract, black tea extract, jasmine extract and many more. I want to know whether all so-called extracts must use alcohol in their production or extracts can also be produced without alcohol ? Wassalam - Anonymous user
  • AOA Extracts can be produce by using other than alcohol such as Halal Acetone extracting solvent. Only the manufacturers known which solvent they use. But all spice extract such as Oleoresin black pepper, Paprika etc are made by extracting the spices with Halal Acetone. Other Halal extarcting solvents are Hexane, Benzene.
    Category: Archive
    05-10-11 05:09:37
  • whey, fatty acid, natural flavor - Anonymous user
  • AOA If it has a kosher symbol then it Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor and no Vanilla Extract is part of the ingredients statments.
    Category: Archive
    05-06-11 04:53:45
  • As Salaamu Alykoom, I have a one question jewel osco cake is halal JazaKhallahulKhair - Anonymous user
  • AOA If Jewel Cakes made from Dawn Foods mixes and frosting then it is Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor.
    Category: Archive
    05-06-11 04:19:56
  • I brought borden dairy Natural. shredded Low Moisture part Skim Mozzarella cheese. It does not have kosher symbol..Is it Kosher ? The ingredeints lowmoisture part skim mozzarella cheese (pasteurized part skim milk cheese culture, salt and enzymes) potato starch, corn starch, powdered cellulose and natamycin (natural mold inhibitor) Contains : Milk. - Anonymous user
  • AOA It is not a Halal Mozzrella cheese but you can get Halal Mozzarella cheese of Sorrento brand in supermarkets and Kirkland brand in Costco.
    Category: Archive
    04-28-11 07:54:53
  • Hi Please let me know if flaming cheetos are halal from lays company Jazakallah - Anonymous user
  • AOA All Cheetos products are not Halal because they are not kosher certified.
    Category: Archive
    04-19-11 09:52:53
  • Assalamoalaykum, I want to ask u about H E B bakeshop split top honey wheat bread its ingredients are enriched bleached flour(wheat flour,malted barley flour,niacin,reduced iron,thiamine mononitrate,riboflavin, folic acid),water,whole wheat flour,honey,yeast,wheat gluten,soybean oil,high fructose corn syrup,contain 2% or less of the following;molasses,wheat bran,wheat starch,wheat protein,salt,one or more of the following(corn flour,rice flour or barley flour),soy lecithin,natural and artifical flavors,one or more of the following dough conditioners(mono-and-diglycerides,sodium stearoyl lactylate,calcium sulfate,ammonium sulfate,datem,calcuim silicate,ascorbic acid,calcium peroxide,azodicarbonamide),monocalcium phosphate,calcium propionate(to preserve freshness) Please give me the answer its halal or haram Thanks - Anonymous user
  • AOA Two problem, one it has to be kosher certified to confirm that the dough conditioners are made from soy fat. Second they can use alcohol as asolvent in natural and artificial flavor. I do not advice to consume this bread.
    Category: Archive
    04-10-11 00:11:46
  • assalamoalaikum wr wb, iasked the ingredients in liquid vitamin d3 on 8900 no. she said only the animal thin from sheep wool is this halal, jazakAllah khairen - Anonymous user
  • AOA Linolin is a wool fat which obtained from sheep without slaughtering the sheep and it is a Halal ingredient.
    Category: Archive
    03-21-11 20:32:05
  • I just started growing hair and found this Beard Wash online. I just wanted to know if its contents are halal. Its ingredients as show on the label are Aqua (Purified Water), Infused with Green Tea; Decyl Polyglucose (Naturally Derived Surfactant), Cocomidopropyl Betaine (Coconut Derivative) Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera), Lecithin, Honey, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Xanthum Gum, Soymilk, Lemon Juice, Ginger and Lime Pure Essential Oils, Propylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea and Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate. I know from the above list that some of them are clearly derived from plants. But there are a few i could not figure out. One more related question. We as muslims know that we are not supposed to eat meat/fat from animals slaughtered unislamically. Are we allowed to use it on our body? - Anonymous user
  • AOA Contact the manufacturer because they are the one who know the sources of ingredients.
    Category: Archive
    03-20-11 06:39:25
  • It contains the natural-occuring liquid from the yeast fermentation process of sake brewery in Japan. - Anonymous user
  • AOA It is not Halal based on our criteria that any thing from beer or sake is not Halal.
    Category: Archive
    03-14-11 20:10:50
  • Assalamualaikum, I bought a chocolate and the ingredients are : Sugar, vegetable fat (palm), cocoa powder, milk solids, non dairy creamer, soya lecithin (E322). Contains permitted flavoring (Vanillin). Are all the ingredients halal, how about Vanillin ? Jazakallhu khair - Anonymous user
  • AOA Vanillin is a Halal ingredient. All the ingredients are Halal.
    Category: Archive
    03-14-11 04:07:43
  • Assalamualaykum, I have been following your website and reading your book to know more about the food products and appreciate your efforts. Just wanted to give you a heads up on this. I called up Pizza Hut today (March 13th, 2011) and they said the cheese contains animal enzymes, so please update your website. JazakumAllah. Wassalam. - Anonymous user
  • AOA We need in writing from Pizza Hut that they used animal enzymes. You have to specific about the name of cheese. If you get in writing then Inshallah we will investigate. All pizza chains sometimes buy pizza cheese from same cheese maker. As per our our dealing with different pizza chains none of them said they use animal enzyme in Mozzarella cheese.
    Category: Archive
    03-13-11 22:54:58
  • the E-code E631 is "A flavor enhancer, Sodium Inosinate is a nucleotide commercially obtained from Torula Yeast. Torula yeast is grown on alcohol in USA to obtain Nucleotide which mostly used in infant baby formula. In Europe if Torula yeast grown on sugar cane and Sodium Inosinate is obtained from it then it is Halal otherwise it is not Halal." it says on your website. i was wondering if that makes it Halal in the USA? to be specific, its an ingridient in Maggi Noodles. We have been eating this for 10 years and i found out about the E-codes and it has the E-code E631 in it. i dont understand if it is halal in the USA or not. please help. Jazakumullah. :] - Anonymous user
  • AOA Disodium Inosinate is a flavor enhancer used in soups, gravies, sauces, fish and seafoods. Although it is nucleotide but it is obtained through bacterial non- alcoholic fermantation on sugar or from sugarcane itself. It should not be confused with nucleotide from Torula yeast which grown alcohol or sugar cane which is used in baby infant formula. Disodium Inosinate is Halal in USA and Canada. Maggi noodles are not Halal because they contain Naturally Brewed Soy suace which contains 2-3% alcohol.
    Category: Archive
    03-09-11 07:02:21
  • Please would u let me kno if the stearic acid in johnsons baby lotion is obtained from an animal or a vegetable.. Is it ok to use this lotion. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Please go to Non Food Products section then Personal care items then baby products or check Johnson & Johnson under search at News or Alert. If it say not made with animal derived ingredients then stearic acid is from soy fat.
    Category: Archive
    03-08-11 00:15:37
  • As-Salaam walikum, I wanted to know if there are any halal protien shakes or suppliments available in the market? I have seen Muslims use products from Muscle Tech (which contains pork products) but I have never really seen halal supplements (or any performance suppliments) in the market. Jazakallah Kahir, Abdullah - Anonymous user
  • AOA The Halal whey protein is available from Global Health Products Inc. company. The product name is Global Health ProCel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Dairy 10 Oz. Product # GH - 80. It can be obtained from www.globalhp.com. This product is kosher certified and use for body building and nutritional needs.  
    Category: Archive
    03-07-11 19:39:33
  • If red 40 is derived from insect how could it be halal with kosher sign. the same with yellow 5 - Anonymous user
  • AOA Red 40 is not derived from inspect. Carmine red color is derived from insest and it is Haram because all insect except locust are Haram in Hanafi fiqah. Red 40 & Yellow 5 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if used as powder or granular forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added as a solvent. Glycerin can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based glycerin is Halal. A kosher symbol such as U or K on any food package containing red 40 or yellow 5 indicates that either Red 40 or Yellow 5 is used either as a dry powder or if it is used as in liquid form in the product then vegetable oil or vegetable fat based glycerin was used as a solvent.
    Category: Archive
    03-06-11 15:18:40
  • If red 40 is derived from insect how could it be halal with kosher sign. the same with yellow 5 - Anonymous user
  • AOA I already answered this question.
    Category: Archive
    03-06-11 15:18:19
  • Some one said thyey got their infomation from the tv that gluten is made from pig. How true is this? - Anonymous user
  • AOA Gluten is a Halal ingredient obtained from wheat or cor or other cereal.
    Category: Archive
    02-23-11 20:22:02
  • which is the hala liquid hand soup - Anonymous user
  • AOA Please check it under Non Food Products/personal care products.
    Category: Archive
    02-23-11 02:14:55
  • Assalam O Alaikum, Can you kindly inform if the following ingredients are halal: Ramen Noodles: enriched flour (wheat flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oil (contains one or more of the following: canola oil, cottonseed oil, palm oil), contains less than 2% of salt, sodium tripolyphosphate, potassium carbonate, sodium carbonate, tocopherols, t-bhq. Seasoning Mix: salt, soy sauce powder (wheat, soybeans, malodestrin, salt) (likely MSG), monosodium glutamate (MSG), spices, hydrolyzed soy, corn and wheat protein (MSG, MSG, MSG), garlic powder, caramel color, onion powder, rice oil, citric acid, disodium succinate, dehydrated leek, calcium silicate (anticaking agent), disodium guanylate, disodium inosinate.  Manufactured in a facility that also processes milk, egg, peanuts, fish and shrimp products. I am concerned about the soy sauce powder in the seasoning mix. - Anonymous user
  • AOA We already reported on website that all Ramen Noodles are not Halal because they are not kosher certified and we do not know what Haram hidden ingredients are present. Under Raman Noodle tocopherols, t-bhq are Mushbooh they could from pork fat or vegetable fat but even if they are from vegetable fat they can change any time to pork fat because they are not under any certification which prohibit them to change. Under seasoning mix the soy sauce powder (wheat, soybeans is a Haram ingredients although alcohol is evaporated but it is made loke wine. Dried wine still considered Haram.
    Category: Archive
    02-20-11 22:36:43
  • It dosent say anything about vanilla in the ingrediants. I am worried about the mono-dyglisrydes in them? - Anonymous user
  • AOA If there is no flavor and ice cream has kosher symbol on it then Butter Pecan Ice Cream will be Halal but if it contains flavor which is usally made with alcohol and do not have kosher symbol on it then it is not Halal. Mon & Diglycerides are from Soy fat if there is kosher symbol on the Butter Pecan Ice Cream.
    Category: Archive
    02-17-11 05:16:15
  • aoa my question is : we have in HEB halal certified products named as EL Mexicano ,,,products are cheese and flavored yogurt(liquid).. the symbol on their package is ( crescent and M halal... i think it is ifanca certification ..if not ,,,then  can u tell me what is ithis exactly and can we consume these products....some times even they contain flavors...like abbot pediasure,,, jazakAllah khair... also plz tell me are sodium silicate, chlorine bleach and sodium tripolyphosphate halal or not?   jazakAllah khair. - Anonymous user
  • AOA We do not accept IFANCA certified products because they Halal certify food products made with alcohol containing flavors. According to a website IFANCA Halal certified Al Safa chicken frozen products are made with machine slaughtered chicken. Many ulema do not consider machine slaughtered chicken as Zabiha.
    Category: Archive
    02-11-11 07:54:48
  • Is corn based ethanol is also haram?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA Ethyl Alcohol or Ethanol whether obtained from grape or date or corn or any fruits or cereal is Haram because it causes intoxication. Any thing which causes intoxication is Haram.
    Category: Archive
    02-10-11 07:31:15
  • Are Doritos and Frito Lays Halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA All Doritos except Toasted Corn are not Halal in USA.
    Category: Archive
    02-09-11 19:32:11
  • n/a - Anonymous user
  • AOA You can use Nivea cream because there is no animal fat in it.
    Category: Archive
    02-09-11 11:01:40
  • Why so complecated to ask a question? - Anonymous user
  • AOA The Haal/Not Halal status of above are mentioned under Non Food Products.
    Category: Archive
    02-09-11 10:57:50
  • I have just brought a GO GREEN Clorox product the all purpose one. But it contain Ethanol. Can u plz tell some products that are enviormently friendly coz i n allergic to regular products it gives me a very bad head ach. Most of proucts dost not mention chemicals on that. - Anonymous user
  • AOA You can serach alcohol free bleach on internet. We do not have them on our website.
    Category: Archive
    02-08-11 21:45:30
  • hi - Anonymous user
  • AOA Dove bar soap is not Halal because they do not provide the gurantee that it is pork fat free.
    Category: Archive
    02-06-11 00:33:58
  • i heard whatevevr we buy from dubai we can use with out reading ingredents so now i have another Q every cream have alcohol so how i am going to put cream for my dry skin is there any answer plz sent to me email to me this is my email muaaz_12najia@hotmail.com but i am going to see what we can use but still just plz tell me every 2 month or so you tell us that you can use it so what ever we useing is haram and allah will not accept our prayers for 40 days or so wow what a aazab in the world thank you najia - Anonymous user
  • AOA Cetyl or Stearryl alcohol is not Haram ethyl alcohol but they are waxy fat obtained from fat. If they obtained from vegetable fat then they are Halal but if they obtained from pork fat then they are Haram. Only the manufacturer knows the source of Cetyl or Stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer. Lubriderm Advanced Therpy lotion made in USA can be use for dry hands if it is available in Dubai. Do not follow that every thing in Dubie is Halal, when I was at Dubie airport I saw Liquor shops all over at the transist terminal and find very few general stores.
    Category: Archive
    02-03-11 09:51:35
  • It is used in products such as ice cream - Anonymous user
  • AOA Ethyl Alcohol is a Haram ingredient because it causes intoxication. Any thing which intoxicate is Haram. Ethyl alcohol from any source is Haram because the chemical and physical characteristic of alcohol is same if it is obtained from grape or from corn.
    Category: Archive
    02-03-11 03:08:43
  • I really need help regarding about halal bar soaps and dishwashing liquids. Please answer my question asap. Thanks - Anonymous user
  • AOA Please go to Non Food Section/Personal care you will find answers to your questions.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-11 06:59:37
  • Is listerine alcohol free mouthwash halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA It is a Halal mouthwash.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-11 04:04:46
  • i was going over the ingredients lists at the back and found this ingredient pregelatinized starch, so i just want to make if it is halaal or not? - Anonymous user
  • AOA Pregelatinized starch is a Halal ingredient. Extra Strength tablets do not contain pork fat but the magenesium stearate is made from non zabiha beef.
    Category: Archive
    01-28-11 05:23:21
  • I want to know which kinds of alcohols are ok to use. - Anonymous user
  • AOA If you are talking alcohol related ingredients in skin care products such as cetyl alcohol and others then they are not type of alcohol which intoxicate. These are fat waxes obtianed from fat. If they obtained from vegetable fat then they are Halal. If they obtained from pork fat then it is Haram. Only manufacturer knows the source. Only ethyl alcohol is Haram because it causes intoxication. Isoprpyl alcohol and Benzyl alcohol are Halal. Eye makeup containing alcohol is not Halal. All fat based ingredients such as emulsifiers if obtained from pork fat, animal protein based ingredients such as gelatin and alcohol containing fragrance are not Halal.
    Category: Archive
    01-27-11 03:06:15
  • Assalam O Alaikum, Is phenoxyethanol halal? Also if You can inform me how to ask question regarding whey powder from companies, many companies replied us by saying whey powder is from milk which puts us in doubt whether to use it or not. Some baby cereal (HIPP) contains whey powder in it, do You think it is ok to use it? Jazak Allah khair Farooq - Anonymous user
  • AOA Phenoxyethanol is a organic compound and it is glycol ether. Glycol ethers are alkyl ethers which are different than ethyl alcohol. It is used in bactericide and in dermatology products. It is a Halal chemical. Whey is Halal only if it is Halal or kosher certified. It is a by-product of cheese making. When milj is curd, the reamining water in curd milk is whey. Although made from milk but lot of not Halal ingredients are added to milk to make cheese and whey. This is the reason whey has to be Halal or kosher certified. If you see a kosher symbol such as OU or crircle K or Kof K or CRC on any food products such as baby cereal containing whey. It means it is kosher and meet the Halal requirements.
    Category: Archive
    01-26-11 11:05:26
  • Hi.I want to ask a question about biolage products.my question is i want to use 'biolage styling' hair spray and shampoo. is this product halal or not? i mean are there any alcohol in it or pork products? and My other question is that if i use biolage styling hair spray, can i take the ablution after using and pray. is it unfavourable for my ablution or not? thank you. have a good day. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Biolage Styling hair sprary and shampoo are not made with animal derived ingredients. For alcohol in fragrance please call 1-888-777-6396 with name of the product and UPC number. Some products aremade with denatured alcohol.
    Category: Archive
    01-19-11 03:18:28
  • AOA, I am preginent and looking for Halal prenatel vitamins. Is Solgar prenatel are Halal. And prena plus prenatel Halal or not. Thank You. Mahnaz Khan. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Landau Prenatal 250 TAB (Product # LN-725-2) are Halal prenatal vitamins contains no animal derived ingredients and no alcohol. It is available at Landau Co 460 Kent Ave Brooklyn, NY 11211-5922(718) 599-1900 or through www.koshervitamins.com . Solgar prenatal is not kosher nor Halal but vegetarian. Prena Plus prenatal is not Halal. Maxi Health Maxi Omega 3 Fish oil Prenatal EPA/DHA formula, Maxi Health Maxi One Prenatal are Halal but Maxi Health Maxi Prenatal is not Halal. You can get these prenatal at Vitamin Shoppe if they carry them or by calling 1-800-645-1899.  
    Category: Archive
    01-18-11 03:08:46
  • I have some fish fingers. They contain Paprika extract. - Anonymous user
  • AOA If Parika extract is a Oleoresin Paprika then it is Halal because Aceton not alcohol is used in making this product but if it really a Paprika extract then it is not Halal if alcohol is used as a extracting solvent.
    Category: Archive
    01-15-11 05:30:09
  • this is an ingredient i think this is a color - Anonymous user
  • AOA Tartrazine is a chemical dye which give lemon yellow color. Since it is soluble in water, no other solvents are used. This is a Halal artificial color.
    Category: Archive
    01-14-11 04:50:59
  • Almost hand senitizer i have seen has ETHYL ALCHOHAL in that is ok to use?? When ever i use it n if i have to eat something i must wash hands just becoz it has Ethayl Alocohal in it?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA All hand senitizer with ethyl alcohol are not Halal. Ulema do not recmmend to use any thing with alcohol on our body including hand because our body has porous cells through which alcohol inside in our body.
    Category: Archive
    01-14-11 03:38:59
  • Asak Rasheed Sahab, Would you call AXE deoderant halal? Jazakallah khair, Arshid - Anonymous user
  • Assalam O Alaikum Arshad Saheb, We have just provided the information on AXE deoderant that it is made with non zabiha beef fat and no pork but it does not mean that we are recommending Axe. There are several anti-perspirant and deoderant which are made with no animal derived ingredients. But if you want to use Axe then you have to ask a Mufti saheb about its use.
    Category: Archive
    01-12-11 04:53:43
  • <!--Session data-->Assalamoalaikum, i called amd asker about enzyme in this brand cheese they said not from pork but from cow ,calf or goat  but not from pork. please can u give me this above information asap jzk Allah - Anonymous user
  • AOA Enzyme is not only thing which determine the Halal status of cheese, bacteria culture and culture media has to be Halal. We do not consider Kraft Deluxe American cheese as Halal based on our criteria. Please about Halal requirements of cheese under Ingredients section.
    Category: Archive
    01-11-11 20:54:22
  • ASAP thx:D - Anonymous user
  • AOA Red 40 & Yellow 5 are chemical dyes and they are Halal if used as powder or granular forms but if they have to use as liquid then vegetable oil or glycerin is added as a solvent. Glycerin can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based glycerin is Halal. A kosher symbol such as U or K on any food package containing red 40 or yellow 5 indicates that either Red 40 or Yellow 5 is used either as a dry powder or if it is used as in liquid form in the product then vegetable oil or vegetable fat based glycerin was used as a solvent.
    Category: Archive
    01-07-11 23:05:08
  • I read on internet that lot of products use alcohal as solvant for artificial and natural colors. The alcohal gets evoporated during process and remaining alcohal is less than 1% and is not provided on labels. Ferro Rocher chocolates has alcohal flavouring as well. Please comment on that. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Natural color such as Annatto is Halal and do not use alcohol. Annatto Extract is made either with water or vegetable oil. Beta Carotene is a natural color but do not contain alcohol and it contains either fish gelatin or corn oil as a processing aid or hidden ingredient. Beta Carotene is Halal if it is kosher certified. Alcohols, ethers, ketones, aliphatic and aromatic hydrocarbons, oils, fats, waxes and chlorinated hydrocarbons are used to make dye soloution for natural color. Artificial color such as FD&C yellow nunber 5 is a chemical dye and it is used as powder or in liquid form. Powder form artificial color is Halal. But liquid artificial color are made with with solvent which could be vegetable oil or glycerin. If glycerin is made from pork fat then that artificial is Haram but made with vegetable oil then it is Halal. A kosher symbol on a liquid food product containing FD&C yellow 5 indicates that vegetable oil is used a solvent.
    Category: Archive
    01-07-11 05:20:19
  • i need to know which specific ingredients in makeup I need to be aware of which are haram so i may contact the companies. - Anonymous user
  • AOA Many Islamic scholars said against praying salat if use perfumes or atar containing alcohol so same ruling applied to eye make up. Generally the used meat based collagen, gelatin and fat based emulsifiers, some coloring such carmine which is Haram because it is from insect.
    Category: Archive
    01-07-11 02:17:29
  • s - Anonymous user
  • AOA Capsules made with pork gelatin are Haram. There is difference of opinion about the Halal status of  capsules made from non zabiha beef gelatin. So you have to consult with your Islamic scholar. There are two issue with medicine in capsule, one capsule itself and second the source of ingredients of medicine. Magnesium stearate or any stearate a fat based emulsifier can be made from pork or beef or vegetable fat. You have to take the phone of manufacturer from pharmacy and call to findout whether any animal derived ingredients are used. Ulema are also said that if there is no Halal medicine available then you have to take the medicine to cure the disease. If you find out that the medicine inside the capsule is Halal but capsule is made of pork gelatin then you have to break the capsule and consume the medicine without capsule. Capsule is not the medicine, it is used for many reasons. Vitamins are different story, many multivitamins are made as a tablets but there are kosher and vegetarian vitamins where Halal cellulose capsule is used. Kosher vitamins which meet the Halal requirements can be obtained from www.koshervitamins.com . 
    Category: Archive
    01-06-11 19:33:23
  • Salam Alikom wr. wb. Firstly I want to thank you for your great efforts to make this website. May Allah put lots of blessing in your work.. My question is about halal vacinations. Is there any list of them? if not can we still use them (allowed) especially for infants . Jazkom Allah Kol Khair, Umm Ali - Anonymous user
  • AOA Sorry, we do not have Halal list of vacine.
    Category: Archive
    01-05-11 23:47:42
  • Assalam-o-Alaykum I want to ask u about bath & body works body lotion its ingredients are water(aqua,eau),glycerin,petrolatum,cetyl alcohol,fragrance(perfum),dimethicone,ceteareth-20,butyrospemum parkii(shea)butter,simmondsia chinensis(jojoba) seed oil,tocopheryl acetate,lsododecane,neopentyl glycol diheptanoate,carbomer,tetrasodium EDTA ,sodium hydroxide,disodium EDTA ,butylene glycol ,lsopropyl alcohol ,BHT,diazolidinyl urea ,methylparaben,benzyl alcohol,propylparaben,butylphenyl methylpropional,limonene,geraniol,hexyl cinnamal,hydroxycitronellal,linalool,red 33(CI 17200),blue 1(Ci 42090). I want to ask u i can use this product or not . Please replay me as soon as possible. Thanks - Anonymous user
  •   AOA Most Skin Care product are not kosher certified so we do not know the source of fat based ingredients such as glycerin, cetyl alcohol, tocopheryl acetate, glycols and source of hidden ingredients such as in BHT. You have to call the company and ask whether this product from from animal derived ingredients or not and also alcohol in fragrance. Isopropyl alcohol do not cause intoxication so it is OK. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    01-05-11 21:12:28
  • Salaam, Below is a list of ingredients found in Sukin Hydrating Body Lotion: Aqua, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Cetearyl Alcohol (and) Ceteareth-20, Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Rosa Canina Fruit Oil (Rose Hip), Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Equisetum Arvense Extract (Horsetail), Arctium Lappa Extract (Burdock), Urtica Dioica Extract (Nettle), Phenoxyethanol, Benzyl Alcohol, Citrus Tangerina (Tangerine) Peel Oil, Citrus Nobilis (Mandarin Orange) Peel Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Vanilla Planifolia Extract, Citrus Paradisi Extract (Grapefruit Seed), Linalool, * Limonene. * * Natural component of essential oils. Sukin products DO NOT contain; •sodium lauryl sulphate •sodium laureth sulphate •synthetic fragrances •animal derivatives •harsh detergents •petro-chemicals •artificial colours •triethanolamine •mineral oils •parabens. My question: Are there any musbooh or haram ingredients in the list, as vegetarian friendly food/products do not necessarily equate being halal? Thank you - Anonymous user
  •   AOA All the extracts are mushbooh because we do not whether they use alcohol as extracting solvent or Acetone, if they use acetone then it is Halal. The second thing is Vanilla which is obtained from vanilla beans by using alcohol and water as a solvent. Vanilla planifola extract contains 35% alcohol. Since animal derivative that means all fat based ingredients such as Cetearyle Alcohol, Glycerin, Tocopherol(Vitamin E) are obtained from vegetable fat. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    01-05-11 21:05:56
  • Assalamu alaikum, I just called the ReserveAge Organics company to ask about their Resveratrol, and they said they do not use any alcohol in its production - they extract it directly from the stem, seeds and leaves of grape vine, and no ethanol is involved in the process. And Allah Knows Best. - Anonymous user
  •   AOA GRAPE SKIN EXTRACT, GARPE SEED EXTRACT, JAPANESE KNOTWEED EXTRACT ARE NOT HALAL IF ALCOHOL IS USED AS EXTRACTING SOLVENT Resveratrol from red wine is used in grape skin extract and grape seed extract, Resveratrol is not Halal because it comes from red wine. Ethanol and water is also used in grape skin extract which is not Halal. Resveratol and ethanol based solvents are used in Japanese knotwood extarct. Any thing taken out from wine is Haram even if alcohol is taken out. Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed
    Category: Archive
    01-05-11 21:04:30
  • Is aquafresh halal if not then which toothpaste should we use? Brand similac advance formula with iron it says is ud but its written on your site it not halal then why its ud? - Anonymous user
  • You will find all these products on our website. Please search first.


    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I am asking in regards to the ingriedients in soap bar....because all soaps and shampoos have glycerine & after callin individually in all the companies they have said that some times glycerine is from natural source & some times it is from animal products but they cannot asure from what is it.....so i wanted to ask what to do in such cases.... - Anonymous user
  • You should not use those brands of bar soap. Irish Spring Bar soap never use pok fat but they are made of non zabiha beef fat. Ask your Islamic scholar whether to use or not.


    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • plzzz give me answer ..johnson baby oil baby lotion..which baby oil i can use ...eucerine is not ok...plzz answer me..beach nut all vegetable and vegetable mix only with vegetable are okey,.. which baby rice cereal i use ,,gerber is not allow..plzz answer me... - Anonymous user
  • You should give your phone number before the question, at end your number was cut off the message this is the reason, I can not call you back. Johnson & johnson's original shampoo, soft body wash, honey and vitamin e, baby shmpoo gel are not made with animal derived ingredients. I have no information on baby oil but if it is pure vegetable oil then it is Halal. Please use only Beach Nut brand with OU kosher symbol, you can use their vegetable without flavor. Use baby rice cereal with OU kosher synbol without flavor of any brand. Avoid Gerber products.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • i wanted to ask u abt the burger king fish burger burger king on lincolnstreet chicago there are muslim workers if we ask they fry the fish in french fries oil so is we eat this way is it halal - Anonymous user
  • You have wrong information, fish fried in same fryer as pork patties are fried.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I am looking for information on the imporatance of Muslims cooking with tomatoes - Anonymous user
  • You have to use fresh tomato or dicced tomato without flavor, vegetable oil, spices.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • hi i'm wondering what is being said on this site is true like for mcdonald's it doesn't even say how the desserts are haram - Anonymous user
  • You have to understand if you go places like McDonald they serve pork and they never ask their suppliers of dessert to provide Halal or kosher certified desserts because the majority of cutomer who eat pork do not care what they put indesserts. So all the desserts at McDonald are not suitable for Muslims.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Are Airline "Muslim Meals" considered zabiha? - Anonymous user
  • You have to thoroughly check before you fly, some do and some do not provide Zabiha meat except PIA.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I know that little ceasars is halal only if you take cheese pizza,but when they make other pizza's like pork, pepporoni don't they use the same glove they wear to make cheese and other kinds of pizzas?do they change their glove for each pizza they make? - Anonymous user
  • You have to request them to use fresh glove.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • i ve asked you before but u didnt reply..my Q was abt fritolay cheetose puffs is it ok to eat or not? - Anonymous user
  • You have to read all sections of our website because under Alert section it is mentioned that all Doritos and Cheetos are not Halal.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Which milk is Halal--please tell me the brand names like May field or Pet etc - Anonymous user
  • You have to mentioned the type of milk. All fluid milk in USA/Canada is Halal. The condensed milk is Halal if it has a OU kosher symbol.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • where i can find my answer - Anonymous user
  • You have to go to "Services" section then subsection "Questions and Answers" on our website.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • salam yesterday I sent a shampoo ingredient list for aubreys organic Egyptian Henna Shine-Enhancing Shampoo 11oz and I said the product was vegan meaning their is no animal products or byproducts I was asking if it were a halal product or not but I called the company and I was told the extract of the henna and citrus seed was extracted using the cold pressed method or distilled using no alcohol. would this make it halal to use? Deionized Water, Coconut Oil-Corn Oil Soap, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein (made from organic, non-GMO soybeans), Organic Aloe Vera, Henna Extract, Vegetable Glycerin, Carrageenan, Organic Jojoba Oil, Organic Peppermint Oil, Sea Herbal Complex (Bladderwrack, Laminaria), Aubrey's Preservative (Citrus Seed Extract, Vitamins A, C and E). - Anonymous user
  • You have to find the solvent name for distillation whether it is Hexane(Halal) or Methanol(Halal) or ethyl alcohol(Haram) or can they say their products used alcohol free extarcts, if so then product can be labelled as Halal otherwise Mushbooh. Vegan does not mean Halal, it has to be investigated for alcohol as a hidden ingredient. In cold press technology they can not get amximum extarct compare to distillation.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • how can we understand E631 code use for PIG Fats? - Anonymous user
  • You have to contact the manufacturer or if claim "Suitable For Vegetarian" on the food package containg E631.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I WAS JUST WONDERING WHETHER E4729(e) WAS HARAM. BUT IT SAYS ONLY IF OBTAINED FROM PLANT FAT. HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO KNOW WHERE IT HAS BEEN OBTAINED FROM. THIS IS FOUND IN MOST BREAD THAT WE BUY. JAZAKALLAH KHAIR - Anonymous user
  • You have to call the manufacturer or if there is sign "suitable for vegetarian" then it is from plant fat.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • what is the islamic answer for using mushbooh or unknown E numbers?how we can avoid E numbers as they are in every thing? - Anonymous user
  • You have to avoid Musbhooh and unknown.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I just recently came to know that Leather jacket, Shoes, Leather Waist Belt, Wallet or Leather gloves might be made from Pig skin also. If it is true then how can I find out which product is made from Pig skin. Please help. - Anonymous user
  • You have find ou the name of manufacturer then called to find the source.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Under your candies section it specifies that mars, m&ms, snickers, etc are haram? I am surprised to know that, is that information updated? - Anonymous user
  • You got the wrong impression, please read it carefully, they are Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor and has a kosher symbol on the package.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • which pizza sauce are halal? your site does not list any. - Anonymous user
  • You did not search well, try it again.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Sorry to bother you again. I am desperately looking for a paper towel and tissues provider that is safe to use. Please help. I contacted Bounty and they said they use pork. Please help me. - Anonymous user
  • You can use Scott paper towels, Scott toilet tissue and Kleenex facial tissue, they are pork free according to Kimberly-Clark company.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • eucirine cream is halal aur not...lubridirm advanced therapy lotion is ok...thanks urgent reply me - Anonymous user
  • You can use Lubriderm Advanced Therapy lotion but I have no information on Eucirin.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • A.O.A i want to know if big red is halal or not - Anonymous user
  • You can use it.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I would like to know if Alcohol denat in perfumes and cosmetics is halal? - Anonymous user
  • You can use it.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • is ecos laundry detergent halal.it is earth friendly products.bec in label it is written down taht it is 100% biodegradable,all natural ingredients and animal free products ,free of sls.kindly help me.thank u. - Anonymous user
  • you can use it.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • is crest tooth paste halal or not - Anonymous user
  • You can use Crest regular toothpaste.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Assalamu Alaikum, I am not able to find the halal details for the Fish sticks products of Gorton's ( 30 breaded fish stick) it contains DHA/EPA Omega-3 is it halah? please advice Thanks Malik Z. - Anonymous user
  • You can use 12 Golden Breaded Whole Fish Fillet, 10 Golden Breaded Fish from Van De Kamps. May there is problem with Gorton's fish stick, I do not remember.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • could you kindly give me a list of haram E numbers in non food products like shapoos,hairspray,deodrants etc. - Anonymous user
  • You can see the Haram E-Numbers on our website but it is for food products, I am not familiar with personal care products.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Please answer my question u dont resond to my question at all Which Shampoo and conditioner is Halal? - Anonymous user
  • You can search yourself by going to NON FOOD SECTION and looking Shampoo category.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • give me a list of thigs that we can't eat. please okay. signcerly Syed Tahoor hussian - Anonymous user
  • You can search them on our search engine.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • what is Mono and diglycerides - Anonymous user
  • You can read it at FAQ on our website, it is an fat based emulsifier.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I am a teacher and our school lunchroom serves Danimals Yogurt to our Muslim students. The lunchroom staff states that because the gelatin is Kosher it is okay for the Muslim students to consume. If I am correct in my thinking, Halal and Kosher can be different and am concerned that this yogurt is not serving as an appropriate non-meat substitute for my students. Can you provide any insight as to inform my lunchroom staff and school principal? - Anonymous user
  • You can not serve Danimals to Muslims student because it is not Halal. Kosher gelatin is not Halal because it is made from pork.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I have a quewstion to crunchips which i bought yesterday.it says that the chips have an arome of salami peperoncini, but it is not written in the ingredients.Can i eat them or not? - Anonymous user
  • You can not eat because of salami & peperoni flavor.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Yesterday i bought crunchips with peperoncini.it is a sort of potato crisps with salami peperoncini flavour.Ingredients:sunflower oil,salt,sugar,paprika powder,tomato powder,onion powder,flavouring,flavour enhancer:monosodium glutamate,colour:paprika extract.CAn I eat it or is it against our religion. - Anonymous user
  • You can not eat because of salami & peperoni flavor.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • I am doing research on the increaseing amount of soy that is being used in hallel food. Could you help me find more information on the amount of soy that is being now and a comparison of the amount used ten years ago? Please put a "BC" ijn the subject area of the email so it does not get deleated. Thanks shoshana - Anonymous user
  • You can find this information on internet. We do not have any information.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • AOA, I have seen your alert section in detail. Please give me the website link where I can by the Latest version of your book that works for Seattle area market. Here we have Safeway, Fred Meyer, Costco and Wal-mart. Also, give me the ISBN #. Thanks, Fahad - Anonymous user
  • You can find Safeway and Walmart under California and Texas in Halal Food book listed on the front page of website. But I have no research on Costco and Fred Meyer.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Could you please tell me the exact ingredients and calorie/sugar/sodium/carb info found in your salmon cream cheese? Thanks! - Anonymous user
  • You can find it out on any brand of cream cheese package.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Which soaps are halal to use and whih aren't? - Anonymous user
  • You can find it in NON FOOD Section.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • aslamoalcum, we live in batonrouge. can we eat natures,bread ioo% whole wheat bread .thanks for this kindness .ok allahah hafiz - Anonymous user
  • You can eat Wonder's white and wheat bread.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • CAN WE EAT WHEY. can we eat msg can we eat bounty chocolate - Anonymous user
  • You can eat whey when it is Halal or Kosher certified. You can use MSG in USA and Canada only not in Europe. I have no information on Bounty Chocolate.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • Captain D is a fast food chain specializing in sea-food. Is there sea-food especially fish halal? Some one told me that they do fry their fish in separate vegetable oil. Thanks for your assistance in this matter - Anonymous user
  • You can eat only the broiled fish with butter if they offer. In fried fish the batter has to be Halal and I have no information on their batter.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • can we eat at starbucks - Anonymous user
  • You can drink regular coffee only.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • is bubblicious haraam? - Anonymous user
  • You can check it at Product Categories search, going to "C' then chewing gum.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • is bubblicious haraam? - Anonymous user
  • You can check it at Product Categories search, going to "C' then chewing gum.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00
  • assalam o alaikum, i wanna know the status of brut deodrants and body sprays, jazakallah khair. - Anonymous user
  • You can check at News or Alert but I have no information.
    Category: Archive
    01-30-10 00:00:00