USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,038 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,775 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,885 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,243 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,370 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 67 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,595 ]

Recent Questions:

  • Is horsetail extract halal? Bought from holland and barrett - Alia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 05:09:57
  • Is carrs table water cracker is halal - Noel E. Capati
  • AOA

    halal Table Water Crackers Crackers Carr's   11-25-12
    halal Table Water Crackers With Cracked Peppers Crackers Carr's   11-20-12

    HALAL STATUS SYMBOLS


    Symbol: Halal Halal   Symbol: Not Halal Not Halal   Symbol: Mushbooh or Unknown Mushbooh or Unknown   Symbol: Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor   Symbol: MCG Certified Halal  MCG Certified Halal


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 01:27:32
  • assalamoalikum iam living in jeddah I want to know is there any halal brand of chicken available which we can use also sadia frozen chicken from brasil is halal or not also plz tell me about vanilla flavor in my products how can we check it is halal or haram JazakAllah - mrs ahmed ansari
  • AOA

    Chicken from Sadia is not Halal because it is machine slaughetered. Natural Vanilla is not Halal because it is obtain through alcohol and contain alcohol.


    Category: Food Products
    09-29-14 00:20:53
  • Baby Looney Tunes Marshmallows (origin from Philippines) imported by Radha Exports Pte Ltd (Singapore).What type of Gelatin used in the ingredients? - Zass
  • AOA

    It may be from pork or non zabiha beef. I do not know.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 20:59:36
  • I was at Being me -muslimah empowered conference at vancouver convention center yesterday, for my kids I inquired few muslim women about the halal food outlet nearby,3-4 of them recommended pita express serving shawarma at food court nearby, I inquired at the restaurent and they said its a lebonese restaurant and the meat served here is halal, still Im doubtful as there was nothing mentioning halal product and many people exploit term halal..kindly reply me. jazakAllah bilkher - Humera Aslam
  • AOA

    Please avoid those food court if you do not 100% sure they are Halal. Some Muslims consider meat from supermarket as Halal but it is not true. I do not know where they got the meat from.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 20:55:29
  • Assalamu alikum I want to know which cool whip is halal. - Ayesha Fatima
  • AOA

    Kraft Cool Whip is made with alcohol containg flavor so it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 13:42:21
  • Gerber all baby food is halal?Please let me know which brand is halal for baby. - chamely
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 10:02:22
  • How to make halal yeast at home - Fathima
  • AOA

    You can not make cheese at home. You can buy Halal baker's yeast from supermarkets.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 09:38:55
  • Asalamualaikum There this other dark cooking chocolate made in Malaysia and it has a halal stamp. Hydrogenated veg fat, coco powder,emulsifier sorbitan testiarate, emulsifier soy lecithin, emulsifier polyglycerol polyreseanate vanillin.... please from the ingredients let me know as they have a halal stamp on it also Jazakallah - asiya
  • AOA

    I have no information because I do not know whether they check the hodden ingredients too or not.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 07:57:39
  • al-salaamu alaykum waraHmatullahi wabarakaatuhu, Mr. Ahmed, What brand of spices do you use personally? I am having trouble with contacting manufacturers to ensure that their spices are 100% pure. Does a label that reads: "pure", "100%", or any other tagline make this a halal spice? Sometimes no ingredient label is present. Am I required to contact the manufactures of spices to ensure no alcohol was used in its processing? Thank you for your time. Jazakallahu khayr Jacob Carroll - Jacob Carroll
  • AOA

    Most I used 100% pure spices with kosher symbol but I do not use the one with flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 07:41:44
  • i would like to know if the cadbury oreo chocolate is halaal. - Aaminah
  • AOA

    Nabisco do not make Cadbury Oreo in USA. Cadbury is made in USA by Hershey with licens from Kraft Foods.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 05:45:25
  • Asalamualaikum there's a cooking chocolate with these ingredients is it halal? Sugar, hydrogenated vegetable fat, skimmed milk powder, whole milk powder, coco powder, emulsifier(e322) soya lecithin, favouring vanillin. Its made in turkey istanbul .... And vanilla essence is halal which has vanilla flavour and monoproplyn glycol - asiya
  • AOA

    If the Baking Chocolate has Halal symbol on then it is Halal. I have no information on Vanilla essence from Turkey but here it is not Halal if it is made with natural vanilla and alcohol.


    Category: Food Products
    09-28-14 03:12:11
  • Is pure and 100% natural Wesson canola oil with kosher symbol halal in Usa? - aaaaabc
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 20:18:16
  • can we eat things with U or UD symbol if they contain vanilla. please can u tell me that is any vanilla is halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Vanillin a artificial vanilla flavor is Halal.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 13:56:50
  • Are the sunny d grape juice is halal? b/c they don't have kosher symbol on it ?.and snicker ice cream bar caragenan is from KCL b/c your site is showing that they does not contain alcohol in flavor but what about caragenean in their product? - mehnaz
  • AOA

    If the grape juice is 100% then it is Halal, does not need kosher symbol on the package.

    unknown Snickers Ice Cream Bars Ice Cream Bars Snickers Ethyl Alcohol may or may not use in Carrageenan. 01-03-11
    unknown Snickers Mini Ice Cream Bars Ice Cream Bars Snickers Ethyl Alcohol may or may not use in Carrageenan. 01-03-11

    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 13:08:06
  • I wrote an email to toostie roll so they replied that (Samya, thank you for contacting us. Most food dyes and flavorings have an alcohol base. However, as candy is cooked at high temperatures, any alcohol present is "flashed out", and therefore not present in the finished products. There are no animal products or by-products in our products.) So according to this canwe eat toostie roll candy Pls reply JAZAKALLAH - samya
  • AOA

    It is still not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 08:31:40
  • Salam, is this product halal, Philips Seafood Restaurants Tartar Sauce? The ingredients are: soybean oil,dill pickle relish [pickle,high fructose corn syrup,vinegar,salt,spices and spice flavorings,xanthan gum,sodium benzoate,and potassium sorbate (preservatives)],water,high fructose corn syrup,distilled vinegar,salted egg yolks (egg yolks,salt),food starch-modified,salt,dehydrated onion,spice,potassium sorbate and sodium benzoate (preservatives),propylene glycol alginate,disodium edta (added to protect flavor),paprika. There's a circle inside with a U. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is a Halal Tartar Sauce.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 07:39:09
  • Is Fritolay\'s Lays, Cheetos and Cheetos cheese balls halal in India?? - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 00:36:22
  • Endura Mass choclate flavour Halal in India? Ingredients- Maltodextrin, Soy protein isolate, whole milk powder, sugar, palm oil, sweet dairy whey, emulsifying agents (INS 322, INS 472g), VItamins and minerals. CONTAINS ADDED FLAVOURS(NATURE , IDENTICAL AND ARTIFICIAL(CHOCOLATE) FLAVOURING SUBSTANCES. The pack also says \'100% veg\' followed by a green dot in the box. ) - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    There are couple of problem. If alcohol is not used during the processing of Soy Protein Isolate then it is Halal otherwise not. The use of alcohol in flavor has to be find out. Vegetarian label products are only Halal when no alcohol is used in ingredients. You have to write company to find out whether alcohol was used during processing of Soy Protein isolate or not. For alcohol in flavor please write the question this way:

    " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent".


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 00:35:08
  • Do you have any information about halal chewing gums in India?Is Wrigley's Boomer chewing gum halal in India? The ingredients are as follows-- Sugar, Gum base (contains soybean lecithin), glucose syrup, Emulsifier modified starch, humectant glycerine, antioxidant BHA, colours e124, e102 CONTAINS PERMITTED SYNTHETIC FOOD COLOURS AND ADDED NATURAL, NATURE IDENTICAL AND ARTIFICIAL STRAWBERRY FLAVOURS - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 00:30:40
  • Is Kissan Jam halal in India? The ingredients are as follows-- Sugar, Mixed fruit pupl, thickener- 440, Acidity regulator -330, Calcium(40 mg), Vitamin B3(1.3mg), Preservatives-211, 223. CONTAINS PERMITTED SYNTHETIC FOOD COLOURS-122, 133 AND ADDED FLAVOURS- NATURAL , NATURE IDENTICAL, ARTIFICIAL FLAVOURING SUBSTANCES CONTAINS PERMITTED CLASS II PRESERVATIVES. The green dot in the box is also printed. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-27-14 00:25:38
  • Assalam-o-aliqum, I just want to know if "Digiorno's" 4 cheese pizza halal or not? And, can you please let me know about all the halal frozen pizza brands I can use, in USA. JazakALLAH Khairun! - Haseeb Siddiqui
  • AOA

    I have no information about Digionos cheese pizza. Amy's Kitchen frozen cheese pizza is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-26-14 18:31:10
  • does k symbol on food mean halal - sara
  • AOA

    The K symbol on food products is not always Halal. For example you find K symbol on Jell-O Gelatin which is made with pork and non zabiha beef gelatin.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: Food Products
    09-26-14 16:08:08
  • does muller corner yogurt have alcohol - mohamed
  • AOA

    If it contains flavor then it is made with alcohol.


    Category: Food Products
    09-26-14 15:50:05
  • In a previous answered question you stated that Bugles are halal: Q: are bugles original halal? the ingredients are:degermed yellow corn meal,coconut oil,sugar,salt,baking soda,freshness preserved by BHT. - Zaki Uddin A: AOA. It is Halal. Category: Food Products07-17-14 14:44:51 But in your ingredients section you have stated that : Grain/plant based ingredients with pig based carrier: Beta carotene (pig Gelatin) and BHA/BHT (pig based carrier). So, now I am confused. food products that have been preserved by BHT are still halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Bugles original has a kosher symbol which makes BHT to use vegetable oil as a carrier. Beta Carotene in USA has fish gelatin in it as a carrier and it is Halal if there is kosher symbol on food package containing Beta Carotene.


    Category: Food Products
    09-26-14 13:05:26
  • Aslamualaikum I bought laxmi pure cow ghee from a india store in new jersey. The ingredients shows only unsalted butter. It has green dot but dont have kosher symbol.is it halal?u mentioned somewhere that unsalted butter is not always halal.so what about this ghee?pls let me know. - aaaaabc
  • AOA

    Unsalted butter is not Halal unless the flavoring is Lactic Acid. So you have to inquire about it.

    From our Alert:

    Search results for the term: laxmi

    Total results generated: 1
    Alert Title Description Date
    Donot bring Laxmi products to

     

    PLEASE DO NOT BRING LAXMI BRAND PRODUCTS TO YOUR HOMES

    All Laxmi brand products has Hindu belief deity Laxmi picture and they are available in all Muslim owned Indo/Pak Desi grocery stores in USA and Canada. We should avoid bringing homes these products because we perform Namaz(Salat), read Quran, read Zikar and Darood, fast during Ramadan in our homes. The company has to change its logo. The Muslim owners of grocery stores has buying power and they can demand to change it. There are other Hindu owned brands which do not have any their religious symbol on their products.

    So MCG is requesting Muslims to stop buying Laxmi brand products until they remove the picture of deity Laxmi’s picture from their products.


    Category: Food Products
    09-26-14 08:25:03
  • Greetings, I came across Milk Chocolate TeaCakes from Marks&Spencer, the product has beef gelatine. I was wondering whether its halal or not? Thanks, - Zahra
  • AOA

    MCG do not consider Non Zabiha Beef Gelatin as Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-26-14 00:32:25
  • Bounty choclate is halal or not ? - hanif qadri
  • AOA

    I have no information. This is not US product but it is a UK product.


    Category: Food Products
    09-25-14 11:59:47
  • Is chipsy halal ? - nour
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-25-14 05:07:07
  • IS THERE ANY INFORMATION ABOUT NESTLE NIDO MILK POWDER 1 +????????? - ali
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-25-14 01:23:23
  • Carl's Jr. is a popular chain in the USA. However, it is not listed on this website. Anyway, I was wondering if its ranch dressing is halal. I notice it has natural flavors. JazakAllah - Ahsenullah
  • AOA

    It is not located in Midwest and Chicago area so I do not know but I do not recommend no salad dressing including ranch in any food chain or any restaurant instead you ask for salad with lettuce, onion, tomato, carrot no cheese, no croutons, no bacon bits and no salad dressing. Ask to provide lemon juice or lemon as your salad dressing. The only thing you can eat is broiled fish with all butter no sauce, no fried fish because beer battered fish is also fried in same oil and same fryer. Only baked potato with all butter. No Non Zabiha lamb, beef and chicken. You can order broiled or steamed 100% vegetable without meat including bacon. No rice pilaf because it is made with non zabiha chicken broth.

    This is the only Halal meal you can eat in any restaurant in USA and Canada.


    Category: Food Products
    09-24-14 16:45:54
  • Magi noodles is halal or not - Najmoon nahar
  • AOA

    Maggi noodles with green dot or with vegetarian label on the package of products without any flavor are consider Halal. Maggi noodles are consider Not Halal if there is no Green Dot on the package of noodles.


    Category: Food Products
    09-24-14 13:32:24
  • is centrum multivitamin/ multimineral supplement and central -vite multivitamin halal or not? - Mohammad Hamza Khan
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

    Category: Food Products
    09-24-14 11:38:09
  • Gestamil by Fasska company ( belgium formula but packaged in Bangladesh) halal or haram? Its made with "skimmed milk ,sucrose, soya oil, cows milk fat, whey, protein, maltodextrine, inulin, milk calcium, vanilla flavor, minerals, vitamin, taurine, inositol, beta carotene. It doesn't have any veg/kosher/ halal tag. Can u plz research or contact them? - Jarin
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because of non Halal vanilla flavor and mashboo whey protein, vitamins, taurine and beta carotene.


    Category: Food Products
    09-24-14 11:01:02
  • I want to know CLASSICO FOUR CHEESE ALFREDO SAUCE is halal or not? - Saman Farooqi
  • AOA

    None of the Alfredo Sauce is Halal in USA and Canada.


    Category: Food Products
    09-24-14 10:03:30
  • asalam-o-alaikum,sir plz let me know about cadbury chocolates specially dairy milk found in india are halal or not,as few months before i have heard of pork segments in dairy milk but in malasia? - sanower alam
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-24-14 02:32:07
  • Alsalam Alaykom,thank you my brother for your convenient answers about the food selection in the arabic islamic countries. I wish to see you soon in Dubai or Egypt to go through this experience with me. for time being i emailed to "happy cow cheese middle east" and "Mars choclate middle east" and "burger king group in KSA" and "the health minister in UAE" regarding pork and alcohol ingredients in their products markted to the middle east region. And as soon as the reply will come , I will surely share it with you. W gazak ALLAH khayran. - ahmed
  • AOA

    Inshallah I will waite for their reply JazakAllah Khair.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 21:57:04
  • Salad sweet Samaritan ; available in patel brothers indian store. Are they halal .ingredients wheat flour sugar Palmolive oil vanilla flavour and salt. But it doesn't say artificial or natural vanilla flavour. Please help if you have some info - Shaukat
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because vanilla means natural vanilla flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 18:05:43
  • dose bean boozeld have gealitin in it please anwser fast thxx from,Lulu - lulu
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 18:00:59
  • I am confused which one is halal.domino,little ceasers,papa johns , cicis,Pizza Hut ,I only eat Pizza Hut cheese pizza, but if we are invited some where they have almost jimmy pizza so my children's eat it. We allow to eat or not. - Is jimmy pizza halal?
  • AOA

    There is only one Halal pizza in USA which Papa John Cheese pizza. I do not know abouy Jimmy Pizza. It is not a national pizza may be local.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 17:59:59
  • is kirkland signature low moisture part skim shredded mozzzarella cheese is halal having kd symbol ingredients are low moisture part skim mozzarella cheese(pasteurized milk,cheese cultures,salt,enzymes),rice flour and powdered cellulose added to prevent caking,nata-mycin (a natural mold inhibitor). contains milk - sadaf
  • AOA

    It is a Halal cheese.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 17:41:11
  • Salaams, I'm a little confused you said tartaric acid in Europe is not halal, so does this mean e472e from Monoand diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono & diglycerides is not halal as well even if it has a suitable for veg sign? Because it has tartic acid? E472e is used in a lot of UK breads - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Monoand diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono & diglycerides is dervied from tartaric acid and mono and diglycerides. You have ask the manufacturer of Tartaric Acid in UK how they make it. It is possible they may be made with unfermented grapes.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 14:26:11
  • Assalam-o-Alaykum i want to know that can i use nitro-tech and cell-tech by muscle tech brand to grow my muscles ,thanks!! - Waqar Mehmood
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 05:38:59
  • assalamo alaikum is hobnob bakery items like cake etc halal or haram - anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 04:32:05
  • is Dabur meswak tooth paste is halal? - mohamed hussain
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-23-14 03:48:23
  • alslaam alykom, thank you very much my brother in Islam for this educational answer about the islamic countries and the Haram-Halal examples I am an arabic muslim and I belive that different fiqh scholars and fiqh tafseer are Rahma for us. but again you didnot anwer my questions. so I will mark them and please be patient with me as i felt last time you are in the attacking mode (: 1- if I found a western products and I read the ingredients and may be found some mashbooh but there is "halal symbol" stamped. SHALL I BUY OR STILL SUSPECT THEM? 2- all products manufactured in arab islamic countries will never write "halal" as mentioned reason previously , so I will try my best effort to make sure it is free of alcohol or alcohol containing flavors. then SHALL I BUY OR SUSPECT FOR PORK (any arbic company you will ask about pork fats/bones/..etc , the answer is always NO)? 3- if i buy a local chicken and written it was slaughtered according to Shareaa . SHALL I TRUST OR STILL SUSPECT THAT IT IS MACHINED? 4-if i read the products ingredients and found some mashbooh and asked the food/non food company about the alcohol and pork inside the ingredients process and they replied NO. SHALL I TRUST OR STILL AVOID? (P.S. in the western countries you can go for "halal or kosher symbol" but here in the islamic countries 90% of the products manufactured internally and of course with out any halal symbol. so i will read the ingredients and i will have three options : * if they are halal i will buy * if anything haram (like natural vanilla,..) i will avoid * if anything mashbooh (like gelatine or glycrin,...) i will ask the food/non food company and i am telling you from now the answer is always NO haram is used. so i will trust and buy. IS THERE ANY FOURTH OPTION? ) could you please answer these quistions each individually so i can understand. w Gazakom ALLAH khyran. - ahmed
  • AOA

    I think you may have misunderstanding I did not answer your question in attacking mood. I respect everybody who ask the questions. Allah has given me the education in foods, knowledge and work experience in food plants to spread the knowledge of Halal foods to every Muslims in the world.  I agree with difference of opinions among our fiqah scholars.

    Answer No.1 If you see a mashbooh ingredient in Halal stamped food product then you do not have to purchase it.

    Answer No. 2 . Many Arab country such as Saudi Arabia do not allow any food product made with pork in their country but I do not know other country. If you country has the same rule then you do not have to worry about pork. But you have to make sure there no pork in the product. If your country sell pork for foreigner then you have to very careful about it. There are many wine shop on Dubai International Airport so maybe they allow pork in their country. In that case you must verify with manufacturer.

    Answer No. 3  If you have to find out method of slaughtering from the chicken company if they said machine slaughtered then do not buy it because 40 ulema of England and many ulema in US do not consider machine slaughtered chicken as Halal. If it is allowed in your country you can slaughter yourself the chicken at small butcher shop.

    Answer No.4 If the food company is reputable and honest then you can accept their answer.

    Your options:  All your three options are good.

    One advise please read each ingredient of ingredients statement of product and make a habit in that way if you find mashbooh ingredient then you avoid it.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 23:47:28
  • I saw COR symbol on lays bacon flavored chips, i have seen these symbols on wine too. What is the point of these symbols, product has the symbol even though it is definitely not halal. - Fiza
  • AOA

    COR is a othodox kosher organization of Canada. They only assign their symbol if the bacan as a artificial flavor. Wine is Halal for them. I recommend to avoid both products. There is Halal beef bacon if it is obtained from Zabiha slaughter beef. But wine is always Haram.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 20:20:13
  • Asalamwalikum is lays India's magic masala halal? Jazakalahkair - Sara
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 18:25:23
  • Is Blue Bell Ice cream is halal? - Mohammad Hamza
  • AOA

    All Blue Bell Ice Cream in Texas is not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 18:02:43
  • Alsalam alykom: is White hamburger enriched buns (midwest country fare) halal? The ingredients are: enriched bleached flour {wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), riboflavin (vitamin B2), folic acid}, water, high fructose corn syryp, yeast, wheat gluten, Contains 2% or less of each of the following: vegetable oil (soybean and/or cottonseed oil ), salt, dough conditioners (may contain one or more of the following: mono- and diglycerides, ethoxylated mono and di-glycerides, sodium stearoyl lactylate, calcium peroxide, Datem, calcium iodate, ascorbic acid, azodicarbonamide, enzymes), calcium sulfate, calcium propionate(preservative), Yeast nutrients (monocalcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, ammonium sulfate and/or calcium carbonate), corn starch, distilled vinegar, soy lecithin, milk, soy flour, sesame seeds. Contains wheat, soy and milk - reem
  • AOA

    I am not familiar with brand so I do not whether they use plant fat based dough conditioners or not. Please call them ask them whether any ingredients= is obtained from animal fat if they say no then you can consume.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 17:55:55
  • Alsalam alykom: is hamburger enriched buns (Schnucks®) halal? The ingredients are: unbleached enriched wheat flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, corn syryp, yeast, soybean oil, Contains 2% or less of each of the following: salt, dough conditioners (monoglycerides, sodium stearoyl lactylate, ascorbic acid, calcium peroxide), wheat gluten, calcium propionate (preservative), Yeast nutrients (monocalcium phosphate, calcium sulfate, ammonium sulfate), wheat starch, soy lecithin. Contains wheat, soy. It is distributed by schnuck markets, INC. St. Louis, mo. - reem
  • AOA

    Please call Schnuck ask whether any ingredient is obtained from animal fat if they say no then you can consume it.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 17:54:16
  • Assalamu Alaikum, Is Cheerios Halal.....The Brand is General Mills? - Fatima Bint Fikret
  • AOA

    Cheerios is a Halal cereal.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 17:53:15
  • Is cake zone mini croissants are halal or haram - Rocky
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 17:18:39
  • is kosher gelatin in the yogurt is halal? is enzyme in found in cheese is halal? - Gini
  • AOA

    From our FAQ:

    Is Kosher Gelatin Halal:

    Kosher gelatin is not Halal because it is made either from pork or non zabiha beef and therefore kosher gelatin from pork is Haram. Kosher gelatin is also obtained from kosher certified beef but it is not Halal because the Sachet a Rabbi who slaughter animals pronounce Allah's name on the first animal and last and no in between. Some liberal Rabbis is also consider pig gelatin as kosher with  kosher symbol K appears on yogurts containing kosher gelatin and Jell-O Gelatin because they think the original pig collagen changed during gelatin processing.

    Is all cheeses are Halal:

    No, only those who meet the following MCG requirements:

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal: 1. Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, starter culture growth media has to be kosher certified). 2. Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, bulk starter culture media has to be kosher certified). 3. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. 4. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves (not available in USA and Canada) and has to be kosher certified 5. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases has to be kosher certified 6. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk or whey protein concentrate if added has to be kosher certified 7. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese has to be kosher certified 8. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese has to kosher certified 9. Harmless plant based enzyme is if added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese has to be kosher certified 10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums. 11. Cheese must be Kosher certified and the kosher certification must meet the Halal requirements with exception cheese used on pizza, in that case cheese does not have to be kosher certified but if they used kosher certified starter culture bacteria, media and enzyme then meet above requirements then it is consider Halal. Cheese if Halal certified by other Halal certifying organizations must meet above criteria and if above criteria used for Halal certification then it must display on their websites otherwise MCG will not consider their Halal certified cheese as Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 14:48:49
  • is chocolate liquor halal or haram? - nadia
  • AOA

    Chocolate Liquor is a Halal ingredient and there is no liquor in it.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 14:09:42
  • Alsalam alykom: is onion 8 count sandwich rolls (Private selection)TM halal? It has K parve symbol. The ingredients are: enriched flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, ascorbic acid, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, high fructose corn syryp, dried chopped onions, soybean oil, Contains 2% or less of yeast, salt , wheat gluten, sodium stearoyl lactylate, beta carotene (for color),calcium propionate(preservative), calcium sulfate , calcium carbonate, ammonium sulfate , enzymes, ascorbic acid , azodicarbonamide, high oleic canola oil, calcium peroxide, monoglycerides, propionic acid, phosphoric acid, microcrystalline cellulose, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate, soy lecithin. Contains soy and wheat - reem
  • AOA

    The sandwich rolls are Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 14:09:25
  • is yeast in everyday bread halal? where is just says yeast on the package? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Yeast used in bread is a Halal baker's yeast.


    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 08:29:51
  • alsalaam alaikom. Please let me give you an example: i was eating in a normal restaurant (not a mashbooh one) in an inslamic arabic country and i asked the seller about there chicken and meat source and he said it is halal source either from outside with halal symbol or from inside local farms. then I asked him about the other ingredients are they halal and i give him an axample about the containing alcohol flavors ingredients, so he told me sure they are halal they are from the local market or from another islamic country only. and he added that they cannot sell something haram as they are under inspections and rules of the health ministry or otherwise they will be banned and as much as he now that most of the food products locally flavors are there and you cannot predict what they are from specially if manufactured in arab islamic countries. And he qoute " why you do not ask the official Fatwa center of the country?". So i visited 4 official Fatwa centers website of UAE, KSA, EGYPT (AZHAR Sherif and its Dar Al Fatwa Orgenization), JORDAN and there are many Fatwa articles were asked abouth the same and most the answers adopt the ( Mazahab abu Hanifa and Malaki and latest Shikh Ibn Taimia and Ibn Othaimyeen openions that the "najes" impure will turn to pure by "Istehala" (denaturing)...) and here are some brief Fatwa answers : 1- food from islamic country are halal even they do not written hala sumbol on it as long as there is no haram ingredient with it. 2- if alcohol is totally denatured "istehala" or evaporate from the flavor then it is halal to be used according to the rule that if you eat many of this product you will not be intoxication so it is not intoxicant item anymore. 3- rennet is halal if you do not know from where it comes beacuase of "istehala" rule and prophet Mouhamad SA hadeeth during compaigns (as imam Nawawi and Abdulla Ibn Omar RA and Ibn Abbas RA said). 4- the ahl ketab zabeeha is halal (except pig of coaurse) if you do not know how they slaughtered it and written Halal symbol on it. NOW let me be honest with you my brother, I traced many food products in the local market and here in all arabic islamic countries they will never but "halal symbols" on local manufactured food products even if they are franchise as long as they are manufactured in the islamic world only "Halal symbol" is there if they come from non muslims countries. the same can be said for the arabic and local restaurants. And the reason is very simple that if they put the Halal symbol that means they are making Haram as well so they will banned by the authurities. So shall i follow the official Fatwa centers of these countries? please consult the MSG Mufti and ulama and let me know. Sorry for my long words but believe me i am not stubborn specially when it comes to islam i am totally obey but this is the fact in our arabic islamic countries. - ahmed
  • AOA

    I know my ulema they do not agree with all the ulema you mentioned. The ulema of Al-Hind and Ulema of Pakistan are very conservative most of time they do not agree what you wrote. Personnaly I do not agree personally with Shikh Ibn Taimia because of his liberal thinking. The answers are already on our Fiqah & Science subsection under FAQ section. Alcohol is a hidden ingredient of flavors and fragrance. Nothing change as you mentioned  "Istehala because you have to see it scientifically. There reason why meat slaughtered by ahlekitab was Halal at that time because method of slaughtering for Muslims, Christians and Jews was the same. But now days in USA old method of slaughtering is changed,  a Hindu or Chinese or umbeliver can slaughter animal in a Christian slaughter house similarly the Rabbi Sachet who slaughter Kosher animals say the parayer on first and last animal nothing in between. There are many reports that beef products shipped to Arab countries contained pork and it was caught by the authorities.

    Please donot trust blindly what the restaurant owner said because he has to sell his products. You must investigate by writing or calling to food companies in Arab countries whether they use alcohol in flavor or not. In Arab countries chicken are machine slaughtered and they are not Halal according to 40 UK Islamic scholars and it is mentioned on our website.

    Gelatin

    Gelatin is not the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.

    There is lot of literature available about how gelatin is made, which can be found on the internet. But we have to understand the basic biochemistry of gelatin raw material and gelatin itself. The basic components of collagen (raw material for gelatin) and gelatin itself are the protein and amino acids. If the components of the raw material and finished product is the same, that means the chemical reaction and processing does not cause any changes to the original component. Then it does not become the case for Tabdeele Mahiya.

    • If you run a DNA analysis (nowadays it is used to detect pig by-products in a food product developed by a Florida company as mentioned on our web site) of Type A gelatin (pig) and Pig, you will find no difference. According to Tabdeele Mahiya, it should not match because the new product has to be different.
    • Gelatin is a derived water-soluble protein made by controlled hydrolytic conversion of collagen, the protein constituent of white fibrous connective tissue from animals. The manufacturing process will take out the extraneous material from bones, skin, and hide trimming. Neutralizing, washing and converting the collagen to gelatin occurs but the basic components remain the same.
    • Extensive study has shown that the amino acid (basic component) content of white connective tissue whether from bone, skin or tendon is very uniform and yields gelatins also having uniform amino acid composition. This confirms that no change has occurred in the basic components.
    • The gelatin is subject to hydrolytic breakdown by which it is converted from insoluble macromolecular collagen to water soluble protein.
    • The whole manufacturing process is based on purification and conversion of water insoluble collagen protein to water soluble gelatin. There is no new product, and the originality of gelatin raw material remains the same during manufacturing process.

    Gelatin is not an example of Tabdeele Mahiya. Type A gelatin (pig) is Haram because it still contains the original pig protein and amino acids.

    Bar Soap

    THERE IS NO PHYSICAL AND CHEMICAL CHANGES (TABDEELE MAHIYA) DURING THE PROCESSING OF PORK GELATIN AND BAR SOAPS MADE FROM PIG FAT

    There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

    There is no doubt about the following physical and chemical changes or Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw material to Halal products. This includes production of vinegar from alcohol, falling of pig in a salt mine and becoming part of salt mine, bone ash, tanning of dead animal skin. These Tabdeele Mahiya cases are acceptable to majority of Islamic scholars.

    But few things such as vinegar from wine, pig gelatin, bar soaps made with pork fat are not acceptable according to scientific facts and opinions of several Islamic scholars. Since some of the fatwas are issued 50-60 years back, it seems that no assistance from Muslim scientists was used to check it out scientifically.

    Requirements for Tabdeele mahiya are (1) complete change from originality to new things which are not present in the original material (2) change in the name (3) Complete conversion of basic components of a raw material to a complete new product containing new components and several others. The common understanding about change in the original status is that it should not contain original components. Some Islamic scholars do not pay attention to this fact and consider that any chemical changes or reactions result in a new composition, which is not true. Let us discuss this in detail:

    Bar soap from Pig fat and other fat based ingredients:

    Bar soaps are made from animal fat or vegetable oils or their fatty acids by reacting them with inorganic water-soluble alkali salt or bases. The source of fat is mutton or beef tallow or pork fat but glycerin is also added besides stearic acid (fat based).

    The animal fat or vegetable oil is made of distinctive mixture of several different triglycerides. A triglyceride molecule consists of one molecule of glycerin to which three fatty acid molecules are attached, and these fatty acids are specific to different type of triglycerides. Fatty acids are the basic components of any fat. During manufacturing of bar soaps, fats or oil are heated with liquid alkali, such as sodium hydroxide or caustic soda or potassium hydroxide or caustic potash to yield neat soap, water and glycerin. This process is known as saponification of fat or oil. During this process, the basic components fatty acids are transferred without change in its composition from triglyceride to alkali making neat soap (combination of alkali and fatty acid). Neutralization with alkali is also used to produce neat soap. The neat soap is dried and made into pellets, then glycerin and other ingredients are added, and then mixture is extruded to make bar soaps. If the bar soap is made from pork fat then nothing happens to its basic components fatty acids, it remains as it is, same as in pork fat. So bar soap manufacturing process is not the example of Tabdeele Mahiya. The emulsifiers and mono and diglycerides also fall under this category.

    On the other hand in manufacturing of distilled white vinegar, dilute ethyl alcohol is converted to acetic acid, water, and a very minute amount of unconverted dilute ethyl alcohol. Tabdeele Maheyia applies here in the case of dilute ethyl alcohol, which is converted to new material acetic acid and water by acetobacter bacteria. The name is changed from dilute ethyl alcohol to vinegar. Distilled white vinegar is Halal but raw material ethyl alcohol is not Halal.

    In the case of wine vinegar, the table wine contains 12.2% ethyl alcohol by volume or 9.9% by weight, 85% water, 4% carbohydrate, 0.1% protein and volatile wine flavoring compounds. In wine, only alcohol is subjected for change by acetobacter bacteria to acetic acid and water. So wine vinegar contains acetic acid, water and rest of the above thing, unconverted small amount of wine and wine flavors which are the result of wine making. Imam Shaafi RA does not consider it as Halal. Presence of unconverted wine, wine flavoring compounds are the scientific basis for its not being consider as Halal.

    Liquid raw materials are best suitable for Tabdeele Mahiya compare to solids. So it is very important to use scientific facts in deciding the Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw materials for the processing of food products, food ingredients and personal care items.

    Wine Vinegar

    THE CHEMISTRY OF WINE VINEGAR AND ITS RELATION WITH FIQAH

    It is necessary to familiarize the chemistry of wine making before discussing the chemistry of wine vinegar. Wine making started about 3000-4000 B.C and is mostly made from fermented grapes, but wine is also made from other fruits, and grain such as rice. Influence of raw material in wine making is very important because it needs high sugar content of 10-24% and low acidity of 0.5 to 1.5% as Tartaric acid. Higher acidity inhibits the yeast fermentation. Alcoholic fermentation occurs through enzymes produced by yeast Saccharomyces cerevisia on the sugar of the Must (Must refers to crushed grapes including juice, seeds and skin) and this alcoholic fermentation ( proceeds with 20 enzyme protein, 3 to 8 organic cofactors and several inorganic cofactors) results in:

    Ethyl Alcohol, Carbon Dioxide, Polyphenols, Organic Flavor compounds, Odors compounds

    The yeast fermentation is followed by lactic acid fermentation of malic acid, present in grape. This is called Malolactic fermentation in which malic acid is converted by lactic acid bacteria into: Lactic Acid, Carbon Dioxide

    The lactic acid bacteria also change the fruit flavor of wine and add some flavor compound from their metabolism. But majority of wine flavor comes from alcoholic fermentation and wine flavor is continued to change during storage.

    A typical wine consists of: Water, Ethyl Alcohol, Tannins Acids, Polyphenols, Flavor compounds and color if from red grapes

    Polyphenols contribute the bitter taste of the wine and astringent mouth feel of wine, characteristic aromas are related to wine maturation. Wine is the raw material for wine vinegar.

    Presently Vinegar is produced from a wide variety of substances but the basic requirement is that, those substances should have sufficient amount of alcohol and a satisfactory level of flavoring. The conversion of alcohol to acetic acid by acetobacter bacteria is as follows:

    The acetobacter bacteria act only on alcohol content of wine, not on other components of wine according to literature. Organic chemistry of wine vinegar and other literature indicate that the coloring and flavoring of wine vinegar are the characteristic of the wine from which the particular wine vinegar is made. From this we can derive the following equation for wine vinegar:

    So the Acetobacter bacteria do not act on wine flavors and wine colors during the production of wine vinegar. The same flavors and colors are present in wine vinegar and they are not subjected to any chemical reactions during the process. So chemically they remain the same in wine vinegar. There is no research or literature found to suggest that the wine flavors and wine color are subject to Tabdeele Mahaya (chemical change to new products) in wine vinegar production.

    It means some part of Haram wine is present in wine vinegar. Besides the above, the processing of wine to wine vinegar is not 100%. Some minute amount of wine is also left over in wine vinegar. According to a Hadith small portion of intoxicant is also Haram as large portion. Wine vinegar is not Halal according to Imam Shafi but it is considered clean according Imam Abu Hanifa (according to Sahee Muslim). According to Anas Bin Malik RA, Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum did not give permission to make vinegar from wine (Hadith from Sahee Muslim).

    We recommend Muslim consumers to avoid using any wine vinegar based on the above Hadith and scientific facts.

    Wine (Ethyl Alcohol + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors + Oxygen) → Acetic Acid + Water + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors 2 CH3CH2OH + 2 O2 → 2 CH3COOH + 2 H2O

    Alcohol + Oxygen → Acetic Acid + Water

    Alcohol

    Islamic web sites in USA and in other countries are publishing articles from various Islamic Scholars about Haram status of alcohol only from grapes and dates under Hanafi fiqah and providing the impression that alcohol from other sources is Halal. They are also giving the Halal status to synthetic alcohol without providing any hard evidence from neither religious nor scientific sources. But their views are not universally acceptable. This makes Muslim consumers more confused than before.

    Muslim Consumer Group did research based upon scientific, regulatory status of alcohol manufactured by both fermentation and synthetic methods. We also discuss this matter with our religious advisors who belong to Hanafi Mazhab. Here is our report:

    Alcohol (also known as Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol) is a food but requires no digestion. Like other drugs, it acts on many organs in the body but has no cellular receptors. It is stable in the atmosphere to any chemical change, where as all other foods will undergo some kind of decomposition. It is the only food produced solely by microbial action beside the synthetic alcohol. Alcohol and water mix in every solution, including blood. Once alcohol enters the body, it is easily penetrated into the brain and it will provide a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. We know this fact from our Holy Book, the Quran, where Allah says: O ye who believe! Draw not near unto prayer when you are in a state of intoxication until you know what you utter (4:43).

    Alcohol is produced through alcoholic fermentation of material containing sugar or starch. Starch first has to breakdown into sugar and sugar is then fermented by yeast which converts it into ethyl alcohol or ethanol and carbon dioxide (CO2). Molasses from sugar cane, beet sugar, wood sugar (sulphite lye), fruits, and berries are the raw material used to produce alcohol. Starchy products such as cereal, rice, corn and potato are also used as a raw material to produce alcohol. Alcohol obtained from fermentation is subject to separation, concentration and distillation. The chemical name of alcohol is ethanol and C2H5OH is the chemical formula.

    So alcohol obtained from above sources has the same chemical formula and has the same quality of providing a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. There is no chemical and physical difference between alcohols obtained from grape or corn. So the statement that alcohol is Haram only from grape and dates does not hold up scientifically.

    Use of Alcohol in a Food Product

    Alcohol is now used as an individual ingredient in a food product. It is also used as solvent in natural and artificial flavors. It is also used as extracting solvent in vanilla products such as vanilla extract (about 35%), vanilla sugar (sugar mixed with vanilla extract). It is also present in naturally brewed soy sauce up to 2% as a by-product of fermentation of soybean and wheat.

    Ethanol or alcohol has the quality of making a person drunk. If alcohol is distilled out from wine or beer, a flavored solution is left behind. That solution does not have the same quality as alcohol resulting in the sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. Date juice is allowed to drink before it is fermented as reported in Sahee Bukhari. Thus the prohibition of alcoholic beverages in Islam is due to the presence of alcohol in those beverages.

    Many Muslim scientists wrote about alcohol in many books and magazines. They all agreed that alcohol is Haram without even mentioning the sources. Recently a Muslim pharmaceutical scientist wrote that synthetic alcohol is Haram.

    Synthetic Alcohol

    Alcohol is also obtained other than fermentation process called synthetic alcohol. It has wide application in the process industries as solvent, in the production of cosmetics and intermediates in the manufacture of other chemicals. It is produced by ethylene (gas) dehydration and also produced by petroleum sources. It has the same chemical formula C2H5OH and has the same quality of providing a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. Synthetic alcohol is not different scientifically from alcohol obtained from fermentation method.

    Regulatory status of synthetic alcohol and alcohol produced through fermentation (Sec.55.100 alcohol; use of synthetic alcohol in foods Compliance Policy Guide CPG 7120.10 revised 2/1/1989)

    Practically and scientifically, pure ethyl alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum products does not differ from that obtained by fermentation with subsequent distillation. Further more, foods in which one is used cannot be distinguished objectively from those in which the other is used (From Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearm of the U.S. Treasury Department).

    FDA Policy: Synthetic alcohol may be used as a food ingredient or in the manufacturing of vinegar or other chemicals for food use, within limitations imposed by the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, the Alcohol Administration Act and regulations promulgated under these acts. Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as Grain Alcohol or Neutral Grain Spirits is considered false and misleading

    This is another fact that there is no difference between synthetic alcohol and alcohol obtained through fermentation.

    Denatured Alcohols (Not same as Synthetic Alcohol)

    Synthetic ethyl alcohol and denatured ethyl alcohol is not the same thing. Denatured ethyl alcohol can be made from synthetic alcohol and also from ethyl alcohol produced through fermentation method.

    Denaturation of alcohol is the act of rendering ethyl alcohol unfit for beverage use by addition of substances known as denaturants. To prevent the ethyl alcohol in a cosmetic from being diverted illegally for use as an alcoholic beverage, it may be "denatured." This means that it contains an added "denaturant" that makes it undrinkable. The regulatory requirements pertaining to denaturation operation and manufacture are contained in 27 CFR Part 19, Subpart N. The substances, formulas to make the denatured alcohols are regulated by Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearm of the U.S. Treasury Department (ATF). There are two type of denatured alcohol:

    • Specially Denatured Alcohol (SDA)
    • Completely Denatured Alcohol (CDA)

    Specially Denatured Alcohol

    The quantity and character of the denaturants specified are carefully chosen so as not to interfere with specific legitimate industry use that each formula authorizes. All transactions in SDA are carefully regulated. For example introducing Benzene during the distillation process drives out the water contained in ethanol creating a very pure and potent fuel source - denatured alcohol.

    Completely Denatured Alcohol

    The ethyl alcohol is so thoroughly denatured that the product is utterly unfit for beverage use and denaturants used are very nearly inseparable from ethyl alcohol. The use of Completely Denatured Alcohol is authorized without permit because pure ethyl alcohol can not be extracted and diverted to beverage use.

    Denatured alcohols lose their quality of intoxicant due to addition of chemicals to ethyl alcohol, so the cosmetic and personal care products containing denatured alcohols can be permitted if all other ingredients in those products are Halal.

    Views of our Religious advisors

    Our religious advisors Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan and Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri have mentioned the following ahadith for supporting their views:

    • Our Fuqaha (religious advisers) said that the Arabic word khamer as mentioned in Quran means specifically to intoxicant made from grapes because it is the common practice in those days to make intoxicant from grapes but they said it does not mean that the alcohol from other sources is not Haram, As reported in Bukhari that in those days, the intoxicant is made from grapes, dates, wheat, barley and honey.
    • According to Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi and Sahee Bukhari 492 Narrated by Aisha R.A, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said all drinks that intoxicate are unlawful to drink (Kullu Sharabin Askara Fahuwa Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Bukhari, Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Nisai and Ibn Maja Narrated by Ibn Omar RA, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is khamer and every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu muskirun khumrun wa Kullu Muskirun Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Turmizi, narrated by Aisha R.A, Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu Muskirun Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Ibn Maja and Nisai Narrated by Jaber R.A Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said Intoxicant is Haram either in large quantity or small quantity.
    • According to Abudawood narrated by Aisha R.A. Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is Haram either in small or large quantity.
    • According to Abudawood and Ahmed narrated by Um Salma R.A Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every thing which intoxicate and effect your brain is Haram. Imam Mohammed R. A student of Imam Abu Hanifa R.A gave Fatwa in Tanveer Absar that any liquid intoxicant made from any thing is Haram. This is belief of Imam Shafi R.A and Imam Malik RA.
    • Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman said that Imam Abu Hanifa R.A�s maslak or Qwal (Saying) that things other than Khamer (grape wine) which intoxicate at certain quantity if it is not reach at that quantity can be consumed. But at present there is no fatwa about his saying.
    • Our religious advisor has brought to our attention the part of the ayat No.7 of surah Hashr (59) in which Allah has asked Muslims to accept whatever our Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum has prohibited.
    • From the above scientific facts and references provided by our religious advisors from Quran and sahee ahadith, we can conclude that the alcohol from any source is Haram not specifically from grape and date as reported in those articles. There is no difference in the intoxication quality between alcohol produced through fermentation and synthetic alcohol produced from ethylene gas or petroleum source. Both synthetic ethyl alcohol and ethyl alcohol produced through fermentation are Haram.

    Category: Food Products
    09-22-14 02:01:54
  • Is NescafĂ© cappuccino (caffeinated and de caffeinated) halal? Thanks - Salma
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-21-14 10:51:08
  • Assalamualikum, shiroi koibito is a Japanese chocolate etc company... I want to ask if its chocolate blanc et lang ue de chat is halal or haram.. It contains the following ingredients: Sugar, egg white, flour, whole milk powder, vegetable oil, cocoa butter, butter, shortening, cream, milk, starch, salt, skimmed milk powder, emulsifier (soy derived), fragrance. Awaiting your response. - Muhammad aslam
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-21-14 09:42:58
  • Bread in Japan is halal or not? - Masood
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-21-14 04:11:39
  • Assalamu Alaikum, I was wondering if "Red Star Platinum Superior Baking Yeast" is halal or not. The ingredients are: YEAST, SORBITAN MONOSTEARATE, SOYA FLOUR, ASCORBIC ACID, ENZYMES. It is KOSHER certified. And manufacturer says that IT IS FREE OF ANIMAL BYPRODUCTS AND INGREDIENTS. It is also dairy-free and vegan. The product's website is: http://www.redstaryeast.com/platinum/product-info I would be thankful if you could inform us. Jazakallah - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is a Halal baker yeast.


    Category: Food Products
    09-21-14 03:49:34
  • i have asked a question about food products manufactured in the Islamic countries in 20-09-14. Sorry for being confused, but may be the answer typewriting was not clear. do you mean " Many Arab countries you mentioned buy food products made with alcohol containing flavors. If they containing alcohol flavors as Haram and have a Halal symbol then you can buy. It does not matter if they are the subsidiary of Big US food companies."? - ahmed
  • AOA

    Believe me, a US food manufacturer told me when I was working for him that they send bakery products to Saudi Arabia which are made with alcohol containing flavors. Suadi Arabia has a limit of 0.05% alcohol in a food product similarly Malaysia and Indonesia also accept food products made with alcohol containing flavors. My advise is to you that living in Islamic country does not mean every thing is Halal. Most Muslim countries accept machine slaughetered chciken when 40 ulema from England declared that machine slaughtered chicken are not Halal. Please avoid any food product with natural or artificial flavor. Please visit our FAQ to find which ingredients are made with alcohol. But our Ulema and our organization do not consider any food product or ingredients amd with alcohol containing flavor as Halal. Please remember this Hadith:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-20-14 23:52:12
  • which chewing gum is halal in usa - hana hamad
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-20-14 15:13:55
  • Assalamualaykum!!! Are Jewel Cupcakes Halal if they contain the following: Sugar, enriched bleached flour (wheat flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin, riboflavin, folic acid) vegetable shortening(palm oil & /or soybean oil, propylene glycol, mono & diesters of fatty acids,mono & diglycerides, soy lecithin,BHT) vegetable oil (partially hydrogenated soy & cottonseed, soy oil, coconut oil, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, egg whites, , nonfat milk, cocoa(if chocolate cake & or /icing) W/alkali, wheat starch, sodium bicarbonate, modified food starch(corn, tapioca) salt, dextrose, acidic sodium aluminum phosphate, natural& artificial flavor, sodium stearoyl lactytate, sodium acid pyrophosphate, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate(Preservative), phosphoric acid, locust bean. guar, xanthan gum, poly sorbate 60, monocalcium phosphate, May contain FD&C Colors: Red 3&40, Yellow 5&6, Blue 1&2, Lakes Red 3&40, Lakes Yellow 5&6, Lakes Blue 1&2. Dextrin, Confectioners Glaze, Corn Starch, Carnauba Wax, Gum Arabic, Rice flour. MANUFATURED ON SHARED EQUIPMENT W/TREE NUTS. Contains: Wheat, Eggs, Milk, Soy. JAZAKALLAH! - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because one of the reason it contains Confectionary Glaze.


    Category: Food Products
    09-20-14 09:19:27
  • I bought tilapia fillets (I can't see the brand name on the bag), it is mentioned on the bag that: it is packed in a facility that also processes crustacean shellfish and that iy is distributed by walmart stores Bentonville and that it is a farm raised product from china. is it a halal product? - reem
  • AOA

    Farm Raised fish are not Halal because we do not know what they feed them.


    Category: Food Products
    09-20-14 05:51:06
  • alslam alikom I have a question to be answered please, I live in the United Arab Emirates , Egypt and Most of the products that are on the list of Mashbooh or Haram in your site are manufactured within and by my country factories or other Muslim countries like Saudi Arabia and Oman on behalf of the parent company of the trademark ... this mean that the ingredients are Halal Since manufactured (not only backed) in Islamic countries until further notice, am I correct? - ahmed
  • AOA

    Tjhe many Arab countries you mentioned buy food products made with alcohol containing flavors. If they alcohol containing as Haram and have a Halal symbol the you can buy. It does not matter if they are the subsidiary of Big US food companies.


    Category: Food Products
    09-20-14 04:15:04
  • Is Tesco Finest Swiss chocolate is Halal? Ingredients: milk chocolate, sugar, plain chocolate, cocoa butter, Dried whole Milk, Walnuts, Vegetable oil, Almonds, Cocoa Mass, Butter-oil and Humectants. - Bakhtiar Ahmad
  • AOA

    If it has a label "Suitable for Vegetarian" then it is Halal otherwise not because we do not know the name of humectant and also do not know what Haram hidden ingredients they use.


    Category: Food Products
    09-20-14 01:41:22
  • Assalamualaykum!!! Are Jewel Cupcakes Halal if they contain the following: Sugar, enriched bleached flour (wheat flour, niacin, ferrous sulfate, thiamin, riboflavin, folic acid) vegetable shortening(palm oil & /or soybean oil, propylene glycol, mono & diesters of fatty acids,mono & diglycerides, soy lecithin,BHT) vegetable oil (partially hydrogenated soy & cottonseed, soy oil, coconut oil, corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, egg whites, , nonfat milk, cocoa(if chocolate cake & or /icing) W/alkali, wheat starch, sodium bicarbonate, modified food starch(corn, tapioca) salt, dextrose, acidic sodium aluminum phosphate, natural& artificial flavor, sodium stearoyl lactytate, sodium acid pyrophosphate, potassium sorbate, sodium benzoate(Preservative), phosphoric acid, locust bean. guar, xanthan gum, poly sorbate 60, monocalcium phosphate, May contain FD&C Colors: Red 3&40, Yellow 5&6, Blue 1&2, Lakes Red 3&40, Lakes Yellow 5&6, Lakes Blue 1&2. Dextrin, Confectioners Glaze, Corn Starch, Carnauba Wax, Gum Arabic, Rice flour. MANUFATURED ON SHARED EQUIPMENT W/TREE NUTS. Contains: Wheat, Eggs, Milk, Soy. JAZAKALLAH! - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I already told you that it is not a Halal Cup Cakes because it contains Confectionrs Glaze why you have to send two more same question when I already answered it. From our FAQ:

    Confectionery Glaze

    Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze is made from Shellac (Shellac is a insect secretion) which is dissolved in alcohol, and then alcohol is evaporated and glazed on the surface of food products. It is also part of sprinkles on top of bakery products and ice cream. MCG does not consider it as a Halal ingredient because of alcohol.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 16:27:21
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu, Is it okay to eat plain nuts even if the pack does not have a kosher symbol? JazakAllah Khair. - Aziza
  • AOA

    If it is 100% Nuts no other ingredients except salt or toasted with vegetable oil then you can consume it.


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 15:25:33
  • I live in Lombard Illinois and I am looking for a halal bread in my area with our mono and di glycerides. - Mahmood Omer
  • AOA

    halal Soft & Smooth Whole Grain White Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Soft & Smooth 100% Whole Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Iron Kids Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Honey Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal 100% Whole Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Classic White Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Hearty Delicious Whole Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Italian Bread Bread Arnold  

    04-30-12

     

    halal Soft & Smooth Whole Grain White Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Soft & Smooth 100% Whole Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Iron Kids Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Honey Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal 100% Whole Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Classic White Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Hearty Delicious Whole Wheat Bread Bread Sara Lee Bimbo Bakery bought the Sara Lee bakery in 2011. They now are using dough conditioners from vegetable fat, kosher certified whey and Vitamin D3 in their breads. 05-08-12
    halal Italian Bread Bread Arnold   04-30-12

    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 09:54:20
  • Are any of apple bee, red lobster, cracker barrel, pf chang and cheese cake factory products halal? - hira mehraj
  • AOA

    Cheesecake Factory cheesecake are not Halal, Red Lobster, other fast food restaurant's fried fish is not Halal. Even vegetables at Cracker Barrel made with pork. I do not know much about Apple Bee but at Red Lobster you can eat only broiled or grilled fish with butter without sauce, with baked potato with butter only, garden salad without crottons, bacon bits and cheese.


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 08:57:19
  • Are Zatarain rice products halal - rose muhammad
  • AOA

    If they carry 100% rice without any ingredients except enrichment then it is Halal and rest are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 08:53:05
  • Is Kordel Active 35 oat halal to consume? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 08:38:40
  • Salam alikum, Is Twinings Earl Grey Tea safe to be consumed by muslims? I am having a doubt because the product contains bergamot flavouring. Thanks. - MA Mohamed Moffit
  • AOA

    If alcohol is used in flavor then this will not be Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 05:37:45
  • Is beer extract hallal. I purchassed battered fish from the shops and when i read the ingridents at home it said it contains Beer extract, is it haram? Do i still eat the fish or dispose it?? - Hana
  • AOA

    Two thing do not buy any fried battered fish because they also make Beer Battered Fish in the same freyer and in same vegetable oil so beer contaminate all other fried fish. 2nd non zabiha beef extract is not consider Halal by our ulema. The non zabiha beef extract is used in McDonald French Fries this is the reason they are not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-19-14 02:56:58
  • Are Walmart and kroger brands cheese and dairy products Halal? The same question for their (store brand) medicines also. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-18-14 18:48:46
  • Kindly provide me information that Wayne zabiha halal chicken allowed for muslims? - khaja Imaduddin
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-18-14 11:19:31
  • Is it true that Kopiko L.A. Coffee contains fat from pigs? - Salleh bin Ibrahim
  • AOA

    If it is 100% coffee then it is Halal without any ingredient.


    Category: Food Products
    09-18-14 02:28:29
  • Is selects original Maria biscuit halal ? JazakAllah khair - angel
  • AOA

    Please search at our www.canadianhalalfoods.com in Canada.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 17:21:37
  • does Sandies cookies by Keebler is Halal - Muhammad Masood
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 16:06:06
  • salam u alaykum, could you please tell me whether "excelerol" halal or not? would you please try a good search for it, if you haven't done before.. best regards. - omar younis
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 14:01:18
  • Is first street mozarella cheese halal ? - Nayab Yasir
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 13:30:04
  • Assalmu Alaikum sir i m from india i want know whether amul r Britania cheese halal or not - Shafeeka
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 11:25:54
  • are the he gummy vites multivitamin for children which are made in Israel halaal? - Muhammad
  • AOA

    I have no information. But all gummy children vitamins are made with gelatin either from pork or non zabiha cow or fish.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 08:59:34
  • Is vannila essence halaal?some ulama say that it is haraam when some other ulama approve that it is halaal. jazaakAllah. - Amnah Khan
  • AOA

    Vanilla Essence containing natural vanilla and ethyl alcohol is Haram. Many ulema does not know how vanilla and vanilla essence are made.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 07:45:53
  • Asalam u alikum, Are these Bread Halal ? ------------------------------------------------------------ Bread 1: Title: Brooklyn Kosher Bakery Note: It has Kosher Symbol Ingredients: WHEAT FLOUR, WATER, YEAST, SALT, IF PUMPERNICKEL, PUMPERNICKEL RYE FLOUR, SOYBEAN OIL, CALCIUM PROPIONATE (A PRESERVATIVE). ------------------------------------------------------------ Bread 2: Title: KCB (KASHMIR CROWN) Desi Bread (Suitable for Vegetarian) (No Eggs Added) Website: KCBUSA.com Ingredients: Wheat Flour, (Ferrous, Sulfate, Niacin, Thiamine, Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic acid), Sugar, Vegetable Margarine, Milk, Salt, Yeast, Calcium Propionate, Natural & Artificial Flavorings. Allergy Advise: The facility that processes this product also manufactures products that may carry: wheat, gluten, peanuts, tree nuts, fresh milk, milk powder, soybean oik and eggs. Jazak Allah Khayr - Muhammad Usman
  • AOA

    The first bread is Halal if all ingredients listed above. The 2nd Desi bread is mashbooh because alcohol may used in natural and artificial flavor.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 05:55:30
  • Is the brand name Nature's Way multi vitamins halal certified? - faizah
  • AOA

    Nature Way Vitamins are not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 03:51:29
  • I wanted to know if there is any halal ranch dressing available and names of other halal salad dressing brands - Farheen fatima
  • AOA

    There is none. The following 12 salad dressing are Halal:

    Search results for the term: salad dressing

    Total results generated: 12
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Country French Salad Dressing Salad Dressing Ken's Steakhouse   10-11-12
    halal Original French Homestyle Dressing Salad Dressing Henri   10-11-12
    halal Fat Free French Homestyle Dressing Salad Dressing Henri   10-11-12
    halal Woebers Sandwich Dressing Salad Dressing Sandwich Pal   08-30-12
    halal Salad Dressing Salad Dressing State Fair Available at Wal-Mart superstores. 05-19-12
    halal New Lite Popy Seed Dressing Salad Dressing Ken's Steakhouse   04-23-12
    halal Country French Dressing Salad Dressing Ken's Steakhouse   04-23-12
    halal Classical Original French Salad Dressing Henri's   04-23-12
    halal 1 Step Coleslaw Maker Desssing Salad Dressing Kraft UPC 021000026777 11-05-11
    halal Whipping Salad Dressing Salad Dressing Great Value Wal-Mart brand 01-30-11
    halal Fat Free French Salad Dressing Fat Free Salad Dressing Henri   10-17-10
    halal Creamy Italian Salad Dressing Salad Dressing Ken's Steak House   06-13-10

    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 03:17:57
  • is fab cake halal? - rushdiyairfan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 03:05:47
  • I have twix and snickers from uae and they have natural vanilla extract and natural vanilla flavor in their ingredients ,respectively, which are haram but in your website they are declared halal. How so? - M.Aslam
  • AOA

    They are not Halal and they are not made in USA. Vanilla Extract is a Haram ingredient containing 35% alcohol. Natural vanilla flavor is also Haram because it is made with alcohol extraction.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 02:42:43
  • Kit kat 2 finger milk chocolate has natural vanilla flavouring in its ingredients. Vanilla flavouring is made from vanilla extract which is haram so this is haram too, yet in your website kit kat is declared halal. How so? - M. Aslam
  • AOA

    Yes, they are Haram milk chocolate. Kit Kat, Snickers made in USA are Halal because they use vanillin as a artificial flavor. Vanillin is a Halal artificial vanilla flavor. The products listed on our website are thos food products amde in USA. The one you mentioned are made in other countries.


    Category: Food Products
    09-17-14 02:13:37
  • I see Halal symbol for buns at Macdnald's , however you say that Macdonald's refused to provide information - ahmed
  • AOA

    Please read our messgae carelfully it is not about bun but it is about coating on fish patty.


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 13:48:13
  • I live in Texas,please let me know the latest list of halal Bread. Thank you - Moniruz Zaman
  • AOA

    Please write "bread" in search then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal and search then you will Mrs Baird other Halal bread in Texas.


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 13:36:30
  • I see the symbol of Halal on your website for fat free honey mustard at Subway, However you mention in the same table that it is Haram because they use white wine. - ahmed
  • AOA

    It was a typical mistake because Halal, Not Halal very close to click. Thanks for bringing to me. I will correct it as Haram.


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 13:24:55
  • Asalamualikum.Is Vermont Organics Milk Based Organic Formula halal? Jazak ALLAH - Sami Ullah
  • AOA

    If it does not have the kosher symbol and contains Nucleotide, flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 11:54:42
  • I have asked about (Extra large crushed wheat sandwich rolls (Private selection)TM. It has K parve symbol. The ingredients are: stone ground whole wheat flour, water, high fructose corn syryp, wheat gluten, contains 2% or less of soybean oil, yeast, salt , sodium stearoyl lactylate, calcium propionate(preservative), calcium sulfate , ethoxylated mono and di-glycerides , calcium carbonate, ammonium sulfate , enzymes, ascorbic acid , azodicarbonamide, wheat flour, high oleic canola oil, calcium peroxide, propionic acid, phosphoric acid, microcrystalline cellulose, corn starch, monocalcium phosphate, soy lecithin, soy and wheat . And you replied that (It is a Halal product in Detroit area), But I am living in Columbia, Missouri. It is written on the bag that it is distributed by the Kroger Co. Cincinnati, Ohio 45202. Then, Is it halal or not? - ahmed
  • AOA

    You wrote your e-mal as @wayne.edu, I thought you are going to Wayne Sate Universit in Detroit, Michigan. This is reason I wrote. Is there another universit Wayne in Missouri. But product is Halal.


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 09:52:15
  • Halaal is not written on st michel biscuiterie produts.... can we eat them.... are these produts halaal - mehjabeen
  • AOA

    I have no information on St. Michel Biscuit because it is not a US or Canadian brand. Pleas provid full detail including ingredients statement where it is made, who certified inwhicg country it is available.

     


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 02:40:06
  • In my local Macro cash and carry some rice is marked with a halal stamp why and how does it differ from other rice? - Janett may
  • AOA

    Rice pilaf in restaurants in USA is made with non zabiha chicken broth so it is not Halal. I do not know the barnd name.


    Category: Food Products
    09-16-14 00:17:33
  • Which cake is hallal - safia ahmad
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Food Products
    09-15-14 09:04:49