USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 3,969 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,691 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,839 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,217 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,336 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 66 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,577 ]

Recent Questions:

  • Just would like to confirm whether the fragrance under Victoria secret is halal or not - Asmah Zainuddin
  • AOA

    You have tofind it out from them because nobody knows.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-24-14 00:38:23
  • Assalamialaikum. Is sperm whale halal? Cetyl palmitate is a chief component in the wax of sperm whale. cetyl palmitate is one of ingredient in lip balm and other cosmetic products. So, is the lip balm halal to be consumed? jazakallah khayr - Nurhafizah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-23-14 21:39:10
  • hi ,Using of LOREAL,ESTEE LAUDER,CLINIC,AND JERGENS are halal? - Moqadas
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-23-14 11:21:41
  • Is surf excel halal? It is a washing powder that comes from the uneliver brand. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if it has a kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-23-14 00:36:31
  • I am new to Islam, and am still learning about whats halal. I have bipolar disorder, and have been on three different medications to treat it: lithium carbonate, bupropion, and Abilify. I didnt see these on the list of medications this website has information on. How can I find out if they're halal? Thank you. - Jacob
  • AOA

    I have no information on those medicine.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-22-14 17:13:09
  • Is axe denim cologne talcum powder halal? - ruhie.m
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-22-14 17:08:21
  • Assalamualaiekum It seems that there are no cosmetics companies that muslim sisters can wear their products. Especially lipstick and all that. So could you please ask more companies about their products, since youd be more familiar with what ingredients need to be asked about then we would. This would greatly benefit all the muslim sisters. Jazakallah - Rahila
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-22-14 13:15:13
  • The key ingredients of a mehendi cone are; Henna - 45%, henna oil - 10%, Titanium dioxide - 1%, Brown colour - 10%, Distilled water - 28%, Preservatives - 2%, ethyl acetate - 0.2%, finol - 0.3%, dimethicone - 0.5%,allantoin - 0.6%. Is this mehendi cone halal? can i use without wudhu? Jazakallahu Khairan. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I do not see any Haram ingredients, you can use it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-21-14 05:05:13
  • I need to know whether dove shampoo and conditioner is halal or not. I don't see this in the list will you please mail me halal list of shampoos and conditioners - waseem riaz
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    Shampoo Dove Sampoos Dove No gurantee for pork free, pork is used when other sources are not available. Feb 2013.

    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-20-14 15:09:27
  • Selamunaleykom brother. I want to buy fish oil from drugstore but how I can check is there any pork stuff like gelatin etc in fish oil ? Let me know please Fatih NYC Thanks - fatih
  • AOA

    You have to order in line or go to a kosher pharmacy in NYC:

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA Maxigel Fish Oil Maxi Health   05-05-14
    halal Omega 3 Premium Fish Oil Maximum Strength EPA/DHA 180 Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 & Q10 Plus D3 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 120 Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Research   05-05-14
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin) Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Zahlers Kosher Advanced Omega-3 Platinum Fish Oil Highest EPA/DHA (Premium Grade) Softgel Fish Oil Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13

    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-19-14 20:19:52
  • Is Lemon Extract & Anti-pigmenting Long Dan are halal ingredients . Its garnier menr face wash n its mentioned as SPF 15 also . Please let me know can i use this o not. - Arham Dilip
  • AOA

    If any thing above is made with alcohol then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-19-14 10:58:01
  • is isoprpyl alcohol in bar soap halal or not? - maleeha
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.

    based ingredients Isomalt is a sugar alcohol.
    haram Isopropyl Alcohol or Isoproponal Alcohol Many Sources It is a Haram ingredient. July 2014

    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-19-14 03:52:18
  • is pears bar soap permissible o use?? - maleeha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-19-14 03:40:00
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu, Sir.. I want to know if the following cosmetic brand Himalaya Herbals all prodict are halal or not. - silva
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-18-14 18:32:08
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Sir in india there is a soap known as santoor soap manufactured by wipro and it contains the following ingredients. SODIUM PALMATE AND SODIUM PALM KERNELATE,WATER,TALC,SORBITOL/GLYCERIN,PERFUME WITH SANDAL WOOD OIL,OLEO RESIN TURMERIC,COLOR C.I 45170,C.I 47000,C.I 12740,SODIUM CHLORIDE,ETIDRONIC ACID,CALCINED KAOLIN,SODIUM CARBONATE. I CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURER AND THEY TOLD THEY DON'T USE ANY ANIMAL DERIVATES AND THERE IS NO ALCOHOL,I ASKED IS THERE ANY ALCOHOL IN PERFUME THEY SAID IT IS PERFUME WITH SANDAL WOOD OIL AND AGAIN SAID NO THEY DONT HAVE ANY ALCOHOL. CAN WE USE THIS SOAP IS IT HALAL??? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    You can use it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-18-14 12:38:33
  • I want to know if the following cosmetic brands are halal or not. -Lakme (india) -Avon (America and Malaysia) -Maybelline -Neutregena -Clinique - Hudebia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-16-14 08:27:37
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Sir I contacted Dettol company and they told that dettol contains Isrpohyl alcohol in their soaps and handwash can we use it??? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    Then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-16-14 03:36:09
  • Please give me references from Quran and hadith,saying alcoholic perfume is Haram - Shojib Ahmed
  • AOA

    Please ask your Imam or any Islamic scholar for your question. Then why perfumes or Atar in Muslim countries are made without alcohol. It says on the label "NO ALCOHOL".

    Here is one hadith which you could find on FAQ Section  under Quran & Ahadith about subsection:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Mu�minin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden.� ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Mu�minin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)� 3678 )

    Alcohol cannot be consumed as a medicine or for the remedy of cold climate:

     

    Narrated Tariq ibn Suwayd RA or Suwayd ibn Tariq RA:

    Wa�il RA said: Tariq ibn Suwayd RA or Suwayd ibn Tariq RA asked the Prophet (peace be upon him) about wine, but he ()forbade it. He again asked him(PUBH), but he() forbade him. He RA said to him(): Prophet of Allah(), it is a medicine. The Prophet (peace be upon him) said: No it is a disease.( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28: Medicine (Kitab Al-Tibb)

    Narrated Daylam al-Himyari RA:

    I asked the Prophet (peace be upon him) and said: Apostle of Allah()! we live in a cold land in which we do heavy work and we make a liquor from wheat to get strength from if for our work and to stand the cold of our country. He()asked: Is it intoxicating I replied: Yes. He() said: You must avoid it. I said: The people will not abandon it. He() said: If they do not abandon it, fight with them.� ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26: Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

     

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-15-14 14:15:25
  • Does gentle centaphil cleanser halal for muslim user? - raihan razali
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-14-14 20:48:09
  • Aoa ... Can you please check the halal status of bath and body works products?? Bath and body works hand sanitizer contains isopropyl alcohol .... Is it denatured alcohol? Is it halal? Their body lotion has glycerin in the ingredients... Is it halal?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Isopropyl Alcohol is a Haram ingredient.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-14-14 19:45:09
  • Assalaamualaikum.. please can you tell me whether the FAIR & LOVELY CREAM of Unilever India halal. INGREDIENTS:- WATER ,PALMITIC ACID,STEARIC ACID,NIACINAMIDE,GLYCERIN,CETEARYL ETHYLHEXANOATE,ETHYLHEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE,TITANIUM DIOXIDE,CETYL ALCOHOL,DIMETHICONE,POTASSIUM HYDREOXIDE,BUTYL METHOXYDIBENZOTLMETHANE,PERFUME,SODIUM ASCORBYL PHOSPHATE,TOCOPHERYL ACETATE,METHYL PARABEN,ALLANTOIN,PHENOXYETHANOL,PROPYL PARABEN,HYDROXYSTEARIC ACID,ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE,DISODIUM EDTA,ALUMINIUM HYDROXIDE,PYRIDOXINE HCL,ARACHIDIC ACID,ISOPROPYL TITANIUM TRIISOSTEARATE ,TRIETHOXYSILYETHYL POLYDIMETHYL DIMETHICINE,ALPHA-ISOMETHYL IONONE,BENZYL ALCOHOL,BENZYL SALICYLATE,BUTYL PHENYL METYHLPROPIONAL,CINNAMYL ALCIHOL,CITRAL,CITRONELLOL,COUMARIN,GERANIOL,HEXYL CINNAMAL,LIMONENE,LINALOOL,CI 77491,CL 15510,CL 17200. JAZAKALLAH KHAIR - AABDA
  • AOA

    I have no information on it in India. You have to contact the manufacturer in India to ask whether it is made with animal dervied ingredients or not. Also is there any alcohol used in fragrance although it has no fragrance.

    The source above ingredients is known to manufacturer only no body knows about it.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-13-14 03:23:18
  • Is l'oreal paris true match liquid foundation halal and plz mention which product of l'oreal and lakme is halal - Mrs sajid
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-13-14 02:07:31
  • is lifebuoy liquid hand wash halal or no halal? - maleeha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-12-14 17:03:36
  • Is jojoba oil halal? - Aminah
  • AOA

    If it is 100% oil obtained by pressing the seeds then it is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-12-14 12:10:20
  • Assalamu Alaikum, I recently contacted Colgate on their Speed Stick Deodorant products regarding which products are free of animal derived ingredients and alcohol. I only found that there are two products that are both free of animal ingredients and alcohol. They were Lady Speed Stick Products for women, but I am in search for mens deodorants that are both alcohol and animal ingredient free. (Note: If the alcohol for the deodorants is from a halal source it is fine to use). The question I have is how do I ask the manufacturer if the other deodorants (excluding the alcohol free Lady Speed Stick Products) that are free of animal derived ingredients have alcohol in them that is from a halal source? I can see from your search section that alot of the deodorants for speed stick do not have any animal derived ingredients, but there is not much information of whether the alcohol used in manufacturing is from a halal source. Could you please adivse? JazaKallah Khair I have listed their email response below for your reference: The response was given to me on July 7, 2014. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------- In Response to your Colgate Inquiry #042801234A Colgate@speedymail.com From: Colgate-Palmolive Consumer Affairs Subject: Response to Your Email Dear Mr. Hasan: Thank you for asking for information to help you choose the Colgate products that meet your specific requirements. All Colgate toothpastes and toothbrushes that are marketed in the U.S., with the exception of Colgate Max Fresh with Mouthwash Beads and Colgate Wisp are free of any animal-derived ingredients. All glycerin used in our toothpastes comes from only synthetic or vegetable sources. Lady Speed Stick 24/7 Fresh Fusion Roll-On Antiperspirant and Lady Speed Stick Antiperspirant Clinical Proof pH Active do not contain alcohol. 2 The following Personal Care and Household Surface Care products are also free of animal-derived ingredients: PERSONAL CARE PRODUCTS Speed Stick Gel and Lady Speed Stick Gels and Teen Spirit Antiperspirant Sticks Lady Speed Stick 24/7 Antiperspirant Sticks Lady Speed Stick Antiperspirant Soothing with Aloe Stick Speed Stick 24/7 Antiperspirant Sticks Speed Stick Pro Antiperspirant Sticks and Gels Afta After Shave Skin Conditioner Afta Pre-Electric Shave Lotion Softsoap Brand Foam Works Liquid Hand Soap- All variants Softsoap Brand Liquid Hand Soaps except - Shea Butter, Pomegranate & Mango, Kitchen Fresh Hands, Nutra Oil, Moisturizing Aloe, and Milk & Honey, Sunburst Berry, Cherry Blossom, AB with Light Moisturizers, Black Orchid and Lavender & Chamomile Softsoap Brand Body Wash except - Pomegranate & Mango, Honey Suckle & Orange Peel, Shea Butter, Serums Restoring, Serums Replenishing, Serums Illuminating, and Body Butter Heavenly Vanilla, Softsoap Brand Body Wash for Men except - Ocean Fresh Irish Spring Brand Body Wash except - Irish Spring Hair & Body HOUSEHOLD PRODUCTS Ajax Cleanser with Bleach Murphy Oil Soap – All variants Palmolive, Ajax, Dermassage Dish Liquids – All variants Palmolive Eco+ Gel Machine Dishwasher Detergent – All variants Please keep in mind that all of the products mentioned here are free of animal-derived ingredients as of the date of this letter. Because Colgate’s sourcing of ingredients and/or ingredients themselves may be subject to change, however, we encourage you to contact us again if you have concerns at some future time. If you have questions about any Colgate product, call our Consumer Affairs Department toll free at 1-800-221-4607 or go to www.colgate.com. Sincerely, Jessica L Halpin Consumer Affairs Representative Consumer Affairs AFJLH1NA/cl 042801234A - Syed Hasan
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-12-14 08:51:55
  • is dove soap bar permissible to use? - maleeha
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-11-14 11:57:22
  • is dove oap bar permissible to use? - maleeha
  • AOA

    NO.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-11-14 04:54:09
  • Are there any halal antidandruff shampoos avaiable in us? - najia siddiqui
  • AOA

    Please search it on our website.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-11-14 01:10:39
  • Assalam alaikum...is colgate flax mouthwash halal? on the bottle it says alcohol free but contains glycerine and does have the green dot. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it is in India then I do not know.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-10-14 05:44:10
  • can muslims use skincare products that has red wine in it? for example,the holika holika red wine anti wrinkle sleeping mask - noor
  • AOA

    Sknner with Red wine is Haram because red wine or any wine is Haram. This is basic Islamic knowledge.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-09-14 19:15:36
  • Assalam u alykum. My name is Taranum and I am from India.I would like to ask regarding the ingredients of my deospray which I use and I really like its fragnance. Its Nike deospray and the bottle is slim and blue in color.Please suggest me whether its haraam or halaal. JazakAllah khair - Taranum Iqbal
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-08-14 17:06:14
  • Ass. wr. wb, kindly inform is Alpha Lipoc Acid from GNC halal. Thank you for your help. Wss. wr. wb Riyono - Riyono
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-07-14 20:17:02
  • body shop product is halal or haram? any halal body lotion product that you could recomond. please do. thank you so much :) - NNS
  • AOA

    Please this question on Ask Question.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-07-14 08:08:57
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Sir,is garnier men oil clear halaal It has the following ingredients:WATER GLYCERIN MYRISTIC ACID PALMITIC ACID POTTASIUN HYDROXIDE STEARIC ACID LAURIC ACID BUTYLENE GLYCOL SORBITOL GLYCERYL STEARATE SE KAOLIN FRAGRANCE CI77266/BLACK 2 LEMON FRUIT EXTRACT MENTHOL TETRASODIUM EDTA(F.I.L B36786/1) AND ARE ALL GARNIER PRODUCTS HALAAL IF NOT SUGGEST SOME HALAAL PRODUCTS JAZAKALLAH - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-07-14 02:50:34
  • what are the soaps, toothpaste and other beauty products are haram please give their brand names...thank u - abdul mannan
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-06-14 17:50:40
  • Are these ingredients HALAL?Active Ingredient: Octinoxate 7.5% Inactive ingredients: Diisopropyl Dimer Dilinoleate Lanolin DI-PPG-3 Myristyl Ether Adipate Tridecyl Trimellitate Synthetic Wax Polybutene Stearyl/PPG-3 Myristyl Ether Dimer Dilinoleate Silica Microcrystalline Wax/Cire Microcristalline Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil Diphenyl Dimethicone Phenyl Trimethicone Ozokerite Dilauryl Thiodipropionate Petrolatum Glycerin Lauryl PCA Nylon-12 Phytol Tocopheryl Acetate Caprylyl Glycol Disteardimonium Hectorite Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer Triethyl Citrate Acrylates Copolymer Parfum/ Fragrance Ascorbic Acid Acrylates/Carbamate Copolymer Palmitic Acid C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate Water/Eau Dimethicone Collagen Tribehenin Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer Saccharin Rubus Chamaemorus Seed Oil Ceramide 2 PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter Silica Dimethyl Silylate Beeswax/Cire D\'Abeille, - Syed
  • AOA

    Please ask manufacturer whether the above ingredients are obtained from animal by product or plant by product and is there any alcohol used in extract because the company is only one who knows the source of above ingredients.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-06-14 09:43:41
  • I want to investigate AVON cosmetics products, Is that Halal?Avon company offers many range of cosmetics, in which i heard about Avon lipsticks , that its not halal? please guide me. JAzakAllah . - Syed
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: avon

    Total results generated: 1
    Category Name Brand Description
    Cosmetic Makeup Products Avon Some products are made with pork fat and some products are Kosher(December 2010). They will not Halal if Carmine Red Color is used.

    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-06-14 09:40:30
  • Dalan D'OLIVE PRODUCT FROM TURKEY IS IT HALAL? - Nur faizah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-03-14 15:34:17
  • can we use pig fat in dove soap and pears - sheeja hassan mohammed
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-03-14 11:28:38
  • Is is halal to wear cosmetics containing urea? - Leilah Nalule
  • AOA

    Urea used in cosmetic products do not obtained from human urea but from mineral or synthetic sources.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-02-14 00:22:20
  • Assalamualikum. When looking at the ingredients of personal care items/cosmetics that do not contain any animal by-products, what alcohols or specific ingredients should we look for to indicate that the product cannot be used. For example, when looking to see if alcohol is used in a product, should we look for the word "alcohol" to be used in the ingredient list or are there other ingredients that may contain alcohol or that may be haram in a product that does not contain animal by-products. Jazak'Allah - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Alcohol is hinden ingredient of fragrance. You also find these products too:

    What are Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol, Lauryl and Oleyl Alcohol used in Personal Care Products. Are they Halal:

    All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. If any personal care company says that no animal derived ingredients are used in their products containing above alcohols it means they are obtained from vegetable fat.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-01-14 20:32:12
  • is the Avon makeup sold in UAE halal ?? Body shop outlets in middle east are halal ? - Aysha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    07-01-14 14:30:48
  • AOA. I cannot find L\'Oreal shampoos & conditioners in the Non-Food Products table. Do you have any information on this brand? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-29-14 12:05:39
  • Asak , please tell me know if eltroxin by glaxosmith (india)is halal / haram. . U must be knowing how imp this medicine is for a hypothyroidism patient. Pls let me know. Pls.jazak Allah khayr. - khashia
  • AOA

    I did not research it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-27-14 15:15:49
  • Assalam Aleikum WW. Please inform if the Aquafresh tooth brush bristles are not from pork. And if so iOS it fine to brush with it as long we don't consume it? - Mohamed Salim
  • AOA

    Toothbrush Reach Toothbrushes Reach According to Johnson & Johnson bristles of Reach toothbrushes are made with Nylon so there toothbrushes are Halal. November 2013

    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-27-14 09:03:55
  • Dettol product is halal or not? - rahana
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-26-14 19:27:13
  • Salam alaykum I wanted to now is if possible for nair company the removal hair is halal or haram please let me know salam alaykum - umuhafsa
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-26-14 15:50:21
  • recently we heard that companies who make paper products and skylo foam products such as plates and cups they use was which contain animal/pork by product. is this true if yes which companies we should stop using - Zakaria Billoo
  • AOA

    Yes, paper plates and foam cups. Please search for Halal one.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-26-14 12:57:51
  • I bought L' oreal shampoo which contain BENZYL ALCOHOL is it halaal to use or not pls reply me as soon as posible - Mohammed sohail
  • AOA

    Benzyl alcohol is Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-25-14 23:28:09
  • Are ORIGIN brand moisturizer halal? - Rupa
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-25-14 16:56:19
  • Assalam Alaykom I hope this message finds you well, Kindly advise on whether GNC' s Thermo CLA (Conjugated linoleic acid) is halal to use as a dietary supplement and whether the containing capsules of the product are halal or grass gelatin. Thanking you immensely for your kind support Kind regards Mazen - Mazen Al Hariri
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-24-14 21:36:03
  • I just spoke to Body shop and they seems to confirm that no animal ingredients in their products, which sort of contradicts with what is listed in your website. Do I need to rephrase my question to Body shop then? - Syed Arshad
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: body shop

    Total results generated: 2
    Alert Title Description Date
    MCG requests our sisters not use The Body Shop Cosmetic products

    MCG has contacted the Body Shop Company on August 30, 2013 and asked about reference number 63461 a e-mail received from The Body Shop by our sister Mrs. Ajmal and send to MCG (the e-mail is listed below). Beside her, other sisters also requested to inquire about the Halal status of The Body Shop cosmetic.

    Recently MCG received a request from The Body Shop to change the status of The Body Shop cosmetic from Non Halal to Halal.

    MCG did further investigation and asked The Body Shop whey their employee Milan Zivkovic wrote in reference number 63461 that they use gelatin. The company told MCG on August 30, 2013 that she wrote it wrong and she no longer with the company and said their company is supplying some vegetarian products since 2008. They use some non vegetarian ingredients such as beeswax, Honey, Silk and Cholesterol (which could be from milk or animal fat). The customer service is based in Slovenia in Europe.

    There is written contradiction of their claim that some of their products are made with gelatin which could be from pork or beef.

    So MCG requests our sisters not use The Body Shop Cosmetic products.

     

    From: Web Order <Order@thebodyshop.com>
    Date: Wed, Mar 6, 2013 at 4:26 PM
    Subject: The Body Shop; Ref: 63461
    To: A. Ajmal <a.ajm@>

    Dear Ms. Ajmal,

     Thank you for contacting The Body Shop online team.

     The Body Shop® is not a vegetarian or vegan company; however the vast majority of our products contain no animal derived ingredients.  We aim to avoid the use of animal-derived ingredients wherever possible and specify non-animal ingredients whenever there is a choice.  All our soaps, for example, use a vegetable base rather than the commonly used animal-fat base.  Gelatin, beeswax, honey, milk, shellac and lanolin are the only product ingredients knowingly used by The Body Shop® which do not comply with the most current definition of Vegan.  Where synthetic forms or derivatives of these materials are available, such as lactic acid, these are always specified for our formulations.  We do not use the ingredient "carmine" in our product formulations.  

    With utmost certainty we can tell you that the Raspberry Born Lippy balm is 100% vegan product.

     Should you need further assistance with this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us.  Thank you once again for contacting The Body Shop.  I hope you find the level of service provided to you via this correspondence satisfactory.  If you are not satisfied or need immediate assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Care Center at:  1-800-263-9746.

     Kindest regards,

     Milan Zivkovic

    Customer Support Representative - The Body Shop Customer Support | Americas

    weborder@thebodyshop.com

     

    08/31/13
    The Body Shop Cosmetic products are not recommended for Muslims

    A sist has provided a e-mail to MCG from The Body Shop Company (reference Number 63461) where company claimed to use gelatin either from pork or non zabiha beef, Shellac which might be dissolved in alcohol. The Body Shop products are not recommended to be use by Muslims.

    03/17/13


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-24-14 14:17:48
  • is spearmint natural and artificial flavor ice breakers sugar free mints halal? (it comes in green round box,they are like tablets) - Madiha
  • AOA

    The Green Dot is for non meat or vegetarian product but it does not prohibit alcohol in flavor because many vegetarian drink alcohol. This product is Halal only if no alcohol used in flavor.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-24-14 07:15:24
  • Hi often when I shop for shoes a lot of them are made from leather. I always ask which type of leather before but still feel put off to purchase because I'm just not sure if it is ok or not... I'm really hoping you can help me with the answer..:) I saw some shoes that say there made from 100% Bovine leather which I believe is from a cow. Is it haram to wear this or not? Kind regards Dina - Dina
  • AOA

    You can wear shows made with cow leather.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-23-14 13:09:15
  • Assalaamualikum. I see on your cosmetics information page that for some brands such as Revlon you have written "All makeup products except Nail Polish Remover are free from animal derived ingredients.( 2010), look for cochineal, if there then not Halal" Does this mean that if no cochineal is used, then the product is Halaal? Jazak'Allah Khair - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    There are no carmine red color and no alcohol in fragrance then you can use it according to Revlon but this information has to be verified in 2014.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-22-14 11:13:24
  • have information on Artistry cosmetic products? I want to know if they contain any haram ingredients, especially their foundation. - Jeeshan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-21-14 19:53:04
  • I have been using this cream for my face and it helped me and then there were chained messages forwarded saying that this arche pearl cream from Thailand is listed under non halal as it contains pork free. I doubted it cause why would they put pork fat in a facial cream? But still I need assurance but I couldnt find the validity of this source so I was wondering if you could help me out? - Syafira Amiera
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-20-14 21:20:32
  • Are avon brand lipsticks , mascaras , Eyeliners & creams Halal ? - Sara
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-20-14 05:57:28
  • Asalam o alikum ! alcohol denate,Benzyl alcohol,Cetyl Alcohol and Ethyl Alcohol used in several cosmetic is these haraam or halal ? - fayyaz
  • AOA

    It is OK to use alcohol denatured and Benzyle alcohol containing cosmetic but ethyl alcohol containing cosmetic are Haram. Cetyl Alcohol is:

    What are Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol, Lauryl and Oleyl Alcohol used in Personal Care Products. Are they Halal:

    All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. If any personal care company says that no animal derived ingredients are used in their products containing above alcohols it means they are obtained from vegetable fat.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-19-14 12:19:28
  • Vitamin D need to my bones and body I bought from pharmacy but contain gelatin I found on amazon but expensive I am looking for vitamin D not contain gelatin please help me thanks a lot - ebtisam
  • AOA

    halal Natural Vitamin D 3 1000 IU Vitamins Solgar Available at Vitamin Shoppe Stores 09-08-13

    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-18-14 09:58:26
  • Salam Aleikum Is hydroxyethylcellulose in beautyproducts halal? I know that ethanol alohol is haram, but are they the same? - amina zulfikari
  • AOA

    Hydroxyethylcellulose is a Halal ingredient.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-18-14 04:06:30
  • Does glycerin in nivea cream is halal to be used? - wan rosni wan salleh
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: nivea

    Total results generated: 1
    Alert Title Description Date
    Nivea products are Mushbooh

    New information is provided by a sister from Nivea company:

    I have the following information for you sent to me by Nivea in regards to animal derived ingredients.

    Ingredients used in the NIVEA range are, wherever possible, from non-animal sources such as vegetable based Glycerin.

    However there are specific materials where an effective alternative is not readily available.

    Please find these ingredients listed below:

    1. Lanolin, Lanolin Oil, Lanolin Alcohol, Glyceryl Lanolate, Cholesterol, Cholesteryl Oleyl Carbonate, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride - derived from Woolwax (from sheep wool).

    2. Sodium Tallowate - derived from Tallow (from cattle).

    3. PEG-8 Beeswax, Cera Alba (Wax), Mel (Honey) - derived from Wax or honey (from bees).

    4. Carboxymethyl Chitin, Ostrea/Oyster shell extract (from crustaceans).

    5. Hydrolyzed Silk, Silk Powder - derived from Silk (from silk worms).

    6. Hydrolyzed Milk Protein, Sine Adipe Lac, Casein, Yoghurt Powder, Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl, Lactoglobulin Sulfonate - derived from Milk (from cattle).

    7. Carmine/CI 75470 (colour) - derived from Cochineal (from beetles).

    8. Hydrolyzed Keratin - derived from Keratin (from cashmere goat or sheep wool).

    9. Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein (fresh water pearls). We do not use any egg based ingredients in our products. As formulations do change from time to time, we would recommend that you check the ingredients listing on the product that you wish to use for the ingredients listed above, prior to use. -

    Sent to MCG by a sister on 01-06-14 05:59:59

    MCG response:

    Ingredients from Beewax, Sheep Wool, from silk are Halal.

    Red color from Cochineal or Carmine is Haram because all insects are Haram in Islam excpet locust.

    Ingredients from non zabiha beef are not Halal.

    All dairy based ingredients are Halal only if they are Halal or kosher certified.

    Please avoid all those Nivea products if they are made from above ingredients.

    01/07/14

    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-16-14 16:59:15
  • i wanted to ask about boots simply sensitive products are halal or haram? - miss
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-16-14 04:49:33
  • is multivitamin centrum siver is halal - rehan
  • AOA

    From Alert:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-15-14 11:02:56
  • Assalamu alaikum, what islam says about non food haramproducts to use for muslims? Some fatwa says if soap or cleaner contains animal fat or alcohol , are allowed to use, as we rinse out them.and here's no problem..what's the truth? Can u show prove against that from saheeh hadith? I'm really confused. Is lux soap, dove beauty bar soap halal? Jazakumullah khayr. - Ahliya walid
  • AOA

    I am not a mufti but a food scientist, I know we have porous wholes in our body where any liquid can into eat. I have disccused it in FIqah and Science about bar soap. Please contact a well educated Mufti saheb.

    Bar Soap

    PHYSICAL AND CHEMICAL CHANGES (TABDEELE MAHIYA) DURING THE PROCESSING OF PORK GELATIN AND BAR SOAPS MADE FROM PIG FAT

    There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwa?s (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

    There is no doubt about the following physical and chemical changes or Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw material to Halal products. This includes production of vinegar from alcohol, falling of pig in a salt mine and becoming part of salt mine, bone char, tanning of dead animal skin. These Tabdeele Mahiya cases are acceptable to majority of Islamic scholars.

    But few things such as vinegar from wine, pig gelatin, bar soaps made with pork fat are not acceptable according to scientific facts and opinions of several Islamic scholars. Since some of the fatwa?s are issued 50-60 years back, it seems that no assistance from Muslim scientists was used to check it out scientifically.

    Requirements for Tabdeele mahiya are (1) complete change from originality to new things which are not present in the original material (2) change in the name (3) Complete conversion of basic components of a raw material to a complete new product containing new components and several others. The common understanding about change in the original status is that it should not contain original components. Some Islamic scholars do not pay attention to this fact and consider that any chemical changes or reactions result in a new composition, which is not true. Let us discuss this in detail:

    Bar soap from Pig fat and other fat based ingredients:

    Bar soaps are made from animal fat or vegetable oils or their fatty acids by reacting them with inorganic water-soluble alkali salt or bases. The source of fat is mutton or beef tallow or pork fat but glycerin is also added besides stearic acid (fat based).

    The animal fat or vegetable oil is made of distinctive mixture of several different triglycerides. A triglyceride molecule consists of one molecule of glycerin to which three fatty acid molecules are attached, and these fatty acids are specific to different type of triglycerides. Fatty acids are the basic components of any fat. During manufacturing of bar soaps, fats or oil are heated with liquid alkali, such as sodium hydroxide or caustic soda or potassium hydroxide or caustic potash to yield neat soap, water and glycerin. This process is known as saponification of fat or oil. During this process, the basic components fatty acids are transferred without change in its composition from triglyceride to alkali making neat soap (combination of alkali and fatty acid). Neutralization with alkali is also used to produce neat soap. The neat soap is dried and made into pellets, then glycerin and other ingredients are added, and then mixture is extruded to make bar soaps. If the bar soap is made from pork fat then nothing happens to its basic components fatty acids, it remains as it is, same as in pork fat. So bar soap manufacturing process is not the example of Tabdeele Mahiya. The emulsifiers and mono and diglycerides also fall under this category.

    On the other hand in manufacturing of distilled white vinegar, dilute ethyl alcohol is converted to acetic acid, water, and a very minute amount of unconverted dilute ethyl alcohol. Tabdeele Maheyia applies here in the case of dilute ethyl alcohol, which is converted to new material acetic acid and water by acetobacter bacteria. The name is changed from dilute ethyl alcohol to vinegar. Distilled white vinegar is Halal but raw material ethyl alcohol is not Halal.

    In the case of wine vinegar, the table wine contains 12.2% ethyl alcohol by volume or 9.9% by weight, 85% water, 4% carbohydrate, 0.1% protein and volatile wine flavoring compounds. In wine, only alcohol is subjected for change by acetobacter bacteria to acetic acid and water. So wine vinegar contains acetic acid, water and rest of the above thing, unconverted small amount of wine and wine flavors which are the result of wine making. Imam Shaafi RA does not consider it as Halal. Presence of unconverted wine, wine flavoring compounds are the scientific basis for its not being consider as Halal.

    Liquid raw materials are best suitable for Tabdeele Mahiya compare to solids. So it is very important to use scientific facts in deciding the Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw materials for the processing of food products, food ingredients and personal care items.


     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-14-14 14:21:44
  • Assalamu alaikum, what islam says about non food haramproducts to use for muslims? Some fatwa says if soap or cleaner contains animal fat or alcohol , are allowed to use, as we rinse out them.and here's no problem..what's the truth? Can u show prove against that from saheeh hadith? I'm really confused. Is lux soap, dove beauty bar soap halal? Jazakumullah khayr. - Ahliya walid
  • AOA

    Dove, Lux bar saop are not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-14-14 14:10:30
  • i found a face wash online, its name includes "wine face wash." However after searching the internet i found that it contains grape extract 1.oo% in its key ingredients and there is a note on it which says "This Product does not contain any alcohol or Liquor based product." Please tell me whether its hala or haram. - ashkar
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because they grape they use after fermentation make wine.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-14-14 12:01:12
  • Assalamu'alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh, I would like to ask you for the halal/haram of the following list (shampoo product from ADA GmbH Germany www.ada-cosmetics.com): R3880: Aqua (Water) sodium laureth sulfate cocamidopropyl betaine sodium chloride polyquaternium-7 propylene glycol citric acid parfum (fragrance) benzyl alcohol methylchloroisothiazolinone methylisothiazolinone CI 15985 (FD&C Yellow No. 6) CI 47005 (D&C Yellow No. 10) I am looking forward to hearing soon from you. Thank you very much. Wassalamu'alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh. - Dessy Berlianty
  • AOA

    I can not answer the German made product because only the German manufacturer knows the source of above ingredients.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-14-14 11:53:15
  • AssalamoAlaykum, i want to know about NATROL Biotin 10,000mcg is halal or haram?jazakAllah khair - fakhra
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-12-14 18:24:14
  • Please let me know whether garnier face wash is halal - Arham
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-11-14 23:54:58
  • Asalamoalicom, Before i could buy the Essie,Joe,sally Hansen,Revlon,or and covergirl nail polish i would like to know if these nail polish or their company is halal or haram. Jazakallah - Saadia Nadeem
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-11-14 15:25:47
  • i have a lipstick that has an ingredient ethyl hexyl palmitate, i have been researching what this is but i still cant find out is it halal or haram. so is this ingredient halal or haram? - sanjidah
  • AOA

    It is a fat based ingredient and source is only known to the manufacturer so please contact them.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-11-14 04:24:00
  • Bismillahirrahmanirrahim Assalamu alaikum Is the carrageenan in the Colgate toothpastes Halal? JazakAllahu khair! - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is a mushbooh ingredient.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-10-14 08:44:54
  • are the following ingredients halal ,acrylates cetearyl alcohol, propylparaban - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    You have to contact the manufacturer because they are the only one who know the source of those ingredients except propylparaban which is a Halal ingredient.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-10-14 06:04:16
  • Salaam I would like to know if the following ingredients are halaal or haram. All the products are from Superdrugs own brand called B = PHENOXYETHYNOL = B. Gel Eye Liner & B. SOFT Kohl CHLORPHENESIN & PROPANEDIOL found in B. Dramatic Bold Eye Liquid Eye Liner I did my own reseach on the net but i coul'nt find a straight answer. I asked Superdrug & they said all of their B. brand make up is free from animal ingredients but may contain some alcohols. w.salaam - sumiya
  • AOA

    Only manufacturer know the source of ingredients and ask any of them made with animal by product.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-07-14 14:11:29
  • is the perfume romance of ralph lauren halal? - eman tariq
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-07-14 04:37:15
  • is the secrets antiperspirant safe to use, Halal? - asha ali
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-06-14 09:10:37
  • Can u recommend any place or website from where I can get halal essential oils or perfumes please ? - Aiman
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-05-14 14:59:49
  • Can you tell me if the "Beano" food enzyme dietary supplement is halal? Listed ingredients are Alpha-galactosidase enzyme 300 GALU(derived from Aspergillus niger) Cellulose gel, mannitol, invertase, potato starch, magnesium stearate, colloidal silica, gelatin. I don't know what kind of gelatin it is made from but asked www.beanogas.com and will see if they respond. But if its a halal gelatin like fish or vegetable would all else be halal? Also says it contains: cod, flounder, redfish and wheat - Yaseen
  • AOA

    It is not a Halal product.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-04-14 16:12:21
  • Is osteoeze gold halaal? - shireen
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-03-14 12:22:38
  • Body sprays containing mostly the alcoholic ingredients. Some people say that the alcohol in pure form is harram and in other forms like used in sprays or other such forms is not prohibited. Is it true .If not then what type of body sprays we can use? - Iqbal Ahmad Kuchai
  • AOA

    It is Haram.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-03-14 03:23:53
  • I would like to ask, is Pearl Drop toothpaste product Halal? - Farah
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-03-14 02:12:21
  • is cinnamyl alchol halal? - aamir
  • AOA

    We so much many money to make this website easy for Muslims but they do not research Q &A search or product or brand search which is already their on page:

    Search results for the term: cinnamyl alcohol

    • I asked if cinnamyl alcohol is halal I got the response yes which I am grateful for the quik response someone asked me why they need a reason I woild most appreciate if you could tell me the reason too like what is in it that makes it ok jazakallah -[Anonymous user]
    • AOA

      It is organic compound and has no ethyl alcohol in it. It is obtained in esterified for from many plant sources such as storax or balsum Peru and cinnamon leaves.

      It is obtained by hydrolysis with Halal acids. This is the reason it is Halal.


      Category: Ingredients
      03-11-14 14:14:15

    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-02-14 21:45:37
  • First is Dial hand soap is halal. And what is it Peg-18 Glycerly Oleate ingredient. Please email me if you have any answer halal or harm so that I know.THANK VTRY MUCH - ubax
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-02-14 20:02:44
  • fluticasone propionate nasal spray halal or not? - Intikhab Zafar
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-02-14 18:32:43
  • what about the whitener used on white clothes after wash, its HALAL/HARAM status bothers because it remains on clothes. - shah Faisal
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-02-14 08:25:26
  • Is Botanics 100% Organic Rose Water Toner containing the following ingredients halal? Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Alcohol denat.*, Glycerin*, Rosa damascena flower oil*, Citronellol* * Ingredients certified as organic by the Soil Association for use in cosmetic products - Yfatima
  • AOA

    Glycerin could be from pork since it does not have kosher symbol. Organic does not mean Halal. There is no label suitable for vegetarian so I would recommend it unless you find source of glycerin from manufacturer.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    06-01-14 10:33:42
  • Is colgate sensitive pro relief mouthwash is halal? - Usman
  • AOA

    Please check our Non Food section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-30-14 21:12:15
  • I live in edmonton canada 1- is wonder bread halal in edmonton canada? 2- pantene & head& shoulder shampoo is it halal or not? 3- frooti mango juice tetra packs? 4- cheese pleesers(puffed) from old dutch made in calgary ? 5- amway products like persona soap , santique shampoo etc? 6- pedia sure complete from abbott And what does it mean (mk-501) in triangular shape - Shaista
  • AOA

    You have to visit our website www.canadianhalalfoods.com for Canadian Muslims. But all reserach was done in Toronto where most Muslims live. Wonder bread is Halal and I have no information other products available in Edmonton, Canada.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-30-14 13:32:36
  • gelatine in shower gel..? as a muslim is it possible for us to use it... - nazmeen zafirah
  • AOA

    No, I will not advise you to use it because gelatin could be from pork.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-30-14 00:18:09
  • are sebamed face cleaning products halal? - pedro barbeito
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-29-14 20:43:13
  • Assalamualikum Please verify if this hair product is halal. I know most of the hair products are not vegan and alcohol free, and after very long search I found 100% vegan hair products and this is one of them. I am not sure about the alcohol in the list. Can you please read the list and let me know. Abba thermal hair sprayIngredients- Alcohol Denat., Aqua (Water) (Eau), Polyquaternium-11, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Panthenol, PEG-2 Oleammonium Chloride, PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Propylene Glycol, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Hydrolyzed Barley Protein, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Benzophenone-3, Parfum (Fragrance), Citronellol, Eugenol. And styling gel:Ingredients- Aqua (Water) (Eau), Acrylates Copolymer, Triethanolamine, C11-15 Pareth-12, PEG-12 Dimethicone, PEG/PPG-17/18 Dimethicone, Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Mica, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Panthenol, Hydrolyzed Barley Protein, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Parfum (Fragrance), Benzyl Benzoate, Geraniol, Linalool, Phenoxyethanol, Methylisothiazolinone, CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide) Jazakllah for your effort. - sumaiya
  • AOA

    Alcohol Denatured is ok but there is a possiblity of using alcohol as a solvent in Parum (Fragrance) so you have to contact the company.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-28-14 20:44:45
  • is it all schwarzkopf shampoo for men (anti dandruff) is free from non halal ingredients? please answer asap - servant of Allah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-28-14 05:31:06
  • I want a suggestion that if possible there should be a link to share with people on facebook. It will help loads of people - shazia
  • AOA

    Muslim Consumer Group is on facebook. Thanks for your suggestion.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-27-14 14:49:48
  • Multivitamins like Centrum and Hair, skin and nails are frequently used. I am a doctor and frequently recommend these to my patients. Kindly share your knowledge on this - Quratulain Shaikh
  • AOA

    None of major brand of vitamins even store brand vitamins are not Halal. The vitamins are Halal only if they kosher certified and meet the Halal requirements. It is not say all kosher certified vitamins are Halal. The main concern in on the counter vitamins is the use of gelatin mostly from pork including capsule from pork gelatin. The second concern is the use of Haram hidden ingredients in on the counter viatmins. Kosher certification of Vitamins protect Muslims from hidden Haram ingredients.

    Not all kosher certified viatmins are Halal because some use plant or seed extract where alcohol is a extracting solvent, Some contain naturaflavor specially for children kosher vitamins where alcohol is used as a solvent.

    It requires thorough research to analyze the kosher certified vitamins to see whether they meet MCG Halal requirements.

    None of the Halal certified vitamins were successful due to use of extract containing alcohol, alcoholic fermented ingredients and alcohol containing flavor. The  Halal certifying organization do not pay attension to alcohol; so we never recommend any Halal certified viatmins because they did not meet our Halal criteria.

    From our Alert section:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-27-14 10:10:10
  • I WANT TO KNOW IF SK-II COSMETICS IS HALAL AND SAVE TO USE - FAIZAH BT EMBONG
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-27-14 02:05:09
  • is gelatin used in cap. Polybion Z available in Pakistan halal - syedafzalhassan
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-27-14 01:27:34
  • what himalaya kosmetik herbal from india is halal? thanks - lailiiyatus
  • AOA

    I have no information because it is not available in USA.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-26-14 05:27:36
  • Is fair&lovely cream halal or haram? - ejaz
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-26-14 04:19:08
  • Forever products 1. Aloe Vera Gel 2. Forever Garcina Plus Please advise this above product is halal? Appreciate your assistance Thanks Afsar khan +971 50 481 4383 - Afsar khan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    05-25-14 07:53:58