USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 3,649 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,309 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,698 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,127 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,193 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 58 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,477 ]

Recent Questions:

  • I am a dr..There are some herbal very good medicines which during producton process alcohol is used . Actual tablet not mention content of alcohol.can I prescribe? - dr.babu harafan
  • AOA

    No, because as soon as alcohol touches Halal ingredients then they will lose their halal status it is according to our ulema.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-07-14 19:55:53
  • What brands are halal in hand soaps? - Esra
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-07-14 14:17:42
  • Is non-alcoholic nyquil halal? http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=372601&catid=184155 - Zaid
  • AOA

    If there are no animal derived ingredients used then you can use it so please them back.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-03-14 23:13:25
  • Are all prell shampoo halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Shampoo Prell Classic, Gentle Care Shampoos Prell No animal by-product and no alcohol in fragrance. Refrence Number 63685. Feb 21, 2013

    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-03-14 04:48:38
  • Are omega-3 capsules from Nordic natural/ Solgar halal or not as i gave them to my parents who are diabetic/also CAD patient, if they are not right,then kindly suggest a halal brand? - shaguftah
  • AOA

    Sogar Omega 3 capsule are not Halal because they are not kosher certified.and I do not know Nordic.

    Search results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 7
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Omega-3 Gold 120 Softgels (Fish Gelatin) Fish oil Nutri Supreme Available at Nutri Supreme by calling 1-888-686-8874. 02-17-14
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 100 MaxiGels Fish Oil Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Omega-3 Concentrate Fish Oil EPA/DHA 180 MaxiGels Fish Oil Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Zahlers Kosher Advanced Omega-3 Platinum Fish Oil Highest EPA/DHA (Premium Grade) Softgel Fish Oil Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Maxi Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 100 Vegicaps Fish Oil Maxi Health Obtain by calling 1-800-645-1899. 10-16-10
    halal Maxi Omega 3 Fish Oil Prenatal Partner EPA/DHA Formula 60 Maxicaps Fish Oil Maxi Health Can be obtained by calling 1-800-645-1899. 10-16-10

    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-02-14 21:30:41
  • Can cinnamon sticks be haram? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    100% cinnamon sticks are Halal because it is a plant product and also it is plant spice.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-02-14 17:17:30
  • if your mother tells you to use something haram do you have to use it - mayowa
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-02-14 09:49:30
  • assalamualikum. I'm muthia from Indonesia. garnier, what is halal? there is no carmine on the packaging but it uses cetyl alcohol. garnier is halal? thanks before. wassalam - muthia fitriani
  • AOA

    I have no information on products available in Indonesia. Please ask Majlis Ulema of Indonesia.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    03-02-14 04:01:23
  • Is (prell classic clean shampoo for all hair types)halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-26-14 19:09:16
  • Are all prell shampoos halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-26-14 19:07:37
  • Assalamo alaikum There are many vitamins on the market. What brands are halal for Muslims? 2) Is the Nature's Bounty Brand halal? if no what specific ingredients or which particular products are not halal? Jazakallah - Safiyya
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-26-14 15:02:02
  • Can you please, tell whether Gelatin being used, in GNC products, specially in liver health formula is vegitable based or some other source - waseem ilyas
  • AOA

    Only three product are Halal at GNC:

    Search results for the term: GNC

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Vitamin B-12, Big 150, Vitamin B-1, Choline Vitamins GNC Only three Halal with Kosher Sysmbol KO on back of the bottle. 03-23-13

     

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-26-14 01:16:19
  • Salaam, i am from the uk i would like know are the kleenex original tissue halal to use? - Ali
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-25-14 09:39:45
  • Is the ethanol alcohol from the organic Sugar cane plant halaal for personal care products - Ashura Mahdiyyah
  • AOA

    Ethanol from any source is Haram according to MCG criteria.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-25-14 06:07:30
  • I downloaded the app from app store 2 konts back and it shuts down roght after openin. On cantacting you earlier. You asked me to contvt itunes. The following is reply from apple. Hope you could help me resolve this. " My name is Daisy and I'll be your iTunes Advisor assisting you today as Sarah is currently out of the office. I'm sorry to hear that you're still having content issues with the App "Halal Food" that you recently purchased from the Store. I know that you must be looking forward to resolving this the soonest possible time so let me find ways to help you with this. Saad m, I'm pleased to inform you that I have now issued a refund for this purchase. In five to seven business days, a credit of 2.16 USD should be posted to the credit card that appears on the receipt for that purchase. Please note that Hussain Presswala is still the best source for information about this App. You may get in touch with them at: http://muslimconsumergroup.com Important: Mention of third-party websites and products is for informational purposes only and constitutes neither an endorsement nor a recommendation. Apple assumes no responsibility with regard to the selection, performance, or use of information or products found at third-party websites. Apple provides this only as a convenience to our users. Apple has not tested the information found on these sites and makes no representations regarding its accuracy or reliability. There are risks inherent in the use of any information or products found on the Internet, and Apple assumes no responsibility in this regard. Please understand that a third-party site is independent from Apple and that Apple has no control over the content on that website. I hope everything goes well from here. Do let me know if you have further questions or concerns and I'd be happy to assist you further. Sincerely, Daisy iTunes Store Customer Support http://www.apple.com/support/itunes Please note: I work M-F 9 pm to 6 am CST Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to assist you. " - Rida
  • AOA

    Thanks for sending the Itune reply. I am sorry about your unability to use the app. I am not a computer engineer. Halal Food App was developed by somebody else through our website technical person br. Hussain Presswalla of LB Web Manangement Inc. MCG paid him $ 3500 to developing this Halal Food App. So far only 100 Muslims down loaded this app in one and half month. Out of 100 app sale we received only 3 complaints that Halal food app is not working on their Apple cell phones.

    You are getting money back, I am sorry that you can not use Halal Food on your Apple cell phone. I can not help you further because I am not a computer engineer or web developer but a food scientist. I feel sorry that three Muslims can not use Halal Food App but I can not help.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-25-14 05:23:36
  • Mary key cream is halal? - Star
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-24-14 19:25:09
  • Since washing powder contains fatty acids from the bone fat of pig, is washing powder haram? Also is paper haram - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Major brand of cloth washing powders or liquids has kosher symbol on them which means no animal derived ingredients. I do not know about paper.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-23-14 13:49:34
  • whch colgate toothpastes are halal? and is colgate max white crystal mint with whitening strips toothpaste halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-23-14 13:21:12
  • Hi, First thank you for your website and your efforts to keep it up to date. I couldn't find any information about vaccine ingredients in your website. If you could add some information about sources which are used to made vaccines it will be very useful for many muslim brothers/sisters. After a quick research on the net I found that some vaccines are made from vero (monkey kidney) cell culture or human diploid tissue culture. (Source https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_vaccine_ingredients) Your opinion is very important for me. Thank you very much in advance! - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Inshallah.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-22-14 18:54:39
  • Is "Vaseline total moisture aloe fresh" halal or haram. Jazakallah. - Saadia Nadeem
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-22-14 18:30:43
  • capric triglycerides are halal? - sana
  • AOA

    If it is from animal fat then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-22-14 09:07:14
  • Please tell the name of companies which make lipsticks without any haraam ingredients - S K banday
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-22-14 03:19:05
  • I downloaded mcg app which is not opening after downloading. I deleted and re installed still not working. - Rida
  • AOA

    Please contact Apple app technical support because they make 30% of the Halal Food sale. It works on 7.0.4 version.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-21-14 18:54:47
  • Pentane shampoo - Muhammad Yasin
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-21-14 15:02:05
  • madison for pain reliever like acetaminophen pleace inform . - annie
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-21-14 12:43:11
  • Is lubriderm lotion halal or haram - md
  • AOA

    You can use Lubriderm Advanced Therapy Lotion available in Wal-Mart.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-20-14 20:49:21
  • As Salamu Alaykum. Is Oral-B 123 halal or haram? The ingredients don't mention glycerol. Also on your QA page you mention Oral B toothpaste but I wasn't sure if you were referring to the one mentioned specifically in the question or in general. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-20-14 18:32:57
  • is the cough medicine ingredient Propylene Glycol halal for consumption. Thank you Kind regards W Hussain - Wajid Hussain
  • AOA

    Propylene Glycol is a Halal solvent.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-20-14 16:48:08
  • Is close up tooth paste halal?....does close up toothpaste contain alcohol? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Please check Personal care products under non food section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-20-14 11:45:55
  • I HAD BROUGHT ALL NATURAL FACE CREAM BUT I AM NOT SURE IS THIS HALAL OR NO COMPANY NAME IS \"MASON NATURAL\" AND PRODUCT IS \"COLLAGEN\" IT IS FACE CREAM PLEASE TELL ME BEFORE I START USING IT THANK Q YOU - mohammadi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-20-14 08:20:35
  • assalamu alaykum. please can you help me find out if this product is halal: organics olive oil conditioning relaxer system by africa\'s best. It is made in the usa - halimah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-20-14 02:47:29
  • Asalam alikum, is belcam bath theraphy body wash halal ? I couldn't find it in the list in your website and the bottle itself have no phone number ? JazakAllah khair - Angel
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-19-14 04:37:07
  • is tim horton's french vanilla halal? thank u - nasir mohamed
  • AOA

    FRench Vanilla itself is not a Halal ingredient.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-18-14 22:57:19
  • I have a store nearby, which used to sell halal dishwasher detergent,, now they removed it, they only have this Cascade Extra Action Gel Dishwasher Detergent, so i wanted to know if its halal. (Question: Cascade Extra Action Gel Dishwasher Detergen) - Adeel Ahmad
  • AOA

    If it has a kosher symbol on then you can use it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-16-14 11:02:30
  • Are Jafra cosmetic halal? - refliani
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-15-14 02:32:27
  • which iron supplements are halal in india and general,is feefol halal - sameena
  • AOA

    The one who has green dot on the package or say suitable for vegetarian.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-15-14 01:56:25
  • Is physician formula cosmetic is halal? - mominah
  • AOA

    I talk to you today and said I have to research it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-14-14 23:10:59
  • Assalamualaikum, I'm a big fan of nail polish. I want to ask if Ethanol that used in nail polish halal or not? Some ulama said that as long the ethanol not derived from khamr factory, it's ok but im still not sure. My nail polish contain: butyl acetate, ethyl acetate (is it similar with ethanol?) Anhydride/trimelitic, glycols, copolymer acetyl, tributyl citrate, isopropyl And how about acetone that used to remove nail polish? Is it halal? My acetone contains: ethyl acetate, butyl acetate, alcohol, aqua, propylene glycol. I hope I can find the answer. Syukron ^_^ - Avy
  • AOA

    New Title Description Date
    Not all alcohol are Haram

    NOT ALL ALCOHOL ARE HARAM (ETHYL ALCOHOL)

     Ethyl alcohol is Haram because of its intoxication quality. But not all alcohol are ethyl alcohol although word alcohol is written with their name. Here are some examples:

    1. Sugar alcohols do not contain ethyl alcohol but they called sugar alcohol because of their chemical formula. Sugar Alcohols or Polyols are carbohydrate. All the sugar alcohols are Halal except Erythritol(made through alcoholic fermentation) and if Lactittol is made from non Halal whey then it is not Halal. But if Lactitol is made from sucrose then it is Halal.

    2. isopropyl alcohol is also used in many processes as well as in home cleaning products and skin lotions and it is also known as "Rubbing alcohol". This is a Halal alcohol because it does not cause intoxication.

    3. Methyl alcohol or methanol or wood alcohol is also a Halal alcohol but it is a toxic alcohol . It is used in denatured ethanol or alcohol to denatured ethyl alcohol.

    4. Benzyl Alcohol is a organic compound and used as solvent in ink, paint, resin coating. It is a Halal alcohol.

    5. Specially Denatured Alcohol and Completely Denatured alcohol are ethyl alcohols to which denaturing materials are added to denature ethyl alcohol for purpose of not intended for consumption. They are used in cosmetic, pharmaceuticals products. They are allowed for skin application by many ulema.

    6. Butyl alcohol is not ethyl alcohol and used as solvent in paints.

    It is not a alcohol but a fatty wax. Halal if obtained from vegetable fat and Haram if obtained from pig fat.

    7. Cetyl alcohol is also not ethyl alcohol but a fatty alcohol or wax and it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of cetyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

    8. Stearyl Alcohol is manufactured from fat based stearic acid and it is not ethyl alcohol. It is also used in cosmetic products. it is Halal only if it is obtained from vegetable fat based stearic acid and it is a Haram ingredient if it is obtained from pork fat. It is used in cosmetic products. The manufacturer of cosmetic is the only one who know the source of stearyl alcohol. So you have to call the manufacturer.

    03/23/11
    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    The following article was from: http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspxnewsid=170

    In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.


    Allah Most High says:


    “O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper”. (al-An’am, 90)


    Sayyiduna Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes”. (Sahih Muslim, No. 1985).


    However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both) from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.


    They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication”. (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306).


    However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types of beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their argument on the following two Hadiths:


    Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others).


    Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden”. (Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others).


    Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.


    The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna. Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:


    “Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position”.


    Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:


    “Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether”. (Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455).


    The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).


    However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him) himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them" (end of the published article).

     

    MCG comments:

     

    Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims.

     

    Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema.

    But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic. The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn. Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. According above ulema  the corn alcohol should be consider as synthetic alcohol because it is not obtained from grape, date and barley.

     

    There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast. The source of sugar are many such from fruits (grape, dates or nay fruits) or from grain such as corn, wheat.

    You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source.

    Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time. Many ulema miss the ibadah point. Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah.

     

    Here MCG's ulema fatwa on alcohol:

     

    FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

    Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

    Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

    MCG considers alcohol from any source as Haram.

    The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol:

    Gasification produces a synthesis gas, sometimes called syngas (from synthesis gas), which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide. The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process.

    Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

    2. CPG Sec. 555.100 Alcohol; Use of Synthetic Alcohol in Foods

    BACKGROUND:

    Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l948. By Administration Information Letter No. 90, dated January 28, l949, the districts were advised that we seriously doubted that a product made from synthetic alcohol could be appropriately regarded as a type of vinegar.

    "Ethyl alcohol is recognized in the U.S. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia. Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

    alcohol in food products to have been produced from fermented food substances, such as grains, fruit, etc., and that they do not expect their foods to contain 'alcohol' produced from petroleum gas.

    alcohol as a suitable food ingredient. This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review.

    Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. In order to secure more information, we wrote to the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Division, Internal Revenue Service. Their reply included the following paragraphs:

    alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum derivatives. It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.g., 40-grains.

    alcohol is used in the production of beverage products, our regulations require that the source of the alcohol be shown on the label except for cordials and liqueurs. Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic."

    POLICY:

    Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading.

    Bottom line is that some ulema  are confusing Muslims to consume alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley. They even never used word getting

     

     

     

    11/23/13
    Dilemma For Indian Muslim Consumers

    The Government of India has notified the food manufacturers through P 15019/14/2004 PH (Food) dated June 29, 2006 regarding compulsory display of Green and Red dots to differentiate between vegetarian and non vegetarian foods respectively.

    Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green color on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

    All state food authorities in India have been instructed to take necessary action to ensure compliance of above (wwe.greendotter.com).

    The following symbols are mandatory:

    Every package of Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in green colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely:

    Every package of Non-Vegetarian Food shall bear the following Symbol in red colour on the principal display panel just close in proximity to the name or brand name of food, namely.

    But there is problem for Muslim consumers in India a Green dot vegetarian food products although they do not contain animal derived ingredients but it can be made with ethyl alcohol or alcohol containing flavors or alcohol was used during the processing of a vegetarian food ingredient or if made with non Halal vegetarian food ingredient. If this occur then green dotted food product became non Halal for Muslims.

    So the green dot containing products are Halal only if no alcohol is used during processing or no alcohol was used in flavor as a solvent or no alcohol was used  during processing of vegetarian ingredients or if they made with only Halal ingredients.

    For example if a green dotted food product was made with Carrageenan, a Mushbooh ingredient and also it is a vegetarian food gum but ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol or Potassium Chloride is used to crystallized the Carrageenan during its processing.

    If ethyl alcohol was used then carrageenan became non Halal. If isopropyl alcohol or Potassium Chloride was used then it will become a Halal ingredient. 

    There is also problem with Red Dot containing food products for Muslim consumers in India they can be made only with eggs, with no animal derived ingredients were mentioned under ingredients statement. The manufacturer of that product has informed the Muslim consumers that no animal derived ingredients were used as hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product.

    So this red dotted food product with eggs, without  animal derived ingredients under ingredients statement and no animal derived hidden or processing aid ingredients in that food product became Halal for Muslims because egg is a Halal food ingredient.

    MCG advises Indian Muslim consumers to read the ingredients carefully and contact the manufacturer whether they use any animal derived ingredients as hidden or processing aid ingredients in the product. Always write to them whether alcohol was used in any flavor for both Green or Red Dot containing food Products or alcohol was used in food product or in food ingredients.

     



     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-14-14 02:51:31
  • All cleaning materials are made with alcohol, we are unable to get any other agents. In this condition does it allowed to use them for the external cleaning purpose if not please let us know how to face this problem . Pls clarify for the sake of Allah. Zajakallah. Jafer M.Pharm - jafer. M.Pharm.
  • AOA

    There is Hadith related Hajrat Omar RA when Muslims occupied Non Muslims lands some Muslims ask whether they can use utensil used to cook pork Then Hajrat Omar RA said that washed them good and use them for Halal foods. It is my opinion that if a dishwashing liquids contain alcohol in fragrance after cleaning if you wash the dishes with water couple of times then all the diswashing liquid is eliminated from dishes then you can use the dishes. Please confirm wih Islamic scholars.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-13-14 00:06:42
  • Is Sothys skincare products halal? Does it contain pork fat or beef fat? - Lee
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-12-14 22:08:56
  • Are victoria's secret perfumes halal? - Muslim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-12-14 20:34:55
  • Are Yummi bears from Hero Nutritional Halal ?? - Muhammed G Nathani
  • AOA

    If it contains gelatin then it is not Halal.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-12-14 19:39:04
  • I contacted tom's of maine to ask if alcohol was used to extract any of their ingredients in the flavored deodorant for women and this was their answer: Dear Layla Thank you for your email and your interest in Toms of Maine products! All of our products are completely alcohol-free and so is our manufacturing process. I hope this information is helpful, and if I can be of further assistance please don’t hesitate to let me know! Sincerely, Kathleen M. Johnson Citizens' Advocacy Representative www.tomsofmaine.com 800-FOR-TOMS - layla
  • AOA

    Thanks for the information, please full name of the deodorant so I can publish on our website for other sisters.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-12-14 19:01:24
  • Assalamu alaykum. There is this brand called Hussana and they sell shampoo, conditioner, etc. And it says its halal and doesn't have animal or alcohol ingredients and not tested on animals. Should I still question if its halal or not? If so how do I ask the question? JazakAllahu khayran. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Are you sure they are telling alcohol a hidden ingredient of fragrance is not used in fragrance. If they say that no alcohol is used as hidden ingredient in fragrance then you can use it. This brand is not available in USA.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-12-14 06:34:02
  • Assallaam o Alaikum Can I know if there is any haram ingredient used in the Avon color trend plump out mascara and Avon extra lasting liquid eyeliner pen...... Jazak ALLAH - binte tariq
  • AOA

    Only Avon can tell you nobody else. Some Avon products are made with pork.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-12-14 03:10:48
  • Do ponds flawless white, ponds age miracle and maybelline clear smooth all in one halal? Thank you - indriani
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-11-14 21:17:38
  • Asalamualikum. I wanted to ask whether dove cream can be used or not as I heard from a friend that it contains some haram ingredient - usaid
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    If you could not find it under Personal Care products then I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-11-14 20:11:55
  • Salam. Can u please do some research on hair dyes like loreal, clairol, John Freda and garnier. I am unable to find whether these are halal or not even by looking at the ingredients. Also can u tell, which ones are permanent and temporary hair colors? I mean how can we identify permanent? - Aiman
  • AOA

    You can use Revlon colors.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-11-14 18:22:05
  • Is ci 17200 halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    This is a colorant for cosmetic not for food and it applies rules for FD&C colors. Since it is cemically made or syntheicallymade it Halal when used in dry form but if used in liquid for then a solvent has to be use. Only manufacturer in what form it was used and what is solvent kif any used.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-10-14 09:51:14
  • Dear sirs, Do Adhesives which contains polyvinyl acetate, polyvinyl alcohol, surfactant that are originated from petrochemical are consider HALAL ? and can be used in F&B packaging ? Thanks - alvin
  • AOA

    They are Halal because obatined from petroleum source.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-09-14 23:28:43
  • The makeup brands on your website that are considered halal, does their halal status change if it is oil free?! - Bayan
  • AOA

    Yes, because they may use animal fat based ingredients.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-09-14 15:32:25
  • IS WEARING LIPSTICK HARRAM?? PLEASE GUIDE ME. MAY ALLHA HELP YOU IN BETTER WAY. - DR SHAKEEL
  • AOA

    Please ask this question to a Islamic Scholar.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-09-14 12:58:14
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatu, Do you have any information on contact lens solutions that are permissible to use? I wear contact lenses and am having an extremely difficult time finding one. JazakAllah Khair. - Aziza
  • AOA

    Please ask this question to Islamic scholar.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-08-14 23:51:34
  • are lever 2000 or dial liquid soaps halal. - April
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-08-14 16:14:27
  • : Assallaam o Alaikum ..... I want to know about DURU shampoo ... which is turkey made ... is it halal or not......? - Eman Tariq
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-08-14 02:55:50
  • I want to ask about lanolin alcohol, because it's present in my lipstick. Does lanolin alcohol haram to eat? Because sometimes I lick my lips and I lick the lipstick too. Btw that lipstick already had halal certification because i live in moslem country, but im still not sure about lanolin alcohol, is it halal if we eat it? (i'm little bit paranoid with alcohol) - Avy
  • AOA

    Lanolin Alcohol is not the Haram alcohol. Lanolin is a wool waxy fat obtained from sheep wool the it is treated with acetic acid and lye to make Lanolin Alcohol.

    It is Halal if Lanolin obtained from sheep's wool.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-05-14 05:22:10
  • i want to know if walgreens stool softeners soft gels are halal its active ingredient is docusate sodium and inactive ingredient is gelatine glycerin etc - kiran farhan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because gelatin could be from pig.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-04-14 22:20:08
  • i want to know if walgreens stool softeners soft gels are halal its active ingredient is docusate sodium and inactive ingredient is gelatine glycerin etc - kiran farhan
  • AOA

    From our website's Alert section:

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-04-14 22:17:30
  • As salaamu alaykum is downy infusions fabric softener halal I also wanted to know if all clear and free detergent is halal and I also wanted to know if ed hardy perfumes and Burberry perfumes and other popular brands are safe to use they all have denat alcohol and some have citronella in them which perfumes are halal to use thanks I know I'm asking alot but I don't have alot of time please respond thanks jazak Allahu kair - peace
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-04-14 21:03:13
  • Asalam o Alikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Baraktuh Please tell me if this product is halal or not. I am listing the ingredients Nair: Hydrolyzed corn starch, sucrose, glucose, glycerin, mangifera indica (mango), fruit extract, eeuterpe oleracea fruit extract, aqua, lllite, citric acid, potassium sarbate, sodium benzoate, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, parfum Jazak Allah - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    The source of these ingredients are known to the manuafcturer and nobody else know about unless there is kosher symbol on the package. Glycerin could be from pork fat, alcohol may be used in fruit extract.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    02-03-14 10:47:33
  • Here is the information I got from lush handmade cosmetics ; Hi Sayed! Thank you for writing to us. We don't have specific list for all the products that are vegan and non-alcoholic at the same time,however please know that we are very strict in using only vegetable glycerine for our products. Our products are 100% vegetarian, and many are also vegan. The ingredients that are used in some products that make them non-vegan are things like beeswax, honey, pollen, fresh free range eggs, lanolin, milk, and yogurt.The products that are vegan are marked with a green V logo on our website, and we list our full ingredients so that you can see what's in there and choose only what you feel comfortable with using. Cetearyl alcohol is used across our entire range of fresh products as an emulsifier; we use it in everything from our Enchanted Eye Cream, Gorgeous, Imperialis and Celestial skin creams, to our Whipstick,Honey Trap lip balms and Jungle hair conditioner.Again, since we don't have a specific list of products that are non-alcoholic and use this ingredient in a variety of products I encourage you to take a look at our website and search categories,and than take a look at each individual product of interest.You will notice that most of our cleansing products such as soaps,shower gels as well as shampoos are alcohol free however body and face moisturizers do contain this specific form of alcohol. I hope this helps! Please let me know if you have any further questions and I'd be happy to help! Kind regards, Bojana Customer Care Representative LUSH FRESH HANDMADE COSMETICS 110-8365 Ontario St Vancouver, BC V5X 3E8 phone: 1-888-733-5874 http://www.lush.com Facebook | http://www.facebook.com/lushcosmetics Twitter | http://twitter.com/lushcosmetics - Sayed
  • AOA

    Some times customer service people just look at ingredients and if they do not find ethanol or alcohol then they said no alcohol but they do not know alcohol is a hidden ingredient of fragrance. Since they said that soap, shower gel and shampoo do not contain alcohol. In order to make sure they understand I wrote to them this question and you alway this phrase to ask question about alcohol in fragrance and extract. Ibiza part shampoo is made with wine vinegar which MCG do not consider as Halal. I love juicy shampoo conatins mushbooh Carrageenan. No drought Shampoo is Halal.  Fair Trade Honey do not have claim of animal derived ingredients so it is not Halal and same thing Curley Wurley shampoo. No extract is used in shampoo. Please send e-mail to them those make up products which has claim no animal derived ingredients present but has fragrance or extract in them. If you get the answer then please send back to me because I am brother can not ask question about make up. If you help MCG in this reagred I will appreciate and it will be beneficial for all other sisters. I will publish the result after I receive information on soaps, shower gel and shampoo from them. I will also publish information you received from them

    Hi

    Due to my religious requirements I have this question for soaps, shower gels and shampoo:

    " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in fragrance; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a fragrance, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in fragrance is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of fragrance. In the specification of fragrance, your fragrance supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular fragrance. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the fragrance as a solvent".


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-31-14 22:23:17
  • 3 concept eyes cosmetic from korea halal? - anymous
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-31-14 10:28:53
  • palmolive olive and aloe bath soap ingredients.sodiam palmitate,sodium soap, potassium laurysulphate, magnesium silicate, sodium sulphate,sodium chloride,fragance,glycerine,titanium dioxide,fatty acid,citrus acid,sodium citrate,pentasodium pentetate,olea europaea(olive),fruit oli,aloe barbadensis,leaf juice,green no 5, yellow no 10.product of mexico. Question is that is it halal or haram. - syed. Iqbaluddin Balkhi
  • AOA

    PLease check itunder Non Food Section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-30-14 22:02:17
  • As salaamu alaikum, Are Pacha soap halal? Lush vegan product Halal? - Rehan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-30-14 15:15:27
  • Salaam. Do you know of any halal shampoo brands here in the USA? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-28-14 21:20:42
  • Is blistex Nurture & nourish lip balm stick halal? Here's the website of the product - http://www.blistex.com/products/nurture-nourish Dimethicone 2.0% (w/w) Lip protectant Octinoxate 7.5% (w/w) Sunscreen Oxybenzone 2.5% (w/w) Sunscreen beeswax, euterpe oleracea (acai) fruit extract, flavor, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, hydrogenated vegetable oil, jojoba esters, lanolin alcohol, lycium barbarum (goji) fruit extract, microcrystalline wax, octyldodecanol, olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, ozokerite, petrolatum, phenoxyethanol, polybutene, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, saccharin, saccharomyces/copper ferment, saccharomyces/magnesium ferment, saccharomyces/potassium ferment, saccharomyces/zinc ferment, sorbic acid, squalane, theobroma cacao (cocoa) seed butter, tocopheryl acetate, vitis vinifera (grape) seed oil - Junedur Rahman
  • AOA

    Only manufacturer knows the source of above ingredients so please contact the manufacturer and ask about animal derived ingredients , alcohol in fragrance.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-27-14 19:14:40
  • does hair gel contain geletin? - Abdul Mueed quraysh
  • AOA

    Usally gel is made with pork or non zabiha beef gelatin. Please ask the maunufacturer.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-27-14 01:00:17
  • is EXACT cream hand soap antibacterial & NIVEA sheer comfort deodorant halal - tahir
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-26-14 09:25:00
  • From: sam khan Email Address: angelsimi19@gmail.com Phone: (931) 901-7888 Comments: Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for contacting Consumer Care cell of Hindustan Unilever Limited. We would like to bring to your notice that we are equally committed to environment and do respect animal rights. We therefore have a strict policy on environment and at Unilever we care about your sentiments and do not use animal fat or oil in our formulations. Unilever follows a very stringent code of not using any animal based ingredients. All the ingredients used are all approved for cosmetic products and are safety cleared and used worldwide in HPC formulations. The R&D process & protocol ensures that the formulations are safe to be used from consumer safety point of view. The human, environmental & occupational safety of our operations and products is assessed through global standards.\" We ensure that none of our operation causes an adverse effect on environment and we take all necessary steps to fulfill statutory requirement for running our operations. We once again would like to repeat that we do not use any animal based ingredients at all in our products. Warm Regards, Lever Care Team, Toll free number: 18001022221 PO Box No 1470, Mumbai 400099 Email: lever.care@unilever.com for indian muslims who are concerned for lakme makeup and tresseme shampoo i hope this helps many indian brothers and sisters searching for haram halal products. - sam khan
  • AOA

    No animal derived ingredients is Ok but what about use of alcohol or ethanol in fragrance, Carmine red color?. Unless they say no to these question MCG can not recommend to Indian Muslims. Thanks for the information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-26-14 00:41:11
  • Is it halal to use the foundation of meylon brand? - subiya
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-25-14 12:02:44
  • as salaamu alaikum, Please help me to confirm if vaseline shampoo from philippines is halal to used or not? Ingredients has glycerine but im not sure it derives from plant or animal. Have done research online but nil findings about vaseline shampoo. thank you, Amira of Brunei Darussalam - Amira
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-24-14 13:53:32
  • Is softsoap aleo vera liquid hand wash halal in canada - sameena
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-24-14 08:33:47
  • What type of toothpaste is Halal to use? - Aaminah
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-23-14 20:00:24
  • Assalaamo Aleikum Is Amara Brand Cosmetics are Halal? Please if you have the list of Halal Cosmetics Brand, please mail me. Thnx Allahafiz Fatimah - Fatimah Iqbal
  • AOA

    I have no information. Please cosmetic under non food products section.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-23-14 00:56:12
  • Assalamualaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatahu!!! Can you please let me know a few or a list of HALAL products in the Indian market like: 1.Soaps 2.Toothpastes 3.Hair Oils 4.Shampoos 5.Conditioners 6.Fairness Creams 7.Lotions,Moisturisers 8.Sanitary Napkins 9.Other daily use products. Please please please let me know...JazakAllah khayr...May Allah bless you with the best of both the worlds for helping the Ummah!!! - ZEBA RAHEEM
  • AOA

    I have no information on Indian made products you mentioned above. I do not have sources to get the information. Inshallah if I visit India then I will try to collect them.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-22-14 19:04:07
  • Bath & Body Works Paris Nights Rating Be the first to write a review Bath & Body Works Paris Nights 8.0 oz Body Lotion is halal or haram? - shima
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-22-14 13:48:23
  • i have a toohpaste and i want to know wether i can use it. the manufacturer says that it is suitable for vegetarians and so it does not contain animal derived ingridients. the ingridients are calcium carbonate, aqua, sorbitol, glycerin, hydrated silica, Sodium lauryl sulphate, xanthan gum, titanium dioxide, sodium monoflourophosphate, natural clove oil and nature identical clove extract , benzyl alcohol, sodium saccharin. trisodium orthophosphate and sodium benzoate.. please tell me wether these ingridients are ok to use.. jazakallah.. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If no alcohol was used as extracting solvent in clove extract then you can use it.Find itout from the manufacturer.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-21-14 08:09:31
  • salam. is Almay Clear Gel Antiperspirant & Deodorant Clear Gel fragerance free halal? I see these days some make-up companies are using " st john 's wort extract " in them. its a herb which might be of help in depression for some patients. But is it ok for us to use those cosmetics? Actually there isnt much options for us as there are very few companies which are vegan and carmine free. - aim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-20-14 17:37:16
  • i have a question about tooth paste.. my toothpaste consists the following ingridients; calcium carbonate, process water, sorbitol, thickening silica, sodium lauryl sulphate, micronized calcium carbonate, sodium silicate, flavor, titanium dioxide, sodium monoflorouphosphate, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, potassium citrate trihydrate, alpha-Hydroxytoluene,sodium saccharin, calcium glycerophosphate and Cl 12490.. can i knw wether my toothpaste is halal? please let me know.. may allah bless u.. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Flavor may contain alcohol, Please ask the manufacturer about animal derived ingredients and alcohol in flavor because the manufacturer is the one who know the source of ingredients in toothpaste.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-20-14 06:23:57
  • name me one toothpaste i can use that's halal? be specific. - elmedin
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-19-14 19:03:47
  • is maxfactor make up halal? is no 7 make up (boots brand-uk) halal? - mrs ali
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-19-14 18:17:02
  • On your website, it says MAC products are free from pork but does not specify about beef or alcohol. Please advise. - NQ
  • AOA

    There is no brand name Mac on our website except:

    Seach results for the term: mac

    Total results generated: 2
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Macaroni and Cheese Dinner Macaroni and Cheese Dinner Wacky Mac No alcohol is used in natural flavor of cheese sauce according New World Pasta Company. Reference number 658411 dated October 1, 2013 10-01-13
    halal Premium Maple Syrup Maple Syrup Mac Donald   10-16-10

    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-19-14 16:39:32
  • As-Salamu Alaykum, I would like to know is this product from Whole Foods is halal?It's called 365 Everyday Value Fruit & Vegetable Wash Natural Lemon Scent. The ingredients are Aqua(Filtered Water),Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside(Plant-Based Nonionic Surfactant),Citric Acid(PH Control),Potassium Sorbate(Preservative)Natural Lemon Fragrance.I contacted Whole Foods regarding the Natural Lemon Fragrance if they used alcohol,they told me no,and said that they don't use any alcohol in this product.Is this product okay to use to spray on fruits and vegetables to remove the chemicals? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Ask them whether this product is made with animal derived ingredients and if they say no then you can use it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-19-14 16:38:32
  • Aside from animal and beef and alcohol, do you check that the make up companies do not use human derivatives such has human hair etc? I am inquiring about the make up companies listed on your site as halal. - NQ
  • AOA

    The only thing I know obtained from hair is L-Cysteine which is not used in cosmetic. Our questions for cosmetic companies as you mentioned above.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-19-14 15:18:16
  • Is denatured ethyl alcohol halal in a hair lotion - nour el hoda
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-17-14 11:58:18
  • Is red 33 & blue1 halal - Anis Fathima
  • AOA

    FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 colors:

    FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 are chemical dyes or lakes and they are Halal if used in pure granular or powder form but if the FD&C colors are required to make it in liquid form then a solvent is needed to make FD&C colors in liquid form. Liquid FD&C colors are used in liquid foods such as soft drinks. Vegetable oil or glycerin is used to make liquid artificial colors. Liquid FD&C colors are Halal only if vegetable oil or soy fat based glycerin is used. If glycerin is obtained from pork fat then liquid FD&+C colors will be Haram. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing these colors indicates that no pork or beef fat glycerin was used as a solvent.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-16-14 10:02:29
  • Are loreal shampoo and conditioner halal? - Zareer Ahmed
  • AOA

    Please check Non Food Section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-15-14 20:21:49
  • Denatured alcohol in hair products .....I'm losing my hair and I bought a hair oil and I found that was written on it is it halal - nour
  • AOA

    Denatured alcohol can be used in non food products.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-15-14 15:50:09
  • whether santoor bar soap is halal or haram? - rashid
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-15-14 10:17:45
  • is pantene shampoo manufactured in Thailand halal?...if not halal then can you please tell me why it is not halal?...Jazak Allahu Khair... - Zareer Ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-13-14 22:47:11
  • Salam. I asked u about Gabriel cosmetics inc products / ingredients. So u answered that they might b using alcohol during processing or as a solvent during extraction in products labelled as alcohol free. So I called them. The lady at the customer service said that they are vegan ( except animal hair make up brushes), carmine free and don't use alcohol during extraction in products labelled as alcohol free. She said they do steam distillation for extraction n don't use alcohol in this process. But I forgot to ask what solvent they use. So are they halal then? Thanks - Aim
  • AOA

    Distillation do not need solvent. So you can use it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-13-14 14:32:06
  • Denatured alcohol in hair products .....I'm losing my hair and I bought a hair oil and I found that was written on it is it halal - nour
  • AOA

    Denatured alcohol in personal care product is ok to use.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-13-14 04:25:12
  • I need to know what mirgraine medicine is halal I use excedrine migraine. please answer. promptly. need on day to day basis. call me at 7082755120 leave message. thanks jazakallah - fiza fizzaha_30@yahoo.com
  • AOA

    Please check medicine subsection under Non Food section.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-12-14 21:42:26
  • is baby lips a lip balm is it halal and it comes in different flavors - khadijah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-12-14 10:33:09
  • Salam alaikum w.w. I'm not well at the moment. In order to cure whatever I have, I've bought some herbal medicine from Amazon called "Fresh Green Black Walnut Wormwood Complex". It's a herbal supplement but I noticed in the ingredients it says it contains; A proprietary blend of fresh "Green" black 1.5ml, walnut hulls, wormwood herb and clove buds. It also mentions it contains grain alcohol. Is grain alcohol haram? Even if you put a few drops in your drink? Here is a link to the medicine, JazakAllahKheir http://astronutrition.com/now-fresh-green-black-walnut-wormwood-complex-2-fl-oz.html - Imran
  • AOA

    Grain alcohol is Haram. Please find alcohol free medicine.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-11-14 23:33:16
  • Selamunaleykum Brother, just wondered whether "denaturated alcohol medicated lotions" would be haram to use. To be used on the skin. Thanks a lot. May Allah(cc) bless you - Canan Sahin
  • AOA

    Denatured alcohol can be use on skin.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-11-14 19:13:29
  • is boroline and avalon ointment halal - mohd swaleh
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-10-14 22:19:54
  • Is there alcohol in the fragrance in power stick shampoo? - Dominic
  • AOA

    You have to ask the manufacturer because he is the one who knows about it.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-10-14 18:18:02
  • Is the leather products from sources like cow or sheep used in shoes or jackets etc halal , even if we dont know whether these animals were slaughtered properly by taking Allah's name or not? or only those leather products can be used from animals slaughterd properly in islamic way/kosher? My second question is a bracelet made from tortoise resin be worn? is it ok for muslims? Thanks - aim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-10-14 15:10:02
  • At Gabriel cosmetics the sales lady told me they were vegan( expect that their brushes use sheep and pony hair) and don't use carmine. Although most of products are alcohol free but some have alcohol like reed sea weed gentle exfoliater, liquid foundation, concealer, mascara and lipgloss. But lipsticks and eye shades don't have any alcohol according to the company. She gave a product list which I will email u separetly in sha Allah for alcohol verification in some of their products. Anyway, I want to know whether their lipsticks are halal? Because apparently they look fine. Ingredients are : Ingredients List Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride Sesamum Indicum (Sesame) Seed Oil Carthamus Tinctorius(Safflower) Seed Oil Retinyl Palmitate Tocopheryl Acetate Lecithin Crithmum Maritimum (Sea Fennel) Extract Bisabolol Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract Iron Oxides Mica Hypericum Perforatum (St. John’s Wort) Extract Titanium Dioxide. Some other products have silica, kaolin, cetyl palmitate, zinc stearate, emulsifying wax, cetyl alcohol and glycerine Thanks. Aim - Aim
  • AOA

    Alcohol may be used as extracting solvent in the various extracts.


    Category: Non-Food Products
    01-10-14 13:11:04