USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,503 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 6,278 ]
  •  General Question  [ 2,114 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,382 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,579 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 73 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,705 ]

Recent Questions:

  • i like to know the halal additives and which of them could replace E471 and E472. Thanks - shinaba
  • AOA

    E471 and E 472 will be obtained from vegetable fat if there is a claim " Suitable for Vegetraian" on the package.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-26-13 08:54:39
  • what are the e-codes which are related to haram products according to islamic teachings? - M ABDUL MOEED
  • AOA

    Please check our E-Number section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-13 23:44:14
  • product reference number 201002453523 - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-13 23:42:07
  • Can I use hairspray which have alcohol. ?.??! - saba heen
  • AOA

    NO


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-13 15:37:57
  • september 24,2013 Giordano’s Famous Stuffed Cheese Pizza features the following three (3) cheeses: Mozzarella, Parmesan and Romano. Please Note: Giordano’s uses Mozzarella cheese that is made with non-animal rennets (enzymes), which originate in microbial (synthetic) or vegetable sources; whereas, the Parmesan and Romano cheeses may contain rennets (enzymes) that originate in animal sources. Giordano’s Thin Crust Cheese Pizza features only Mozzarella Cheese, which is made with non-animal rennets (enzymes) originating in either microbial (synthetic) or vegetable sources. Giordano’s pizza dough contains rice flour, yeast, soy vegetable oil, water, sugar and salt. The crust (dough) of Giordano’s Stuffed Pizza is made with 100% Pure Soy Vegetable Oil. The margarine used in all ingredients as well as to coat our pizza pans is also a certified koshered margarine. Giordano’s Pizza Sauce for both the stuffed pizza and the thin crust, along with our Marinara Sauce (pasta), is not by made from any animal by-products. I hope I was able to answer your question. Thank you for contacting Giordano’s! Customer Service www.giordanos.com - shaista
  • Hi

    Thank you very much for your information because so many Muslims consumers in Chicago are inquiring about its Halal status. This is the reason I called yor headquater and store.

    I know the Parmesan and Romano cheese is made with pork rennet because special flavor and texture. I used to go Leprino Cheese plants in California, Sorronto Cheese plant in Buffalo, NY, Mid America Cheese Plant in Nabraska and Beatric cheese plant in Iowa when I was working for Domino Pizza in 80s.

    Microbial rennet enzyme does not make the Mozzarella cheese Halal because other Halal requirements are source of Starter Culture bacteria, ingredients of media upon which starter culture grows in millions, the lipase enzyme used to break the fat of the milk. So these has to be Halal. Pizza Hut and Papa John has already supplied to us the technical answers about above so we have given their cheese pizza as Halal also their crust and pizza sauce are also Halal.

    If you inetersted then can you provide me answers to these technical questions regarding cheese from your Mozzarella cheese suppliers:

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal:

    1.    Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast). 

    2.    Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast).

    3.    Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk.

    4.    Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves

    5.    Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases

    6.    Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk added

    7.    Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese

    8.    Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese

    9.    Harmless plant based enzyme is added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese

    10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food, gelatin(if it is used then it is not Halal) is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums instead of gelatin.

    11. Cheese must be Halal or Kosher certified(if kosher certification meets Halal requirements) or the starter culture bacteria, rennet, media upon which the culture bacteria grows has to be kosher certified or use of microbial rennet or Lipase or whey is made from using culture bacteria obtained from milk source, microbial rennet or milk is used as a media. 

    I need complete ingredients list of your Marinara pasta sauce, different crusts if you have to verify that it is Halal for Muslim consumers. I doubt your crust is only made with rice flour becaus epizza crust need high protein hard spring wheat flour with a 14% protein to hold the pizza sauce and cheese weight. If it is 100% rice flour with 8% protein It will collaps. I think rice flour is added to dilute the high protein wheta flour. This is the reason I need complet ingredients list of crust, Marinara past sauce. I am not interested in stuffed crust

    If the cheese technical questions meet our Halal criteria and if the ingredients of Thin Crust and Marinara Pasta Sauce are Halal after looking them then I can recommend only thin crust cheese pizza to our Muslim consumers which are about 450, 000 in Chicago Metro area.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-25-13 10:36:35
  • Are body shop, revlon, avon and ralph lauren halaal? - mohsin ali
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-24-13 22:17:22
  • Juices of NAKED brand are halal or not? - Humera
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-24-13 15:22:44
  • Salaam. I live in the UK and normally follow the guidelines below taken from GMWA foodguide. \"Bismiha-Ta\'ala The general rule on the use of alcohol based perfumes/deodrants, etc is that if the alcohol has been extracted from grapes or dates their use will be forbidden since this is Najis (impure) and will thus make the body and clothes impure. If the deodrants/perfume is made from synthetic/chemical alcohol, extracted and manufactured from items besides grapes or dates, then the use of such products is permissible. Hazrat Mufti M. Taqi Usmani Saheb, (A leading contemporary scholar of Pakistan) writes in his commentary of Sahih Muslim, \"The majority of alcohol used in medication and perfumes is not manufactured from grapes and dates, it is extracted from grains, peels or petroleum etc.\" (Takmilah Fathul-Mulhim Vol. 3 Page. 608) Before using such products, it is advisable from the Shar\'ee point of view to check with the manufacturers on the type of alcohol used. (i.e. whether natural or synthetic based). Allah SWT Knows Best. (Mufti) Abdullah Pate\" But I recently read this from a forum: \"Assalam O Alaikum The so called synthetic alcohol(technically synthetic alcohol means alcohol made from other than fermentation process). Most of alcohol used in skin care is obtained from grapes. For Halal cosmetic please go to News search and write cosmetic at www.muslimconsumergroup.com Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA\" Hence I am confused please help. As I normally use products with synthesised alcohols. Please notify me by email. Jazakillah. - zeenat naqash
  • AOA

    I wrote this on www.suniforum.com few years back. The source of alcohol if it is not written grain alcohol then it willsay the source but if it says alcohol then only manufacturerknows. I also wrote at forum that most skin care products are made from grape. Alcohol from corn is in demand because it used in gasoline for cars in USA and Canada. MCG consider alcohol is Haram regardless of its source. Only few Hanafi ulema follows above, Shafi Muslim do not follow even they consider vinegar from wine is Haram. A artical was publishe d in Pakistan. I will provide part of it:

    Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    From: http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspx?newsid=170

    Alcohol in deodorants, educating the masses!!!

    Previous   Next 

    In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.


    Allah Most High says:


    “O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper”. (al-An’am, 90)


    Sayyiduna Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes”. (Sahih Muslim, No. 1985).


    However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both) from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.


    They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication”. (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306).


    However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types of beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their argument on the following two Hadiths:


    Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others).


    Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden”. (Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others).


    Thus, according two these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.


    The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna. Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:


    “Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position”.


    Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:


    “Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether”. (Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455).


    The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).


    However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him) himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-24-13 04:13:37
  • Is it famos amos halal? - syud
  • AOA

    They are Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. They should not contain vanilla extract and vanilla flavor.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-23-13 18:51:58
  • My company is getting Halal Certificate. So i would like to ask that Propanol is use for hand hygiene is Halal or Haram? - Charice
  • Hi

    Propanol is a Isopropyl alcohol or rubbing alcohol and it is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-23-13 08:41:18
  • I have this nail polish remover that I use but it says it has geltain I was just wondering does it matter since Im not consuming it.Also on my other questtion i fergot to put in it that the chocolate chip cookie dough is a product called belmont ice cream so can you check that for me jazak allah khaerian salam - Umalkheyr
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-22-13 20:15:43
  • Is cabot sour cream halal because it has carrageenan is there a possibility that it was not made with alcohol - Isatu
  • AOA

    It is a Mushbooh product. Only Carrageenan manufacturer knows what they use ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol or KCL.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-22-13 18:09:57
  • http://www.juiceplus.co.uk/+sr34936 This company supply's fruit and vegetable capsules that is gelatine from cow. I've been told its halal please can you confirm this - Selina
  • AOA

    MCG ulema do not consider gelatin from non zabiha beef as Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-22-13 10:32:56
  • Please list the name of halal restaraunts in Los Angeles - sarah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-13 19:57:37
  • is hubba bubba is halal and is all the gum bases are halal - Aisha Andha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-13 18:00:10
  • Is Berryhill's Hazelnut Spread with skim milk and cocoa hala? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-13 13:06:30
  • Why is carrageenan haraam it's made out of a plant on land or under the sea - Isatu
  • AOA

    It is a seaweed but during its production ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol KCL is used only Isopropyl alcohol and KCL are Halal. It is a mushbooh ingredient.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-13 12:40:18
  • Is mentos sweet halal - maliha anjum
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-13 10:05:19
  • There is cheddar cheese in Humpty Dumpty party mix snack mix original so is it halal? - Same ear
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-21-13 07:30:03
  • I bought centrum silver multivitamin USA product in china. please let me know is it halal. can i use it? - zindigee
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins.

    MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins.

    MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA.

    MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them. Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as:

    Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins.

    They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA.

    MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-20-13 10:02:13
  • Is Nature's Way omega 3 halal? - Idris Abdul Rahim
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because it does not have kosher symbol on the package.

    Seach results for the term: fish oil

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 100 MaxiGels Fish Oil Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Omega-3 Concentrate Fish Oil EPA/DHA 180 MaxiGels Fish Oil Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Omega-3 Silver EPA/DHA Fish Oil Softgels Fish Oil Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Zahlers Kosher Advanced Omega-3 Platinum Fish Oil Highest EPA/DHA (Premium Grade) Softgel Fish Oil Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    halal Maxi Omega-3 2000 Fish Oil EPA/DHA 100 Vegicaps Fish Oil Maxi Health Obtain by calling 1-800-645-1899. 10-16-10
    halal Maxi Omega 3 Fish Oil Prenatal Partner EPA/DHA Formula 60 Maxicaps Fish Oil Maxi Health Can be obtained by calling 1-800-645-1899. 10-16-10

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-20-13 07:51:50
  • Halal Man's hair dying products - Youcef
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-20-13 06:36:01
  • I like to know kit kat,twix,baby ruth those chocklet is halal? - Mohammed Bengir
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-19-13 18:02:01
  • Are McDonalds fries and fish filet haram? - raziq
  • AOA

    Please check them at Chain Restaurants section of our website.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-19-13 17:55:54
  • Assalamun Alaikum, I'd like to know if the cheese used in cheese doodles or crunchy etc is halal Thankyou - Natasha Noorani
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-19-13 09:01:06
  • Is hair tonic containing allantoin haram? - Zarihah
  • AOA

    It is extracted from plant but we do not know what solvent were used. It is also found in urineof mammal. Its Halal status only known to the manufacturer so please contact them.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-18-13 16:30:22
  • Assalamualaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh, I was wondering if Centrella Bread was Halal? Jazakallah Khair - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-18-13 11:58:37
  • Is big cheetos puff halal, it has enzyme in their but only cow - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Why Cheetos and Doritos (except Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips) are not Halal

    There is no kosher symbol on the package of Cheetos and Doritos. This makes them Non Halal because they can add any Haram Hidden or Processing aid ingredients without mentioning under the ingredients statement. Cheese used in Cheetos and Doritos are not Kosher certified and not Halal. Sine these products are not under Halal or Kosher certification then Frito Lay can use non kosher certified flavors or colors. There is no restriction for Frito Lay to make Cheetos or Doritos on their own lines or on co-packers line where pork containing products are made. This exposes a great possibility of cross contamination of pork containing ingredients.

    All these snacks are very attractive to adults and children but there is a Hadith which says that Allah will not accept your dua for 40 days if a Muslim eats intentionally a bit of Haram food. So MCG recommend Muslims not consume above snacks.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-18-13 06:39:42
  • Amul cheese haram or halal? - hussain
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-18-13 05:36:16
  • please e-mail the list of choclates food soap & other products specially in india which are haram - sajid miyan
  • AOA

    I have no information. I have resources for food products in India except Indian Britanania biscuits which are Halal.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-18-13 02:42:06
  • Is Good Start Soy Halal certified? - Cindy Sullivan
  • AOA

    Gerber Good Start Soy formula concentrate is not Halal certified but kosher certfied and it is Halal if it contains no flavor and Nucleotides.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-17-13 05:54:58
  • Do the hair colouring products manufactured by loreal and garnier have alcohol - mv
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-17-13 00:07:53
  • Can we use anti-bacterial hand wash that contains glycerin and other chemicals such as Propylene Glycol, Tetrasodium EDTA to name but a few. Thanks - Roshanara Hussain
  • AOA

    If there is no derived ingredients and alcohol is used then you can use.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-16-13 14:56:36
  • is popeye food chain halal in los angeles california - sarah
  • AOA

    I do not think so.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-16-13 14:39:48
  • This month, the producer of E951 (Aspertame), Monsanto, make it by creating genetically modified e.coli (poop bacteria), taking the excrement and then treating that with ethanol (alcohol) and methanol. Considering this information, should Aspartame still be considered helal? - Aisha
  • AOA

    Any food product or ingredient if it interacts with alcohol then that food or ingredient became non Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-16-13 13:15:57
  • are homeopathic medicines made in alcohol base halal - nuzhat
  • AOA

    If they made with alcohol then it is not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-16-13 03:18:46
  • is dentynes, extra care, gums halaal? - somaya
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-16-13 02:12:31
  • assalam alaikum .... Your efforts are countless may Allah bless you... I did not find information I want about baby wipes,, woman pads , baby diapers in your site Can you please suggest Halal trade marks of these ?? can these products be Haram ? What do I have to think about before buying such things? - Nana
  • AOA

    These products are neither Halal or kosher certified. Only inquiry with manufacturers may find the one which are not with pork and alcohol.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-16-13 01:46:32
  • Is E102 Halal? - Haris
  • AOA

    unknown E102 Tartazine Tartazine if obtained from natural source then it is soluble in water then it is Halal. If obtained from synthetic dye then it is Halal only if it mix with vegetable oil. 05/25/12

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-15-13 16:32:36
  • what chewing gums are halal - Mushtaq Ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-15-13 10:44:43
  • there are lot of companies milk. diffrent name for different milk. so which is halal - king talha
  • AOA

    Whole milk, 2% milk, 1 % milk and non fat milk from any brand are Halal in USA and Canada.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-15-13 08:15:43
  • can u give me the right info - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    About what?.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-15-13 04:58:30
  • Is eating magie noodles haram - mohsin
  • AOA

    The ones with green dot or with vegetarian label without flavor are Halal.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-15-13 00:20:07
  • india used pork fat in any product - shahwaiz
  • AOA

    I do not know, may be.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-14-13 22:10:39
  • Assalamulikum I have question is that Madame milly makeup brand is halal or not, other I want to ask u I saw some cosmetic brand name which u guys said it's not halal so if it's not halal then we r not use that if we use then our prayer are not expect it, Jazakallah khair - Langrial
  • AOA

    I have no information on Madame milly make up. Please follow cosmetic subsection of Non Food section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-14-13 12:11:35
  • Is signal toothpaste made in saudi arabia halal and free from haram ingredients? - Mohammed Attia
  • AOA

    It will  not be made from poek based ingredients.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 20:22:45
  • Is a gelatin in vitamin shoppe hallal ? - Nabeel
  • AOA

    TITLE: Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    Posted on: 08-15-13 00:00 AM


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 17:04:59
  • Can you please give me names of all the halaal gums? - jaffar
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 15:55:14
  • pringles potato chips halal in US? if yes please tell what flavors are halal Jazak Allah - MK
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 13:57:51
  • Is The Company " Worlds Finest Chocolate " Halal ? And Is The INGREDIENT " vanillin Halal ? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information. But vanillin is a Halal ingredient.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 13:25:54
  • are the entenmanns little bites,cakes,donuts and muffins halal?Will you please find out if the flavourings they are using are halal or not? - Romana Gillani
  • AOA

    They are Halal only if no alcohol is used flavors.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 13:00:32
  • I am writing you from calgary.In calgary theres a store called super store i need to know what cosmetics are halal and haram ,i could not find my answer on your website:) - isra
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 12:40:22
  • asalam o alaikum. wanted to know that are all gluten free ice creams halal? and is any cheese without rennet or with microbial rennet halal in USA - Sarah
  • AOA

    I have no information. This is a general question without mentioning brand names.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 07:26:31
  • I just want to know Shiseido mask halal or not.. it made in Japan - AIMIE BT ABDUL AZIZ
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 02:16:52
  • AOA unilever products uk ponds halal hai - farzana talat
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-13-13 01:22:24
  • Dear brothers and sisters in islam, Is Taurine used in the infant formula or energy drink Halal? - Arif
  • AOA

    Taurine is only Halal if there is a statement "Suitable For Vegeytaian" otherwise you have to contact manuacturer to find out its source.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-12-13 17:40:18
  • I called Kroger Customer care to to ask if their 'Cheese Singles - American and Swiss' (USP # 11110-59921 and 11110-59807) had any alcohol or animal derived ingredients in it and their diatician answered 'no'. Can you please explain their 'halal-status'? - Shamim Javed
  • AOA

    It does not matter what they say if there is no kosher symbol on their cheese product then they are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-12-13 13:42:51
  • do u have any information about pat's pizza store?>?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-12-13 13:35:31
  • The Cheddar cheese Spread of the NADEC company (Saudi Arabia) contains the e-no. 452. In you E-no list you have stated that if the product containing the eno is in Europe(source: animal bones) them we have to look for vegetation label and if it is in usa(source: minera , it is halal. MY QUESTION IS THAT THIS PARTICULAR CHEESE WhICH IS A SAUDI PRODUCT AND HAS THE ENO 452 iS HALAL OR not? IN SAUDI IS IT MANUFACTURED FROM ANIMAL BONE OR MINERAL? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    The only way Polyphosphate E-452 from cattle bones will be Halal if cattle bones burn to became ash then if polyphosphate obtained from bone char then it will be Halal otherwise not because bone char is the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-12-13 04:22:57
  • 042 35875572 is the nmbr of a famous resturaunt in pakistan \"gunSMOKe\" can u plz cnfrm is their riverside whiskey sauce uses halal ingredients or not... - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-12-13 02:39:14
  • Assalamualaikum I want to know about french bread prepared in the bakery of randells super store in houston tx is halal or not - Kashif
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 22:50:46
  • does dole fruit boles contain alcohol jk - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 17:09:22
  • Is BLUE DIAMOND ALMONDS'S almondbreeze almond milk chocolate selling at COSTCO Chicago halal? www.almondbreeze - FARAH
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 08:01:09
  • Is Chirardelli's triple chocolate cookie sell mix selling at COSTCO Chicago halal?http://www.ghirardelli.com/ - AISHAH
  • AOA

    If the cookies do not have kosher symbol and made of alcohol containing flavor or vanilla extract then they bare not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 07:51:48
  • Is Pita Bites naturally baked pita crackers selling at COSTCO Chicago halal? www.wgourmet.com - AISHAH
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 07:31:12
  • Is BLUE DIAMOND ALMONDS\'S almondbreeze almond milk selling at COSTCO Chicago halal? www.almondbreeze.com - AISHAH
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 07:30:45
  • May Allal bless you for this great effort and give you and tell you are satisfied Ameeen.....my question you said that any pita bread maid with : AOA Those Pita bread which made with flour, yeast, sugar and salt are Halal. But what about the yeast ??? It may not be Halal!! We dont know it source Can you clarify that .....thank you for your time - Nana
  • AOA

    Yeast used in pita bread is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 03:30:09
  • Are non alcoholic spritzers halal? it is not beer . But contains contents like white grape juice, peach juice, sparkling water etc. it is a type of juice. - Maham
  • AOA

    Seach results for the term: alcohol free

    Total results generated: 3
    Alert Title Description Date
    Is alcohol free beer or wine Halal to consume, the answer is no

     

    IS ALCOHOL FREE BEER OR WINE HALAL TO CONSUME, THE ANSWER IS NO

    All alcohol free beer, wine, champion are not made from scratch but they are all made from real beer, wine and champion. In Islamic fiqah such as tabdeele Mahiya does not applied to alcohol free beer and wine because Tabdeele Mahiya has specific requirements to apply to Haram product to become Halal  such as converting alcohol a Haram ingredient to vinegar a Halal ingredient.

     In the case of alcohol free beer or wine no such thing happened, there is no chemical reaction, there is no name change which are few requirements of Tabdeele Mahiya. Production of alcohol free beer or wine is 100% based on physical action i.e. removing only alcohol from beer or wine without touching any other components of beer or wine. In USA, FDA requirements of alcohol free beer or wine must contains not more than 0.5% alcohol by volume or Dealcoholised: over 0.05% but less than 0.5% ABV(Alcohol By Volume). So all alcohol free beer from USA in Muslim countries contains a maximum of 0.5% Alcohol by ABV. This 0.5% is the result of alcoholic fermentation of sugars by yeast the principle used in making alcoholic beverages. This alcohol is the part of alcohol present in real beer and wine. Intoxicants were defined by our Prophet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum when he said in the authentic hadith that was reported by Abu Da’wwod and Al Tirmithi: whatever a lot of it intoxicates a person, little of it is forbidden. In the above hadith there is no mention of amount or number of serving of getting intoxicated by consuming little amount of intoxicant in a product which contains little amount of intoxicant. So consuming number of cans of alcohol free beer is irreverent. The basic point is the large or little amount of intoxicant is Haram and alcohol is a intoxicant. 

     Alcohol content in Alcohol free beer or wine disqualify to consume based on the above hadith. There is no way any company in USA or anywhere can eliminate completely 100% alcohol from a beer or wine used by vacuum processing or using micro filter system to remove alcohol from beer or wine as they currently used in alcohol free beer or wine industry. What about rest of component of beer or wine. It remains as is, nothing happened to them. Alcohol free beer has the same volatile compounds as in original beer or wine. The purpose of alcohol free beer or wine is to maintain similar characteristic including taste, smell as in real beer or wine. All components of intoxicant are Haram because they are not present in original grape for grape wine or original cereals for beer made from cereals. All the components of beer or wine are the by-product of alcoholic fermentation of sugar content of grape or cereal by yeast.

    So it is in the opinion of MCG that alcohol free beer or wine is not Halal to consume by Muslim.

     

     

    02/21/11
    Facts about Non Alcoholic Wine

     

    FACTS ABOUT NON ALCOHOLIC WINE OR BEER
                                                     
    This information is provided for Muslims all over the world so that they understand how a non alcoholic wine or beer is made and available throughout the world including in Muslim countries. The following are the facts about alcohol free wine, beer, its manufacture methods and its possible impact on Islamic Sharia(I am not a Alim but I will provide information so that the Muftiyans can  make their own fatwas).
    1. Fact number one, Alcohol free wine or beer is made from real wine or beer. Wines from grape, date, honey, wheat is Khamr and Khamr is Haram according to several ahadith.
    2. Questions for Muftiyans, do they think that every component of wine also Haram including water in wine even wine made from grape.
    The composition of wine is:
    Water 80-85%, Alcohol 10-20%, Acids 0.4 - 1%, Sugar 0.1%(because all sugar in grape is used to produce alcohol), Mineral Salts 0.2 to 0.4%, Coloring substances 0.01 to 0.5%,
    Aromatic substances 0.01 to 0.1%, Sulphites 10 to 200 Part Millions
     3. Manufacturing processes used in manufacture of alcohol free wine or beer:
     
    a. Alcohol free wine beverages is produced by using  US patented process(4775538) where table wine is combined with demineralized water and poured into a centrifugal evaporator where alcohol is spin off to produce a alcohol free wine base. Then grape juice concentrate is added to alcohol free wine base to make alcohol free wine.

    b. Vacuum  Distillation where real wine or real beer is exposed to vacuum. Where due to change in atmospheric pressure with low heat or no heat the alcohol is distilled off.
    c. Reverse Osmosis, a procedure used to clean impurities from drinking water. Most American homes has this unit under their kitchen sinks. The reverse Osmosis has filters with very minutes pores Through these pores filters only alcohol and water with volatile acids in wine or in beer is filtered out of wine or beer without heat. Then those volatile acid and water is put back to a mixture of syrupy mixture of sugar, flavor  compounds on the other side of filter after distilling out the alcohol from alcohol and water acid mixture. This is also called dealcoholized wine or beer.
     
    d. Non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer is made with a secondary fermentation to produce a non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer with less than 0.5% alcohol. Then carbon dioxide  is forced to make a carbonated non alcoholic beer.

    4. Another fact is that all the experts in this industry said that it is very difficult and very expensive to eliminate all alcohol from wine or beer. This is the reason Non Alcoholic beverages still contain some original alcohol from wine or beer. This leads to a US Federal Law about Non Alcoholic wine or beer which states that Non Alcoholic wine or beer can contain up to 0.5% "original alcohol of wine or beer by volume."
    If you consider above breakdown of grape wine, the non alcoholic grape wine contains  5%  to 10% original amount of wine in the Non Alcoholic grape wine based on 10% to 20% alcohol content in grape wine and if the Non Alcoholic grape wine contains maximum 0.5% original alcohol of wine or beer by volume according to US federal law.

    So based on this calculation a Muslim who decides to consume Non Alcoholic grape wine  is consuming 5% to 10% of original grape wine in Non Alcoholic grape wine.
    5. Another fact is that many producers of Non Alcoholic wine and beer want to keep the same original flavors compounds in Non Alcoholic wine or beer because to match original flavor and taste of wine or beer. Sometimes they add 2-2.5% residual sugar content to match a completely dry alcoholic wine. Some companies advertized that their Non Alcoholic wine or beer contains same original abundant flavors of original wine and beer.
     
    It was reported in research that It takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager.

    MCG thinks every component of prohibited wine or Khamr is also Haram same as every part of pig is Haram. But some Muftiyans may have different opinion.
    The purpose of this scientific information is to provide facts about Non Alcoholic wine or beer to every Muslims so that they can make decision to consume or not to consume Non Alcoholic wine or beer. But Muslim
     
    Consumer Group consider Non Alcoholic wine or beer as Haram beverage and recommend Muslims not to consume them.
     
    This article is based on some available scientific literature and Allah knows better.


     

     

    08

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 01:41:25
  • Salam. Is 2-propanol which is used in cleaning chemical liquid halal or not? - Hilnaputra
  • AOA

    It is a Halal chemical.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-11-13 01:37:37
  • is taco bell halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Please check the Chain Restaurants subsection of Food Product section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 20:48:11
  • هل ان منتجات شهناز الغذائية حلال Shanawaz - ليلى
  • AOA

    ليس لدي أي معلومات وأنا حتى لا أعرف من أين خدم شهناز منتجاتها ولكن في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية أو كندا


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 18:20:58
  • ASLAM-O-ALAIKUM.I have purchased one elizabeth arden red door body cream and one mariah carey\\\'s body lotion.I donot know which ingredients they contain . so please let me know either these are halal or haram or pork derived fat? thank you - mrs.ather
  • AOA

    I have no information


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 18:16:02
  • Are herbal shampoos and body wash halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 18:15:58
  • I want to ask about the Shanawaz meat product is halal? - Layla
  • AOA

    I already reply to your question Arabic that I have no information.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 17:38:46
  • What can pregnant women eat? - Bentt
  • AOA

    Please ask your doctor.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 16:04:07
  • I would like to know if chex mix potato chips is halal or maybe ill have to return this big packet. - Zonara
  • AOA

    They are not Potato Chips but snack and none of them are Halal:

    Seach results for the term: chex

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    exclaim 100 Calories Cheddar, 100 Calories Chocolate Caramel Snack Mix Snack Mix Chex Mix Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor. 03-21-10
    exclaim Sweet N Salt Honey Nut, Sweet N Salty Carmel Crunch Snack Mix Chex Mix Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor. 03-21-10
    haram Sweet N Salty Trail Mix, Turtle Bars, Chocolate Chunck Bar snackMix Snack Mix Chex Mix Due to presence of Confectionary Glaze made with alcohol. 03-21-10
    haram Bold Party Mix, Peanut lover, Barbaque, Dark Chocolate Snack Mix, Snack Mix Chex Mix Due to presence of Confectionary Glaze made with alcohol. 03-21-10
    haram Bold Party Mix, Peanut lover, Barbaque, Dark Chocolate, Snack Mix Chex Mix Due to presence of Confectionary Glaze made with alcohol. 03-21-10
    exclaim Traditional Cheddar, Hot N Spicy, Sour Cream & Onion, Chocolate Turtle, Chcolate Peanut Butter Snack Mix Chex Mix Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor. 03-21-10

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 15:42:38
  • Asalam-o-ALlaykum, Uncle i live in Ottawa Canada. i reda a news on Facebook about MacDolnads that says : Important News- Muslim Judicial Council (MJC) and IQSA has withdrawn certification from McDonald's. Acccording to the kitchen office in Florida,United States, study into the McDonald's ingredients has shown positive evidence of #PORK materials which is called"LM10" are used in the McDonald's mayo. South African McDonald's officials have confirmed that all sauce based ingredients are imported from the US. (Muslim) consumers are advised to abstain from #McDonald's. Fatima Irani, It's your duty to inform others.... Do not ignore this Message as u will commit sin for not passing on to people. Those eating it are eating "#HARAAM FOOD". So pls do inform Others. JAZAK-ALLAH KHAIR!!! ______________________________________ I just shared this news with my friends and they said its about USA not Canada. so dose it mean that its not apply on Canada ??? I never eat McDonalds. i jus shared with my friends becoz i know many like its Fries and Fish Burger. Now tell me dose it apply on Canada also PLZ do reply soon. I used to work in Subway and i know the meat braed used to come from there main place from where they deliever it to al over. but USA n Canada they are the same almost. PLESAE correct me if i am wrong JAZAK ALLAH KHAYR Fouzia Ahmed - Fouzia Ahmed
  • OA
    Please do not use the words " It's your duty to inform others.... Do not ignore this Message as u will commit sin for not passing on to people"next time. Have you read MCDonald under Chain Restauarants on our website:

    McDonald For USA

    Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

    Halal Status Menu Item Menu Category Comments Date
    haram ALL SHAKES AND ALL DESSERT ITEMS Shakes NO CERTIFICATION 12-10-10
    halal buns Sandwich McDonald refused to provide information on whey and natural flavor. 12/26/10 12-10-10
    haram cheese Slices Sandwich No certification 12-10-10
    unknown Fish Fillet without cheese and Tarter Sauce Sandwich McDonald refused to provide information on whey and natural flavor. 12/26/10 12-10-10
    haram FRENCH FRIES Burger CONTAINING NON ZABIHA BEEF EXTRACT 12-10-10
    halal GRAPE JAM, STRAWBERRY PRESERVE Jams   12-10-10
    exclaim KETCHUP Ketchup HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR 12-10-10
    haram LIQUID MARGARINE Margarine NO INFORMATION ABOUT CERTIFICATION 12-10-10
    haram mayonnaise Mayonnaise Due to presnece of animal fat based flavor. 12-10-10
    haram MAYONNAISE DRESSING Burger Flavor conatins animal based natural flavor. the source of poly sorbate is unknown. 12-10-10
    halal MUSTARD Mustard   12-10-10
    halal Salad-lettuce, onion, tomato, fruits, lemon jiuce Mcdonald   12-10-10
    haram tartar sauce Tartar Sauce No certification

    12-10-10

    Those organizations are in South Africa and MCG has nothing to do with them. Please do not bring stuff from other countries likle South Africa.

    WE DO NOT MUSLIMS TO CONSUME ANY FOODS AT MCDONALD BECAUSE OF CROSS CONTAMINATION PORK.

    According Ingredients list of McDonlad in Canada (May 11, 2011):

    "Mayonnaise-Style Sauce: Vegetable oil (soybean and/or canola), water, frozen yolk, vinegar, sugar, salt, spices,

    xanthan gum, potassium sorbate, calcium disodium EDTA." Based on ingredients it is reported Halal under our www.canadianhalalfoods.com

     

    McDonald Canada

    Click on the table title to sort alphabetically.

    Halal Status Menu Item Menu Category Comments Date
    haram ALL SHAKES AND ALL DESSERT ITEMS Shakes NO CERTIFICATION 12-10-10
    halal buns Sandwich McDonald refused to provide information on whey and natural flavor. 12/26/10 12-10-10
    haram cheese Slices Sandwich No certification 12-10-10
    unknown Fish Fillet without cheese and Tarter Sauce Sandwich McDonald refused to provide information on whey and natural flavor. 12/26/10 12-10-10
    haram FRENCH FRIES Burger CONTAINING NON ZABIHA BEEF EXTRACT 12-10-10
    halal GRAPE JAM, STRAWBERRY PRESERVE Jams   12-10-10
    exclaim KETCHUP Ketchup HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVOR 12-10-10
    haram LIQUID MARGARINE Margarine NO INFORMATION ABOUT CERTIFICATION 12-10-10
    halal mayonnaise Sandwich   12-10-10
    haram MAYONNAISE DRESSING Burger Flavor conatins animal based natural flavor. the source of poly sorbate is unknown. 12-10-10
    halal MUSTARD Mustard   12-10-10
    halal Salad-lettuce, onion, tomato, fruits, lemon jiuce Mcdonald   12-10-10
    haram tartar sauce Tartar Sauce No certification

    12-10-10

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 06:31:57
  • Salaam. I have an eye wash that lists its main ingredients as purified and witch hazel. Is it possible that it may contain alcohol or a haraam ingredient and can you tell me the likelihood of it because it is essential thati use it. Many thanks in advance. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    You have to contact the manufacturer because I do not know.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-10-13 01:06:58
  • If cheese is made by cow or goat enzyme is it halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Cheese is only Halal if it has a Halal or kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-09-13 23:15:02
  • What is the reason that danon kids yogurt are not halal when there is no kosher gelatin in it. And they have K sign - jam
  • AOA

    KD on any yogurt does not meet only UD on plain yogurt meet the Halal requirements. But KD symbol containg yogurt are made on the same line as for Kosher Gelatin containing yogurt sothey expose to cross contamination.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-09-13 06:03:31
  • http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-made-without-porcine-enzymes.html Are cheetos halal now since August 2013? I found this. Pls go on this link; it states that their enzyme aren't made from porcine enyme. - Saleema Khan
  • AOA

    It does not matter what they say on their website. Both Cheetos and Doritos without any kosher symbol on the package are not Halal because of several things beside nobody to see what Haram hidden ingredients they are using which will not appear under the ingredients statement. They also made Cheetos and Doritos on same line where pork based products are made.

    Bottom line is that no Halal; or Kosher symbol on package means not Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-09-13 03:48:33
  • i am using revitale multi vitamins . can u plz tel me that is that haram or halal?? - sami
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal and they may use pork based ingredients as hidden ingredients.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-09-13 02:47:54
  • Do you know if the Wintergreen Ice Breakers Sugar free mints with the following ingredients are halal? (SORBITOL; CONTAINS 2% OR LESS OF: MALTITOL; MALTODEXTRIN; ARTIFICIAL FLAVOR; ASPARTAME*; MAGNESIUM STEARATE; GUM ACACIA; SOY LECITHIN; ARTIFICIAL COLOR (BLUE 1; YELLOW 5) *PHENYLKETONURICS: CONTAINS PHENYLALANINE ) - MJ KHAN
  • AOA

    The only way it be Halal that it should have a kosher symbol and no alcohol in artificial flavor.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-08-13 14:35:04
  • Is seaPak's wild Alaskan salmon burger halal? - Asma
  • AOA

    I need to know the complete ingredients statement of it.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-08-13 10:30:43
  • does sprite have any animal substances like pig,meats,chicken - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I do not thinks, the issue is alcohol in flavor.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-08-13 09:54:13
  • does pepsi have any animal substances like pig, meat, chicken ec: - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-08-13 09:51:59
  • Do you have Facebook for Muslim consumer group? - Aliya
  • AOA

    Yes, but I do not time to go and answer questions because I am answering question on two websites and two e-mails.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-08-13 07:24:51
  • which soft drinks such as 7up,pepsi,coke. are halal . - saeed muhammad
  • AOA

    Only Pepsi.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-08-13 02:41:47
  • Is hydroxycut gummies a halal product? It contains gelatine, just need to know whether its the halal type or not. - Abd khalik
  • AOA

    TITLE: Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    Posted on: 08-15-13 00:00 AM


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-07-13 23:46:27
  • Which soda drinks are halal? i cannot find any info on sodas in your website. please respond asap - Afzal Syed
  • AOA

    Category Selected: Soft Drinks

    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date

    Halal

    halal Pepsi Soft Drinks Pepsi Cola Based on anaytical lab analysis of July 24, 2012 no alcohol was detected. It showed less than 0.001%. 07-31-12

    Not Halal

    haram 7 Up Soft Drinks 7 Up Based on e-mail from 7 UP that most of the flavors in their products are designed with a carrier that is usually ethanol(Alcohol). March 2010. 7 UP has shown a higjher amount of alcohol in it. Alcohol was detected at the lvel of 480 PPM 0r 0.048% (July 24, 2012) 07-31-12
    haram Classic Coke Soft Drinks Coca Cola Based on anaytical lab analysis of July 24, 2012 . A alcohol content of 59 PPM was detected. 07-31-12
    haram Diet Pepsi Vanilla Soft Drinks Pepsi Due to presence of Vanilla Extract(35% alcohol) 12-16-10
    haram Vanilla Cola Soft Drinks Coca-cola Due to presence of vanilla extract which contains 35% alcohol. 03-23-10

    Mushbooh or Unknown

    unknown Nesta Ice Lemon, Pibb Zero, Pibb Extra, All Fanta, Fresca Zero, Valut Citrus Soft Drinks Coca-cola They have to be analyzed for alcohol. since coke contains alcohol. 03-23-10
    unknown Rc Cola, Rc Diet Cola Soft Drinks Rc Cola They have to be analyzed for alcohol. If no alcohol is detected then they are Halal otherwise not. 03-23-10
    unknown Zero, Cherry, Cherry Zero, Lime, Tab, Sprite Zero, 100 Calories Sprite Soft Drinks Coca-cola They have to be analyzed for alcohol. since coke contains alcohol. 03-23-10


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-07-13 19:41:14
  • Assalam alaikum,is kirkland Vanilla ice cream from Costco halal?Jazakallah. - Ad
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because vanilla flavor is not Halal because it contains alcohol.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-07-13 19:10:43
  • Red lobster biscuit is halal? - Nabila
  • AOA

    I have no information. I never eat them at Red Lobster.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-07-13 19:01:56
  • Please tell me if Baja Fish is Halal and where can I find more info on that and fish?????????? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I think Baja Fish is the fish obtained from California Baja peninsula. If it is fish then it is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-07-13 17:46:31
  • Is bry yeast Halal? This is what I found in the Internet BRY-97 American West Coast Yeast BRY-97 American West Coast Yeast was selected from the Siebel Institute Culture Collection and is used by a number of commercial breweries to produce different types of ale. The propagation and drying process have been specifically designed to deliver high quality beer yeast that can be used simply and with reliability to help produce ales of the finest quality. No colours, preservatives or other unnatural substances have been used in its preparation. The yeast is produced in ISO 9002 certified plants. Microbiological Properties: • Classified as Saccharomyces cerevisiae • A top fermenting yeast. • The active dried strain has a typical analysis: Percent solids 93 – 95 % Living yeast cells ≥ 5 x 109 per gram of dry yeast Wild yeast < 1 per 106 yeast cells* (Lysine method) Bacteria < 1 per 106 yeast cells* • Finished products are only released to the market after passing a rigorous series of tests. *according to ASBC and EBC methods of analysis Brewing Properties: • Quick start and vigorous fermentation, which can be completed in 4 days above 17 °C. • Medium to high attenuation, • Fermentation rate, fermentation time and degree of attenuation are dependent upon inoculation density, yeast handling, fermentation temperature and the nutritional quality of the wort. • BRY-97 American West Coast Yeast is a flocculent strain. Settling can be promoted by cooling and use of fining agents and isinglass. • The aroma is slightly estery, almost neutral and does not display malodours when properly handled. It may tend, because of flocculation, to slightly reduce hop bitter levels • Best when used at traditional ale temperatures after re-hydration in the recommended manner. Product Technical Data Sheets: - Nana
  • AOA

    It is a beer yeast to brew ale and beer and if it is obtained as a by-product of brewing ale or beer then it is a Haram yeast. Only baker yeast is Halal.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-07-13 15:37:00
  • is portside frozen fish at save a lot halal - jeffery williams
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-06-13 11:40:29
  • Wanted to know if appoe and eve fruut and vegetable juices are halal - mohammed patel
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-06-13 11:20:54
  • Creamy milk chocolate with crisped rice crunch nestle is it halal - Nisreen
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-06-13 07:25:36
  • Does "Foster Clark" produce halal product? - Tania Islam
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-06-13 03:32:31
  • Is pure vita canola spread margarine halal? - Zeynep
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: E-Numbers
    09-06-13 01:09:14
  • The chapstick brand name is chapstick and it has menthol, cetyl alcohol, and oleyl alcohol. I was wondering if it is still halal to use? It's manufactured by Pfizer. - Fezan Ali
  • AOA

    Seach results for the term: Chapstic

    Total results generated: 1
    New Title Description Date
    NO ANIMAL FAT INGREDIENTS & ALCOHOL IN CHAPSTICKS

    Whitehall-Robins of Madison, NJ has informed MCG that Regular, Strawberry flavored, Cherry Flavored, Mint, New All Natural, Medicated and Lip Moisture Chap Sticks are free from animal fat derived ingredients and ethyl alcohol. The Lanolin is obtained from sheep wool without slaughtering the sheep. The wax is made from Bee wax.
     

    04/08/07

    Category: E-Numbers
    09-05-13 19:15:14