USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  E-Numbers  [ 743 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 705 ]
  •  General Question  [ 308 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 179 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 336 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 2 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 210 ]

Recent Questions:

  • As Salamu Alaykum Whenever you update some info about any particulara product the date is mentioned next t it in all your listings ...now the question is that what is the guarantee that its status is not going to change ...and what if we consume the product that has undergone a change in its manufacturing method after you mentioned with a particular date (like as of 10 oct 2009 this product is halal now what if the company guys make changes post that date). - Syed Areeb
  • AOA

    Are you in USA, the webs developer has removed all old product from 2009. Most of them 3-4 years old. Some product do not change for 30 years. Kellogg Special K Original was developed in 80s still Halal and use same ingredients.


    Category: General Question
    05-23-15 01:05:04
  • Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu. Brother, u told me that a new website is getting launched in India through New Delhi for Halal and Haram products in India. Please tell me when will it be available and what is the name of it? Jazak Allahu Khairan. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    I am helping www.halalsign.com in New Dehli, India, they have our logo on their website.


    Category: General Question
    05-22-15 12:49:00
  • Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu. Brother, after checking the Indian section, I found that some Amul products are listed Halal. Please tell me on what basis they are Halal. Jazak Allahu Khairan. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    They are based on the information on their website except

    unknown Table Margarine Margarine Amul Non complete ingredients provided by Amul Company. 02-09-15

    Category: General Question
    05-22-15 12:44:38
  • Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu. Brother, I came to know through your website that if it is necessary to take a gelatin capsule then we must throw the capsule and pour the ingredients inside apple sauce and consume it. I ask u why only Apple sauce is prefered? Why not others? I got this question because in Hyderabad it is difficult to get Apple sauce. But we get Tomato sauce or Acchaar (Pickle). Jazak Allahu Khairan. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    Since apple is in every Muslim house in USA so it is written for US Muslims. You can use any Halal thing.


    Category: General Question
    05-22-15 12:37:51
  • al-salaamu alaykum. Thank you for all that you are doing with MCG and helping Muslims all over the world. If their is anything I can do to assist please let me know. JazakAllahu khayr. - Jacob Carroll
  • AOA

    Appreciate your kind comment so far I am ok thanks any way for offering the help. May Allah Bless you.


    Category: General Question
    05-21-15 07:41:38
  • Please let me know that sulphites from vegetable source are halal?I bought s product and confirmed from company they answered me that its not halal certified but we are sure that its suitable for vegetarians so should i use that product? - usman
  • AOA

    Sulphites are chemical and they are Halal in USA.


    Category: General Question
    05-20-15 18:17:45
  • Asa I just want to know that whether princess Marshmallows halal or not. In the past , halal was written on their marsh- mallows packets. But now it is not written and it's now confusing that are they halal. Kindly solve this issue Thanks - Rhazia
  • AOA

    I have no information. Please do not use it.


    Category: General Question
    05-20-15 16:22:25
  • I called to Fritos and asked about their grandma's chocolate chip cookies , whether they have alcohol in them or not. The lady answer me that she is not sure because if they use alcohol in the process of making anything they don't consider it to be notified. - Sumira Rahman
  • AOA

    She is wrong, most of cookies are made with alcohol containing flavor. Please ask alcohol in flavor question this way:

    " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent".


    Category: General Question
    05-20-15 14:42:17
  • What kind of gelatin in this product?? - Sundown naturals Garlic odorless softgels
  • AOA

    Mostly from pig.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 22:09:00
  • Al-salaamu alaykum, are pretzels and crackers made with bakers yeast? JazakAllahu khayr - Jacob Carroll
  • AOA

    Yes, but other ingredients has to be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 18:34:31
  • Is K in a circle orthodox kosher symbol? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 16:44:56
  • Are Snickers all types and sizes from Mars or Snickers brand halaal? JazakAllah Khair - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are Halal in USA.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 16:13:03
  • Is the U inside a circle with a D by it An orthodox kosher symbol? JazakAllah Khair - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Yes but:

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction), (20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 16:07:54
  • As Salamu Alaykum Brother the site claims parle hide and seek to be halal but it has invert sugar syrup, cocoa solids, artificial vanilla flavouring in it also the product Mango Frooti - there it says that its non alcoholic but you have asked us to know that wether the solvent used is ethyl alcohol or not as these company people look at ingredient and say there is no alcohol . so I am just reconfirming Secondly, you post a date in front of the update for a product but whats the guarantee that post that date the manufacturer won't adopt unIslamic methods of production. What if we consume ? Also here in India nowadays some fruit sellers inject some sort of sweetening chemical in some fruit and for some fruits they inject color also .....Now i don't know that what is that chemical or agent made off .....secondly how can i be sure of this because its not that easy to identify which one is the injected one. Now when it comes to mango or some other fruits of which i don't know some people use calcium carbide to ripe the mangoes artificially ..whats it status ? Is the case of tabdeele mahiya (like use of bone char in case of sugar) considered in all the four school of thoughts or just in the hanafi fiqh Regarding the difficulty in bringing up an Indian website. I am ready to help, InshAllaah i'll send you the product ingredients or rather click a picture of it and send it to you . so that you may have access to specifications and InshAllaah will also give you their customer care no. and email id. - Syed Areeb
  • AOA

    MCG invested thoroughly and then published that they are Halal. The y use Halal artificial vanilla flavor, Invert sugar Halal. Please go to our Ingredients section see which ingredients are Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 07:57:23
  • As-salamu_alaykum which vitamins brands r halal for Muslim men and women to use in india - Saba
  • AOA

    There are 53 Halal vitamins listed on our website. Please write Vitamin under search click Food Product by Category then click show only Halal then click search.

     

     

     

     

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14
    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 07:21:22
  • Are cereals like (arhar dal, moong dal, choley ) halal in India ? because TATA Group have come up with their i-Shakti Dals and they claim the following " i-Shakti dals are unpolished and have not been damaged by artificial stone powder, colour or oil that are used by others to polish dals. While processing i-Shakti Dals we do not add marble powder (very harmful for intestines), oil polish (added fat), water polish (source of water is unknown) or leather belt polish (animal skin touch) Please Advise - Syed Areeb
  • AOA

    Without ingredients statement I can not judege the products. See if there is any Green dot. If there is no Green dot on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-15 00:38:56
  • It hala. To used speed stick gear - Ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-18-15 06:35:19
  • If possible, could you please list kosher orthodox symbols? JazakAllah Khair. We need to know them for food products. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

     

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-17-15 11:31:54
  • are all type of salts halal like the one used for cooking , black pepper salt, chat masala salt or the one used in juices to make the juice chatpata (that tangy flavour) - Syed Areeb
  • AOA

    100% salt is Halal. Salt with 100% spices are Halal but it should not have flavoring.


    Category: General Question
    05-17-15 10:18:23
  • Ethyl alcohol in perfume halal in use. - Mohammad quaisar
  • AOA

    NO.


    Category: General Question
    05-17-15 00:03:37
  • Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullah hi wa barkatuhu. Second question by me brother. After going through your website today, I found that only a few Indian Muslims r visiting ur website. If more Muslims know about ur website it will better for us as we can gather more information about Indian products. My question is-- Are u thinking about any advertisements or spreading knowledge about ur website? If not, please think about it. However I told to some friends about your website. And my complain is that it is very difficult to search for any product on your website. It is also very difficult to operate it. Please do something about it. Jazak Allah. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    MCG website is mostly for 8 million US Muslims, I did a favor to add the Indina Food Section but it under Food Product section. I will ask my web developer to add another section on Home page for Indian Food. Yes need advertisement for my website in India. If you have any suggestion, please inform me. India is 4th country after USA, Canda and UK where most people visit my website. There is a new Indian Halal website who are putting MCG website name on their website.


    Category: General Question
    05-16-15 14:25:20
  • Assalaamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barkatuhu. Brother, I m back after my examinations as I promised u in March. First of all, I would like to ask u about ur health. How is your leg now? I hope in sha Allah u r doing well. Coming to the question of food products, recently I had sent a letter to Hindustan Unilever Limited asking about Ethyl Alcohol in their product Kisaan Fruit Jam. And today I received a letter from them. Please read this very carefully and if u think it is Halal or Haram then u post it in the Indian section. --------------------------------------------Dear Mr. Muteeb, Thank you for writing to us. Apologies for the delayed response. 1. Propylene Glycol is used for extraction of flavouring components. Ethyl alcohol is not used as an extractant in the flavour composition. However there can be residual presence of ethyl alcohol as carry over from a flavoring ingredient to <50 ppm in accordance with Indian food law. The process of Jam manufacture involves heating and hence loss of heat sensitive volatiles like alcohol. In addition we want to share that the flavours in Kissan Mixed fruit Jam fulfill the below mentioned requirements from in perspective of Islamic community: 1) This product does not contain ingredient of HARAM animal origin that are not permitted according to the Islamic religious requirements. 2) This product does not contain ethanol that is not permitted according to the Islamic religious requirements. 3) The equipment used for manufacturing, filling, packing and storing this product does not contain and is not contaminated by HARAM animal product. 4) This product is not of animal origin and does not contain animal origin constituents. 5) This product is not of grape or wine origin and does not contain grape or wine constituents. 6) Nothing of animal, grape or wine source was present during the manufacture of this product.” 7) Alcohol (ethyl alcohol) is not used in flavors that we use in our ice creams. 8) There are no animal derivatives in our soap, detergent and shampoo. For edible products request you to please check the list of ingredients and the veg/non veg logo. Warm Regards, Lever Care Team, Toll free number: 18001022221 PO Box No 14080, Mumbai 400099 Email: lever.care@unilever.com ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------I also gave u their phone number and email id so that u can also contact them for any product. Please reply as soon as possible. Jazak Allah. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    Thanks for asking about my health alhumdulillah wound on my foot was healed but I still some pain.

    It is not Halal.

    Our phone number is 847-802-6917

    E-mail addres: Halalfoods@hotmail.com


    Category: General Question
    05-16-15 14:13:38
  • lux international soap halal or not - Aftab Alam
  • AOA

    It is not Halal in USA.


    Category: General Question
    05-16-15 06:05:46
  • what kind of gelatin is in vitafol Ultra - nadia
  • AOA

    If it is from pork then it is Haram, if it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If it is a fish gelatin then it is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-15-15 07:51:33
  • What kind of gum is halal - ebony jenkins
  • AOA

    Please search it on our website.


    Category: General Question
    05-15-15 06:45:03
  • Centrum tablet halal hai? - najam
  • AOA

    None of them are Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-13-15 15:50:28
  • FDA AND WHO APROVED ARE HALAL AND URBANDECAY AND DMGM COSMETICS ARE HALAL - ZUNAIRA RASHAM
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-13-15 14:59:33
  • ASA Are women allowed to use a makeup brush made from goats hair? Thank you. Wsl - Sam
  • AOA

    If it is from 100% goat hair yes.


    Category: General Question
    05-13-15 04:26:02
  • Al-salaamu alaykum, I read that you say the yeast in bakery products will always use bakers yeast. What is considered a bakery product? Is their a list? JazakAllahu khayr - Jacob Carroll
  • AOA

    Bread, Rolls, pizza crust, Yeast Raised donut and more. But all other ingredients has to be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-15 18:56:47
  • For a yogurt to be halaal, one reqrequirement is to have a kosher symbol. Is KD fine? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Requirements for a Halal yogurt are:

    It should always have OUD kosher symbol not KD.

    It should not contain Carrageenan.

    It should not contain kosher gelatin.

    It should not contain flavor because all falavor are made with alcohol.

    It should not contain Pectin.

    Only plain yogurt is Halal with above condition.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-15 18:03:06
  • I want to used fairness cream BT it HV cytail alcohol and other HV benzola alcohol am I use this?plz answer my question jazakallah - shakil ahmod
  • AOA

    Benzyl alcohol is Halal but Cetyl alcohol is fat based ingredients only Halal if it is made from vegetable fat.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-15 09:40:28
  • Are Branched-Chain Amino Acids halal or not? - AS BEG
  • AOA

    Branching of amino acids has nothing to do with Halal. Only vegetable based protein and their amino acids are Halal either straight  chain or branched amono acids. If it is from soy protein then it is Halal but if it is from pok protein then it is Haram.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-15 05:59:06
  • Is the below vitamins are Halal ? Company name Product Name FINEST NUTRITION B-COMPLEX NATURE MADE FISH OIL NATURE MADE E VITAMIN ALIVE MEN'S ENERGY - Muhammad M Rashid
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14
    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: General Question
    05-10-15 23:44:38
  • is gelatin from cow and goat resources are halal? - Muhammad hayat
  • AOA

    If cow and goat slaughtered islamically.


    Category: General Question
    05-09-15 18:39:59
  • Is cinnamon bad for a mom that has a baby? JAZAKULLAH KHAIRAN! - amira asaad
  • AOA

    No it is not.


    Category: General Question
    05-09-15 16:50:42
  • Is naan/bread/flat bread Halaal from Baghdad Bakery? Ingredients are: flour, water, salt, yeast. Also, how are you sure that yeast used in breads is bakers yeast and Halaal? Can't they put Brewers yeast, too? JazakAllahu Khairan - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Baghdad Bakery products if used above ingredients then they are Halal. Brewer Yeast can not use in making bread because it does not make bread to rise. Only Halal baker's yeast is used.


    Category: General Question
    05-09-15 16:19:06
  • Is Vanillin, Artificial Flavor Halaal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-15 18:31:00
  • 1) Is Kit Kat (all types) in USA still Halaal? 2) is Vanillin, An Artificial Flavor Halaal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Both are Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-15 18:28:55
  • I want to know if 7 eleven pizza is hallal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-15 17:28:18
  • Asalaam Alaikum. I have a website, and I have bars trying to buy advertising space on my website, is it halaal for me to take their money? I assume it's ok to allow restuarants to buy ad space, but i believe these businesses are specificlly social bars that serve alcohol. - Noor E.
  • AOA

    It is not Halal for you to get money by advertising a restaurant who sell alcohol. You can not drink alcohol, can not carry it, can not work in a bar, can not give liquor as gift to someone and can not accept liqupr with alcohol in it as gift. These are Islamic Sharia rules for Alcohol a intoxicant.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-15 15:05:20
  • wanted to know is dazit -film coated tablets are halal - SHAMMA
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-07-15 08:17:46
  • Is Amoxicillin capsule halal - Najiba
  • AOA

    Capsule is made mostly pork gelatin. If it is prescribed by a doctor then open the capsule put all powder antibiotic on a spoon of apple sauce and consume it. Please throughout the pork gelatin capsule in garbage.


    Category: General Question
    05-06-15 10:24:39
  • A/A Nescafe(India) coffee mentions only ingredient as; INGREDIENT:COFFEE BEANS. It has a green dot. Is it HALAL? - ISRAR AHMAD MIR
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if there is no flavor in it.


    Category: General Question
    05-05-15 00:05:57
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br I received an email from the company Wrigley and the email is as follows Dear Mr. Mohammed,   Thanks for your query. We understand your concern for presence of Ethyl alcohol in flavors of Boomer bubble gum, as under Islamic rules, this is related to the Halal status of the products.   We would like to share with you that all our Boomer products, are Halal Certified  and does not contain any extrinsic Ethyl alcohol. Please feel free to contact us, for any other query. Regards, Neha Is this product halal?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it is Halal certified a honest Halal certifying organization in India then you can consume it.


    Category: General Question
    05-04-15 13:10:44
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br you have given 'FROOTI' as halal in Indian Food Section but I think 'FROOTI' should also be sent to lab for Alcohol.I think 'FROOTI' can also contain Alcohol please clarify. Jazakallah hu khayr. May Allah(Subhan hu wa taala) guide us to the straight path.Ameen YA Allah - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    In USA, we trust whatever food companies are telling to consumers but in India it is different story. I is based on the company statement I do not how true it is in India. MCG do not have money to send the product to lab but one organization are sending food products to lab for presence of pork and alcohol. They are based in New Dehli and I am advising them freely. They are in the process of making a website.

    It is shame noboy trust food companies in India.


    Category: General Question
    05-04-15 13:02:07
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br I received an email from a company regarding their product but they also wrote like this CONFIDENTIALITY NOTE: This email (including any attachments to it) is confidential, legally privileged, subject to copyright and is sent for the personal attention of the intended recipient only. If you have received this email in error, please advise us immediately and delete it. You are notified that dliability for the content of this email, or for the consequences of any actions taken on the basis of the information provided in this email or its attachments, unless that information is subsequently confirmed in writing. My question to you is that if I will publish the email on your website then WILL IT BE A CHEATING??sclosing, copying, distributing or taking any action in reliance on the contents of this information is strictly prohibited. We exclude any - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Please ignore it.


    Category: General Question
    05-04-15 12:55:57
  • assalamu alaikum, a lot of products such as toilitries tend to contain the ingredient 'parfum'. is this halal for us to use? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If alcohol is used in Parfum whicg is fragrance then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-03-15 18:26:13
  • Aslam o Alaikum first afal Iam really happy that you are working this much for Islam. My question is this that how is working in tiens in islam in hanafi relegion in pakistan they have a method of making team - hikmatkhan
  • AOA

    Thanks for your dua but I do not undrestand your question, if it is working teams then you can work.


    Category: General Question
    05-03-15 07:28:41
  • Assalaamu'alaikum Gatsby cologne halal or haram ? - febrian
  • AOA

    If it contains alcohol in fragrance then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-03-15 04:58:20
  • Al Salam alaykum, I love this website! I want to know if Sara lee corn muffins Contain pork. I don't know how to read labels To find pig ingredients Thanks Alot , jazak Allah khair - Selma
  • AOA

    Sara Lee Food Service's Corn Muffins are Halal. It has a Kosher symbol which means no pork is used. Kosher Symbol such as OU, Circle K, V, CRC etc if you see on the package it means not pork but:

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction), (20) Any grape wine by-product such grape skin powder, grape seed oil, grape seed extract.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-15 19:51:22
  • IS ROMA PIZZA DOW AND SAUCE HALAL? NEW FRENCHISE IN TN USA - Syed shah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-15 17:27:45
  • Assalaam_u_alaikum ! I need to ask you that some of the Upc code for halal products and medicines on your website does not matches with the upc code on that product in the market but the product name and the brand name is the same .So can we still buy this product? And Is Vo5 shampoo and conditioner halal.Please answer for my upc code question. - mehnaz
  • AOA

    It is possible the UPC code number may be written wron but I was very care ful but product name is same then you do not hav eto vworry. The company told me Vo5 does not contain pork fat. But I suggest to use Prell or White Rain.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-15 01:54:20
  • Inhalers are being prescribed to every asthma patient having breathing difficulty. Kindly confirm if teae inhalers like Ventolin, Seretide, clenil contain alcohol as propellant. Which alcohol they contain, are they Halal to use?? As during asthma it's compulsory to take atleast Ventolin for quick relief while Seretide and clenil are maintainace therapy, kindly do search on it if u don't know the answer. As if it contain ethanol what other options we could have to save the life of asthmatic, which if not treated during exacerbation may lead to death. Jazakallah Allah - Hina
  • AOA

     I did not research them.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-15 01:24:24
  • I live in USA and I saw a mentos gum that said Arabic gum, gelatin. Does that mean it's still haram? - Noor
  • AOA

    It is not Halal. If gelatin from pig then it is Haram.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: General Question
    05-01-15 18:40:02
  • Is the data given on your website about chain restaurants,valid for Pakistan - Taha Alam
  • AOA

    No, only in USA.


    Category: General Question
    05-01-15 14:14:55
  • Assalamualaikum warehmatullahi wabarkatuhu Is cream bell ice creams (India) halal for Muslims - Shini
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-01-15 08:19:36
  • Asalamalaikum I am interested to join Macs convenience store as dealer in Canada. Is this dealership halal or haram as they sell lottery tickets and cigarettes and lot of food stuff which mayor may not be halal. Please let me know Jazakallah - Mohammed Abdul rahman
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    05-01-15 01:05:43
  • Which toothpaste is halal,and which Item is halal in braums. - Syedsumbulnaz
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    04-30-15 20:27:20
  • Assalaamu 'Alaikum. Is the information on Scan Halal correct? Ex: Coca Cola contains alcohol. Some products contain pork. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: scan Halal

    Total results generated: 1
    Alert TitleDescriptionDate
    MCG recommends Muslims not to use Scan Halal APP because they recommend Non Halal foods as Halal

    MCG recommends Muslims not to use Scan Halal APP because they recommend Non Halal foods as Halal. They are doing disservice to Ummah by charging money to Muslims to eat Non Halal  foods.

    MCG went through the Scan Halal APP and found that many food products assigned as Halal are actually they are not Halal at all. For example:

    1. Classic Coca Cola has given green circle which means Halal when MCG spend money to send Coca Cola, Pepsi and 7UP to a outside lab to perform Alcohol. The outside lab detected alcohol in Coca Cola and & 7UP but not in Pepsi. Alcohol is a intoxicant and Haram. From a Hadith:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 ).

    2. Alcohol is also use in many natural and artificial flavor, the Scan Halal has given Halal status to many food products which are made with alcohol containing flavor.

    3. Halal status was given to Kraft Free Ranch Salad Dressing. All Kraft Salad Dressings are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified. Bacon containing Kraft Salad Dressings are made on the same line where Kraft Free Ranch Salad Dressing is made. So there is cross contamination with Bacon.

    4. Halal status was given to Cheetos Nacho Cheese. Again Cheetos are not under Halal or Kosher certification.

    5. No consideration was given to processing aid or Hidden ingredients used in many products listed as Halal.

    6. Scan Halal is not managed by food science professionals.

    Based on above facts MCG advises Muslims not to use Scan Halal in supermarkets otherwise you are bringing non Halal food products to your homes and masajid.

    04/01/15

    Category: General Question
    04-30-15 18:48:37
  • AOA BROTHER, I WANT TOASK A QQUESTION CAN WE BUY USED POTS OR MACHOCNES LIKE BREAD MACHINE KITCHEN AID ETC FROM SAVERS OR ANY OTHER THRIFT STORE THANKS - saba
  • AOA

    Yes, but you have wash with several times and it is allow in Islam. A hadith related Hajrat Omar Bin Qattab RA who allow the utensil obtained from non Muslims and allow to use after thoroughly cleaning it.


    Category: General Question
    04-30-15 16:08:11
  • Hello, I was wondering if the french vanilla at tim hortons, and the lemonade is Halal?? - Sara
  • AOA

    Both are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-30-15 01:24:53
  • Advil Liquid-Gels cap is halal ? please reply me soon as possible - waqar jamali
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-29-15 14:12:29
  • Asalamualikum warahmatullah Is Pepsi cold drink with a green dot on it's pack & following indgredients halal in India: "CARBONATED WATER, SUGAR, COLOUR(150d), ACIDITY REGULATOR(338).". Contains permitted and natural colour & added flavour(natural flavouring substances). - Mir Ahzam
  • AOA

    Pepsi is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-29-15 07:40:11
  • Salam alaikon, I would like to know if Dehydrated/ powder Soy Sauce is Halal? Because this product is made by the dried of traditional soy sauce (liquid and fermented), so in the final product the alcohol evaporates. - Elaine
  • AOA

    Even it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-29-15 07:35:03
  • My do you not make freshers antacid cool mint. In a large bottle . I have looked all over Walmart for them. I like these better than anything I have taken. - mark seals
  • AOA

     I did not research them.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-15 18:45:05
  • which face wash and lotion is halal or OK to use in USA. - Anonymous user
  •    

    AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-15 15:31:08
  • Are the products in China Pagoda Paterson,NJ halal? Is the meat there halal? - Seniha Okdemir
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-15 11:11:21
  • glycerin soap is halal or non-halal ? - ummu basyirah
  • AOA

    If the glycerin made from plant fat and did not use alcohol in fragrance then it is Halal otherwise not.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-15 08:39:23
  • is sara lee delightful bread haram or halal - ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    04-27-15 17:11:43
  • Can we use a product having mushbooh ingredients? - Nazneen
  • AOA

    NO


    Category: General Question
    04-27-15 13:28:37
  • 1) Is yeast a Halaal ingredient of the product has a Halaal symbol and a V on it? 2) Also, don't companies keep changing the ingredients of products every six months or so? If this is the case, then how can we be sure that something from 2010 or 2011 is still Halaal? JazakAllah Khair. The work you do and this website is appreciated. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Ingredients of yeast never changed who ever saying have no knowledge. If there kosher symbol like V on the package then it is Halal. Yeast is not sell as a 100% yeast because it need the flowing so they add fat based ingredients as flowing agent. Ingredienst of popular food products never change because consumer are use to it. Kelloggs Special K original cereal ingredients never d=changes since 30 years.


    Category: General Question
    04-26-15 20:51:10
  • Asalam U Alaikum, Question 2: it says on your website that Classic Chocolate Ice Cream by Friendly's is halal, but if you look at the comments section, it says that "Yes, the correct answer is that alcohol is used as a solvent in the natural and artificial flavors" . So isn't this haram? but on your website it is marked as halal, why? So is this halal or haram? Jazak Allah Khayr. Thank You. -[Anonymous user] AOA "Halal if no alcohol is used in flavor" assignment does not mean it is Hala it requires inquiry with manufacturer to find out whether they use alcohol as a solvent in flavor or not. -------------------------------- so why is this marked halal in your website? so is this halal or not? Jazak Allah Khayr. - Muhammad Usman
  • AOA

    There is no flavor used in Friendly Classic Ice Cream. It is Halal. Here aare the ingredients:

    Ingredients:

    MILK, CREAM, SKIM MILK, SUGAR, CORN SYRUP, COCOA (PROCESSED WITH ALKALI), WHEY PROTEIN CONCENTRATE, WHEY, BUTTERMILK, GUAR GUM, MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES, XANTHAN GUM, CARRAGEENAN.

    Please read the ingredients before asking question.

     


    Category: General Question
    04-26-15 13:45:23
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br it is given in Indian food section that FROOTI IS halal but I think like coco cola and many other drinks FROOTI can also contain Alcohol. So please clarify regarding the status given to FROOTI as halal. Jazakallah hu khayr. May Allah(Subhan hu wa taala) guide us to the straight path.Ameen YA Allah. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Please read this staement from our website. The Halal status based on company statement provided brothers and sisters in India becauise I have no otherway to find out.

    halal Mango Frooti Juices Parle Agro Brother N Syed has send this e-mail from India to MCG: Dear Navdel, Yes, it is product of India & it does not contain alcohol. It is non alcoholic ready to serve beverage. For any further query, please write back to us. Best Regards, Manoj Sawant Parle Agro Pvt. Ltd. Mumbai, India 02-09-15

    Category: General Question
    04-26-15 10:33:37
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br I received an email from a company regarding their product but they also wrote like this CONFIDENTIALITY NOTE: This email (including any attachments to it) is confidential, legally privileged, subject to copyright and is sent for the personal attention of the intended recipient only. If you have received this email in error, please advise us immediately and delete it. You are notified that disclosing, copying, distributing or taking any action in reliance on the contents of this information is strictly prohibited. We exclude any liability for the content of this email, or for the consequences of any actions taken on the basis of the information provided in this email or its attachments, unless that information is subsequently confirmed in writing. My question to you is that if I will publish the email on your website then WILL IT BE A CHEATING?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    This is normal legal notes the all food companie write to protect them from legal problem. Just ignore it.


    Category: General Question
    04-26-15 08:58:05
  • Asalam wa alaykom muslim consumer group, I was asking if caramel had alcohol. We ate it a lot..... But I have a feeling it has alcohol! I wanted to know for the safety of my family!!!!! Maasalama!!!! - amira asaad
  • AOA

    Caramel color is a Halal ingredient obtained by burning sugar. It has no alcohol.


    Category: General Question
    04-25-15 16:09:29
  • Asalam U Alaikum, is this halal? "Very Thin 100% Whole Wheat Bread" by pepperidge farm. Link online: http://www.pepperidgefarm.com/ProductDetail.aspx?catID=755&prdID=11798 - Muhammad Usman
  • AOA

    The website did not mentioned ingredients so you have to provide if it contains butter then they will use unsalted butter with flavoring.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-15 18:05:41
  • Is fish oil with vitamin D3 AdultGummies have pork coz this Gummies have gelatin so its haram if i take this vitamin? - muna
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14
    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: General Question
    04-24-15 12:40:27
  • Bush's Best Pinto Beans - Yusuf
  • AOA

    If it is 100% pure cooked pinto beans without meat with chemical then it is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-15 12:29:05
  • it is ANLENE HALAL? - nasiha
  • AOA

    Anlene is a brand name of milk powder in far east countrie not available in USA. First rule it has to have a Halal symbol on the package and should not contain alcohol in flavor. If these things are not meet then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-15 04:20:00
  • fructo-aligosarcaride in anlenefos insulin chocolate flavour 19-50 year it is halal? - nasiha
  • AOA

    Fructo-aligosarcaride is plant based ingredient and it is Halal. But Chocolate flavor may contain alcohol.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-15 04:02:07
  • lemon flavour, vitamin premix(iron, Vitamin A, Iodine) in RUSKI Tom Yam Flavour Instant Noodles it is halal?what category n the description - nasiha
  • AOA

    Flavor mostly made with alcohol, I need to know the ingredients of noodle. Whenever a non popular ask by anybod I do not know their Halal status so you have to provide ingredients statement and presence or absence of kosher symbol.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-15 02:06:53
  • Hello Dear, There are some different products of food that I use in daily meals which are not listed to be Halal or not. So, I need to know if it is okay "means Halal" to keep using them or not to avoid. Please, if you do not mind, send me the best way to know that. Thank you, Zeyani, - Abdulbaset Alzayani
  • AOA

    It is very difficult for common Muslim consumer to judge the Halal status of a food product. But can look our criteria for Halal listed under MCG Halal Certification section.


    Category: General Question
    04-23-15 23:59:53
  • Why alcohol is haram in perfumes or any other products applied on body, As their intake is haram because they cause intoxication. - irum
  • AOA

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 )

    Human body has porous cells on their skin so alcohol go inside the body. You can pray after apply alocohol based fragrance to your body according many ulema.


    Category: General Question
    04-22-15 10:32:44
  • I am not sure why I need to look for kosher symbol when trying to decide if a product is halal. Can you please shed some light on this matter. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Following are reason.

    1. Food Products without Halal kosher symbol has no way to find out their sources, if fat based ingredients are used then they source it from pork fat unless you call manufacturer to ask the the source of ingredients. Common consumer do not call to manufacturer for every products.

    2. All foods are made with hidden ingredients such as apple juice where pork gelatin used during apple juice processing. Halal or Kosher symbol protec Muslims from Haram hidden ingredients.


    Category: General Question
    04-22-15 05:05:39
  • is 'natural mint flavouring' halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contain alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-21-15 18:04:42
  • is caffeine-free coffee decaffeinated purely with water? or does it all depend on manufacturer? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are all Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-21-15 17:57:48
  • is the glazing agent acacia halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Most glazing agent contain alcohol you have to make sure alcohol was not used to be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-21-15 17:45:31
  • If a product has traces of soy, milk, wheat and a kosher symbol, is the traces of soy, milk, & wheat halaal? JazakAllah khair - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Yes but other ingredients has to be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-20-15 19:42:42
  • some products have 'natural flavourings' listed as an ingredient. what is this and is it halal? thanks. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it is sauce or BBQ Sauce or Tomato Ketchup the natural flavoring is a Oleoresin of black pepper and it is Halal. But in not sauce type of food product it may be flavor with alcohol.


    Category: General Question
    04-20-15 11:24:02
  • sandwich mate singles is halal cheese or not, i took from jewel osco,or can u tell me which cheese is halal,name of ceese,i can buy from jewel ooosco. - shafia
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-20-15 09:25:41
  • AOA is noodle wave halal in Texas? - Yasmeen
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-15 21:25:37
  • As-salamu alaykum, I was just wondering if Giordano's Pizza and Lou Malnati's Pizza were hala and okay to eat. I have heard different opinions from people but nothing from a legit confirmed source. I hope to hear back from you soon Insha'Allah - Raja Umair-Amjad
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-15 10:13:53
  • Is it OK to have vegetarian pizza from Domino's? They do take care and keep the ingredients and utensils separated from the ones used for any other meat (non-hilal) products. However the oven, the vege pizza is baked in, is the same where all other pizzas are baked; including the ones with pork. So is it advisable to have it? - hadia
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: General Question
    04-17-15 07:51:57
  • assalamua'laikum what kind halal medicine for sinusitis? thank u - ann cinta
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    04-17-15 01:40:41
  • is kombucha tea halal? - Anonymous user
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    04-16-15 10:50:37
  • Assalaamu alaykum, I found out that the Carrageenan used is kosher, as well not using ethanol in its production, but why is isoproply alcohol allowed? What's the difference? - Abdullaah
  • AOA

    From our News section:

     

    New TitleDescriptionDate
    Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken it out completely is Halal

    What is Isopropyl Alcohol

    Isopropyl alcohol (isopropanol, 2-propanol, propan-2-ol) is commonly used as a disinfectant, antifreeze, and solvent, and typically comprises 70 percent of "rubbing alcohol." People ingest isopropyl alcohol to become intoxicated (ie, ethanol substitute) or to harm themselves. When ingested, isopropyl alcohol functions primarily as a central nervous system (CNS) inebriant and depressant, and its toxicity and treatment resemble that of ethanol.

    Isopropyl Alcohol Manufacturing

    Isopropyl alcohol is made from fossil fuels that are processed through a hydration process where the propene derived from the fossil fuel is combined with water causing a chemical reaction. Distillation then occurs to process out any byproducts to form pure isopropyl alcohol. This can then be mixed back with a percent of distilled water or sold in pure form. It can also be used as ingredient in healthcare or cleaning products at this point.

    What is the Difference Between Ethyl Alcohol and Isopropyl Alcohol

    Although both are forms of alcohol, ethyl alcohol and Isopropyl alcohol have more differences than similarities. The differences begin at the sources they are made from. Ethel alcohol is most commonly derived from corn and isopropyl alcohol is derived from propene which can come from fossil fuels such as coal, petroleum or natural gas. Ethyl alcohol is subject to an excise tax by the federal government according to its percent proof. Isopropyl alcohol is only subject to sales tax.

    MCG 's ulema Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan consider Isopropyl alcohol as intoxicant and Haram if use in food product or any non food product.

    ( http://www.ehow.com/info_8032957_difference-ethyl-alcohol-isopropyl-alcohol.html)

    Use of Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing of certain Ingredients and taken out completely is Halal

    Our Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rehman Khan said that if Isopropyl Alcohol is used during the processing of Carrageenan, Pectin, Xanthan Gum and other ingredients and taken out completely then those ingredients are consider Halal.

    Following are the responses from different food companies about use of use of Isopropyl alcohol:

    Ceamsa:

    I am pleased to tell you that we do not use ethanol, but only  isopropanol in the process of our refined carrageenan and pectin products. This is a processing aid, that is completely removed at the end

    of the process and therefore their will be NO traces in the final product.

    Best regards

     

    Karen Laustsen

    Director R&D and Technical Customer Service

     Phone: +34986344089

    Fax: +34986336621

    Email: klaustsen@ceamsa.com

    www.ceamsa.com

    Hydrocolloids:

    Hi

    Isopropyl alcohol is used for pectin. The carrageenan is produced using isopropyl as well as KCL depending on the type of carrageenan or neither.

     

    Thanks,

     

    John

    Andros Foods USA, Inc.

    Dear Mr. Ahmed,

    Sorry for the delay in my response but I was waiting to received confirmation from our headquarters in France.  This is what I received:

    We confirm that no alcohol is used in the manufacturing of the Pectin used in Bonne Maman.  

    I hope you can feel confident in purchasing and enjoying Bonne Maman.

     

    Sharon

    Andros Foods USA, Inc.

    www.bonnemaman.us

    Prinova USA

     

    Hello,

     

    Thank you for your question, the Pectin we distribute uses Isopropyl Alcohol during the processing. If you have any other questions please let me know.

     

    Thank you,

     

    Zach Savino, Marketing Assistant

    Prinova USA
    315 E. Fullerton Avenue, Carol Stream, IL 60188

     

    HERBSTREITH & FOX, INC.

    Dear Mr. Ahmed

     In the production of our pectin products we use iso-propnaol. Please find attached our Halal Certificate for our products.

     Best regards,

     HERBSTREITH & FOX, INC.
    Frank Mattes
    President 
    f.mattes@herbstreith-fox.de

    CP Kelco:

    The technical person of CP Kelco Company has informed on the phone they use Isopropyl Alcohol to crystallized during the processing of Xanthan Gum and Isopropyl is completely taken out.

     

    PS: Please allow time for MCG to make changes on our website.

     

     

    12/07/14

    Category: General Question
    04-14-15 12:39:34
  • Hello I was looking at recipe that calls for cream of tartar.. so I looked here to find the halal status of the product.. but, I could find no information. So, is cream of tartar halal.. JazakumAllah Kharkov for all that you do - NE
  • AOA

    Cream of Tatar in USA is Halal because it is made with unfermented grapes.


    Category: General Question
    04-13-15 11:53:41
  • Assalaamu alaykum, Please explain in simple terms how the vanilla in ice-creams etcetera is haraam. From the bean to the production line, please. Is there a halaal alternative ingredient? - Muslim
  • AOA

    The vanilla flavor is obtained by extracting vanilla flavoring or vanilla from vanilla beans by use of ethyl alcohol and water. There is very expensive method where Critical Carbon dioxid is used to extract the vanilla flavor from vanilla beans but the vanilla flavor from this method is very expensive and food cpmpanies is not interested in this type of vanilla flavor because many western consumer drink alcohol so it does not make them to use non alcohol vanilla flavoring.

    Alcohol containing flavors for ice cream is added to ice cream after pasteuring and cooling so that flavor will not last due to heat of pasteuraization so if a flavor contain alcohol after package the alcohol amount remained as is.

    All alcohol containing flavors in ice cream are Haram because alcohol is a intoxicant and it is Haram whether in small quanitity or large according to a Hadith:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 )

     

    FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

    Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

    Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

     


    Category: General Question
    04-13-15 08:33:01
  • asslamaulikum, jazakAllah khair for all the work you do for us in order to find out if something is halal or not, its very important to us.I wanted to know why are the cheeses or other items not halal simply because it doesnt have a halal or kosher symbol? can you please find out if some of these cheeses are halal by finding out from the companies? jazakAllah khair i really appreciate all this work. - salena uddin
  • AOA

    Food companies are not interested in helping to Muslims consumers because they will not tell you what hidden ingredients they use. Hidden ingredients also decides the Halal status of cheeses. A lot of diary science involves in cheese making and their Halal status. It starts with whether starter culture bacteria are obtained from dairy source or meat source, the Halal status of mediaused to grow these cultures, the source of rennet and lipase enzyes and other hidden ingredients. So Halal or kosher symbol carrying cheese protect Muslims from Haram hidden ingredients. The food companies repersentative do not this knowldge because they are not provide to them by technical people in a food company and those people who answeredcalls are not technixcal people.

    So many Muslims think that they can obtained the Halal status of cheese by calling or writing them to a food company. This sis wrong end up eating Haram cheese.

     

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS:

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal: 1. Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, starter culture growth media has to be kosher certified). 2. Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast, bulk starter culture media has to be kosher certified). 3. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. 4. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves (not available in USA and Canada) and has to be kosher certified 5. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases has to be kosher certified 6. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk or whey protein concentrate if added has to be kosher certified 7. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese has to be kosher certified 8. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese has to kosher certified 9. Harmless plant based enzyme is if added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese has to be kosher certified 10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums. 11. Cheese must be Kosher certified and the kosher certification must meet the Halal requirements with exception cheese used on pizza, in that case cheese does not have to be kosher certified but if they used kosher certified starter culture bacteria, media and enzyme then meet above requirements then it is consider Halal. Cheese if Halal certified by other Halal certifying organizations must meet above criteria and if above criteria used for Halal certification then it must display on their websites otherwise MCG will not consider their Halal certified cheese as Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-12-15 15:42:06