USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,178 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,943 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,955 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,297 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,438 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 70 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,643 ]

Recent Questions:

  • I went to a Chinese restaurant but i was hesitant to buy they're vegetarian menu as they also served pork... is the vegetarian menu haram or halal? - Anonymous
  • AOA

    Vegetarian chinese foods are made with naturally brewed soy sauce which contains 2-3% alcohol so they are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-26-14 15:35:03
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa Barakatahu br is noble mixed fruit jam halaal it has the following ingredients Sugar,Mixed fruit pulp(46%),Fruit pectin(440),Acidity Regulator 330,Preservatives (211,223),contains permitted synthetic food colour 124 and added flavour-artificial raspberry,pineapple&strawberry flavouring Substances, contains class ii preservatives. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    This is a mashbooh product do not use it.


    Category: General Question
    10-25-14 22:35:35
  • Is Wendy's fries halal in USA - Farha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-25-14 12:13:11
  • Assalaamualaikum brother. Some days ago I had asked you if any manufacturer says that their products meet Halal requirements should one believe them or not. So you replied that we must trust them only if what they say are in a written form. This made me ask you ---why we must not believe them if they say by their mouth? And aslo---is there any evidence from The Holy Quran or Hadees that we must consider only written matter? Jazak Allah. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    You can consume on basis of what they say. The product must have Halal symbol or kosher symbol if it meets Halal requirements to be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-25-14 04:31:16
  • Assalamualaikum- I wanted to know details of meat shops that sell halal meat in jersey city. It would be great if you can provide me a list. Usually I buy meat from Nadi halal shop in Newark street journal square Allah hafiz - Vaseem
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-24-14 17:42:59
  • Are ibuprofen, Motrin, Aleeve, Tylenol tablets halal? - Mona
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    10-24-14 09:28:27
  • DAZZ MATAZZ HAlal or not?? - fozia
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    10-24-14 03:50:24
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br is real active 100% juice halaal it has the following ingredients water ,orange juice concentrate (21.84%) and vitamin c, no added color,flavour or preservative. and a green dot. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-23-14 19:43:55
  • I need to know if ingredients of ensure energy drink are halal. It is available in powder form as well as in liquid. - Rabia Waseem
  • AOA

    Ensure liquid is made with alcohol containing flavor, then they evaporate alcohol in powder but still they are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-23-14 09:31:45
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br is parle kaccha mango bite halaal it has the following ingredients SUGAR,BOILED CONFECTIONERY,CONTAINS PERMITTED SYNTHETIC FOOD COLOURS 102,133,,ADDED FLAVOUR (NATURE IDENTICAL FLAVOURING SUBSTANCES-RAW MANGO) And brother i came to know from my sister that who is Alhamdulillah studying Mbbs that our skin is impermeable to everything even water.What are your comments?? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-22-14 22:36:48
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br is real active 100% juice without any flavour,sugar and preservatives halaal?? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-22-14 22:24:54
  • is milka choclate halal ?? my sister got it for me from germany?? - kini
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-22-14 07:25:04
  • IS AMERICAN GARDEN BREAD CRUMBS HOT N SPICY HALAL - wajiha mamoon
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    10-21-14 19:17:18
  • Salam,I'm taking Intro Biology in college.My instructor told our class that we can research any information of Biology.I would like to research about food. Can you please direct me to what sources I can use to find to obtain the information? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Food technology is seperate from biology. You can study botany or zoology. For that even for food you can search them on internet. I study biology for long time.


    Category: General Question
    10-21-14 13:21:02
  • Please remove me from the mailing list. My address is 774 Lenore Ln, Elmont NY 11003, and again my name is Natasha Frieary. Thank you. - Natasha Frieary
  • AOA

    We do not list anybody. We do not published the address of any Muslim. We only answer question, even if do not write your name. The e-mail address of any Muslim is not published and it is only available to me.


    Category: General Question
    10-21-14 09:48:17
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa Barakatahu br can we use 100% natural juice without any flavour,Preservative and color with a green dot - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    10-21-14 08:52:28
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br if a juice conatin no flavour no colours and no preservatives and a green dot is it halaal??? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    It will be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-21-14 08:45:31
  • Assalamu'alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh. Is vegetarian mark used only for main ingredients or also for additives? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) OR GREEN DOT ON THE FOOD PACKAGE OR IF IT SAYS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIAN FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: General Question
    10-19-14 18:03:09
  • Is death by chocolate suunnyside farms ice cream contains non- halal ingredients ? - Obscure daze
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-18-14 23:24:26
  • Asalamailakuum I purchased Safeway Kitchens White Grapefruit Juice !00% Juice. Is this halal? In the front cover it has a u with a circle around it. Thank you! - Cherie
  • AOA

    If it is 100% White Grapefruit juice without natural flavor then it is Halal otherwise not even with kosher symbol.


    Category: General Question
    10-18-14 19:32:53
  • Alsalam alaikom, I found Solgar products here in UAE . So before buying VM-75 or VM-2000 (30,90,180,360 tablets) , I want to make sure with you if they are halal ? - ahmed
  • AOA

    You have to see whether it is made in USA or not then whether it has kosher symbol, also please check ingredients compare to what is mentioned on www.solgar.com. If every thing ok then you can consume it. I do not whether it is come from USA or other country. If it is from other country then it may not be Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-18-14 12:03:52
  • Does coke and pepsi contain traces of pork? - Shikar Babulall
  • AOA

    NO


    Category: General Question
    10-18-14 03:15:13
  • There has been rumors that drumstick ice-cream has alcohol however I am not so sure, I would be more than happy if you notify me as soon as possible, is drumstick ice-cream halal or haram????... - Huda
  • AOA

    haram Drumstick, Lill Drum Ice Cream Bars Ice Cream Bars Nestle Alcohol in flavor. 05-02-12

    Category: General Question
    10-18-14 00:52:29
  • I have 2 packs if GNC . One is Cod Liver Oil n the other is Vitamin A 10,000. Are these Halal. I cannot see Ny Kosher sign. Are these Halal?they contain gelatin n glycerin - Naz
  • AOA

    None of them are Halal. Only followings are Halal:

    Search results for the term: GNC

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Vitamin B-12, Big 150, Vitamin B-1, Choline Vitamins GNC Only three Halal with Kosher Sysmbol KO on back of the bottle. 03-23-13

    Category: General Question
    10-16-14 22:19:15
  • pls letme know which one of the following is halal in dunkin donut ice cream donuts bruetto subway, wendys, tacobell, Mac donald, k f c. in every in every item available of these stores - hyder
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    10-15-14 05:23:02
  • Does yippee noodles contain pig fat? - fouzia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-14-14 23:38:52
  • This may sound like a odd question but I am just curious to know if 100% pure is peanut oil halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-14-14 09:21:55
  • name of islamic brand of ice cream - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    10-14-14 05:52:12
  • Assalaamualaikum bro. What if the manufacturer told us through a letter or phone call that their products doesn't contain alcohol or animal fats and at the same time he is lying about their product? What to do then? If he says Halal but in reality it in not Halal??Thank you.. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    You need in writing and also all the ingredients has to be evalauted.


    Category: General Question
    10-14-14 03:54:49
  • Al-salaamu alaykum warahmatullahi wabarakaatuhu Is proofing a yeast dough for long periods halal? As much as 24 hours. JazakAllahu khayr - Jacob Carroll
  • AOA

    First all dough ingredients has to be Halal. If they are all Halal then proofing for any time will be Halal. You can not proof more than45- 50 minutes because the dough will be over proof. If dough is over proof you can not make qulaity baked product.


    Category: General Question
    10-13-14 18:13:57
  • I have been given some capsules by my doctor, I have been told by an Asian pharmacist at boots that only the capsules shell has gelatin inside but the inside of the capsules is ok to take, I want to ask you can I take the inside of the capsules and throw away the shell? - sobia
  • AOA

    Please open the capsule and dumped inside powder on a table spoon of Apple Sauce and consume the medicine and throughout the capsule.


    Category: General Question
    10-13-14 03:20:24
  • Is otter pops best freeze ice bars halal? It is manufactured by the jel sert company. - Ridwan Syed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-12-14 17:27:57
  • It's Olay bar soap halall - Hamid JALILI
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-12-14 17:07:43
  • It's Olay bar soap halall - Hamid JALILI
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    10-11-14 19:03:10
  • Assalamu Alykum in the beginning I would like to thank you for your great efforts in the website, my question is " is the chicken in the US is halal,the frozen and if yes which brands? and the fried chicken (like in KFC... etc.) I need a lawful answer also pleas. Thank you - Laith
  • AOA

    A Muslim suppose to eat only hand slaughter chciken or cow or lamb slaughtered by Muslims. Chicken at KFC or in supermarkets are not Halal because they are not hand slaughtered by a Muslim.


    Category: General Question
    10-10-14 22:36:39
  • assalamoualaykom my question is 1/ jus FAIRLEE in Canada is halal or not ?? 2/jus OASIS in Canadais halal ?? 3/Aquafina ? 4/Crush (Canada) ? 5/Dole Juices (canada) ? 6/Hawaiian Punch (Canada) ? 7/Tropicana (Canada) ? 8/Tropicana Twister (canada) ? 9/Milk Québon ? in school there is Croissant and other foods and sauce tomate and coffee.... and i don't want to taste them because i don' t know with what it is do so what i do and thank you w jazakom allah kol khayr .. - maj
  • AOA

    Please check our website in Canada www.canadianhalalfoods.com


    Category: General Question
    10-10-14 19:12:59
  • Can u give names of halal suckers or loly pops and chewing gums - hina
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     

     


    Category: General Question
    10-10-14 19:03:30
  • is the restaurant depot Meat -chicken/beef .. is HALAL OR NOT .PLEASE EXPLAIN . JAZAKALLAH. - Nizamuddin
  • AOA

    All Halal certified chicken at Restauirant Deopot are machine slaughtered are not Halal. Forty ulema from UK and many from USA said that machine slaughtered chicken are not Zabiha Halal. I do not know about beef.


    Category: General Question
    10-10-14 13:30:20
  • Is imperial margarine vegan - Hala Abdelhaq
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    10-09-14 15:14:45
  • İs it ok use silicone dishes for baking cake? And what about silicone brushes? - nermin
  • AOA

    I do not think it is advisable. You have use normal baking pan.


    Category: General Question
    10-09-14 12:49:22
  • is extra strenth back pain relifer tylonal halal? thank you - shamim bahadur
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    10-09-14 11:36:19
  • are food items marked as suitable for vegetarians 'halaal'? - Alvira Siddiqui
  • AOA

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED (NON MEAT) OR GREEN DOT ON THE FOOD PACKAGE OR IF IT SAYS SUITABLE FOR VEGETARIAN FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: General Question
    10-09-14 03:19:49
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br what is industrial alcohol??I think it is denatured ethyl alcohol.is it haraam to use industrial alcohol?? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    Industrial alcohol is the alcohol made through chemically and but it is still Haram. Denaturaed alcohol is allowed in non food products by many ulema.


    Category: General Question
    10-08-14 02:27:03
  • I just want to know whether I can consume any soft drink, specifically like fanta, coca cola or Diet coke ? - Shadab Saiyed
  • AOA

    Only Pepsi.


    Category: General Question
    10-07-14 18:12:40
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br i wrote to HINDUSTAN UNILEVER regarding their LIFEBUOY HANDWASH&HAND SANITIZER as follows Sir/Madam,I wanted to know that does your Lifebuoy handwash&hand sanitizer contain any ALCOHOL as a solvent or even in small traces?? My request to u is that pls don't refer the ingredients list printed behind the pack as ALCOHOL is an hidden ingredient and the answer to my question is known only to your technical/manufacturing experts.I am in search of alcohol free handwash and sanitizer so i kindly request to answer my question as soon as possible in the best way possible.Sir/Madam are your products suitable for vegetarians??  AND THEIR REPLY IS AS FOLLOWS Dear Mr. Md Farooqui, Thank you for contacting Consumer Care cell of Hindustan Unilever Limited. Lifebuoy Handwash does not contain any alcohol in the formulation. Lifebuoy sanitizer has industrial alcohol in it to give the drying effect. Both the products are suitable for vegetarians. Thank you for taking the time to contact us! Warm Regards, Lever Care Team, Toll free number: 18001022221  PO Box No 1470, Mumbai 400099  Email: lever.care@unilever.com Are the products halaal??? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    You can use Lifebuoy handwash but not the Lifebuoy sanitizer.


    Category: General Question
    10-07-14 18:03:57
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br i wrote himlaya health care regarding their toothpaste as follows Is there any ingredient derived from animal fat or animal source in your HIMALAYA ACTIVE FRESH TOOTHPASTE??   " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in fragrance of Himalaya ACTIVE FRESH TOOTHPASTE ; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a fragrance, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in fragrance is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of fragrance. In the specification of fragrance, your fragrance supplier And their reply is as follows Dear  Mr. Farooqui Thank you for contacting us once again. Our experts once again clarify that we do not any animal sourced ingredients and alcohol in our product, Active Fresh Toothpaste.  Regards    *Ms. Tara Sharad Charan* Manager - Customer Service The Himalaya Drug Company Makali, Bangalore 562 162, India T +91 80 2371 4444 · F +91 80 2371 4474 Toll Free No: 1800-425-1930 (9.00 am - 5.00 pm Monday - Friday) Can i use their product???& EID MUBARAK - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    You can use it.


    Category: General Question
    10-07-14 10:09:07
  • Asalam o alaikum .... Can U plz tell me diary milk chocolate is halal or not in detail... Jazak Allah - aqsa khadim
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: General Question
    10-07-14 04:50:43
  • how should i deal with halal customer in restaurant. - jasbir
  • Hi

    You have to follow this:

    Search results for the term: eating in restaurant

    Total results generated: 1
    Alert Title Description Date
    Some important information about eating in restaurants in USA and Canada

    The following important things should be considered while eating in a regular restaurant in USA and Canada. This is for those Muslims who only eat the Zabiha meat. Most of us go to seafood restaurants to eat fish because it is Halal. But we do not have information on how it is cooked or made. Here are the following things we have to keep in our mind about eating fish dish in a restaurant. Not all fish items in fast foods or restaurants are Halal. Not because of fish itself but due to the following reasons: 1. Coating and batter on the fish: Fried fish items are made with coating or batter. The coating or batter of the fish may contain whey, colors and flavors which may not be Halal. Some fish are dipped in beer batter before frying and it is known as beer battered fish. This is type of fish is Haram. The McDonald and Burger King coating is Halal in USA and Canada. 2. Frying media and fryer: Coated and battered fish items are fried in shortening at 360F. If the coating or batter for fried fish is Halal and if it is fried in vegetable shortening with or without vegetable fat based Mono & Diglycerides then the fried fish is Halal. But if same fryer and vegetable shortening was used to fry non zabiha chicken nuggets OR beer battered fish then fried fish items will not be Halal because of left over batter and fat from the chicken. Burger King's Big Fish and Long John Silver are fried their fish items in the same fryer and vegetable shortening use for frying the non-zabiha chicken nuggets in USA and Canada. This is the reason their fish items are not considered Halal. Same thing may happens in restaurants.Beside Burger King also fried pork patties in the same vegetable oil. So it is necessary to avoid eating fried fish in a restaurants because you do not know the Halal status of the coating and batter and use of vegetable shortening and where they fried. 3.Broiled or Grilled Fish: If the fish is broiled or grilled with cooking wine then it will not be Halal. If the fish is broiled or grilled with AA butter then it will be Halal. Sometimes spices are also added to it, we have to make sure that they used 100% spices not the seasoning because seasoning may contain whey, color and flavors which may not be Halal. 4. Sauce with Broiled or Grilled fish: Most of the time broiled fish or grilled fish comes to the table with different sauces on the top of the fish. Dill Sauce with broiled or grilled Salmon is an example. Dill sauce, Tartar sauce and other sauces contain dairy ingredients which may not be Halal. So you have to avoid it and use salt, pepper, lemon or A1 sauce which is a Halal sauce. 5. Broiled Vegetable: Sometimes bacon or ham is added to vegetables, so ask about them. 6. Rolls/Bread: Rolls/bread and cheese rolls are provided at tables, these rolls and bread are mostly made from frozen dough or mixes. These frozen dough or mixes are made with dough conditioners which may not be Halal. Cheese may be made with animal enzymes. 7. Garden Salad, Salad Dressing and coleslaw: Garden Salad in most of the restaurants comes with croutons, cheese, Chinese noodles, and bacon bits. They all should be avoided because croutons may be made with Romano cheese and other ingredients which may not be Halal. Cheese may not be Halal as well as Chinese noodles. Bacon bits are Haram. Salad dressing is made with cheese, emulsifiers which may not be Halal. You request a garden salad without cheese, croutons, Chinese noodles and bacon bits. Lemon juice or olive oil and distilled white vinegar can be used. Coleslaw is made with cabbage and dressing containing dairy ingredients which may not be Halal. 8. Soups: Soups are made with soup bases and concentrates. These bases and concentrates are made with dairy ingredients which may not be Halal and they also contain non zabiha chicken fat. Left over gravy from cooked meats are used to make a soup. You do not know what kind of meat gray was used. This gravy is provide extra flavor to the soup. Clam Chowder is made with dairy ingredients which may not be Halal and bacon is also added to the clam chowder. Soup has to be avoided. 8. Rice Pilaf: Rice pilaf is always made with non zabiha chicken broth, so it has to be avoided. Steam rice is Halal. 9. Vegetables: Vegetable are sometimes cooked with bacon and ham, so it is necessary to ask ahead of time. 10. Baked Potato/French Fries: The ingredients of French fries in restaurants and the way they fried are not known to public. They may be made with Haram ingredients. They may be fried in animal fat shortening. So they have to be avoided unless you are sure that they are Halal. Baked Potato is Halal but the margarine and sour cream may not be Halal. Sometimes they bring with margarine and sour cream and with bacon on the top of the potato. So either you eat with salt & pepper or with butter if it is AA. If they provide you the sour cream and butter in the small packed container with ingredients statements and kosher symbol and if the kosher certification meet the Halal requirements then you can use it. Eggs for the breakfast: Scramble eggs at restaurants are not 100% eggs but other ingredients such as emulsifires are present. Restauarnts get the eggs in batters from food service company such as Sysco Company, they also supplies egg beaters which is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. It is possible thye fried on the same hot plate as bacon. 12. Dessert: Pies, Cheesecake, Cakes may contain gelatin, liquor, dairy ingredients, flavors and other ingredients which may not be Halal and should be avoided. Ice Cream may contains emulsifiers which may not be Halal and flavor may contain alcohol. NOTE; THIS INFORMATION WAS PUBLISHED ON MARCH 13, 2002 AND WAS AVAILABLE ON OUR OLD WEBSITE FOR MANY YEARS UNTIL OCTOBER 1, 2005. IT WAS LAST DURING CHANGE OVER FROM OLD TO NEW WEBSITE. WE ARE SORRY ABOUT IT.
     


    Category: General Question
    10-06-14 23:42:29
  • is sunfeast yippee noddle halal?? it is widely used in India, specially in Kolkata. - ayesha qamar
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    10-06-14 10:28:52
  • is KFC use halal chicken?? - ayesha qamar
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: General Question
    10-06-14 10:22:27
  • selam alejk,my name is mirzet,i would like to see pictures of muslim food consumer president,if it possible,thank you very much - mirzet
  • AOA

    Why you like to see my picture. Is there any reason?.


    Category: General Question
    10-06-14 04:50:44
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br are there any halaal certifying organisations in hyderabad or any halaal certifying website in hyderabad - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    10-06-14 03:33:18
  • As-salamu alaykum mujhe jaana tha ki jis ke naam pet qurbaani hoti hai usse roza rakhna hota hai kya agar ha tho uska tarika aur kis waqat se kis waqt tak - Mubin Ahmed
  • AOA

    Aap Kisi Mufti Saheb se puchain.


    Category: General Question
    10-05-14 18:27:23
  • Assalamu alaikkum wrwb.... Do you have list of halal food & non - food products in India? - Asheek
  • AOA

    I am working on Halal food products made in India.


    Category: General Question
    10-04-14 06:31:04
  • Is bulla or peters ice cream halal in australia? - Asima
  • AOA

    This is the requirement of Halal ice cream in USA and Canada. If the ice cream in Australia has a label "Suitable for Vegetarian" and do not have flavor, Carrageenan, Vanilla, Vanilla Extract then it will be Halal otherwise not.

    What are the requirements of a Halal ice cream

    The following are the requirements of a Halal Ice Cream

    1. It must a have a Kosher symbol which meets the Halal requirements (why not Halal symbol because many  ice cream products with Halal symbol are made with alcohol containing natural or artificial flavor and Halal certifying organizations say that 0.1% or 0.5% alcohol is Halal and it does not make you intoxicated. But there is no Hadith which says 0.1% or 0.5% intoxicant (Alcohol) as Halal.

    2. There should be no natural or artificial listed as ingredient under the ingredients statement. Most liquid natural or artificial flavor are made with alcohol as a solvent. These  alcohol containing liquid natural or artificial flavors  are added to ice cream after pasteurization and cooling process so alcohol in flavors is not subject to heat treatment. Alcohol in ice cream remained as is.

    3. It should not have Vanilla or vanilla flavor or vanilla extract as part of ingredient statement because vanilla or vanilla flavor is obtained by extracting with alcohol from vanilla beans. According to FDA vanilla extract must contain minimum of 35% alcohol otherwise it will not be call as vanilla extract.

    4. It should not ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean speck because it is not real vanilla beans which are very expensive. Ground vanilla bean or Vanilla bean specks are made mostly from vanilla bean seeds which are obtained after alcohol extraction of Vanilla Beans for vanilla flavors. The seeds leftover after alcohol extraction are dried and grind to make ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks. This is called exhausted ground vanilla beans or vanilla bean specks in the food industry.

    5. Ice cream should not have Carrageenan as an ingredient because ethyl alcohol or isopropyl alcohol or potassium chloride (KCL) is used during processing of carrageenan and it takes time to investigate what was used during processing.

    6. Ice cream should be free from rum flavor and other liquor because kosher certified product may contain liquor or rum flavor.

    7. Ice cream bars should not have confectionary glaze or resinous glaze as coating on ice cream bars because these glazes are made with shellac dissolve in alcohol.

    8. Ice Cream should not contain any Extract such as Mint Extract in Haagen Daazs Mint Five Ice cream. Alcohol is used in some extract as a extracting solvent.

    There are 46 Halal ice cream and ice cream topping listed on MCG website and they do not have flavor in them.

    There is only one Halal soft vanilla ice cream available in USA which is made by Pacific Valley Dairy (Phone number 636-334-4700 www.pvdairy.com, please find out whether it is available in your city). This Halal soft vanilla ice was sold at ISNA convention in 2007 at Chicago. It is Halal because it is kosher certified and made with artificial vanilla flavor with propylene glycol (a Halal solvent) as a solvent according to the company. This soft vanilla ice cream is not available in supermarkets only at food service places.

     

     

    .

    02/03/14

    Category: General Question
    10-03-14 21:45:22
  • Salaam, can you please recommend tooth brushes that are free from pork/animal bristles. Thank you - Bibi Baksh
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: toothbrush

    Total results generated: 2
    Category Name Brand Description
    Toothbrush Reach Toothbrushes Reach According to Johnson & Johnson bristles of Reach toothbrushes are made with Nylon so there toothbrushes are Halal. November 2013
    Toothbrushes Toothbrushes Aqua fresh, Colgate, Crest, Mentadent, Oral-B and Reach Aqua fresh, Colgate, Crest, Mentadent, Oral-B and Reach toothbrushes are free from any pig hairs or any animal derived ingredients. Bristles from above brands of toothbrushes are made with nylon according to manufacturer of above brands in USA.

    Category: General Question
    10-03-14 18:02:47
  • are doritos nacho cheese and cool ranch chips halal or haram? are cheetos crunchy chips halal or haram? if not haram, i assume they are safe for consumption. if haram, how can i advise my family to dispose them since my brother bought one of those large box that has many chips in them, including the ones i mentioned above regarding halal/haram status? please advice as soon as possible. thank you - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    Search results for the term: why doritos

    Total results generated: 1
    Alert Title Description Date
    WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN US & CANADA

     

    WHY DORITOS AND CHEETOS PRODUCTS ARE NOT HALAL IN US & CANADA

    Lot of Muslims calls Frito Lay Company to find out the Halal status of Doritos and Cheetos products. The 800 personnel are trained by the company to tell consumers that their cheeses are made with microbial rennet enzyme. But many Muslims are not aware that the rennet is not only thing, which decide the Halal status of a cheese. There are other things which has to be Halal if used during manufacture of a cheese such as Mother Culture Media, Bulk Culture Media (which is used to grow bacterial cheese cultures), other Enzymes such as Lipase and finally dairy flavors containing Enzymes, if the rennet is from microbial and above mentioned are not from Halal source then cheese will not be Halal. The culture medias are made with milk, whey and lactose (Haram if made from pork rennet, Haram media, pork enzymes), dried autolyzed brewer’s yeast (by product of beer) and Pancreatin (Haram if from pork). If culture media is pure milk then it is Halal.  There was a international uproar from Muslims around the world when Ajinomoto of Indonesia used a pork derived culture media to grow bacteria for the production of Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) in Indonesia in 2000 (Muslim Consumer Group’s News/Alert update Jan. 05, 2001).  We explained to Frito Lay Nutritionist supervisor Ms. Nina Ferguson about the requirements for Halal cheese and other ingredients. She is not aware of what are Halal and its requirements for Doritos and Cheetos products. We offered our help to educate them about Halal status of their products.


     

    09/18/07

    Category: General Question
    10-02-14 20:22:06
  • Assakuim Walkium. I wanted to know if we can eat any of the icebreakers DUO.Especially DUO raspberry. And any of the other icebreakers. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are not kosher certified so they are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    10-02-14 09:39:13
  • If our skin care and cosemetics have animal derived ingredients in them are the ok to use since they go thru such a tedious and complex procedure from renduring manufacturing plants and after such a procedure the animal fats are no longer in its original form but supposedly in an improved human status. So if its not in its original status it should not be haram. It should be ok to use. Supposedly this is from a statement based on the fatwas from saudi arabia and other muftians around the world - Rehana kalair
  • AOA

    You have wrong concept which many ulem says without know what happened during processing. This is the wrong thinking to use Haram products. Pork gelatin will never change during its processing and also pork fat is not change during processing. I reserached them and published them on our Fiqah and Science subsection on our website:

    Brewer's Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast

    Brewer's yeast is obtained from the unicellular fungus. There are two kind of yeast extract or autolyzed yeast, one is made from baker's yeast which is a Halal ingredient used in soups, frozen fish products to provide meaty flavor. The other kind is made from brewer yeast obtained from beer making. Brewer yeast is used to ferment sugar during beer making. Brewer's yeast is only used in cheese crackers and cheeses to provide harsh and bitter flavor. It is also grown on food crops to make nutritional supplements. This type of brewer yeast which is grown the crops is considered as Halal.

    Brewer's yeast Cells are about .005 mm in diameter. Their shape can be round, oval or apiculate, depending on the species. The membrane surrounding the cell cannot absorb molecules above a certain size so that, in order to survive, much of their metabolism occurs outside the cell by means of enzymes they secrete. To enable them to do this, they survive best in liquid habitats so that their enzymes may diffuse out and foodstuffs in a utilizable form can diffuse in. The yeast learns to tolerate alcohol concentrations which normally would kill it (Courtesy of www.winemakeri.com/information/glossaries/dictionary/dictionary).

    The scientific argument is that the brewer's yeast is still alive during beer making and still need foodstuff to survive. The foodstuff is contaminated with by- product of fermentation for example beer flavoring compounds and others. Every ingredients or component of Khamer or alcoholic fermentation or wine or beer is considered Haram. By-products of beer diffuse into brewer's yeast cells along with its food stuff. Its foodstuff is contaminated with beer fermentation by-products. There is no literature available that brewer's yeast cell membrane prevents diffusion of beer alcoholic by-products. In order for Brewer's cells from beer making to be Halal those beer alcoholic fermentation by- products has to be changes to new chemicals according to Senior Islamic Scholar from Jamaya Nizamia , Hyderabad, India other wise the brewer's yeast cells from beer making are not considered Halal. Again there is no scientific information available to indicate these beer fermentation by-products are subject to chemical change (Tabdeele Mahiya).

    So based on above, MCG will not consider brewer's yeast extract or brewer autolyzed yeast or extract from beer making as a Halal ingredient.

    BREWER'S YEAST EXTRACT OR BREWER AUTOLYZED YEAST

    BREWER'S YEAST USED IN BEER MAKING AND NUTRITIONAL SUPPLEMENTS SUGAR + BREWER'S YEAST = BEER (ALCOHOL + CO2 + BEER FLAVORING COMPOUNDS) / + SUGAR / GO INSIDE YEAST CELL FOR ITS SURVIVAL o BREWER YEAST CELL BY-PRODUCTS OF ALCOHOLIC FERMENTATION UNCHANGED NO CHEMICAL ACTION REPORTED TO CHANGE ITS ORIGINAL STATUS BREWER'S YEAST --> OUT OF BEER --> AUTOLYZED DRIED --> EXTRACT MADE AS YEAST EXTRACT USED IN ONLY IN CHEESE CRACKER OR CHEESES BECAUSE OF ITS HARSH OR BITTER TASTE.

    Gelatin

    Gelatin is not the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.

    There is lot of literature available about how gelatin is made, which can be found on the internet. But we have to understand the basic biochemistry of gelatin raw material and gelatin itself. The basic components of collagen (raw material for gelatin) and gelatin itself are the protein and amino acids. If the components of the raw material and finished product is the same, that means the chemical reaction and processing does not cause any changes to the original component. Then it does not become the case for Tabdeele Mahiya.

    • If you run a DNA analysis (nowadays it is used to detect pig by-products in a food product developed by a Florida company as mentioned on our web site) of Type A gelatin (pig) and Pig, you will find no difference. According to Tabdeele Mahiya, it should not match because the new product has to be different.
    • Gelatin is a derived water-soluble protein made by controlled hydrolytic conversion of collagen, the protein constituent of white fibrous connective tissue from animals. The manufacturing process will take out the extraneous material from bones, skin, and hide trimming. Neutralizing, washing and converting the collagen to gelatin occurs but the basic components remain the same.
    • Extensive study has shown that the amino acid (basic component) content of white connective tissue whether from bone, skin or tendon is very uniform and yields gelatins also having uniform amino acid composition. This confirms that no change has occurred in the basic components.
    • The gelatin is subject to hydrolytic breakdown by which it is converted from insoluble macromolecular collagen to water soluble protein.
    • The whole manufacturing process is based on purification and conversion of water insoluble collagen protein to water soluble gelatin. There is no new product, and the originality of gelatin raw material remains the same during manufacturing process.

    Gelatin is not an example of Tabdeele Mahiya. Type A gelatin (pig) is Haram because it still contains the original pig protein and amino acids.

    Bar Soap

    THERE IS NO PHYSICAL AND CHEMICAL CHANGES (TABDEELE MAHIYA) DURING THE PROCESSING OF PORK GELATIN AND BAR SOAPS MADE FROM PIG FAT

    There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

    There is no doubt about the following physical and chemical changes or Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw material to Halal products. This includes production of vinegar from alcohol, falling of pig in a salt mine and becoming part of salt mine, bone ash, tanning of dead animal skin. These Tabdeele Mahiya cases are acceptable to majority of Islamic scholars.

    But few things such as vinegar from wine, pig gelatin, bar soaps made with pork fat are not acceptable according to scientific facts and opinions of several Islamic scholars. Since some of the fatwas are issued 50-60 years back, it seems that no assistance from Muslim scientists was used to check it out scientifically.

    Requirements for Tabdeele mahiya are (1) complete change from originality to new things which are not present in the original material (2) change in the name (3) Complete conversion of basic components of a raw material to a complete new product containing new components and several others. The common understanding about change in the original status is that it should not contain original components. Some Islamic scholars do not pay attention to this fact and consider that any chemical changes or reactions result in a new composition, which is not true. Let us discuss this in detail:

    Bar soap from Pig fat and other fat based ingredients:

    Bar soaps are made from animal fat or vegetable oils or their fatty acids by reacting them with inorganic water-soluble alkali salt or bases. The source of fat is mutton or beef tallow or pork fat but glycerin is also added besides stearic acid (fat based).

    The animal fat or vegetable oil is made of distinctive mixture of several different triglycerides. A triglyceride molecule consists of one molecule of glycerin to which three fatty acid molecules are attached, and these fatty acids are specific to different type of triglycerides. Fatty acids are the basic components of any fat. During manufacturing of bar soaps, fats or oil are heated with liquid alkali, such as sodium hydroxide or caustic soda or potassium hydroxide or caustic potash to yield neat soap, water and glycerin. This process is known as saponification of fat or oil. During this process, the basic components fatty acids are transferred without change in its composition from triglyceride to alkali making neat soap (combination of alkali and fatty acid). Neutralization with alkali is also used to produce neat soap. The neat soap is dried and made into pellets, then glycerin and other ingredients are added, and then mixture is extruded to make bar soaps. If the bar soap is made from pork fat then nothing happens to its basic components fatty acids, it remains as it is, same as in pork fat. So bar soap manufacturing process is not the example of Tabdeele Mahiya. The emulsifiers and mono and diglycerides also fall under this category.

    On the other hand in manufacturing of distilled white vinegar, dilute ethyl alcohol is converted to acetic acid, water, and a very minute amount of unconverted dilute ethyl alcohol. Tabdeele Maheyia applies here in the case of dilute ethyl alcohol, which is converted to new material acetic acid and water by acetobacter bacteria. The name is changed from dilute ethyl alcohol to vinegar. Distilled white vinegar is Halal but raw material ethyl alcohol is not Halal.

    In the case of wine vinegar, the table wine contains 12.2% ethyl alcohol by volume or 9.9% by weight, 85% water, 4% carbohydrate, 0.1% protein and volatile wine flavoring compounds. In wine, only alcohol is subjected for change by acetobacter bacteria to acetic acid and water. So wine vinegar contains acetic acid, water and rest of the above thing, unconverted small amount of wine and wine flavors which are the result of wine making. Imam Shaafi RA does not consider it as Halal. Presence of unconverted wine, wine flavoring compounds are the scientific basis for its not being consider as Halal.

    Liquid raw materials are best suitable for Tabdeele Mahiya compare to solids. So it is very important to use scientific facts in deciding the Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw materials for the processing of food products, food ingredients and personal care items.

    Wine Vinegar

    THE CHEMISTRY OF WINE VINEGAR AND ITS RELATION WITH FIQAH

    It is necessary to familiarize the chemistry of wine making before discussing the chemistry of wine vinegar. Wine making started about 3000-4000 B.C and is mostly made from fermented grapes, but wine is also made from other fruits, and grain such as rice. Influence of raw material in wine making is very important because it needs high sugar content of 10-24% and low acidity of 0.5 to 1.5% as Tartaric acid. Higher acidity inhibits the yeast fermentation. Alcoholic fermentation occurs through enzymes produced by yeast Saccharomyces cerevisia on the sugar of the Must (Must refers to crushed grapes including juice, seeds and skin) and this alcoholic fermentation ( proceeds with 20 enzyme protein, 3 to 8 organic cofactors and several inorganic cofactors) results in:

    Ethyl Alcohol, Carbon Dioxide, Polyphenols, Organic Flavor compounds, Odors compounds

    The yeast fermentation is followed by lactic acid fermentation of malic acid, present in grape. This is called Malolactic fermentation in which malic acid is converted by lactic acid bacteria into: Lactic Acid, Carbon Dioxide

    The lactic acid bacteria also change the fruit flavor of wine and add some flavor compound from their metabolism. But majority of wine flavor comes from alcoholic fermentation and wine flavor is continued to change during storage.

    A typical wine consists of: Water, Ethyl Alcohol, Tannins Acids, Polyphenols, Flavor compounds and color if from red grapes

    Polyphenols contribute the bitter taste of the wine and astringent mouth feel of wine, characteristic aromas are related to wine maturation. Wine is the raw material for wine vinegar.

    Presently Vinegar is produced from a wide variety of substances but the basic requirement is that, those substances should have sufficient amount of alcohol and a satisfactory level of flavoring. The conversion of alcohol to acetic acid by acetobacter bacteria is as follows:

    The acetobacter bacteria act only on alcohol content of wine, not on other components of wine according to literature. Organic chemistry of wine vinegar and other literature indicate that the coloring and flavoring of wine vinegar are the characteristic of the wine from which the particular wine vinegar is made. From this we can derive the following equation for wine vinegar:

    So the Acetobacter bacteria do not act on wine flavors and wine colors during the production of wine vinegar. The same flavors and colors are present in wine vinegar and they are not subjected to any chemical reactions during the process. So chemically they remain the same in wine vinegar. There is no research or literature found to suggest that the wine flavors and wine color are subject to Tabdeele Mahaya (chemical change to new products) in wine vinegar production.

    It means some part of Haram wine is present in wine vinegar. Besides the above, the processing of wine to wine vinegar is not 100%. Some minute amount of wine is also left over in wine vinegar. According to a Hadith small portion of intoxicant is also Haram as large portion. Wine vinegar is not Halal according to Imam Shafi but it is considered clean according Imam Abu Hanifa (according to Sahee Muslim). According to Anas Bin Malik RA, Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum did not give permission to make vinegar from wine (Hadith from Sahee Muslim).

    We recommend Muslim consumers to avoid using any wine vinegar based on the above Hadith and scientific facts.

    Wine (Ethyl Alcohol + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors + Oxygen) → Acetic Acid + Water + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors 2 CH3CH2OH + 2 O2 → 2 CH3COOH + 2 H2O

    Alcohol + Oxygen → Acetic Acid + Water

    Alcohol

    Islamic web sites in USA and in other countries are publishing articles from various Islamic Scholars about Haram status of alcohol only from grapes and dates under Hanafi fiqah and providing the impression that alcohol from other sources is Halal. They are also giving the Halal status to synthetic alcohol without providing any hard evidence from neither religious nor scientific sources. But their views are not universally acceptable. This makes Muslim consumers more confused than before.

    Muslim Consumer Group did research based upon scientific, regulatory status of alcohol manufactured by both fermentation and synthetic methods. We also discuss this matter with our religious advisors who belong to Hanafi Mazhab. Here is our report:

    Alcohol (also known as Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol) is a food but requires no digestion. Like other drugs, it acts on many organs in the body but has no cellular receptors. It is stable in the atmosphere to any chemical change, where as all other foods will undergo some kind of decomposition. It is the only food produced solely by microbial action beside the synthetic alcohol. Alcohol and water mix in every solution, including blood. Once alcohol enters the body, it is easily penetrated into the brain and it will provide a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. We know this fact from our Holy Book, the Quran, where Allah says: O ye who believe! Draw not near unto prayer when you are in a state of intoxication until you know what you utter (4:43).

    Alcohol is produced through alcoholic fermentation of material containing sugar or starch. Starch first has to breakdown into sugar and sugar is then fermented by yeast which converts it into ethyl alcohol or ethanol and carbon dioxide (CO2). Molasses from sugar cane, beet sugar, wood sugar (sulphite lye), fruits, and berries are the raw material used to produce alcohol. Starchy products such as cereal, rice, corn and potato are also used as a raw material to produce alcohol. Alcohol obtained from fermentation is subject to separation, concentration and distillation. The chemical name of alcohol is ethanol and C2H5OH is the chemical formula.

    So alcohol obtained from above sources has the same chemical formula and has the same quality of providing a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. There is no chemical and physical difference between alcohols obtained from grape or corn. So the statement that alcohol is Haram only from grape and dates does not hold up scientifically.

    Use of Alcohol in a Food Product

    Alcohol is now used as an individual ingredient in a food product. It is also used as solvent in natural and artificial flavors. It is also used as extracting solvent in vanilla products such as vanilla extract (about 35%), vanilla sugar (sugar mixed with vanilla extract). It is also present in naturally brewed soy sauce up to 2% as a by-product of fermentation of soybean and wheat.

    Ethanol or alcohol has the quality of making a person drunk. If alcohol is distilled out from wine or beer, a flavored solution is left behind. That solution does not have the same quality as alcohol resulting in the sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. Date juice is allowed to drink before it is fermented as reported in Sahee Bukhari. Thus the prohibition of alcoholic beverages in Islam is due to the presence of alcohol in those beverages.

    Many Muslim scientists wrote about alcohol in many books and magazines. They all agreed that alcohol is Haram without even mentioning the sources. Recently a Muslim pharmaceutical scientist wrote that synthetic alcohol is Haram.

    Synthetic Alcohol

    Alcohol is also obtained other than fermentation process called synthetic alcohol. It has wide application in the process industries as solvent, in the production of cosmetics and intermediates in the manufacture of other chemicals. It is produced by ethylene (gas) dehydration and also produced by petroleum sources. It has the same chemical formula C2H5OH and has the same quality of providing a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. Synthetic alcohol is not different scientifically from alcohol obtained from fermentation method.

    Regulatory status of synthetic alcohol and alcohol produced through fermentation (Sec.55.100 alcohol; use of synthetic alcohol in foods Compliance Policy Guide CPG 7120.10 revised 2/1/1989)

    Practically and scientifically, pure ethyl alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum products does not differ from that obtained by fermentation with subsequent distillation. Further more, foods in which one is used cannot be distinguished objectively from those in which the other is used (From Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearm of the U.S. Treasury Department).

    FDA Policy: Synthetic alcohol may be used as a food ingredient or in the manufacturing of vinegar or other chemicals for food use, within limitations imposed by the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, the Alcohol Administration Act and regulations promulgated under these acts. Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as Grain Alcohol or Neutral Grain Spirits is considered false and misleading

    This is another fact that there is no difference between synthetic alcohol and alcohol obtained through fermentation.

    Denatured Alcohols (Not same as Synthetic Alcohol)

    Synthetic ethyl alcohol and denatured ethyl alcohol is not the same thing. Denatured ethyl alcohol can be made from synthetic alcohol and also from ethyl alcohol produced through fermentation method.

    Denaturation of alcohol is the act of rendering ethyl alcohol unfit for beverage use by addition of substances known as denaturants. To prevent the ethyl alcohol in a cosmetic from being diverted illegally for use as an alcoholic beverage, it may be "denatured." This means that it contains an added "denaturant" that makes it undrinkable. The regulatory requirements pertaining to denaturation operation and manufacture are contained in 27 CFR Part 19, Subpart N. The substances, formulas to make the denatured alcohols are regulated by Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearm of the U.S. Treasury Department (ATF). There are two type of denatured alcohol:

    • Specially Denatured Alcohol (SDA)
    • Completely Denatured Alcohol (CDA)

    Specially Denatured Alcohol

    The quantity and character of the denaturants specified are carefully chosen so as not to interfere with specific legitimate industry use that each formula authorizes. All transactions in SDA are carefully regulated. For example introducing Benzene during the distillation process drives out the water contained in ethanol creating a very pure and potent fuel source - denatured alcohol.

    Completely Denatured Alcohol

    The ethyl alcohol is so thoroughly denatured that the product is utterly unfit for beverage use and denaturants used are very nearly inseparable from ethyl alcohol. The use of Completely Denatured Alcohol is authorized without permit because pure ethyl alcohol can not be extracted and diverted to beverage use.

    Denatured alcohols lose their quality of intoxicant due to addition of chemicals to ethyl alcohol, so the cosmetic and personal care products containing denatured alcohols can be permitted if all other ingredients in those products are Halal.

    Views of our Religious advisors

    Our religious advisors Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan and Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri have mentioned the following ahadith for supporting their views:

    • Our Fuqaha (religious advisers) said that the Arabic word khamer as mentioned in Quran means specifically to intoxicant made from grapes because it is the common practice in those days to make intoxicant from grapes but they said it does not mean that the alcohol from other sources is not Haram, As reported in Bukhari that in those days, the intoxicant is made from grapes, dates, wheat, barley and honey.
    • According to Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi and Sahee Bukhari 492 Narrated by Aisha R.A, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said all drinks that intoxicate are unlawful to drink (Kullu Sharabin Askara Fahuwa Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Bukhari, Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Nisai and Ibn Maja Narrated by Ibn Omar RA, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is khamer and every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu muskirun khumrun wa Kullu Muskirun Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Turmizi, narrated by Aisha R.A, Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu Muskirun Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Ibn Maja and Nisai Narrated by Jaber R.A Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said Intoxicant is Haram either in large quantity or small quantity.
    • According to Abudawood narrated by Aisha R.A. Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is Haram either in small or large quantity.
    • According to Abudawood and Ahmed narrated by Um Salma R.A Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every thing which intoxicate and effect your brain is Haram. Imam Mohammed R. A student of Imam Abu Hanifa R.A gave Fatwa in Tanveer Absar that any liquid intoxicant made from any thing is Haram. This is belief of Imam Shafi R.A and Imam Malik RA.
    • Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman said that Imam Abu Hanifa R.A�s maslak or Qwal (Saying) that things other than Khamer (grape wine) which intoxicate at certain quantity if it is not reach at that quantity can be consumed. But at present there is no fatwa about his saying.
    • Our religious advisor has brought to our attention the part of the ayat No.7 of surah Hashr (59) in which Allah has asked Muslims to accept whatever our Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum has prohibited.
    • From the above scientific facts and references provided by our religious advisors from Quran and sahee ahadith, we can conclude that the alcohol from any source is Haram not specifically from grape and date as reported in those articles. There is no difference in the intoxication quality between alcohol produced through fermentation and synthetic alcohol produced from ethylene gas or petroleum source. Both synthetic ethyl alcohol and ethyl alcohol produced through fermentation are Haram.

     


    Category: General Question
    10-02-14 08:05:37
  • We know Domino Sugar company use cattle bone char, that is not zabiha halal cattle. In this regard is Domino Sugar halal? - SK ZAMAN
  • AOA

    Bone char from non zabiha cattle bone is Halal because bones changed to Halal bone char (ash which is a Halal ingredients). This process is called tabdeele mahiya.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 20:11:45
  • is holy lane's bramley apple pie halal? - aneela khan
  • AOA

    I am not familiar with this brand and cannot tell whether it is Halal or not because I have no ingredients list of the product. I even do not know whether it has kosher symbol or claim "Suitable for Vegetarian" on the package or not.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 11:50:04
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br can we use napthelene balls which are used as washroom freshner. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 09:47:53
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa Barakatahu br I wrote to himalaya personal care products about their anti dandruff shampoo as follows Is there any ingredient derived from animal fat or animal source??  " is ethanol or ethyl alcohol used as a solvent in fragrance of Himalaya ANTI DANDRUFF SHAMPOO; ethanol or ethyl alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a fragrance, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of ethanol or ethyl alcohol in fragrance is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of fragrance. In the specification of fragrance, your fragrance supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular fragrance. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether ethanol or ethyl alcohol was used or not in the fragrance as a solvent".  And their reply is as follows Dear Mr. Farooqui   Thank you for your email.   Our experts one again clarify that we do not any animal sourced ingredients and alcohol in our product, Anti-Dandruff Shampoo.   Regards   Ms. Tara Sharad Charan Manager - Customer Service The Himalaya Drug Company Makali, Bangalore 562 162, India T +91 80 2371 4444 · F +91 80 2371 4474 Toll Free No: 1800-425-1930 (9.00 am - 5.00 pm Monday - Friday) - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    You can use it.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 09:27:45
  • Assalamo ALyakum, I want to buy one sofa and the material is 'Faux Leather'. Is it good to use? Here is the link: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Camilla-Futon-Black/37850118 Allah Hafiz, Rabi - Rabi Islam
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    10-01-14 08:31:58
  • What does 'This finding is good for every store in USA & Canada.' means for a haram product? Does the product in USA & Canada halal? - Muhammad Hisyam Saiful Hakimi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 23:04:32
  • salaam is Dr oetker natural extract american peppermint suitable for muslim - ruqayya
  • AOA

    No because alcohol may be used as extracting solvent.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 10:31:43
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br i want to ask u that if a product have a green dot and if it written contains artificial flavouring substances or nature identical artificial flavouring substances is it halaal?? - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavors.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 10:29:27
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br there is a product and it has the following ingredients is it halaal?? WHEAT FLOUR,EDIBLE VEGETABLE OILS,SUGAR,RAISING AGENTS(503(ii),baking powder),INVERT SUGAR SYRUP,SALT(2.3%),YEAST,ACIDITY REGULATORS(270,296),EMULSIFIERS(MONO AND DIGLYCERIDES OF FATTY ACIDS AND SODIUM STEAROYL-2-LACTYLATE OF EDIBLE VEGETABLE OILS ),DOUGH CONDITIONER(223),IMPROVER(AMYLASE& OTHER ENZYMES(PAPAIN-1101(ii)] CONTAINS ADDED FLAVOUR(ARTIFICIAL FLAVOURING SUBSTANCES-BUTTER) & IT HAS A GREEN DOT - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. Only manufacturer knows about use of alcohol in flavor so contact them.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 10:26:46
  • Which school of thought do you follow because I have seen what some schools say about alcohol in foods (for example that if the percentage cannot possibly intoxicate you then it could be permissible to eat along with other conditions) but this website absolutely does not tolerate any alcohol. Also there are many other questionable statements you make. - Shaniz
  • AOA

    None of the School has limit in allowing alcohol. If they are saying that then they are going against the following ahadith:

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Muminin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden. ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)

    Narrated Umm Salamah RA, Ummul Muminin RA:

    The Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) forbade every intoxicant and everything which produces languidness. (Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 28:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah) 3678 ).

    I follow personally the Hanafi Fiqa. If I have any other questionalbel statement please let me know then I will provide the explaination.

    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley

    The following article was from: http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspxnewsid=170

    In principle, it should be remembered that, alcohol extracted from grapes, dates and barley is decisively unlawful (haram), both its oral intake as well as application, for it is considered to be impure (najis). This type of alcohol is known as Khamr (wine), and it will be unlawful to even consume one drop of such alcohol according to all the classical scholars.


    Allah Most High says:


    “O you who believe! Alcohol (khamr), gambling, dedication of stones, and divination by arrows are an abomination (impure) of Shaytan’s handiwork. So abstain from such (abomination) that you may prosper”. (al-An’am, 90)


    Sayyiduna Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes”. (Sahih Muslim, No. 1985).


    However, if the alcohol is extracted and derived from other than grapes, dates and barley, then there is a difference of opinion between the scholars with regards to its ruling. Imam Abu Hanifa Imam Abu Yusuf (Allah have mercy on them both)

    from the Hanafi school are of the view that it will be permissible to consume such alcohol for medication purposes or to gain energy (and not for pleasure and enjoyment) as long as it does not intoxicate.


    They base their view on the Hadith narrated by Abu Huraira (Allah be pleased with him) stated above. Also, the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace is reported to have said: “Khamr (derived from grapes, dates and barley) is in itself unlawful (and impure), and also all the other beverages that reach the level of intoxication”. (See: al-Zayla’i, Nasb al-Raya, 4/306).


    However, the other three schools of thought, i.e. Shafi’i, Maliki and Hanbali and also Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan al-Shaybani (Allah have mercy on him) from the Hanafi school are of the view that all types o f beverages are prohibited whether less or more, and whether consumed to the level of intoxication or otherwise. They base their

    argument on the following two Hadiths:


    Sayyiduna Ibn Umar (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him  give him peace) said: “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is Unlawful (haram)…” (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others).


    Sayyiduna Jabir ibn Abd Allah (Allah be pleased with him) narrates that the Messenger of Allah (Allah bless him give him peace) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden”. (Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3673, Sunan al-Tirmidhi, Sunan al-Nasa’i and others).


    Thus, according to these scholars, all forms of alcohol beverages will be considered unlawful (haram) and impure (najis). Once it is established that a given beverage intoxicates, it will be unlawful to consume even a small serving of that beverage.


    The late Hanafi scholars also gave Fatwa on this position of the student of Imam Abu Hanifa, Imam Muhammad ibn al-Hasan due to widespread Fitna. Imam al-Haskafi (Allah have mercy on him) states:


    “Imam Muhammad considered the various beverages, such as those made from honey, fig, etc to be categorically unlawful (haram), whether it is less in quantity or more, and the Fatwa is given on his position”.

    Imam Ibn Abidin (Allah have mercy on him) explains the above:


    “Fatwa is given on the view of Imam Muhammad and this is also the position held by the other three Imams (i.e. Shafi’i, Malik Ahmad), due to the Hadith “Every intoxicant is Khamr and every intoxicant is unlawful (haram)” (recorded by Imam Muslim), and also the Hadith: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, then a small quantity of it is also forbidden” (recorded by Ahmad, Ibn Majah al-Darqutni and he classed it as authentic…..The (hanafi) scholars have stated that the

    Fatwa of prohibition given in our times is due to widespread Fitna….meaning, due to the fact that most people now consume these beverages for the purpose of pleasure and not to gain strength for worship, they have been forbidden altogether”.

    (Radd al-Muhtar ala al-Durr al-Mukhtar, 6/454-455).


    The upshot of all of the foregoing is that the four Sunni schools of Islamic law are unanimous on the fact that all types of alcohols and beverages are unlawful (haram) and impure (najis), even in small quantities. Any beverage that intoxicates in a large amount, even a drop of it will be considered unlawful (haram).


    However, due to the initial difference of opinion regarding alcohol and given that Imam Abu Hanifa (Allah have mercy on him)    himself is of the view that alcohol from other than grapes, dates, and barley is not forbidden if consumed for gaining strength, contemporary scholars have ruled that the prevalent perfumes, deodorants and creams may be used, for normally the alcohol used in them" (end of the published article).

     

    MCG comments:

     

    Based on above article the Hanafi ulema from England, South Africa and some in USA says any alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley is consider "Synthetic Alcohol" and can be consumed by Muslims. Technically this is a complete wrong definition because if alcohol obtained from corn then it is consider as synthetic alcohol according above ulema. But the process to obtain alcohol from corn is all natural and it is not synthetic. The alcohol obtained from corn is a result of yeast fermentation of corn. Where corn starch is breakdown to simple sugar then enzyme Zymase from yeast cells breaks the sugar to alcohol and carbon dioxide and it is all natural process. According above ulema  the corn alcohol should be consider as synthetic alcohol because it is not obtained from grape, date and barley.

     

    There are two kind of ethanol or alcohol, one called chemical Ethanol and Other is Bio Ethanol. The alcohol obtained from chemical ethanol process called synthetic alcohol in USA where ethanol or alcohol is obtained hydration of ethylene gas and Bio ethanol is obtained from fermentation of sugar by yeast. The source of sugar are many such from fruits (grape, dates or nay fruits) or from grain such as corn, wheat.

    You cannot called source other than grape or date as or barley synthetic because if ethanol obtained from corn then corn is not a synthetic source it is a natural source.

    Hajrat Imam Abu Hanifia RA's main intension was to get energy to do Ibadah because there are not many energy providing food products are available at that time. Many ulema miss the ibadah point.

    Now a days there are Halal foods are available to provide source of energy to do Ibadah.

     

    Here MCG's ulema fatwa on alcohol:

     

    FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

    Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

    Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but

    according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small

    quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.

    MCG considers alcohol from any source as Haram.

    The following information are obtained from internet regarding synthetic alcohol:

    Gasification produces a synthesis gas, sometimes called syngas (from synthesis gas), which, after cleaned, consists mostly of molecular hydrogen and carbon monoxide. The syngas is then passed over a catalyst, in a controlled environment, creating synthetic molecules, like the ethanol molecule pictured above left. The actual type of molecule depends on the catalyst used in the process.

    Synthetic ethanol is chemically identical to bio-ethanol, the only difference is that bio-ethanol is made from the fermentation of carbohydrate derived sugars, followed by distillation, identical to the process used for making alcoholic beverages such as vodka or whisky; whereas synthetic alcohol is produced through a thermo-chemical process which begins with the creation of syngas from the gasification of a wide range of resources, and therefore not limited to grains and sugars.

    2. CPG Sec. 555.100 Alcohol; Use of Synthetic Alcohol in Foods

    BACKGROUND:

    Questions about the suitability of synthetic alcohol for use in manufacturing vinegar arose as early as l948. By Administration Information Letter No. 90, dated January 28, l949, the districts were advised that we seriously doubted that a product made from synthetic alcohol could be appropriately regarded as a type of vinegar.

    "Ethyl alcohol is recognized in the U.S. Pharmacopeia, one of the official drug compendiums under the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act; consequently, ethyl alcohol intended for drug use must comply with the standards and tests laid down in the Pharmacopeia. Since the Pharmacopeia does not place any restrictions as to the method of manufacturing ethyl alcohol, synthetic alcohol which complies with the standards and tests set forth in the official monograph may legally be distributed for drug use.

    alcohol in food products to have been produced from fermented food substances, such as grains, fruit, etc., and that they do not expect their foods to contain 'alcohol' produced from petroleum gas.

    alcohol as a suitable food ingredient. This position, however, has not been the subject of any court review.

    Questions have been raised as to whether we can or should continue to consider synthetic alcohol unsuitable for food use. In order to secure more information, we wrote to the Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms Division, Internal Revenue Service. Their reply included the following paragraphs:

    alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum derivatives. It is our opinion that most of the distilled spirits used in the production of vinegar are derived from natural gas and petroleum. When such alcohol is used in the production of vinegar, we would consider any reference to 'grain alcohol' or 'neutral grain spirits' would be misleading for the alcohol and also the name 'grain vinegar' would be misleading, except for connoting strength, e.g., 40-grains.

    alcohol is used in the production of beverage products, our regulations require that the source of the alcohol be shown on the label except for cordials and liqueurs. Incidentally, I might add that most of the alcohol used in the production of medicinal preparations and flavors is synthetic."

    POLICY:

    Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as "grain alcohol" or "neutral grain spirits" is considered false and misleading.

    Bottom line is that some ulema  are confusing Muslims to consume alcohol obtained other than grape, date and barley. They even never used word getting

     


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 07:09:08
  • Are muslims allowed to eat chowmein or maggi noodles ?are these foods halal for muslims? - rana ali
  • AOA

    Maggi noodles with green dot or with vegetarian label on the package of products without any flavor are consider Halal. Maggi noodles are consider Not Halal if there is no Green Dot on the package of noodles.


    Category: General Question
    09-30-14 05:02:40
  • Nature's Way Alive! Men's 50+ Multivitamin & Multimineral is halal or not - kamal ahmed
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14

     


    Category: General Question
    09-29-14 03:14:36
  • Salamu Calaikum. Would someone please advised me if it is permissable to use a Designer Whey. I have checked their website to see if it was halal certified but unfortunately it was not but they have published on their site that all their protein products are kosher certified. Would that make it a permissable for me to use it? Jaza-akallah khair. - Farhan Omar
  • AOA

    Whey is kosher certified but does not mean they are Halal because they do not carry unflavored whey so all whey specially vanilla are made with alcohol containing vanilla which are dried to eliminate alcohol.

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

    The following are Halal whey protein:

     

    Search results for the term: whey

    Total results generated: 6
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Natural CFM Whey Protein Isolate Powder Natural Unflavored Dairy 2 LB Whey Protein Integrated Supplements Available only at various Vitamins stores. Please go to www.integratedsupplements.com to find out nearest store in your town. 02-17-14
    halal ProCel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Dairy 10 OZ Whey Protein Global Health Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-17-14
    halal Tara’s Whey Kosher Goat Protein Powder Dairy - Plain Unsweetened 12 Packets Whey Protein Tara's Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-17-14
    halal Tara’s Whey Kosher Organic Grass Fed Protein Dairy - Powder Plain 12 Packets Whey Protein Tara's Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-17-14
    halal Tara’s Whey Kosher Organic Grass Fed Protein Dairy - Powder Plain 12 OZ Whey Protein Tara's Available only at WWW.koshervitamins.com 1-800-645-1899 02-14-14
    halal Procel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Whey Protein Global Health Products The Halal whey protein is available from Global Health Products Inc. company. The product name is Global Health ProCel Whey Protein Powder Unflavored Dairy 10 Oz. Product # GH - 80. It can be obtained from www.globalhp.com. This product is kosher certified and use for body building and nutritional needs. 07-30-13


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 11:55:50
  • email addresses of importers of halal frozen meat What items your good self is importing. What food items We export Halal Frozen Chicken Cow Buffalo Got sheep meat, animal natural casing and other general goods consumer goods payment LC highclassnews6 atgmaildot com Buraq Corporation rawalpindi Pakistan payment LC Can u please send us product name, specifications or details, quantity, packing, name of consignee, address, port of destination to calculate and prepare Proforma invoices - buraq corp
  • AOA

    We do not sell or buy any food product. We are educating Muslims about Halal foods and food ingredients.


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 11:17:17
  • Is stearyl alcohol halal? - Hanan
  • AOA

    From our FAQ:

    What are Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Butyl Alcohol, Lauryl and Oleyl Alcohol used in Personal Care Products. Are they Halal:

    All above alcohol are not Ethyl Alcohol but they are fatty alcohol or fatty waxes made from either animal fat such as pork fat or vegetable fat such as soy fat. Only manufacturer will know the source of these ingredients. If any personal care company says that no animal derived ingredients are used in their products containing above alcohols it means they are obtained from vegetable fat.


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 09:56:23
  • Are all cooking oils(vegetable/corn/canola) with kosher symbol halal in Usa? - aaaaabc
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    09-28-14 09:05:05
  • Is crescent chicken halal - Nazia
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 20:44:44
  • Salaam. is Saudi Watani meat/chicken halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I advise you not eat any chicken in Saudi Arabia because they are machine slaughtered.

     

     


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 13:30:58
  • Salaam. i wanted to find out if there are any halal breads in Saudi? Someone told me that there are no halal breads there. when u go saudi do u eat any specific brand which is halal? JazakAllah. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    You can eat only pita bread or any bread made with wheat flour, water, yeast, vegetable oil, sugar and salt. I do not know about white western bread. You can also eat Baladi bread if there is no flavor.

     

     


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 13:29:25
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br this is a product called HALDIRAMS NAGPUR BHUJIA and it has the following ingredients Tapary Beans Flour (Moth), Edible Vegetable Oil, Chick peas Flour, Salt, Red Chilli Powder, Clove Powder, Black Pepper, Dried Ginger Powder, Cardamom, Bay Leaves. AND IT HAS A GREEN DOT is this halaal??? Br i am preparing a list of halaal indian items Jazakallah khayr. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    It is Halal. Thanks for information and it is added to Indian Food on our website.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 12:17:29
  • Assalamualikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br there is a product which has the following ingredients POTATO,EDIBLE VEGETABLE OIL,TOMATO POWDER,ONION POWDER,SALT,SUGAR,RED CHILLI,DRY MANGO POWDER,GARLIC POWDER,CUMIN,ACIDITY REGULATOR & ANTIOXIDANT (E 330) AND A GREEN DOT. IS THIS PRODUCT HALAAL?? JAZAKALLAH KHAYR. - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    What is the name product who manufactured it but is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 05:08:03
  • Another question. Sorry. What about medicines? They come in the form of syrups, tablets, capsules etc. Doctor prefer many medicines at the site of ill health. What to do then? Should I be checking each medicines' composition even during illness? Should I be still verifying it to be Halal or Haraam? Should I call the manufacturing companies at that time too? What to do? Shouldn't I use those medicines? ..What ....to ....dooooo.??????? I m so confused. ...........Please Help brother. From India, Syed Muteeb. - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    Most ulema says if there is no Halal alternate medicine available then you have to take in order to save your life. Most capsule are made with pork gelatin if there is no tablet available for that medicine then you open the capsule take out the powdered medicine dump in apple sauce and consume then through out the capsule in garbage. For over the counter syrup medicne like cough syrup you should not take with alcohol because there are many alcohol free cough syrups listed on our website. Ask the pharmacy that you do not take capsule like my pharmacist know that I can not take capsule medice so the mentioned on my account. If doctor prescribed capsulethen ask pharmacy to find out the tablet or caplet to fill in precription. If you really sick then ask pharmacy to find out pork free medicine for you. You can ask your doctor to prescribed non capsule medicine. There are few Halal prescribed medicine listed under NEWS section at our website. I am not a doctor or pharmacist. It is the job of Muslim Doctors Association and Muslim Phatmacist Association to help Muslims. I am a food scientist and can not work as a pharmacist but I try as hard as possible to help Muslims.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 01:02:42
  • Brother, I am very confused. I cannot classify every food item as Halal or Haraam. It is said to avoid such doubtful things. But I cannot stop using many of those daily products such as Soap, Handwash,Shampoos, Perfumes, Biscuits, Soft drinks, etc. I cannot prepare everything at home. We have to depend on outside products. But all outside products are not made by Muslims (i.e they are not Halal). For every product, I have to visit your website and have to ask you several questions making u disturb a lot. I feel sorry for that and would like to apologize. But at the same time I am Muslim and have to be careful in every aspect of life. As a brother, please suggest me some ways to get out of this confused and irritated life. I pray to ALLAH (swt) for you all since u do a lot of hardwork to provide halal to muslims. Pray for me bro. Your brother in Islam, Syed Muteeb (India). - Syed Muteeb
  • AOA

    I suggest to find out in your Muslim country which department is responsible for bringing from other non Muslim countries. Find out what are the Halal criteria they assign for imported foods. Then if it is satisfied your Halal criteria then consume them otherwise consume only locally made food product.


    Category: General Question
    09-27-14 00:51:50
  • What is the difference between Vanillin and Artificial Vanilla Flavor/ Vanilla Flavor - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Both are same.


    Category: General Question
    09-26-14 14:55:52
  • Change noodles have pig fat or not - aryan
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     

     


    Category: General Question
    09-26-14 11:29:39
  • If the product has kosher symbol do muslims can eat. If yes then macdonalds chicken burger and fish o fillet can be eaten - Anjum
  • AOA

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED NON MEAT FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE WHO MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

    McDonald chicken burger is not Halal because it is not zabiha, its fish coating is mashboo.


    Category: General Question
    09-26-14 10:20:57
  • Several of the medications I manage in hospitalized patients are derived from pork intestines. Many of my patients are Islam/Muslim. I do not wish to violate their beliefs by using these products if they are considered unclean. Are the following drugs halal? Heparin enoxaparin Lovenox Dalteparin Fragmin Thank you very much for your consideration and time. - Pamela Kohl
  • Hi

    I have no information but it is going to take some time to inestigate them. I would like to know their ingredients and who manufactured them. Many Islamic scholars said if there is no Halal medicine available in hospital then they have to take it in order to say their lives.


    Category: General Question
    09-26-14 09:33:02
  • Which banana bread is halal please let me know - Yasmeen
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-26-14 09:10:04
  • I want to ask about implora palette,maybellin lip balm,maybellin mascara,and pixy milk cleanser and face toner,pond's product and last cussons baby,halal or no? Please I so need information about them,,, Thank's for aswer... - iklimatul hasanah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-25-14 06:37:23
  • Butylphenyl methylproponial , c1 19140 (yellow 5), c1 16035 (red 40) are these ingredients allowed ? Halal as in? - abeer
  • AOA

    I have no information. Please contact manufacturer because he is the one who know the source.


    Category: General Question
    09-24-14 14:16:52
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatahu br my father lives in saudia arabia and I went to ksa for 4-5 times and I went last in 2012 when I went there there were local chicken slaughter houses but my father told that now the government has closed these local chicken slaughter houses and now the people there have to buy chicken which is machine slaughtered now what can we do in this case?? Jazakallah khayr - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui.
  • AOA

    The same question was asked to me by my neice in Jeddah in 2012 when Saudi Govt. invited me to give the presentation at a conference in Riyadh and I know at that time the chicken from other countries and inside Saudi Arabia are all machine slaughtered. Myself and my wife did not eat chicken at all for more than two weeks even at Riyadh, Mecca Shareef and Madina Shareef. Is machine slaughtering of chicken also happening in India specially in Hyderabad Chauk.

    You can ask this question to a a very good educated mufti saheb or do not eat chicken at all, eat fish.


    Category: General Question
    09-24-14 10:09:26
  • oral b company having halal ingredient in past and brush bristal - samed raheel
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: toothbrush

    Total results generated: 2
    Category Name Brand Description
    Toothbrush Reach Toothbrushes Reach According to Johnson & Johnson bristles of Reach toothbrushes are made with Nylon so there toothbrushes are Halal. November 2013
    Toothbrushes Toothbrushes Aqua fresh, Colgate, Crest, Mentadent, Oral-B and Reach Aqua fresh, Colgate, Crest, Mentadent, Oral-B and Reach toothbrushes are free from any pig hairs or any animal derived ingredients. Bristles from above brands of toothbrushes are made with nylon according to manufacturer of above brands in USA.

    Category: General Question
    09-23-14 15:11:54
  • i want to ask about " nauter' s promise company's products. Are they halal or not. espacially cheese and cookies? 2nd one is Giant make cheese and chocolate milk is halal or not? - nausheen
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    09-23-14 06:23:12
  • Is restaurant depot cheese halal( I think it's calles prime cheese) Thank you - Rabia
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 23:33:32
  • Is the z pack golden pound cakes halal - sunday daniel
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 11:23:21
  • can i use tresemme heat protection shine spra? is it halal? - zaheda shaikh
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 09:37:41
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu Br is only natural vanilla haraam or any natural flavour such as strawberry,peach,chocolate etc - Mohammed Abdullah Farooqui
  • AOA

    Any natural or artificial starwberry, peach, chocolate flavor is not Halal if they made with alcohol.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 03:36:16
  • is Hairfinity a vitamin pill which contains bovine Beef Halal? - Sara
  • AOA

    It is not Halal according MCG ulema.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 03:29:22
  • IAM A MUSLIM GIRL,AND AM A BRIGHT AND LIGHT SKIN PERSON BUT I WONT TO USE COCOA BUTER TO MAKE MY SKIN LOOK DRY AND HEALTHY I DONT NO IF ITS HALAL OR HARAM - Oseh Melvin Bangura
  • AOA

    Without ingredients I can not answer your questions because there are several Halal non Halal coaco butter but 100% Coaco butter without any ingredients is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 03:25:26
  • Assalamualaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu B r when will the Indian food section start?? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I am recovering from two foot surgeries and I can not spend much time in Indian stores because of pain. Inshalla when I recovered I will start updating it.


    Category: General Question
    09-22-14 01:54:21
  • is All gold bbq sauce halaal? - Luqmaan
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    09-21-14 22:49:00