USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,178 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,943 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,955 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,297 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,438 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 70 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,643 ]

Recent Questions:

  • is ritters sport chocolate halal?i don't know the ingredients plz answer me soon? - shahla saleem
  • AOA

    It is a European product and I do not know whether it is Halal or not.


    Category: General Question
    06-01-13 09:47:41
  • AOA can you define what is kosher gelatin and haram kosher gelatrin. Wassalam - javed akram
  • AOA

    From our FAQ:

    Is Kosher Gelatin Halal

    No, Kosher gelatin is not Halal because it is made either from pork or non zabiha beef and therefore kosher gelatin from pork is Haram. A liberal kosher symbol K appears on yogurts containing kosher gelatin because some Rabbis consider kosher gelatin from pork as kosher.


    Category: General Question
    06-01-13 04:58:36
  • is novalac infants formula halal? - ilknur
  • AOA

    This is not a US brand but Australian by Bayer AUS and it does not kosher symbol. So ask them whether it is suitable for vegetarian babies or not.


    Category: General Question
    06-01-13 01:05:13
  • Aoa What i got from your answers is: Vanillin is halal powder by itself..it is used as an artifical flavor ...to make that flavor it needs to be used with solvent... This solvent may b alcohol, or propylene glycol. If it is alcohol then haram...and only manufacturers know what they use... It means if. Vanillin- an artificial flavor is written under statement then we should ask manufacturer? That the use prop glycol or alcohol? - Sana
  • AOA

    No, you still has misunderstanding. Vanillin does not need a solvent because it is a powder. If you see only Vanillin under ingredients statement as flavor then you do not have to call to the manufacturer but if it conatins natural or artificial flavor then you have to call teh manufacturer to find out whether alcohol was used or not.


    Category: General Question
    05-31-13 23:49:44
  • assalamoualaikum Is emborg butter halal ? JazzakAllah - Mohammad
  • AOA

    If it is Salted Butter then it is Halal but if it is unsalted butter and has flavoring then it is not Halal.

    From our FAQ:

    Ingredients of Halal Salted Butter:

    The salted butter is made with cream mechanically separated from cow's milk and salt. So all salted butter from any brand is Halal regardless of Halal or kosher symbol.

    Ingredients of Unslated Butter:

    The ingredients of unsalted butter is pasteurized sweet cream and natural flavoring or pasteurized sweet cream and lactic acid. Unsalted butter is Halal only if it is made with pasteurized sweet cream and lactic acid. But some time dairy companies add lactic acid and termed it as natural flavoring. It is better to call companies to confirm it.The natural flavoring is also made from Star Distillate. Starter Distillate in many unsalted butter brands contains Diacetyl. As we reported in our Ingredients section about Starter Distillate as "Besides diacetyl, starter distillate also contains minor amounts of acetaldehyde, ethyl formate, ethyl acetate, acetone, ethyl alcohol, 2-butanone, acetic acid and acetone. Since this minor amount of ethyl alcohol Starter Distillate is consider not Halal. If the dairy companies guarantee that their Starter Distillate do not contain minor amount of alcohol then it can be used. But our advice is to always use salted butter or if you see Pasteurized Sweet Cream and Lactic Acid under ingredients statement of Unsalted Butter then you can use the unsalted butter for example Horizon's Organic Unsalted Butter.


    Category: General Question
    05-31-13 22:16:15
  • Aoa I want to make my doubt clear...u told me that use of propylene glycol in vanillin is known to mamufacturer only....and on the and u told me if vanillin is written then it s halal? How can u clearify this statement?how do u know vanillin used as a flavor always halal?when u dont know about propylene glycol or alcohol usage.. U know on nutella hazelnut spread vanillin is written but when i asked the nutella company they told me it is natural vanillin and alcohol is used as processing aid. U can ask and verify by yourself. I think that is not a simple thing ....there is something wrong about it. We should inquire companies first. please correct me if iam wrong.because i hve stopped many products because of this issue. - Sana
  • AOA

    I never wrote that propylene glycol is used in Vanillin. Vanillin is a dry ingredient and does not need any liquid solvent. What I wrote that the manufacturer is the only one who knows what solvent or carrier used in any flavor. Yes if Vanillin written under the ingredients statement then only Vanillin is Halal.

    Vanillin is not use in food products always mostly natural flavor and artificial flavor is used.

    Nobody knows whether any flavor is made either with propylene glycol or alcohol only the manufacturer is known. You are confused.

     

    From Ingredients section:

     

    halal

    Vanillin

    Mineral, Chemical, Synthetic based Ingredients

    Vanillin is a flavorant made from synthetic or artificial vanilla which can be plant lignin or synthetically mad e from guaiacol and eugenol.

     

    This is information was available on our website and you did not check it before calling Nutella. If you have read this then there is no need you to call Nutella.

     

    Nutella customer service are not technical people  and sometimes they put their own 2 cents to confuse consumers.

    Vanillin is never be a natural because it is not obtained from vanilla beans. Vanilla or Vanilla flavor contains natural vanillin which is different from artificial vanillin. Natural Vanillin is obtained from vanilla beans through alcohol and water extraction. Th8s is the reason Vanilla or vanilla flavor is not Halal. No food company writes natural vanillin under ingredients statement.

     

    Many people work at consumer department of a food company are not food technologist because the food companies cannot afford to employee food technologist. The people work at consumer department do not know  the requirements of Halal foods so please do not trust them.

     


    Category: General Question
    05-30-13 21:29:23
  • Some of the products listed in the cosmetics and personal care lists are not updated lately. Can you please ensure to see if they are still halal? And also in the lists you only put specific products, not like the whole brand, please indicate what that means. And lastly, there are lot's of brands out there that might be halal or not but they are not indicated in your lists. Like tressemme, garnier, pert, paul mitchell and etc. Why aren't they included in your lists, and most of the products listed are not available in drug stores, please add some that are more common if you can.Can you contact them to see if they sell any specific halal products. Thank you please verify me as soon as possible. I love your site but i would like you to updated fast just so the info. is still applied. Like for example, i heard that MAC is no longer halal, so small details would be nice. Thank you so much this has been so helpful for my life. - mastoureh
  • AOA

    This requires the help of 3 technical people, MCG can not offord to employee people because of our income. I am the only one who does every thing for free. My first priority is food products and food ingredients not cosmetic. So whenever I have time I will update it. I have no time to reserach every product of a cosmetic brand even for a food brand. This is not a cosmetic website and I am not a cosemetic chemist. I do not know many cosmetic ingredients.

    You can do the search by yourself,  just ask the cosmetic company whether all the ingredients are obtained from vegetable source or not, whether alcohol is used in fragrance or not whether Carmine is part of the ingredient list or not because it is a Haram ingredient.


    Category: General Question
    05-30-13 20:19:42
  • Is taco bell the restaurant halal - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-28-13 18:44:16
  • Can we use hand sanitizer which has alcohol as active ingredients? - Fathima
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: General Question
    05-28-13 07:07:44
  • Assalam o alaikum, Brother, I have searched your site about the machine slaughtered meat and stunning process, I have a few questions which I would request you to respond to: 1) Is stunning of animals and poultry halal or not under hanafi madhhab. 2) As machine slaughetered meat is also supplied to Saudi Arabia, how can any person who is there to perform Hajj and Umrah can ensure that he eats Halal hand slaughtered meat? 3) Similarly, where machine slaughtered and / or meat slaughteerd through stunning is certified halal by muslim certifying authorities of various countries, how can a Muslim travelling to other countries have hand slaughetered halal meat as per Shariah? Appreciate your kind response. Regards. - Ambreen
  • AOA

    There are diffrerent opinion about stunning among Islamic scholars, some says it is ok and others say not allowed. Machine slaughtered is not accepted as Halal Zabiha by 40 ulema from Britain. The best thing is to avoid consuming chaicken. I advise Muslims to avoid consumeing chicken if you are not sure it is machine slaughter or hand slaughter.


    Category: General Question
    05-27-13 21:33:30
  • Are charcoal tablets halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-27-13 09:22:14
  • are avon makeup products halal? - bint e noor
  • AOA

    Search Category: Non Food Products

    Seach results for the term: avon

    Total results generated: 1
    Category Name Brand Description
    Cosmetic Makeup Products Avon Some products are made with pork fat and some products are Kosher(December 2010).

    Category: General Question
    05-26-13 03:11:33
  • Are Dum-Dums halal - M.A.S
  • AOA

    I do not have information.

     


    Category: General Question
    05-25-13 17:11:18
  • the list of halal food items (ice cream, Bread etc) mentioned on site of Muslim con. g. Does this list also applied to Japan - Mohammad Sharif Kakar
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: General Question
    05-24-13 19:28:48
  • aoa, just want to know the list of haram ingredients used in cosmetics - Muhammad Raza Ali Sheikh
  • AOA

    Gelatin, Carmine red color, pork fat based ingredients, non zabiha fat base ingredients, alcohol and alcohol in fragrance.


    Category: General Question
    05-24-13 05:23:53
  • Assalamoalaykum, I would like to know whether Fruitopia juice is halal or haram? - Riyaz
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-23-13 23:09:58
  • Are products manufactured in Saudi Arabia halal?? since almost none of them is Written halal and Saudi Arabia is an Islamic country, can we assume that their products are halal ? - Sawdah
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-22-13 09:30:15
  • Asalamalaikum, I recently learned that there are many food items with insect fragments that we eat everyday, as listed in the FDA handbook for guidance, please visit the link below. Is there any guidance on such items and other food items that have insect fragments and other infestation or contaminants? http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/SanitationTransportation/ucm056174.htm - RK
  • AOA

    I spent 8 years analyzing insect fragments in Semolina, Durum flour and pasta products for Prince Macaroni Compnay. Insect fragment occur in flour, wheat base products not on milk or dairy ingredients, eggs and other products. I know the FDA's limit on insect fragrgments because I was QA Manager of Prince Macaroni for 8 years and incharge of QA for whole USA for Nabsico Oreo, Chips Ahoy, Snackwell Brownies for 3 1/2 years.

    The occurence of insect fragments is based on GMP, HAACP, and quality assurance practices of a food company.

    These are called as incidental insect fragmnet and which also happen at home too. But this is nothing to do witth sharia rule that all insect are Haram. This sharia rule based on obtaining ingredients from insect source such as Carmine red color, even insect secretion is also Halal, the honey is made from flower necters carried by honey bees.


    Category: General Question
    05-22-13 04:14:20
  • Is Ocean Spray products halal? - Garland Raheem Lloyd
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-20-13 22:01:02
  • Assalamoualaikum, Can you please advise if Unreal candy is halal? Thank you. - taslimah
  • AOA

    I do not have information.

     


    Category: General Question
    05-20-13 18:58:47
  • Assalamu alikom How could I trust this organisation.are you allowed by govt.and there are so many organisations which are degrading the value of products for their benefit.why you people are not coming forward on tv channels or going to protest against these products.on internet only few people could know about it but large part of of Ummah could not get any information regarding this.plz justify. - seth
  • AOA

    The proof of trust Muslims for website is that alhumdulillah our website is logged in 159 countries and more than 2400 Muslims visit our website daily. I am providing this service free for Muslims and I do not get a penny for my services. I will truth about food products, food ingredienmts based on scientific knowledge, Quran and ahadith.

    I have no money to go on TV channels and we do not accept donations then tell me what should I do.


    Category: General Question
    05-19-13 01:25:45
  • Assalamualaikum, is mcvities milk chocolate biscuits halal in the UK? It says natural flavouring on the packet but I dont know if it was extracted using alcohol or not. Please let me know. Jazakh Allah Khayr - Tamanna
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-18-13 10:08:33
  • would like to know bb cream maybelline is halal or not? - suriati
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-17-13 23:45:00
  • Is red wine extract haram? It is mentioned as ingredient in "SP Complete" product for body cleansing or weight loss treatment - Abdel
  • AOA

    Wine Extract is a Haram ingredient and Muslims are not allowed to use it.


    Category: General Question
    05-17-13 13:32:58
  • I would be grateful if would please let me know if hovis and kings mill breads are halal. - ASIF IQBAL
  • AOA

    If it says suitable for vegetarian and has no flavor, no L-Cysteine then it is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-15-13 14:35:41
  • Assalamu alaikum alcohol denat and benzyl alcohol contained spray(e.g axe,yardley)is to be used or not and also tell which sprays are to be used. - Ahamed sulaiman
  • AOA

    You can use it.


    Category: General Question
    05-15-13 11:22:22
  • pls the agent of dubai syoss shampoo german product the information the agent place and telephone ,e-mail or fax tell me - abdifatah
  • AOA

    I do not have information.

     


    Category: General Question
    05-15-13 09:27:09
  • NIVEA LIPISTIC HALAL OR HARAM - SAGEER
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-14-13 23:06:08
  • I want to know that Popcorn shrimp is now selling in RCSS canada. On the packet of 2Kgs. show only made in USA. & no other company's name.Pls inform me is that Halal or not? - Farrah naz
  • AOA

    Shrimp is mukhrooh for Hanafi Muslim, since it does not have kosher symbol then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-14-13 18:03:24
  • Allah says in Holy Quran: (Al-Ankabut: 45) إِنَّ الصَّلَاةَ تَنْهَىٰ عَنِ الْفَحْشَاءِ وَالْمُنكَرِ ۗ “Indeed, prayer prohibits immorality and wrongdoing” But we (Muslims) offer five times prayer daily and still we commit sins (intentionally and un-intentionally). Discuss that: What is lacking in our prayers and why our prayers do not stop us from sins - shahroze khan
  • AOA

    This is very good question only a qualified Islamic Scholar can answer it.


    Category: General Question
    05-14-13 06:29:47
  • Are romano cheese and bleu cheese halal? What about the other cheeses as well? I heard that it depends if rennet is used, it is not halal. Can you name me the halal cheese brands? - Servant of Allah
  • AOA

    Those cheeses are Halal only if they are Halal or Kosher certified.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-13 23:44:18
  • Are Avail Brand products halal? - Ku A Rahman Omar
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-12-13 20:21:04
  • hershey's kisses milk chocolate filled with caramel halal or not? - shakira
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.

     


    Category: General Question
    05-11-13 19:36:53
  • assalamualaikum, sir i have heard a information that if a man didnot read jumma namaj for 3 weeks constant then he will lose his religion. is it right? - mina nargis
  • AOA

    Please ask this question to a Islamic Scholar. But Juma Namaz is not farz for women.


    Category: General Question
    05-11-13 01:58:00
  • Are there other chocolates, like m and m's and twix etc., besides Hershey's that use alcohol for processing? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-10-13 20:18:16
  • Is olive garden the restaurant, is the food halal or not? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I did not research it.


    Category: General Question
    05-10-13 05:33:15
  • I wanted to take rapid loss shakes to loose some weight but want to know if its halal first. Shukran Thank you - Is Rapid Loss products halal
  • AOA

    Sorry, I did not reserach any weight loss products but you can also lose weight though your diets with have side effect from taking peel. Stay from from sugery, salty and fatty product. I am sure Inshallah you will lose weught if  you determined to follow the strict low calorie, low sugar diet. Ramadan is coming in July, this best way to start your weight loss project.


    Category: General Question
    05-09-13 17:42:29
  • on many food products there is a M sign with halal written in english and arabic. like on ensure and pediasure ect...i want to know is that sign is mcg or other. can we use those products as halal . - abdul
  • AOA

    M sign is not MCG sign but it belongs to IFANCA organization. They Halal certify food products made with alcohol containing flavor and they also Halal certify Nucleotide which is grown on alcohol. They Halal certify machine slaughtered chicken as Zabiha Halal.

    MCG do not accept any food products or ingredients if they are Halal certified by IFANCA.


    Category: General Question
    05-09-13 09:43:14
  • Is crest 3d toothpaste hallal - Imrozia
  • AOA

    All Crest toothpaste are not made with animal by products.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-13 16:06:22
  • salaam, i JUST WANT TO KNOW. is fab icecream haraam? are doughnuts haraam? - farah
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-13 10:32:59
  • salam..can I get the status on lay's brand stax barbecue potato chips.. i recently buy these chips but i curious with the status..help me.. - wan
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-13 06:25:00
  • I want to whether children's paracetamol is halal - Nazneen sultana
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-13 04:29:24
  • is it halal hersheys' chocolate? - raihan
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-08-13 03:27:27
  • aslm alkm i know that denatured alcohol is toxic bcoz of the presence of methane and cannot be consumed at all.....what i want to know is..""is this denatured alcohol causes intoxication in its nature""?? i mean does it have intoxicating nature in its characteristics..???i know it cant be consumed....it has intoxicating property or not..??? - ayaan
  • AOA

    Denatured means destroy the intoxication qulaity. It is only recmmended for personal products.


    Category: General Question
    05-06-13 22:20:07
  • Ascorbic acid is Halal. But there's an ascorbic acid capsule sold in my country. I have no information about the capsule ingredient. I've decided to break the capsule open and discard the capsule and use only the ascorbic acid crystals inside as a skincare serum mixed with water. Will it be okay? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    If it is 100% Ascorbic Acid then it is OK.


    Category: General Question
    05-06-13 08:37:18
  • godrej hair color is useble or not - abdul
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-06-13 07:29:59
  • Hello, Do you know if Cullucor M5 or Cullucor C4 are Halal? If not, then are there any Halal Pre-workout supplements available that you know of? The Ingredients for Cullocor M5 are: 30 Servings Fruit Punch Serving Size1Scoop(1.07g) Servings Per Container60 Amount Per Serving % DV IGNITE Folate 250mcg 62% Vitamin B12 34mcg 575% Beta Alanine 500mg † Explosive Energy Blend 327mg † Caffeine Anhydrous (150 Mg), N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine, Mucuna Pruriens, Rauwolscine HCL, Folic Acid, Vitamin B12 (As Methylcobalamin), Pridoxine Phosphate Serving Size1Scoop(17.72g) Servings Per Container30 Amount Per Serving % DV BUILD Calories 10 Sodium 15mg 1%** Total Carbohydrates 1g <1%** Vitamin C 250mg 417% Magnesium 244mg 61% L-Leucine 3000mg † Creatine MagnaPower® Magnesium Creatine Chelate 3000mg † Creatine Nitrate 2000mg † Beta Alanine 2000mg † Arginine AKG 2000mg † Betaine HCL 1000mg † Citrulline Malate 1000mg † Grape Seed Extract 200mg † ** Percent Daily Values (%DV) are based on a 2,000 calorie diet † Daily Value not established Other Ingredients: Silicon Dioxide, Citric Acid, Sucralose, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Malic Acid, Beet Juice (Color), Acesulfame Potassium (Ace-K) Creatine MagnaPower® Is A Registered Trademark Of Albion Laboratories, Inc, And Is Covered By U.S. Patent 6,114,379 And Patents Pending. Contains Soy Lecithin. Please advise. - Kashif
  • AOA

    The most important for any supplements is the Halal or kosher certification which protect Muslim consumers from adding Haram Hidden Ingredients. First please our website for Vitamins and if do not get then search your product at www.koshervitamins.com, It must not contain alcohol in flavor, no coating with shellac, no extract such as Rosemary Extract.


    Category: General Question
    05-05-13 19:03:26
  • what are kosher symbols & give list of kosher symbols. - uzma shahid
  • AOA

    OU, Circle K, Circle V, Kuf K, K, CRC and many more.


    Category: General Question
    05-05-13 09:40:01
  • is bubble tea halal? - saleem B
  • AOA

    I do not have information.

     


    Category: General Question
    05-05-13 00:43:07
  • If there is no certification symbol, why do you consider the product not Halal? e.g. Juicy juice Apple - Fadhel
  • AOA

    Because the ingredeints list doe not mentioned Hidden ingredients. Halal or Kosher symbol on the food package protect Muslims from adding Haram hidden ingredients. FDA allows hidden ingredients up to 2% of the formula.


    Category: General Question
    05-03-13 20:12:08
  • Is excel gum halal to eat - Raheel siddiqi
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-13 19:17:31
  • Is there a system in place, whereby we can tell whether a product is halal or not by looking at the barcode number? - Roland
  • AOA

    MCG is working on it.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-13 17:42:10
  • Assalamualaikum, I have emailed Ben and Jerrys food company regarding their status of vanilla extract in ice creams. They sent me a list of all products that contain alcohol as flavouring, but some products, such as chocolate fudge brownie was not present on it which contains vanilla extract too. I have emailed them again asking them specifically, but in the meantime will it be considered musbooh to eat ben and jerrys chocolate fudge brownie? GMWA foodguide inidicate alcohol flavoured ben and jerry products on their page, but they said chocolate fudge brownie and a couple of others didnt contain any alcoholic flavouring, even though it contains vanilla extract. Will it be considered musbooh to consume the ice cream? Jazakh Allah Khayr - Tamanna
  • AOA

    Any food product with Vanilla Extract is Haram because Vanilla Extract contains 35% alcohol. Ben & Jerry is not a good brand for ice cream because Coffee Health Crunch Ice Cream which Halal because it made without flavor.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-13 10:42:27
  • What are your thoughts on these Frito Lay products? Are all products listed in this list halal to consume? http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/us-products-made-without-porcine-enzymes.html - Sirmuri
  • AOA

    It does not mean they are Halal. Please follow those Frito Lay Products which are listed as Halal on our website.

    From Ingredients Description under Ingredients section:

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal: 1. Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast). 2. Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast). 3. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. 4. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves 5. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases 6. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk added 7. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese 8. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese 9. Harmless plant based enzyme is added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese 10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food, gelatin(if it is used then it is not Halal) is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums instead of gelatin. 11. Cheese must be Kosher certified(if kosher certification meets Halal requirements) or the starter culture bacteria, rennet, media upon which the culture bacteria grows has to be kosher certified or use of microbial rennet or Lipase or whey is made from using culture bacteria obtained from milk source, microbial rennet or milk is used as a media.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-13 07:42:05
  • Is special k cereal halal? - anisa
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-13 06:40:08
  • I want to open one cake shope , it is hala way of earning because in cake shope i provide a b'day cake also???? - safana baig
  • AOA

    I can help to get those cake mixes which are kosher certified with out any alcohol in it. Please contact me with our contact e-mail.


    Category: General Question
    05-02-13 02:07:51
  • My daughter eats Betty Crocker Fruit Flavored snacks ( the dora little bites). Is this okay or not? - waf
  • AOA

    None of Betty Crocker Fruit Flavored Snacks are Halal.


    Category: General Question
    05-01-13 20:03:53
  • Is Laura mecier cosmetic halal - Roha khan
  • AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    05-01-13 17:58:52
  • red bull drink halal or haram ? - sohail
  • AOA

    It is made with alcohol containing flavor so it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-30-13 17:28:32
  • Assalamualikum, i want to know if the dairy fresh swiss style is halal from usa - sultan
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: General Question
    04-30-13 17:12:56
  • Do shampoos, conditioners and bodywashes containing fruit or any vegetable extract, which are used in many brands,considered halal or are they haram. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Some do and does not. These companies do not tell what they use in extraction. Majority do not tell the presence of alcohol in fragrance. Tjhey only tell whether animal dervied ingredients are used in the shampoo and conditioners or not. But some company does tell that no animal by product and no alcohol such as Purrel Shampoo and White Rain Shampoo & Conditioner. 


    Category: General Question
    04-29-13 18:33:26
  • is Mc Donalds chicken halal??? COz we often visit Mc donalds. - Shaffat shaikh
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.because they are not slaughtered by Muslim.


    Category: General Question
    04-29-13 06:08:52
  • Assalamoalaykum, I would like to know Deep product samosa cheese pizza is halal or not? Please verify it and reply to my email address. Thank you Riyaz - RIYAZ CONTRACTOR
  • AOA

    Deep's 100% spices are Halal. Other products are not Halal such cheese pizza.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-13 15:32:41
  • can denatured alcohol causes intoxicity...???i asked bcoz i saw in one article as follows::: ""rule of impurity and prohibition to use such perfumes applies when the impure materials do not change during the manufacturing process. If alcohol no longer existed in its original form, but completely changed so as not to cause drunkenness then the resulting perfumes would no longer be considered impure.preponderant opinion is to avoid using such perfumes even if other materials are added to them and one can not drink them. The reason for avoiding perfumes is due to the impurity of the alcohol. as above lines,if denatured alcohol cuases intoxicity but cant drink bcoz of the addition of toxic chemicals,.it wont be permissible naa since it causes intoxicity.... so please anwer me whether denatured alcohol can cause intoxicity..??? - ayaan
  • AOA

    Yes, it is made with methane so it is toxic.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-13 05:18:34
  • Is Garrette's popcorn halal? i'm living in singapore. here's the link. ( http://www.garrettpopcorn.com/service/nutritional-information/ ) - Zulkifli
  •  

    AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    04-28-13 01:23:50
  • is captain d sea food chain uses halal stuff for cooking there sea food. - sheik iliyaz
  •  

    AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    04-26-13 14:42:35
  • can denatured alcohol causes intoxicity...??? can we use face washes that contains ethyl alcohol as it is washed off soon after it is applied on the face..... - ayaan
  • AOA

    You can drink denatured alcohol because it contains toxic chemicale methane. Any face washes with alcohol are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-13 23:07:48
  • I live in New York City. Is it haram to eat chicken from Popeyes Chicken (Luisiana Kitchen)? - Anika
  • AOA

    Yes.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-13 11:16:40
  • I am so sorry about the previous inquiry, i have just gone through your website, and mashaallah youre very good. Keep up the good work brothers and sisters. - Mohammed
  • AOA

    Thanks


    Category: General Question
    04-24-13 07:38:49
  • What information do you actually have? Just curious as to whether you know anything about halal products. - Mohammed
  • AOA

    35 years of US food industry food plants experience and developing 18 new products for supermarkets beside education in Cereal Technology.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-13 07:36:56
  • AOA! your halaal certifications are applicable for products available in all countries? - Izi
  • AOA

    All except Indonesia and Malaysia.


    Category: General Question
    04-24-13 05:17:29
  • Is prenatal multivitamin (Kirkland signature) which has gelatin in its ingredients) halal or haram? Kirkland brand Is owned by Costco. - Zakaria
  • AOA

    The Halal, rule in USA is that any product contains "GELATIN" is consider as NOT HALAL unless it says FISH GELATIN under ingredients list. If you search Prenatal then you will see a list of Halal prenatal vitamins on our website.

     

    Search Category: Food Products

    Seach results for the term: prenatal

    Total results generated: 4

    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    \"halal\" Maxi Health Kosher Maxi Prenatal Caps One Per Day 120 MaxiCaps Prenatal Vitamins Maxi Health Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    \"halal\" Nutri-Supreme Research Kosher Prenatal Caps Once Daily 90 Vegetarian Capsules Prenatal Vitamins Nutri-Supreme Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    \"halal\" Zahlers Kosher Total One Prenatal 60 Capsules Prenatal Zahlers Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13
    \"halal\" Landau Kosher Prenatal 250 TAB Prenatal Vitamins Landau Available at www.koshervitamins.com or call 1-800-645-1899 03-26-13


    Category: General Question
    04-23-13 13:18:40
  • Is the omega 3 made by Nutrivital,Healthway,Totally natural,Bioglan(australia) halal?thank - Mamun
  •  

    AOA

    I do not have information.

     


    Category: General Question
    04-23-13 08:58:43
  • aslm alkm...i saw in ur fiqah science..about distilled vinegar...there.at the end of the product, we get acetic acid +water+ a minute amount of dilute ethyl alcohol....and u concluded that distilled white vinegar is halal but its raw material is not halal...what you mean by that....plz give me clear image on that....if small amount of dilute alcohol is present in the vinegar then how come it be halal..?? According to a Hadith small portion of intoxicant is also Haram as large portion. in case of wine vinegar.,since it is not 100% vinegar,it is not considered as halal,right..??? same is the case of distilled vinegar...it is not 100%(as per u,contains minute amount of dilute alcohol in its product)....plz clarify my doubt......may allah reward u for what u r doing for muslims............... fee amaanee allah...... - ayaan
  • AOA

    You have to read sharia books. In which they say a Haram source can change to Halal through Tabdeele Mahiya. According ouer Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan all the resulting componenets in vinagar are Halal including a very minute amount of alcohol. Then you should not eat fruits and vegetable because alcohol is produced during maturing process from green fruit to ripe fruits and this is natural process. Anthing which naturally produced with minor amount of alcohol is Halal. Vinegar is produced naturally during the days of ourProphet Sayyidina Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wassallum and it contains minor amount of alcohol.

    Vinegar can be made naturally are also by commercial method of innoculating organism to alcohol. Alcohol is 100% alcohol but wine is not 100% alcohol but it conatins other things. The conversion of alcohol to vinegar is close to 1oo% of acetic acids and water but conversion of wine to wine vinegar involed only conversion of alcohol not other components of wine.


    Category: General Question
    04-21-13 23:59:12
  • Is lit critters gummy vitamens for kids halal? - nisa ahmed
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-20-13 09:13:43
  • Very urgent- Assalamu alaikum Dearest Brother. I will be grateful if you could let me know whether unsalted butter is halal or not? What question should I ask the manufacturere to know whether it is halal or not? I have an unsalted butter rom ALMARAI in Saudi Arabia. The ingredients are- Cows milk Fat, Bacterial culture, milk fat min 80%, milk fat not slids not fat 2%, moisture max 18%. Please kindly let me know your opinion by reading the ingredients. Your help is really appreciated. May Allah reward you with the est in both the worlds for your excellent efforts. Jazakallah khair - m adam
  • AOA

    Since there is no flavoring in unsalted butter ingredients statement then it is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-20-13 08:29:52
  • Follow-up on the Question Number # 5 of a Total of 5 Questions i had asked on 03-11-13 01:10:36. Assalaamu Alaykum,... i had asked you the following.. "I am also planning to buy Solgar Skin, Nails & Hair Tablets-Advanced formula which is mentioned under Halal-category at their website itself." You had replied the following.. "There is no Solgar Skin, Nails & Hair Tablets-Advanced formula on www.koshervitamins.com and also not Solgar website". I would like to bring it to your attention the floowing link which has an entire range of Halal products from Solgar: http://www.solgar.com/SolgarProducts/Halal.htm Also the olgar Skin, Nails & Hair Tablets-Advanced formula can be found under halal if you click the following link: http://www.solgar.com/SolgarProducts/Skin-Nails-Hair-Tablets.htm ....This is for your information. i had also asked you the following: " I would also like you to recommend a good Halal Glucosamine and Chondroitin product"?? You had so generously replied the following: Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date Glucosamine Sulfate vegicaps Vitamins Maxi Health For Dietary support for healthy joints and mobility a Halal Glucosamine Sulfate vegicaps from Maxi Health Maxi GS (Glucosamine Sulfate) Supreme 500 Mg. 60 Vegicaps Product # MXG-60 UPC 753406113064 is available by calling 1-800-645-1899 or visiting www.koshervitamins.com 12-07-10 It is already under vitamins on our website. Chondroitin is not kosher certified. i would like to know if chondroitin is derived from the sea?? is it crab or shrimp?.. you had suggested only a glucosamine product earlier and hence i would like to use a product which has both glucosamine and chondroitin... i would like to consume chondroitin if it is nothing but crab or shrimp since i am not a hanafi .. kindly guide me to the right product from Solgar.com or Koshervitamin.com Jazaakallaahu Khairan.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    The Maxi Health Glucosmine is not available. So I recommend you to buy the non shelfish Solgar Kosher Glucosamine Hydrochloride 1000 Mg. (Shellfish Free) 60 Tablets UPC code 033984013117 from www.koshervitamins.com. For Chondroitin, I have no recommendation.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 23:15:35
  • Follow-up on the Question Number # 4 of a Total of 5 Questions i had asked on 03-11-13 01:10:08. Assalaamu'ALaykum, Dear brother, i understand that presently there is no Halal Casein available and i want to buy the product which you recommend , i.e Integrated Supplements Kosher 100% Natural CFM Whey Protein Isolate Dairy Natural Unflavored 2 LB . I understand that you recommended the natural(unflavoured) flavour. i observed on their website that they also have other additional 6-six flavours also like rich dutch chocolate, vanilla ice cream, wild strawberry, chocolate mint, coffee ice-cream and strawberry banana. i would like to know from yourself if i can also consume the other flavours from integrated supplements?? kindly let me know if they are halal??? Jazaakallaahu Khairan.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    The answer is no. Only unflavored whey protein Isolate.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 23:15:20
  • Follow-up on the Question Number # 3 of a Total of 5 Questions i had asked on 03-11-13 01:09:34. Assalaamu'Alaykum, Based on your advise i asked Bio Nutrition through email the following many many many times and finally they responded at last... Hello, I am interested in understanding your product better and hence I wanted a little clarification from your end,... kindly oblige me... I understand that BIO NUTRITION RASPBERRY KETONE DIET is made with Green Tea Extract and I wanted to know if the solvent for Green Tea extract is alcohol or is it water?? I also want to know whether alcohol is used in Bio Nutrition Raspberry Ketones and Green Tea Extract?? Kindly reply at the earliest.. Regards- This is the reply i received... Thomasina LoMacchio 1 Apr to me Alcohol is used in the green tea extraction and in the ketone extract for the original version . Our natural ketone version does not use alcohol in the extraction process however it only has 40% actives as opposed to 99% actives in the synthetic. Thomasina LoMacchioSenior Account ManagerBio Nutrition Inc.Phone: 516-432-1590 ext. 301Fax: 516-432-1591www.bionutritioninc.comThomasina@bionutritioninc.com Hence i just dropped the idea of consuming their product.. Jazaakallaahu Khairan.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    What they are saying that in their natural Ketone they do not use alcohol in extraction but only 40% Ketone available compare to their synthetic version which is made with alcohol extract but it has 99% availability of Ketone. It is up to you.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 23:15:06
  • Follow-up on the Question Number # 2 of a Total of 5 Questions i had asked on 03-11-13 01:09:08. Assalaamu Alaykum, Based on your advise, i have asked Solgar the following on 17 march: Hello,.. I am confused between 2 of your products:- 1)Solgar's Male multiple tablets- 3 tab/day and 2)Solgar Kosher Formula VM-75 Iron Free Multiple Vitamins with Chelated Minerals- 1 tab/day. As mentioned in my last interaction with you, I am into loosing a little weight, around 20lbs and also gaining muscle with a lot of physical activity and for my multivitamins needs I zeroed in on the above 2 products from Solgar. I dont know as to which is better; 3 tab/day i.e the Solgar Male multiple OR the 1 tab/day i.e the Solgar Kosher Formula VM-75 Iron Free Multiple Vitamins with Chelated Minerals...?? Is the Solgar male mutiple (3 tab/day) kosher/halal certified? If not, kindly mention the ingredients present in it which DO NOT make it kosher or halal certifiable? Also with regards to the Solgar male multiple 3 tab/day, I want to know the Extract ingredients which exist in the vitamins and also wanted to know if alcohol is used in it?? Kindly reply at the earliest.. Regards, This is the reply they sent... Thank you for contacting Solgar, Inc. We previously contacted you > regarding this matter on 2/25/13. > > The Solgar Iron-Free Formula VM-75 tablets Prod# 1172, Bulk # 78129 is > recommended to be taken once daily, preferably at mealtime or as directed > by a healthcare practitioner. It is recommended to follow the directions > as stated on the product label. If you would like to take more than what > is recommended, we suggest you consult with your doctor or other > healthcare professional. > > We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our kosher products. > Your message will be forwarded to our management staff, as we always > appreciate our customer?s comments. You are a valued customer and we > especially appreciate that you took the time to report your experience to > us. > > If you have any further questions, our Consumer Affairs Representatives > can be reached toll-free at 1-877-765-4274, Monday through Saturday, > 9am-7pm EST. We look forward to serving you in the future. > Kindest regards, i further sent them a mail on 2nd april, and i am still waiting for the answer.... Hello, I had asked additional questions which you have not answered maybe due to oversight... I dont know as to which is better; 3 tab/day i.e the Solgar Male multiple OR the 1 tab/day i.e the Solgar Kosher Formula VM-75 Iron Free Multiple Vitamins with Chelated Minerals...?? Is the Solgar male mutiple (3 tab/day) kosher/halal certified? If not, kindly mention the ingredients present in it which DO NOT make it kosher or halal certifiable? Also with regards to the Solgar male multiple 3 tab/day, I want to know the Extract ingredients which exist in the vitamins and also wanted to know if alcohol is used in it?? Kindly reply at the earliest.. Regards, ... This is for your information... It would be so nice and easy if company representatives answer in a clear manner... i think i will just stick with the Solgar Iron-Free Formula VM-75 tablets. Jazaakallaahu Khairan.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    Please just use Solgar Iron Free VM-75 tablets.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 23:14:52
  • Follow-up on the Question Number # 1 of a Total of 5 Questions i had asked on 03-11-13 01:08:37. Assalaamu Alaykum, There was some confusion with regards to the Halal Certifying authority and after discussions, the Omegavia.com website informed and made the following changes in their website,.. Vin Kutty February 24, 2013 at 7:55 pm Hi Hughes – the beef gelatin is both Kosher and Halal certified. The Halal certification is by the German certification authority, Islamiches Zentrum Aachen. The product uses gelatin from GELITA USA and the certificate number is 01-01-13. The glaze is not shellac. It is based on plant cellulose. - Vin Kutty. This is just for your information... i have asked the following to Mr. Mohammad Hawari of Islamiches Zentrum Aachen: "i had asked you with regards to GELITA, ... Is manual slaughtering done with the prayer which is read on each animal??? or is machine slaughtering performed??? is everything is performed in halal way of slaughtering and are all of these actions performed by a muslim person? How involved is your organisation in all of these processes??"... i am waiting for his reply.. Based on my little research, i have realised that omegavia is a great product but i want to satisfy my curiosity with regards to its halal nature and only then would plan on consuming it.. Jazaakallaahu Khairan.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    Sure.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 23:14:28
  • Why do many Muslim countries allow alcohol in many forms i.e. alcohol-based flavors, vanilla extract, alcohol-fermented soy sauce and balsamic vinegar? - Sara H
  • AOA

    Because the ulema in those countries are under govt. influencce compare to USA/Canada where there is no such restriction.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 14:40:43
  • Assalamualykum could you please send me the list of HALAL detergent powder(washing powder) and softener in UK. JAZAK ALLAH - mrs gagroo
  •  

    AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    04-18-13 13:16:30
  • assalamualaikum. i inted to buy a liver tonic which contain Polyrhachis Ant, is the ant extract halal? thank y ou. - ghazali saad
  •  

    AOA

    I do not have information.


    Category: General Question
    04-17-13 20:51:49
  • Assalamualykum, I would like to know \'\'IsTresemme shampoo halal or not\\\'\'\' . Jazak Allah Assalamualykum, I would like to know Is TRESEMME shampoo halal or not. Jazak Allah If the search didn't generate an answer If the search didn\'t generate an answer - M kousar
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-17-13 11:47:21
  • Assalamualykum, I would like to know that ''Is pantene shampoo halal or not''. Jazak Allah If the search didn't generate an answer - M kousar
  •  

    AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    04-17-13 11:43:00
  • Asalaamu Alaikum Is the wax outside apples halal to eat? Can we just wash and eat apples with the wax coated skin? - Aishath
  • AOA

    Yes, you must all the time but wax are from vegetable sources.


    Category: General Question
    04-17-13 10:43:54
  • If there is any wine they use in making sauces?like olive garden manager said that they use wine in making sauces and they are premade so they cannot make seperate food for muslims. - Mubeena Naeem
  • AOA

    Yes, they may use wine. Please do not go to Olive Garden.

    Some important information about eating in restaurants in USA and Canada

    The following important things should be considered while eating in a regular restaurant in USA and Canada. This is for those Muslims who only eat the Zabiha meat. Most of us go to seafood restaurants to eat fish because it is Halal. But we do not have information on how it is cooked or made. Here are the following things we have to keep in our mind about eating fish dish in a restaurant. Not all fish items in fast foods or restaurants are Halal. Not because of fish itself but due to the following reasons: 1. Coating and batter on the fish: Fried fish items are made with coating or batter. The coating or batter of the fish may contain whey, colors and flavors which may not be Halal. Some fish are dipped in beer batter before frying and it is known as beer battered fish. This is type of fish is Haram. The McDonald and Burger King coating is Halal in USA and Canada. 2. Frying media and fryer: Coated and battered fish items are fried in shortening at 360F. If the coating or batter for fried fish is Halal and if it is fried in vegetable shortening with or without vegetable fat based Mono & Diglycerides then the fried fish is Halal. But if same fryer and vegetable shortening was used to fry non zabiha chicken nuggets OR beer battered fish then fried fish items will not be Halal because of left over batter and fat from the chicken. Burger King's Big Fish and Long John Silver are fried their fish items in the same fryer and vegetable shortening use for frying the non-zabiha chicken nuggets in USA and Canada. This is the reason their fish items are not considered Halal. Same thing may happens in restaurants.Beside Burger King also fried pork patties in the same vegetable oil. So it is necessary to avoid eating fried fish in a restaurants because you do not know the Halal status of the coating and batter and use of vegetable shortening and where they fried. 3.Broiled or Grilled Fish: If the fish is broiled or grilled with cooking wine then it will not be Halal. If the fish is broiled or grilled with AA butter then it will be Halal. Sometimes spices are also added to it, we have to make sure that they used 100% spices not the seasoning because seasoning may contain whey, color and flavors which may not be Halal. 4. Sauce with Broiled or Grilled fish: Most of the time broiled fish or grilled fish comes to the table with different sauces on the top of the fish. Dill Sauce with broiled or grilled Salmon is an example. Dill sauce, Tartar sauce and other sauces contain dairy ingredients which may not be Halal. So you have to avoid it and use salt, pepper, lemon or A1 sauce which is a Halal sauce. 5. Broiled Vegetable: Sometimes bacon or ham is added to vegetables, so ask about them. 6. Rolls/Bread: Rolls/bread and cheese rolls are provided at tables, these rolls and bread are mostly made from frozen dough or mixes. These frozen dough or mixes are made with dough conditioners which may not be Halal. Cheese may be made with animal enzymes. 7. Garden Salad, Salad Dressing and coleslaw: Garden Salad in most of the restaurants comes with croutons, cheese, Chinese noodles, and bacon bits. They all should be avoided because croutons may be made with Romano cheese and other ingredients which may not be Halal. Cheese may not be Halal as well as Chinese noodles. Bacon bits are Haram. Salad dressing is made with cheese, emulsifiers which may not be Halal. You request a garden salad without cheese, croutons, Chinese noodles and bacon bits. Lemon juice or olive oil and distilled white vinegar can be used. Coleslaw is made with cabbage and dressing containing dairy ingredients which may not be Halal. 8. Soups: Soups are made with soup bases and concentrates. These bases and concentrates are made with dairy ingredients which may not be Halal and they also contain non zabiha chicken fat. Left over gravy from cooked meats are used to make a soup. You do not know what kind of meat gray was used. This gravy is provide extra flavor to the soup. Clam Chowder is made with dairy ingredients which may not be Halal and bacon is also added to the clam chowder. Soup has to be avoided. 8. Rice Pilaf: Rice pilaf is always made with non zabiha chicken broth, so it has to be avoided. Steam rice is Halal. 9. Vegetables: Vegetable are sometimes cooked with bacon and ham, so it is necessary to ask ahead of time. 10. Baked Potato/French Fries: The ingredients of French fries in restaurants and the way they fried are not known to public. They may be made with Haram ingredients. They may be fried in animal fat shortening. So they have to be avoided unless you are sure that they are Halal. Baked Potato is Halal but the margarine and sour cream may not be Halal. Sometimes they bring with margarine and sour cream and with bacon on the top of the potato. So either you eat with salt & pepper or with butter if it is AA. If they provide you the sour cream and butter in the small packed container with ingredients statements and kosher symbol and if the kosher certification meet the Halal requirements then you can use it. Eggs for the breakfast: Scramble eggs at restaurants are not 100% eggs but other ingredients such as emulsifires are present. Restauarnts get the eggs in batters from food service company such as Sysco Company, they also supplies egg beaters which is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor. It is possible thye fried on the same hot plate as bacon. 12. Dessert: Pies, Cheesecake, Cakes may contain gelatin, liquor, dairy ingredients, flavors and other ingredients which may not be Halal and should be avoided. Ice Cream may contains emulsifiers which may not be Halal and flavor may contain alcohol. NOTE; THIS INFORMATION WAS PUBLISHED ON MARCH 13, 2002 AND WAS AVAILABLE ON OUR OLD WEBSITE FOR MANY YEARS UNTIL OCTOBER 1, 2005. IT WAS LAST DURING CHANGE OVER FROM OLD TO NEW WEBSITE. WE ARE SORRY ABOUT IT.
     

    06/15/06


    Category: General Question
    04-17-13 08:16:20
  • It is said that "Hing" or Asafoetide is haram in Islam. While in India it is largely consumed by non Muslims. Pl. advise whether it isHaram or Halal. If it is haram then give reason. - Zamin Hussain
  • AOA

    Technically it is Halal because it comes from plant source due to its bad taste Muslims in India do not use in Achar or pickle only non Muslims uses it in Achar or pickle.

     


    Category: General Question
    04-16-13 23:40:50
  • Assalamu alaikum wa rahmathullahi wa barakathuhu.. I am Raja Mohamed, and I am planning to come US Denver,Colarado for my project assignment through my company. and I am not aware of finding a proper room in denver, area my office is at Zuni street Denver. I would like to get help from muslim brothers staying closer by that area. I like to get a sharing accomodation or a cheap rent house. Muhammad 9941008552 India - Raja Mohamed
  • AOA

    Welcome to USA

    Is there any brother or sister in Denver area can help this brother?

    Brother Raja Mohammed please conrtact these places for help:

     

    Denver Islamic Society An Nur Masjid, Denver, CO
    URL: www.denverislamicsociety.org/   Phone: (303) 759-1985

    Colorado Muslim Society, Denver, CO
    URL: www.coloradomuslimsociety.com/   Phone: 303-696-9800

    Mountain States Islamic Center, Denver, CO
    URL: www.msiaonline.org  

    Metropolitan Denver North Islamic Center (Masjid Ikhlas, Denver, CO
    URL: www.masjidikhlas.org   Phone: 303 920 0252

    Muslim Student Association Auraria Campus, Denver, CO
    URL: www.cudenver.edu/msa   Phone: 303-556-4537

    Denver Islamic School Saturdays & Sundays, Denver, CO
    URL: www.denvermosque.org   Phone: (303) 696-9800


    Category: General Question
    04-16-13 19:40:54
  • Asalaamu Alaikum Is the whole milk powder halal? The ingredients are whole milk, soy lecithin and vitamins A and D3. This is not purchased from US or UK. - Aishath
  • AOA

    It has to say suitable for vegetarian on the package. All Milk and milk powder in USA is Halal but I do not know them in any other countries.


    Category: General Question
    04-16-13 03:59:36
  • Assalaamu Alaikum I am purchasing vanilla essence that is being manufactured in uk. If no alcohol was used as an extraction process or as a solvent at any part of the manufacturing process, would it be halal? It is propylene gylcol based. - Aileen
  • AOA

    Vanilla generally obtained from alcohol extraction then they evaporate it and add Propylene Glycol to claim alcohol free. Halal vanilla is extracted with CO2 gas which is very expensive.


    Category: General Question
    04-16-13 01:37:43
  • ASSALLAMU ALIKUM! IS "PEAK DRY WHOLE MILK HALAL" BECAUSE NIDO DRY WHOLE MILK IS HALAL" PLZ ANSWER BACK! JAZZAQALAHOU KHAIRE!!! - fatima chowdhury
  • AOA

    It has to have a kosher symbol on the package and no Carrageenan.


    Category: General Question
    04-15-13 12:36:37
  • Assalamualaikum- First i wud like to thanks MCG for providing with answers.Secondly when we eat Burger at chicken filck or What a burger or Burger King whether its halall or not also will consuming chicken /Beef from Walmart its halal or not ? Your immediate reply wud be appreciable Thanks - Dawood sayyed
  • AOA

    None of them Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-14-13 12:55:59
  • is oyster sauce halal if 'halal logo' is printed on the product? - Mohammed khairul alam khan
  • AOA

    Oyster is not Halal for Hanaf. You have to see whether alcohol is used in flavor or not.


    Category: General Question
    04-14-13 00:38:50
  • What if u consume gelatin unknowing how to u compensate :second if ur room mate use vessels for cooking pork can u use that.Ur immediate reponse wud be appreciable - Dawood sayyed
  • AOA

     

    You have to  pray two Nafil rakat and ask Allah for forgiveness. Please be careful what you eat and please read the ingredients statement before you eat. The same question was asked to Hajrat Omar Bin Khatab RA the second Khalifa when Muslim conquered Christian land. He RA said to wash utensil perfectly then use.


    Category: General Question
    04-13-13 14:45:00
  • Subway's Italian herb bread is halal or haram? - khadiza
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    04-12-13 18:00:32
  • Hello i was wondering if the soda (mirinda) was halal or not? Please could i have an answer back as soon as possible. I would also like for proof of the question please. - Muhammad
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information on UK products.


    Category: General Question
    04-12-13 15:59:52
  • Kirkland Signature Calcium Chews 500 mg with Vitamin D and Vitamin K Sugar Free by Kirkland Signature - Sakina hadi
  • AOA

    Please foollow the information on our Home page about Halal vitamins at Vitamin Shoppe and also from www.koshervitamins.com these are two places you get Halal vitamins not at Costco or other places. Vitamins has to be either Halal or kosher certified.


    Category: General Question
    04-12-13 07:40:15
  • Assalaamu Alaikum I need to know if food can become haram in the following way. If someone touches an apple which has the wax coating and then proceeds to touch a carrot, is it then permissible to eat the carrot without washing it? Is the wax coating on the apples problem in the sense it 'contaminates' other foods by touching it. This is based on the assumption that alcohol and shellac could have been part of the wax coating on the apple. I am having waswas over this. - Aileen
  • AOA

     

    All apple produces put vegetable wax for shining but it is a rule for Muslims that every vegetables or fruits must be wash before consuming because this is Islamic hygiene rules.

    .


    Category: General Question
    04-12-13 05:07:39