USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 4,503 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 6,278 ]
  •  General Question  [ 2,114 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,382 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,579 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 73 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,705 ]

Recent Questions:

  • Assalam-Alikum, Is old country buffet halal in Chicago? Jazakallah - muslimah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    01-13-14 18:55:04
  • what shampoo is halal? - elmedin alili
  • AOA

    PLease search it under Personal care products.


    Category: General Question
    01-13-14 11:51:50
  • Salam Someone told me the cheeses at aldi are produced with vegetable rennet. Are these halal? What about the cheese at trader joes which also says in ingredients vegetable renner - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Cheese is Halal only if it has a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. Rennet is not only thing decide the Halal status of a cheese.


    Category: General Question
    01-13-14 09:28:54
  • I am looking for manufacturer with Halal Certificate for Papain (Papain 5X USP) - Ahmad Fuad Lajis
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    01-12-14 23:46:58
  • Assalamou alikum Does johnson baby lotion have alcohol cuz it does not say in the list Plz reply Jazakalla - Sup
  • AOA

    Alcohol may be present if the lotion has fragrance and if no fragrance then no alcohol.


    Category: General Question
    01-12-14 11:44:32
  • how do we know about any product in cosmetic or toothpaste that is halal or haram ? is there any mark on that ? specially in Europe side. - Yawar Hashmi
  • AOA

    Only suitable for vegetarian in Europe or contacting the manufacturer and asking about presence of animal derived ingredients and alcohol in fragrance.


    Category: General Question
    01-12-14 02:51:22
  • Is Coke haram? I recently saw a photo that said that Coke has alcohol in it and was wondering. I researched and could not find any clear answers. Thank you for taking the time to read my question! - Raiyan Nafee
  • AOA

    From our Alert section:

    Alcohol was detected in Coke and 7 UP

     

                                         Alcohol was detected in Coke and 7 UP

     

    Muslim Consumer Group was getting a lot of inquiries about the French study of finding the presence of alcohol in European Coke and Pepsi. MCG sent the samples to Northland Lab in Northfield, IL to use a more sophisticated  method of Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method than French's Headspace Gas Chromatography-Flame Ionization Detection (HS-GC-FID) method which cannot quantify the amount of Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol.

    MCG sent unopened Coke, Pepsi and 7 UP bottles to Northland lab to perform alcohol test by using Residual Solvents Identification known as USP 35 method. This method can detect amount of alcohol at least 0.001% or 10 Part Per Million or 10 milligram per liter or more. But this method can't detect less than 0.001% of alcohol.

    MCG has paid over $1200 to perform these analysis for Muslim consumers in USA.

    The alcohol level in Coke was 0.0059 or 59 PPM as reported by Northland Lab.

    The 7 UP has shown higher level of alcohol of 0.048% or 480 PPM.

    Northland Lab, Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

    Date Received: 07/09/2012

    Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

    Start Date: 07/09/2012

    Due Date: 07/30/2012

     

    Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

    AD62895 COKE

    CODE: SEP 1712MDA, NET

    WEIGHT: 20 FL. OZ

    SD SOFT DRINK

    Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

    Provided

    DL Method Reference

     

    Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol = 59 PPM USP 35

     

    Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 33.5 deg C

    AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

    USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

    ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

    IDPH #17501

    Northland Lab, Northbrook Division, Corporate Office

    Date Received: 07/09/2012

    Blanket PO: CREDIT CARD

    Start Date: 07/09/2012

    Due Date: 07/30/2012

     

    Sample ID Product ID Product Description Sample Description Lot Number Request Number

    AD62896 7 UP

    CODE: E2137HB1408, NET

    WEIGHT: 20 FL. OZ

    SD SOFT DRINK

    Analyte Name Result Units Specs *

    Provided

    DL Method Reference

     

    Residual Solvents Identification Ethanol = 480 PPM USP 35

     

    Comments: Temperature upon arrival = 34.0 deg C

    AOAC Laboratory Proficiency Site # 95190, 30440

    USDA/FSIS - Chemistry #1761

    ISO/IEC 17025 Certificate #AT-1491

    IDPH #17501

     

     

    For any question about these tests, please contact Muslim Consumer Group at 1-877-515-1008. Please do not call the Northland Lab.


    Category: General Question
    01-11-14 20:56:50
  • Assalam alaikum... Can we eat cheesecakes from The Cheese cake Factory? I suppose they use gelatin in the cheesecakes. - Are cheesecakes in Cheesecake Factory halal? Do they use gelatin?
  • AOA

    Cheesecakes from Cheesecake Factory are not Halal because they are not kosher certified may be made with pork gelatin.


    Category: General Question
    01-11-14 20:21:48
  • is cutting hair haram because i want to get layers in my hair... - Rumi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    01-11-14 11:59:34
  • is coloring hair haram....not permanently.... - Rumi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    01-11-14 11:58:34
  • please I want to know if sushi is halal or haram - hanane
  • AOA

    Sushi is made with vinegered rice  but if it is made with rice vinegar then it is not Halal because of alcohol presence. It is made with raw fish or seafoods which is not Halal for Hanafia Muslims.

    There is no information whether Muslims are allowed to eat raw fish or sea foods. It is not a Islamic dish.


    Category: General Question
    01-11-14 10:28:38
  • is m&m's chocolate crisps (country of origin:france) halal? - Zareer Ahmed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    01-09-14 09:50:24
  • ASSALAMU ALAIKKUM (warah) l am Mohamed from Maldives. I would like to know if fermented chickpeas is halal. - Mohamed Shahid
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if the fermentaion is not alcoholic. So you have to find it from the manufacturer because he is the only one who know about it.


    Category: General Question
    01-08-14 19:33:26
  • Alsalam Alikom. I have Emailed the Skittles Company and I asked them about if it was for suitable for Vegan here is what they have replied to me with. My question is it still halal? Thank you so much for your time. Jazak Allah. Dear Dania,Thank you for contacting Wrigley to ask about animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States. We understand that it is important for our consumers to know the ingredients in the food that they eat, and we also know that dietary restrictions must be carefully considered. We are happy to answer your question and share this information with you.While most of the Wrigley products sold in the U.S. do not contain animal-derived ingredients, some of our products contain gelatin and dairy. The gelatin used in our products is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process, and it is a necessary ingredient to achieve the right texture in our candies. Our team is continually looking at alternatives to animal-derived ingredients, but we have not yet been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality that our consumers have come to love in our products. Wrigley is conscious of dietary restrictions, and we work hard to make sure that the products sold in parts of the world with Halal markets are free from any animal-based ingredients. Our priority is to make the best products using ingredients that meet the needs of our fans around the world.These products sold in the United States contain gelatin that come from a mix of beef and pork:- Altoids® mints (Peppermint, Spearmint, Wintergreen, Cinnamon, Liquorice, Ginger, Cool Honey). Please note that Altoids® Smalls do not contain gelatin.- Life Savers® Gummies- Extra® Polar Ice- All Starburst® GummiBursts (Original, Sours, Flavor Duos)All Starburst® Fruit Chews varieties (Original, Tropical, Sours, FaveReds, Morph, Sweet Fiesta, Very Berry, Fruit Slushies) contain gelatin that is sourced from beef.Dairy is used in our Creme Savers® to give the candy that delicious creamy taste.Our Life Savers® Spear O Mint®, Pep-O-Mint® and Wint-O-Green® sugar mints also contain stearic acid, which is an animal-based ingredient.Beginning in 2009, Skittles® have been updated without gelatin. For Skittles and other products that have been updated without gelatin, gelatin will not be listed in the ingredient line any longer.We hope this information is helpful. For additional questions or more information about Wrigley, please visit www.wrigley.com, or contact us at any time at 1-800-WRIGLEY (974-4539) Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST.Have a sweet day! - Dania
  • AOA

    Wrigley products and Skittleare not Halal because they are not kosher certified. They will not inform you what Haram hidden they used in both products, they also made on the same line where pork containg products are made.

    DONOTREPLY@WRIGLEY.COM (DONOTREPLY@WRIGLEY.COM)
    3/29/12
    To: halalfoods@hotmail.com
    Dear Mr. Ahmed, Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to request information. We are always happy to hear from our consumers and will be happy to answer your question. In response to your reque
    From: DONOTREPLY@WRIGLEY.COM
    Sent: Thu 3/29/12 10:30 AM
    To: halalfoods@hotmail.com

    Dear Mr. Ahmed,

    Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to request information.  We are always happy to hear from our consumers and will be happy to answer your question.

    In response to your request, we follow strict guidlines when it comes to that. But because they are both manufactured in the same facility, there is always a chance for cross contamination.

    We thank you once again for taking time to contact us. 

    Sincerely,

    Ashley Hern
    Consumer Care Representative

     


    Category: General Question
    01-08-14 16:06:17
  • Is applecider vinigar hala - Mussarat jabeen
  • AOA

    Apple Cider vinegar is Halal only in USA and Canada not in Europe.


    Category: General Question
    01-07-14 20:06:58
  • Is Shrimp or Prawn or Lobster or Crab Halal? Please clarify. - Rahamathullah
  • AOA

    Crab is Haram for Hanafi Muslims. Shrimp or prawn or lobster is mushbooh for Hanafi Muslims.


    Category: General Question
    01-07-14 17:21:08
  • Assalam u alikum1) i would like to know if the lake pigments used in cosmetics is halal? What exactly are lake pigments and 2) is there any direct demarcation of American cosmetic brands as haram for use. - Omara
  • AOA

    From our FAQ:

    FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 colors:

    FD&C yellow No. 5 or FD&C red No. 40 are chemical dyes or lakes and they are Halal if used in pure granular or powder form but if the FD&C colors are required to make it in liquid form then a solvent is needed to make FD&C colors in liquid form. Liquid FD&C colors are used in liquid foods such as soft drinks. Vegetable oil or glycerin is used to make liquid artificial colors. Liquid FD&C colors are Halal only if vegetable oil or soy fat based glycerin is used. If glycerin is obtained from pork fat then liquid FD&+C colors will be Haram. A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing these colors indicates that no pork or beef fat glycerin was used as a solvent.


    Category: General Question
    01-07-14 13:40:34
  • for products with no alcohol information, is it permissible to use them? Should we look for ethyl alcohol explicitly ? Also how to look for these haram red colors? - wajid
  • AOA

    Muslims in India should consume thos products with Red dot. If there is no alcohol information then product became Mushbooh and should not be consumed. It is our job to find whether alcohol was used in flavor or during processing.


    Category: General Question
    01-07-14 02:14:44
  • Is it haraam to use coffee or blacktea to darken your hair? - Hussein kassim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    01-07-14 02:00:55
  • Are the NOW brand vitamins halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is not Halal if there is no kosher symbol.

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: General Question
    01-06-14 21:24:32
  • does gnc diet and dexifen stack contain pork in the gelatin - katie
  • AOA

    You should consume any thing with gelatin because mostly it is from pork.

    From our Alert section:

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: General Question
    01-06-14 15:46:21
  • Is the bagels forever halal? Could you mention which ones are halal? - Yasmin
  • AOA

    If they contain L-Cystein and flavor then they are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    01-04-14 09:44:04
  • As salaamu alaykum I have looked over the different non-food products and food products sections and restaurant chains and I'm becoming confused sometimes about products with dates from the past and then updates from now then I gotten confused about weather or not to buy a product that just states no animal by product can you please help me to get back to understanding insha Allah there are so many products and I've become confused so sometimes im scared to eat or buy anything I have also purchased your book to be sent to my home just recently but I haven't gotten any information on when it will arrive yet I got a confirmation email that I purchased the book but no information on when it will arrive can you please help with providing this info my recipt # is 2385-7699-2902-9024 thanks jazak Allahu kair! - peace
  • AOA

    Some of items in Non Food Product and restauarant are old and I am updating them slowly. So you have to give me the time. I am the only one who doing every thing to help Muslims.

    Please provide detail of your purchase by e-amial Halalfoods@hotmail.com, also all books are send by Media Mail which takes up to 14 days to deliver since it was holiday period it may take more day to recieve book.


    Category: General Question
    01-04-14 07:54:52
  • Asalaamualaikum Can you please confirm if penne rosa at noodles and company is halal without wine. - F
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    01-01-14 17:19:07
  • As salaamu alaykum I wanted to know how to go about verification of ingredients in products at grocerie stores and the way products are cooked and the ingredients at restaurant chains as well from different companies in USA. I also wanted to know what questions to ask the different companies I have asked recently about pizza being advertise at a grocery store in the area as halal chicken tikka pizza and the cheese and the server said the chicken tikka comes from Texas king food street meat market and the cheese they use is the kroger brand mozzarella cheese which I asked them 3 times if it was halal and they said it was so finaly my mom bought it for 6.99 this is very important because we need more Muslim products out Insha Allah may Allah make it easy on us amen jazak Allahu kair. - peace
  • AOA

    Please read our Halal standard to know how we assigned the Halal status. If your are not food professional it is very difficult to understand how food products are made because many food products contain hidden ingredients. Please follow our website and please read our Home Page which provide some information.

    We recoommend to buy only those food products which has kosher symbol and they must meet the Halal requirement because not all kosher certified food products are Halal.

    None of supermarkets sell Halal cheese pizza. Only Amy's Kitchen Frozen cheese pizza is Halal. I have no information on Chicken tikka.

    Kroger brand Mozzarella cheese is not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: General Question
    01-01-14 16:37:10
  • is nestle nido halal that is available in USA? - junaid akhtar
  • AOA

    I do not think I saw it in any supermarket. If there is no kosher symbol and alcohol used in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-31-13 23:00:35
  • Which company coffee whitener is hala? - Sana
  • AOA

    Seach results for the term: coffee creamer

    Total results generated: 2
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Original Coffee Creamer Coffee Creamer Essential Everyday UPC Code: 041303004876 Available in Acme, Albertsons, Cub, Farm Fresh, Hornbacher's, Jewel Osco, Lucky, Save A Lot, Shaws/Star Markets, Shop N Save, Shoppers supermarkets all over USA. 01-01-14
    halal Coffee Creamer Coffee Creamer Great Value Wal-Mart's Dry Coffee Creamer is not made with alcohol containing artificial flavor according to Wal-Mart. 12-02-10

    Category: General Question
    12-31-13 15:02:06
  • Is cheese pizza( Frozen ) from Kirkland is halal or not - Sabir Siddiqui
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because it has no kosher symbol on it.


    Category: General Question
    12-31-13 08:51:01
  • AOA. Do you have any info about Starbucks Cocoa? Is it halal or not? Thanks. - Kerem
  • AOA

    I have no information. But if it is 100% cocoa then it is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-31-13 06:28:02
  • is kinder chocolate halal? - elmedin
  • AOA

    I have no information because it is made in Germany but if there is no claim "Suitable For Vegetarian" and made with flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-30-13 23:38:52
  • is sour chew cubes from warheads halal or haram - zunaira
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-30-13 16:45:07
  • Is lobster and crab halal - Mohammmad
  • AOA

    Crab is Haram for Hanafi Muslim and Lobster is mushbooh for Hanaf.


    Category: General Question
    12-29-13 19:11:08
  • Assalamu'Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu. I have a very important question. I have read that alcohol may be used as a solvent. But, if manufacturers do this, won't they be more scared of getting sued, and therefore, not put alcohol in foods? Also, isn't there some government action that checks in what companies produce(food)? JazakAllah Khair.Assalamu'Alaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu. - Sister
  • AOA

    Use of alcohol in flavor is approved by FDA so nobody will sue the food companies. In USA, Govt is not involve in religion.


    Category: General Question
    12-29-13 13:53:11
  • As salaamu alaykum I know this has nothing to do with food or anything. There is this famouus scholar out of India by the name of Dr. Zakir naik he is a scholar of comparative religion masha Allah he has a popular Islamic dawah channel called peace tv out of India reaching all over the world. I need your help if you can help jazak Allahu kair. so far peace tv has been so popular that Dr zakir has came out with a smartphone called peace tv mobile and my mom has been trying hard to get one of those phones in USA I have been online trying to find this phone to help us with our iman insha Allah but I can't find a price or a dealer for USA can you please ask around here and there and let know if you find out where to buy and purchase in the USA thanks for accepting email jazak Allahu kair. - peace
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-26-13 07:09:56
  • Is pizza hut or dominos and mcdonald are using halal meat in india? - Mohammad Aslam
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-22-13 06:20:17
  • natvie forte a brand of franco indian pharmaceutical it contain gelatin which is obtain from animal source so please help me or let me know natvie forte is halal or haram? - parvez qureshi rashid
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-19-13 02:34:37
  • can we take classic prenatal vitamin tablets by glenmark phar ?? is this halal or haram ? - syed
  • AOA

    If there is no kosher symbol on the package then they are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-18-13 23:31:00
  • Salam.I don't mean to bother you,but can you please help me out by telling me articles or anything to prove that companies are allowed to add hidden ingredients and FDA allows it?Can you please tell me how do you know that in some restaurants,fast food,and stores,they don't have halal meat?I need this information,because a family member is finding it ridiculously/difficult that we need to be careful in the USA. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

     

    Code of Federal Regulations]
    [Title 21, Volume 2]
    [Revised as of April 1, 2013]
    [CITE: 21CFR101.100]


     

    TITLE 21--FOOD AND DRUGS
    CHAPTER I--FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION
    DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
    SUBCHAPTER B--FOOD FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION

    PART 101 -- FOOD LABELING

    Subpart G--Exemptions From Food Labeling Requirements

    Sec. 101.100 Food; exemptions from labeling.

    (a) The following foods are exempt from compliance with the requirements of section 403(i)(2) of the act (requiring a declaration on the label of the common or usual name of each ingredient when the food is fabricated from two or more ingredients).

    (1) An assortment of different items of food, when variations in the items that make up different packages packed from such assortment normally occur in good packing practice and when such variations result in variations in the ingredients in different packages, with respect to any ingredient that is not common to all packages. Such exemption, however, shall be on the condition that the label shall bear, in conjunction with the names of such ingredients as are common to all packages, a statement (in terms that are as informative as practicable and that are not misleading) indicating by name other ingredients which may be present.

    (2) A food having been received in bulk containers at a retail establishment, if displayed to the purchaser with either:

    (i) The labeling of the bulk container plainly in view, provided ingredient information appears prominently and conspicuously in lettering of not less than one-fourth of an inch in height; or

    (ii) A counter card, sign, or other appropriate device bearing prominently and conspicuously, but in no case with lettering of less than one-fourth of an inch in height, the information required to be stated on the label pursuant to section 403(i)(2) of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (the act).

    (3) Incidental additives that are present in a food at insignificant levels and do not have any technical or functional effect in that food. For the purposes of this paragraph (a)(3), incidental additives are:

    (i) Substances that have no technical or functional effect but are present in a food by reason of having been incorporated into the food as an ingredient of another food, in which the substance did have a functional or technical effect.

    (ii) Processing aids, which are as follows:

    (a ) Substances that are added to a food during the processing of such food but are removed in some manner from the food before it is packaged in its finished form.

    (b ) Substances that are added to a food during processing, are converted into constituents normally present in the food, and do not significantly increase the amount of the constitutents naturally found in the food.

    (c ) Substances that are added to a food for their technical or functional effect in the processing but are present in the finished food at insignificant levels and do not have any technical or functional effect in that food.

    (iii) Substances migrating to food from equipment or packaging or otherwise affecting food that are not food additives as defined in section 201(s) of the act; or if they are food additives as so defined, they are used in conformity with regulations established pursuant to section 409 of the act.

    (4) For the purposes of paragraph (a)(3) of this section, any sulfiting agent (sulfur dioxide, sodium sulfite, sodium bisulfite, potassium bisulfite, sodium metabisulfite, and potassium metabisulfite) that has been added to any food or to any ingredient in any food and that has no technical effect in that food will be considered to be present in an insignificant amount only if no detectable amount of the agent is present in the finished food. A detectable amount of sulfiting agent is 10 parts per million or more of the sulfite in the finished food. Compliance with this paragraph will be determined using sections 20.123-20.125, "Total Sulfurous Acid," in "Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of Official Analytical Chemists," 14th Ed. (1984), which is incorporated by reference and the refinements of the "Total Sulfurous Acid" procedure in the "Monier-Williams Procedure (with Modifications) for Sulfites in Foods," which is appendix A to part 101. A copy of sections 20.123-20-125 of the Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of Official Analytical Chemists" is available from the AOAC INTERNATIONAL, 481 North Frederick Ave., suite 500, Gaithersburg, MD 20877, or available for inspection at the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). For information on the availability of this material at NARA, call 202-741-6030, or go to:http://www.archives.gov/federal_register/code_of_federal_regulations/ibr_locations.html.

    (b) A food repackaged in a retail establishment is exempt from the following provisions of the act if the conditions specified are met.

    (1) Section 403(e)(1) of the act (requiring a statement on the label of the name and place of business of the manufacturer, packer, or distributor).

    (2) Section 403(g)(2) of the act (requiring the label of a food which purports to be or is represented as one for which a definition and standard of identity has been prescribed to bear the name of the food specified in the definition and standard and, insofar as may be required by the regulation establishing the standard the common names of the optional ingredients present in the food), if the food is displayed to the purchaser with its interstate labeling clearly in view, or with a counter card, sign, or other appropriate device bearing prominently and conspicuously the information required by these provisions.

    (3) Section 403(i)(1) of the act (requiring the label to bear the common or usual name of the food), if the food is displayed to the purchaser with its interstate labeling clearly in view, or with a counter card, sign, or other appropriate device bearing prominently and conspicuously the common or usual name of the food, or if the common or usual name of the food is clearly revealed by its appearance.

    (c) An open container (a container of rigid or semirigid construction, which is not closed by lid, wrapper, or otherwise other than by an uncolored transparent wrapper which does not obscure the contents) of a fresh fruit or fresh vegetable, the quantity of contents of which is not more than 1 dry quart, shall be exempt from the labeling requirements of sections 403(e), (g)(2) (with respect to the name of the food specified in the definition and standard), and (i)(1) of the act; but such exemption shall be on the condition that if two or more such containers are enclosed in a crate or other shipping package, such crate or package shall bear labeling showing the number of such containers enclosed therein and the quantity of the contents of each.

    Please go Food Product Section and then Chain Restaurant and find the Halal food product. Majority of restuarant except Indian Pakistani serve non zabiha. Many ulem consider non zabiha meat as not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-18-13 15:17:46
  • Omeprazole capsul is halal or not thank you - Fad kilic
  • AOA

    Capsules are mostly made with pig gelatin. If there is no label "Suitable For Vegetarian" then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-18-13 07:40:49
  • A salamu alaikum, please can you help me inshAllah, I recently bought some herbal de-stress tablets from the health food shop, they contain methanolic extract of hops and also ethanolic extract of valerian. My question is does this mean they contain ethanol and methanol? or are they used to extract the herbs and then taken away? So are they Halal? JazakAllah kairun - Muhammad
  • AOA

    Methanolic extract is Halal and Ethanolic Extract is Haram. It does not matter if ethanol take away, it is still Haram.


    Category: General Question
    12-17-13 18:43:03
  • we are planning to buy battered chicken from restaurant Depot , is that chicken is halaal ? Can we buy ? - syeda
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-17-13 12:01:22
  • garnier men - purify & brighten charcoal black foam. is this product halal?? - Muhd Nur Zaki
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-17-13 05:27:39
  • IAssalamu alaikum, I live in USA. I want to know that plates and container that made up of DART foam os halal or not. Can i use dart product? - shabnaz
  • AOA

    haram Foam Paper Cups PAPER CUPS Dart Animal(including pork or beef) fat coating, no guarantee for pork fat free.

    Search Category: Food Products

    Seach results for the term: paper plate

    Total results generated: 7
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal 170 Soak Proof Foam paper Plates Paper Plates Great Value   02-23-13
    halal Everyday Soak Proof 50, 130, 60 and 50Plates Paper Plate Hefty   02-23-13
    halal 95 Plate 8 1/2 " Family Pack Paper Plates paper plate Dixie   02-23-13
    halal 50 Plate 10 1/16 " Every Day Plate Paper Plate Dixie   02-23-13
    halal 32 Dinner Classic 10 3/8 " Paper Plates paper Plate Chinet   02-23-13
    halal Cups, Bowls, Plates, Hinged Containers and Cutlery Paper Plates and Cups Genpak The company says they do not use any animal product please answer my question thank you this is the letter from company web site January 1, 2012 To Whom It May Concern: Genpak L.L.C. has not sought or received kosher certification for any of our products, including PET or PS products. However, we do hereby certify that no animal derived raw materials or additives are used in the production of the above stated products. Genpak appreciates your decision to use our products and your continued support. Best Regards, Jeff Cole Marketing Manager - Provided by brother Javed. 04-08-12
    halal Paper Plates PAPER PLATES Dixie, Hefty, Chinet, Solo With certification symbol.

    Category: General Question
    12-16-13 19:56:30
  • there is a bread selling in sams club store. artisan fresh brand name french bread,is it halal?thank you - sara
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-16-13 08:14:00
  • Your certified or non certified products are from the US or Canada, therefore if you have put an item in non-halal list and it is being produced in other countries as well then what to do about it then for example 7 up produced in the Middle east? - atif
  • AOA

    There are some MCG Halal certified products on our websites but majority of products are kosher certified listed on our websites. There is no kosher certification on food products made in Middle East. The Halal products list on our websites are good only if they made in USA, Canada and sold in Middle East.


    Category: General Question
    12-15-13 03:02:03
  • Is vicks vap rub contains any oil which is haram for muslims, is it haram in any way possible? - Husain
  • AOA

    Seach results for the term: vicks

    Total results generated: 2
    Category Name Brand Description
    Cough Vicks Night Quil Cough Vicks 01/2010 No animal derived ingredients are used.
    Cold & Cough Medicine Vicks Sinus Regular, 48M, Cough Drop, Vitc Cough Drop, Inhaler, Vapor Steam,Casero Cough Vicks 01/2010 No animal derived ingredients are used.

    Category: General Question
    12-14-13 14:07:42
  • Assalam o Alaikum WR. I live in Karachi Pakistan and one of my friend has brought me Factor 2 supplement from US. I have heard that these supplements are not halal certified. Can you please help and guide me accordingly? - Aejaz ur Rehman
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-14-13 10:44:00
  • is carl's jr. fish sandwich halal? - Muhammad Rizvi
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-14-13 08:47:31
  • Is goose meat halal? - AmodeMahomed
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if it is slaughter according Islamic Sharia rules.


    Category: General Question
    12-14-13 00:07:47
  • I am trying to find out if candy canes are halal. Could you help me, please? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-13-13 20:21:07
  • is equate's ibuprofen halal - asra
  • AOA

    Pain Reliever Equate Ibuprofen Equate Equate Ibuprofen is not made with shellac coating. August 2012. Ibuprofen is a iso-butyl-propanoic-phenolic acid a Halal acid.

    Category: General Question
    12-13-13 18:42:13
  • ASA, Shoprite started halal chicken and meat department. Is it Zabhia halal or not? - shahid hussain
  • AOA

    Please do not buy chicken from Shoprite because they are machine slaughtered. Buy it from a Halal meat shop who used hands for slaughtering chicken.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-13-13 09:58:07
  • i want to know if the chicken franks cuisto from panagora halall to eat - nasseemah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-12-13 14:08:10
  • salam, i would like to know whether LAYS produced by pepsico is halal or not? - Uzma
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    12-11-13 03:14:13
  • are the candys starburst and skittles halal to eat - abdul Qawi
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-10-13 12:05:49
  • 1). Is smarties candy Rolls halal? 2). What are the types of candy that are halal? 3). Is the symbol R means the product is halal? 4). What are the kinds of chips that are halal? I want details Thanks - Halah
  • AOA

    They arenot Halal. Symbol R is a registration trademark and got nothing to do with Halal or kosher symbol. For Chips:

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-10-13 08:57:58
  • I would like to know whether the products of the brand Lush are completely halal . - Sana
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-09-13 14:39:26
  • what is HIGH OLEIC SUNFLOWER OIL - fouzia ahmed
  • AOA

    Oleic Acid is a fatty acid of lipid or fat or oil. Oleic acid can be obtained from animal or vegetable fat. Some vegetable oil such as sunflower and oilive oil conatin higher amount of oleic acid. But sunflower oil contains 80% oleic acid. Oleic acid is a monosaturated fatty acid. In Monosaturated fatty acid there is only one double bond carbon item and rests carbon aitems are single bond. Where as in polysaturaed fatty acid there are more than one double bond carbon items. The loower the double bond carbon the better the fatty acid for health.

    Monosatured Fatty acid helps in having healthy heart and avoid heart problems. It is all biochemistry of fat, I took this graduate course very long time ago but still have my course book.

    Any fatty acid if it is a monsaturated then it is consider good because it is very stable compare polysaturated fatty acid which are not stable but  bad for health.


    Category: General Question
    12-09-13 11:33:47
  • Tim Horton French vanilla hallal? And also iced cap? Plz guide me - Huma
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-08-13 08:25:20
  • Pepsi. ,coke cola and other beverage drink are they halal - mustapha samman
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    12-08-13 04:12:15
  • Assalamulaikum..pls could u tell me whther paraben is halal or not? If it's present in cosmetics could we offer salah while using it? - ryn sheikh
  • AOA

    Paraben is a chemical and it is Halal.


    Category: General Question
    12-07-13 11:48:46
  • Is glycerin considered alcohol and is forbiden to consume by Muslims ? - Dr. Benjamin Striem
  • AOA

    Glycerin is not a alcohol.

    From our FAQ:

    Glycerin:

    Glycerin is a fat based ingredients used in foods and non food products. Since it is a fat based ingredient so it is either obtained from animal fat such as pork or beef or it is obtained from vegetable fat. Only vegetable fat based Glycerin is Halal or it is Halal if there is a Kosher symbol on the food package containing glycerin which means glycerin the food is obtained from vegetable fat.


    Category: General Question
    12-07-13 00:22:22
  • is pudding by snack pack halal? it contains Non Fat Milk, Water, Sugar, Modified Corn Starch, Vegetable Oil (contains one or more of the following: Palm Oil, Partially Hydrogenated Palm Oil, Sunflower Oil, Partially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil), Less than 2% of: Salt, Calcium Carbonate, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Natural and Artificial Flavor, Color Added (including Yellow 5 and Yellow 6). CONTAINS: MILK - Elmedin
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor.


    Category: General Question
    12-05-13 12:10:50
  • is ice cream halal? what kind of ice cream is halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    12-05-13 03:55:23
  • what toothpaste are halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    12-05-13 03:54:18
  • Assalamu alaykum. If a bug falls into the food should we not eat it? If you eat something cooked and you find a piece of hair in it is that food haram to eat? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Please ask these questions to a Islamic scholar.


    Category: General Question
    12-04-13 20:57:55
  • ASalam. I would like to know if Crest 3D White toothpaste is halal????? Please let me know. Zazakilah! - Humairaa
  • AOA

    Creste there is no animal derived ingredients and alcohol in their toothpastes.


    Category: General Question
    12-04-13 19:38:13
  • Salam. I usually go to Orland Mall and always see Cinnabon. We ask one of the workers and they said no animal products but I am not sure! Is it halal ??? - Humairaa
  • AOA

    First of all the workers at Cinnabon are not technical people and do not know the Halal requirements. Cinnabon products are not Halal due to alcohol in flavors.


    Category: General Question
    12-04-13 18:26:58
  • Salam! I would like to know if smarties candy is halal???? - Humairaa
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-04-13 18:23:03
  • I would like to know if Colgate Toothpaste is halal. Are there any animal products that make it haram to use. I have heard that it is haram so is Colgate toothpaste haram or halal???? - Humairaa
  • AOA

    Toothpaste All Colgate Toothpaste Except Max Fresh Beat Colgate No animal by-product and no alcohol in flavor. Reference number 031122784 dated Feb 22, 2013.
    Toothpaste Max Fresh Beat Toothpaste Colgate Made with pork/beef. Not Halal. Reference number: 031122784 dated Feb 22, 2013.

    Category: General Question
    12-02-13 21:39:52
  • Is the medicine mucinex halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information. But Inshallah I will research it.


    Category: General Question
    12-02-13 19:56:02
  • Are any of the cold stone cakes halal? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    12-02-13 00:37:04
  • How to find out if Carvel ice cream cake's flavor has alcohol in it or not? - Ahmad Raza
  • AOA

    Please send this to them:

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department can not answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 20:50:46
  • i want to know that can i make it done wine facial..is it permissable ? - fouzia
  • AOA

    It is Haram to add wine to your face.


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 08:10:54
  • Is max factor pan stick halal? - ilham
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 03:13:41
  • suavecito pomade is halal or not? it is hair gel and i wanna ask if these product have non halal sources - mohd hazim
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    12-01-13 02:02:31
  • Is shamrock company meat halal? Is Saj restaurant in Denver halal? - Atifa
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 23:39:02
  • are twix by mars halal cause they have skim milk in them? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 19:10:53
  • if a product has a kosher symbol on it what else do you have to check to make sure the product is halal? - Elmedin
  • AOA

    From our HomePage:

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard): (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 19:07:06
  • AOA! Is dominos pizzas halal? If not, can you please tell us which all pizza restaurants are halal? JazakAllah - Manal
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 18:27:31
  • I would like to know what is the marja3/ ta2leed that you consider when you specify the food as halal or haram. For example, some kinds of fish such as crab are considered halal in one marja3 but haram in another. Thank you. - Rola Chehade
  • AOA

    Crab is Haram for Hanafi Muslims. I have no information on marja3/ ta2leed.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 15:23:25
  • brother can you please help me? my baby has hydrocele or hernia ,,i am not sure but he has....dr. said to do operation but we do not want to do that .he had constipation from that he felt that situation. i search in online some herbal remedies and homeopathy medicine ,they said that medicine prevent the hernia,,,but my question is that is homeopathy halal or can you tell me the name of halal homeopathy medicine? i live in usa, my baby is one years old. please help me brother any kind of either those medicine or islamic healing....please ,please.... - nilu
  • AOA

    This is medical situation and I am not a doctor. I suggest you to consulet with a Muslim doctor. Homepathy is not always Halal and I have to know the ingredients.

    On medicine section we have listed:

    Category Name Brand Description
    Laxative & Fiber Metamucil Original Coarse only Metamucil You can use powder Metamucil because Metamucil products are not certified kosher so they do not carry the \'U\' or other kosher labeling. It may be helpful to know, though, Metamucil Powders and Wafers do not contain animal derivatives. The gelatin used to make the shell of the Metamucil Capsules comes from beef. November 2013

    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 11:39:42
  • Is there any ice cream cake we can eat? I need to know about Carvel ice cream cake if we can eat it or not? - Ahmad Raza
  • AOA

    Carvel ice cream cake is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 10:55:56
  • is dyeing hair haram..not permanent. - Rumi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 10:49:28
  • I cannot find any information about the tomtits salsa in your website. I saw information before. did you remove them? Also, all godiva chocolate bars have halal and kosher symbol on the package but on your website it says it is not halal. Please update the information. Thank you. - Zeynep
  • AOA

    In June 2012 there were no Kosher or Halal symbol on their chocolate packages. Kosher symbol carrying products must meet Halal requirements if one of the following is present in kosher certified product then it is not Halal:

    1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol, (19) Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction). 

    You have to call or write the Halal certifying organization who Halal certified the Godiva few chocolate products whether Halal certify the products made with alcohol containing flavor and ethanol uesed Carrageenan because they are known to Halal certified food product containing 0.5% alcohol in the product (From their website) and ask where we could find in the ahadith which says 0.5% alcohol in food products are consider Halal.


    Category: General Question
    11-30-13 08:25:04
  • Assalamou alikum Is ariba cioccolato fondente halal? Plz answer Jzk! - Fatima.C
  • AOA

    I have no information.

     


    Category: General Question
    11-29-13 20:14:59
  • Sea food is halal especially forzans is sea food because i heard that forzans are not halal is this correct. - Nasir
  • AOA

    I have no information on particular restaurant but Crabs are Haram for Hanafi Muslims and all oth seafoods except fish are mushbooh.


    Category: General Question
    11-29-13 12:11:50
  • Are Pharmaton with Ginseng tablets halal? - Nurbaya
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 18:50:32
  • Assalamou alikum Is sheer infusion body lotion from the Vaseline company halal Plz reply JZK!!! - Fatima.C
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 16:53:05
  • Are vitamin supplement tablets or capsules made from vegetable extracts okay if they are dry and vegetarian? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    From our Home Page:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

     


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 09:37:48
  • In british centrum there is a mixture of gelatine as well as vegetable oïl my question is that if it is halal or not - M SULTAN NASIR
  • AOA

    Gelatin from pork is Haram, gelatin from non zabiha beef is not Halal. Gelatin from fish is Halal.

     

    From our Home page:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.


    Category: General Question
    11-28-13 01:45:46
  • can we use Pears Soap,made in India ? - FAIZUDEEN
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-27-13 23:17:05
  • AOA I sent an email to Skippy but I haven't get an answer yet. It seems that I will not for a long time. Is Skippy creamy peanut butter halal? I wonder that does it includes any alcohol or cystein(from human hair)? Even it has Kosher symbol it can include alcohol, doesn't it? Do you have any information about Skippy Creamy peanut butter(regular one, not with chocolate or reduced fat) exactly Halal? I bought but I am waiting for eating, since I didn't get an answer to my question for days. Thank you. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    No alcohol no L-Cysteine is used in any peanut butter unless if it contains flavor then alcohol may be used in flavor. All Peanut butter with kosher symbol without flavor are Halal.

    Seach results for the term: skippy

    Total results generated: 5
    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Date
    halal Creamy Peanut Butter, Reduced Fat Creamy Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Skippy   10-04-12
    halal Extra Crunchy Super Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Skippy   10-04-12
    halal Roasted Honey Nut Creamy Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Skippy   10-04-12
    halal Natural Creamy, Natural Extra Crunchy Super Chunk Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Skippy   10-04-12
    halal Super Chunk Peanut Butter, Creamy Peanut Butter, Reduced Fat Creamy/Super Chunky Peanut Butter Peanut Butter Skippy   03-07-10

    Category: General Question
    11-27-13 10:50:25
  • Which kids yogurt and cheese are halal - Fatima
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    11-27-13 00:09:31
  • As salamo alyqoom w w In New York where I live there is a new restaurant called New Texas chicken and pizza it is a chain franchise restaurant just opened up and there menu says its halal but I have some doubts. So would you please give us information if it is hala or haram. They get chicken from fresh brand halal company. Jazza kamullah khair . - Uwais tai
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: General Question
    11-25-13 15:46:39
  • AOA, can we assume that an "all purpose baking flour" and a "self-raising flour" are halal to consume. I tried searching your website but couldn't find any information on this topic. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are Halal and I am going to publish now.


    Category: General Question
    11-25-13 09:25:02
  • Is SAM\'S CLUB Artisan Apple Pie Halal ? - Mustafa
  •  Aoa 

    If there is no kosher symbol on the package and alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: General Question
    11-24-13 16:46:07
  • Are loreal hair colours halaal or haram - jasmin
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: General Question
    11-22-13 23:11:51
  • Is dimethiconol haram - Afrima Hussain
  • AOA

    It is Halal because made from silicon.


    Category: General Question
    11-21-13 22:24:54
  • Pls update the other products which is made by KFC in there resturant? Hence you are update made in 2011 after that there is no update. - Nasir Hussain
  • AOA

    KFC always will not be Halal no matter what the year mentioned on our website. There is no need to update because chicken are non zabiha or if it says Halal they are machine slaughtered.

    MCG do not recommend Muslims to go to KFC.


    Category: General Question
    11-20-13 12:34:52