USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  Archive  [ 8,353 ]
  •  E-Numbers  [ 3,877 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 5,560 ]
  •  General Question  [ 1,792 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 1,186 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 2,298 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 66 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 1,551 ]

Recent Questions:

  • is there adding pig fats in livon products - xxxx
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-29-14 09:10:19
  • salaam, I have the following information. Zainab Rabani 004198803A 14 August 2014 Dear Zainab Thank you very much for your email. Nescafé Original is suitable for a vegetarian diet. I have enclosed the vegetarian list. The products on this list are totally free from animal products, except milk, milk-derived ingredients and egg. For the latest information on nutrition and wellbeing, which includes our 'avoidance' lists, please visit our website at http://www.nestle.co.uk/NutritionHealthWellness/Pages/SpecialDietaryNeeds.aspx Thank you once again for taking the time and trouble to contact us. I hope this makes life a bit easier and helps you enjoy many Nestlé products. If you would like any more information, please let us know. To reply to this email or if you would like further information, please click here: https://www.econsumeraffairs.com/nestleuk/contactusfollowup.htm?F1=004198803A In order for us to monitor and evaluate our service could you please spare a few minutes to complete our survey https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/QFTFRWQ Yours sincerely Lynne Lawrie Contact Centre Executive Consumer Services - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It is Halal only if no alcohol is used in flavor.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-14-14 08:35:38
  • Please consider revising your alert titled 'Carrageenan in Toothpaste.' Please read the alert yourself and determine if it needs to be revised. Thank You. - Edis Selimovic
  • AOA

    Thanks I for got "NOT" .


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-06-14 19:06:04
  • How I upload the picture of president choice vegetarian cheese - Saira
  • AOA

    It is not Halal already wrote you because it did not meet MCG requirements of a Halal cheese. Moreover there are Kosher certified and Halal cheeses in Canadian supermarkets.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-05-14 22:13:12
  • Dear Saira, Thank you for contacting Bolthouse Farms and for your interest in our beverages. Alcohol may be used as a carrier in our natural flavors. The amount of alcohol that is introduced via the natural flavors is negligible. It is far less than the ½% legal limit for juice beverages due to the natural fermentation of the fruit. Thank you for your continued support. We appreciate your business. If we may be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to write or call our Customer Service line at (800) 467-4683. Sincerely, Tonya Norwood Consumer Relations Wm. Bolthouse Farms Inc. 7200 East Brundage Lane | Bakersfield, CA 93307 P 800-467-4683 | F 661-366-6601 www.bolthouse.com www.facebook.com/bolthousefarms www.twitter.com/bolthousefarms - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.

    A little bit of intoxicant/Alcohol is haram too:

    Narrated Aisha, Ummul Mu�minin RA:

    I heard the Apostle of Allah (peace be upon him) say: Every intoxicant is forbidden; if a faraq of anything causes intoxication, a handful of it is forbidden.� ( Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 26:Drinks (Kitab Al-Ashribah)


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-05-14 15:08:55
  • What is your email address I want to share with ur group - Saira
  • AOA

    You are already me the e-mail. Halalfoods@hotmail.com


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-05-14 15:07:27
  • in your alerts you said this: TITLE: Wrigley''s Haram Products Wrigley's following gums are Not Halal Products The following products are made with animal derived ingredients: Extra Polar Ice Stick Juicy Fruit Pellet Extra Polar Ice Orbit Crystal Mint Juicy Fruit Grapemelon Juicy Fruit Strappleberry Altoid Mints All Life Savers Gummies CreamSaver LifeSaver Fusions LifeSaver Does this means that I can use the others products of wrigley company(like orbit etc.) - vlora
  • AOA

    But the Wrigley Company wrote to MCG that "because they are both(Chewing Gums without any animal derived ingredients, no alcohol in flavor and pork gelatin containing gums) manufactured in the same facility, there is always a chance for cross contamination." MCG is considered them as Not Halal but we do not force Muslims consumers to follow our consideration, MCG's job is to provide the information. UPC Code: 0 2200011248 4


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-03-14 15:33:09
  • Advice on pornograpy and masturbation addiction. Is it forbidden in Islam. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Please ask this question to Islamic Scholar. I am not a Mufti but a food scientist.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-01-14 07:21:44
  • Can I have a list of all the non halal beauty products for both men and women? - Yasmine
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: News & Alerts
    07-08-14 01:22:32
  • I don't eat pork and have not for over 20 years. Im Muslims and im trying to find out if you all know of any imposters that may have pork hiding in their products or any warnings? thanks for your time - Maria
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    06-25-14 07:53:09
  • is sweet frog frozen yogurt halal? - neelam
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    06-21-14 13:49:14
  • Salam,I had received an email from Nature's Bakery regarding their products for their fig bars.All of the fig bars(Blueberry,Raspberry,Vanilla Raspberry,Apricot Peach,Apple Cinnamon,Vanilla)contain alcohol.The alcohol usage within the flavor is less than 5% and the flavoring is less than 2%. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Thanks, before I publish them on our website could you please forward their e-mail to me at halalfoods@hotmail.com


    Category: News & Alerts
    06-01-14 19:33:22
  • asalamualiakum, i was trying to find halal chewing gums and therefore contacted the wrigley company. i would like to share the information i recieved via e-mail. "Dear Valued Customer, Thank you for contacting Wrigley to ask about animal-derived ingredients in our products sold in the United States. We understand that it is important for our consumers to know the ingredients in the food that they eat, and we also know that dietary restrictions must be carefully considered. We are happy to answer your question and share this information with you. While most of the Wrigley products sold in the U.S. do not contain animal-derived ingredients, some of our products contain gelatin and dairy. The gelatin used in our products is thoroughly purified and dried during its manufacturing process, and it is a necessary ingredient to achieve the right texture in our candies. Our team is continually looking at alternatives to animal-derived ingredients, but we have not yet been able to find a substitute that produces the same quality that our consumers have come to love in our products. Wrigley is conscious of dietary restrictions, and we work hard to make sure that the products sold in parts of the world with Halal markets are free from any animal-based ingredients. Our priority is to make the best products using ingredients that meet the needs of our fans around the world. Glycerin is the most common ingredient in our gum products. Glycerin can come from animal, vegetable or synthetic sources. The glycerin we use comes from vegetable sources only. These products sold in the United States contain gelatin that come from a mix of beef and pork: - Of our gum products, only Extra® Polar Ice gum contains gelatin. All other Wrigley brands and flavors of Extra® do not contain gelatin. - Altoids® mints (Peppermint, Spearmint, Wintergreen, Cinnamon, Liquorice, Ginger, Cool Honey). Please note that Altoids® Smalls do not contain gelatin. - Life Savers® Gummies- Extra® Polar Ice - All Starburst® GummiBursts (Original, Sours, Flavor Duos) All Starburst® Fruit Chews varieties (Original, Tropical, Sours, FaveReds, Morph, Sweet Fiesta, Very Berry, Fruit Slushies) contain gelatin that is sourced from beef. Dairy is used in our Creme Savers® to give the candy that delicious creamy taste. Our Life Savers® Spear O Mint®, Pep-O-Mint® and Wint-O-Green® sugar mints also contain stearic acid, which is an animal-based ingredient. Beginning in 2009, Skittles® have been updated without gelatin. For Skittles and other products that have been updated without gelatin, gelatin will not be listed in the ingredient line any longer. Another common question concerns whether glycerin or sugar alcohols are true alcohols or not. Glycerin is an alcohol but this type of alcohol is a natural byproduct of most plants, fruits and vegetables or it sometimes has a synthetic source. Sugar alcohols refers to the group of ingredients that are artificial sweeteners. We would like to point out that these alcohols are NOT the same as the ethyl alcohol found in alcoholic beverages. We hope this information is helpful. For additional questions or more information about Wrigley, please visit www.wrigley.com, or contact us at any time at 1-800-WRIGLEY (974-4539) Monday through Friday, from 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST. Have a sweet day! Gregory Smith Consumer Care Representative 8000520926 "\ jazakallah hope it helped! - sammar
  • AOA

    Thanks for your information but none of their gum is Halal because:

    Mr. Ahmed,

    Thank you for contacting the Wrigley Company to request information.  We are always happy to hear from our consumers and will be happy to answer your question.

    In response to your request, we follow strict guidelines when it comes to that. But because they are both manufactured in the same facility, there is always a chance for cross contamination.

    We thank you once again for taking time to contact us. 

    Sincerely,

    Ashley Hern
    Consumer Care Representative

    8000261139


    Category: News & Alerts
    05-12-14 20:17:45
  • السلام عليكم in an "alert" called "TITLE: Controversy on Alcohol from other than grape, date and barley" there was a translation of an Aayah, but it is actually a translation of Surah Al-Maaidah Aayah 90 and not Al-An'aam Aayah 90. also, there was one narration that was not from one of the very widely known books of hadeeth, is it graded saheeh? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I just copied it from http://islam.pakistanway.com/ShowNewsDetail.aspxnewsid=170 and did not cfoss check the the ayats in Quran and ahahidth in (Sahih Muslim, Sunan Abu Dawud, No. 3671, , Sunan Timizi and others.

    If you provide me the coreect ones and sending them to Halalfoods@hotmail.com then I will correct on  our website.


    Category: News & Alerts
    04-09-14 18:17:44
  • pectic used by Thorntons is it Halal - Javid Saeed
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    04-03-14 02:27:13
  • halal in phillippines http://www.worldhalalcouncil.com/members/islamic-dawah-council-of-the-philippines-idcp and http://www.halalislamicdawah-ph.com/halal.html ,etc are this true halal or not - papata
  • AOA

    MCG is the memeber of World Halal Council but I have no information about what other members Halal criteria.I am not familiar with the other organization.


    Category: News & Alerts
    03-11-14 23:58:38
  • Asalaamualaikum. Here is a conversation I had right now with a Quaker Oats brand representative about their products: Fariha: Hello. I'd like to know if ethyl alcohol is used as a main solvent in your natural and artificial flavors, or if any alcohol is used in the flavors. Thanks. **Welcome to Quaker Oats. Someone will be with you momentarily.** ** Thank you for waiting. All of our representatives are still busy assisting other consumers. You are number 1 in line. Jessica has joined the session. Jessica: Hi Fariha. We're sorry to disappoint you, but our exact formulations are proprietary and we do not have detailed info to share. We do know they are not Halal suitable though. Jessica: However, please be assured that that they all meet the US FDA definitions for non-alcoholic beverages. Fariha: Oh wow! I'm surprised you are aware of the term "halal" and know that it is not, and that helps at all. But that is so sad to hear that it is not halal because I enjoy eating them so much! Why is it not halal?Fariha: not at all,,, i meant that helps a lot! Jessica: We don't currently work with any organizations at this time for certification. However, Ill be sure to let our product development teams know you'd be interested in seeing products marked for Halal in the future. - Fariha
  • AOA

    If they refused to give the answer about presnce or absence alcohol in natural and artificial then their products became mushbooh. Muslims can not eat mushbooh foods.


    Category: News & Alerts
    03-11-14 11:06:29
  • This is not question but fact.. i am master student from malaysia, my friend did testing Kinder Bueno chocolate , positive detect the pig DNA inside it.. Pls forward to all muslin that Kinder Bueno chocolate have non Halal ingredient inside it. May Allah bless u.Salam. - Suziana Zaila Hj Che Fauzi
  • AOA

    Thanks for the information but Kinder Bueno Chocolate is not available in USA and Canada. By the way which instrument your friend is used to detect DNA. Did he runa control samples with pig DNA and wirhout pig DNA.


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-16-14 03:40:29
  • salam brother, I read about the new status of Nivea products are now mushbooh if they contain following Ingredients 1. Lanolin, Lanolin Oil, Lanolin Alcohol, Glyceryl Lanolate, Cholesterol, Cholesteryl Oleyl Carbonate, Cholesteryl Nonanoate, Cholesteryl Chloride - derived from Woolwax (from sheep wool). 2. Sodium Tallowate - derived from Tallow (from cattle). 3. PEG-8 Beeswax, Cera Alba (Wax), Mel (Honey) - derived from Wax or honey (from bees). 4. Carboxymethyl Chitin, Ostrea/Oyster shell extract (from crustaceans). 5. Hydrolyzed Silk, Silk Powder - derived from Silk (from silk worms). 6. Hydrolyzed Milk Protein, Sine Adipe Lac, Casein, Yoghurt Powder, Sodium C8-16 Isoalkylsuccinyl, Lactoglobulin Sulfonate - derived from Milk (from cattle). 7. Carmine/CI 75470 (colour) - derived from Cochineal (from beetles). 8. Hydrolyzed Keratin - derived from Keratin (from cashmere goat or sheep wool). 9. Hydrolyzed Pearl - derived from Pearl protein (fresh water pearls). I was using their moisturizer and that moisturizer doesnt have any of these ingredients which they told and i copied in my question.. my question is can we use those things of nivea brand which doest have any of these ingredients or not? or they still mushbooh ?Thank you very much.. - tareb jasmine
  • AOA

    I do not know those ingredients but it is mushbooh product and should not be used because we do not know what Haram hidden ingredients they use.


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-22-14 19:08:22
  • if morsel food fall in toilet or urine it is permisible to wash with water and eat it - mohd m papata
  • AOA

    Please ask this question to a Islamic Scholar.


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-08-14 22:52:41
  • Assalamualaikum.. Will it not be sooo beneficial if u people create an android app so that we can check the product out on the go... Hoping for a development in this regard soon Inshallah.. Wasalam - Suleiman Talha
  • AOA

    According to our computer director android is a complex system. But we are applying to Apple for MCG app for Iphone approval this week. Inshalla our MCG Iphone app will be available in Jan. 2014. So you can search Halal food products in supermarkets.


    Category: News & Alerts
    12-17-13 22:57:00
  • Asalaamualaikum. On vrg.org, I have found Tons of useful information that can be used to update this wonderful site. Please see what I found for Taco Bell: Taco Bell informed us that all of its cheeses are made with genetically-engineered chymosin (no animal rennet). It is possible to order items without sour cream. The beans and rice (both the Seasoned Rice and the Express Rice) are free of animal ingredients. They may be put on a taco or tortilla with lettuce and tomatoes. Taco Bell told us that "[a]ll of our menu items can be customized. When ordered 'Fresco Style' we'll swap our freshly prepared Fiesta Salsa for any sauce or cheese." (The Fiesta Salsa contains no animal products while many of the sauces contain egg and/or dairy ingredients. The Red Sauce, Mild Sauce, and Hot Sauce do not.) Taco Bell Quality Assurance told us that "[t]he enzymes used in the tortillas, flatbread, and Nacho Cheese Sauce are vegetable-based." All of Taco Bell's bread products, except the taco shells, the tostada shells, the tortillas, and the nacho chips, contain L-cysteine of an unspecified source. The flour tortilla contains the dough conditioners DATEM, mono - and diglycerides, and enzyme, all of unspecified sources. The Potato Bites are free of animal products and may be ordered without the cheese. Taco Bell does not use lard in any of its products. Patrons should note that the following items are fried in the same oil: Nacho Chips, Taco Salad Shell, Mexican Pizza Shell, Caramel Apple Empanada, Cinnamon Twists, Chalupa Shells, Potato Bites, and the Red Strips. The Caramel Apple Empanada contains dairy products. - Fariha
  • AOA

    I suggest you to read every section and subsection of our website then you will find what ever you wrote is not correct. You have to understand that vegetarian ingredients or foods are not always Halal because they have to meet the Halal requirements. There is no restrict of alcohol orliquor or wine or alcohol containing flavors in veggie diet. So those veggie containing above are not Halal. The vrg. org website is not run by experienced food professions but some food scientist and nutritional personnel help this organization and there are lot mistakes.for example the source of brewer is yeast is only mentioned as fungal but forgot to mentioned other most important source beer, it is a by-products of beer making. Beta Carotene, BHA and BHT are not avilable in 100% form, gelatin is used as a carrier in beta carotene, fat based carriers are used in BHA and BHT because they are not sold as 100%.

    I am suggesting to you not to follow vrg.org website. Please read carefully about Taco Bell under subsection Chain Restauarnts of Food Product section because it was researched in 2013. There is no Halal Nacho cheese in USA even there is no kosher certified Nacho cheese so Nacho cheese is not Halal.

    Microbial rennet will not decide status of cheese as Halal because there other reqiurements has to meet for Halal status of cheese, whey and other dairy ingredients.

    According to MCG criteria for Halal cheese it must be Halal or Kosher certified or meet the Halal requirements. For example MCG has did researched Pizza Hut and Papa John Mozzrella cheeses found to meet Halal requirements although they are not Kosher certified.

    From our Ingredients section:

    Whey and its Halal Status

    Muslims think that whey is milk based ingredient, it has to be Halal but answer is no. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type of cheese such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese making such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese. Whey is a portion of milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture bacteria are grown (Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they obtained from milk source not meat source and media on which these starter culture bacteria grown has to be made from Halal ingredients such milk). These requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements).

    A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) or  a claim "Suitable for Vegetarian " in Europe or in other countries appears on a food package containing whey indicates that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher supervision or under vegetarian supervision. Acid Whey which is obtained from cottage has the same Halal requirements as cheddar or Mozzarella cheese except rennet is not used but starter cultures are added and they have to be from milk source not meat source. Starter culture requirement for acid whey is same cheddar or Mozzarella cheese.

    CHEESES AND ITS HALAL STATUS

    The following things have to be Halal in order for a cheese to be considered Halal: 1. Ingredients used to make the Mother Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast). 2. Ingredients used to make the Bulk Starter Culture growth Media ((if whey used, it has to be made from non animal rennet, Lactose is also from non animal rennet, yeast extract has to be from baker’s yeast). 3. Starter Bacterial culture are Halal if they obtained from milk source and not from meat source, usually in practice they obtained from milk. 4. Milk Coagulating Enzyme, such as Microbial rennet used to coagulate milk or Rennet obtained from Zabiha slaughtered calves 5. Fat Hydrolyzing Enzyme, such as Microbial Lipases 6. Dairy ingredients such as Non Fat dry milk solid or cream or dry milk added 7. Artificial color such as artificial blue or green color is added to neutralize natural yellow color in curd for Asiago or Blue cheese 8. Media to grow mold Penicillium roquefortti providing blue color in blue cheese 9. Harmless plant based enzyme is added for curing or flavor development and growth media for biological curing agent used on the surface of Brick cheese 10. Flavoring, hydrolyzed lactose, whey for cold packed cheese food, gelatin(if it is used then it is not Halal) is allowed in cream cheese but most manufacturer use gums instead of gelatin. 11. Cheese must be Kosher certified(if kosher certification meets Halal requirements) or the starter culture bacteria, rennet, media upon which the culture bacteria grows has to be kosher certified or use of microbial rennet or Lipase or whey is made from using culture bacteria obtained from milk source, microbial rennet or milk is used as a media.


    Category: News & Alerts
    12-09-13 15:04:10
  • Asalamualaikum I have recently checked McDonald's website for tartar sauce ingredients and there is no whey or natural flavor in the sauce. Please check they're website so we can confirm the halal or haram status on it if you don't mind. Did you say patty is halal? - Fariha
  • AOA

    I is mushbooh because of fat based polysobate 80, if it is made from vegetable fat then Halal otherwise not. Only McDonald knows about it so call and find out.

    TARTAR SAUCE:
    Ingredients: Soybean Oil, Pickle Relish (Diced Pickles, Vinegar, Salt, Capers, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate [Preservative], Calcium Chloride, Spice Extractives,
    Polysorbate 80), Egg Yolks, Water, Onions, Distilled Vinegar, Sugar, Spice, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Potassium Sorbate (Preservative), Parsley.
    CONTAINS: EGG.
     


    Category: News & Alerts
    12-02-13 19:13:17
  • Assalaamu'Alaykum brother.. i appreciate your response but i request you to kindly try(if possible) to do so sooner.. i emailed Megafood company with your concerns.. m fk - 28 Oct to abigail Hello.. Thanks for the early reply.. The 3 products i am interested in are: 1.Megafood Men's- serving size: 3 tablets. 2.Megafood Women's One Daily. 3.Megafood Kid's One Daily. I am sure you realise the importance of verifying what exactly one is consuming.. In the same spirit, i would like further clarification... I need the complete ingredients statement for all the three products because it is not there on your website. I want to know whether any vitamin is obtained by extract? if it is obtained by extract, whether alcohol was used?? You have mentioned "We do not utilize Alcohol".. this not correct answer because you did not send my question to technical department. They did not provide the answer that vitamins are not obtained by use of alcohol. It is best to mention all the extracts used to obtain vitamins and provide ingredients list and also 'other-ingredients' used beside vitamins. I would like to know what additional ingredients you use? You have to understand some companies make money & fool consumers by use of organic label and in 'some cases' the non-organic is as good as organic. Organic foods cost more money. One example Milk, many dairies are putting the word on milk bottle that they are not using any enzymes or growth promoters to get more milk from cows. So you see it maybe a case of 'Once bitten, twice shy'.. So i request you to do the needful and reply back at the earliest.. Thanking you, Regards, Hughes. I received the following reply....... Abigail McShinsky - 23:56 1 - Attachments to mfk7515 I am in communication with our technical department, and am able to confirm that alcohol is not used in the manufacture of our materials. As we *do not *extract nutrients, but deliver them in whole foods, this becomes even less of a concern. All materials found in our products are listed directly on the supplement facts, which are available on our website. This includes the food used to deliver every single nutrient present. Any 'other ingredients' are listed below the supplement facts box, and include only materials vital in the proper production of a tableted product, such as plant cellulose to coat the tablet and vegetable lubricant to prevent sticking. I hope this provides the clarification you need. Best, * * *ABIGAIL McSHINSKY* *Customer Inquiries* * 8 Bowers Road Derry, NH 03038 P: 800.848.2542 F: 603.432.2111 < abigail@megafood.com > ......... now, dear Rashid saheb,.. i would like to know your opinion.. kindly explain in as much detail as possible... May Allah (swt) reward you for all your hardwork, patience and commitment to spread information about both halal and haram and in warning/cautioning the fellow muslims.... Early reply is highly appreciated.. Jazaakallaahu khairan kaseera.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    I already answer this question.


    Category: News & Alerts
    10-28-13 12:19:00
  • Assalaamu'Alaykum Rasheesuddin Ahmed Saheb,.. I was trying to find a company which produces good organic wholefoods & Kosher supplements instead of all the other synthetic products produced by other companies like Solgar etc.... The name of the company is Megafood and the website is www.megafood.com .. Although their products are a bit more expensive ..you can get good deals on amazon.com etc.. Kindly do your research and due diligence and if you find them good, kindly inform your readers and me too.. Below is an email i sent them with the 'recommended query format' present in your website.. Re: MegaFood Inquiry- Query regarding 3 Products m fk - 22 Oct to abigail (I have included another product here. So, Totally three products).. Hello.. I am a great admirer of your company and its products and wanted to gain a better understanding of them in the journey of bettering my health… I am particularly interested in purchasing three(3) products and would like a few clarifications regarding them... 1)Megafood Men's-(Serving Size 3 tablets). 2)Megafood Women's One Daily. 3)Megafood Kid's One Daily. Do the above mentioned products contain/made up of/ constitutes Alcohol in any shape or form?? If yes then in what quantity?? *" Is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor;?? Alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department can not answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".??* Do the above mentioned products contain/made up of/ constitutes of Soy ?? If yes then in what quantity?? Do the above mentioned products contain/made up of/ constitutes any Animal ingredients/ enzymes??of ?? If yes then which are those non-vegetarian ingredients and in what quantity are they present?? kindly specify Do the above mentioned products contain/made up of/ constitutes of Rennet?? If yes then in what quantity and is it from animal source??kindly elaborate Do the above mentioned products consist of gelatin??If yes then what is its source?? Is the gelatin from animal source or fish/ ocean source or plant/ mineral source?? Kindly specify.. Do you have any certificate which says that the above mentioned products are Kosher or Halal certified?? Looking forward to an early and detailed response, Thanking you, Regards, Hughes. ..... I received the below reply from them.. Abigail McShinsky - 01:03 1 - Attachments to mfk7515 Hi Hughes, Thank you for taking the time to contact us. MegaFood is a vegetarian company, with many of our products being vegan. We do not utilize alcohol, soy, animal enzymes, rennet, or gelatin in ANY of our products or throughout our process. Additionally, many of our products are certified Kosher by Circle K. Below is a link to a video detailing our Kosher certification. All three products that you are interested in our certified Kosher. https://www.youtube.com/ watch? v=DvU3Jn9fzu8&feature=c4- overview&list=UUd4uEk86tUVsp8dNmoIaq6Q Please let me know if there is anything else that I can help you with! Best, * * *ABIGAIL McSHINSKY* *Customer Inquiries* * 8 Bowers Road Derry, NH 03038 P: 800.848.2542 F: 603.432.2111 < abigail@megafood.com > ...... I am sending you this for the general benefit of all the muslims who contact MCG ... (i ask Allah's pardon for any mistake here..) Dear brother, since you are the expert in this field, i request you to kindly inform me and others if their products can be consumed.. An early and detailed reply is highly appreciated... Jazaakallaahu Khairan kaseera.. - Mfk
  • AOA

    I need the complete ingredients statement for all three products because it is not there on their website. I want to know wheher any vita min obtained by extract, if it is obtaibned by extract whether alcohol was used. "We do not utilized Alcohol" this not correct answer because the person did not send your question to technical department. They did not provide the anaswer that vitamins are not obtained by use of alcohol.

    It is better to use www.koshervitamins.com because they mentioned extract to obtain vitamins and provide ingredients list of other ingredients used beside vitamins.

    I can  not recmmend Mega Vitamins to any Muslim consumer because I have no information how they made what additional ingredients they use. I will still recommend the non organic vitamins from www.vitamins.com You have to understand some companies make many to fool consumer by use of organic label and in some cases the non organic is as good as organic. Organic foods cost more money. One example Milk, many dairies are putting the word on milk bottle that they are not using any enzymes or growth promoters to get more milk from cows.

    So I am sorry I can not comply your request.


    Category: News & Alerts
    10-23-13 08:01:39
  • appy fizz halal /haram - syed mohd tariq
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    10-20-13 04:32:35
  • Hello...will you be doing any research in starbucks products ? Because the date in chain restaurant's page is too old.Any changes till now? thank you - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    The problem with Starbucks is that they buy all non coffee products from local bakery, like I developed a fruit nut bar for Starbuck through a regional bakery in Chicago. Inshallah I will research on their coffee products.


    Category: News & Alerts
    10-18-13 08:12:09
  • Salam.I had received an e-mail from Frito-Lays about their Funyuns Onion flavored rings because I saw that on this site it says that Funyuns Onion flavored rings is Halal. However,when I saw the ingredients for Funyuns Onion flavored rings,I did not see anything about yeast extract.They basically told me that they have no information if they used alcohol in a ingredient. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    halal Funyuns® Onion Flavored Rings Snacks Fritolay From: noreply@fritolay.com Sent: Wed 4/04/12 12:15 PM To: Halalfoods@hotmail.com Hi Rasheed, Thank you for writing to us. Yeast extract can be from torula, bakers or brewers yeasts. We do not use live yeast for yeast extract. We are not able to confirm which of the three yeasts are used for the extract because sources can vary. There is no alcohol used in the production of Funyuns. We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay. Best regards, Belinda Frito-Lay Consumer Relations 011918759A UPC Cod: 0 2840008295 2 04-04-12

    Please send this e-mail back to Frito Lay and what why they said to you. Did send this paragraph to ask alcohol in flavor question:

    HOW TO PHRASE YOUR QUESTION ABOUT ALCOHOL IN FLAVOR OF A FOOD PRODUCT

    The question about alcohol in flavor is a tricky one because it is a hidden ingredient of the flavor. If you ask alcohol question to non technical consumer department person of a food company, first they look at the ingredients list of the food product and will find no alcohol is mentioned. Then they will say we do not use alcohol in our products because they do not know the alcohol is a hidden ingredient of the flavor. We request Muslim consumers to use the following phrase when asking or writing the question to consumer department of any food company regarding the presence or absence of alcohol in the flavor of a food product.

    " is alcohol used as a solvent in flavor; alcohol is a hidden ingredient or processing aid ingredient of a flavor, it will not appear in the ingredients statement. The knowledge of presence or absence of alcohol in flavor is only known to your QA or Technical service department because they have access to the specification of flavors. In the specification of flavor, your flavor supplier has written  the name of solvent or carrier used in that particular flavor. So please request your QA or Technical service department to find out whether alcohol was used or not in the flavor as a solvent. The consumer department can not answer this question because they do not have access to specification of ingredients".


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-26-13 13:39:49
  • As-salam Alaykum and Ramadan Mubarak,I would like you to know that I had contacted Little Debbie in November 2012.I asked them if they use alcohol in natural and artificial flavor and they told me "The flavorings are brewed in a grain based alcohol, but the alcohol evaporates out of during the baking process."However,I did not asked them a specific product I only asked them in all of Little Debbie products.I know that some Muslims will consider it's okay to eat products that the alcohol is evaporated completely but some of Little Debbie products might not have a Kosher sign and I did not asked them about carrageenan because I did not know that in one of their product they used carrageen,so I have no information if they used alcohol in it.I had contacted Smucker in April 2013 about their Sugar Free Fruit Spreads and they told me "Because flavor formulas are deemed proprietary information owned by our suppliers, we are unable at this time to confirm whether or not it is an ingredient in the flavoring used in our products."And I had contacted Kelloggs in February 2013 about Nutri-Grain Cereal Bars Apple Cinnamon if they used alcohol for natural and artificial flavor and carrageenan and they told me "The majority of our flavors use alcohol as a solvent. Any alcohol in a flavoring used in our products will be eliminated through evaporation due to the heating and baking of our products. Therefore, alcohol would not be present in the final product." This also goes along with the other flavors of the NutriGrain Fruit Bars and it is the same thing for Kelloggs products,Austin,Carr's,Sunshine,Famous Amos,Keebler,Mother's,Murray,Murray Sugar Free.I know that some Muslims would consider it is okay to eat products that the alcohol is evaporated completely but some products of Kelloggs and those products that I had mentioned might not have a Kosher sign.Sorry,for not giving you this information once I had received the information right away,things had happened.I hope this information has helped you out. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Ramadan Mubarak

    Thanks for the information. MCG Ulema said that if Halal ingredients mixed alcohol they lose it Halal status no matter alcohol is evorated or dried out.

    FATWA FROM DARUL IFTA JAMIA NIZAMIA HYDERABAD, INDIA ON ALCOHOL

    Jamia Nizamia has issued the following Fatwa on Alcohol:

    Although there is difference of opinion among ulema about alcohol being consider as wine but according to "Mufti Ba Qhool" (saying of Mufti) anything which causes intoxication in large or small quantity is consider as Haram. So use of alcohol is prohibited.


    Category: News & Alerts
    07-25-13 15:22:09
  • saalam alykum, I wanted to share some info on regarding KFC. I work at kfc and i wanted to let you know that the original seasoning has egg mix in it which contains gelatin and the grilled seasoning has chicken broth and chicken fat. I was telling you because some kfc sell halal chicken so i wanted to share this info. Allah Knows Best - Hasan
  • AOA

    Thank you very much for the information. We are telling Muslims since 2002 or 2003 that both machine slaughtered chicken and seasonings are not Halal. It is possible to take picture of the ingredients statement of original seasoning, egg mix and grilled seasoning through your cell phone if it is not effect your job then send back to us then we will remind Muslims that so called Halal KFC chicken contains gelatin and chicken fat.


    Category: News & Alerts
    05-12-13 02:50:57
  • i noticed the alert about alcohol in hersheys products. however i am not clear about it. so i wish to know if the hersheys products are still halaal to consume - adil karim
  •  

    AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

    You can find answers to most of your questions in Q & A section.


    Category: News & Alerts
    04-23-13 12:20:24
  • what is the update for little ceasar pizza? is the cheese still haram maybe they will answer - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    So far no update.


    Category: News & Alerts
    04-20-13 05:58:19
  • Salaam, see response from little ceasers below.PLEASE ADVISE Dear Abid Vhora, Our standard specification for HNR round cheese pizza complies with the statement below. However, since most of our stores are independently owned and operated franchises, we cannot guarantee the ingredients. Little Caesars pizza is neither Halal nor Kosher certified. However, the cheese used on Little Caesars pizza is made from cows milk, the rennet is microbial and there are no Lipase enzymes used in our pizza cheese. There are no animal by-products in the sauce or dough. If you should have further questions, please contact the Little Caesar Customer Service Center at 1-800-722-3727. Emily P Customer Service Representative - Abid
  • AOA

    The satement is 5 years old and I also got same. This statement does not make it Halal because Little Caesar has to answer some technical question about cheese and they refused.


    Category: News & Alerts
    03-18-13 11:28:39
  • is kentucky fried chicken halal? - umar
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: News & Alerts
    03-17-13 04:33:02
  • Assalamualaikum, I have contacted Hershey to know if there is alcohol in there milk chocolate chips. By The Way, I saw that its halal on your website. But this is what they said! Thank you for getting back to us about our HERSHEY'S Milk Chocolate CHIPITS Baking Chips. The artificial flavor is vanillin. Our vanillin does not contain alcohol. Alcohol is used as a processing agent and is removed. Have a sweet day, Susan Harris Consumer Representative Do you think it halal?, as they do use alcohol in there processing agent? Please Reply ASAP. One Advice: Don't say if the product has a Kosher symbol as Halal, because Jews do drink alcohol, and eat pork. And also Rasullullah S.A.W has said that we must not follow any other religious beliefs or copy or follow what they do. So according this Hadith stop saying kosher symbol means the product doesn't contain alcohol or animal products!!! Please update your website, remove KOSHER,,,,! Thank You - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    From our ALERT section and I advice you to read both ALERT and NEWS section of our website so that I do not have to reply to your question because the answer is already under ALERT section:

     

    TITLE: Hershey's E-Mail regarding alcohol used as a processing aid confusing Muslim consumers

    MCG wrote this e-mail to clarify their statement regarding alcohol and the consumer department told MCG that they will look and get back to MCG:

    Hi Mr. MCguire,
     
    Nice to talk to on the phone. The e-mail below is causing lot of confusion among our 8-10 million Muslim consumers who do not consume any food product made with ethyl alcohol. To me the e-mail is missing the "in flavors" after processing agent. Because ethyl alcohol alone never used as a processing aid or hidden ingredient in chocolate and it has no technical effect during processing.
     
    If you correct the e-mail this way then our consumer will not have any confusion:
     
    " Thank you for contacting Hershey

    All the products you mentioned contain vanillin. Our vanillin does not contain alcohol. Alcohol is used as a processing agent in flavors and is removed.

    Have a sweet day,

    Susan Harris
    Consumer Representative"
     
    Please forward this suggestion to your QA or Technical or legal department.
     
    Rasheed Ahmed
    Certified senior Food Scientist
    Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada (a non profit educational organization)

    www.muslimconsumergroup.com
    www.canadianhalalfoods.com


     

    Posted on: 02-12-13 00:00 AM


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-25-13 16:51:42
  • Asalamualaikum I found that Keebler Chips Deluxe Coconut does not have alcohol used in flavor. the flavor ,I was told, comes from the coconut and no alcohol was used to get the flavor. But What about cross contamination? - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Asked them to answer the question in writing and plaease provide me the complet ingredients.


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-19-13 12:54:53
  • Hi Ebrar! Thank you for contacting The Hershey Company. Your comments about HERSHEY'S Milk Chocolate Bar are important. Our vanillin does not contain alcohol. Alcohol is used as a processing agent and is removed. Have a sweet day, Susan Harris Consumer Representative 008651259A (What is Muslim Consumer opinion?Thank you) - Ebrar
  • AOA

    Hershey's E-Mail regarding alcohol used as a processing aid confusing Muslim consumers

    MCG wrote this e-mail to clarify their statement regarding alcohol and the consumer department told MCG that they will look and get back to MCG:

    Hi Mr. MCguire,
     
    Nice to talk to on the phone. The e-mail below is causing lot of confusion among our 8-10 million Muslim consumers who do not consume any food product made with ethyl alcohol. To me the e-mail is missing the "in flavors" after processing agent. Because ethyl alcohol alone never used as a processing aid or hidden ingredient in chocolate and it has no technical effect during processing.
     
    If you correct the e-mail this way then our consumer will not have any confusion:
     
    " Thank you for contacting Hershey

    All the products you mentioned contain vanillin. Our vanillin does not contain alcohol. Alcohol is used as a processing agent in flavors and is removed.

    Have a sweet day,

    Susan Harris
    Consumer Representative"
     
    Please forward this suggestion to your QA or Technical or legal department.
     
    Rasheed Ahmed
    Certified senior Food Scientist
    Muslim Consumer Group For Food Products USA/Canada (a non profit educational organization)

    www.muslimconsumergroup.com
    www.canadianhalalfoods.com


     


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-12-13 17:17:40
  • where can we buy the new book? - Umer
  • AOA

    The advertizement for this book on our website for how to buy it Inshallah will appear on this Friday our computor person is working on it. It will provide you direction how to use your credit card.


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-04-13 15:22:33
  • hi I submitted to email that I have received and I thought I'd taking my name out of the heading is there anyway you could edit the emails so that my last name isn't shown thank you so much - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Please do not write your name next time that way nobody know your last name. It will be lot of work to eliminate your name from previous Questions & Anaswers because they are over 10, 000.


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-29-13 10:01:26
  • October 15, 2012 Dear Ms. Vanvelzor, Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Coffee-mate® Non-Dairy Creamer Café Latte regarding if there is any alcohol used as a solvent in the artificial and natural flavors in this or the Hazelnut. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you. There is no alcohol used in the products for the natural and artificial flavors; nor is it used as a solvent. At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services. We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions. Sincerely, Beverly Watson Consumer Response Representative Ref #:20180345 - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    Thanks for your information. But Ms Beverly Watson who I talk to her several time did not specify the liquid form or dry form because Hazel Nut is available both liquid and powder while there is no Cafe latte mentioned on their product lsit.

    There are two problem with with Coffee-Mate, one is Carrageenan where ethyl alcohol can be used during its processing and second problem is that they claim no alcohol in the dry Coffee Mate which start with liquid natural and artificial with alcohol as solvent and alcohol is evaporated during drying of the product to claim no alcohol which is not right with respect of MCG Halal Criteria which dictates that no alcohol containing ingredients should be mixed with Halal ingredients because those Halal ingredients became not Halal. An e-amil provided by Nestle to one of our Muslim consumer mentioning the alcohol is dried out during drying. Majority of natural flavor are vanilla flavor which is obtained through alcohol.

    based on these facts we do not consider the e-mail Nestley provide to you lack technical details such as whether original flavor has alcohol or not and dried out during drying.

    I do not considered the e-mail you provide to change our status on Nestle Coffee mate products.

     

    Search results for the term: coffee mate

    Total results generated: 1

    Halal Status

    Product Name

    Category

    Product Brand

    Comments

    Date

    Dry Powder and Liquid Non Dairy Coffee Creamers

    Coffee Creamers

    Coffee Mate

    Muslim Consumer Group is educating Muslim consumers that whenever the word "Natural Flavor" attached to Vanilla food products, it means vanilla natural flavor is extracted with alcohol and water from vanilla beans. One of our sister questioned Nestle regarding their claims "No Alcohol is used in Coffee Mate's flavor" including the Coffee Mate's Liquid Vanilla Latte which is made with Natural and Artificial Flavor. Here is their response: Dear Ms------, Thank you for taking the time to contact Nestlé® Coffee-mate® Non-Dairy Creamer regarding the alcohol content of our product. We welcome questions and comments from loyal consumers such as yourself and appreciate this opportunity to assist you. You are correct that natural vanilla is obtained by alcohol extraction. In fact, there are FDA standards of identity for vanilla extract. However, all of the flavors used in Coffee-mate are dry flavors so any alcohol will be removed during the drying process. At Nestlé, we are dedicated to you and your family throughout every phase of your lives. Your feedback is valuable to us, as it helps us to improve our products and services. We appreciate your interest in our products and hope you will visit our website often for the latest information on our products and promotions. Sincerely, Beverly Watson Consumer Response Representative Ref #:19997486 If they say no alcohol in flavor, we recommend Muslim consumers to ask to clarify whether it is originally made from liquid flavors then dried to make dry flavors. I myself exposed to this experience when I was working for Best Eaton Donut chain in Rhode Island when we are using dry flavor for vanilla donuts. The flavor supplier told me it contained dried natural vanilla flavor. This means the alcohol is evaporated during spray drying processing. So please do not consume any Natural Vanilla flavor containing food products or where Vanilla is product name with Natural & Artificial flavor. If vanillin or artificial vanilla flavor mentioned then there is no alcohol in it. This is the reason we assign "Not Halal" status to all Coffee Mate dry powder or liquid products.

    06-14-12

     


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-28-13 16:43:26
  • January 28, 2013 RE: Case ID# 88750 Thank You from Blue Diamond Dear BRENDA VANVELZOR , Thank you for contacting Blue Diamond Growers with your product inquiry. I have checked with our lab and it is confirmed that we do not use Ethyl Alcohol as a solvent. Should you have any additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Pam Schiller Assistant Consumer Advocate BLUE DIAMOND GROWERS (800) 987-2329; toll free e-mail: customerservice@bdgrowers.com - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    I need complet ingredients and product name.


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-28-13 16:39:40
  • AoA. I went today to get Triaminic syrups and noticed that there is no kosher symbol on them any more. I called the company & found out that they have changed suppliers & cannot guarantee the use of non-animal by products any more. - Atiya Haider
  • AOA

    Did you call them or write a e-mail. I have to confirm it then I will change the status.


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-08-13 09:34:45
  • it says on your website that "The alcohol level in Pepsi was less than 0.001% or 10 PPM as reported by Northland Lab." --then it says " It means they cannot detect alcohol in Pepsi.".. I am not sure what that means. They found 0.001 Percent, so how is it halal? - reda
  • AOA

    No lab write 0% results but write minimum amount what that machine can detect as zero results. The amount 0.001% or 10 PPM is consider zero.


    Category: News & Alerts
    01-06-13 14:26:18
  • I am glad to advise your good selves that Minibabybel kosher and halal is now available in Tesco and Sainsburys and all kosher delis in the UK FB pagewww.facebook.com/pages/Elit-Kosher-Suppliers-to-the-UK-of-Mini-Babybel-kosher-and-halal/284112748292337?ref=hl please ask your readers to contact if they are having problems getting supplies regards Yeshurun - Yeshurun
  • AOA

    The answer to your questions that I need the complete ingredients statement because not kosher certified products are consider Halal unless those meet the Halal requirements. MCG do not consider Kosher meat as Halal.

     

    NOT ALL KOSHER CERTIFIED FOOD PRODUCTS ARE HALAL, ONLY THOSE MEET HALAL REQUIREMENTS ARE HALAL

    The Kosher Certified food products are not considered Halal if they contain one of the following ingredient (based on MCG Halal Standard):

    (1) Gelatin (2) Kosher Gelatin (3) L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers (4) Wine (5) Liquor (6) Beer batter (7) Rum flavor (8) Ethyl Alcohol or ethanol as a main ingredient (9) Cochineal or Carmine (10) Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce (11) Brewer’s Yeast Extract from byproduct of beer making  (12) Nucleotides (13) Vanilla Extract (14) Wine Vinegar (15) If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural and artificial flavors (16) Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze (17) Torula Yeast grown on alcohol (18) if Carrageenan is made with ethyl alcohol.


    Category: News & Alerts
    12-19-12 05:06:01
  • is maggi haram or halal? - mohammad salman
  • AOA

    A few Maggi Halal and other are not Halal. The one with green dot is Halal if no flavor present.


    Category: News & Alerts
    12-11-12 02:36:40
  • Bismillaah hir Rahman nir Raheem Assalaamualikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuhu, Mashallah, May Almighty Allah be pleased with your work ..Amin Further, would like give mashwarah regarding the enviornment in which the the food gets prepared makes the food to be halal in doubt..To our best knowledge...few open truth such as Pizza hut pizza..though you have named couple of pizza halal...as we all know the kichen carries Haram items too ..so its sure that any part/particle of that may get contaminated ...As Prophet Muhammed Sallallaahu alihiwallam said in Shahih Muslim...We need to stay away from even those in which you fall in doubt...that is what is Taqwah..leading to Jannah ..Insha Allah. Wassallam Dr Abdul Majid (Abdullah) - Dr Majid Shaik (Abdullah)
  • AOA

    I agree with Hadith. Our Halal status of Pizza Hut and Papa John is based on the raw material before it baked in to cheese pizza. MCG is alo says that they will not take any responsibity for the cross contamination. It is the job of the Muslim consumers who want to consume those cheese pizza to make sure no cross contaminatio happened at the stores. MCG do not encourage to eat those cheese pizza if Muslim thinks it is hard to avoid the cross contamination. We recommend to consume Amy's Kitchen Halal frozen cheesepizza which is available in supermarkets.


    Category: News & Alerts
    11-20-12 05:38:37
  • assalamou alikum. u r rally doing a great thing for us muslims. but i want to know is chedder cheese halal or haraam. i think its haraam but people its halal. JAZAQALAHO KHIR MAY ALLAH BLESS U!!oh yes and is the cheese company silani halal or haraam? PLZ let me know. once again JAZZAKALLA!!!!! - fatima chowdhury
  • AOA

    Cheddar Cheese is Halal only if there is Halal or Kosher symbol on the package. Therer is no Halal cheddar cheese in Canada. There are only two cheese are halal from Silani brand in Toronto supermarkets:

     

    Seach results for the term: cheese

    Total results generated: 27

    Halal Status Product Name Category Product Brand Comments Supermarket
    halal 1% M. F. Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal 1% M. F. Cottage Cheese Snack Cottage Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal 1% Milkfat Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Blue Menu   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal 1% Milkfat Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center
    halal 1%, 2% Milkfat Nordica Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Gray Lea   Food Basic Supermarket
    halal 1%, 2%, 4% Milkfat Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Gray Lea Nordic   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper)
    halal 2% M.F. Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal 2% Milkfat Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center
    halal Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Compliments   Fresh Co (Old Price Chopper)
    halal Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Western   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center
    halal Cream Cheese Regular Cream Cheese Tofutti   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Cream Cheese Spread - Chipotle Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Cream Cheese Spread - Dill Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Cream Cheese Spread - Original Cream Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Feta Cheese Feta Cheese Trestelle   Food Basic Supermarket
    halal Goat Feta Cheese Feta Cheese Silani   Food Basic Supermarket
    halal Light Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Great value   Wal-Mart Super Center
    halal Light Cream Cheese product Cream Cheese Western   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Mozzarella Cheese Mozzarella Cheese Silani   Food Basic Supermarket
    halal Nordica On the Go Plain Cottage Cheese Cottage Cheese Gray Lea   Food Basic Supermarket
    halal Omega 3 Ricotta Cheese Ricotta Cheese Trestelle No carrageenan Food Basic Supermarket
    halal Original Cream Cheese Product Cream Cheese Western   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Regular Cream Cheese Cream Cheese Philadelphia   Food Basic Supermarket
    halal Ricotta Whey Cheese Ricotta Cheese Blue Menu   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Soft Unripened Goat's Milk Cheese Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket
    halal Soft Unripened Goat's Milk Cheese - 4-Peppercorn Cheese President Choice   Loblaws Supermarket


    Category: News & Alerts
    11-13-12 17:34:15
  • fd&C yellow no, 6 gelatin is used in Centram multi vitamin capsule, Is it halal or haram? - Faruk hossain
  • AOA

    All Centrum vitamins are not Halal. Please go to our home page see the lsit of Halal vitamins.


    Category: News & Alerts
    10-21-12 10:23:54
  • This is in regards to an inquiry to Frito Lay Chips. They are saying all of their Kosher certified products are free of animal enzymes and flavors. From: Date: Feb 13, 2012 8:15 AM Subject: A Message from Consumer Relations - RE: one of our products, Reference #011850650A Thank you for writing to us. The products listed as not containing porcine enzymes could contain other animal enzymes. If you are needing to avoid only porcine enzymes, any product on this list would be safe for consumption. However, if you need to avoid all animal enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list "cheese" and "whey" as ingredients. A number of our cheese seasonings are made with animal enzymes. Only a few snacks have animal flavors and they will always be listed on the ingredient statement, never hidden under "natural flavors." We have a list of kosher snacks on our website. All the snacks listed are free of animal enzymes and flavors. You'll find it in the "Your Health" section, under "For Special Dietary Needs." We consider you a valued consumer and hope you will continue to enjoy snacks from Frito-Lay. Best regards, Belinda Frito-Lay Consumer Relations 011850650A - Frito Lay Chips - Inquiry Answered.
  • AOA

    Thanks br. Ahmad Khan, we have e-mail from Frito-Lay this year about the alcohol in flavor and based on the e-mail I have updated a list of Halal or not Halal Frito Lays potato chips and other products on our website on 4/12/12. There are 30 Halal potato chips llisted from Ruffle, lays, Sun Chip brands.


    Category: News & Alerts
    09-30-12 12:58:33
  • Is del taco fish taco halal?. I read the ingredient and did not see any haram items and del taco fast food is not on your list. Thank you. Zahra - Zahra
  • AOA

    I have no information and they are not nationwide.


    Category: News & Alerts
    09-20-12 17:46:06
  • kindly tell me gimme and fiber choice tablets or chewable gums are halal or haram products.and also tell me all gelatin products are haram as some people says that only pork gelatin is haram,please guide me in this respect.thank you. - maliha
  • AOA

    Most of the gums are made on same line where pork gelatin containing gums are made so they are not Halal. Please read on our home page information about which gelatin is Halal.


    Category: News & Alerts
    09-03-12 22:31:37
  • asa actually i wana know about pizza hut bcz information is so old so plz update about it - norin
  • AOA

    If ingredients is same and cheese supperliers are same then pizza Hut cheese pizza is Halal.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-30-12 05:48:54
  • Does this mean that Dreyers ice Cream are Halal now? TITLE: The Mushbooh status of those food products made with Carrageenan is changing to Halal status The Mushbooh status of those food products made with Carrageenan is changing to Halal status because the food companies are sending e-mails to indicate that Carrageenan used in their food products is not made with alcohol. So far the following food companies are not using alcohol treated Carrageenan in their food products: 1. Dean Foods 2. Kemps Foods 3. Dreyer Ice cream company - Ahmad Khan
  • AOA

    All Dryers ice cream without flavor are Halal.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-25-12 23:50:40
  • salam,it that pastamania restaurant is HALAL or what?thanks... - abdul rahman bin amat
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-12-12 19:39:39
  • Assalamualaikum, I recently inquired from a person working at McDonalds about the ingredients they use in their milkshakes/smoothies (wild berry, strawberry,etc) and she said they add yogurt in it. Now, on a pack of fruit and walnut salad from McDonald's which has yogurt in it and also has its ingredients listed, mentions the presence of gelatin. So, it is highly likely they use the same yogurt in shakes too because McDonalds usually has their own brand of products and thats what makes most sense to me. I wont be judging anything here because it would be wrong to come to a conclusion with just my observations but just wanted to let everybody know. Thanks and hope it helps. - Faisal
  • AOA

    Any thing with gelatin is not Halal. The yogurt has to be Halal.


    Category: News & Alerts
    07-15-12 03:21:47
  • Hi, Did Canadian health depatment advised people for having a healtier life try to have less pork and alcohol? - Daryoush
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    07-03-12 12:44:51
  • Assalamualikum Brother Rasheed, Just wanted to know about the latest news on Coke and Pepsi containing alcohol. What is your take on this news and what is your recommendation? Jazakallah khair, Shereen - Shereen Nikhat
  • AOA

    Please read our ALERT section about it.


    Category: News & Alerts
    06-30-12 15:00:39
  • I had got a reply back from Pringle about their Reduced Fat Sour Cream and Onion.They replied back saying that the Regular kind of Sour Cream and Onion and the Reduced Fat both have no alcohol in it at all. - Jazzy
  • AOA

    Mashallah, could you forward that e-mail to Halalfoods@hotmail.com so that I can published them as Halal on this website.


    Category: News & Alerts
    06-25-12 11:12:25
  • I shan't to know if cadbury bournvita is hallal - salami ibrahim
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: News & Alerts
    05-12-12 13:45:36
  • sensodyne paste is halal - tariq butt
  • AOA

    Sensodyne Toothpaste is not made with animal fat based ingredients.


    Category: News & Alerts
    04-29-12 10:26:17
  • Nutrilite IntetiFlora 7is a probiotic that comes in a flavorlessinstant dissolve powder can alcohol residue remain in powder or would it evaporate as some people claim Nutrilte is the largest supplier of vitamins minerals and herbal supplements worldwide ditributed by the Amway Corporation - Hashim Degia
  • AOA

    All liquid Probiotic conatins alcohol and alcohol is evaportaed when they drid into powder but our ulema said when alcohol touch the Halal ingredients then those Halal ingredients became not Halal. Muslims can live without using Probiotic products because we get good bacteria from yogurts, sour cream and our stomach always have good bacteria. Probiotic products are good for Muslims if there was no alcoholic fermentation. It is same story with Kefir.


    Category: News & Alerts
    04-25-12 12:28:36
  • Esselamun Aleykum all.. ı would lıke to let you know that DAİRYLAND/SUTDIYARI CHEESE (feta) ıs not halal . They are ımported from Denmark to California to a company name KRADİJAN and ı have talked to the company ın Californıa and unfortunatly the cheeseses are not halal. The cheese beıgn sold ın a lot of ıslamıc markets . I hope thıs ınformatıon helps you all out. - askim kasap
  • AOA

    Thanks for your information. If you send me photo copy of the whole Feta cheese, after evalutaion I can put it as not Halal on website because it is not availble here in Chicago.


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-27-12 19:24:39
  • I called kelsen company that makes Dani cookies and asked whether they use any pig product they said that they don't use lard but use butter. Secondly I asked if they use alcohol in vanilla they said they use sugar alcohol which does not intoxicate. Now I would like to know what is sugar alcohol. Can we eat these cookies. I spoke to the representative on this no 631 694 8080. Can you pleeeez verify. JazakaAllah khair wasalam - Umm moaz
  • AOA

    Rules for Halal status of Dani 's Danish Butter cookies that it should have a kosher symbol and no alcohol in flavor, no vanilla extract.


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-03-12 13:14:09
  • I personally spoke to ms savita of deep foods about the frozen foods being haram. I was surprised to find out that she didn\\\'t know what haraam actually is. When I ask if potato samosas and their naans have by any chance some non zabiha meat ingredient or alcohol she said no there is nothing like that however she said she doesn\\\'t know if potatoes are halal...lol.a general statement on your site puts a lot of us in doubt coZ when we try to tell others they want to know what exactly is the ingrdedient that is haram. According to ms savita now their frozen meat products have halal logo which wasn\\\'t there before. You can further verify it for ur information. Jaza ka Allah khair and wasalam - Umm moaz
  • AOA

    We do not pit somebody Halal certified food products on our website because we do not their Halal criteria. Some Halal organizations such as IFANCA certified food products containing alcohol in flavor. They claimed on their website they accept a product Halal if alcohol content is 0.50%. Deep Food is owned by Hindu, they told me at that time they are looking for Halal certification. We said their frozen products are not Halal based on their answers to my question. We stick to our statement, if you do not follow our advise you are free to use their products.


    Category: News & Alerts
    02-03-12 13:09:47
  • does Tang orange drink mix have any alcohol ? - lakhani
  • AOA

    Only liquid tang has alcohol in flavor not dry mix.


    Category: News & Alerts
    11-09-11 14:19:58
  • Why is the cheese on Little Caesar pizza's Haram? I emailed some questions and they called back saying that the cheese, sauce, and dough contain no animal by-products or alcohol, doesn't this mean that Little Caesars is Halal? They also said that they have seperate cutters for the meat pizza and seperate cutters for the veggie pizzas. When I asked about the baking pan they said you can try to request a cleaned pan. Thank you for your answer. - Saira
  • AOA

    You do not understand the technical requirement of Halal cheese but you read at our INgredients section. We tried them to answer technical questions but they refused. Who know what they are adding. The crust and pizza sauce is Halal, you can order without cheese. Little Caesar cheese pizza is not Halal because cheese is not Halal.


    Category: News & Alerts
    08-15-11 09:26:51