USA Phone: 1 847-802-6917 BismiAllah! facebook
logo

Questions & Answers Section:

Please type in your question or phrase below:



Question Category
  •  E-Numbers  [ 743 ]
  •  Food Products  [ 705 ]
  •  General Question  [ 308 ]
  •  halal Certification Process  [ 179 ]
  •  Ingredients  [ 336 ]
  •  News & Alerts  [ 2 ]
  •  Non-Food Products  [ 210 ]

Recent Questions:

  • Are doritos halal?i checked the ingredients there wasnt any thing haram in it but wanted to make sure if its halal or not ,thank you - Daniyal khan
  • AOA

    Search results for the term: why cheetos

    Total results generated: 1
    Alert TitleDescriptionDate
    Why Cheetos and Doritos (except Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips) are not Halal

    There is no kosher symbol on the package of Cheetos and Doritos. This makes them Non Halal because they can add any Haram Hidden or Processing aid ingredients without mentioning under the ingredients statement. Cheese used in Cheetos and Doritos are not Kosher certified and not Halal. Sine these products are not under Halal or Kosher certification then Frito Lay can use non kosher certified flavors or colors. There is no restriction for Frito Lay to make Cheetos or Doritos on their own lines or on co-packers line where pork containing products are made. This exposes a great possibility of cross contamination of pork containing ingredients. All these snacks are very attractive to adults and children but there is a Hadith which says that Allah will not accept your dua for 40 days if a Muslim eats intentionally a bit of Haram food. So MCG recommend Muslims not consume above snacks.

    03/22/14

    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-22-15 02:24:34
  • Asslamuaalikum i just want to know that does fair n lovely contain pig fat It is halal or haram cream - sumbul naaz
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-20-15 08:06:40
  • Is shahi kulfi halal or not. The factory of shahi kulfi is in sterling , Virginia. - Sumira
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-19-15 21:29:52
  • maggi is haram or halal - adnan khan
  • AOA

    Maggi noodles with green dot or with vegetarian label on the package of products. Maggi noodles are consider Not Halal if there is no Green Dot on the package of noodles. Even if it has green dot it will be not be Halal if it contains E-Number 635, other Haram or Mashbooh E-Numbers and alcohol in flavor.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-19-15 12:11:16
  • I wanted to know if centrum particularly the one produced by Canadian Pfizer is haram or halal ? The contents mentions the word GELATIN. To mention I bought my centrum from a pharmacy right outside masjid nabawi. If it's haram how is it that they are selling it in medina ??? - Fhinam
  • AOA

    None of Centrum is Halal.

    From our Alert:

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14
    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-19-15 06:46:55
  • We need Lactose monohydrate Halal certificate How can i proceed? Please suggest me. - HUSSAIN
  • AOA

    There is no Halal Lactose a milk sugar available for retail.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-19-15 01:17:40
  • I want to know for men face cream emami fair and handsome cream hala or haram please I want to know about this and for lady fair and lovely? - Mohammed Midhlaj
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-16-15 14:55:53
  • Snickers, milkyways, bounty, mars, cadbury dairymilk are all these chocolates halal or haram - umme abdulahad
  • AOA

    Please check our website for USA only, they are not good in UK.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-16-15 01:35:37
  • is loreal ombre kit halaal? - shamra
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-15-15 13:06:36
  • Colgate sensitive made in Thailand is halal or haram - arj
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-13-15 00:37:45
  • I just need to know that domino chicken tanduri pizza halal. Are hey use halal chicken and do they use saperate pots n pan and do cooking process saperaty Thanks Fouzia - Fouzia
  • AOA

    Domino pizza is Mashbooh not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-12-15 18:34:57
  • Are Starbucks drinks Halal? Like Frappes, Chai lattes, etc.? - Sarah
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-10-15 17:41:42
  • is it halal to eat fateha kheer puri - safi
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-10-15 04:54:27
  • Pepsi is hala r haram - aman khan
  • AOA

    Pepsi is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-09-15 10:36:45
  • Is apple cider vinager halal or haram? - Amena Faheem
  • AOA

    It is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-08-15 22:52:10
  • VEGETABLE PIZA FROM PIZAHURT IS HALAL OR HARAM - Azrahasib
  • AOA

    It is Mashbooh.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-07-15 19:47:01
  • is great value baby yogurt halal? or the funyun chip are halal or haram ? plz answer me, jazak Allah - syeda
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-06-15 19:47:08
  • what is source of gelatin in LYNDER imitation american singles.imitation PASTERIZED process cheese food - hanan
  • AOA

    It could be from PORK, then it is HARAM.

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-06-15 16:25:02
  • Hi there I am wondering if Harvey's new Handspun classic Shakes are halal. All the flavors. Thank you - aysha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-06-15 13:11:33
  • Is fish oil pills halal - noor daaboul
  • AOA

    MUSLIMS ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTIONS TO HALAL VITAMINS

    Many Muslims are using non Halal vitamins from stores like Wal-Mart, Walgreen, CVS Pharmacy, GNC. This is because of lack of knowledge about the Halal status of those vitamins. MCG get every day a question from Muslims asking about the Halal status of xyz vitamins. MCG is providing help in picking up the Halal vitamins after it researched at Vitamin Shoppe stores which are located in every city of USA. MCG advises Muslims to check the Halal status of vitamins before consuming them.

    Many major brand of vitamins are not Halal such as: Centrum, Equate, Citracal, Nature Made, Vitafusion, One A Day, GNC, Flintstone, Nature Beauty, Walgreen, Geritol, Nature Bounty, Garliq, Estroven, Disney Gummies, Fiber Smart, Caltrale, Finest Nature, One Source, Lill Critteers, Culturelle, Philps, Ultimate Florea, Viactive, Elatins, Os-Cal, Spring Valley, Schiff, Stevia, Optimum Nutrition, Mega Red, Ocuvite, Alive, Centrum Kid, Active Kid, Spring Valley, Bayer, CVS Vitamins and Kirkland Signature. They are not Halal because they are not Halal or Kosher certified or do not have a Halal or Kosher symbol on the package.

    Even if they do not contain gelatin, they are still not Halal because they add without restriction any Haram hidden ingredient. Halal or Kosher certification protects Muslims from adding Haram Hidden or Processing Aid Ingredients which are not required to be mention under ingredients statement by FDA. MCG has a list of Halal multivitamins, individual vitamins, prenatal vitamins and fish oil or omega 3 on our website under "Vitamins". Please use this list of Halal vitamins. How to search Halal vitamins on our website: Please write vitamins or prenatal vitamins or fish oil (for Omega fish oil) under the search box then click Food Product by Category then click Show Only Halal then click search. You will get a list of 45 Halal vitamins, 3 Halal prenatal vitamins, 6 Halal fish oil (Omega fish oil) and where to buy them.

    03/22/14
    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-05-15 21:04:37
  • IÖGO yogurt is it helal - banu
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-05-15 19:04:25
  • can u plz tell me if carmex lip balm is halal or not? - hira
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-05-15 18:55:00
  • We are exporter of the candies to assist stomach upset to Saudi Arabia. We are based in California and facilities making candies are based in Michigan. We would like to know procedure for obtaining Halal certificate and certification fees for that. Thanks, Ben - ben jovanovic
  • Hi Ben,

    I will send you a e-mail about it.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-04-15 16:29:43
  • Asalam wa alaykom muslim consumer group, I would like to know if blue bell ice cream halal. Some people say it is halal while others say it's haram. I would like to know the truth. JAZALLAH KHAIRAN! - amira asaad
  • AOA

    Blue Bell Ice cream in Texas and other part are not Halal. Recently they took out all ice cream from supermarket shelf because they are contaminated with Listeria Bacteria and few people died eating the ice cream.

    Search results for the term: blue bell

    Total results generated: 1
    Halal StatusProduct NameCategoryProduct BrandCommentsDate
    haram All Ice Cream Ice Cream Blue Bell No Halal or Kosher Symbol on the package. Available in Texas. 10-23-14

    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-02-15 20:25:22
  • Does sour punch contain beef gelatin and is it halal - Zoya Ahmad
  • AOA

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-02-15 09:17:55
  • Pomegranate flavor - safeer ahmad
  • AOA

    AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal. If it contain alcohol in flavor then it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-01-15 10:36:06
  • fair and lovely harama? halala? - sahna
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    05-01-15 10:26:04
  • is halal this product " la roche posay hydreane"? - meryem
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-27-15 13:57:00
  • Is Trident chewing gum halal? - Rowan
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-27-15 12:57:35
  • salamz! My question is ponds product is halal or not? - hilma
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.

     


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-26-15 09:27:57
  • Sunfeat yumfill is it halala - asfat
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-25-15 07:11:19
  • Does Yippee Sun feast Noddles is made up of Pig Pork - Unknown
  • AOA

    I have no information because i have no ingredients list and do not know where it is made.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-23-15 23:45:06
  • Dear sirs, Is "daily chef pasteurized process american cheese" Bought from Sams club halal Jajakum Allahu Khaira - altumi
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-23-15 19:35:31
  • salam I wanna ask you what is the right face wash/cleanser or is halal to use? Pls answer me - leeba
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-22-15 09:00:39
  • Kosher or not shampoo made in Us? - Siti
  • AOA

    There is no kosher symbol on shampoo in USA.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-22-15 05:25:24
  • Forever Living Products helalmidir hepsi. - salih gök
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-22-15 04:37:02
  • Assalamualaikum.... I want to know whether hershey's kisses from usa is actually halal or not... Thank you... - nurliana
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-20-15 19:45:05
  • my question is about the medicine cb-1 weight gain pills cow gelatin is present in that pills of the cover not inside ..inside the capsule all is vegitarain so,can i use that pills throwing the upper cover . - safiya
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because many Ulema do not consider non zabiha beef as Halal. There are other Halal carbohydrates based foods which can increase the weight.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-20-15 01:49:45
  • I want to know that kraft cheese and kroger cheese are halal or no? - shehla
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-19-15 02:20:44
  • Is watties brand baby food halal?? Is it OK to give to baby or no ?? - talaha azad
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-19-15 01:16:43
  • please tell me is shurfine mild cheddar cheese halal??? - maria
  • AOA

    It is not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on the package.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-16-15 17:51:20
  • Is macaroni & cheese halal - hande
  • AOA

    Only if it has a kosher symbol on them.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-16-15 16:56:07
  • Salam ...i m from Pakistan ...i m so much confused about The body shop products ...bcz i m doing business of the body shop items ...plz tell me ..either all products haram ...and which ingreindents are haram in item ... And what about the code num given in list ...Plz reply soon jazzakAllah - Sabiha
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-15-15 14:42:51
  • Is poweraid halal? - Melissa Castro
  • AOA

    If there is no alcohol in flavor then it is Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-15-15 14:01:07
  • Al salam Alaikom, Is the Quest bar Halal/ It contains Erythritol in it. Thank you - Abdulaziz
  • AOA

    haram Erythritol Grain & plant based ingredients Erythritol is a sugar alcohol obtained either from cornstarch or fruit alcoholic fermentation

    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-15-15 08:44:42
  • are the tacos in taco bell halal? - reem
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-14-15 17:34:19
  • Does publix large white eggs are halal because somebody told me that in the usa chicken's feed made of pork so chicken eggs are not halal, please answer me.jazakAllah . - Muhammad
  • AOA

    All eggs from any brand are Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-14-15 09:20:44
  • is maggi noodles halal or haram ? - sara
  • AOA

    Maggi noodles with green dot or with vegetarian label on the package of products. Maggi noodles are consider Not Halal if there is no Green Dot on the package of noodles. Even if it has green dot it will be not be Halal if it contains E-Number 635, other Haram or Mashbooh E-Numbers and alcohol in flavor.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-13-15 09:21:40
  • is nivea vitamin shake lip balm halaal? - Muhammad Salim hussain
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-11-15 23:12:51
  • Does garcinia cambogia pills is halal? Because the capsule made from cow - Nani
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-11-15 08:11:07
  • Aslm, I wanted to know, why is Coca-Cola haram? it consists of what, that muslims cannot consume? - shab
  • AOA

    Alcohol was detected by a lab so it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-11-15 05:40:33
  • Is face wash from papaya company is Halal? It also has a green dot on it's pack. - Sanam
  • AOA

    If there is no alcohol in fragrance then you can use it.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-09-15 00:01:57
  • Please please let me know if YSL makeup is halal or not? JazakAllah khair. - rounaq saud
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-06-15 14:06:37
  • I just want to know that whether E471 emulsifier is made out of fat of pig as some roumers are spread - ummer borkala
  • AOA

    unknown E471 Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids Emulsifiers and Stabilizers - salts or Esters of Fatty Acids. If the fat source is from soy fat then it is Halal. If it is from pork fat then it is Haram. If it is from non zabiha beef then it is not Halal. If a claim appeared on food package "Suitable for Vegetarian" containing E-Number 471 then it means the E Number 471 is from soy fat. The food product is Halal if all other ingredients are Halal

    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-05-15 13:00:08
  • Children's delsym cough day or night is halal?it says alcohol free(grape flavored liquid) - Anisha vahora
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-05-15 01:32:36
  • Iam looking any halaal or hand slaughter chicken Company in Canada.Jazakalah Khayrun - halima
  • AOA

    I have no information. You may ask Median meat in Toronto.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-04-15 16:47:46
  • Could you please list the requirements for a pizza sauce to be Halaal? JazakAllah Khair. - Anonymous user
  • AOA

    It has to be kosher certified should not have no Romano or Parmesan cheese and no flavor.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-04-15 16:34:14
  • I have a mask the brand of the mask is " annie's way jelly mask " Are this is halal because i don't know.. please answer :( - syarifa
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-04-15 02:56:23
  • does the sauce on veg burger of mcdonald and kfc are contain halala ingredients or not ? - imran
  •  

    AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-03-15 09:30:56
  • Are the ingredients used in fair and lovely cream which is made in india. halal or not? Are we muslim, allowed to use it? - shab
  •  

    AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-03-15 04:57:28
  • do all products with CQM certification are halal, example Snyder's Of Hanover pretzels. - Iqra khan
  • AOA

    Answer is no, it has to have a kosher symbol and ingredients must meet Halal requirements.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    04-02-15 10:35:02
  • is wrigleys extra sugar free chewing gums halal or haram - huma fatima
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-29-15 05:09:41
  • Is adams mozarella cheese halal? It comes in a tranparent wrapper covered by a silver and blue lined edge layer of paper. - Maria Nisar
  • AOA

    If it does not have kosher symbol on the package then it is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-28-15 09:54:27
  • Does Turku chocolate in Turkey contain pork products? - sherine
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-28-15 02:57:35
  • Is krikland signature fish oil (contains gelatin?) Halal or not? - mirage
  • AOA

    It is not Halal may be Haram if gelatin is from pork. From our Alert section:

    Gelatin in any food product or ingredient or Vitamins or medicine is not Halal unless it says Fish Gelatin under ingredients statement in USA and Canada

    MCG is receiving many inquiries about gelatin foods or ingredients or in vitamins whether it is Halal or not.

    The important point is none of the gelatin carrying food products or ingredients or vitamins are Halal unless it says fish gelatin under ingredients statement. The use of fish gelatin in foods in USA is on rise because of demand by Muslim consumers and Jewish consumers. Food companies have booths at IFT Food Expo in July 2013 in Chicago promoting use of fish gelatin. It is important to know the fish gelatin from cat fish is not consider Halal or Kosher. Beta Carotene suppliers use fish gelatin as  a processing aid ingredient or hidden ingredient in Beta Carotene powder form so that it mixes well with other ingredients and fish gelatin is not mentioned under ingredients list.

    08/15/13

    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-27-15 16:59:20
  • OberWeis is halal? - Bilquis raza
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-27-15 00:21:52
  • Salam.Is Tom's Maine Toothpaste halal? Is carrageenan a haram ingredient? - Sara
  • AOA

    It is a mashboo toothpaste.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-25-15 20:32:25
  • are the halal food products in the list free from genetic modification? - kaneezulHAQ
  • AOA

    No, it needs atleast 100 professionals to sort it out.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-25-15 10:33:07
  • Is vegetable shortening (First Street) halal? - Farina O'Donovan
  • AOA

    If it is 100% vegetable shortening with a kosher symbol on the package then it is Halal otherwise not.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-24-15 21:39:16
  • Baby magic products are halal ??? Pls let me know thanks - Harris
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-24-15 20:06:18
  • Is yougurt non-halal or halal? - Marisha
  • AOA

    Some yogurts are Halal some are not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-24-15 09:28:27
  • Is all products of 'HERBALIFE' halal or haram. Please give me the answer immediately - Ahmed Kamal
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-23-15 05:22:25
  • Hello I was wondering if Doritos in the red bag are halal, thank you! - Mya
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-22-15 20:08:54
  • does the halal list on mcg include gmo or does it not include genetically modified food in it's halal list - ayesha
  • AOA

    It does not include.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-22-15 12:11:15
  • Gnc skin and nail tablets are halal or haram plz answer me - mrs sadia adil
  • AOA

    They are not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-22-15 05:01:10
  • Is Mcdonald halal - mah jabeen
  • AOA

    No.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-21-15 23:00:33
  • I want to know whether Fin Carre dark Chocolate is halal or not because it contains vanilla flavourings - isma
  • AOA

    It is not Halal.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-21-15 11:55:22
  • the laughing cow plain mini cubes cheese from australia halaal or not - shiffriya
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-19-15 22:45:54
  • AssalamuAlaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh. I would like to know if you follow the rulings of istihlaak (absorption) and istihaalah (transformation) when deciding to label a food halal or haram. Such as if there is an insignificant amount of alcohol which will not intoxicate even in a large amount, then is that considered halal or haram? JazakAllah Khair - Machelle Uddin
  • AOA

    If it is scientificall proved that the changes happened to produce new product then yes otherwise not. One example is converting dilute alcohol to vinegar. From our Fiqah and Science subsection:

    Brewer's Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast

    Brewer's yeast is obtained from the unicellular fungus. There are two kind of yeast extract or autolyzed yeast, one is made from baker's yeast which is a Halal ingredient used in soups, frozen fish products to provide meaty flavor. The other kind is made from brewer yeast obtained from beer making. Brewer yeast is used to ferment sugar during beer making. Brewer's yeast is only used in cheese crackers and cheeses to provide harsh and bitter flavor. It is also grown on food crops to make nutritional supplements. This type of brewer yeast which is grown the crops is considered as Halal.

    Brewer's yeast Cells are about .005 mm in diameter. Their shape can be round, oval or apiculate, depending on the species. The membrane surrounding the cell cannot absorb molecules above a certain size so that, in order to survive, much of their metabolism occurs outside the cell by means of enzymes they secrete. To enable them to do this, they survive best in liquid habitats so that their enzymes may diffuse out and foodstuffs in a utilizable form can diffuse in. The yeast learns to tolerate alcohol concentrations which normally would kill it (Courtesy of www.winemakeri.com/information/glossaries/dictionary/dictionary).

    The scientific argument is that the brewer's yeast is still alive during beer making and still need foodstuff to survive. The foodstuff is contaminated with by- product of fermentation for example beer flavoring compounds and others. Every ingredients or component of Khamer or alcoholic fermentation or wine or beer is considered Haram. By-products of beer diffuse into brewer's yeast cells along with its food stuff. Its foodstuff is contaminated with beer fermentation by-products. There is no literature available that brewer's yeast cell membrane prevents diffusion of beer alcoholic by-products. In order for Brewer's cells from beer making to be Halal those beer alcoholic fermentation by- products has to be changes to new chemicals according to Senior Islamic Scholar from Jamaya Nizamia , Hyderabad, India other wise the brewer's yeast cells from beer making are not considered Halal. Again there is no scientific information available to indicate these beer fermentation by-products are subject to chemical change (Tabdeele Mahiya).

    So based on above, MCG will not consider brewer's yeast extract or brewer autolyzed yeast or extract from beer making as a Halal ingredient.

    BREWER'S YEAST EXTRACT OR BREWER AUTOLYZED YEAST

    BREWER'S YEAST USED IN BEER MAKING AND NUTRITIONAL SUPPLEMENTS SUGAR + BREWER'S YEAST = BEER (ALCOHOL + CO2 + BEER FLAVORING COMPOUNDS) / + SUGAR / GO INSIDE YEAST CELL FOR ITS SURVIVAL o BREWER YEAST CELL BY-PRODUCTS OF ALCOHOLIC FERMENTATION UNCHANGED NO CHEMICAL ACTION REPORTED TO CHANGE ITS ORIGINAL STATUS BREWER'S YEAST --> OUT OF BEER --> AUTOLYZED DRIED --> EXTRACT MADE AS YEAST EXTRACT USED IN ONLY IN CHEESE CRACKER OR CHEESES BECAUSE OF ITS HARSH OR BITTER TASTE.

    Gelatin

    Gelatin is not the case of Tabdeele Mahiya.

    There is lot of literature available about how gelatin is made, which can be found on the internet. But we have to understand the basic biochemistry of gelatin raw material and gelatin itself. The basic components of collagen (raw material for gelatin) and gelatin itself are the protein and amino acids. If the components of the raw material and finished product is the same, that means the chemical reaction and processing does not cause any changes to the original component. Then it does not become the case for Tabdeele Mahiya.

    • If you run a DNA analysis (nowadays it is used to detect pig by-products in a food product developed by a Florida company as mentioned on our web site) of Type A gelatin (pig) and Pig, you will find no difference. According to Tabdeele Mahiya, it should not match because the new product has to be different.
    • Gelatin is a derived water-soluble protein made by controlled hydrolytic conversion of collagen, the protein constituent of white fibrous connective tissue from animals. The manufacturing process will take out the extraneous material from bones, skin, and hide trimming. Neutralizing, washing and converting the collagen to gelatin occurs but the basic components remain the same.
    • Extensive study has shown that the amino acid (basic component) content of white connective tissue whether from bone, skin or tendon is very uniform and yields gelatins also having uniform amino acid composition. This confirms that no change has occurred in the basic components.
    • The gelatin is subject to hydrolytic breakdown by which it is converted from insoluble macromolecular collagen to water soluble protein.
    • The whole manufacturing process is based on purification and conversion of water insoluble collagen protein to water soluble gelatin. There is no new product, and the originality of gelatin raw material remains the same during manufacturing process.

    Gelatin is not an example of Tabdeele Mahiya. Type A gelatin (pig) is Haram because it still contains the original pig protein and amino acids.

    Bar Soap

    THERE IS NO PHYSICAL AND CHEMICAL CHANGES (TABDEELE MAHIYA) DURING THE PROCESSING OF PORK GELATIN AND BAR SOAPS MADE FROM PIG FAT

    There is lot of discussion among Muslims living in western countries about physical and chemical changes of Haram raw materials during the manufacturing of food products, such as Type A gelatin from pig source, or emulsifiers such as Mono & Diglycerides from pork fat and personal care items such as bar soaps made from pork fat or glycerin. Several Muslims are quoting Fatwas (Fatwa is a legal statement in Islam, issued by a Mufti or a religious lawyer, on a specific issue) which were issued 50-60 years back, to justify to consume or use them due to physical and chemical changes occur during their processing.

    There is no doubt about the following physical and chemical changes or Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw material to Halal products. This includes production of vinegar from alcohol, falling of pig in a salt mine and becoming part of salt mine, bone ash, tanning of dead animal skin. These Tabdeele Mahiya cases are acceptable to majority of Islamic scholars.

    But few things such as vinegar from wine, pig gelatin, bar soaps made with pork fat are not acceptable according to scientific facts and opinions of several Islamic scholars. Since some of the fatwas are issued 50-60 years back, it seems that no assistance from Muslim scientists was used to check it out scientifically.

    Requirements for Tabdeele mahiya are (1) complete change from originality to new things which are not present in the original material (2) change in the name (3) Complete conversion of basic components of a raw material to a complete new product containing new components and several others. The common understanding about change in the original status is that it should not contain original components. Some Islamic scholars do not pay attention to this fact and consider that any chemical changes or reactions result in a new composition, which is not true. Let us discuss this in detail:

    Bar soap from Pig fat and other fat based ingredients:

    Bar soaps are made from animal fat or vegetable oils or their fatty acids by reacting them with inorganic water-soluble alkali salt or bases. The source of fat is mutton or beef tallow or pork fat but glycerin is also added besides stearic acid (fat based).

    The animal fat or vegetable oil is made of distinctive mixture of several different triglycerides. A triglyceride molecule consists of one molecule of glycerin to which three fatty acid molecules are attached, and these fatty acids are specific to different type of triglycerides. Fatty acids are the basic components of any fat. During manufacturing of bar soaps, fats or oil are heated with liquid alkali, such as sodium hydroxide or caustic soda or potassium hydroxide or caustic potash to yield neat soap, water and glycerin. This process is known as saponification of fat or oil. During this process, the basic components fatty acids are transferred without change in its composition from triglyceride to alkali making neat soap (combination of alkali and fatty acid). Neutralization with alkali is also used to produce neat soap. The neat soap is dried and made into pellets, then glycerin and other ingredients are added, and then mixture is extruded to make bar soaps. If the bar soap is made from pork fat then nothing happens to its basic components fatty acids, it remains as it is, same as in pork fat. So bar soap manufacturing process is not the example of Tabdeele Mahiya. The emulsifiers and mono and diglycerides also fall under this category.

    On the other hand in manufacturing of distilled white vinegar, dilute ethyl alcohol is converted to acetic acid, water, and a very minute amount of unconverted dilute ethyl alcohol. Tabdeele Maheyia applies here in the case of dilute ethyl alcohol, which is converted to new material acetic acid and water by acetobacter bacteria. The name is changed from dilute ethyl alcohol to vinegar. Distilled white vinegar is Halal but raw material ethyl alcohol is not Halal.

    In the case of wine vinegar, the table wine contains 12.2% ethyl alcohol by volume or 9.9% by weight, 85% water, 4% carbohydrate, 0.1% protein and volatile wine flavoring compounds. In wine, only alcohol is subjected for change by acetobacter bacteria to acetic acid and water. So wine vinegar contains acetic acid, water and rest of the above thing, unconverted small amount of wine and wine flavors which are the result of wine making. Imam Shaafi RA does not consider it as Halal. Presence of unconverted wine, wine flavoring compounds are the scientific basis for its not being consider as Halal.

    Liquid raw materials are best suitable for Tabdeele Mahiya compare to solids. So it is very important to use scientific facts in deciding the Tabdeele Mahiya of Haram raw materials for the processing of food products, food ingredients and personal care items.

    Wine Vinegar

    THE CHEMISTRY OF WINE VINEGAR AND ITS RELATION WITH FIQAH

    It is necessary to familiarize the chemistry of wine making before discussing the chemistry of wine vinegar. Wine making started about 3000-4000 B.C and is mostly made from fermented grapes, but wine is also made from other fruits, and grain such as rice. Influence of raw material in wine making is very important because it needs high sugar content of 10-24% and low acidity of 0.5 to 1.5% as Tartaric acid. Higher acidity inhibits the yeast fermentation. Alcoholic fermentation occurs through enzymes produced by yeast Saccharomyces cerevisia on the sugar of the Must (Must refers to crushed grapes including juice, seeds and skin) and this alcoholic fermentation ( proceeds with 20 enzyme protein, 3 to 8 organic cofactors and several inorganic cofactors) results in:

    Ethyl Alcohol, Carbon Dioxide, Polyphenols, Organic Flavor compounds, Odors compounds

    The yeast fermentation is followed by lactic acid fermentation of malic acid, present in grape. This is called Malolactic fermentation in which malic acid is converted by lactic acid bacteria into: Lactic Acid, Carbon Dioxide

    The lactic acid bacteria also change the fruit flavor of wine and add some flavor compound from their metabolism. But majority of wine flavor comes from alcoholic fermentation and wine flavor is continued to change during storage.

    A typical wine consists of: Water, Ethyl Alcohol, Tannins Acids, Polyphenols, Flavor compounds and color if from red grapes

    Polyphenols contribute the bitter taste of the wine and astringent mouth feel of wine, characteristic aromas are related to wine maturation. Wine is the raw material for wine vinegar.

    Presently Vinegar is produced from a wide variety of substances but the basic requirement is that, those substances should have sufficient amount of alcohol and a satisfactory level of flavoring. The conversion of alcohol to acetic acid by acetobacter bacteria is as follows:

    The acetobacter bacteria act only on alcohol content of wine, not on other components of wine according to literature. Organic chemistry of wine vinegar and other literature indicate that the coloring and flavoring of wine vinegar are the characteristic of the wine from which the particular wine vinegar is made. From this we can derive the following equation for wine vinegar:

    So the Acetobacter bacteria do not act on wine flavors and wine colors during the production of wine vinegar. The same flavors and colors are present in wine vinegar and they are not subjected to any chemical reactions during the process. So chemically they remain the same in wine vinegar. There is no research or literature found to suggest that the wine flavors and wine color are subject to Tabdeele Mahaya (chemical change to new products) in wine vinegar production.

    It means some part of Haram wine is present in wine vinegar. Besides the above, the processing of wine to wine vinegar is not 100%. Some minute amount of wine is also left over in wine vinegar. According to a Hadith small portion of intoxicant is also Haram as large portion. Wine vinegar is not Halal according to Imam Shafi but it is considered clean according Imam Abu Hanifa (according to Sahee Muslim). According to Anas Bin Malik RA, Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum did not give permission to make vinegar from wine (Hadith from Sahee Muslim).

    We recommend Muslim consumers to avoid using any wine vinegar based on the above Hadith and scientific facts.

    Wine (Ethyl Alcohol + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors + Oxygen) → Acetic Acid + Water + Wine Flavors + Wine Colors 2 CH3CH2OH + 2 O2 → 2 CH3COOH + 2 H2O

    Alcohol + Oxygen → Acetic Acid + Water

    Alcohol

    Islamic web sites in USA and in other countries are publishing articles from various Islamic Scholars about Haram status of alcohol only from grapes and dates under Hanafi fiqah and providing the impression that alcohol from other sources is Halal. They are also giving the Halal status to synthetic alcohol without providing any hard evidence from neither religious nor scientific sources. But their views are not universally acceptable. This makes Muslim consumers more confused than before.

    Muslim Consumer Group did research based upon scientific, regulatory status of alcohol manufactured by both fermentation and synthetic methods. We also discuss this matter with our religious advisors who belong to Hanafi Mazhab. Here is our report:

    Alcohol (also known as Ethanol or Ethyl Alcohol) is a food but requires no digestion. Like other drugs, it acts on many organs in the body but has no cellular receptors. It is stable in the atmosphere to any chemical change, where as all other foods will undergo some kind of decomposition. It is the only food produced solely by microbial action beside the synthetic alcohol. Alcohol and water mix in every solution, including blood. Once alcohol enters the body, it is easily penetrated into the brain and it will provide a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. We know this fact from our Holy Book, the Quran, where Allah says: O ye who believe! Draw not near unto prayer when you are in a state of intoxication until you know what you utter (4:43).

    Alcohol is produced through alcoholic fermentation of material containing sugar or starch. Starch first has to breakdown into sugar and sugar is then fermented by yeast which converts it into ethyl alcohol or ethanol and carbon dioxide (CO2). Molasses from sugar cane, beet sugar, wood sugar (sulphite lye), fruits, and berries are the raw material used to produce alcohol. Starchy products such as cereal, rice, corn and potato are also used as a raw material to produce alcohol. Alcohol obtained from fermentation is subject to separation, concentration and distillation. The chemical name of alcohol is ethanol and C2H5OH is the chemical formula.

    So alcohol obtained from above sources has the same chemical formula and has the same quality of providing a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. There is no chemical and physical difference between alcohols obtained from grape or corn. So the statement that alcohol is Haram only from grape and dates does not hold up scientifically.

    Use of Alcohol in a Food Product

    Alcohol is now used as an individual ingredient in a food product. It is also used as solvent in natural and artificial flavors. It is also used as extracting solvent in vanilla products such as vanilla extract (about 35%), vanilla sugar (sugar mixed with vanilla extract). It is also present in naturally brewed soy sauce up to 2% as a by-product of fermentation of soybean and wheat.

    Ethanol or alcohol has the quality of making a person drunk. If alcohol is distilled out from wine or beer, a flavored solution is left behind. That solution does not have the same quality as alcohol resulting in the sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. Date juice is allowed to drink before it is fermented as reported in Sahee Bukhari. Thus the prohibition of alcoholic beverages in Islam is due to the presence of alcohol in those beverages.

    Many Muslim scientists wrote about alcohol in many books and magazines. They all agreed that alcohol is Haram without even mentioning the sources. Recently a Muslim pharmaceutical scientist wrote that synthetic alcohol is Haram.

    Synthetic Alcohol

    Alcohol is also obtained other than fermentation process called synthetic alcohol. It has wide application in the process industries as solvent, in the production of cosmetics and intermediates in the manufacture of other chemicals. It is produced by ethylene (gas) dehydration and also produced by petroleum sources. It has the same chemical formula C2H5OH and has the same quality of providing a sequential depressant action on the central nervous system. Synthetic alcohol is not different scientifically from alcohol obtained from fermentation method.

    Regulatory status of synthetic alcohol and alcohol produced through fermentation (Sec.55.100 alcohol; use of synthetic alcohol in foods Compliance Policy Guide CPG 7120.10 revised 2/1/1989)

    Practically and scientifically, pure ethyl alcohol synthesized from natural gas or petroleum products does not differ from that obtained by fermentation with subsequent distillation. Further more, foods in which one is used cannot be distinguished objectively from those in which the other is used (From Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearm of the U.S. Treasury Department).

    FDA Policy: Synthetic alcohol may be used as a food ingredient or in the manufacturing of vinegar or other chemicals for food use, within limitations imposed by the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, the Alcohol Administration Act and regulations promulgated under these acts. Any labeling reference to synthetic alcohol as Grain Alcohol or Neutral Grain Spirits is considered false and misleading

    This is another fact that there is no difference between synthetic alcohol and alcohol obtained through fermentation.

    Denatured Alcohols (Not same as Synthetic Alcohol)

    Synthetic ethyl alcohol and denatured ethyl alcohol is not the same thing. Denatured ethyl alcohol can be made from synthetic alcohol and also from ethyl alcohol produced through fermentation method.

    Denaturation of alcohol is the act of rendering ethyl alcohol unfit for beverage use by addition of substances known as denaturants. To prevent the ethyl alcohol in a cosmetic from being diverted illegally for use as an alcoholic beverage, it may be "denatured." This means that it contains an added "denaturant" that makes it undrinkable. The regulatory requirements pertaining to denaturation operation and manufacture are contained in 27 CFR Part 19, Subpart N. The substances, formulas to make the denatured alcohols are regulated by Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearm of the U.S. Treasury Department (ATF). There are two type of denatured alcohol:

    • Specially Denatured Alcohol (SDA)
    • Completely Denatured Alcohol (CDA)

    Specially Denatured Alcohol

    The quantity and character of the denaturants specified are carefully chosen so as not to interfere with specific legitimate industry use that each formula authorizes. All transactions in SDA are carefully regulated. For example introducing Benzene during the distillation process drives out the water contained in ethanol creating a very pure and potent fuel source - denatured alcohol.

    Completely Denatured Alcohol

    The ethyl alcohol is so thoroughly denatured that the product is utterly unfit for beverage use and denaturants used are very nearly inseparable from ethyl alcohol. The use of Completely Denatured Alcohol is authorized without permit because pure ethyl alcohol can not be extracted and diverted to beverage use.

    Denatured alcohols lose their quality of intoxicant due to addition of chemicals to ethyl alcohol, so the cosmetic and personal care products containing denatured alcohols can be permitted if all other ingredients in those products are Halal.

    Views of our Religious advisors

    Our religious advisors Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman Khan and Mufti Syed Ahmedul Quadri have mentioned the following ahadith for supporting their views:

    • Our Fuqaha (religious advisers) said that the Arabic word khamer as mentioned in Quran means specifically to intoxicant made from grapes because it is the common practice in those days to make intoxicant from grapes but they said it does not mean that the alcohol from other sources is not Haram, As reported in Bukhari that in those days, the intoxicant is made from grapes, dates, wheat, barley and honey.
    • According to Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi and Sahee Bukhari 492 Narrated by Aisha R.A, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said all drinks that intoxicate are unlawful to drink (Kullu Sharabin Askara Fahuwa Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Bukhari, Sahee Muslim, Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Nisai and Ibn Maja Narrated by Ibn Omar RA, Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is khamer and every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu muskirun khumrun wa Kullu Muskirun Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Turmizi, narrated by Aisha R.A, Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is Haram (Kullu Muskirun Haramun).
    • According to Sahee Tarmizi, Abudawood, Ibn Maja and Nisai Narrated by Jaber R.A Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said Intoxicant is Haram either in large quantity or small quantity.
    • According to Abudawood narrated by Aisha R.A. Allahs Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every intoxicant is Haram either in small or large quantity.
    • According to Abudawood and Ahmed narrated by Um Salma R.A Allah's Messenger Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum said every thing which intoxicate and effect your brain is Haram. Imam Mohammed R. A student of Imam Abu Hanifa R.A gave Fatwa in Tanveer Absar that any liquid intoxicant made from any thing is Haram. This is belief of Imam Shafi R.A and Imam Malik RA.
    • Mufti Mohammed Hafeezur Rahman said that Imam Abu Hanifa R.A�s maslak or Qwal (Saying) that things other than Khamer (grape wine) which intoxicate at certain quantity if it is not reach at that quantity can be consumed. But at present there is no fatwa about his saying.
    • Our religious advisor has brought to our attention the part of the ayat No.7 of surah Hashr (59) in which Allah has asked Muslims to accept whatever our Prophet Mohammed Sallallahu Alaihi Wasallum has prohibited.
    • From the above scientific facts and references provided by our religious advisors from Quran and sahee ahadith, we can conclude that the alcohol from any source is Haram not specifically from grape and date as reported in those articles. There is no difference in the intoxication quality between alcohol produced through fermentation and synthetic alcohol produced from ethylene gas or petroleum source. Both synthetic ethyl alcohol and ethyl alcohol produced through fermentation are Haram.

    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-19-15 19:14:30
  • Asalamualeikom Wa RahmatuLlahi wa Barakatuhu, I would like to know if Claritin Reditabs has pork. Jazakom Allah Khayran. It's for allergy. - Wafa Mustafa
  • AOA

    Tutorial video on home page is a learning tool to help you how to find out the Halal status of any food product,  vitamins under Food Products section, Food Ingredients under Ingredients section or E-Numbers under E-Numbers section. Personal Care Products, Medicine, or Cosmetics are under non food products section.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-19-15 18:27:23
  • is vaseline body wash halal - mohd swaleh
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-18-15 10:09:55
  • AOA Is knorr Maggi halal? though they use "HALAL" mark on it. "Chat patta" ingredients: (E-319) an (E-160) are used. From: Pakistan - Abdur Rahman
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-18-15 09:08:46
  • Nido milk power halal or not. - raihan
  • AOA

    I have no information.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-18-15 00:46:12
  • Is wrigley's orbit chewing gum Halal? - aiman aslam
  • AOA

    It is not Halal the glycerin could be made from pork fat.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-17-15 14:57:43
  • Texas Toast Garlic Bread or any company frozen garlic breads are halal - Zainab
  • AOA

    None of Texas Toast Garlic bread fresh or frozen are Halal from any brand in USA.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-16-15 17:42:21
  • Assalamualikum, Need to find out about iswa halal certification is approved because they have approved philly cheese steak and have certicate approved for Original Philly Cheesesteak Company 520 East Hunting Park Avenue Philadelphia, PA 19124 Phone: (215) 423-3333 Fax: (215) 423-3131 - Mohammed Aslam Patel
  • AOA

    I can not comment on somebody Halal certification.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-16-15 15:40:11
  • Assalamu alaikkum Is 4c bread crumbs seasoned halal ? I want to know answer soon , - Fathima
  • AOA

    They are not Halal because there is no kosher symbol on it.


    Category: halal Certification Process
    03-15-15 14:30:13
  • Alsalam Alykom //please I want to ask about kitkat Sakura and kitkat wasabi if it contain haram ingredient .. Thank you - Msm